(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

kk,
at least u stay near your mil...I stay near my parents but they have their own business so can't help...and mil stay so far from us...so it's hard to bring baby to mil's house and bring back every night...I'm not going to be a weekend parent, so the only choice left is to ask mil to come over to stay during the weekdays to look after baby while we worked....

kk
so cham u gotta find your own relief trs??!! if u ask me to find i wouldn't know where in the world to find one. yeah my school takes care of this for everyone. there was once they had this crazy policy that if we take mc for the day we have to find our own relief (they gave us a list of names and contact though).but imagine if we are sick how to find the energy to call one by one to ask if anyone free to cover us? morning session worse... thank God they scrapped the stupid idea...
yeah your relief seems unstable but bobian... even if they promise u can cover u for 3 months, they may leave anytime also. so i guess just pray u wun have problems from the relief tr...

okasan.
how long u intend to bf? i hope to do tt for 6 months. so if like what Mrs Wong says, dun buy pump first, then also dun need to buy steriliser now rite? so confused... how i wish i know now whether i can latch bb on or not... if bb feeding frm breast and also from milk bottles, will get nipple confusion or not? think i will still get ready everything cos if can't bf directly at least wun panic... confinement time how to go out and buy pump?

btw u attended mrs wong's class b4 already? yest my 1st session with her, pretty informative and she is so funny too. really worth the time spent there.

kk,
u must be a v committed teacher hehe. me like teaching and kids but dun really like the workload. yeah if we want can work non-stop. in fact my wkends always burnt up by work. sat got CCA then stay back to mark. Sunday do lesson planning and other admin stuff and mark mark mark again... till i almost burnt out once cos got serious backache and Monday blues. since i preggie i try to take work lightly. dun wanna chionh so much now... cos scared bb stressed and tense when he comes out. but still can't avoid the stress lah, it's always there... lurking somwhere at the back of my mind... there are now 2 stacks of test papers and assessment papers waiting for me to finish marking by today... also lesson plan back logs... me not v high profile all this while but hav never been marked down i guess... but next yr after taking maternity lv and some more din attend courses this yr... maybe got no bonus??!! aiya, dun care, bb more impt. but u r right, can't afford to be a stay at home mummy else bb will eat grass wif me
btw bonus info in already? me gotta check... now every penny counts!

gina,
I intend to bf for 6mth too....steriliser is for you to sterilise bottles....can buy now...u can use steriliser to sterilise even things like the baby's pacifier....beside, whether u bf or u give formula milk, u will need to steriliser your baby's bottles and teats.....even if u latch baby on directly, u can also use the steriliser to sterilise bottles for storing expressed milk, etc...

for breast pump, reasons why mrs wong say dun buy now is because we dun know how much milk we will have...yupz, I also attended her first class liao, very fun and informative....she got say don't buy pump during the class u attended?

ya, confinement period hard to buy pump that's why I already bought a manual pump in case cannot latch on baby directly....the manual pump also for expressing out whatever leftover milk after each feeding....but dun think I'll invest money on electric pump unless I really cannot use manual pump to pump out milk

Hi Okasan,

What about ur mil's side? There are no other siblings she need to take care of?

My mum is tied down with my nieces and nephew so cannot take care for me. If she take care for me, guess we have to be weekend parents liao. So the best alternative is to let my mil take care lor, because of the proximity.

Hi Gina,

If bb directly latched on and no need feeding bottles, then dun need steriliser? If intend to feed EBM or FM just in case not enough BM, then need steriliser to sterilise the bottles liao lor? Or u try out the traditional method of sterlising bottles, then no need to get steriliser so early

Haha, yah, i think i will panic if i dun give myself more alternatives. So i get ready all my milk bottles, steriliser, etc. I am getting FM ready too when i deliver. Perhaps daytime BF, nite time FM? That's how my SIL copes with my nieces and nephew.

Hmmm, for my case, my hubby roughly knows the brands for everything i will be using during confinement and where to get them.. so anything i need during confinement he will get them for me if run out heeee... same for pump lor. U can show ur hubby what are required, then they can run errand for us if need be

Haha, that time i mass sms to all my friends to help me find relief. Then there was one contract teacher who was with us last year and she introduced this relief to me. That's how i managed to find one. I have met him and hopefully he won't play me out last minute lor. Else no relief even for may, then i chiam liao.

So ur own teachers no need to do relief? For my school, we cover our own teachers to do relief. I kena a lot of relief last year because time table light. This year heavy liao, so they didn't give me much relief. Only do once in a while, for around one period only. And think now everyday there are around 2-3 relief teachers hanging around in the canteen.

Sigh, i just can't imagine the mess i got to clear up after i go back to school after maternity leave. The books.. files... etc etc... although i have written in black and white what he has to do.. will still turn out messy...

Hi Okasan,

Which manual pump did u buy? Probably i get one too, cos it is cheaper?

Hi Gina,

I siao teacher, not committed teacher hahaha.. i work like cow everday haha.. if i make myself very busy in the day, i will go home with lots of job satisfaction... crazy rite? Hee...

Last time i was in IT line.. software engineer for 2.5 yrs.. also very stressed with the debugging and writing of software. Deadlines not very tight but just couldn't stand the pressure having to sit in front of pc chanting out chunks of procedures everyday. Switched department and did project management.. then sit there idle most of the time. Find it meaningless that's why quit to join teaching, which is my childhood dream
No regrets lah, since i have a taste of what IT line is like after grad from engineering.
I dun think i am cut out to be in IT or engineering line, so dun think will go back into tat line in the future. Teaching seems most suitable for me now.

Ur CCA still on saturdays?? Ever since PM announced five day week, my school closed on saturdays for quite some time.. now the school is opened on saturdays but very very few teachers would go back. Only my HOD goes back very often on saturdays for his soccer and other work. The school policy is try not to mobilise teachers on saturdays and school holidays, especially protected period during june and december. i am glad the principal supports and reinforce this

I always try not to have backlogs, else difficult to clear leh! Everyday got new things coming in.. new markings to do.. new lessons to plan.. endless!

kk,
our baby is the first grandchild for pil and my parents

so mil can come over to stay with us without being tied down with things at her own house

actually steriliser is not a must to get...depend on what method u use to sterilise bottles, etc loh....traditional way is to boil water...but I find it tedious coz when u boil water, u need to keep a lookout...imagine baby crying and u still need to run to the kitchen to check out the boiling water and bottles inside the pot....shack! beside, it's so much faster to get things sterilise in a steriliser...pigeon steriliser can sterilise in 6 min, cool!

kk,
I got avent manual pump coz avent manual pump has been one of the dominant brand in the manual pump market....it's cheaper compare to electric but still not as cheap...there's very cheap manual pumps from other brands like pigeon, but not sure if they are good or not

Hi Okasan,

That's true about using steriliser. Imagine i am working halfway on my pc and have to run to the kitchen to see the bottles ready or not haha.. can be a great hassle! Most likely i will be too engrossed in my work, until bottles melt i still dunno hahaha...

I have one tollyjoy manual pump given to me by SIL. I dunno can work or not hahaha.. and it looked quite o-biang. So ur milk bottles are avent too?

My colleague using medela electric pump and her bottles cannot fit. So she has to use the bottle provided to store first, then transfer over to her own bottles.

Okasan,

My bb girl is also my pils' first grandchild
So i guess she will be very pampered by them. My hubby sometimes told me tat next time he will pamper the girl very much, how? Cos we have somehow made a promise not to spoil the child! I dun wanna her to end up like those spoilt kids in my class.

Gina,

If ur APO pay advice is sent to u via email, u can check ur edumail to see ur march performance bonus liao
i got mine yesterday and was pretty shocked heee because i didn't know we are getting performance bonus in march. I just joined teaching for 1 yr 10 mths so this is the first time i am getting the true performance bonus.

kk
so it's the 1st time u get your march bonus? hehe... i teach for 4 and a half yrs liao so every year know when to expect what
just the exact date i not sure so colleagues will inform one another. oh i din choose the option to be informed by email so gotta check pac @ gov liao. seems like u v happy with your handout...
my CCA is an uniformed gp so bo bian has to be on Saturday cos we have to rely on a pool of volunteers. may get out of this CCA if i can... now can't cos short of manpower.

okasan,
yeah i also think sterilising in 6 mins is cool so will def get the pigeon one. just that i thot if we feed bb directly yet also feed bb EBM from bottles whether bb will have teat confusion anot.. read that somewhere... actually this whole biz of bf makes me v blur.. so much to digest. i just tried the niplette thing and already nipple quite sore... imagine bb sucking on it for like 1 hr every 2 hrs...*faint* dunno manual pump will work or not, if can't work how to get medela PIS when in confinement? my hubby a technical person, ask him run errands v cham,10 times he will get the stuff wrong 9 times...
hehe kk, no offence... my hubby like you engineering grad. but lady engine grad very super smart and efficient, cuz my hubby's lady colleagues who are engine grads are all like that. but male engine grads... sigh...
yea okasan, mrs wong did mention abt not buying breast pumps so soon in the class. when is your class?

Hi Gina,

Haha, i dun expect a lot of returns from my job. As long as i am happy with it and get enough to survive, ok liao
Most importantly i must enjoy what i am doing

Uniformed groups normally very busy hor? Luckily i am not being assigned to uniformed groups. I am with Chinese orchestra
Not very free also.. every week practice two times. Got to deal with 4 instructors.. their payment claims, etc etc.. can be very troublesome when my work is piling up and still got to deal with them.

haha, the way u describe ur hubby very funny.. heeee.. my hubby also like tat.. cannot ask him buy things from supermarket for e.g. he can get simple things like wanton skin wrong.

Lady engine grads smart and efficient?? Depends on character also i think.. i think i very slow, and sometimes even like a gundu.. my hubby smarter than me :p quicker in his thinking :p

kk,
I din buy any milk bottles so far...I have 2 free ones from the purchase of the pigeon steriliser and avent manual pump comes with bottles too..also got another free avent bottle when attending the first anenatal class at TMC

will be using avent bottles for the breast pump since they come with it

ya, think it's very easy for parents to spoil their kids nowadays esp the first kid....must keep reminding oneself not to over pamper the child loh.....

gina,
ya, heard of baby getting nipple confusion if switch between direct latch on and bottle feeding....heard that for the first week or so, good to latch on baby directly throughout the day and night so that baby get used to sucking the nipples before introducing the bottle loh...

but it also depend on your baby's personality...some baby can accept the change readily, while other baby may just get use to either the nipple or the bottle and refuse to be fed using the combo method.....

just write down the model name of the breast pump, the brand and show your hubby the pic of the pump....think he should be able to get the right one if u really need it....better to buy only when u need it coz electric pump is expensive....

hi okasan
eh i din get any avent bottle when i attended antental at TMC leh... maybe i was late... saw stacks of white files at the sign in table, are we s'pposed to take one? mrs wong din mention... so there are no handouts for the antenatal at TMC, just listen to mrs wong will do is it?
just bought a NUK bottle and more pigeon bb wipes and a tube of Avent nipple cream at isetan. all got 20% discount except bb wipes which is abt $9+ for 3 packs. scared nipple sore when bf so grab the cream 1st when there is discount. it is said to be safe for bb. will try different brand of bottles/teats to see which one suits bb. heard Dr Brown also a reputable brand, but havan come across it. pigeon peristaltic bottle good? me also thinking of getting avent ISIS manual pump for a start. but heard many -ve comments abt manual pumps like hands will be tired, must pump v long etc... so in my mind i have this notion that only medela PIS is worth buying. but really too ex to buy now. just now almost bought the ISIS cos got discount plus 2 avent milk bottles wif newborn teats included... haizz... maybe i shud just borrow the PIS from my frd. since even TMC buy back and sell secondhand medela PIS, i guess it wun be too unhygenic to use 2nd hand pumps...

morning ladies

okasan,
I attended the antenatal class on Saturday but didnt get any free Avent bottles also lehz?

Re: BB stuffs
Btw ladies, i happened to chance by a shop at Balestier (Whampoa Drive) when i went there last Saturday. The stuffs they sell are quite cheap...i got my cloth nappies there for $8.90 (12 pcs). Saw the other stuffs like pigeon detergent, tollyjoy stuffs all quite reasonable pricing also. bb clothes like their long pants i bought at 3 pcs for $5 only

kk,
u were in IT line last time? Haha, me now still "stuck" in IT line cos i donno what i shld do...its like working for the sake of filling my stomach....*lol*....already been in this line for bout 6 yrs...getting kinda tired of it liowz.

kk,

my first bb never did really engaged before the day he was borned. When I went for my 37th week scan, gynae was telling me he still not fully engaged.. still high. But the CTG shows the heartbeat drop drasticaly.... thus he checked my dilation and found 2cm dilated... so admitted immediately to hospital to break waterbag and deliver bb.... worried may have complications becos of the drop in heartbeat.

celeste/kk,

me in IT line all my life too
So sian... been in it for 8 years liao. I had worked from programmer (write software in all kinds of language), to network engineer (network design and structure cabling), to security consultant etc. Now i am mostly specialising in application security and application vulnerability testing. which specialty were u in or still in ?

tired too but i do still have good interest in my area of specialty... just that most of my attention shifted to my baby and everything about him these days... in this line, guess we dun have much choice gotta keep upgrading... when i was expecting my boy, i took my final masters exam and during confinement i took another professional certification exam... this year like really cho bo... damned worried.. cos i took most of my security certifications liao...

poohy,
me started off as programmer also...then now still semi-programming, except that i do the systems design from scratch also...meaning the whole SDLC....haha...now not in software house not so bad...not as stressed....cos supporting company's internal s/w and some external s/w so its like not so much "programming" based.
Me dont like the "chasing" part in IT line...tats y decided to take up accounting....wanna do something that mixes both IT and accts kind of knowledge...prob systems design in financial sectors specialising in acct packages? Like that dont have to keep chasing after the latest technology in IT...jin sianz one

So u have taken almost all those microsoft certifications?

celeste,

i dun take product certifications these days... i take technical skill certification like cissp, cism, ceh, cisa. Are u in financial sector now ? Me in end user environment too.. work in a bank... security quite important in a bank... so its quite a suitable place for IT security people like us. I had wanna go back to consulting where the big money is (last time used to be in the big 4 consulting) but its too stressful and my attention are now mostly on my babies....

poohy,
Oic....i so far never taken any certification...haha..tat time saw that i tink donno NUS or NTU offering Masters in IT, but was thinking whether shld take anot....ended up decided not to go for it cos i still donno if i wanna stay long in IT line....*sigh*
But I really salute u....that time u preggie with ur boy and u still took ur masters exam and during confinement took another professional certification exam? How did u do it?
Me put my acct course on hold for 1 yr now...prob will continue next yr Jan...cos i really donno how i can handle a newborn, hsehold stuffs and nite classes...cos i dont have maid or someone whom i can leave the bb to.
Even now when i think of resuming my studies in Jan i also donno how to....*sigh*...imagine having to wake up at nite to tend to bb and having to work, after work go attend nite classes reach home 10+pm...although even if only 2-3 days a nite...i also wonder if i can take it

Joy,
I am tinking of experimenting making them myselves...haha...i reserved the Glenn Doman book from the library see can get any information from it anot

Good Morning ladies,

I'm feeling so sleepy... went for a chinese wedding dinner last nite and it ended after 11pm... so tired now ***yawn****

wow so many postings ... dont have time to read all.

Am trying to clear off my work before i go for my hols this wed.

tinklebell,
enjoy urselves

i think this week got the tv show on Fiona Xie and Ben going Korea also....i can only "drool" at that show....*lol*

joy,

u can do it yourselves for the flashcard
I have some from GD and will be printing some myself (i mean those black and white newborn visual stimulation cards) to show my newborn girl soon

celeste,

it was very tough back then... my masters still needed me to do dissertation so double tough. But I wanted it all over so that these 2 years i can concentrate on my babies... but the IT landscape has changed a lot these few years from ready employment with very high pay to currently... high expectation low pay and lots of contract job only. I am considered still fortunate at this moment because I had long specialised in IT security which is still very much in demand today... else cant imagine...

Poohy, i dun think you have to worry too much abt bb turning at this stage, as it's still early. maybe you can talk to bb regularly, and i am sure she will turn.
Also, your bb is in a good weight range - 50 percentile. My bb at wk 28 is 1.38 kg, in 97 percentile, that's why my EDD shifted to 2 weeks prior.

Okasan, the JL sale is for public, but I think you need the vouchers for the 20% nursery items.

kk, okasan, what are your thoughts about having your MIL look after baby? i am also on good terms with MIL, cos we dun stay together. am worried that once i drop by her place more regularly, and leave bb at her place 3 times a week, conflict might arise. also, MIL sometimes gets too close for comfort, always comment on my clothes, too tight, too small, etc... faint.... i hope she will not visit me everyday during my 3 mths ML.

Lyn: thanks ... that's what i'm thinking of also, order from those confinement food palces and laundry can get it sent outside to do ...
i rather take care of baby myself ... i know it's going to be tiring, but got 3 mths to rest so it's ok ...

kk, my mum speaks Singlish... but dad cant speak mandarin .... my bro failed mandarin most of the time in school (hee heee ....despite my mum speaking to him in mandarin while he was young)..... so that's why boy boy speaks english most of the time.
My hubby and I planned that one of us will speak mandarin and the other in english to our girl.... hopefully, she will be better than her ge ge.

KOng, first 2 weeks of looking after bb is tough bec u need to adjust to bb's schedule and need to get ascustomed to baby care wh is something we do not have experience in... after that is not as bad if bb is "guai".

Poohy, "pei fu" u...still got time to go for courses.

Poohy,
Wow u are really super.. can got for courses & taking your master during ur confinement.

Tinklebell,
Enjoy ur hols... how envy !!

Any idea how frequent are we suppose to "jing pu" like birdnest or black chicken soup etc.

amy n okasan, i oso face the same prob with u gals.. most likely it's my MIL to take care of my bb, but scared will have conflicts cos she belongs to the older type, so ideas may be different from us..

Plus she may do the confinement for us and stay with us for a mth.. over the next 2mths confinement, she will pop in the am to take care of my meals.. but scared got conflicts, so now thinking whether i shd move back to my parents' pl for the confinement.. but not sure how my MIL feels cos already told her to help me..

Poohy, u oso doing courses now? me too, but luckily exams in Apr.. hopefully my last subject won't start during the confinement otherwise xian ah, got to attend.

Okipoki, actually i heard that jing pu can start anytime after 5mths, once a mth.. but it depends on individual health.. for me, i can't take much cos my bb would somehow become lethagic after each bu.. so i dare not take too much.. so maybe once every 3mths, but for some ladies who r weaker, they need to pu more often..

but think now it's a good time to eat dong cong cao cordceytes (err.. dun noe how to spell).. i tried yest, still ok. so maybe i can take that more often.. my understanding is that can eat once a mth.. but think u better find out what ur body can take.. juz a pt to note. tks

poohy, peng, you two are also doing course? Me too.. Last 2 modules in June. Dunno how I'm gonna rush out the assignments during my confinement.

I'm eating cordyceps and pao sheng now. I ask the medical hall to grind into powder and put into capsules. Easier to eat. Dun hv to brew and brew. But sometimes when I brew black chicken with cordyceps, bb seems to like it. Last time I drank, bb was kicking me actively. (or maybe he disliked it. lol)

Anyway, now I'm craving for mango... argh! mango mango mango. Think I'm heading down to Downtown East and grab myself some mango peral shake, or mango pudding or mango sago. Aiyo.. going crazy over it.

Re: Tummy Tightness
Anyone of u all experience tummy tightening recently? I seem to get this feeling a few times a day now....wonder if its anything to worry about....but it doesnt come with pain or anything...and will relax by itself.

poohy,
yeah, i tink juggling studies n pregnancy/bb is really difficult....i had actually tot of taking one paper exam this june but colleague told me not to...she said so near to the due date wait very stressed one.....tats y i decided to postpone my studies for 1 yr and see how.

Joy,
Me not sure where can d/l the pictures...only planning to readup on the book and see what info i can gather from it

tinklebell,
I hope i can go during confinement but chances not high also...provided i can persude my mom or can find someone to help me take care of bb for a few days...

so long didnt come in.. keke. how's everyone doin?

have u gals stock up pampers already? I hv yet to do market research..keke.
Saw you gals mentioning abt Nepia brand but I hv yet to chk out on them. Does they give samples? But i saw from others threads that it cant hold urine, mayb for bigger toddlers. Is that true? Btw, anyone has the agent no. for Nepia? How much are they selling now?
Yest I only bought 2pkt Mama Poko that c/i 28pcs @ $11 each. Is that ex?? but the promotor gave me extra 10pcs of NB samples. Mayb that's reduce unit's px. keke.

Hi Okipoki
Ya i think MAH gives bath tub and pampers too.. But they are already so-called charge into our package liao.. Not so much of 'free' gifts..haha.
U went for the hospital tour already?

Hi Lyn
How u doing? Me been busy packin my stuff to make way for bb's stuff.. Seems like i cant finish packing. I wonder why ..wahahahahaa

Some

Amy,
This is the one i reserved :
How to give your baby encyclopedic knowledge : the gentle revolution

How come Amazon so cheap? $10+ only? In USD rite? So means in SGD only less than $20?

peng, yes, me also feeling troubled over MIL. during my confinement, she will be helping with daily marketing, as my CL does not do marketing. so MIL is bound to drop by every morning. hope she will not stay long, or drop by again in the afternoon and at night.
then, there is the issue of her coming over too regularly during my ML. how to tell her nicely that i prefer some privacy? it'll be easier with my own mum, but with MIL.. bit difficult. also, my maid will be arriving sometime during my ML, and i am sure MIL will again drop by to supervise and check. Sian...
Any suggestions how i can proactively manage this?

looking further, when i return to work, MIL will be assisting with looking after baby and maid, again... worried she will feel close and comfy, and might nag or restrict me in some ways... guess there is always some pros and cons hor?

Celeste, is this the one recommended by Tinklebell? I took down the other title: How to Teach Your Baby to Read. Will check if Kinokuniya carries this title.

Also, read from our thread that: The Contented Little Baby Book by Gina Ford is also a good book to read on BF.

Amy,
I'm not sure....I juz went library to do a search see got what books available by Glenn Doman and decided on this one cos it seems like more relevant? Saw another one on Maths one......and i saw that Popular bookstore selling the Maths one at $39.90.