(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

<font size="+1">brenda</font>
Saw your post about the vanilla custard, but don't know what is your question leh. What exactly are you asking?

And yes, Nestle cereals have added sugar.

<font size="+1">ling</font>, if sophie already has eczema or had before, then food allergy may make it worse. There are different types of eczema, but most bb have mild atopic eczema, so you should first identify the type she has so you know if she has allergies. You will find tons of info on Google about atopic eczema and the others.

Hi RW,

Welcome! I felt the way you did, I only joined a couple of days before you did. Post a pix of your baby here soon!

Hi <font size="+1">jerene</font>, wow.. you signed up for shichida!! what do you like about the method and will you be the one attending the training?

Are you SAHM?

welcome <font size="+1">RW</font>..
hope you'll have a great time yakking with us..

me juz came back from TAKA baby fair.. yes.. AGAIN... haha.. spent 50++ bucks... but not all mine lahz..bot some for my enzo's gf too.. keke... and i met DaisyButtons, Sam, and handsome Jovann too!!! hehe... what a small FAIR..

ling & daisybuttons
tks tks. great tips n help. cos i stupid dunno what the 3-day wait rule works. i actually intro apple puree to him then stop n wait for 3days
so stupid right. ok now i understand better. will intro sweet potatoes to him tmr cos i bought the jap type from cold storage just now.

daisybuttons

give some plain water to Jovann after every few spoons of cereal, he could be feeling thirsty. Alternatively try adding some pureed carrot into the cereal ?

brenda

wow, ur ex job sounds happening man !! ever consider going back to that job when Arianne is older ?

DG

ur hubby is non Chinese ??? But ur sons look Chinese to me.

<font color="ff0000">Taka Fair</font>

Hahhaaa so fun to meet Emma there. I was zooming around the aisles with a purpose (left Jovann upstairs with Daddy) when a stroller crossed my path, and i tot to myself "this baby looks so much like Enzo." Then I looked up and saw Emma hahahahaha! and this time Enzo smiled at me leh! hehehe. the previous time he cried wor ooops.thanks to emma else i super cock eyed cannot find the munchkin food mill though it was staring at me in the face!

<font color="ff6000">Damage Report ... $251!!!!</font>

1. Leapfrog activity centre. such a good buy! was eyeing this or the evenflo for some time. lucky i din buy the leapfrog from cheongchoon, getting at the taka fair so much cheaper. $149
2. Saftety First Potty trainer $29.90 I think
3. Swim float! the kind that baby can sit in it without fully submerging one. Bought the one in Car design hehehe! hubby been looking for it!
4. i-play swimming trunks (since i bought the float)
5. Munchkin Food Mill
6. Soft baby pillow
7. Pigeon Mag Mag trainer cup 3-in-1 set (teat, spout, straw)
8. one Pigeon 300ml bottle at $4.90 coz 50% off for exchange of an avent bottle!
9. piyo piyo soup spoon hahaa.
10. piyo piyo bowl (i cant resist piyo piyo!!)
11. pigeon bottle wash (Pack of bottle + refill)

<font color="ff0000">Total damage $251!!!</font> ARrrrggghhh!!! jia lat, now I 2nd in running only to Peachie! pocket empty liaoz.
taka gave me a a free Tomy horse toy to shut me up.

wanna go kino buy the book brenda and ling recc on solids, but din even have time! by the time we finish eating dinner its 9.45pm, poor jovann is so tired and cranky.

<font color="119911">Jrt</font>, hahahaa lucky u din go with me today, else you sure shake ur head at me. hehehe. but then again, maybe if u go u will talk me out of buying some things? hahaha!

<font color="0000ff">selina</font>, dun need to feel bad, most of us are first time mommies, learning the hard way hehehe. jovann also poor thing mah, now 5mths 3 weeks then finally eat cereal.
he been waking up earlier and earlier past week, and hubby and I think its coz milk is no longer enough for him. so i think all signs shows he is ready for solids so i feel its right to wait till now, for me lah.

maybe caleb just dun like apple, try other things. one thing i notice about bottled apple (is urs bottled?) is its super sour leh.

<font color="ff6000">alicia</font>, the way u describe the GymB class about flashcards and such quite interesting leh., she managed to assimilate learning into playing hor, nice. how much is it again? got trial class? bkt batok?

ilovebabies! how come neber see u on msn? ehehe i was typing my mesg when u posted, yes yes i went taka! hahaha submitted my damage report oredi. oh i plan to introduce carrots soon, perhaps when he 6mths plus. so fun! looking fwd to preparing his food, i love it! oh u mean if i feed him water it will help him to eat more? but he never like water coz i dun have practice, but next time i will try when he stops!

DB

hehe ur damage report is not short ya ? i saw the float too and in the end, I bought the TWEETY BIRD design cos the holes seems smaller cos my Rachel is petite. But i was interested in the one u bought initially !! and I bought a pump as well.. dont think I got enough breathe to inflate the float ... think I'll be giddy before Rachel starts swimming eheh

once we start bb on semi solid food, need to feed bb plain water cos the food can be quite heaty. Can observe from Rachel's poo that it's smelly and not as watery. Luckily for me, Rachel loves to drink water. Sometimes when she reject the cereal it's because she felt thirsty. Anyway this is what I know lah, may not be the reason why Jovann doesnt like it. But it takes time for them to get used to it

Now rachel is taking brown rice/Heinz cereal with bananas in the morning and fish porridge for lunch.

Today she managed to finish the porridge ! Wow .. didnt know this small gal got such big appetite ! And she can still gobble down 80ML of milk abt an hour later ...

here's my darling bub, Rae Ann @ 5 months. She was born on 19 Sept.

i'm still up at this time because poor baby has bronchiolitis and has trouble sleeping...its really quite terrible...

its supposed to be uncommon in breastfed babies so i'm quite puzzled how rae ann got it...i suspect she got it from her cousin who was recovering from a cough...

my advice is keep ur babies away from anyone who has a cough or even those who have just recovered...

i could get over the sleepless nights pacifying her, but my heart really breaks to see her suffering so much...
719832.jpg

Good Morning Mummies!!
Let me do a quick posting while jayden is napping, if not later will be bz bz bz playing with him...

I went ytd and my total damage report is $117!

DAMAGE REPORT
=============
1)Soothing lullabies for bed-time
2)Kids tools-Flash card
3)My first alphabet softbook
4)What's the weather like softbook
5)Where is Elmo Peek-a-boo softbook
6)1 set of Winnie the Pooh PJ
7)1 Set Baby Mickey Romper(which i saw it when i was queuing to pay money)
8)1 Winnie the Pooh Hooded Vest

TOTAL = $117! *faint* Take and take and take end up with all these...

<font color="0000ff">injection</font>
Ytd Jayden went for his injection... Nurse took his weight, 8.8kg... Stupid nurse.. refuse to take his height even thou i "beg" her to... Saying that the height can be ONLI taken 3 mths once... haiz... why polyclinic like tat one...

<font color="ff6000">Welcome RW!!</font>

<font color="0077aa">Rice cereal</font>
Everyone started your babies with rice cereal?? Haiz.. i still cannot start lor... strictly told by the nurse, NO OTHER FOOD THAN MILK... so have to wait until he turn 6 mths lor...

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">DomesticGoddes</font></font>, ooh guess u missed my earlier posting, as follows:
When I make custard for my tarts or pies, I use Raw egg yolks . Well generally the process of making freshly cooked custard is such that you CANNOT cook the yolks (same for ice cream!), have to keep it runny using double boil method. So if that's the case, I don think we should be feeding our babies raw egg yolk right? Unless they use POWDERED custard or it's known as Custard Powder on the shelves but that also means the custard is processed with added preservatives.. maybe I'm wrong, but just not comfy with that idea.. then again, I'm sure Heinz would have thought of that and also all jarred foods (including our sardine can or baked beans etc..) are heated up to a very high temperature (killing all the nutrients that's the setback abt using jar foods for bbs) in order to be bottled so as to attain a longer shelf life la. So that also means the custard in that 'Vanilla Custard' should be very cooked.. just my thoughts..

Maybe DomesticGoddess can share your thoughts on this or any other mummies who bake/cook?

Just thought you cook/bake, so might have some idea about this custard for bbs thing..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">RW or cheekz?</font></font>, hihi! Welcome *WAVE*! that's a cool pic of Rae Ann! Poor girl, hope she recovers soon..

Aiya, we can't take it for granted that breastfed bbs are 100% protected from these problems. They're still vulnerable to infections. I always insist my family members who come back from outside to wash their hands first before carrying Arianne. That's the biggest culprit- passing germs through DA HANDS!

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Doreen</font></font>, I think 'taitais' are only useful to this society by contributing lots of GST cos in my impression all they do is spend spend spend! I don think 'taitai' is a desirable trade anymore..

Taitais don take care of their own children, we do! They probably don even step into the kitchen and I prepare my family's dinners and make my own sambal!

I may share some common hobbies with them like getting a mani/pedi, having hi-teas with friends or sitting alongside with them while attending fashion shows but these activities certainly don't qualify me officially a 'taitai'.

Urrrgghhh! I hate to be associated as one! choyChoychoy!!!

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">ilovebabies</font></font>, what type of carrots did u get for Rachel? I can't decide le.. is it the mini ones?

Errr.. no la.. that kind of job is very straining to the health. Aiyo, last time my suppliers always tried to buy 'my heart' by supplying me free cigarettes and alcohol! But I might consider going back to work (in a totally diff industry) in Sep when Arianne hits BIGGIE ONE!

Hey! did u change your nick to <font color="ff0000">Labbit</font>?? I see until I blur.. I was like how come this Rachel bb look so much like cutie pie.. uurrgghh then realised it's you! ahhh! the hairclip really does KU-NIANG up lil Rach! so sweet.. awww

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Daisybuttons</font></font>, wah not bad le your harvests.. I'm planning to go this afternoon hopefully there're still stuff for me to grab..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">June</font></font>, 8.8kg?! how come Jayden feels more like a 9 or 10kg bb le?! Or u starved him the past 2 weeks since I saw him is it?!! hmmm

Just use a measuring tape and measure his length yourself la..

<font color="ff6000">hi ilovebabies</font>, how come you use ur other nick? hehe i know you have 2 nicks. hehehe yah been meaning to ask you this. why u chose "labbit" huh? did u notice my email is labbitbin too? hehehee...so ciao! for my case, my sec school friends gave me labbit as my nick, thats why. what abt urs??? oh yah i also wanna know, what kinda carrots u got? oh yah about the float, the one u bought for how many yrs old ah? is it the same rack? mine is 1-2 yrs old, i ask the lady got any others a not, i saw another series is for 0-3yrs, quite cute. but the lady said that one only one hole for legs and the seating area very small, so better for bigger babies. so which one u bought???

<font color="0000ff">brenda</font>, yah man spent so much feel a bit regretful. hahaha but i look through the purchases all must buy one leh! aiyoh, so thats the way u feel about tai tais? Heng ah! i never call you that prior to this hahahah! else sure gana scold by you.

<font color="119911">peachie</font>, u not around ah? asked u a lot of qns in the previous posting hahaha. and hor, why did u buy leapfrog when u have eveflo? i know they are diff, but just wondering is it coz clarence din like evenflo? anyway yah i saw evenflo at the fair too. in the end bought leapfrog coz its musical thought more stimulating. but then after i buy i was thinking since its electronic, easier to spoil??? arrrrggghhhh

<font color="ff0000">mummies, about food</font> - as you hor, for those who's working and grandmothers are taking care of baby, do you girls ask them to prepare the vegetables fresh themselves, pass them the grating and puree-ing equipment, or do you prepare it yourself and freeze them into freezer cubes every week? i know angeline does the freezing. who else? i am wondering which way shld i do. i know fresh better, but apart from taking care of JOvann, i scared my parents or MIL too busy to prepare the fresh food properly leh.

both rae-ann and rachel looks so adorable! ilovebabies, u lelong-ing rachel ah? i want leh! hehehee....

Hi all....my damage report .. hahaha don't think any one can be as powerful as me! My trip to Taka baby fair on Friday....spent $728!!!

What I bought....
1) bola bola
2) swimming float x 2
3) rompers
4) Pigeon bottle cleanser x 4
5) Pigeon porridge mini cooker
6) Pigeon bottle
7) Medela PIS Advanced (This is the major one! That cost me a BOMB)

RW,
welcome. Your gal has the same b'day as mine. And from the looks of it she's a 'hairy' baby too.

Brenda,
Yes you are right. My T loves her food. Yesterday for lunch she had 5 tbsp of HT brownrice cereal. (I mixed with 100ml of milk, but its still so watery. I was so tempted to put in more cereal) + 1 cube brocolli + 1 cube carrot. For dinner she had 1 whole avocado + 1 whole banana. But like you said, more going in means more coming out. She has 1 - 2 big poos poos a day and boy do they smell.

Daisybuttons,
Yes I batch puree and freeze them, but MIL don't use my cubes. On days that we have to leave T with her, she will cook porridge with veggie for T.

ilovebabies,
cute pix of Rachel in basket. I have a similar one of T in a supermarket trolley. Will try to post here. The shoppers were all staring at us when we push her around like part of our 'purchases'.

rainnie,
you intend to continue BFing for long? How come buying the PIS now? What does the porridge mini cooker look like and how to use it?

looks like im the only one here giving bottled food to my baby huh! the rest of u r making home made puree? i dun hv a blender so cannot make leh..]

btw if we wanna freeze the home made puree, we need to buy those freezer cubes thing rite? any idea which shop in s'pore sells it?

wah the mummies here a lot of damage reports aft taka fair! i haven been to it yet and i wanna go!! probably gg only late this wk. cant spare any time to go here any earlier...

daisybuttons
tks for your encouragement. dunno y cos when i gave him jus apple, he likes it leh. i puree the apple myself. mayb he finds it strange when mix with cereals ba.

so u bought the leapfrog. i got a friend to bring it back for me from states. the leapfrog machine with a compliemntary book + 3 other books total US$86.

=====
my damage $150
- pigeon bb food maker (cos i gong gong when to sterilise my tollyjoy one so all gog yak after tt)
- soft bb pillow & bolster
- combi teething toy
- pigeon bottle cleanser refills (2 for $15.90)
- pigeon laundry detergent (pack of bottle + refill)
- pigeon porridge mini cooker
- bath toy
- stroller toy
- 3 sleepsuits

won a laundry detergent from pigeon instant win draw.

diasybutton,
For me i actually made the puree and freeze it. It can keep up to 6 weeks, but i only do it every weekend for 7 cubes which can last for a week supply

Brenda,
I heard some experience mummies saying that those big one is better than those mini carrot in term of taste and their babies like bigger one.

Taka fair,
I am also going today afternoon.

Here my girl latest pics, taken yesterday
720157.jpg
720158.jpg
720159.jpg

and in her carrier,
720160.jpg

fall alseep in her carrier,
720161.jpg

Michelle,
I dont think Singapore sell the freezer cube. You can go look for BP for this. I bought mine from a BP

ilovebabies aka labbit,
Wow... rachel is being lelong ah... then sure many ppls wanna grab it. haha

<font color="ff0000">Welcome RW</font>

michelle,
there's this online shop 'little jet plane' that sells the cubes in SGP. I bought from her and she mailed it to me. I'll send you the website when i get back to the office tomorrow.

pig2
I am keen in teh book too, how to auction ? brand new at 2 bucks is such a good deal..can ypu PM me

Brenda
I can't help laughing at the shop & Save bib ! So funny

I can't submit Winning pictures yet cos i die die only starting kelicia on nurse when she turns 6 months on 22 September, as advised by the nurse ;)

hi mommies! thanks for the warm welcome!

my late nights have totally made my brain turn into puree...my nick is cheekz! sorry for confusing so many of you!

i know its out of topic a little, but u can read more about bronchiolitis here:

http://www.kidshealth.org/parent/infections/bacterial_viral/bronchiolitis.html

seeing my precious bub suffer so much, i really hope none of this happens to any other precious babies...

i'm quite vexed at how she could have fallen so ill when we've been so anal about cleanliness and not taking her out to crowded places...

also, parents of older kids might not actually tell u that their kids are/were sick, so do be careful if u see them with drippy noses...

she slept only 2 hours the entire night! kept crying and wanting to be carried all the time because she couldn't breathe properly...

she vommitted almost all her meds and refused to nurse...my and hubby took turns to sleep to carry her...

finally, she got slightly better although she had slight fever on and off...

Brenda: you're right about the washing hands bit!

720281.jpg

rae ann finally in slumber...u can see how pissed she is!

DB, Brenda

hahaah cos I was using that Old nick before I join this thread lah ... gong gong ... typed the old nick and submit. Din realise until Brenda told me.

Ha ! I have not try making puree myself !! ooopps so I wont know which types of carrot to use ! I am v busy during weekends these few wks cos hub on ICT so have to rely on Heinz pureed carrot at the moment.

DB, u want to "buy" my Rachel ? Let's negotiate hehee..... how abt in exchange for Jovann?

Eling, Amabel look so happy in the carrier !! She is such a cheerful and well behaved gal !

U mean Pigeon has a mini cooker just for porridge ?? hmm I am using the typical slow cooker for making porridge and steam the fish separately.

Angeline

u confirm going for the yoga on 1st April ?? I've chosen that date so that I can meet you and Trinity since u r not in singapore most of the time !!

cheekz

yes it's v impt for adults to wash their hands before they go near babies. I practise that in my family too and always warn my nieces and nephew to NOT GO NEAR my bb if they are sick. So far they are good

RW, sorry to hear your Rae Ann has bronchiolitis, your heart must be aching! Hope she feels better soon. As for washing hands before picking up baby, even my own Dad thinks I am being too paranoid, not easy~{!-~}sigh!

June, started with organic rice cereal 2 days back, when baby Alexis is about 5.5 months, we figure she~{!/~}s ready~{!-~}initially wanted to wait till six months but guess I ran out of steam with all that breastfeeding. I truly admire those on TBF~{!-~}And Michelle, I am not making puree fresh either coz I don~{!/~}t know how!

ilovebabies, baby Rachel is absolutely a dear, hair clip or not!

E-Ling how often do you use the carrier? I bought that and found that baby Alexis~{!/~}s thighs were so red after an hour or so of usage and now switched to a sarong.

domesticgoddess I am a WAHM (Work At Home Mum) and I have not yet signed up for Shichida but planning to for the July 2007 intake. I gave my reasons for the intention to sign up before, you prob miss the thread but here goes again...

a) Focus on right brain, which is where we retain our long term memory. In general, schools in Singapore tend to favor left-brain modes of thinking, while downplaying the right-brain ones.

b) The emphasis on the importance of parent-child bonding and how it will impact brain stimulation.

c) Expecting a child to "receive training" for 75mins out of 10080mins (1 week) is pretty reasonable (to me)

d) Shichida is not an enrichment course, it lays the foundations on how to learn

e) Social interaction with peers in her age group in a more structured environment (maximum 6 students per class)

Hope the above helps.

Just had lunch with a couple of friends who have at least 2 kids and they were raving about Julia Gabriel~{!/~}s play nest. Anyone knows more about this or been to their classes?

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Daisybuttons</font></font>, heh.. that's my personal view on the tai-tais la.. I still have close encounters with them.. Always see them at fashion shows and the hair salon I go to. Oh I used to organise parties so I had a fair share of these people attending and I kinda see 'through' their behaviour and personalities!

For the <font color="0077aa">prep of puree</font> which u were asking, though I do my own but just thought I share my thoughts la.. Do u think the caretakers are hygenic enough? and also have sound knowledge of how to handle bb's foods? Well if no to both qns, then better not la.. I give u an example, my helper doesn't much about food hygiene. All she knows is to WASH them, from vegs to meats. But she can leave cooked meat - char-sew and uncooked meat - minced pork sitting together on a plate this morning. Do I blame her? No, cos lots of people do that too even the properly educated ones! not knowing the kind of danger they are introducing to their foods!

For us, maybe we'll just go toilet and get burnt a**holes but our babies?? eerrr.. don think we even want to imagine that right?

So my suggestion is, if u think u are better in doing the job and have time doing it yourself then u take the job. But if you don't and have doubts with your caretakers, probably try to subtlely, tactfully, diplomatically teach them lo..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Angeline</font></font>, hey just thought I let u know that I've given Joon your email addy, the trinity's yahoo one. Have you read the emails there with regards to the BBsNCream Trial class?

Also, besides going to the class, would u still like to make a date free and meet with whoever is free? Maybe a weekend like Sat or Sun.. throw the date and I can help sort out the place to meet la..

Your Trinity is really another amazing eater! 1 whole avocado + 1 whole banana!!!

dear mommies, thank you for your kind words about rae ann's illness...

i really hope she gets better soon...hearing such a horrible cough coming out from such a tiny person is so heart-rending!

-------------------------------------------------

brenda,
i agree with u about the importance of being careful about prep of puree esp for our babies...
its better to do it ourselves! (actually its quite fun too!)

my previous helper caused me to have food poisoning during the second week of confinement! its was so terrible, i was rolling about on the bed unable to move because of the pain!

------------------------------------------------
is it too late for me to join in the BBsNCream trial class???

when is it? if its soon, i won't go lah...esp since rae ann is not feeling well..

<font size="+1"><font color="0077aa">Hello Mommies!</font></font>
<font size="-2">am taking a break from the @#**!! paper i'm writing that's due tomorrow, to come here and chat!</font>

<font color="ff0000">Welcome Cheekz, Rae Ann & Labbit!</font>
(haha, ilovebabies, u got me there! i was like Brenda, I blur-tiao for awhile - how come the bb looks so much like Rachel?????)

<u>Joon's Taka Baby Fair Damage Report</u>
1. iPlay Sunsuit
2. Whale Float (i'm in love with this!)
3. Pigeon Pacifier
4. Bottle brush
5. Tiny Love Bouncy Toy

spent about $60++, but didn't get any lucky draw coupon becoz we bought a bit, then went to eat, then bought a bit more, so no receipt actually reached $30! -_-

<font color="ff6000">selina,</font>
u are very lucky to win! i actually wanted to buy the bottle cleanser refill too, but when i went, sold out liao!

<u>Feeding Solids</u>
Yippee! DN has joined the club! i pureed a batch of pears for him last night. got 5.5 cubes worth of pear puree (from 2 pears) to last him until Friday. :D wah, damn fun man. i was so tempted to eat all his pear puree coz i tested 1 cube of pear that i boiled and it <font color="aa00aa">tastes sooo good!</font> i won't mind if DN doesn't like it, then i can eat them all!!! mua-hahahahaha... *fingers crossed* (hohoho!)

<font color="ff6000">ling,</font>
wah. u're right man. solids make their poop STINK!

<font color="119911">daisybuttons,</font>
i'm actually going ahead to prepare DN's solids myself over the weekends and bring them over, cube by cube to my MIL's. gee, and i didn't even ask her. :p i figure i'm helping her out and (more importantly) IT'S SO FUN!

but this leads me to my next question... can anybody help me answer?

<font color="0000ff">Does freezing fruits/vege/etc compromise on the quality of the food? Are the nutrients destroyed the way antibodies are destroyed from freezing?</font>

i ask coz when i proudly presented 1 cube of pear puree to my MIL today, she scoffed at it and said i can't do that coz the pear will turn black and can't be eaten anymore. (she means it will oxidise)

<font size="-2">think i can throw my paper out the window... now going to bring DN to the pool for his first dunk in the water!!!</font>

I'm taking Enzo swimming!! WooHoo.. here's him before we hit the pool, swimming in the Pacific Ocean.. keke...

720523.jpg
720524.jpg
720525.jpg

dunno y he like cannot open his eyes once he got into the suit.. its not exactly too tight.. and its for 1 yr olds somemore.. hmm... strange... hehe.. ok... gotta go bring him to the pool.. hehe.. so happy..

<font color="ff0000">cheekz,</font>
sorry didn't see ur post before i posted. sure! join us for the trial
there're going to be 2 sessions - 25 mar and 1 april, both sundays. i'll pm u the email i sent out to all the mommies last wk. poor rae lyn, i hope she gets better soon!

princessemma & joon

wish i can bring rae ann downstairs for a dip too! its such a hot day and we can't switch on the aircon because of her condition now...

wow, enzo is sooo cute in his swim suit! he looks real happy too!

hope the babies and their mummies will enjoy their first dip together! take lotsa pics

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Michelle</font></font>, use this email addy - [email protected] to buy the little freezing cubes, I just bought them like last week.

1 tray = $13.50
Postage = $1.00

2 tray = $13.50 x 2
Postage = $1.50

You don really need a blender to puree food. The back of a fork and a usual porcelain bowl will do. Just that you won't get a consistency like blenders do but good enough to feed bbs. If u find any food 'hard' like pears, steam or blanch them first. For Pears (which I just did today and A loves it!), remove the core and skin then steam it for about 3-4 minutes until the flesh is soft. Then just mashed it with a fork. U can add a bit of milk while mashing if the pear is not that ripe. Only ripe ones are juicy enough..

And many many more purees u can make this way. Like pumpkin, banana, avocado, sweet potatoes, melon, carrots etc.. all these don need blenders to achieve. And it's really not difficult to make and definitely better foods for Ethan than jarred foods la.. try ya, total prep time probably 25 mins (include cooling time after steaming) for first timers, and as u progress, the time will surely shorten.. like for me now, I take about 15mins.. heh Anyway if u do need help, just shout at me!

Oh, I'm sure you'll enjoy doing it just by thinking of all the goodness Ethan will be gaining!

Eh, of cos jarred foods are also ok just not as good. My Chloe had jarred foods too!

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">E-Ling</font></font>, oh okie will try the bigger ones then..

Hey Amabel looks chubbier now! Is she taking solids as well as Rachel? cos Rachel also more bui bui now cos her mummy said she's eating solids very well!

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">ilovebbs</font></font>, eh people blur sotong, but u are blurblur labbit! It's not yoga on 1st Apr le later u make Angeline blur too.. heehee..

I think the younger ones will listen la, but the old people wa pang.. so hard for them to be co-operative. Like my hub, if I ask him to bathe more than once a day, he'll tell u that will make him lose his ying1-er2-bao3-hu4-mo2!! Urrrggghh!

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Joon</font></font>, I use my 2cts worth of understanding with food handling to share with you my opinions when it comes to freezing foods.

Yes! quality loss definitely happens to foods when we freeze them. SIMPLY becos u are eating it later! that's why u have to freeze it in the 1st place, right? The only way to ensure NO compromise on food quality is to eat it immediately. Due to our room temp, for fruits and vegs, microorganisms start to multiply the moment we cut open them!

Freezing is a method of preservation and it helps save time and $$. It simply makes practical sense when it comes to bb's foods. We can't cut open an apple and expect bb to finish the apple at one go right? Well unless your bb is another Angeline's Trinity la..heh.. We also can't be throwing the other half of the apple away. So DA BEST alternative is still to freeze them. However, there are some steps we can take to LESSEN the lost of quality while we do it. Like:

1. Blanching/Boiling/Steaming prevent foods from changing color or flavor.

2. Foods to be transfered to the freezer within 2/3 hours after steaming/blanching/boiling them. But this guideline is from some american website and they are considering their kind of room temp)so I'd suggest as soon as possible, for me is after I pureed the food, I'll quickly scoop into the cubes and to the freezer so about 15 mins or less. You can only do this when your food is cooled down though. Warm foods into the freezer will only SPOIL your fridge faster!

3. Your freezer is best set to -20 degrees or lower to prevent deterioration, hence shorten the shelf life of the foods.

4. Keep your frozen cubes deeper into the freezer, that means not near the door. As nearer to the door, the more the foods will suffer from the frequent change of temp when the door is open/close. This will also destroy the nutrients of the foods.

5. Besides the freeze cubes, use containers that are freeze-friendly.

Aiyo I can only think of these pointers now.. I'm sure I haven't cover all. So better if can read up from helpful websites la..

So now all u need to do is to put your heads together (with PF probably) and think which is the lesser-lest evil,
Self-Made Frozen Purees?
or
MIL-Made Full-of-Doubts Purees?
or
Jarred Purees?

The only fruits I know that are not freeze-friendly are like bananas and avocadoes because they oxidise very fast unless we steam or blanch them. Ermm.. I don know what other foods cannot be frozen liao.. Aiyo my brain juice dried up after writing this post! heehee.. so if I can think of more, I'll let u know ya..

Just FYI, I have a separate knife, cutting board and blender for making Arianne's foods..

hi cheekz,so heartpain to have ur baby so sick, but glad she is feeling better oredi? the baby n cream class is n 25 march or 1 april. but better make sure rae-ann fully recover and get enough rest first before joining wor.

angeline, joon, e-ling, brenda, yah actyally i wld like to prepare the food myself and freeze it, but my concern hor is the same as joon's loh, will it destroy the nutrients by freezing? that is my only hesitation. brenda, that is a good point u brought up about hygiene wor, it din cross my mind. well, i know my MIL will be careful, but i can't tell abt my parents! hahahaa. sometimes i specify this can do that cannot do, my father always roll his eyes at me and say i very fussy. so now everything they wanna do e.g. bring jovann downstairs must ask me first. when i listed so many conditions, they decided its too troublesome so din bring hehee.

joon, i think cooked fruits shldn't oxidise right?i thought the reason why we cook fruits then puree then store is coz it can keep better this way?

oh yah, so what fruits shld we cook first before freezing and which ones shldn't we cook? pear, apple must cook first , as well as spinach, carrots right? i heard papaya and avocado cannot cook right? what other guidelines huh? dun wanna do something sala leh.

ilovebabies u wanna exchange jovann ah?!! hehehe u will regret hahaha coz i think he is fussier than rachel and makes more noise. but then i think if jovann carried by you he will be okie one, but if i carry rachel she will recognise i not mommy a not? hehehee. oh u have not explain why labbit uh?

porridge cooker - oh the pigeon one is for u to put insdie the rice cooker and cook one. its small small kind, think suitable for those without small slow cookers?

e-ling, amabel so alert and pretty in these pics!

Eh, ask you mummies hor. how much cereal will a baby eat max for one meal? coz jovann eating about 1-2 tbps of cereal now without fruits. but i just heard from emma enzo is taking 7 milk scoops full! wow!!! when shld i be reaching that amount huh? wil it be too much if i feed that amount plus fruits? how do i know i am feeding enough or too much?

joon,

thanks for including us...i'm keeping my fingers crossed that rae ann will be ok by 25 mar...according to her PD, this type of thing usually ends by the 7th day which is tuesday...

<font color="ff0000">cheekz,</font>
sent! pls check the email that u registered with SG Mthrhood.
pls reply and i'll put u on the email list with the rest of the mommies.

<font color="119911"><font size="+1"><u>BBnC Trial Class</u></font></font>
Whoppeee! We have 20 mommies & bbs! So that's 10 per class. If we can find 4 more mommies to join in, we can have 3 classes, 8 per class, which'll be better for the bbs.
More "intimate" and "romantic", hahahaha...

I bet there'll be lots of match-making going on after the classes are over.

<font color="aa00aa">emma,</font>
enzo looks so cute in his wetsuit! HE DA MAN! u pulled his swimming cap too low issit? that's why cannot open his eyes! i just brought DN to the pool today too! hahaha... so funny. the iplay sunsuit i bought was too small. can see his butt crack! -_- call police!

so mommies, looks like my Taka Damage List is not complete. will be making another round this week. need to buy another swimming bottom.

hi brenda, i post mine then i saw ur post. i thought avocados not supposed to cook??? okie, when we buy sweet potatoes or spinach or pumpkin, any thing to look out for? any kind will do? so u need to steam fruits only for less than 5 mins? what about vege? yah hor true hor, baby cannot finish one apple right? so def need to freeze what! why i so gun doo....hehehe.

selina, since caleb dun like to eat carrots together with cereal, then just feed h8im seperately for a while. see if he changes his mind later one.

jo, pigeon and piyo piyo got food mill meh????? if u are talking about the 6-in-1 set or something, thats not a food mill, just a food processing set. i have the pigeon one. the food mill from munchkin is the one u have to rotate the lever kind, like kidco kind.

emma, enzo looks so happy swimming in the pacific ocean! hehehe.....hope he has fun swimming with rainnie. and its nice meeting you guys this morning. and love your MATCHING superman tshirts! hehehe, even enzo has one.

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Cheekz</font></font>, oh dear food poisoning during confinement? urrrgggh that must have been torturing for u! poor thing..

why would air-con worsen Rae Ann's condition? I thought it's better right? cos the air so polluted..

<font color="0077aa">brenda,</font>
thanx for the info! xing1 ku2 ni3 le4, type so much out! thanx thanx thanx. i'll tell my MIL that i boiled the pears first, before freezing them, so they won't turn black! actually, my reasons for preparing in batch on the weekends for my MIL are purely selfish!!

1. IT'S SO FUN! it's masak-masak come to life man! now can play with real food and real baby! yippee

2. I bought 4 of those freezer cube trays in December. If i don't make bb food, i'll have 4 white elephants sitting in my cupboard. (yes, i am THAT kiasu. i'm the one who ordered 4 tubs of calendula cream remember??) *blush*blush*

3. I can lick the spoon/blender after preparation!! Tried pureed pear last night. tastes damn good lor.

<font color="ff6000">daisybuttons,</font>
blur blur me, i didn't know cooking fruits will prevent them from oxidising! i thought it was to make them easier to blend!

ok DAISYBUTTONS I fast fast reply u then got to go Taka fair liao..

There's no such thing as CANNOT cook. We can cook anything we want but we need to know the basis of doing so.

Avocadoes in SG are quite 'raw', means not ripe enough. The way to tell is to have a bite yourself and if it tastes SIAP-SIAP to u, that means the fruit/food is still raw. And the way to 'un-raw' it before we feed our bbs is to blanch or steam it. Raw foods is no good for our bb's immature digestive system and we might cause them diarrhea..

However nothing can be perfect in this world ya?! heehee..
So do bear in mind that when we:
Steam - abt 30% nutrients will be lost
Blanch - abt 40%-50% nutrients will be lost
Boil - abt 60% nutrients will be lost (that's why is less preferred method.)

But by steaming/blanching/boiling the foods, we:
-Remove the siapsiap-ness
-Tenderize the food
-For longer storage shelf life
-Prevent change of color/favor

How long to steam or blanch? Poke your fork through the food and if it feels soft enough, then it's good for bb to makan. The time I've quoted is just an ar-ga-ra-tion la..

NINE MILKSCOOPS of CEREAL?! wow that's really a lot for a bb to stomach mann.. or Emma say sa-la? We're about 13 days on cereal now and A's menu consist of:
2 milkscoops of brown rice powder + rice cereal and 1 cube of whatever-puree and 120ml FM.

Nature will be your guide to tell if Jovann has enough. If he cannot down anymore, he'll look drunk heehee.. I mean he'll show signs of it like:
-refuse to open mouth
-push your spoon away
-restless

Hope these help but if u need more info, can shout at me over sms my hp la.. cos I got to go lock up the shops at taka fair now! BYE~