(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

ilovebabies

u mean raw sushi or those cooked ones? that means all of us can eat now lor..We are now in 2nd trimester leh.

haha bjiou, me too..it's difficult to resist when I had to put the cockles to one side cos forgot to tell the uncle not to put...but as what ilovebabies says, have to control for the sake of the little one... : )

bijou, I think you should try to avoid eating raw / uncooked food for the time being...

ilovebabies, we should avoid eating sushi also?? I've been eating it once in a while, but always ate the cooked ones.

hi bijou, amylim ...

ya I think my fren meant the cooked ones as well .. guess you never know if the chef was handling uncooked food at the same time when preparing sushi ... ahah anyway it is some pre-caution that we take during 1st tri since it is the most critical period ... we dunno what happens behind the scene right ?

so in summary, home cooked food is the best !

hi bjiou,
not beri gd to eat raw food now...i love sashimi...bt i sacrifice....sob sob

395999.gif

helo pig2, thanks thanks. yah i not drinking that soup regularly, have not touched it since pregnant! hehehe thanks!

ilovebabies, yep my gynae also said no alcohol, but i did read in pregnany websites that alcohol content in cooked food is very very low and considered safe. coz already vapourised and the contents have been changed oredi. i know of a pregnant woman who still drinks wine and champagnge and eats sashimi coz she feels its all rubbish and her gynae told her anything also can eat. but i wld rather be safe than sorry.

bjiou, pls dun eat raw food. including fish or meat. it may contain bacteria like salmonella, e coli or raw meat may cause toxisplasmosis. all of this are no-no during pregnancy. i love sashimi too and somehow i know i will enjoy eating it even though i hate cooked fish now. but when i eat sushi i have to force myself to eat only the cooked ones. its for the sake of our baby, so have to control. i love cockles too, and la-la,last time also love to eat plates and plates of it with my friend. now i will never order coz i know of the risk of hep a. steer clear kae?

ya men ....i;m soooooooooo boring..
By the way, who is updating the list...can pass it to me ..i dun mind updating it.

ilovebabies

what is your craving so far? They say if u crave for salty and sour food..u will most like hve a boy. heee

i am doZzzzing off! juz went toilet to 'hide' for 15min, still hv 1.5hrs to go... quick someone pls say something interesting to keep me awake!! haha...

ilovebabies
me hah...actually dun hve oso. But i tot of starting to eat birdnest and those chicken herber soup. Want do you think?

bijou

I have already started once i progressed to 2nd tri. I took birdnest and a bit of durians almost weekly heheh ..

Chicken soup shld be ok now .. In fact I take cordyceps soup also ...

bijou

ya according to gynae it's 14 onwards lor ... u ? how many weeks are u now ?

btw I bought this 6 disc music cds from popular... think it cost $39.90. Each disc features diff music such as classical music, nursery rhymes with vocal and some nature experiences music ...

they are quite soothing lah ... i played it almost daily on my office pc ... when I work, bb listen to the music hehe

ilovebabies

I am exact 14 weeks today. Yeap..i heard that music is good oso but I dun hve the patient to listen to slow slow music. Hahahaa

bijou

me too ! that's why I play it at work .. cos I am concentrating on my work rather than the music most the times ... but bb idling inside mah ... aahha

for me i play soothing music when i going to sleep. These help me to get into fast well and for me baby to listen inside

hi chocolat

I have a fren who used to drink one can of chicken essence everyday during her pregnancy.
Guess it shld be ok for you as well ?

chocolat, can take...but not advisable to drink every day. perhaps once a week. But it also depends on ur health ya. If u r too heaty den better dun drink too often

Thanks gals!! U all r the best!! Cos I'm still feeling fatique and tired everyday due to no quality sleep at night.
Have a great weekend!!
Take care!!

helo ladies! its saturday!!!

ilovebabies and bjiou, aiyah missed your conversation yesterday coz was rushing some work heheheee... oh really salty and sweet stuff means boy? funny, coz i tot i heard sweet stuff means boy hehehee. for me, i like both sour and sweet stuff...oh dear...confused me again hahahhah! mine always a mixture hehehehe. aiyah i think hor, all this myths hor, really varies according to who says it hor? so far the only distinctly different one is the roundness and flatness of tummy...think that one we can do a poll close to all our 5th month, then during detailed scan verify if its right lah! want? hehehhe so fuN! :p then we can record some statistics for analysis later on hahahhaaa...

chocolat, its up to you how often u wanna drink. but when u first starts, u shld monitor see how ur body is reacting okie? coz its very coincidental for me, my spotting in 5th week happens to be after i took chicken essence. but it also happens to be when i was working hard for a presentation and was pretty streesed lah, so dunno reason. when i went to tmc, and asked the nurse abt chicken essence, she said that ppl nowadays health make-up and constitution is very diff. last time our mums got chicken essence to drink is very good for them and they got all the good benefits, but nowdays got ppl drink bottled essence liaoz may not suit them. so it really depends.

have u reached ur 2nd tri yet? dun worry about the sleep, think when u reach 2nd tri things will get better!
i find i sleep better at night now.

morning MTBs...

bad start of the week..felt nausea in the morning after shower..even thou last for 5mins..i feel sooo sian lor..tdy aredi start of 16th & i stil hv to suffer...sob sob..

Fri nite went to bakerinz w gfs n hb..who knows reach home immediately puke out evything...

hi Chocolat, are u taking any milk formula for yourself right now? If not, try Frisomum or any other milk powders for mothers...drink a glass of warm milk abt an hr b4 bedtime, u should be able to sleep better as milk will increase the chemical L-triptophane that will make us relax n sleepy

Personally i find that i have better sleep quality when i drink milk b4 bedtime..u try n see if it works for u

dear pjen,
Are you taking vitamin B6 supplements? I was puking like crazy during my 2nd & 3rd month. Taking B6 helped me to control it a little better. Check with your gynae if it may be of help to you too?

Hi MTBs,

What do you all drink when you eat outside say @ coffeeshop? It's such a headache what to drink. Coffee and tea cannot drink. Carbonated water cannot drink. Crysanthamum cannot drink. So many restrictions... So I thought maybe I can get a few tips what do you girls drink outside..

I still drink A&W rootbeer every now and then... cannot resist... :p

helo pjen *pat pat* can try Vit B6 like what mae recc. i heard its good to curb nausea and its a good supplement for us too. dun feel so bad, i also reaching 16th week but still feel nauseas after food.

Smiley, hehehe i used to drink tea before preggie, now i drink either hot milo or hot horlicks or just hot water.
occasionally will drink sugar cane but quite cooling so very rarely. i heard thats a brand of rootbeer that is caffeine free, think its MUGS or something...can go check it out if its really caffeine free.

hi Smiley...

I got the same prob as you .. I will usually drink hot milo, canned soya bean, cooked barley or lime juice, or sometimes Ribena. The rest I try not to consume ....

btw did my triple test last Tue and gynae's clinic called on Sat to say everything is normal ... but I do not know the actual reading yet ... at least one hurdle over

hi pjen
i also vomitted once in 2nd tri ... not too sure what triggers it ... somehow it just came out and spoilt my day ... guess it takes time for the morning sickness to go away .. dun worry ok ?

Hey daisybuttons!

You are right. I did notice before that MUGs rootbeer is caffaine free, that's why I drink rootbeer, but coffeeshop usually carry A&W,so when i ask for rootbeer, they serve me A&Ws. A&W one is not caffaine free.

I think it's bad coz it is not just the caffaine that is bad, the fact that it is carbonated is bad also right?

Do you know the reason why cannot take cold drink? 2nd trimester should be ok right? Or still not ok? I drink cold ribena too... cold bandung, cold desserts.. even ice kachang! :p Though I always feel guilty after that.. Heehee..

helo Smiley, try not to drink the A&W rootbeer too often. my gynae did say at most a cup a day of caffienated drinks. as for carbonated, the sugar content is very high so its not good for us, we shldn't take too sweet things in case diabetes during pregnancy. and u may also put on extra unnecc weight that is not going to your baby.

cold drinks ah, think more coz of traditional saying i think. cold is too cooling for ur body. during menses, if we take cold drinks, many of us have heavier blood flow and even clots, which is not good for our reproductive system. and cramps more painful too for some ppl. so there's an effect. but i understand ur craving for cold things, sometimes nowadays i do too, even though last time i dun. think its coz of our body temp? and also prob coz cold things are usually the sweeter things. i crave for the ice lolly with lime outside and vanilla inside, and ice kachang, but i control and seldom eat them. if i do, its only a few mouthfuls, and after that i try to drink warm water hehehee.

hi smiley,

I also face the same problem when eating at coffeeshop..so fan hor..

i usually drink soya bean milk, else is milo or horlick (cold or hot) , season's water chestnut...

dunno wat else to drink liao

Anyone here still drinking coffee or tea regularly? Thankfully i managed to kick off the coffee habit b4 i got pregnant, but still crave for some tea off and on.. Managed to stay off tea during 1st tri but lately hv been drinking 2 to 3 times a week..

my gynae says anything oso can eat/drink as long as u do so in moderation, so i guess shld b ok hor? r ur gynaes so "open" as well?

Woah. When I was in my first trimester, I had a hard time with drinking. I know that I can't take cold water b'cos it might weaken my reproductive system so I drank Milo till I sian. I kept off Milo for a long time and then take Horlick. I drank that till I sian also.

Now I take cold drinks whenever I like it. I avoided carbonated drinks like plague b'cos it's never good to begin with. My mothers said to take anything that you please, just don't take pineapples.

helo puppylove, i dun drink tea liaoz. never like coffee but am a tea lover. have lots of organic and herbal tea at home hehee, now can't drink. occasionally when my hubby drinks i will take 2-3 sips, but thats all. my gynae says can drink either one cup of tea,coffee OR coke etc per day, but not more than 1 cup. but i didn't...

Melissa hehehe yah i control myself from drinking cold water. thing is, i used to be sensitive to milo and horlicks coz of my irritable bowel syndrome. but now this is the only hot drink i can take outside, so have to. thing is, the hormone changes makes my IBS slightly better too.

yah pineapples is a no no...but some gynaes will say its okie as long as don't eat on empty stomach but no way i am going to try hehe.

daisybuttons, yeah I'm with you. My favorite pizza is the Hawaiian Pizza from Pizza Hut and it has got lotsa pineapple toppings! I forego that completely! Now I only order seafood or singapore surpreme. I don't dare to take hawker centre's yummy pineapple drink too!

Hey does anyone have this low pulling pains in either left or right side? I have been having this pulling pain on and off for like a whole night yesterday. Usually it lasts for a few minutes but the whole night? Should I be concerned? I have no bleeding though and the pain is not excruciating or what..

puppylove, if i'm @ home i will drink a cup of coffee in the morning....and on & off ... will drink cold drinks such as canned drinks or fruit juice....cuz weather too hot! and .. now in 2nd tri hor...i seems to feel warmer.....as for sugar cane...if u feel ur body too cool .. den dun take .. if not will be like me ... kena cough ... :p

I drink Tea-C 5 days aweek. And cold drinks like soyamilk when i'm at the coffeeshop. Cannot take hot drinks leh....the weather is too hot for me to take hot drinks man. I find that most of you are very "Obedient" Mummy leh...hohooo

I am very bad at controlling myself. In the past. I used to wonder why some pregnant women take cold drinks and eat cold desserts. NOW I fall into this category myself
I am such a bad mummy.

For cold drinks, I am not very convinced coz by the time the cold drink reaches the tummy, it should be warmed up by our body temp isn't it? :p That's the excuse I give myself now.

And oh, the strange thing is, I was also told that our body temp should be higher now that we are pregnant and I should feel hotter. BUT I don't feel hotter. In fact, I always feel colder than my friends who are not pregnant when we are in the same room. :p I am weird.

ilovebabies,

Is it ok to drink barley? I thought drinking barley was ok until my mother-in-law told me not to. She says it is not good.

Aiyaaa...I am confused with too many dos and don'ts. My mum says cannot eat watermelon. My mother-in-law asks me to eat watermelon cos it's good for me in this hot weather (???)

My gynae says anything can eat and drink except don't take alcohol, caffeinated drinks :p

hi Melissa, i also have cramping pains in my tummy whole of saturday since i woke up leh. its in the middle, not at the sides for me. i also worried leh, but sunday its better liaoz. if urs pulling pain i think sometimes caused by expanding uterus issit?

anyone has cramps recently in early 2nd tri? dun know issit coz of the soup i drank the nite before containing martini and ginger... but i dun dare drink liaoz.

bjiou, i find sometimes 2nd or 3rd time mummies are more brave with the things they eat hehehee. prob coz u do that in ur first few pregnancies and u r okie so u got used to it. for most of us, coz its our first baby, so we tend to be more kia su ah. my SIL with her 2nd child now also drinks white wine champagne and eat sashimi, like she dun care one.

smiley, hehehe ur analogy quite cute. yah water got quite a long way to travel, but water travels quite fast leh. well for me hor last time if i drink cold drinks i get stomach ache quite fast. but when i have tummy upset and i drink warm water, i can feel the warm water travelling down and warming my tummy and i feel better after that hehehe. so i feel got some logic in what they say loh.

as for feeling warm, think it usually starts in the 2nd tri. i 1st tri also feel very cold and afraid of the cold. ppl say its coz our health not good to begin with, thats why feel cold instead of hot. now, i dun feel that cold, but not hot either, somewhere in between hehehee.....

dear Melissa,

I do get the pulling pains every now and then. My gynae said it is OK cos it's the ligaments stretching as the uterus grows.

helo smiley and ilovebabies, barley is cooling so dun drink too much, so is water chestnut drink. watermelon is cooling too, but in 3rd tri for example some woman will take coz they feel so hot and weather so hot. i know of friend who take and she's okie lah. so it depends on ur own health i guess.