(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

emma,
i think how it works is
1st item : 10%
2nd item : 15%
3rd item : 20%
of coz 20% off for the cheapest item... i think using urs will be diff to calculate disc overall... very confusing!

michelle,
yeah! DN and ethan are partners in "slime"! hahahaha...

michelle, thanks on info for gauze.

joon, I'll try to summarise the entire book!! LOL!!

the EASY approach basically advocates a 3 or 4 hrly routine (not schedule which requires us to look at the clock) of Eat, Activity,Sleep and You. Sounds easy, but not at all. But once followed, it becomes real easy to read bb's cues.

Say bb wakes at 7am. The EASY cycle starts then, with feeding, then some activity which includes nappy change, or bath or just play. Then put bb down for sleep, so mummies (the YOU part) get some time to ourselves.

The length of activity depends on bb's age and can last between 10 min to as long as an hr. Once bb starts to yawn, they are ready for sleep routine which the author devotes chapters to. Then when bb wakes at 10am, the cycle repeats.

It worked well with Marcus whom I started at week 6. Slept thru the night and very easy to manage during daytime. With Nicholas it has worked 70% time recently, so hopefully will work better soon. I noticed that an hr to 75 min after Nicholas woke for feed, he will start to yawn and look tired. If I don't miss that crucial sign and start his sleep routine, he will sleep well for an hr or more.. if i miss it and he becomes overly tired/stimulated, he tends to fuss a lot during naptime and won't sleep well either.

Joon and Daisybuttons,
i know, i know.... i should be in the playgroup!!! sigh.. hubby not well so have to skip today
good is that there is make up session! I hope both your hubbies enjoyed the session. Hope to see both of you next week - before christmas

Joon, i like the sleeping bag leh.. so cute. i might want to share with you hor. but is it thick? as cayden does not sleep in aircon room - somehow he does not sleep well in aircon room. sigh...

DG, ya.. i am following the same approach as you. I think typically babies tend to feel sleepy between 1-2 hours after they awake. When we catch the cues, it is quite easy to make them sleep and they tend to sleep longer too - Cayden sometimes can sleep as long as 3 hours!! But well, my cayden still cant sleep through the night leh .. probably because he goes to bed too early around 7-8pm ! hahaha

For those FTWM and without maid, how are you folks coping? i am going to start work soon.. sigh.. hubby is asking me to get a maid but i am quite relutant leh. But, i think i cant cope without one too.. as my job requires traveling and night conferences... sigh

cereal,

while you were on bz trip, you pumped and threw the milk away? I probably need to start traveling once back to work.. have no idea how to continue breastfeeding..sigh.. need to ensure the FBM is enough and also need to ensure that i pump so the ss will not drop.. gosh.. feel like telling my boss that i cannot travel.. sigh.

peachie, Clarence is sooooo smiley.. i love his smile. I hope my Cayden can be as smiley ..sigh.. he only in super good mood in the morning. as the evening approach, he will get very grumpy.

jasmine tks for sharing. usually last feed ard 10pm - 12 midnight, i'll latch bb sleeping on the bed. he slept n i oso slept. hard to wake up to pump. coz when i wake up in the morning, bb oso wake up liao.

jasmine/ilovebabies...aiyoooo it freaks me leh....very scare liaoz .. monday going back work scare no time and dunno how to cope with it. All the while my mom helps me (wash clothes, household chores). Coming monday when i'm back work I need to send my ger to my mom place and at night .. i have to wash my DD clothes. :S dont noe got enuff sleep or not..and enuff time to play with my DD.....haiz how I wish my maternity leave is 6 months loh LOL (think is all the mummies wish lah hehehe)

edksd, ur bb sleeps wif u? If both of us fall asleep my hb sure make the effort to carry my ger back to her cot heheeh
I oso lazy to wake up and pump...and becoz I'm lazy ... I can wait for 8-10hrs before my next pump liaoz hehe....

eling

haha logic not implemented yet .. will hurry my hubby (hey it rhymes !!)

edksd

yes I am in the IT line more of the database, datawarehouse and business intelligence arena. U too ??

DG

agree that we have to catch the cue real fast. This morning I latch my gal for 45mins then gave her another 50ML of EBM cos she suddenly "recall" that she has milk bottles and refuse to suck even though she is hungry ! weird !

then quickly pat her to sleep and she sleep for 3 hrs straight. woke up at 11am .. we played with her for half an hr and gave her full feed. then bathed her and I see her eyes are tired so quickly pat her. Within 2 mins she's asleep ! easy !

rainnie

guess u have to come up a daily schedule so that you have some time on ur own. frankly speaking, after we start work, we will have less time with our bb. so try to talk to them prob on the car ride home and during changing of diaper.

i wash my ger and my clothes daily too. but the bulk of bb clothes are washed by my mum. every nite must still pump and sterilise all bottles to prepare for the next day. so everything must be done real fast else u wont have enough sleep.anyway u will get used to this new lifestyle v soon
and hope little rainnie has slept thru' the nite

Orange03
Ya, I pumped and threw away my milk. In fact, while i was away, my Keira was on Total FM. Why, coz my breastmilk usually expensed out within a day or 2... I never ever needed to freeze my milk at all...haha..coz supply only meet 70-80% of my keira's daily needs.
Ya, it is tough for breastfeed mum to travel lor..coz if like biz trip.. it is quite bad to excuse ourselves to go and pump... like some colleagues who dun know will ask where I m.. But where work is concerned, we still hv to travel where necessary lor... hai.. think abt it, I still hv to travel in Jan, Feb and probably oso Mar...

DG, ilovebabies.. haha.. i din know all along, i have been on the EASY too... I am getting better with Keira's cue... feed, play abit, see that she is losing concentration/she yawns/cry abit, i will carry her and she will Zzzzzzzzzzz......
So far, at nite rather EASY too... eat b/w 6 - 8pm, then clean her and change in her "pajamas", carry abit and sing her Stefanie Sun's songs... then she will Zzzzzzzzzzzzz...haha ... dunno issit my singing make her Zzzzzzzzzzz or wat.. then she will Zzzzzzzzzzzzzz till abt 5am for her next feed... kei kei kei...

Hi Hi...

I am back. MIA for few months liao eh? :p

Been struggling with feeding my princess these few days. She always cry halfway after drinking her milk. She used to love drinking her milk and would finish all in a short time. But recently, the Pigeon teats always collapse while she sucks (as in the air cannot go in and as a result, a vacuum is created inside the bottle till the teats flatten). I wonder what the problem is... I have changed from M to Y teat already but I still have the same problem. I also changed from Pigeon to Avent, but she still refuses her milk halfway.

Should I force her to finish her milk or is it because she is full already, that's why she is refusing her milk? Headache..

Btw, do you sterilise all your bottles and teats before each feed or only once a day?

Smiley

seems like the babies here are very cranky nowadays... dunno if changing teats work ? anyway I din change mine.. sometimes have to carry my Rachel while she drinks, so that I can distract her and she will kuai kuai finish the milk.

prob u would like to stop for a while during feeding. talk and play with her then feed her again. dont try to force too much ... I am afraid bb will reject bottle feeding.

usually i try to accumulate as many bottles as I can before I sterilise them. After sterilising, I will keep the bottles covered and use it during feeding time. So in a day, I think I sterilise 3 times. btw I have 5 milk bottles.

ilovebabies, I have 5 bottles too! haha.. yah, and sama sama, we try to distract her but carry her around and "lecturing" her till she continues.. but it's always a struggle...

And these days my baby refuses to be carried by my maid these days. When I hold her, she's fine, but when the maid holds her, she cries till streaks of tears come rolling down her face...

What time does your baby sleep every night? Mine sleeps around 7+pm every night and then wakes up at midnight.. after that she wakes up every 2 - 3 hours for feeding..

smiley
hv u tried stopping halfway to burp ur bb b4 cotninuting with the rest of the feed? mebbe she got some wind inside so uncomfy n need to be burped first? tat happens to my son somtimes.

EASY
hey i didnt realise i was doing this wif ethan either! its actually pretty effective n we sort of fell into this routine now oredi

CALENDULA CREAM
i got mine fr this lady called angelia. u can email her to ask if she still has any left [email protected]

ENGORGEMENT
btw , does anyone know how engorgement actually happens, i mean those that come with a fever? is it when we go for many hrs w/o pumping then it will result in a fever? so far i've gone w/o pumping for a max of 8 hrs only but at the next pump manage to empty the breasts so no fever. just wanna make sure i dun kena fever lor... anybody knows?!?

Smiley

let the maid have ur t-shirt over her shoulder while carrying ur baby. prob ur baby starts to recognise u already.

my bb will sleep at 11+pm after her last feed and wake up at 6am
she's my alarm clock now.

today my girl slept at a stretch of 9.5hrs without feed then wake up in the morning drink 40ml only. Today she drink very very little. Till now she is drinking 80ml plus alittle bit from direct breastfeeding. Dunno what happen to her

michelle, we do burp her halfway and after that, she simply refuses to continue.. sigh..

ilovebabies, you think she recognise by smell or the way I carry her? It's amazing coz once I take over she stops crying and then once I pass her to my maid or even my husband, she wails out loudly.. Heartache to see her cry and problem is I am going back to work soon, how is my maid and my mum going to pacify her without me?

My baby sleeps too early hor? I try to keep her awake longer so that she can sleep later but she gets so cranky that I have no choice but let her sleep. Anyway, I am not sure whether that's a good idea to disturb her natural sleeping pattern becoz I know some parents have problem getting their babies to sleep at night, so I don't know whether it is a good thing that she goes to bed on her own...

As for what time to sleep, I read somewhere that babies should sleep early because that's the time they grow. But if like in my case she sleeps so early, she will wake up in the middle of the night coz she has enough hours of sleep already.. from 7pm to 12/ 1am, that's 6 hours of full sleep...

Anyone has any idea what's the ideal case??

Eling

if this persist, maybe U want to call ur PD and chk ? But if Amabel is still alert and active, I guess it shld not pose a prob ?

Smiley

my gal used to have ur gal's sleeping pattern too and I was worried that I have to wake up 2 times at nite to feed her. Luckily she adjusted her timing well such that mummy can sleep for at least 6 hrs straight.

i think she recog ur smell leh. try out once ,... pass ur t shirt to ur maid and see how ! let me know ok hehe ...

so far my gal can be carried by all my family members but when she gets cranky, I will be able to pacify her easier. She stopped crying when I took over too

ilovebabies, thanks....no car ride home cuz my mom staying 1 block away..ya i believe the bulk baby clothes will be at our mom place.....my ger really depends ... a few nights she can sleep 8hrs one shot!!! LOL....

okie... btw, have you all regained back your figure? I am panicking now.. going back to work soon but I can't fit into my clothes
Haven't revamp my wardrobe to M and L size yet...

smiley
oh.. burp oredi still dun wanna drink ah? perhaps goin thro a food strike?!? anway i oso hvnt lost weight lah...refuse to buy new work clothes oso cos waste $$. will wear back my maternity pants when i go back to work haha :D as for tops, i hv some oversized shirts fr last time when i was quite plump (lucky i kept them) so i just dig them out to wear 1st lor. will look a bit frumpy tho but bo bian :p

FENUGREEK
hey some mommies here wanna buy fenegreek rite? i hv 2 extra bottles unopened n planning to sell them off. pls PM me if u r keen. thks

rainnie, ur hubby so gd, mine probably sleep like a log liao.

anyway i think having bb sleeping beside me is better. anytime he makes noise i can chk on him immediately w/o getting out of bed.

one time i let him sleep in the cot, end up i kept sit up on the bed to check on him as the cot is just right beside my bed.

edksd, no choice if not he scare i might hit on to my ger loh.....heheee

I going back on monday...sianz....i've enuff for my ger. Now I pump 3 x per day and plus latch on every morning and night. when I'm going back to work..i plan to latch 4 times per day....since BM can store in fridge for 48hrs....this morning BM I will give it to my ger on Monday morning .... so I hope I wont have any problem loh

sleep early is good for the baby?
oh no... think my babe is a night owl like both daddy & mummy, she sleeps at 12-1am, then wake up at 5-6am.

i suspect i am only alert to baby J's cries. i had tried setting alarm clock at 3am to pump milk but i didnt hear it at all.
wonder how i'm going to wake up to go to work

eling
i remem amabel drank alot? seems like a big drop in milk intake. but like what edksd said, if she is still active and happy, it could be just a phase.
in any case, may just want to monitor and check with ur pd if u are still worried.

Brought Nicholas and Marcus to a Xmas party this evening. I was carrying Nicholas upright when he saw Father Xmas who said "ho ho ho" to him.... and guess what..

his lower lip started to tremble and then burst into tears.

LOL!! poor kid

hello girls,
just came back from PD. my girl is 3 months 2 days and she is now 59cm tall and 6kg heavy. she's taking the bottle well at day and latched on directly at night. weekend, i latch her directly but i have to give her in shorter intervals b'cos all those weekdays pumping is making me engorged easily. she helps to clear my block ducts effectively.

michelle,
i hve the same questions as u too. i try to avoid getting fever due to engorgement. i tried going 6 hours without pumping but no fever, i'm not about to go more.

shirlyn, yah lor, just go and see the record, today whole day she drink only 120ml and a little bit from direct latch on. I wanna bring her go see PD leh but tmr no open. Hai...
I wondering is it becos she is not hungry at all? Cos she nv cry for milk and very alert and still can play with us leh. She only cry when we give her drink milk or nobody play and talk to her leh. Funny right?

e-ling
if ur annabel is still alert, happy n contented then prob she is not unwell, neither is she that hungry. DG has mentioned, 3/4 mths is like a huge transition for babies. they r more aware of surrounding n most of them will fuss during feedings. if u r still concern, do consult ur pd.

diana
just wanna tell u, ur pull n twist method work so well for me haha... i get this tingling sensation n wah!! let down fast n furious haha...

ilovebabies, you are super! I followed what you said just now, took off my T-shirt and pass it to my maid and BINGO! My baby calmed down and let the maid carried her.. haha! But she's still fussy when the maid tried to feed her and still cried for mummy...

Michelle, yah, I am thinking of changing to Avent teats to see if the situation improves.. Otherwise I will be so heartache if she's not gaining weight due to her "hunger strike"... :p I see E-Ling has the same problem as me.. My baby used to drink a lot too, in fact, if I "force" her, she still drinks 200ml of milk.. otherwise, she now only drinks 120ml.

Shirlyn, I think it's our mother instinct that get us to wake up whenever baby cries. For me, I hang a little bell on the yao lah and when baby fidgets a bit, the tinest sound from the bell can get me wide awake.

Don't know whether this is discussed before.. but are you mummies here giving your babies all the jabs like 6-in-1,rotavirus, puemmoccol(dunno how to spell this one)? Do you sign package with your PD? Do you go to PD or just a GP for the jabs?

smiley
i am opting for all the jabs cos me kiasu.. would rather be safe than sorry! am taking them all with the PD but didnt know got package one leh. is it cheaper?

smiley

no lah .. i got this tip from Eling. She posted some advice given by the BF organisation volunteer when her Amabel reject milk bottle feeding. anyway glad that I am able to help .. hope this trick cont to work !!

i am also opting for all jabs. Will go for 2nd 6-in-1 jab and first dosage of rota virus next Sat.

read in Aug thread that one of the bb having diarrhoea now .. could be rotavirus. So refrain from bringing ur bb out to crowded places now.

My rachel has recovered from her cough already but I wont bring her out now since the weather is cooler now and there are soooo many ppl in the shopping mall for xmas shopping.

emma
juz visited ur blog
enzo really looks so grown up leh. the pic wif his leo gor gor really shows how much he has grown!!

r u sure u still got 22kg to lose? u must hv made a typo rite. more like 2kg to lose rite?!?

urgghhh.. i ate too much chocolate! now i have a ticklish feeling in my throat n kept wanting to cough!!! DOOOOHHHHHH!

how to lose weight like that?

any non-snacking mummies here? how u do it?

ilovebabies, hee hee.. but bb are so cute when they cry. i know it's mean but i can't help laughing sometimes... oh my nicholas has stopped crying the "ong ga ong ga" kind of ctying... that is the ultimate babyish cry!! i MISS THAT!! Nicholas went to bed at 9pm last night, after way too much stimulation at the party. He looked scared when he heard the christmas carols on the cd player at the party.... poor lil boy

shirlyn, i think Santa was terribly embarrassed actually. LOL! oh gosh I hope he doesn't have nightmares too..

michelle/joon, thanks for info on the calendula cream.

joon, u have eczema? try take oily fish like salmon and tuna. the omega 3 is very effective for curing eczema. there are some studies years ago which concluded that pple suffering from eczema tend to have a low levels of EFA in their bodies. so taking omega 3 will improve their condition. we usually don't need to take omega 6 as it is very readily available in our diet.

or you can take supplements but you have to be careful of the source. not advisable to take king mackerel and king tuna though since you are bf.

michelle
u will only get fever from engorgement if there is bacteria infection which are caused by blocked ducts, hence the accumulation of milk inside the ducts. imagine a lot of milk collected and the milk turns bad, so bacteria breeds inside the ducts.

smiley, i'm taking e 5 in 1 & also all e optional jab/med from PD but my PD dont offer package for jabs, it all comes individually. My PD charges $126 for each 5 in 1 jab then for rotavirus is $100 if taken with e 5 in 1 jab.