(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

daisybuttons,
mothercare is having 15% off their spring/summer fashion until monday. i think will i will probably go down on mon to avoid w'end crowd, unless i go early

hehe, i know. didnt know that it was possible either. yeah, gynae noticed frm the size during scans. my 1st twin was older by 3-4days...

I went to Centrepoint to check out the Mothercare sale today (Sun) and it's not really that fantastic. I wanted to buy some tops for work, but only the basic short-sleeved t-shirts are on sale (15% off), some bras and some underwear. (but all in HUGE sizes!) The only good deal they had was for the black and white basic tees. Buy 1 at $28 and the 2nd is 50% off (only $14). I bought 1 black and 1 white and another top that wasn't on sale.

A few prams and a few carseats are on sale. Some children's clothes on sale, but that's about it! Heard the Marina Square branch is the biggest, so you might like to check that one out.

Happy shopping

ps: Can I just ask, where do you ladies go to find nice maternity clothes for work?

hi joon

my maternity clothes were from my sis or my frens so I did saved a lot here ... however I am not those who spent on a lot on maternity clothes so I bought mine at Toa Payoh Central ..... some are quite simple and nice and cost abt $20+ for tops and pants .... but I guess there are a lot of maternity brands out there if you willing to splurge on it such as Mum R' us, Perfect Mums, Spring Maternity ....

hi ilovebabies,
thanx! i don't have any hand-me-downs, so i'm buying basic tops and bottoms. where can i find mum r'us, perfect mums and spring maternity?

morning everyone!

hi joon,

Spring Maternity (click on 'outlets)
http://www.springmaternity.com.sg/

Perfect Mums
5 outlets:
International Plaza #02-81
Tanjong Pagar Plaza #02-17
Collyer Quay, The Arcade #03-16
Heartland Mall #02-32
Suntec City Mall #03-019

I bought most of my tops n pants from Modern Maternity:
The Amara (Tanjong Pagar) #02-30
Collyer Quay, The Arcade #03-13

Not sure abt Mum R'Us though... haven't been there.

It's a new working week urgh!!!

Moms R'us brands can be found in Tom & Stefanie. I love their maternity pants. So comfy. I wonder if they have their own boutique?

Hi to all,
Sigh! How i wish there are more resting days than working days!

So, anyone go to Mothercare sale during weekend? I went to the one at Suntec but find nothing fantastic. In the end, i spend abit on Spring Maternity at Suntec and then, head on to Thyme Maternity at Takashimaya. I bought mainly cotton tops which i think it's quite nice and a couple of pants. I don't really fancy those dresses...

I was also at Spring (suntec) last weekend, bought cotton tops, selling at $49.90 for 2. Went over to Mothercare & Thyme (also suntec) too late so they were closed. Saw fr outside Thyme that they're selling tops at $15 each. They seem to carry short-sleeved tops, which I'm looking for.

Little Pony,
Was Thyme at Taka also having a sale for tops at $15? Do u know if the Taka outlet is bigger than Suntec's? Thanks!

Hi Puppylove,
Nope. Thyme at Taka wasn't having sale for tops but they have promotion for 2 tops at $69.
Suntec outlet is definitely bigger than Taka outlet. Taka outlet just have a small boutique area within the children's level.
Go to Suntec one instead.
I also bought cotton tops tat are selling at $49.90 for 2.

I started feeling bb movement at close to 16th weeks. And now, i can detect bb's movement daily. He moves after meals...and before bedtime. It's quite amazing. And I kept talking to him. Praising him.. telling him where i am going etc.

hi littlepony ..

so cute .. u tell ur boy your whereabouts .. mine moves whenever I am at work ... at nite quite minimal movements .. cld be resting after the whole day of rocking by mummy ... ehhe

going for my detailed scan tmr .. nervous ..

Hi ilovebabies,
Don't worry. U be fine!!

Yes, i tell him where i am. When my husband goes overseas for work purpose, I either move back my mother in law's house or my mum's house. So i tell him where i am now and whose house we stay.
Sometimes he gets hungry and i wasn't ready to go for meals, i explain to him as well. I believe talking more to baby will make him understand what we are doing and hope he listens to me in future. Haaa. no scientific prove on this but just wanna communicate with him more often.

hi littlepony

tks ..

ya I also talk to my bb hoping it will recog my voice so that he/she can listen to me ...

aiyah my gender predictions so conflicting ... gynae guess is gal ... ppl around me say it's boy ahah

Sigh...Now adays I find it so difficult to recog what is baby movements. Been worried over the weekend, tot of finding excuses to see my gynae leh. What you gals suggest? I am in my 17 weeks.

hmm bijou .. i tot as a 3rd time mothers, you shld be able to feel it earlier and able to distinguish it better than us ?

Melissa .. dont worry, it varies for individuals .. rem each and everyone's pregnancy can NEVER be the same ... be patient

i hv not feel the bb yet. going to be 17th wk this thur.

when i place my palm on the tummy, i feel my own heartbeat most of the time. sometimes when i feel something faster, i tot it was my imagination only.

last friday, while sleeping i suddenly felt a tight stretch on the right side of my tummy, and some rumbling inside tt particular spot. im not sure is tt bb's doing?

so far i never felt any butterflies fluttering like some of u mentioned before. maybe my tummy is too big and thick to feel such tickling feeling.

still hv 2 more wks before my next appointment w gynae.... felt like it's as though 2 mths.....

Hi Melissa,
Don't be worry. Yes, i agree with ilovebabies.. pregnancy is never the same for everyone. The book says that some could feel it between 16-22 weeks.. So, be patient. Perhaps Bb is moving but you haven't feel it .. or distinguish it.
I didn't distinguish my bb's movement clearly until i realised it became like a pattern and at certain timing. So now, i know when he is sleeping and when he is awake.

me juz went to see my gynae today... i'm in my 18th week alr.. i also only feel my baby move at times.. hehe.. i'm not sensitive enough... but i can feel the baby hard against my tummy when i place my palm on it.. i think the hard thing should be baby's head..

and today baby v cooperative.. doc ask him open leg, he immediately open big big.. so could see that he's a BOY! hehe...

littlepony
thanks for ur info on thyme!

ilovebabies
all the best for ur detailed scan! so exciting... u'll know which prediction is correct! Do let us know how it goes!

melissa,
don't worry, i'm sure u'll feel bb soon.

i've been feeling bb's movements since wk14. This is my 18th wk. But so far, haven't noticed any patterns yet altho' i usually feel it at night when i'm at rest. Sometimes it happens so quickly i hardly notice!

btw, i've 2 questions:
if we sayang our tummy, do u think bb can feel it??
last Sat, i noticed my tummy a bit lopsided... itz more protruding on the left. Is it cos bb moved there???

hi puppylove ..

tks !!

yes I believe the bb's position determines the shape of our tummy now .. my bb seem to like the current position since it shifted in week 18 eheh ...

Hi Puppylove,
I have been reading pregnancy book and they say yes, if bb kick and we sayang our tummy in return, bb can feel it and bb knows that we know n appreciate them.

As for your tummy protruding on the left.. i guess perhaps bb's head is there..like what Emma say, the harder part probably is the head.. Your baby is moving to a position that is much more comfortable.

ilovebabies & littlepony,
thanks! comfortable for bb, but weird for me leh! hahaha... His/her head used to be on the right based on the past couple of scans.

will sayang my tummy more then! anyway, itz soothing for me too!

hv anyone of u started buying bb stuff already?

esp those who knows the sex of the bb.

ive only reserved a bb cot from a friend who's giving away. other than tt, nothing else yet. not even maternity cloths. wld like to wait till my detailed scan 2 wks later.

ilovebabies

Ya..tis is my 3rd time but each pregnancy you will still feel as excited and nervous as the 1st pregnancy. No difference at all.

Hi Edksd,
I have bb clothings passed down from my nieces and nephews. Bb cot from my niece as well. So actually, i don't really have to buy too many bb stuff. I just started buying maternity clothes for myself.. so as for bb, not yet. Haa!

hi bijou

oic ... hehe no experience yet ..

hi edksd,

i just collected lotsa bb stuff from my sis over the weekend ... *free shopping* ehheeh

but it is time to start preparing ur bb's room and buying some basic stuff I think ... esp when there is a bb fair coming in June period ...

ilovebabies

wah...you are fast in getting bb stuff. I thougt of changing the curtain in my children's room. So excited abt it.

i envy mtbs who got free bb or maternity stuff pass down by friends or relatives...
sobsob for me .. i dun have any. So my hubby and I have to save and spend on all those necessary stuff. Just bought 3 pants & 3 tops from Perfect mum & 2 pack of panties (total 6 pieces) cost me $320...sighz

but for those who wants to buy pants can go to perfect mom..cuz they have promo now if u buy 3 pants from them the 3rd pants will have 50% discount. Thats why I bought 3 ..instead of 2 ..:D

helo ladies...

melissa, mums r us do have 10 retail outlets, i know one of their boutique is at united sq.
they have online website to where u can order and they deliver or you collect at their shops. http://moms-rus.com/estore

edksd and melissa, its okie that some of us can't feel the movements yet, coz by right 1st time mums only can feel in 20 weeks or thereabouts.

ilovebabies, my baby's movements also usually at work leh, then at night when sleep quite quiet one, hehehee.

oh ladies, last night i felt this sharp pain in my right lower tummy which woke me up. got so worried i can't sleep and had to take urgent leave this morning to rest. its not cramp feeling, just a sharp pain, throbbing for a few seconds, then go away kind. anyone have this too? i also so worried thinking shld i go see gynae....

hi rainnie

ya bb stuff is not cheap ... esp those car seats, rocker, walker, clothings, and many others stuff which I may not have tot of, luckily my sis got them all ready for me

nvm you can reuse ur bb stuff once u have ur 2nd or 3rd or 4th or 5th ...... child ! haha

daisybuttons,
hope u're feeling better now? sorry i'm not able to advise... the only times i feel sharp pain (somewhere in the middle of the tummy) are occasionally when i sneeze too violently. I assume I pulled some muscle there... tatz why i'm always cautious when i need to sneeze... If ur pain was only for that short moment, it may not be something to worry abt, but do rest if u feel that u shld.

hi daisybuttons, yeah if it's only for tt few seconds, i think it shld be alright.

me too no sibling to pass bb stuff down. as for friends/relatives, they're keeping for their next child.

Dear Gals, it is a must to feel the BB's movement or kick everyday if I'm in the 18th week? I think I'm getting a bit crazy...if I dun feel e BB kicking, I feel so insecure.

Whenever I lie straight on my back, I would feel e BB moving to the centre of my tummy making me feeling so uncomfortable till I got no choice but to turn to the side to sleep...

I am just back from my detailed scan. Phew really tiring coz of the waiting time and my baby not cooperative. Keep turning & turning and cant see the gender. Finally got to see it and I am having a baby gal. Hee Ling, can update for me? How is yr detail scan also?

hi daisybuttons

my bb freq is the same as yours .. I just went for a meeting and it is moving so much ahha .. then at nite it slow down ...

i tot the pain you are describing is the ligament pain ? but it is good to stay at home to rest and monitor yourself. since you can chat in the forum now, i presume u r ok ya ?

Chng's wife... me too .. i will keep thinking of the bb and start asking the bb to kick if I dun feel any movements for quite some time .. at times... the bb does cooperates !

hi lichristin,

congrats on knowing your bb's gender !!

Dear Chng's wife

I believe we should not alarm so soon becuz we are neither here nor there. That is why we are so crazy over not feeling baby's movement at times. Haha...is so easy to say then done.

ilovebabies, tat's what I did too!!! Talk to the BB...hahahaha. My hubby thot I'm crazy. But e BB dun wanna cooperate leh...

bjiou, tat's what I hv been telling myself...but seems useless leh. Hehe

Btw, my hubby read from "Wat to expect when u r expecting". It actually states e BB moves the most when we are sleeping.

littlepony,
I juz called Thyme at United Sq. They say they're the biggest outlet compared to Taka, OUB and Suntec. But the $15 tops promo i saw has a catch... u've to purchase $200 worth of items b4 u're entitled to buy one top for $15... hai...

Is Thyme's range n prices good? Worth going down to have a look?

Hi Puppylove,
Huh.. have to buy $200 before you can buy their top at $15... Sigh! I was tempted to go down to Suntec one when u say about $15 top (wic is damn cheap).. At least u smart enuff to call them 1st. haa..

I think the one i saw at Taka was ok only. I bought cotton tops.. other than that, nothing seems catches my attention leh. But well, I am not sure bout the Suntec one.. But if you wanna to go, why not go to the Suntec outlet and then, you can also pop down to Spring Maternity. I bought some tops from there as well. Quite nice.

And today, I went to Modern Maternity at Amara to get another pants. That should complete my wardrobe for a while. In the past before preggy, i will never be able to repeat my clothings for at least 3 weeks.. but now, I think i will repeat my clothings almost every week. What to do? Maternity clothings quite expensive!

hi rainnie... joking lah ! who knows some MTBs here are inspired ....

eh I just realised from the 2nd child onwards there is a $10K tax redemption amt ... it is on the TAXED AMOUNT not the income !! wow shiok man !!

littlepony,
i've been to Spring (suntec) twice le. Bought some tops n pants.
if i'm going Thyme, think i'll try the United Sq outlet since they say itz the biggest...

btw... in case anyone interested in Thyme's promo, it's on till mid-May... (14 May if i heard correctly), n the shops r open till 9pm.

bjiou,
if u're looking for tops, try Modern Maternity at Amara. Very nice designs. I also like their pants for their low-front cutting. Material very comfy. They've another outlet at Collyer Quay, The Arcade, but i've not been to that one.