Hi Skyblue and Augustmum,
I hvnt logged in for a long time... cos' Reanne was hospitalised last wk.
Reanne was also diagnosed wz a stuffy nose during one of her checkups on 10 Aug. PD prescribed the Illiadin Degongestant nose drop as she was already one mth old. Oso asked me to clean her nose at least twice a day and as and when i felt her nose nds cleaning at other times of the day. After that the cough came and breathing like very xin1 ku3, went back to PD, got sm medication 4 cough and stuffy nose.
The cough got worse even after we started on the medication and finally on 21 Aug, decided to bring her to KKH to check. Luckily din nd to extract the sputum, doc gave sm expectorant cough mixture and a sodium chloride (nt medicine) to thin the mucus in the nose. But the cough mix made her cough so much that she looks more xin1 ku3 than b4, we then brought her bk to KKH on 23 Aug (2 days later).
Reached the A&E, and much to our horror, nurse said reanne was a little breathless already and was sent in to the ER room. What followed was too shocking for me cos' the doctors gave oxygen and checked her heartbeat etc etc...
Reanne din looked too unwell to us when we brought her to KKH. Was jus an instinct tt i shd bring her for another chk. Glad I did cos' cant imagine what wud happen if i didn't.
She was warded for 4 nites and diagnosed as RSV positive(supposedly a common flu virus). Luckily her lungs and airways were cleared. Doc said she cough becos of the backflow of mucus from the nose. Breathless becos of the stuffy nose.... She was nt given any cough mix, just another nose drop and the sodium chloride nose drop. (fyi sodium chloride is nt medication, quite gd to soften the mucus in the nose so bb breathe better)
So when i saw ur posting, tot i shd share with u gals... it's a bit long winded tho
anyway, consult a doctor whenever u think the baby is unwell, dun be afraid to be kiasu, better be safe than sorry... and always trust ur instincts... even the doc at KKH also said never underestimate a mummy's instincts.
Take care, oh ya... Reanne seems to be recovering liao... doc said virus takes two weeks to clear. 2day shd be the 14th day liao...