(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

daisybuttons, congrats!!

ilovebabies...i still haven done my detailed scan yet
later this week visiting my gynae...

daisybuttons, yup.. I have gained 3 kg in 4 weeks since my last checkup. Even the nurse was shocked at my "progress" and asked me to weigh again leh.. That's why I have this impression that I have put on too much weight. But overall, my overall weight gain is still less than 4kg from before pregnancy till now...

How does drinking Manuka honey help? Manuka honey is for stomach ulcer isn't it? It's quite expensive, esp those with very high UMF. But if it's good for baby, I don't mind drinking that. Manuka honey is yummy... heehee...

hi daisybuttons

i also got the same dilemma as u .. how many bottles do we need to store the expressed milk ?

Last weekend I went kiddy palace and i was browsing the store then I came across the bottle sections .... and I see so many types of nipples ! i am really lost ...

btw got a tip from sis in law .. she said we have to start training the bb to be feed on bottle than breast starting from 2nd mth onwards .. else the bb will refused to suck from bottle and create more problems.

daisybuttons,
heheh, i'm not the one who was sick
it was amylim.

Re breastpumps, here's a comparison table i downloaded fr somewhere... can't remember... think it was fr another thread:
mime_msexcel.gif
Breastpumps Comparison
Breastpumps_comparison.xls (26.1 k)</td></tr></table></center>

hi daisybutton,

for quinny stroller, i think ZAPP is v thin padded like u mentioned. so we're going for BUZZ, a lot more better.

so far i dun hv hand down for bb clothes leh. i think most of my friends are either not married/not pregnant. for those who hv kids, i think they need it for their next kid too.

i think i may just get a manual pump. electric sounds scary leh....

aiyah super blur, type mesg halfway then dunno why go and close the window! arrgghhh.....

amylim, sorry just now type a mesh meant for you dunno why go and address it to puppylove! i am so blur nowdays.... i paste here yar?

really glad u are better now. that must be such a scare. only just read ur posting now so just knew u on 1wk mc. be careful the foods u eat. but then again, how we know its dirty right? very happy that ur baby is okie. take care and rest well, drink more fluids yar?

ilovebabies, i intend to breastfeed my baby totally if possible for the 1st yr at least. so i worried about nipple confusion. dun think i will encourage her to take bottle so early at 2 mths, maybe 3rd mth then try? hehehee.

edksd, what does the buzz look like? got pic?

amylim,glad that u are better now. Take care and rest well.

diasybutton, congrats on having a bb Prince.

puppylove, thanks for sharing the breastpumps comparison table.

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>Age</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>Lovenest</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>BB Name</TD><TD>Preferred Birth method</TD><TD>Baby # </TD></TR><TR><TD>Amylim</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>29-Aug</TD><TD>Dr Yu Su Ling</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>Bartley Rd</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>natural brith w/o epidural</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mrs Chng</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>30-Aug</TD><TD>Dr Tan Lay Kok </TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Jordan Chng </TD><TD>-</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jasmine Lau</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>31-Aug</TD><TD>Dr. Denas Chandras </TD><TD>Mt. A</TD><TD>St. George's</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Jadienne</TD><TD>natural brith w/o epidural</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Elle</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>Early Sept</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Sembawang</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>E-ling</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>02-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Boon Tiong Rd</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Amabel Loh</TD><TD>natural brith w/o epidural</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Charis</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>02-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Y C Goh (Thomson Plaza)</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>;) (ilovebabies) </TD><TD>30</TD><TD>02-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD>SK</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Rachel</TD><TD>Natural birth WITH epidural </TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>joon</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>04-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Blastier</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>natural brith w/o epidural</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>lichristin</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>04-Sep</TD><TD>Dr KC Yeo </TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Rykiel</TD><TD>natural brith w/o epidural</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>elaine</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>08-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Ubi</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>DaBee</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>11-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Y C Goh (Thomson Plaza)</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD>Marine Parade</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>elmo88</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>11-Sep</TD><TD>Dr KK Chow </TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD>Buangkok</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>natural brith w/o epidural</TD><TD>2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>kelyen</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>11-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Ho KK</TD><TD>Mt. A</TD><TD>Buangkok</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>chocolat (chocolat) </TD><TD></TD><TD>11-Sep</TD><TD>Mary Yang </TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Natural birth WITH epidural </TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Emma</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>14-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Bt Batok</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Enzo</TD><TD>natural brith w/o epidural</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little Pony</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>18-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Fong CW </TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Kim Tian</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Wayne</TD><TD>natural brith w/o epidural</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>chngs wife</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>19-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Clementi</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>natural brith w/o epidural</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>mae</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>19-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Kee W H</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Jurong</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>daisybuttons</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>19-Sep</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Bukit Panjang</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>natural brith w/o epidural</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>77(peachie)</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>19-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Chris Chong </TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Resha (rani) </TD><TD>28</TD><TD>19-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Lee I Wuen </TD><TD>Raffles Hospital </TD><TD>Telok Blangah </TD><TD>60% girl</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bena</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>20-Sep</TD><TD>Dr K.W.Lee </TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Novena </TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>natural brith w/o epidural</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>rainnie</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>21-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Yew Tee</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>natural brith w/o epidural</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>forgetmenot</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>21-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Tracey Lim </TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Bt Batok</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>pjen</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>25-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>natural brith w/o epidural</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>puppylove</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>25-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Kee W H</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Hougang</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>natural brith w/o epidural</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Smileys</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>25-Sep</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>80% girl</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>pig2</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>26-Sep</TD><TD>Prof Mary Rauff</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>Bishan</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Melissa (veryhappy) </TD><TD>29</TD><TD>27-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Brenda Low </TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Woodlands</TD><TD>75% girl</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>natural brith w/o epidural</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>edksd</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>28-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Bt Merah View</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>None</TD><TD>natural brith w/o epidural</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>watie</TD><TD>21</TD><TD>28-Sep</TD><TD>Dr. H.Y. Wee</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Jurong West</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>natural brith w/o epidural</TD><TD>2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>bjiou (bjiou)</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>29-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Chew </TD><TD>Mt. E</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>emoments</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>29-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Teoh </TD><TD>Mt. E</TD><TD>Pasir Ris </TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>natural brith w/o epidural</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Domesticgoddess</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>30-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Angeline</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>End Sep</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>HK</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>C-section with Epidural</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

hi daisybuttons

the purpose of training the bb to bottlefeed is because we are not stay home mum and if the bb refused to drink from bottle, it will be diff for the person taking care of the bb. When I meant bottle feed, I still mean breast feed lah ... as in the mother express the milk and the bb drink from the bottle instead of sucking from the breast.

Guess I will start to alternate between bottle feed and breast feed starting from 2nd mth on wards....

amylim,
i hope you're resting well. sorry for getting that sick! take care ok.

emoments,
actually it's good that i don't put on weight b'cos i am slightly overweight already hehehe. i am only 1.58 and measuring 57kg before pregnancy. on the first three months due to morning sickness, i lost 3kg but after that i slowly gain back weight. now at 5 months i'm only 58kg. but as long as baby is weighing right, i have no problem lah.

Smiley,
i'm glad your hubby is actively talking to the baby and she responded. my hubby still can't feel baby kicking yet. my hubby's voice is really loud, when he talks the whole house can hear so i joke to him, when baby comes out, she will recognize daddy's voice first then mommy. so i guess that's why he's the one who talks to baby all the time, some more direct to the tummy leh!

ilovebabies,
how tall are you ah? we're about the same weight. i'm 1.58m.

daisybuttons,
yes yes the punches and kicks feels like bubbles. i have that "nudging" feeling and pokes. when i sit down and lean forward, i can feel baby more. at this point of time that's most certainly baby's. unless you know you have a lot of wind in your stomach.

Bena,
don't worry, i haven't had my detail scan too. I'll be having mine when i'm 21 weeks. that's next week! think i'm the last to go. since i already know that i might be having a girl, i'm not so excited anymore leh.. hehehee.. the calendar is wrong for me

Anybody feeling hot all the time or not? I always sleep with aircon on every night and never wear blanket. My hubby is always tugged under the comforter. Is that normal?

hi melissa

I am 1.61m. slightly taller than u only .. so I guess ur weight is quite ok too ... dun worry.

aha I feel HOT !! cant stand it .. and I refused to cut short my hair .. hiao lah ... I dun think I look good with short hair .. and also with long hair I can tie it up and I dun need to visit the salon that often ...

Melissa, me too feel very hot all time esp when i sleep. i always on air-con with my fan on also, somemore the fan and air-con blowing directly on me. Haha~ My hubby buay tahan me. He is the one with blanket all over him somemore he wear jacket to sleep also. wahaha

ilovebabies and E-Ling,
hah! about feeling hot, i wonder if it happens to mommies having girls? how about mommies having boys?

huh does it matters ?? i tot generally all preggies will feel hotter ... but hor I not as super as u all .. ON aircon and fan !! e-ling u must be very strong !!

I dun feel that hot yet... just not as cold as before (as I feel cold very easily one). I am still in layers of clothes in office thou.

And I'm having a boy... didn't know sexes will have effect on the coldness?

but then again, it depends on individual .. now I rem my sis told me she still feels cold easily during her 2 pregnancies (1 boy 1 gal) ....

hehhee i dun feel that hot leh. actually b4 preggie i not scared of heat or sun one, isit coz of my tolerance that i dun feel that hot now? i do notice that i can take colder aircon better lah, but not in the way some of you girls experiencing i.e. ful blast at u without blanket. but i notice i do turn down the blanket sometimes.

i have a coll who felt hot at 4mths preggie. but recrntly when i visited the chinese physician, i got ask her i dun feel that hot leh and is it normal not to. she said i shld be feeling hot only from 7mth onwards. now its normal not to, so i feel more at ease.

ilovebabies, yes i know ur SIL's intentions.
i understand that for working mums we need to ensure our babies can use the bottle when we return to work. but i am very worry about nipple confusion. i scared if i introduce baby to bottle too soon, he may begin to like bottle then may not like direct breastfeeding. so i intend to start him on bottle only in 3rd mth. not sure if its okie......

ya daisybuttons

i get what u mean .. I also have this worry. anyway i just want the bb to be independent so that he/she can be fed whoever the he/she is with ... in case of times when I can't be with the bb. just my personal tots.

Just came back from detailed scan, everything looks good. Phew... Will be having a girl. (prediction wasn't accurate for me) Can finally start buying clothings. Went shopping yesterday but couldn't buy any baby clothes cos they were all either blue or pink.

Didn't know maternity clothngs were so expensive. Spent more that SG$500 on just 4 pants and 2 dresses. Hope they will last me for the rest of the pregnancy.

After lengthy discussion with doctor today, we have decided for C-section with Spinal. Was considering natural birth, but there may be complications due to my fibriod.

I noticed on the chart that Dr Adrian Woodsworth at TMC seems to be the most popular amongst us. Care to provide some comments about him. I am still undecided about which doctor to choose at TMC.

I also don't feel hot leh. I also put on my jacket in the office, and at home, I wear long pants to sleep. I think we only feel hot in the third trimester?

E-Ling, can you update for me? 100% confirmed mine is a baby girl
Now that most of us know the gender, the next sweet suspense is how will our baby look like.. heehee... Anyone going for the 3D scan? I saw in books before, really cool!

Angeline,
I have a pedunculated fibroid too. It used to be as big as 4cm previously but last week's scan revealed that it has shrunk to only 2cm. My OB is not worried about the fibroid. I also spent a lot on maternity clothes. I got 2 pants and 2 tops and that almost cost me $400! Thank God for progress package. Hahaha.. Hey what's c-sect with spinal? haven't heard that before.

Smiley,
orrr you're the only odd one out not feeling hot around here. I also wonder how my baby will look like, hope she looks like me! If follow my hubby, think will look funny b'cos he has a big nose and big lips hehehe.

Hi Angeline,
I dunno abt Adrian Woodsworth. From what I hear fr colleagues and saw in other threads, Dr Lawrence Ang (TMC) seems quite popular too. Two of my colleagues took his package - think itz $500 or $550, and they enjoyed discounts for visits they had b4 they signed up for the package (i.e. let's say they signed up during 4th visit, the clinic gave them disc for visits 1 to 3 altho' they've already paid in full last time). I dunno him personally tho'... u may want to ask around first.

btw, my detailed scan report says my placenta is 'slightly low'. Wonder if any of u r in same case. Dunno if i shld b concerned at this stage... heard that it can move up later for some pp. Is there anything I can do to help it move???

haha melissa u so naughty make fun of ur hubby ah. hhmmm dun think will be going for 3d scan leh, most ppl dun right? think angeline talking about epidural when she mentioend spinal.

wowz!!! $400 for 4 pieces, each of ur top must have cost u $100 each hehehe. for me, i did spend a lot too, think about $700 in total so far (maybe more) for 4 dresses, 3 pants, 1skirt, 8 tops. but still feel not enough! so very very glad that one of my coll and one of my hubby's ex coll passed me their maternity clothes. they already have 2 kids liaoz and not planning for 3rd one. i had such a happy time sorting through the clothes maN! find so many pretty dresses.
wearing one now! hehehe....

no lah, smiley is not the only odd one. i dun feel hot too.....just not as cold sometimes thats all hehehe. yah agree with her that some of us may only feel hotter in 3rd tri.

helo puppylove, same here. gynae said during scan that my placenta is low. if i am not wrong, someone else here also same thing? when i appeared worried, the gynae scanning for me said 50% of woman have low placenta at this stage. and my own gynae assured me that 90% of the time it will move up as the pregnancy progress coz our uterus grows. so i think not to worry too much. coz i asked them if its placenta previa, which is quite bad, but they said no its not. coz its not low until covering cervix.

hi puppylove

my placenta was low in the initial stage of 2nd tri too but it moved up as assured by gynae. he said as long as we dun squat or carry heavy things, it will be ok ... just be careful ok ?

i only spent $100+ on maternity clothes .. eheh I bought mine mostly at Toa Payoh central.. just pants for work and casual so no pt to buy from branded ones .. and I get a lot of from sis and frens !! phew save me a lot !

hey smiley

actually I still dunno how 3D scan looks like ... really can see the face ?

daisybuttons,
thanks for the assurance! tat day, my detailed scan was behind time, so ended up 1.5hrs late for gynae appt. Managed to catch gynae when he was leaving, and he merely scanned thru' my detailed report and said everything appear normal and left. So no chance for me to ask him more.

I've a colleague who's due soon - her placenta didn't move up, so likely to be c-section. Tatz why a bit concerned. Guess i can't do much except monitor loh. Oh, and read somewhere that we shldn't carry heavy things or squat.

ilovebabies,
thanks! will take note and b careful.

ya... wonder how clear will 3D scan be? during my detailed scan at TMC, i saw my bb gal yawn!! tat moment was so precious. Pity i couldn't catch it w a video! haha...

helo puppylove, yah can understand, i was also worried. but since my gynae din look concerned, i trust her. just have to be careful about squatting.

yes i read before that if its full placenta previa need c-sec. but i think ours is just low, so let's work to move it up hehe.

but ilovebabies, i have to squat to open wardrobe drawers every day, and change the food/drink bowls for my doggy twice a day. as long as its not squatting for long periods of time shld be alright? how did u take care during that period before ur placenta moved up?

Bijou,
I am SGP gal living in HK. But intend to go back to SGP for delivery and confinement. My own family (mum, sis, aunt, granny, cousins...)there mah. More pple to pamper me.

Melissa,
My fibriod is slightly bigger than 6 cm and doesn't seem to be shrinking, so doctor is trying to avoid any possible complications. Or so he says and recommends C-sention with spinal anaesathics.

Daisybuttons,
I thought epidural was the same as spinal too, until doctor explained today that C-section with epi is for those mummies who try first to have natural with epi and then found the labour process too difficult or complications and needs to have c-section.

ilovebabies and puppylove, i saw a 3D scan pic before at a seminar. its really clear, can see features of baby and who he looks like more. just imagine u are seeing baby in ur tummy, just that the colour is in scan colour and u are seeing through a medium so not as clear as when u holding baby in front of u.

hi angeline, oh i see. i din know there's a diff. so for those who planned for c-sec, then its spinal anasthetic.....but will you be awake?

How come your gynaes tell you so much one? Or no news is good news for me?? I read in your posts your gynae tell you your baby's head size, your placenta, etc but I just went for my detailed scan but I didn't have this info leh. For mine, usually I have to prompt her and ask her questions.

Sometimes I get the feeling that I am going into a production line, wait a long time for my turn. When it is my turn, I go in, ask my questions (usually in a hurry), and then out I go.. Do you get these feelings with your gynae?

Am not complaining about my gynae lah.. She's experienced, and looks compassionate, but sometimes I worry when she's not telling me much. For example for the detailed scan, all the information I got was the baby's weight and that the baby is healthy, that's all. Is this the case for you gals?

hi daisybuttons, puppylove

like wat I mentioned abv, i avoid all squatting and carrying of heavy things until the next scan by gynae which he told me my placenta has moved up.

You know till now, i still dont dare to squat. Cos in my first tri, I squat almost daily to wash my undies ... and guess wat, my bb moved away from inner womb and gynae is very concerned !! I was so scared cos I am still in my first tri !! So worried that time, so I avoid walking as well as suggested by gynae ...

now whenever I need to bend, i will bend from body straight to the floor .. that means DONT squat lah .. err get what I mean ? or I will ask hubby to help lor ..

daisybuttons, u may want to ask ur hubby to take over such chores for the time being ... not a trivial issue if the placenta is too low .. it may cause bleeding.... just to be on the safe side.

daisybuttons.. in that case I wander shld I do the scan now or keep me and hubby in suspense ... eheh
wat u gals think ?

hi smiley, my detailed scan is done at TMC which they despatch the report to my gynae within days .. the next week I visited my gynae, he explained the readings on the report to me .. and tell me wat to look out for ... then in summary he concluded that everything is normal lor ..

my gynae is quite patient with qns so I feel very very comfortable with him ... and also I usually prep myself with qns before I go in.. so I know what to ask liao

daisybuttons,
the advantage of spinal vs general is that spinal will only be lower half so yes I will be awake. Doctor explain that actually this way, i should have minimal pain and both me and by hubby can fully enjoy the birthing process. Hubby can also be in the room for C-section. But I need to check with TMC if this is so for them too.

Smiley,
Actually, i think i am a little of the kiasu type that ask doctor alot of questions so he has no choice but to tell me more. I don't like those doctors who have long queues in their waiting area and rush patients out of their room. A few weeks ago my doctor was on vacation so he sent me to a different clinic for a advanced scanning to see baby development, although that place was really famous and popular I didn't like it at all cos I felt like I was just another number on their list and wasn't given any personal attention. That doctor also didn't bother to answer my questions and I was so upset. The only good thing i had from this famous clinic is a 10 minutes DVD of the ultrasoud that I can bring home to show my MIL.

ilovebabies,
will walking aggravate the low placenta? i walk quite a lot leh... cos i thot itz good exercise. But lately i get some abdomen aches when i walk or stand too long, then got to sit down n rest.

smiley,
i oso find that i've to be the one initiating the questions. Guess gynae sees too many patients, so to him, things are normal but he doesn't realise itz our first time so we can get quite kancheong.

Didn't u get a report after your detailed scan? All the info in there - weight, gender, measurements, placenta position, etc etc. I also had a very nice "scanning technician" who took time to explain everything she measured during the scan.

No.. I am never brief on the report. All I get is "your baby's fine". That's it. Of coz that's very good news, but I wonder whether I am missing out any information that I need to watch out.

Even for my OSCAR test, when you gals discuss how thick the neck or whatever is, I don't even know what's my reading and what that means.

I usually prepare a list of questions when I see my gynae, but usually I don't get to finish asking all. The gynae will answer my question, then say "Ok?" (smilingly) but with a hint that I should be leaving. The queue is long I understand, but I have waited for one month to ask the questions leh..

Well, I just tell myself, as long as baby is fine, it's ok. Maybe she doesn't want me to worry unduly.. :p Maybe I will try a different gynae for my number 2 next time

helo smiley, hhhmmm.....if i am not wrong our detailed scan done by same doc right? think even our gynae same? ur gynae name starts with M or W?
for the scanning doctor, he was quite quiet during the scan too, concentrating on the measurements, making sure he gets the various parts of baby, and occasionally he will make positive remarks like "looks good". he only said more when he told me about my low placenta. so if he din say that for u, means everything is really fine. later he got show u the chart where all the measurements are plotted right? as for our own gynae, i think she is someone who is very steady and calm. i heard that she wun say much if everything is okie, but will be very concerned if something is wrong. so try to think positively.
i wait very very long for her too, but i dun regret choosing her coz whenever i see her i feel so calm and assured and in good hands. i have a list of questions to ask her, and she will answer me one by one. u have to ask her questions if u wanna know something.

ilovebabies, i read that we are not supposed to bend too much at the waist u know. thats what u meant right? so i try to do sumo squatting whenever i wanna get something from the floor, coz heard thats good for toning up the muscles down there. now my placenta low i dunno how leh. actually my hubby is doing a lot of work oredi, all the housework he is doing, except dishes lah. and he brings the dog down for walk, pick up his poo, wipes him clean b4 coming indoors, all of which we take turns doing last time. maybe see how, ask him to bring the bowls up for me loh. hehehee...

Oops.. I missed out on the replies to the 3D scan. If yo ugo to TMC first floor, there's a poster of the 3D scan of the babies and boy, they are really really clear. Almost like taking pictures of the baby inside your tummy but in sepia mode.. I think must be quite expensive, so I didn't ask how much. Then again, I don't get to ask a lot of questions like I said previously.. hahaha! :p

Daisybuttons,
Mind if I ask if your gynae is M.Tan? I used to see her more than 10 years ago when I was still in SGP. Considering of using her, but after reading the forum, I think a prefer a doctor who is more 'talkative'.

Hi daisybuttons, yeah.. you got it. I think we got the same gynae.

If we are not supposed to squat, how do we tone the inner and outer thighs when we are pregnant har? I don't want my thighs to be too flabby, and squatting is a way to tone up the thighs.. :p

ilovebabies, I used to be like you, squat down to wash my undies.. Now I just dump it in the washing machine :p (My mum will definitely chide me if she knows this!!) Haha..

helo smiley, pls see my replies above. in addition, about the nt scan hor, the neck thickness is told to me by the doc scanning, not my gynae. and when i went in, he asked me if i know what is oscar test. as i have read all about it, i said i do, so he knew he din need to explain to me. if i had said i dun, i think he wld have explained a bit. and he showed me the results measurement plot after the scan too. shld be the same for us coz our scanning doc same...

hi daisybuttons

is it ? cant bend at the waist ? anyway it is not very freq for me .. cos hubby is watching me v closely ahah anyway I stopped squatting completely to avoid any complications .. though at my detailed scan, the sonographer commented "Oh ur placenta is FAR AWAY from the road kernel" hahaha initially I tot i heardly wrongly ...

anyway just be extra careful then ..

angeline hehe nope my gynae is not dr magdelene. some ppl like her but i dun like her style.

smiley, u have not ans me ur gynae name start with M or W?

ilovebabies and smiley, hahaha me hor, now also dump my undies into washing machine leh! really lah, where got time and energy to handwash now?! once i am preggie i dump most of my clothes inside liaoz. those that REALLY cannot machine wash hor, i bring to my mum! hehehehe nottie hor.

hehehe it is ok to wash them all in washing machine .. but I insist on hand wash my clothes leh .. undies and all maternity clothes .. scared they go out of shape .. and also most of my maternity clothes are not owned by me .. so paisay if I spoil them ...

any Dr Adrian's patient can share what his delivery package is like? Just called his clinic but the nurse there not very informative.