(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

daisybuttons, pls tell me more about the "no-cry sleep solution".

I used the EASY approach advocated by the baby whisperer Tracey Hogg, with Marcus and it worked very well. But so far, having some difficulties with Nicholas. Maybe I am not devoting enough patience and time as kept getting distracted by Marcus.

You know the EASY approach? What is the difference between this and the no-cry-sleep solution?

DG, u mean express while i continue my DBFg?

im home alone w bb, sometimes i dun hv time to express. i know regular express can increase ms too. so im oso trying to do tt whenever i can. but each time i express only 30ml or less, so demoralising and hv to wash/sterilise everything.

i dun hv the luxury of expressing longer (usually less than 20min) unless my mom or my hubby is at home.

hi mummies any of you using those bras that holds the dual pump and leave u hands free when u pump? joon got mentioned one contraption before, a halter wire thing. i also heard of this easy expressions halter neck bra that is quite useful. but i can't find it in singapore, anyone knows?

Oh yes, there is a 10% mallwide discount at Takashimaya shopping centre for all DBS Black card holders today. FYIP if you are a Black card holder and heading to town later...

SOLIDS after 6 months
actually i read that intro solids later than 6 months reduce risk of allergies, not increase leh.. as the digestive system is more mature so can handle the high allergenic foods better.

BUt not advisable to intro too late, like past 8 months as it will affect the development of jaw muscles so hinder the speech development later.

Hi ilovebabies,

Got got got.... I just bought a Ferragamo hobo bag at 50%+10% off 2 weeks ago, and a Gucci wallet at 30%+10% off last Friday. Feeling darned poor right now....
Got the Takashimaya card, so got the additional 10% off last week when the card has its yearly promotion. I think I have to survive on bread and water for the rest of the month.

Coach now has 30% off for limited items, Gucci has 30% off for its Spring Summer 06 items, Hermes, Chanel and LV as usual don't have. Bottega Venneta and Ferragamo is also on sale, between 30% to 50%. Tod's has not gone on sale yet.

If you have the DBS Black card, you will get mallwide 10% today, so that should count as a sale or not?

cereal, maybe 'cos you are not latching so can pump more? don't think it's the air lah..

hey, can consume alcohol if it is occasional one glass and not a daily thingy. Alcohol peaks in blood between 20 min and 1 hr after consumption which means will appear in bm in expressed/nursed around that time after alcohol intake. But after the 1hr, the alcohol in blood is broken down so will not appear in bm too.

so now you can plan your yr end party!! Am I invited?? :p

Hi domesticgoddess,

Thanks for the info on introducing solids.... Maybe I go back and check with my PD again. When did u introduce solids for your Markus?

edksd, can understand how tough that can be. how about weekend when hb is around?

when do you intend to start expressing to build up your ss of ebm? you going back to work soon, right?

it takes time for your breasts to get used to pumping to achieve let down actually, so you may want to start soon.

if u latch very often and no time to express, you won't be able to do a yield. unless you stop latching for a day or at least 12 hrs and express within that period at regular intervals like every 2 or 3 hrs. you will get a yield to indicate your ss.

peachie, i started him on fortified rice cereal when he was 6 months 3 days old. My PD actually recommended i started him at 4 months as he was drinking very little FM when I stopped bf then. He kept refusing milk, just like your Clarence and weight gain was poor. But I was sceptical so I read up a lot during that time and decided in the end to hold on till 6 mths.

DG: me year end party... ? haha.. no chance la... I think more likely u will hv some yr end party right....now want to go out oso must plan how to "park" bb... *sigh*

ilovebabies, wow.. 24 mummies!! I see until my eyes crossed leh..

so when to start game? any deadline?

GATHEIRNG
mummies, interested to gather end Dec? I can organise one at my condo function room and we do pot-luck?? I am located at Newton Road.

I am OK to organise a with or without bb gathering.

OATMEAL
i'm oso taking this - the instant type one. just add sugar n milk to give it some taste else really damn bland! buay tahan... but i never heard it can help to increase milk ss leh

PUMPING
i think my boobies are so used to pumping that i turn on the medela PIS at full power n i stil dun feel a thing haha :D my nipples are so used to being tortured liao! on the contrary, when i sometimes latch ethan on, i find his suction even more painful than pumping. he seems to be a really strong 'sucker' (pardon me!) n sometimes he oso gums down on my nipples damn painful. tat's y i'd rather pump than latch him on.

SHOPPING
wah u all really shopaholics huh?! all the branded stuff still quite ex even after discount leh. i cannot afford

daisybuttons
i bot that hands free thing - the halter wire thingy - used it only a few times then after that stopped cos found it a bit troublesome. when i pump now i just let the bottles rest on my lap n hunch forward a bit so my hands are still free. but dun think it's very gd cos now i start to feela bit of backache liao. think i better take out the hands free thing again to use! btw, i think i was oso lookin for the bra type hands free one but cannot find it in s'pore tat's y bot the wire style one which can feel a bit flimsy lah

joon
i got my california bb calendula cream n it's great!! many many thks for recommending it. ethan;s cheeks are so smoooooooth now we just wanna kiss him everyday
n he smells sooooo gd!!! :D

Hi domesticgoddess,

Thanks a million for all the sharing.... My PD also advised early introduction into solids, given Clarence's refusal to drink much. When I was sceptical and quoted WHO's recommendation (on introduction into solids at 6 months), my PD started telling me about this published study that it is not advisable to start too late (ie after 6 months) as well. Haiz... I also don't plan to start so early. But seeing Clarence drink so little everyday also got me worried. Why is he not feeding well?!! He is still very active and alert, it's just that every mealtime is a battle... Now he even recognises the bottle and when he is really cranky, he will start thrusting out his tongue and/or shaking his head from side to side before we even put the bottle teat in.

Wanted to DBF, which is better cos he is more receptive. But DBF is not a solution cos I am working. What happens to those hours when he is under my mother's care? He has to drink from the bottle somehow.

So that's why it's a major headache now. The weight gain is poor, he drinks 550-600ml daily after we battled it out over 1 hour feeds (when his daily intake for his age should be 720-900ml).

Did you manage to get your Markus to drink more? If yes, how? Otherwise, between 3 to 6 months is a really long wait for us to battle it out with him during each mealtime.

daisybutton

I usually pump at 7:30am, 11:30am, 4:30pm and 9:30pm. So it's twice at work, twice at home.
I practise this while pumping "massaging your breast with smooth strokes from the outer edge to the nipple and drawing your nipple out gently between your fingers". It works very well on me. I could get more letdown by practising this.

Also thanks for the info on DHA. Based on the sales girl, it's for breastfeeding mum. But I'd better double check.

For the suction power, I feel you don't have to turn on to the highest suction/power. I think massage and stimulate to get more let down is more important. You should try to empty your breast as much as possible. If you could really empty your breast, your breast should feel very soft and tender, your breast won't leak much and you'll surely got more milk next round.

peachie

we are in the same boat. now that rachel sleep thruout the nite, she drinks lesser for the whole day. I know sleep is good but i am very tempted to wake her up for milk. But i heard scheduled feeding is not good for them. hai .. how how ?

peachie & daisybuttons
Thanks for recommending the book. Will try to find one and read. Actually my girl is quite on schedule, it's just her night schedule is not so good one to me.

edksd,

i understand your problem.. you are like me when i go back to work.. i can only express 20-30ml last time also.. BTW, i also own an Avent IQ Duo..

I return to work with only 6 bottles of EBM in fridge of 60-70ml each bottle only.. it was all used up in 1-2 days, as i was like you, no time to express at home when with baby..

My schedule now is:
7am: Latch baby on.. unlatch @ 8am to go get ready for work..
10am: pump @ work place for 45min.. (cos no power point in toilet.. i can't use my DUO, so using ISIS UNO battery pack..). Meantime, i already warn my bosses that i have bad letdown effect to pump and need 45 min... (actually is pump for 35min now and 10 min to wash up)
12pm: pump
3pm: pump
5:30pm: pump
7:30pm: pump/ latch jadelle
9:30pm: latch jadelle to sleep and pump out balance of like only 20-30ml cos she latch 1 side..
12mn: latch jadelle while i go back ZZ!! she snacks onlY!
3am: latch jadelle for snack (= 1 side!)
5am: latch jadelle

FYI, cos i pump with shorter intervals, i am getting 60-80ml now..
it used to be 20ml..

Jadelle's milk time:

8am: latch by mummy
10am: will drink only 60-90ml
~1pm: drink 120ml
~3:30pm: drink 120ml
6:30pm: latch by me, or if i am late back, drink FM 120ml..

I am not expressing enough to meet her needs too, so i supplement 1 feed of FM of 120ml.. However, i strongly believe that i have eough milk for my girl, cos i can latch her on 100% on weekends.. it is just my reaction to pumps.

Also strangely, even if i pump with 4 hrs interval, i still get 60-80ml.. that is why i am pumping so frequently in office.. i aim to pump 4-5 times in office..

My pumping is getting better so i take ~35min and can get min 2 letdowns.. each letdown worth 10-20ml each side..

Take it easy and supplement where needed and meanwhile pump pump and latch latch..Your caregiver if need to bring baby out will also find it tough to give EBM (how to heat up and feed within the time limit before milk spoils?)

Taking goat's rue andfenugreek and drinking oats and lots of water helps.. but most important is to relax.. being a FTWM is exhausting..

between pumping at work (even lunch!)and my work and regional travelling and rushing back to feed my girl when i am in SG and sterilising all the pump parts and milk bottles.. i have no time to myself..

ilovebabies,

Wah, my Clarence and your Rachel also has a lot in common yah? <wink>.....

Me going off soon! Lots of people not around in office (cos clearing leave)... So leaving on time today... hehe...

You gals have a great weekend yah?

peachie

enjoy ur weekend. me working late today.
a lot of my colleagues staying back together to do patching of servers
.. hope we get pizza for dinner later .. eheh

Jasmine

You are really so busy! I salute you ! I pump only 4 times yet every night can only reach bed at 11pm. And have to wake up at 6:30am.

diana,

i sleep @9:30pm and wake up @ 8am.. i gotten used to latching my girl and falling back to sleep. so i do rest well, it is just that i have no time!!

Jasmine

how on earth u get to sleep so much !!

i sleep at 12am and wake up at 6am. need to wash clothes, sterilise pump and pump every nite leh .. ok probably i reach home at 9+ everyday

peachie.. take a photo of u bag and wallet lehz.. i wanna see.. i juz got my small gucci bag, bot before the sale.. sigh.. but nvm lahz.. hub pay one.. lol..

jas, which bag did u buy?

Diana, sounds like my baby has the same schedule as yours. He feed at ~8pm and sleep, wakes up at ~1am, 4am then 6am! I still no getting enough sleep coz I try to pump at 10pm everynight which means I hit the bed around 11pm, gotta wake up in between and never sleep beyond 7am. Sigh...

Just now Gabriel vomitted and I got so scared! He literally "mer-lioned" his feed and all the milk ended up in a puddle on the floor. But he seems alright after he vomitted. Before that he was actually very cranky and now he sleeping peacefully already. Hope he is ok...

edksd, i think i see a mummy who looks like baby kai..

cereal, i also must plan where to park my babies.. worse leh.. i've got two to "park". cannot and will not leave them alone with maid, so only hope is if my mum can come over to look after them.

Is Keira taking Similac still or you tbf now?

phoebe, i started Marcus on Nestle, then switched to Heinz and organic brands like Earth Best and Healthy Times. Never tried Friso before as I prefer to mix the rice cereal with ebm or the FM that my bb is taking.

michelle, joon
wow.. smooth cheeks..i also want..
how often do u use the cream on bb before you see results? is it for eczema or rashes??

michelle,
where do you buy sterile gauze from to clean Ethan's tongue?

peachie, perhaps Clarence just have a lower metabolism, so doesn't need so much milk. i know some tbf babies who drink only 60ml every 2/3 hrs until they are 4 mths..

Babies have very simple motivation (at this stage anyway).. if they are hungry, they will drink the milk and refuse if they are not. They don't know any other alternatives, so they are not choosy with their diet options. Once you intro solids, they will soon learn that both solids and milk can fill up tummy, and if they prefer one to the other, they will then CHOOSE. so my guess is he is simply not hungry sometimes when he is offered the milk.

does he refuse EBM or FM? sorry, donno if he is tbf.

Also, don't worry about the daily intake as stipulated in guidelines.. they are only guidelines and most often than not, are designed for ang moh bb.. Amt drank is dependent on weight more than age.

I didn't force Marcus to drink more.. though i was worried sick. but can't force bb to drink/eat more, else they puke all out, then worse.. nothing is digested. so i just waited it out till he was 6 mths to intro solids.. and still continuing to offer milk.

peachie, don't worry.. and don't force. You don't want Clarence to have a negative association with the bottle.

dear mummies,

will close the jc penney (www.jcpenney.com) spree tomorrow &amp; will place order by 10am.
anyone else who is interested can email me their order [email protected]

current orders:
phoebe - S$100.96
emma - S$52.08
blessedmommy - S$16.28 (paid)
daisybutton - S$86.29

spree is currently at US$157. will close when hit US$220

mummies who placed their orders, kindly transfer fund to <font color="ff0000">DBS Saving PLus 020-1-027024</font>

DG
i bot the sterile gauze swabs fr watsons. it's sold in a packet of 10 swabs each.i grabbed like 20 packets n the girl at the cashier stared at me like i was mad hee hee.

as for the calendula cream, i only applied it once last nite n today can oredi see the smooth cheeks! so i was quite amazed by the immed results. anyway its for eczema, cuts, minor skin irritation etc...

hi michelle,
oh i am SOOOO happy that ethan's cheeks are super-smooth!!! yayyyyyy! i can just imagine ur delight coz that's how i felt when DN's cheeks smoothened out! better than using the steriod cream huh?

DG,
just to add on to michelle's post, the calendula cream is supposed to be "healing" so, good for the problems she listed. i'm sharing the cream with DN and use it as a night cream! alamak, cheaper than the stuff i used to buy for my face, and organic and not tested on animals some more!!!!! does nic have eczema/rashes? and yeah, count me in for the gathering
thanx for offering ur place!

Sept Shopaholic Mummies!!
i'm looking for 2 mummies to share this with me to get 20% off. (buy 1 10% off; 2 15% off; 3 20% off!) anyone interested? i'll get them delivered to my place and then we can meet up to do the exchange. it's a sleeping bag! (so the bbs don't kick away the blanket)

616060.jpg
616061.jpg

616062.jpg
616063.jpg

Shirlyn: haha...really u ar... funnie leh... hope bb and my good old uni-fren is doing well haha.. and he shld be coz I just msn-message with him yesterday hoho...

DG: Keira is on 70-80% BM and 20-30% FM (Similac). Hmm... nowadays, she poo once every 2 days .. and sometimes once a day... think abt it, she has not pooed past 2 days..hmmm

DG,
can u briefly explain the EASY method? i read Gina Ford's book and actually tried her routine out, but didn't work for my personality!

edksd,
have u tried expressing at night after kai has slept for the night? i don't pump in the day too coz i'm also alone with DN. (where got time???) so i squeeze in only 1 pump a day, 2 hrs his last feed. this give my body time to produce SOME milk and it's still at least 2 hrs til his next feed. this means i pump at abt 12/1230am and sleep at 130am latest. i've been doing this for a month and i have abt 2L of milk on standby now. sacrifice a little bit of sleep lor!

morning cereal!
looks like it's just u and me who are up
don't worry abt keira pooping less... it's actually a gd sign - her body is absorbing more! i wish DN wld poop less... so stinko! he's still pooping abt 4 times day!!!!! what is he absorbing, i wonder!?

ming liew, where to get the cendula cream? Its really good? my girl got dry skin maybe due to sleeping in air con everyday. so dru skin can use? it help?