(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

DG

in fact sometimes i also laugh at my rachel when she cries.... ahhhh gonna miss their crying... and rachel dont do the "ong geh ong geh" cry often since birth leh.

btw i am glad to announce that the MATCHING GAME IS READY !!!!! hubby rushed thru the nite to complete it. so try playing the game now !!

ilovebabies, woow... the game look nice, going to play it now. Btw my girl name is Amabel think your hubby type it wrongly. Haha but nvm.

michelle, my PD does offer a package but it cost a lot! Furthermore I am not sure whether I am comfortable with this PD or not, so I didn't sign up the package (can only sign during the first jab, after that, package no longer available). So now I am no longer eligible to sign the package, but I am contemplating whether to bring baby to PD to take the 2nd jab for the 6-in-1 or a normal GP.

elaine, how come you opt for 5-in-1 and not 6-in-1? What's the missing one that you are not giving your baby?

E-Ling, my baby took the rotavirus vaccine (orally)on her 2nd month, together with the first 6-in-1 jab. Now she's coming to 3rd month, I am supposed to take her for the optional puemoccol (I still dunno how to spell, haha) jab but I don't know whether I should do that or not or wait till she's slightly older. Heartache when the needle poke her tender skin...

domesticgoddess, I agree babies are cute when they "ong ga".. heehee.. my baby still does that, and I love to take it down on my hp video.. I also recorded her crying so that I can listen to it next time when she's older and her crying sound changes.. heeheehee... A couple of times my maid rushed into the room to see why the baby is crying for quite a while to see me video taking her crying... heehee.. a bit sadist eh?

Disclaimer : BUT the crying is cute only when she's easily pacified after I am done with the recording.. heehee...

Smiley

i personally think it's better to get vaccinated earlier but I know some parents are worried that the baby cannot take so much vaccines at such a young age. I did asked my PD before but he said ok leh.

think the diff between 5-in-1 and the 6-in-1 is the hep B vaccine.

if baby has already taken the 1st dose of hep b, and went for the 2nd dose during 1 mth, then will be taking the 5-in-1 instead of 6-in-1.

GAME
I've finished the game. First try, I had 8 wrong answers.
Wow.. so nice to finally see the mummies and babies. Now must see them in person.

Thanks ilovebabies and hb for the game. Now we play GUESS THE DADDY game??

GATHERING
Mummies who are keen to meet up, pls add to the list.

WE ARE COMING!
-----------
DG, Nicholas (and maybe Marcus n hb) - propose 30/12
Phoebe?
Joon?

GAME
wa DG u so gd ah? only 8 wrong answers? i only had 6 right answers! haha :D guess u experiecned mommy so can tell which bb looks like which mommy ;)

DG
is the healthy times organic cereal any gd? not sure whether wanna order for ethan or not. hv u tried it wif marcus previously?

VACCINATIONS
ethan has taken his 1st rotavirus in his 1st mth & 1st pnemococcal during his 2nd mth together wif 1st 5-in-1, ie 2 jabs at the same visit! poor boy cried like mad but next day he is ok liao
the next visit will be in jan n he is goin to get 2nd rotavirus, 2nd 5-in-1 n 2nd pneumococcal - 3 meds at one go! PD said its ok so we go with his plan lor

Smiley, the 5 in 1 exclude hep b....i suppose elaine brought her Zhao Hui for Hep B jab when he is 1 month old....and 3rd month...5 in 1 jab loh. For urs .. 6 in 1 includes Hep B which normally will be taken 2nd month

thats the difference

oh...the game start liaoz meh? I thought that time ilovebabies say still beta version hahaha....ya me also need the link again :p

E-ling, rota virus got 2 dose leh...1 to be taken before 14 weeks....another one is after 14 weeks.....how old is ur ger now? better hurry if u wan to let her take...or u might wanna call the nurse and confirm

DG, salmon and tuna good for ezcema??? I have that since very young age,....recently (during preggie getting worst)....but how do u know if it is king mackerel and king tuna? If i have those sandwich from delifrance or some sandwich shop isit king tuna kind??? u noe? can advise me if u know hehe thanks ya!

michelle, yes we gave marcus healthy times cereal before. i like the brown rice and mixed grain types. organic and no added sugar.

rainnie
usually the tuna you get from delifrance or any sandwich shop will be normal canned tuna as cheaper. some jap restaurants served king tuna/mackerel as sashimi/sushi, so nursing moms should avoid due to their exceptionally high levels of mercury.

but yes salmon and tuna are good for eczema as they have high levels of omega 3. you can take flaxseeds too for vegetarian sources of omega 3.

ive eczema too. seems like quite a no. of pple hv eczema?

i think kai has it too. some small patches on his face a bit peeling like tt. not sure if it's eczema. only developed during 2mths+.

does calendula cream really helps? then i'll go buy. i rem seeing it at tmc pharmacy. any idea?

DG, oh no i just had sashimi 2 wks ago. but i think shld be ok ba... since only ate once... didnt know bfg cannot eat, tot only pregnant cannot eat...

rainnie, is it true 1st rotarix must be taken before wk14? im bring kai for 1st 5-in-1 in wk15. tot can take 1st rotarix together at the same time.

im now dilligently trying to pump as frequent as possible to stock up fbm.

last time i notice tt when i try to pump dilligently, i tend to get engorgement easily. so i suspected my pump.

but now still the same pump, i no longer get engorgement. only difference is i started on goat rue. sigh... what happened to my supply...

becos now im still DBFg, so each pump i can only get abt 30ml average. imagine ive to pump 3 times a day to get 1 bottle of fbm.

and i constantly worried now tt im pumping so regularly, when i latch kai on, does he has enough or not.

he didnt put on weight this wk i think. im monitoring to see if he puts on at least 200g per wk. but i think this wk he didnt gain any. oh dear... what a mess ive got myself into.

the reason why i didnt hv stocked up fbm is becos whatever i pumped i give it to kai so i never keep stock. now going back to work soon, hv to start keeping stock.

but i really worried my supply not enough to feed and stock simultaneously. sigh...

Game
finally... i finished "guessing". think i only got 5 correct, the rest i just trial and error, hehe.
it isnt easy at all, i got to take a break before finishing the game - eyes seeing stars

edksd

just wondering how freq do u pump/latch in a day?
if engorgement, cannot just pump out the milk?
as u pump more frequently, u are stimulating more milk leh...

are u already back to work?

i latch on as per normal -> meaning feeding on demand, no fixed schedule. sometimes could be 1 hr or 2 hr interval.

i pump only when i managed to find time in between latching. sometimes i pump longer, sometimes shorter coz bb wake up liao. in a day probably 4 - 5 times.

i need to cook and do some light hsework and im home alone w bb, so really got to be v disciplined in order to pump dilligently.

last time when i go out, come home i'll feel full and if bb is sleeping i'll quickly pump. and i realised whenever i pump, the next day i sure get a lump somewhere. tts why i kind of hated pumping.

now after taking goat rue, i dun ever really feel lump anymore. is it becos my supply dwindle already?

shirlyn, i know as i pump i stimulate more milk. but most of the time when im halfway pumping, bb wakes up. so i latch him on but in my mind i was wondering any more milk left in the boobs or not since just pumped out a second ago :p

shirlyn, im going back to work on 3 jan which is abt 2 wks time. hope to stock up some fbm in case i didnt manage to pump enough at work.

edksd

ur bb latch one side or both side for each feed?
coz mine only latch one side per feed.
so i will try to pump twice a day (morning & evening) to start freezing EBM.
i'm going back to work on 10 jan.
so far, this method works for me

btw, my boy is also feed on demand. usually 2 hrs interval to next feed.
i have started pumping for the past 2 weeks. so now i've started to give him 1 pack of frozen BM a day (to let him get used to bottle)

edksd
we are both starting work on the same day.
are we in the same line huh??

you'd be surprised that there is still milk in the boobs even after u had just pumped out a while ago.
i think it is alright for u to latch ur bb while u were in the midst of pumping. u can even continue after he has finished.

like phoebe, my bb usu just latch on one side per feed. i would still pump both sides but of course expecting more milk from the other side. it is tedious in the initial stage but u will gradually able to stock up ur milk supply.
dont worry so much, u still have time!

edksd

i only pump 1 side, and let baby latch on the other side. so each time, 80 - 125ml.

when i give bottle to my boy, he drinks average 80ml.

hi smiley,
i also dont know e different between 5 in 1 & 6 in 1, anyway i just take 5 in 1 as recommend.
edksd,
ZhaOhui took his rotavirus during e 3 month jab so e next one is 4th month according to TMC baby's n child clinic but when i bring him to AMK baby'sn child clinic they told me 5th month then take e next dose of rotavirus...... so i ask e nurse she says is alrite to take in 4th month or 5th month...

hey edksd,
don;t worry abt bb's weight now. just express as often as you. wake an hr earlier and sleep an hr later if u have to, u just find time to express and you WILL express more.

to increase ss, just have to empty the breasts at regular intervals. doesn't matter if bb wakes before, after or in middle of pumping. feed bb and go back to pumping if u can.

ilovebabies,
yr HB did a great job on the game.

Did you gals notice that Chocolat and her BB look sooooooo alike. down to the same expression that they have in the photos. Soooooo cute.

hi edksd, can feel ur anxiety about milk supply. but listen to the other mommies here. continue pumping and u will be rewarded. there was a period of time my milk supply dropped and i badly need to get it up to save enough in the freezer. i started pumping 3 times a day even though sometimes it can yield very little. i pump morning, afternoon and late night after he feeds. initially i need to squeeze and press like siao to get that miserable amt of milk. but it will get better. try drinking warm water before and during pumping, or nursing tea. what an LC taught me is to give ur boobs deep massage before and during pumping using a hot towel or warm heat packs. that massage and heat will signal ur body to produce more milk. once u do that, just continue the pumping frequency to maintain that supply. its tough, many times i wake up middle of night after he feeds to pump alone in the living room so as not to wake my hubby. i felt so alone and miserable since my yield so damn bloddy low then. but i persevere loh. but rem, listen to ur body. dun squeeze ur boobs until pain hor, just do moderate massage that u are comfortable with. and stop if ur milk flow has stopped for more than 5mins. just combine milk from pumping sessions loh.

its okie when baby wakes up when u pumping. actually that is good. u latch him on and pump from the other breast. baby's suckling helps the let down and u will get it easier this way.

just rem, whatever u pump out, dun feed to baby now. freeze it so that ur body thinks u need milk. if u feed to baby now its just recylcing it so ur body will miss a feed and wun incr milk supply. if u worry about kai's weight gain, have u asked a PD about it? see what he says?

BlessedMommy
I'm glad my tip helps!

Storing of EBM
Any mother using Avent disposable liners to store EBM ? If yes, how do you seal it ? Found the milk bag too expensive, want to opt for a cheaper solution.

Vaccination
Mummies who have brought baby for rota virus and
pnemococcal vaccination, any serious symptom after the vaccination? My girl had slight fever after 6-in-1 jab, don't want to see her to suffer too much.

Introducing solid food
For mummies who going to introduce solid food soon, recommend a website
http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com/solids.htm

hi diana, Jovann went for 5-in-1 and rotavirus together. gave him a bit of infant panadol 0.4ml only before the jab and rotavirus. no fever. maybe u can try that or some ppl use ling yang.

daisybutton,
Trinity can only sit with a little help. The bumbo seems to work great for her, otherwise she will topple easily when we place her on the sofa.

Jovann look so cute. certainly seems to be enjoying her tummy time.

daisybuttons

Thanks for the tips!

Any mother know where to buy the below kind of containers in singapore?
baby cube
618100.jpg

freezer jar
618101.gif

hi diana, someone having BP for the ice cube tray some time back. as for the freezer jar i am interested too!

angeline, my Jovann looks feminine meh? hehehe he's a boy! hehehehe! nebermine its okie. they say if boy looks abit feminine next baby will be girl! yeah....*cross toes*

Wow Diana,
You really preparing for solids already. When do you plan to introduce solid to BB?

I wonder if I really have the patience to total EBM for 6mth. All this pumping takes up so much time.