(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

hi daisybuttons

i suspect also ...cos I wake up in the middle of the nite oredi ache so i switch sides .. but din helped .... hope it just goes away ...

smiley,
we've the same EDD!

for those using stretch mark cream, can i ask where u apply har? tummy area of course, but my colleague told me to apply bigger area, fr tummy down to upper thigh. Cos she missed out applying on the lower side last time, n had stretch marks there while tummy area was clear of marks. How abt boobs area? kekek.. cos tatz stretching too right?

Second or third time mums, do you still feel excited over your pregnancy?

I told my hubby before. I might not feel so excited next time when I have my #2. I was wondering whether I would buy a baby journal, go shopping for baby clothes etc. Seems a bit unfair to my #2 hor? He says I am crazy and I shouldn't feel this way. Heehee... (and in fact, it's way too early to be thinking of that now!!!)

But I am just curious whether I would still be so excited when I have experienced it (pregnancy) before for my #1??

Wow! So many postings after lunchl... I was in meeting after lunch till now then manage to read the forum.... Let me try to reply....

Hi Puppylove and joon
Thanks. Will check with gynea this Sat.

Hi Ilovebabies
Actually I love to eat livers leh.... I still eat a little bit, but not frequent. So far only 3 times (few small pieces as they come with the noodle) during this pregnancy. Will avoid this totally now

Hi E-ling
My details are:
Gynea: Dr Teoh
Hospital: Mt E
Lovenest: Pasir Ris
Preferred Birth: natural brith w/o epidural
Baby #1

emoments

I dont know actually shld we avoid TOTALLY. but i read from books that we shld not consume during this period. like u, i used to take in that few small pieces only but later stopped after knowing the side effects.

haha.. Puppylove, and we are delivering at TMC. Maybe our babies might be neighbours in the nursery.. heeheehee.. so cute... You don't know the gender of your baby yet eh?

I don't apply stretch mark cream leh.. finds it a bit oily and mine's cocoa butter one, i don't like the smell.

Hi edksd
I think it must be v prominent ba.. actually I cant tell leh my hubby and I just stared at the screen and the nurse was trying to show us where is where .we can only tell the hands and legs. Cant really see the bird bird leh. Guess gotta trust the professional lor

hi ilovebabies
Yeahlor... I read from books that we should avoid... but I thot small pieces occassionally shd be fine? I think the last time I took liver was abt 2-3 weeks ago.... but I will avoid till I get to see my gynea this Sat.

ilovebabies,
apply on back meaning the lower part of the back? n hips area too i guess?

smiley,
mine's cocoa butter too (Palmer's brand). I didn't buy it, a colleague gave me cos she was sensitive to it. Some older threads in this forum did recommend this brand, tatz why i'm using. No harm trying. Used to the 'fragrance' le.

dunno gender yet... my gynae didn't check for gender during my last visit at 16wks, so no choice, got to wait till detailed scan on 4 May. When's yours?

ilovebabies, i apple stretch marks cream on my whole tummy, lower back and hips too. I dun have any aching but my lower belly will sometime become very tight for a while. Checked with my gynea, i very normal as the womb training for the contraction.

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>Age</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>Lovenest</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>Preferred Birth method</TD><TD>Baby # </TD></TR><TR><TD>Amylim</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>29-Aug</TD><TD>Dr Yu Su Ling</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>Bartley Rd</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>natural brith w/o epidural</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jasmine Lau</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>31-Aug</TD><TD>Dr. Denas Chandras </TD><TD>Mt. A</TD><TD>St. George's</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mrs Chng</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>31-Aug</TD><TD>Dr Tan Lay Kok </TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Elle</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>Early Sept</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Sembawang</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>E-ling</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>02-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Boon Tiong Rd</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>natural brith w/o epidural</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Charis</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>02-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Y C Goh (Thomson Plaza)</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>;) (ilovebabies) </TD><TD>30</TD><TD>02-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD>SK</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Natural birth WITH epidural </TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>joon</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>04-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Blastier</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>natural brith w/o epidural</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>lichristin</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>05-Sep</TD><TD>Dr KC Yeo </TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>natural brith w/o epidural</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>elaine</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>08-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Ubi</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>DaBee</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>11-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Y C Goh (Thomson Plaza)</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD>Marine Parade</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>elmo88</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>11-Sep</TD><TD>Dr KK Chow </TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD>Buangkok</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>kelyen</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>11-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Ho KK</TD><TD>Mt. A</TD><TD>Buangkok</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Emma</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>14-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Bt Batok</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little Pony</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>18-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Fong CW </TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Kim Tian</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>natural brith w/o epidural</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>chngs wife</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>19-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Clementi</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>mae</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>19-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Kee W H</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Jurong</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>daisybuttons</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>19-Sep</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Bukit Panjang</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>natural brith w/o epidural</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>77(peachie)</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>19-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Chris Chong </TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Resha (rani) </TD><TD>28</TD><TD>19-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Lee I Wuen </TD><TD>Raffles Hospital </TD><TD>Telok Blangah </TD><TD>60% girl</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>rainnie</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>21-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Yew Tee</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>pjen</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>25-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>puppylove</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>25-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Kee W H</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Hougang</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>natural brith w/o epidural</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Smileys</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>25-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>80% girl</TD><TD></TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>pig2</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>26-Sep</TD><TD>Prof Mary Rauff</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>Bishan</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Melissa (veryhappy) </TD><TD>29</TD><TD>27-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Brenda Low </TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Woodlands</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>natural brith w/o epidural</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>edksd</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>28-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Bt Merah View</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>natural brith w/o epidural</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>bjiou (bjiou)</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>29-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Chew </TD><TD>Mt. E</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>emoments</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>29-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Teoh </TD><TD>Mt. E</TD><TD>Pasir Ris </TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>natural brith w/o epidural</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Domesticgoddess</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>30-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Angeline</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>End Sep</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>HK</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>C-section with Epidural</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

diasybutton, what is ur friend nick? Think should have chatted with her before

hi eling

same !! suddenly i felt this tightness in the lower part of the tummy.. so tight that I have to walk real slow ... right ?

wah chim, womb training for contraction ?

ilovebabies,
Wow sounds like contraction liao!!!

Hey I'm not finished about the boobs yet. I want to ask if anyone has their "headlights" on all the time? I find that since I found out I'm pregnant, my nipples are always hard. Put on bra also a bit irritating and everytime I shower I have to be gentle around the nipple area. So my boobs are dead, but my nipples are alive?? Yikes!!! Sounds so freaky! Help y'all I have raging nipples!! Hahahaa...

Oh for all who apply stretch mark creams: here are the areas that're prone to stretch marks

- boobs (yes for those growing 2 cup sizes)
- thighs, inner and outer
- lower tummy area
- abdomen, especially lower
- buttocks

That's all I can think off. Since none of my body is stretching yet, I didn't bother applying anything to anywhere. Maybe after my detail scan.

melissa

you are really funny ... i dun have these symptoms as described by you ... ahah just be gentle with it ... hope it will go away else U may still experienced pain when bb is latch on !

hey puppylove

I read the article you posted but still dun quite get it .. and also not sure if mine is really this Braxton Hicks contractions

Hi ilovebabies

These few days, I also feel tightness in the lower part of the tummy very strange feelings, very different from the swimming movements I used to experience. Somemore a bit pain as well. And I do feel my tummy getting heavier.

ilovebabies, yah very amazing too. At fast very scare tot what happen to my tummy.

puppylove, is not the kind of contraction u mention (tummy stretching or expanding). It is like the womb become very very hard and very tight suddenly then after a while become normal. But i am not sure whether is it call Braxton contraction. Think should be ba

Melissa, for me once i rch home or at home i will not wear bra at all. My boob did grow but now go measure the cup but my boob is very full and big until my cup cannot cover the whole boob. But i still continue wear my existing bra except that i use bra extension so it will not be so tight.

Melissa, hahahaha...I'm having the same prob as you! Hhahahaha. U r not alone! So irritating rite! It's getting bigger, seems that I'm bringing 2 bombs out all e time. Imagine when I'm not preggie, I'm oredi C Cup...

wahhhhhhhhhh 1 archive thread in a day leh...so many postings..

Emma oso having baby #1

eling,mine oso #1 &amp; natural w/out epidural..
hope to c my baby gender next tue..gum xia..

oh ya i mention b4 that i seem to b more hairy after preggie..my lower legs..tummy,chest etc..
cos my fren is betting w me that i m having boy cos of the hair growing its male hormone..
wonder its true????

hi pjen ... haven not heard of this myth before leh .. i become hairier on my boobs and tummy area but they are v fine hair ... and I am having a gal

emoments, e-ling
ya ya think we experiencing the same thing .. suddenly so tight that we can't walk fast ... and it will return to normal after a while .. phew ... tot I am the only one

Good morning all!

I just realised we were most chatty yesterday hahaa. Cute hor!

pjen,
I heard of that too. They contribute the faster hair growth to an increased amount of testosterone (male hormone), hence the believe. But trust me, if you go to certain websites, they'll give you a contradicting view! So you're always 50% right. Hehe.

E-ling,
Wow you can't cover the whole boob? Maybe it's time for you to graduate to nursing bra! Can you please infect your bigboob virus to me?! hahaha..

Good morning to all,
Haaa! aint we all so excited about boobs. For those with C cup, come on.. haa! You have the assets and probably, it's time to flaunt it as well! There are nice maternity clothes which will bring out the beauty of a preggy women. Who say we are always looking big and ugly. haa!
For me, mine gets bigger but i still can fit my existing bra. So i guess it didn't get as big as i hope it will be. haaa!

wah whats all this boob talk about?!! hehehee. melissa, nope i dun think i have the same experience about the hard nipples hehee....mine seems same to me leh...hehehe. i also read that from 16 week onwards some of us may have colostrum oredi. anyone have oredi? me not yet....

ilovebabies, pjen and melissa, aiyoh, about the hair growth, i am another confused example again leh. in the beginning of pregnancy, i find my hair around tummy area also grows more and seems darker and more obvious. but hor, recently i realised, after i removed my armpit hair, it didn't grow back for some time!! funny leh hehehee.....confusing right? brrrrr....

hi! just a follow-up on an earlier discussion on First Born Incentive. The TMC staff just emailed me the details of benefits - same as those daisybuttons posted on Tue, so i won't post them here again.

hi puppylove, thanx! but did TMC email u a list of the participating clinics and merchants? the only 1 i know of is Mothercare.

er... i have a confession too. i'm getting hairy! my husband always laughs at it because it's like fur! ok lah, maybe not so kua zhang.

helo ilovebabies, heheehe funny hor? think our body goes through different stages of change, that varies from person to person....

joon, u will only get the list of participating merchants when you sign up.
maybe in ur next appointmt at tmc, u can go to the FBI counter, and request for the list of participating merchants, and go through them on the spot see if you find it worthwhile to sign up.
i do know that besides mothercare, mums &amp; babes and the maternity shop at TMC have discount.

oh btw, just read something at babycenter today. one of the reasons why they advise sleeping on the left is coz, if we sleep on the back, our uterus is pressing down on a major blood vessel near our pelvic area, that pumps blood from the lower half of our body to our heart. hhmmmm.....perhaps thats why, sometimes in the middle of the night i when i find myself on my back (which is very very often), sometimes i feel a bit like my heart beating very fast.

nowdays at work or what, once in a while i also find my heart either beating very fast, or so hard that i can feel it in my chest. anyone feel the same way???

daisybuttons,
I think the heart is supposed to pump very hard. It's a matter of supply and demand. You need that extra blood for the baby and maybe baby needs extra supply at that time hence the fast heart beat. And nope, no colostrum for me.

joon,ilovebabies,pjen,
You guys can join the hairy wives club! haha.. Well I still have no extra growth. In fact, I just went for my waxing. Wah it's extra painful this time maybe b'cos skin is more tender due to the hormones.

helo melissa, yah i know our heart works much harder now coz baby needs the oxygen. but just curious anyone can feel the heart pumping without putting hands on chest? as in, can literally feel it through chest. then hor, sometimes i feel as if the heart rate very funny like suddenly skip or faster for a few seconds, then stabalise one. felt this a few times - about 3-4 times liaoz. so a bit concerned, going to ask my gynae when i visit her, but wondering if anyone feels the same sometimes?

Hi sharing something I found when searching about iron supplements. Coz i was curious as I know my obimin contains something called ferrous fumarate, which i remember is actually iron. so i checked it out and this is what i found.

<font color="0077aa">IRON One of the most common complications of pregnancy is anemia. Although inadequate maternal iron stores, unlike other nutrient deficiencies, don't directly harm the growing fetus, they can lead to a difficult labor. Decreased iron increases the mother's risk of preeclampsia (elevated blood pressure and edema) and of death if hemorrhage occurs at delivery.3 The concern is real because iron deficiency is so prevalent. In fact, 20 percent of non-pregnant women are deficient,4 and this risk multiplies during pregnancy because iron needs double from 15 to 30 mg/day.5 More iron is required because the mother's blood volume increases to transport oxygen to the fetus. Iron is part of the hemoglobin molecule that carries oxygen in red blood cells. It is particularly critical in the last trimester of pregnancy when the fetus and the placenta store the mineral. If a pregnant woman complains of tiredness or difficulty concentrating, she should be assessed for anemia and given iron alone or as part of a multivitamin.

Iron supplementation is important because its richest food sources, such as shellfish and organ meats, are not common in the diet and are not present at all in vegetarian diets. In fact, the Food and Nutrition Board of the National Academy of Sciences in Washington, D.C., recommends that pregnant women supplement with 30 mg ferrous iron daily, especially during the second and third trimesters.2 Ferrous fumarate is the most common form of iron in supplements, and 100 mg of it are needed to provide 30 mg of ferrous iron. Since iron absorption may be inhibited by other minerals in multivitamins, supplements with more than the RDA for iron may be more effective. Alternatively, a woman may take a multivitamin without iron and an iron supplement between meals. The two remaining side effects associated with iron supplementation are nausea and constipation. If a woman experiences nausea as a result of taking iron she can eat a piece of fruit or a drink a cup of ginger tea with her supplement. The ginger, which is effective for morning sickness, will alleviate supplement-induced nausea as well.6 If constipation becomes a problem, I recommend women add one tablespoon to one-quarter cup of ground flaxseeds to their food each day.

CALCIUM Another important prenatal mineral is calcium. Supplementing with 12 g/day has been shown in some studies to prevent the risks of pregnancy-induced hypertension and its more advanced condition, preeclampsia/eclampsia, as well as the risk of preterm birth.7 Women with inadequate dietary protein, those younger than 20 or older than 30 who are pregnant for the first time, women who have had five or more pregnancies, as well as women with a history of heart disease, diabetes or hypertension are at risk for these conditions. Because these women may not receive all the calcium they need from diet, and because multivitamins may not provide sufficient levels of calcium either, an extra calcium supplement is in order.

Prescription prenatal vitamins contain an average of 212 mg calcium per daily dose. Natural products brands often contain up to 1,000 mg per daily dose. A separate supplement providing 1,000 mg of well-absorbed calcium citrate malate, combined with 500 mg magnesium, may be the best bet. Magnesium relaxes vascular smooth muscle and also helps mobilize calcium in bone. The greatest needs for calcium occur during the period of intense fetal growth in the last trimester, but extra calcium is necessary throughout pregnancy for many other metabolic processes. Insufficient calcium also increases the potential for impaired fetal skeletal growth. This is a greater risk if the mother's diet is also high in protein, as many American diets are, because protein increases urinary calcium excretion.</font>

some of your iron supplements may be ferrous sulphate instead. pls see below:

<font color="ff6000">Types of Iron: Iron comes in several different forms. One of the most common forms is ferrous sulfate. Ferrous sulfate is an iron salt, meaning it is a chemical combination of an iron atom (ferrous) bonded to a sulfate group. Ferrous sulfate is the least expensive form of iron available, but it is also commonly associated with gastrointestinal (stomach) side effects. Two other types of iron salts, ferrous gluconate and ferrous fumarate, are generally better tolerated than ferrous sulfate. Carbonyl iron is made by a process in which microscopic spheres of iron are formed. Carbonyl iron is also much better tolerated than ferrous sulfate, and has the additional benefit of being much less toxic in the case of an overdose. Polysaccharide iron complex is a synthetic complex of ferric iron and carbohydrate. Polysaccharide iron complex is typically tolerated quite well by most patients, even in fairly high doses.</font>

<font color="0077aa">Common Side Effects/Patient Response to Oral Therapy: Iron can sometimes have side effects, especially when people first start taking it. Nausea, constipation, and diarrhea are the most common side effects. Stools often become discolored to a very
dark, near black color this is a normal effect of
iron therapy.
Nausea may be managed by taking the iron supplement with a small amount of food. Constipation may be avoided by ensuring a diet with plenty of fiber and water intake; additionally, it may be necessary to use a stool softener occasionally. Diarrhea, although less commonly seen, may also be managed by increasing fiber, or decreasing the dose initially, and increasing as your body becomes accustomed to an iron supplement. Most important to realize is that for the majority of people, side effects, if they occur, are transient and generally go away on their own.
Drug Interactions: Certain medications should be separated from any supplement that contains iron due to the fact that they can bind to the iron and be less effective. Examples of some medications that should be separated from an iron-containing supplement include: thyroid replacement therapy (i.e. Synthroid), tetracycline antibiotics (i.e. Sumycin), fluoroquinolone antibiotics (i.e. Cipro), and antacids (i.e. Tums). As this list is not all-inclusive, you should always check with your pharmacist if you are concerned about interactions with any of the medications that you take.</font>

And what must we avoid taking iron with.

When taking irons, the following foods shld be avoided, or only taken in small amounts, for at least an hour before or 2 hours after you take the iron.

- cheese and yogurt
- eggs
- milk
- spinach
- tea or coffee
- whole grain breads and cereals and bran

Eh, does this contradict what someone posted earlier?

<font color="0077aa">Calcium interferes with the absorption of iron but calcium and iron are both essential nutrients. To overcome this, increase your iron intake to increase the opportunity for uptake. Females who take both an iron and calcium supplement should take the iron supplement with meals (i.e. at breakfast with orange juice to enhance absorption) and avoid calcium supplements with meals (i.e. take these before bed).</font>

hmm so funny abt the iron with the food to avoid.. if it is true, then I am taking it in the wrong way .. I take the iron tablets every morning after breakfast .. and my breakfast is usually wholemeal bread and milk leh ... how ah ?

daisybuttons

I can also feel my heart thumping even just by sitting there ... v loud somemore .... but at least our bb is getting the blood they require lah !

melissa

how do u know whether u have colostrum ?

ilovebabies, yah loh, contradicting hor? means u shld take iron with breakfast with OJ but not when u eat dairy prdts or ceral or whole grain....hmmm...... anyway, i think for me, i will change my habit liaoz. will take folic and DHA in the morning. lunch obimin (with cal and iron), then before sleep cal tabs. :p hehehee...

hhhmm.....if i not wrong baby is getting the oxygen from us, not the blood? coz our blood and baby's blood actually dun mix. we pump blood to the placenta, not exactly to baby. then baby draws what nutrients he needs from the placenta, but not the blood. or else how come sometimes baby's blood group diff from ours.

oh thanks! now i feel better, at least i not the only one with the loud thumping feeling...

colostrum will leak out from the nipples once they come....read that can start as early as 16 weeks, but usually only last tri lah hehee..

daisybuttons,
you said it right. it's the oxygen and nutrients they're taking from us and oxygen is carried by our blood. baby's blood is separate from ours. my baby could be O+ (if follow mommy) and B+ if follow daddy.

ilovebabies,
i'm not leaking colostrum yet. i just have hard nipples that don't do nothing but show through my shirt if i'm bra-less. hahaha.

My gyane always advise me not to rub our breast &amp; tummy too much becuz it will trigger labour. So be careful and dun overdo it.

daisybuttons &amp; ilovebabies,
i've heart thumping as well! as what u described, can feel it pounding without having to put hand on chest. Experienced 2 to 3 times so far.

tks daisybuttons .. a very informative post ...

ok i may need to change my eating habits as well. but my gynae din warned me abt taking iron with the food listed abv.

oh so I have no colostrum ... but is it good to have ?

melissa

then my nipples are in the same shape as yours ... aiyah now that i have incr by 2 cup, becoming bra-less is so obvious now ! hahah can only do it discretely at home ...

bijou

what has rubbing the breast gotta do with induced labour ??

I've also heard that we shld only "sayang" our tummy from lower part to upper part ... try not to do in circular motions as it may trigger a change in bb's position ...

oh dear, I always sayang tummy in circular motion.. partly cos i feel nice too!
Anyway, i thot bb's always moving around anyway, and since i can't tell his/her current position, I wouldn't know which position I'm changing bb to, right?

helo Melissa, actually our baby don't have to follow our blood groups at all. e.g. if mother is O+ and father is AB+, baby can have either A+ or B+ blood group. if parents one A+ and one B+, there's a slight chance baby may be O+, coz both A+ and B+ blood grps contains O+ gene, so baby can inherit both the O+ genes from daddy mummy hehee. but for ur case, since u O+ and ur hubby B+, baby can only be one or the other.

puppylove, oh okie, one more person experiencing this.

ilovebabies, no lah, nothing wrong with not having colostrum now, coz usually we will only get it towards the weeks before labour. hehehe.

oh, about triggering labour, it could be coz touching our breast/nipples will trigger release of oxytonin, the chemical that brings about contractions. that's why, some ppl if overdue from the EDD, suggested making love or touching the nipples coz both releases oxytonin. and also after we give birth, if baby latch on immediately, oxytonin released also helps uterus to contract thus expelling the placenta easier...

hehehe maybe hor, the circular movements, since they help baby change position, is also used to "engage" babies in breech positions issit?

daisybuttons .. are you in the medical arena or wat ? how come you know so many chemical names ? ahahha you are like a teacher leh !

ya probably it is in the last tri that we shld avoid sayang our tummy in circular motion. anyway it may not be proven.