(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

cereal,
if i put myself in your situation, i would bring a big jacket to cover my front and use a manual pump to pump. pump in your seat.

e-ling,
err like that i dunno liao. until now i always feel that my breasts are tender. i miss my breasts before pregnancy liao. so soft and no pain.. *sigh*

angeline,
u use EBM to feed your girl in the plane? why not wear a nursing top and DBF her? i only express when i'm not around my girl but if she's with me, i will DBF her no matter where i go. anyway if i go out with her, i always wear nursing top and bring a jacket with me.

ilovebabies,

I do the same thing too! But at least little Rachel will finish her warmed up milk. I can be warming up the milk 3-4 times, and cranky Clarence (pardon the pun) simply won't drink. That's why feeding him takes so long these days. The worst are the night feeds. My husband and I are sleepy, but yet got to spend up to an hour each time feeding him. Haiz... very kang1 kor4....

Cereal,

No need to bother what others think. Your own comfort most important. After all, no one will remember what you did in the toilet after the flight is over... We are all mothers what. It is a fantastic thing that we are breastfeeding our little ones.
If you are embarassed about the sound, can get a manual hand pump instead of a motorised one.

Angeline: Thanks for the info.. din know flight attendants cld do tat.. haha.. is it SQ? If so, my next flight on SQ, I will ask them to provide an area for me to pump...

TEETHING or NOT
mummies, the symptons described for many of your 3 month old bb may not be symptoms of teething as bb around 3/4 months old start to discover and have more control of their hands, so they like to put their fists/fingers/hands into mouth. Also, their tastebuds are more developed at this age, so they also tend to drool more which is to prepare them for their next exciting stage, ie. weaning to solids.

peachie, not all bb will be teething till 2 plus, it all depends how it takes them to develop their full set of 20 teeth. My Marcus started teething at 7 months and has all his teeth by 18 months. so very intensive teething stage for us and him. But there are some who start with first tooth at 4 months and only has their last molars out at 25 months.

diana, i know a lot of mummies who latch/bf till bb are over 12 months and ALL of them have/had huge difficulties weaning bb. Some bb go on hunger strike when weaned off breasts, others simply cry non stop for weeks and refuse FM, so the mummies had to give them cow's milk in the end or no milk at all. So from what I've seen, it was a battle for them.

Melissa,
I wish I could DBF, but my naughty gal too lazy to suck from breast. I only managed to DBF her during the first few weeks and has been total EBM since. Really miss the bonding and her looking at me when suckling at my breast. Now when I try to put her to breast, she will puke out the nipple in distaste and wail.

Cereal, I took CX, but I am sure that SQ will be able to help on that too. BTW, I used a manual pump at that time so that its less bulkly and less noisy.

DG if my rachel is not teething, means she is ready for semi solid foods ? but MIL say only intro at 5th mth leh. what if she goes on like this ? I'll faint

DG, i wish i can DBF kai for as long as i could even if it means having problem weaning in future. i think all problems can be resolved. what's more impt is to treasure what we've right now (bonding when DBFg) than to think abt the possibilities in the future.

DG,
very interesting note about taste! thanks!

edksd,
yeah i'm taking the same stand as you too. we don't breastfeed forever so while we can, just do it. i will solve whatever problems that my arise then.

breast pain
looks like melody also having same breast pain. think it's normal liao? maybe b'cos our breasts are working hard to produce milk all the time. especially during let down, sharp pain at my nipples liao.

Hi ilovebabies,

I think I can share what my PD advised. Basically he said that we can start introducing semisolids (he recommended rice cereal) at 4 months, despite the fact that WHO's guidelines stated that it should be 6 months. In fact, he shared that studies have shown that babies are more prone to developing food allergies if semisolids are introduced BEFORE 4 months and AFTER 6 months.

So whilst it is not advisable to put baby on semisolids too early, it is also not advisable to put baby on semisolids too late.

Friends of mine who introduced semisolids to their babies usually do so between 4-5 months. There is this brand called Friso. You can buy their rice cereal (suitable for babies from 4 months) from major supermarkets such as Cold Storage or NTUC. 1 tin is $6 plus. Most of my friends prefer this as the rice cereal is finer (as compared to Heinz and Nestle), and it is made in Holland, as compared to Nestle which is from Malaysia...

Given Clarence is so cranky, I intend to put him on semisolids on 4 months. But PD also cautioned that the baby should take to it... Try it out on 1 meal per day first. If baby refuses, then don't force.

domesticgoddess

Thanks a lot for the info.

My girl doesn't reject bottle nor formula coz I bottle feed at day time and I feed her formula once a day. I only DBF at night. What I want is to wean her from night feed coz she wakes up at least twice for feed.It's very tiring for me.

Sometimes I also think maybe I shouldn't be so selfish. No matter what breastfeeding is the best way to establish the bonding with the baby. But some book also say if still give baby night feed after 5,6 month, it's a burden to their stomach. I really don't know what to do.

For mummies with babies who sleep through the night, is it a sudden change or change gradually?
Are you bottle feeding or latch on ?

peachie, thanks for the info. yah i also tot once saliva touches mill the enzyme will work on the milk, but didn't know the enzyme is called amalyse hehe thanks! actually that was why whenever i pump i will clean my breasts first coz if baby's saliva on my nipples it will break down the milk right?

okie so that means theoretically shldn't keep if he can't finish ah? but quite a few mummies do keep it and their babies no stomach problems hor? so is it the re-heating process that causes the bacteria to grow?

ilovebabies and melissa, u keep the half drank milk up to 4 hours issit?

DG, u know, sometime ago someone was commenting no babies poo smelling more now. i was wondering is it coz babies tummy and digestive system preparing itself for solid foods so the tummy juices are more matured so when the poo comes out it smells different? same theory as the salivating...?

joon, cereal, hehehe u two beri funny leh! very interesting conversation. shirlyn, answer cereal leh! i kaypoh...hehehe!

any mums ate oatmeal to incr MS? i know it helps but i find oatmeal tastelessl eh. any tips how to make it tasty? i bought the instant oatmeal from quakers, the red tin one some time ago back during pregnancy. tot of trying that first before trying fenugreek is i need.

ilovebabies,
her tastebuds are developing to prepare for the months ahead but her digestive system still takes time to develop. so despite what old folks say, i won't intro solids till bb is 6 mths. some studies show that giving solids prior to that increases risk of allergy and also overly tax their delicate digestive system.

i agree with blessedmommy that bb at 3/4 months may start to be more cranky at feed and nap times etc.. Very likely reason is they are now more aware of environments and more distracted/stimulated to eat/sleep. Also their personalities are emerging and evolving now, so they are more assertive. Still tiny, but no longer the small little bundle who eats and sleeps who no other needs. Now they want more attention, play, and will learn to associate, so they know that if they cry in particular ways they get what they want etc etc..

Unfortunately, not much you can do if they drool, just use a bib. It will get better though.

peachie,
perhaps clarence is really not hungry if he keeps rejecting his milk. Not advisable to reheat so many times once fed to bb. Once is still acceptable.

daisybutton,
once ebm is heated and fed to bb, you may discard or keep remainder in room temp for up to an hr (from time it was heated up). Actually in that hr, there will already be bacteria breeding in it, but not enough to harm bb. Any longer and more reheating will allow bacteria to grow in exponential rates!

Diana

my gal start to sleep for abt 5 hrs after her feed at 6-7pm. Then she will cont her 3 hrly feed.

after constant "nagging" from me (i keep telling her I am going back to work) .. she start to sleep from 11pm to 3-4am and wake up for feed then cont her 3 hrly feed. Then on my first week back to work... she start to sleep from 11pm to 5-6am.
Heng .. i was afraid I need to train her to eliminate nite feeds.

daisybuttons

no no .. after I took EBM out from fridge, I try to consume it within 1 hr. will throw away the remaining if rachel cannot finish.

ilovebabies, brown rice is good for babies too right? how ur mum intending to grind it? coz i saw the friso rice cereal before it is SUPER fine leh.

peachie, thats very interesting! the part about 4-6 mths thingie. my worry is that friso contains milk oso right? i smelt my SIL's friso cream and it smells milky so i guess theres some formula inside? then are we considered feeding the baby formula? coz i TBF so i quite concerned. can we add EBM to it?

diana, not sure what u consdier sleeping through the night. actually technically a stretch more than 5 hours is considered liaoz. it just depends which part of the night the 5 hours fell into hehehehe! for me, my boy's 1st sleeping stretch is the longest. it slowly increases one. and i notice he eats more at the last night feed before he sleeps. as if to store milk for later. hehehe. i am DBF all the way unless i am not with him.

daisybutton

About oat meal, I've been eating quakers instant oatmeal as my breaskfast for at least 2 years for health reason. I mixed it with milk powder. Before preggie, mix with the non-fat, hight calcium milk powder. Now mix with anmum milk powder for breastfeeding mother. Yes, it's tasteless, but I've used to it liao.

BTW, I didn't know it can incr MS, and I'm not sure whether it can. But at least I have enough milk to feed my baby. Yesterday pumped out 920ml from 4 pumping session.

Just to share, I also eat 1 hard boiled egg and 2 caps GNC prenatal vitamin, 1 caps of GNC DHA for my breakfast. And I discovered my milk will become very yellowish after I took the vitamin. and my girl's pee turned out to be yellowish too!

daisybuttons

i also try to keep the milk warm in hot water cause my girl prefer warm milk but will throw away if she can't finish within 1 hr. I thot recomended not to keep warm milk outside more than 1 hr to prevant bacteria grow???

ooh really oatmeal helps?? i knw someppl add fruits to it but i prefer eating it plain. Mmm will try & c weather can help to increase as I still need to supp wit 1 feed formular.

For me i need to take up to 9 pills /day of fenugreek b/f my supply increase. Now stop takin jst keep pumping to maitain supply

e-ling
if you have the pain when breast is full, could be infection, best to see gynae or breast specialist. there is a great one called Joyce (forgot surname) at mt alvernia.

if on/off, could be just sensitive nerves, which are hurt if we press hard on breast during expressing. not much you can do, except taking painkiller if pain is too much.

daisybuttons

hehe yes condense milk v fattening. as for the egg, that is if u cook ur oats not the instant type. for my hubby he add toast/"dry" fried ikan billies. he say v nice wor ...

Sleep for 5 hrs considered as through the night liao? Then she can do it already. But she sleep at 8pm, and wake up at 1am ! then 4am, then 5.30am...

Yesterday one of my colleague said both of her 2 babies can sleep for about 10 hrs since 2 month. I ask for tips , she said maybe because she nian4 jing1 a lot during her preggie days. I'm so regretted I didn't do so! But I also didn't know what to nian4 leh.
I'm a free thinker.

daisybutton, i oso started on oat recently after reading tt it helps. but only few days nia... so cant tell the effect leh... furthermore im oso taking goat rue for few days already... i oso watched a tv program, a mother says half boiled egg and ikan billis help too. i tried half boiled egg too, but dun intend to take everyday leh, high cholestrol i think. ikan billis only once in a while when i fry it w vegetables.

as u can see im desperately trying to increase ms as im super no confident moo moo

now got oatmeat milk. bleargh i don't like the taste of it. it's weird. but i think my supply is enough for baby so far without taking any supplements.

daisybuttons,
yeah up to 4 hours if milk is unfinished. else i discard it. change the teats or wash it before re-feeding.

diana_sg,
wah your output really wonderful ah.. almost 1 litre liao. how much did your baby take per feed? mine only takes 110ml.

daisybutton, i just add some brown sugar to the instant oats. nevermind tt it's tasteless, as long as it helps, i'll willing to swallow!! hahaha...

Hi daisybuttons,

No probs! To be safe I always wipe my breasts with water after my baby has direct BF, to clear off his saliva. In fact, it is also recommended to change our breastpads every 4-5 hours as bacteria will thrive in warm and damp conditions.

And yes, theoretically you should just dump away the portion of milk which your baby cannot finish.

As for the point on bacteria, I did ask my PD before but his answer may not directly answer your question. Basically when I just delivered and was pumping BM at home, my PD advised it is best that I should refrigerate the EBM asap, such that the temperature is QUICKLY brought down to 4 degrees or less to slow down the growth of bacteria. I suppose if you reheat the milk, feed it to baby and then refrigerate it again, the milk when refrigerated will have bacteria multiplying in it PLUS the saliva enzymes digesting it. From a medical viewpoint, it may not be recommended.

But then again, I believe all of us (including our babies) have sufficient natural antibodies and immunity against bacteria.... Sometimes I guess we all worry too much... Myself included.
I worry about contamination, about bacteria, when all the while baby Clarence has been merrily putting everything in his sight into his mouth.

By the way, I stopped dumping my milk today.... AFTER 3 weeks of dumping I decided enough is enough. Bought a box of microwave sterilisation bags (supposed to be able to use up to 60 times) from Mothercare yesterday for $14. So I microwaved the pump and the BM storage bottles for 3 minutes today, and found a shower room in my office where I pumped... Hehe....

diana, one time i went to parentcraft for consultation, there was one ang moh there, the bm she expressed is v yellow, unlike ours which is rather milky white. then mrs wong said probably the ang moh ate more rich food. so i guess it's the same for ur case.

Melissa

My girl was fed 4 times at day time. 3 EBM, 1 formula as I want her to be used to formula. Each feed 200ml. But recently she lost appetite, can only finish 160ml. But we still give her 200ml. At night I latch her directly. Yesterday got 920ml so have to freeze 2 160ml packs lor. Fridge almost full liao. Maybe should give out some frozen EBM.

My output wonderful meh ? I heard some mummies can easily pumped out 500ml leh. I've also gone through days where I have to eat papaya soup, fish soup, fenugreek... Very happy with my current supply now.

edksd

I eat my breaskfast at 7:15, and start to pump after that. My first output is whiteish. Then 2nd, 3rd pump become yellowish. Then the 4th pump at night become whiteish again. So I believe it's the vitamin.

diana, wow u ate for 2 yrs....quite tastelss leh, i salute u. and wow u pumped 920ml!!!! oh my gosh. maybe some of the mummies may find it average ( i rem DG pumped 1L) but for me who DBF i never pump so much in one day one hehehee. u pumped that amount at work issit?how did u manage 4 pumping sessions? so the time u with ur baby do u DBF her?part of the 920ml is for u to feed her urself right? for me i DBF and the EBM only for him when i not with him, so i guess pumping less is okie hor? just now my first pump only 200ml, 2nd pump only 125ml. sigh......but morning i got pump and at night i will pump again lah. maybe total about 550ml?hhhhmmm.....

hey btw is it okie to press breasts during pumping huh? i squeeze my boobs during manual pumping nowadays coz i notice the jets will sustain longer. but it kinda feels sore after that leh. does that mean its wrong?

ilovebabies, so ur hubby eat one is cook oatmeal lah,not the instant kind? he eat the ikan billies for breaskfast ah? ready fried ones or he fry every morning?? wah, how come u guys got time to do so much in the morning huh? now my morning so rush. what time do u wake up?

hey now i confused. so if baby drink halfway, do i keep it at room temp or in warm water???!!! which one is less conducive for bacteria breeding?

diana, just a note, when u take DHA think have to try to take those specially for mummies one. i think those commercial ones at GNC has a DHA/EPA ratio that is not reccommended for pregnant woman. read it somewhere b4. i oso notice that the neurogain i take got specifically say the DHA/EPA ratio.

Hi Diana,

As for the sleeping for 10 hours through the night, no need to "nian jing". There is a book by Gina Fox (u can get it at Borders and Kino) which teaches you how to get your baby to sleep through the night from 2 months onwards. It is a scientifically proven book and has been tried and tested by millions of mothers around the globe, including some of my friends who swear by it and proudly call their babies Gina Fox babies.

I have the book, but never got down to raising my baby the way the book prescribed. Basically, you have to monitor and time his feeds right down to the last ml. There is a pretty long checklist of things which you have to follow strictly, and if done, it is true that the baby can sleep through the night. I have known 4 Gina Fox moms and babies who swear by the book.

By the way, the Gina Fox method is NOT RECOMMENDED by the World's Breastfeeding association. So for mothers who swear by TBF, you can forget about this book.

hi diana and peachie, Gina ford methods are to put baby on schedule. if u are NOT for this kind of parenting method, there is an author who advocates attachment parenting and her name is elizabeth pantley. try the book "no cry sleep solution".
its a gentle method of encouraging baby to sleep through the night and does not depend on schedule. i wld think it may be more likely to be recc by world bfdg assoc hehehe.

peachie, i heard pigeon also have microwave sterilising bags issit? the one u buy what brand ah?

DG:
Ya lor.. pump and throw..alamak..everytime I throw my milk away..feel damn heartache leh..and weird enough.. my milk seems more when I pump in sydney...hmm... issit the air there help produce more milk leh?
Oh btw... as u know I used to go pub/drinking right.. and so since preggie till now, I have never touched alcohol... and this trip, since not breastfeeding Keira, I secretly had alcohol haha... 2 glasses of vodka-lime + 4 shooters...hei hei hei...
After that, I pump out all my milk a few times to make sure no more alcohol when I come back to spore... hehe...otherwise Keira will go "ga-ga" and go spinning around the house...hoho

Hi daisybuttons,

If your baby drink halfway and needs to pause, it should be alright to keep the milk either at room temperature or warm the milk. I guess it is only not advisable to refrigerate the milk and give it to him/her again for the next feed, or even the next day.

edksd:
No ar, I dun turn to highest suction wor.. otherwise I think my nipples kanna suck into the bottle liao..hehe
I am using ameda electric duo pump.. i turn slighty more than half-way

Hi daisybuttons,

Oh yes, think it's Ford instead of Fox...
Hehe.. Thanks!

Am looking at the microwave sterilising box now...Mothercare sells this brand called Lindam. It's currently on sale at $14 (UP $17.90). It is a British brand but is made in Japan. The instructions are pretty user friendly. Got it at Mothercare Marina Square.

edksd:
first time i used ameda, i only turn to half.. then now, turn more than halfway lor...i think the more i pump, the more numb i feel towards the suction haha

daisybuttons

ya DONT refrigerate the milk once u consume it.
hubby use to take the instant oatmeal. but my mum like the cook type so she will add a bit sugar and egg. taste better else it's too blend for me ...

edksd, maybe you consider expressing more often to do a yield so you know how much ss you have. this will help improve your confidence?

agree with you that there is no need to worry about future possibilities. just enjoy the present bonding while bf.