(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Let's hang in there! We will survive!

butter8,
no worries, eventually we'll all bring our babies out. Just start out by going for a short while only and with your DH accompany you, and bring out the necessities such as wipes, 1-2 diapers, and 2 feeds. Remember not to panic when baby cry, but try to soothe baby while getting the feed ready.
My gal usually doesn't latch on and when we brought her for the 1st PD appt, i just fed her before leaving the house so never bring any feed out. To my horror, she cried for milk the moment we reached the clinic, so bo bian i die die must try something rite? So i decided to latch her & see how, luckily she latched on and drank from my breasts. What i'm trying to say is, no matter how prepared we are, sometimes things just happen, but relax and i'm sure you'll be able to handle the situation there & then...

Ningyo,
Yah the lucky baby slings very nice hor...i've ordered the Asian Cranes design, though for this i've to wait 2-3 wks while the other design this weekend can get,but i still preferred to get something i like...hee

mommies,
actually having ample supply of BM is a plus point. However, there's also nothing wrong with feeding FM lah, i also grew up strong & healthy on FM. i'm just lucky to have good supply of BM, so just feed lor, initially i also gave supplement. No matter how little your breast milk is, just feed whatever you can pump out to your baby along with FM.

Hi skyblue,
My bb is going to be 1mth next wed..actually he does not drink 4oz everytime, juz that he seems to be in a growth spurt some days at nite such that he sometimes need to feed often..like today at 9+, feed him FM 2oz and at 11+ he is hungry n hence latch him on n after a while he fall asleep n i put him back in bed n less than 30min, he is hungry alr n feed him 2oz FM again...

Hi noe,
Thanks for the encouragement...ya reali trying to be a good mum but sometimes feel inadequate still but try to think +ve..maybe bec first time mum is all like that..super protective n worried abt everything

Hi Augbaby,
Not just first time mum. This is my 3rd time round and I am equally protective!

With more experiences, we will learn to take things easier lah.
Whenever yucky things happen (and they do), I will tell myself, all these will pass.
And they do passed with us coming out stronger.

Jia You!

augbaby,
Mine oso. After latch, like insufficient, so i give 3 and a hald oz FM. Then sometx can be 1-2 hrs later, he seems to wan to feed again. I scare i end up overfeeding cos at times, he does regurgitate milk.

RE: cold vs snuffles
Any of ur bbies seem to have blocked nose? Mine seems esp bad today. But my PD told me b4 dat as long as mucus dun flow out kind, then it's not cold. But i see my bb breathe like so xin1 ku3. Feeding wise is still ok, jus notti, put down only, he cries to be carried.

hey skyblue,
My bb is like yrs exactly..he seems to breathe rather heavily n like blocked nose too...but no mucus flow down but he breathe like so xin1 ku3 like wat u mention n i rather worried coz think one of the mummy was saying bb regurgitate milk could be bec of phlegm..i am rather worried...
Anyway is there any way we can tell if bb is over eating? i did like wat augustmum mention, to not put him down straight after his feed n it seems to help..but he still does regurgitate milk a little still but better lah...worried worried

Back from hospital. Delivered on Tues night at 21:33hrs after admitting at 13:30hrs with irregular contractions and 3cm dilation.

Now that I'm home, I noticed that my breasts are getting heavier. Baby latches on fine but fall asleep at the breast after 15min or so.

Pls advise what I shld do. Let him suckle for 15 mins each side and then express out the milk for another 15min each side so that I don't get engorgement? Or what? Thanks!

Just a note for all of us - An excerpt from BabyCenter
(I was reading the article sent to me just now)

Question: How long will it take me to get my figure back after giving birth?

Answer: It usually takes nine months to one year to lose the weight you gained while you were pregnant. Gradual weight loss (two to three pounds per month) is best for nursing moms. The body stores toxins in fat, and if you lose weight too quickly, they can enter your breast milk. In addition, if you burn too many calories too quickly, your body may not produce enough milk.

http://www.babycenter.com/expert/baby/postpartumfitness/4029.html?scid=momspreg:20060821:2931:19293:8761

Skyblue & Augbaby,
My baby also got this stuffed nose symptoms very frequently. I use a hanky or fold a tissue and with it's tip hooked out the mucus in her nostrils, then she breathes better.

Noe,
You really good ar! Going thru all these the 3rd time le...i'm wondering how many can i cope with, better concentrate on this one 1st hahaha...

Congrats Leia!!
How heavy is your bb??

Never hear from Jasmine today. Think she might have given birth too. Only left myself, for sure my gal is a Sep bb liao!!

Hi all , my baby is 3 weeks old , and he keep trying to talk , open mouth n want to talk like that , but no sound , is that normal ?

Hi ningyo,
I feel my tummy very low nowadays but GY always say the head is not fully engaged..yah, I think my gal wanna gives us a BIG surprise. I feel myself getting more & more clumsy, also feel like as if my tummy is going to drop anytime. How I wish to carry her in my arms now !!

congrats leia! remember to update us on ur labour story and pics of ur darling.

hi butter,
ya lor, luckily have u gals here to talk to and share our worries. if not, think i'll definitely suffer from PND.
i also have the same feeling when baby suck on my arm or look for my breast when he's hungry. told my hb how i wish i can latch him on but too late.

hi augbaby,
when u having the full month celebration? i'm having mine this sat even though his actual full month is on tues.

hi noe,
mona is really good rite? my protuding belly button popped back in after the 1st massage. lost 2" around waistline and about 2 to 3kg after the massage. a pity she's fully booked otherwise was hoping to extend her 5 days package to 7 days.

Check with mummies that use pump to pump out BM ... I am using manual pump to pump , and everytime i pump , my nipple will be very very painful , and recently , i realise that my nipple outer skin , become very thick n hard , and when i am cold or what , my nipple is painful , and when ever i finish pumping , my nipple got alot of skin,if i pull out the skin , my nipple will have holes! ... what happen to me ? can i still continuse pump ?

lala,

me still around lah... keke..
lazing around at home whole day and catching up my beauty sleep.. keke..

been reading n lazing n spending some me time.. i also confirm is sept mtb liaoz.. keke

Congrats Leia! Another mommy who has graduated from pregnancy...hee. Do post pics ar!

White lady,
what you experience is normal, you can apply some nipple gel to give some form of relieve... Used to experience soreness and now they still do look like dat after expressing. Now my nipples season to the pumping le..

Fiona, Augbaby and Skyblue...

Went pd in the evening due to Zac's stuffy nose and rashes...

Pd said Zac had stuffy nose cos he had caught a mild flu
Given nose drop cos Zac's still too young for oral medication.

As for rashes, like what we discussed in the forum, just leave it, will recover on its own. He gave me cream but reminded me to use it only when condition worsens. If not, let it heal naturally. Baby is still young so avoid the cream, he reminded repeatedly. Cream has mild steroid.

Nurse told me to bathe baby in water, minus any soap. Doc told me to keep baby cool. My perspiration during BFing also causes the rashes, so now must try to keep myself cool too.

Hee, Zac's now 4.6 kg. Gained 1.5kg in a month. He still has jaundice. Wonder when will go off. Doc said if urine turns tea color and poo is white, must see him. So far, urine is clear and poo poo is orangy, so alright...

Hi augustmum,

My boy also has some rashes on his arms due to my perspiration during bfg and i apply Drapolene cream on his arms. So far quite effective, the rashes r gone. Drapolene cream is suppose to be used to treat nappy rash and so thought if it can be used on bum, shd be quite mild on the other body parts too.
Mayb u want to consider.

Congrats to everyone here who had given birth!!

My EDD will be on the 7th of Nov so is till have a few more months to go..:p

Btw, any new mommies would like to share how much thier total bill for staying in TMC 1 bedded or 2 bedded room with epidural.

Hope u can help me as i am doing a research if whether it's worth to take up TMC 1 bedded or 2 bedded room.

Would like to hear from mommies.

PM or email me at: [email protected]

Any help will be very much appreciated.

Rgds,
jubjub

augustmum,
Same here. I brot my bb to a GP last evening cos i realy felt his breathing like very xin1 ku3. GP oso gave nose drops as well as a spray. But so far, i've not used it cos quite hesitant abt giving medi to a young infant. Mine is only 3 wks old. Haiz... My fren's dotter oso kena running nose & her GP told her try not to give the medi, so she let her dotter fight the cold on her own. So rite now, i'm still monitoring. Feel like giving the nose drops at times.
Where did Zac pick up the bug from?

Augustmum & Skyblue,
Hope your babies will feel better soon!

Last nite i noticed my gal breathing very hard, managed to pick out another thick piece of mucus frm her nostril...

Tonight going PD for her follow up check on her jaundice, shall see how much weight she's gained.

I know lots of mommy here engaged mona for massage. Just to share I'm using Mdm Rokiah and had my last session today. She's really professional and even taught me how to massage my baby. My tummy has went down so much and i can fit into my pre preg clothes alrdy. Very happy with the result! Hee..

White lady,
Everytime when I'm expressing my milk i saw how ugly my nipples become, big and swollen. But fortunately, it goes back to normal when i let them rest...hahaha

jasmine,lala,
if going for induced, get ur hair washed in the salon before dat. will last longer so can feel fresh even if not able to wash hair immediately after birth. anyway, not advisable to wash hair so soon lah.

Welcome Back Leia and a hearty congratulations!

If he's been latching on well since Day, he's doing a great job bringing in the milk.

Most first time mums will experience engorgement as the body doesn't not know how much milk the baby needs yet.
Mine was rock solid on the 3rd day the first time round. I could see the lumps on my breasts!

Today's your 4th day right?
When you hand expressed, is it golden yellow colostrum or milk (foremilk looks like rice water)?
Don't see your number in the list leh ...

Yeah Erin,
I had the exact same thoughts too!
However, she's so fully packed now.
In fact, she finishes her day as late as 10pm sometimes.
Amazing woman she is.

I am so sad that I have put on few kg, can I still engage the malay massage lady now? I am now in my 2nd month of maternity leave. Hopefully can slim down before I start work.

Hi Bottle,
It takes time to slim down lah ...
Each time I weigh myself on the weighing scale, I am also hoping to lose all that pregnancy weight.
However, it's not healthy for us nor our baby (especially when we are still nursing or pumping BM) when we lose weight too quickly.

I lost my pre-pregnancy weight only a year after I delivered my #2.
Slow but steady. Definitely healthier too.

Hi Butter8,

U are not alone.. My gal now doesnt wan to latch mi as she used to bottle (EBM). I give her EBM during nite lo.. I miss her latching on me the kind of feeling n tears start flowing without hesitation.

I try to think positive too. Thinking when i go back to work, she wont be looking around for my nipples to be latch if under care of MIL. Mayb we are protective over our bb. Emotional changes to us. Lets think positively & as long we gave her as much BM we can till we dry (cos mine flow start to reduce BT i still manage to give her BM through out now as she is gg to 2nd week drinking abt 2.5oz)

I hope things will be smooth n getting on better to beat away e blues!

Hey cynthia & butter8,

cheer up ok? focus on the fact that you have your beautiful, healthy babies with you.. whether fed BM/ FM iz all ok, as long as baby is healthy... As working mums, we will definitely feel torn when we need to leave behind our babies to go back to work.. so, don't feel so bad ok? you confirm not alone! Jia You Jia You!

Noe,
not me leh.. me confirm not 1st sept bb.. keke.. but one of the sept MTB iz!!

cynthia,
yes share the same sentiments. now that u mention it, thats a positive way to look at it. i forget i will have to go back to work n my mum take care.
thx!

jasmine, thanks gal! wish you a smooth delivery!

bottle,
dun worry about weight.
for me i dun weigh so often, cuz i dun have weighing machine at home.only when i go check up then i weigh. in fact a massage lady told me to only weigh 1x per week at most. to lose a bit every week max, cuz not healthy for our body.

Skyblue,

My pd also recommends natural healing, avoid the use of medication. Nose drop used three times and stopped cos nose not that stuffy. Think Zac could have caught the bug during the full month celebration.

Ningyo,

I think I will let the rashes heal naturally as instructed by pd. At times, very tempted to use the cream he prescribed (to be used only when rashes worsen) as heard from some frens, the rashes will heal very fast. However, think of the steroid in it, decided to tahan.

sorry have MiA for awhile this past week... was having post natal blues and ups and downs with baby...been tearing for no reason... c baby also cry and get upset about small minute things... and it worsens with reduced milk supply... dunno is it megan is drinking more now or my milk factory is reducing production...then baby like super pantang, cannot say things in front of her else it will turn opposite...anyway,felt better today and popping in to read some postings... hope tomorrow will be better...

Hi Jasmine,
Have a smooth delivery! We would all be waiting for your pics and birth story!

Hi ningyo,
rashes on baby come and go very fast. Megan seemed to have fake measles or heat rash all over her body last week... apart from using "jin ying hua" to bath her, we also did not apply anything... touchwood... they clear quite fast...

Hey piyo,
cheer up okie..it is natural to feel blues but try to think +ve..n being +ve also help in yr BM supply...dun get stress out coz then yr milk supply will drop..now i am more comfortable wif the fact that my BM is not alot n i try my best to feed my son as much as i can n i try to express out too..but sometimes even when i latch him every 1hr, like still not eno, so now i supplement wif FM and i dun feel so guilty anymore coz like wat the mummies here say, supplement is also good eno...so i stop being so stress out n guilty...so during the day, i latch my boy as much as i know n at nite it is like now 3feeds of FM coz he gets hungry easily now...
Today i went out for a short while and it feels reali good to be out..so sometimes in between checkup or PD visit, take a breather outside will do our mind good..so cheer up ya gal..

hi piyo,
dun cry... me feel like crying too.. heee i oso feel sad.. when my CL and maid give me 'politics' i oso buay tahan... so much happening to life and body and all these pple just dun give us a break.. baby cry cry cry... i oso wanna cry.. u r rite, baby super pantang... my mum go n say all these things in front of him then now he changed this week.

anyone still not bathing with water or washing hair?
my CL still boiling herbal water for me...

i think all these small little things add up to our misery.. life is just not normal.. adding to the fact our bodies are turned upside down..

all mummies jia you! we need more strenght and confidence!

butter8,
i still bathing wif herb water until end of first month. few more days to go. since it's advised to be better for our body, jus tahan a bit. anyway, allowed to bath is much better than some ppl, totally cannot bath.

all mummies feeling teary,
hi, guess we r not alone. i feel frustrated sometimes, but get over quickly cos Hb is supportive. unless Hb happens to be
'The Problem', like arguing wif me wen i tik i m right. we jus got a new maid. cannot stand her alwayds carrying the bb. i m afraid bb will grow to be sticky to her n not close to mummy in future. told her many times not to carry, but she always go n carry non stop n shake non stop. hiaz, carry the bb more than mummy does. cant take this longer.

butter,
I'm oso still bathing with herb water. In fact, so far, i've only bathed thrice and my confinement ends next sat
I do clean myself twice daily with rice wine added to boiled water.

piyo,
Dun be sad okie... abit of BM is betta than none. My bb kena bad rashes oso during his 2nd wk, so i applied calamine lotion on him.

augustmum,
I've started using the nose drops for my bb, cos really cannot tahan seeing him breathe so difficult. Tink the backflow of mucus from his nose has caused him to have a cough as well. Haiz...

cj,
ya i feel much better after bath, even tho with herb water
true, i am lucky to even get to wash hair after 12 days

Augbaby and all mummies,
i feel so much better today... took a trip out with hubby to buy some Formula for bb. had my 1st coffee in months and spent sometime chatting with hubby.. then quickly bought some stuff for myself, doggies and bb... now home, and tho a bit tired... it was all fun!
my mum tease me that i even go out with my engorged and painful breasts... but it was good for my soul

jia you mamas!!!!

Hi everyone, i've been following the thread since Jan 06 - 2months preggy and have just given birth last week. Would appreciate if someone can give me madam mona contact.

Hey Piyo,
Dun be sad k? We all experience the blues period too, i'm sure you'll pull thru'. Just tell yourself everything will pass including this...take care & take it easy!

I really pei fu you all, i've been naughty leh, has been bathing right after a week using hot water but will pour the herbal water over my body after each shower lah...hehe. But i tried not to wash my hair too often, and make sure it's blown dry asap.

Butter8,
Glad that you've found some relieve! We should really enjoy ourselves after the whole pregnancy & tedious delivery...Cheers!

Hi Skyblue and Augustmum,

I hvnt logged in for a long time... cos' Reanne was hospitalised last wk.

Reanne was also diagnosed wz a stuffy nose during one of her checkups on 10 Aug. PD prescribed the Illiadin Degongestant nose drop as she was already one mth old. Oso asked me to clean her nose at least twice a day and as and when i felt her nose nds cleaning at other times of the day. After that the cough came and breathing like very xin1 ku3, went back to PD, got sm medication 4 cough and stuffy nose.

The cough got worse even after we started on the medication and finally on 21 Aug, decided to bring her to KKH to check. Luckily din nd to extract the sputum, doc gave sm expectorant cough mixture and a sodium chloride (nt medicine) to thin the mucus in the nose. But the cough mix made her cough so much that she looks more xin1 ku3 than b4, we then brought her bk to KKH on 23 Aug (2 days later).

Reached the A&E, and much to our horror, nurse said reanne was a little breathless already and was sent in to the ER room. What followed was too shocking for me cos' the doctors gave oxygen and checked her heartbeat etc etc...

Reanne din looked too unwell to us when we brought her to KKH. Was jus an instinct tt i shd bring her for another chk. Glad I did cos' cant imagine what wud happen if i didn't.

She was warded for 4 nites and diagnosed as RSV positive(supposedly a common flu virus). Luckily her lungs and airways were cleared. Doc said she cough becos of the backflow of mucus from the nose. Breathless becos of the stuffy nose.... She was nt given any cough mix, just another nose drop and the sodium chloride nose drop. (fyi sodium chloride is nt medication, quite gd to soften the mucus in the nose so bb breathe better)

So when i saw ur posting, tot i shd share with u gals... it's a bit long winded tho :p

anyway, consult a doctor whenever u think the baby is unwell, dun be afraid to be kiasu, better be safe than sorry... and always trust ur instincts... even the doc at KKH also said never underestimate a mummy's instincts.

Take care, oh ya... Reanne seems to be recovering liao... doc said virus takes two weeks to clear. 2day shd be the 14th day liao...

Any mummies using nappies? Tried using nappy on my boy but end up the nappy & nappy cover got all wet. Now switch back to diapers. Are boys unsuitable for nappies?
I remember when my mum was helping to look after my neice, dont seem to encounter such problem.

Hi jfong,

Hope Reanne is getting better. Lucky u bring her to see doc early.
I doubt i got such mummy's instinct.I'm juz a milk cow. :D hehee
Now i'm solely relying on my mum's grandmother instinct and experiences on taking care of my boy.I havent even try to bathing him yet. Very jia lat!

yo gals,
received SMS abt 5 30 am--jasmine admitted this morning to Mt A with contractions every 5 mins, 2 cm dilated. Jia you jas!

ningyo,
i use both nappies n diapers for my boi in the daytime. Yes nappy cover do gets wet frequently, so gotta change. luckily CL doing the washing n not complaining so i continue. nappies more 'airy' for bb mah.