(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

kk, it's my son's nursery class meet the parents session....
my december born son ... sigh ... still have much to catch up with his peers. again, his teacher stresses that he cant speak and doesnt want to speak mandarin
but she was surprised he could sing "Tong Hua"! Hahaha! anyway, i think i will invest in some mandarin computer learning programs for him and coach him personally.
i also know nuts abt cars
usually i leave it to my bro and hubby the guys to meddle with such things....

ya, if price is low, dont think i will buy kia liao... that time was deciding bet a chevolet or kia ... in the end bought kia cos cheaper. but i feel that korean cars drink petrol like nobody's biz. Upfront cheap but fuel consumption high. The FC for my 1.4L car is ard 12km/ltr.... my hubby's 1.8L toyota is even more fuel economical! so, i strongly would recommend a Toyota.

kite, wow nepia's retail price and factory price is so different! is it good? havent used this brand before.
Hey the design of the new City is very nice... but is the fuel consumption good? have never driven a honda before.

kk/ hidora, dont scare me, u mean morning sickness will come back again? **Hiaz**

Hi Tinklebell,

Haha.. so cute! Now go into nursery need to go for some sort of "interview"?? Ur son speaks english at home, that's why weak in mandarin? i guess next time my daughter will be strong in mandarin and weak in english like us hahaha... somemore will be looked after by my pils... sure weak in english..

Yes, we also heard that korean cars are pretrol suckers. My brother had a kia too... very comfy

My colleague who just had a bb girl also changed their car recently. A toyota. Very fuel economical they say

Sigh.. today feeling like zombie.. i guess because i didn't sleep well last nite.. had been having nightmares about school
Dunno why i dream myself losing my school bag then running from 1st floor to fourth floor and back and forth again to look for the bag... crazy rite? Think should catch a nap later while waiting for delivery. My simmons mattress arriving soon..

haha, kk... how come u seem to be having dreams all the while? too stressed is it?
yes, we speak english at home with him. previously i told my mother to speak mandarin with him but she refused bec she said if she teaches him to speak in madarin, the maid will also learn and then next time she will eavesdrop on her conversations
for no2, i think no matter what, i will speak start her off with 2 languages.

kk
hehe.. your dream so cute... me having constant dreams abt breastfeeding recently. last nite dreamt that my confinement nanny going to do some massage for me so that my milk flow will arrive... and bb waiting to feed... thru out the dream felt v stressed and worried that i wun haf milk. guess i am stressed abt the same thing in real life too... kept worrying bb can't latch on or i wun haf milk or nipple will be sore and bleed and dunno how to breastfeed or even express... aiya all sorts of worries abt bf. sometimes wish i will just hand bb a bottle of formula and end all this anxiety. my hubby's SIL fed her kid FM the very 1st week cos she says she doesn't have milk. but then i dun want to deprive my bb of the best, so i think will have to go thru it all. sigh...

Hi Gina,

Haha, for me, i also have such worries about BF but definitely not as intense as yours heeee...

i want to BF but for 3 mths only. I am not so particular about BF.. i tell myself dun be overstressed because there are simply too many things to worry about liao. If really cannot, worse come to worse feed FM lor.

kite
my EDD accoring to doc s 1 July. the doc who did the 5th month fetal screening for me indicated 29 June. I DIY calculate and came up with 30 June. heee... so in the end i based on my gut feeling think bb will be due 30 June. anyway usually tell ppl bb due end of June, if really so exact to be 1 July also quite cute i think
kao_babydust2.gif

388271.png

Hi Tinklebell,

haha, in my 1st trimester, i dreamt more and the dreams all very cute. I dreamt i am going to have a bb boy and then dreamt of a kangaroo. i read a book that says we tend to have different dreams when we are pregnant and every dream means something heee...

ya, most of the time when i have dreams, it will be concerning the school
Ri You Suo Si, Ye You Suo Meng... think i have too much time in school liao, and life very hectic.. so tend to have dreams on it.. in fact they are NIGHTMARES... not sweet dreams

Wow, ur mum speaks english? For my case, both side parents will speak mandarin to the kid for sure.

I find that kids nowadays english not too good, mandarin not too good.. dunno why leh. My form class students.. they can fail english, as well as chinese.. i ask them whether they talk in animal language hahahaaa...

Hi Gina,

How nice! U get to enjoy june holiday, then maternity leave. Unlike me.. june holiday kena eaten up
Then go back to school in the middle of term 3
Think cannot escape from marking papers
Next time i must plan properly liao heeeee...

kk
i think if we dun insist on bf now we will never carry it thru... not going to be easy unless u r blessed with a lot of milk and belong to those ppl whom bf is a breeze to them. cos i read we must really persist thru the initial difficulties then can really be able to bf successfully. if so simple, so many books wun be written ant bf liao... heard from my mum she also din bf me. been formula fed when i was a bb myself.

wow so u ordered a bed for your MIL? i intend to get one from ikea for my CL to sleep in when she comes. what else have u bought? me maybe will get the steriliser today. pigeon one can fit all sizes of botlles right? also will buy an avent newborn milk bottle since isetan got discount. will get a few brands like nuk, pigeon etc. will use them as last resort if worst come to worst gotta feed EBM.

quit the thought of going back to school this morning. actually have to go and deco my classroom as there is a parent's viewing coming week. will slave on Monday to Thurs evenings to do up my class instead. today simply too hot to go out. later i also have antenatal class to attend. my hubby has been slogging day and night on his project but will rush down to attend with me. think i shud be contented tho i just grumbled to him this morning that he's been neglecting bb and me... he's been working till the wee hrs of the morning in the lab this few weeks. tell him must take abreak and go bb stuff shopping with me next weekend when his competition is over.

Anyone can advice to buy avent milk bag better or togather with the kit that comes teats from taka fair??

And any idea what to pack for hospital bag? coz i first time gaving birth at TMC.

Hi Gina,

Just received an email on our march bonus. Something to motivates me further

I think the older generation depends more on FM. They normally not so keen on BF.

Yup, else my mil only got those simple mattress to sleep on.. but those are placed on the floor. I dun think she can tahan sleeping low and then need to get up from there. May be a strain on her back. Anyway next time bb grows up can also sleep on the bed
The bedsheets i bought even have powerpuff cartoon characters on them heeeee...

Steriliser.. i bought pigeon brand from BB Kingdom.. costs me $89 with 3 free bottles.. some ladies here got it at $87 at taka fair with more goodies.. i didn't go taka fair cos too tired liao.. nowadays can't shop for long

Later BB Kingdom deliver my bb goods over. I so forgetful.. can't even what i have bought there.. later can take a look liao

Yup, i heard pigeon steriliser can fit all bottles.. more flexible.. NUK steriliser is on offer at JL this coming wed-thurs. But i read before that NUK can't fit even its own NUK wide necked bottles.. but BB kingdom salesperson say can.. but to be on the safe side, i didn't get NUK steriliser although all my 4 bottles are NUK wide necked ones.

I will try to introduce bottles to the bb as soon as possible because i dun wanna her to be too dependent on me. If not after 3 mths when i get back to work, my mil will be in trouble. I prefer to cut down on the problems which i foresee in the near future when i get back to work.

Oh, if u go back to deco ur classroom today, anybody to help u? I normally get my students to help while i stay in the staffroom to do other stuff haha.. my form class pretty nice.. always help me to do this do that

I didn't sign up for antenatal class. Initially plan to sign up one at TMC but then too lazy liao. Nowadays really tired and now my gynae visits are scheduled once per fortnight early sat morning.. soon will be once per week.. so normally after that i rush back to take afternoon nap. Else cannot tahan for the rest of the day.

Lab? Ur hubby working in research line?

Hi Mother of Princess,

U can scroll up and see a past msg posted by one of the ladies here. There is a list of things we can bring to TMC. Me also deliverying at TMC
My hospital bag halfway packed only. Haven't standby the toiletries bag heee...

hi kk,
your kids are big kids so good for u that they are able and willing to 'zuo niu zuo ma' for you
mine pri 1 and 3, how to help? but some of my colleagues v nice, volunteer to help me put up deco. but they themselves also need to deco their own class, so i just bot scotch tape and blue tack to DIY. they say cannot use pins and stapler (actually i used b4 to do up my form class noticeboard.. wasn't aware then so hopefully no problem...) me usually not pantang but since ppl say better to be safe than sorry now i listen and abide by all these old wives tale lor... i will try to DIY and if really can't climb then will seek SOS.. will not go all out to deco like last year cos gotta think abt my bb... so just put up a bit of things so class wun look so empty. nowadys parents like to complain so if empty they will complain teacher lazy..haha..

yest the 1st moment i reach school my colleagues all ask what i want for bb, stroller, steriliser, anything i ask for... wahhh i so touched... but as we all know we need to shop ard for bb stuff so not v convenient to ask for certain brands/model from colleagues (paiseh). so think i will ask them for NTUC vouchers to buy diapers hehe. besides i dunno when they will buy for me, need to get ready b4 bb pops... maybe ask them buy toys for bb hehe. btw i really feel like getting the Armsreach co-sleeper to put beside my bed the 1st few months so facilitate bf, but this item abit ex ard $300. what's more i intend to buy a cot. still pondering...
kk when u due? u are in yoour 33rd week, so advanced? me only 25th week. yep think i will buy pigeon steriliser like u. u shop for everything liao? by when shud we finish our bb stuff shopping huh?scared when i am too big i wun be able to stand for too long.
my hub in education line too but specialising in projects and training students for competitions, so not like us need to mark books and teach in classrooms.

Hi Gina,

The girls in my form class very sweet.. they even say they wanna come visit me after i deliver. i tell them not to come because i dunno how tired and ugly i will look haha...

Yoo, i think u better try not to climb.. very tiring leh.. and dangerous too.

My homeroom is mainly in a mess hahaha... this year more chiam because pregnant so lazy to deco. I merely told my girls to buy some materials and put up. They did what i told them. i dun even have energy to push them.. so it is only until feb tat the deco is being put up. Then the homeroom is in a great mess until last thursday then we have a cleanup to prepare for the afternoon meet the parents session.

For my school, normally one department gives one present. I already know liao.. my department colleagues are going to fork out $5 each. Around 10 of them... so what i can expect will be a $50 voucher at most. Not really exciting as nothing to look forward to as to what they will give hahaha... the welfare rep even ask me want mothercare or kiddy palace voucher :p

Yup, i should be going into 34th week next week. But in my last scan, my gynae shifted my EDD from 1 may to 11 may. That means i am only in my 33rd week next week. I dunno leh, hopefully i can work till end april, after that maybe go on maternity leave liao. i dun wanna work till the last day. If got signs of labour in school, i dunno how to cope! Heeee...

I only got the bb a playpen. Will not be having a cot. BB Kingdom delivered everything over liao
My hubby just finished setting up the playpen
I always find cot very sweet
But due to space constraint, i think we make do with a playpen which is good enough.

Oh yah forgot to mention. My colleague told me she got a pigeon or avent steriliser (can't remember) but ended up using traditional way to boil the bottles. She say steriliser very slow?!! So her steriliser becomes a white elephant liao. I bought a steriliser because i think traditional way of boiling may be slow and then lazy lah :p

Hmmm, bobian lor.. i have to get everything ready by now... else will shou mang jiao luan when the time comes. Moreover dunno when going to deliver rite?

Hey, it is true.. i find myself so tired now! Suddenly dunno why, find my whole body sooo tired and numb, like going to lose my senses like tat. And moreover weather so bad nowadays.. dun even feel like going out

What company ur hubby is in? Or in MOE? perhaps can get some lobang from him next time.. heeee...

Found out that new born pampers is for 3-5kg ( i bought like 8 pkts already). Just ordered 4 pkts of 58 pcs of Pampers size small (3-8kg) from TMC. waiting for the stock to come in. my GF said her new born baby boy used like 20 pcs of diapers in the first two weeks of so daily! I have twins so I can only imagine my diaper consumption. * pkts will barely last me 2 mths so even if babies are like born 3kg +, i think I can still finish it off. Then can start off with the size small. Wanted to buy more small size but hubby said to buy 4 pkts first then see how. With twins, every penny saved goes a long way.

Heard good comments about comfy Nepia but also heard that it does not hold much urine and the diaper needs to be changed often cause might leak. not sure though.

Cord Blood - my gyne said Cordlife is better than stem cord cause the latter has a lot of hidden charges. In fact, he switched fro Stem cord to cordlife. At stemcord, if you withdrew the blood, you have to pay. Cord life does not have that. It also doesn matter if Stem cord saves the blood in 4 portion cause you will require all the blood for you kid if he/she requires it. There's only that small amt of blood that cna be collected so makes no difference if you store one portion or 4 portion. Can only be enough to be used once/twice for small child or one for a very small young teen. Also, Cordlife is the only accredditted company for this with worldwide recognition. With that, Hubby and I are going to sign on with Cord life this month.

PS: I am not advertising for Cordlife nor do I work for them. =P

Babies moving around quite a bit. They do more somersaulting or moving of limbs cause can feel them moving acorss my tummy rather than just the initial kicking. They stilldo some kicking frm time to time.

I put on weight so fast last month, have stretch mark on tumy already even though I have bene using clarins oil and stretch mark cream everyday! *sigh* tummy skin is so itchy now.

I don't thnk I can have babie smore than 3kg each cause I will run out of space for babies since I have two of them in my tummy. Should be rather safe. Just watch what I eat. Thankfuly, no cravings and I usually don't eat sweet stuff nor cakes or cookies etc. Not too much I am missing out I guess.

Hi Gina,

Yup, went thru the test yesteray. Now got blue black on my left hand. They will inject the 1st one then ask you to drink a cupful of glucose water. After finishing you are allowed to drink 1/4 of plain water. Then no more food / water for 1 hr, go back for 2nd jab, then an hour later the last jab. My results will come out on 30 March when I go and see the doc. For me I opted for Clinic C which is the subsidise clinic. So cannot choose gynae. But so far all the doc that I see are good. Hopefully when in labour get good doc.

By the way, have you all started packing your hospital bag? Not sure when to start.

Poohmum

Hi Poohmum,

I have started packing my hospital bag liao. i am in my 33rd week so if dun pack, really dunno when i will really tell myself to sit down and start packing :p

Hi Lilfeets,

I am so sad i have stretchmarks. I didn't apply any cream or whatsoever. Because i read that having stretchmarks is some kind of inborn thing. If we have them, we will have them no matter how much cream we put. My stretchmarks only appear recently after my tummy ballooned. I thought i would escape having stretchmarks when i didn't see any even in my 7th mth! They only appear these 2 weeks or so
But not many lah, just a few short wavy red lines right at the bottom of tummy

kite,

my boy's weight was 2.63kg when he was borned in his 37th week.

i went for a scan this morning and my girl at 28 week is 1.1kg i think. My gynae told me its exactly the 50th percentile. Anyway she has not turned yet
I felt quite worried she wont turn and i gotta go for c-section. Gotta do more exercise liao
Anyway hope can go for natural... cos my first is drug free natural and only last 4 hours... so this one shd be even faster... a pity to have to go for c-section...

i am currently 50.9kg this morning. Weight gain so far of abt 4kg... 1.1kg is baby's ... still got the waterbag and the placenta... i was quite surprised that i havent gain that much despite eating so much.... hope next 2 months can just gain a little hehee..

oh i bought 3 packet of pampers premium newborn from ntuc too cos got quite a lot of ntuc voucher... going to order 1 box of nepia newborn and 1-2 box of nepia s size.

re: nepia

actually hor.. i think it holds urine quite well for my boy's case leh... cos these days one nepia can last him from evening till morning with no leak at all. when he was younger, i change no matter whether wet or not every 1-2 hours.... cos i think it will make him feel more comfy...

anyway i really like nepia... its so comfy and the price is very reasonable... i always order in carton. btw u all can keep the points on the diaper to exchange for ntuc vouchers hor

re: car

agreed that toyota got very good petrol consumption ... my corolla previously really a petrol saver... my odyssey right now drink slightly more petrol but also quite good.... maybe becos we dun do city driving a lot...

kk,
my friend also experienced the same as you for stretch marks..she thought she can escape the marks when she din see any at her 7th mth...then suddenly, all the makrs started to appear in a few days time and she was caught by surprise...

re: hospital bag
well, I haven't pack for my hospital bag yet...but am in the midst of preparing..bought new pyjamas for the hospital stay, but haven't wash them yet...

for delivering at TMC, u need only to bring mummy and daddy's stuff...tmc will take care of the baby's clothings etc, even give u a set of cloths and recieving blankets on discharge....for mummy, must bring pyjamas (front button opening ones if u wanna bf) coz tmc will not provide u any clothings during the stay there....

gina,
pigeon steriliser is selling at $87 at kiddy palace, taka sale and at any other sale like robinson/metro/JL....original is more than $100...but hor, I seen kiddy palace sell it at discounted price of $87 since day 1....hehe...

freebies include 2 bottles and one liquid detergent....if bought at taka baby fair, got free pigeon wet wipes on top of the usual freebies....

re: cloth nappies

just remeber something abt cloth nappies....

for cloth nappies, most brands are abt the same quality...only different is the size of the cloth...if going to use cloth nappies instead of disposable ones, good to get those brands that are of bigger sizes.....I heard some brands cloth nappies are very small and baby outgrown them very fast.....

but if using cloth nappies only as blankets/pillows/etc...then the sizes of the cloth nappies not very big issues

<center><font size="+2"><font color="0000ff">June 2006 mums-to-be</font></font>

<table border=1><tr><td><font color="aa00aa">Name</font></TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">EDD</font></TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">Gynae</font></TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">Hospital</font></TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">Gender</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Amy</TD><TD>22/05/06</TD><TD>LeeIWuen</TD><TD>Raffles</TD><TD><font color="87ceff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mattew Lee's wife</TD><TD>01/06/06</TD><TD>TL Heng</TD><TD>ESH</TD><TD><font color="ff69b4">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dor</TD><TD>02/06/06</TD><TD>Henry Cheng</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD><font color="ff69b4">Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ryue</TD><TD>03/06/06</TD><TD>LC Foong</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD>??? </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pebbles</TD><TD>04/06/06</TD><TD>FongYang</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD><font color="ff69b4">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cookiemz</TD><TD>05/06/06</TD><TD>SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="ff69b4">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Celeste</TD><TD>06/06/06</TD><TD>Gordon Lim</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD><font color="ff69b4">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>MotherOfAPrincess</TD><TD>05/06/06</TD><TD>AdrianWoodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="ff69b4">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>duffybuff</TD><TD>08/06/06</TD><TD>KL Yam</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="87ceff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jeslynster</TD><TD>08/06/2006</TD><TD>LawrenceAng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="87ceff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>muffinmocha</TD><TD>08/06/06</TD><TD>Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>??? </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yve</TD><TD>08/06/06</TD><TD>TL Heng</TD><TD>ESH</TD><TD><font color="87ceff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Carebear</TD><TD>10/06/06</TD><TD>YvonneChan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="87ceff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>i_panda</TD><TD>10/06/06</TD><TD>WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="87ceff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>miz_hopeful</TD><TD>10/06/06</TD><TD>Judy Wong</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>??? </TD></TR><TR><TD>poohy</TD><TD>10/06/06</TD><TD>CT Yeong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="ff69b4">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Poohmum</TD><TD>11/06/06</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="ff69b4">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>EVAMTB</TD><TD>13/06/06</TD><TD>KH Chan</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD>??? </TD></TR><TR><TD>K Ong</TD><TD>14/06/06</TD><TD>Dr Lim</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD><font color="ff69b4">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>medusa</TD><TD>14/06/06</TD><TD>Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="87ceff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Peng</TD><TD>15/06/06</TD><TD>Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="87ceff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Starfish</TD><TD>15/06/06</TD><TD>AdrianWoodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="87ceff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Angeline Goh</TD><TD>16/06/06</TD><TD>AL Lim</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="ff69b4">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cyberbabe</TD><TD>16/06/06</TD><TD>Chris Chong</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD><font color="87ceff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Teo Gillan</TD><TD>16/06/06</TD><TD>Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="87ceff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tinklebell</TD><TD>16/06/06</TD><TD>AdrianWoodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="ff69b4">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>okasan2b</TD><TD>17/06/06</TD><TD>AdrianWoodworth</TD><TD>TMC/MAH</TD><TD><font color="87ceff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Emily</TD><TD>18/06/06</TD><TD>Paul Tseng</TD><TD>MtA</TD><TD><font color="87ceff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>luvflower</TD><TD>18/06/06</TD><TD>FongYang</TD><TD>???</TD><TD><font color="87ceff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>happysunflower</TD><TD>18/06/06</TD><TD>Peter Chew</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD><font color="87ceff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>spicegal</TD><TD>19/06/06</TD><TD>Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="ff69b4">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>sunflower</TD><TD>19/06/06</TD><TD>Choo WL</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD><font color="87ceff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>celesteBlur</TD><TD>20/06/06</TD><TD>AdrianWoodworth</TD><TD>TMC/MAH</TD><TD><font color="ff69b4">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>JosephineTan</TD><TD>20/06/06</TD><TD>LawrenceAng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="87ceff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>pinky pink</TD><TD>20/06/06</TD><TD>Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>??? </TD></TR><TR><TD>Fondue</TD><TD>23/06/06</TD><TD>Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="87ceff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chantelle Tay</TD><TD>24/06/06</TD><TD>KT Tan</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>??? </TD></TR><TR><TD>hidora</TD><TD>25/06/06</TD><TD>TL Heng</TD><TD>ESH</TD><TD><font color="87ceff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>mspiggy</TD><TD>25/06/06</TD><TD>Selina Chua</TD><TD>MtE</TD><TD><font color="87ceff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lilfeets</TD><TD>25/06/06</TD><TD>Fong Yang</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD><font color="ff69b4">Girl</font> <font color="87ceff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>JoyFu</TD><TD>26/06/06</TD><TD>Noel Leong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="87ceff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>mum2b</TD><TD>26/06/06</TD><TD>DouglasOng</TD><TD>MtA</TD><TD><font color="ff69b4">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>rms</TD><TD>26/06/06</TD><TD>Judy Wong</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>??? </TD></TR><TR><TD>okipoki</TD><TD>29/06/06</TD><TD>Henry Cheng</TD><TD>MAH/GlenE</TD><TD><font color="ff69b4">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>gina</TD><TD>30/06/06</TD><TD>JudyWong</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="87ceff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>kite</TD><TD>01/07/06</TD><TD>Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="ff69b4">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD></font></td></tr></table></center>

Hello gals...
Anyone else wanna join the list? And any updates or corrections? hee... sorry if I have missed your posts previously... I will try my best to keep the list updated. I have been rather busy lately :p

Hi poohy,
Wah... You are not very heavy... kekeke... I kinda feel like a giant now.

Anyone gonna deliver in Gleneagles? Okipoki, have you decided on Mt A or Glenealges? Seems like those who are going to deliver at GlenE are not very active...
TMC seems very good... No need to prepare much baby's clothings and will get a bathtub back... Gleneagles only provide first pack of pampers premium and first pack of pigeon baby wipes.

Hi Okasan,

heeee, i think my tummy suddenly grow very big, that's why got stretch marks.

Hi Poohy,

Wow, how did u manage to do it? 4 hours only for ur first child and moreover drug free?? i have colleague who went for drug free too but she has to tahan 10 hours!! i salute her haha...

didn't have internet access lately so can't catch up fast enough.. so pissed off w/ singnet, gives lots of problems since the 2nd day I use their service!

re: constipation
I also had a very bad case of this! Last Monday, it was like so miserable, feeling the urge to pass motion n the bowel is v full, but can't pass anything. At night after trying to eat papaya, pitted prune, veggie juice n still nothing happened, can't tahan anymore n called my gynae, then he asked me to look for GP who has fleet anema, a tablet that supposed to be inserted into anus n will make me pass motion within 15-30 mins later. It was already 8 pm+, n only 1 GP opens nearby, n he didn't have any anema, n advised me to go to emergency dept in hospital! wah.. sorta freaked out having to go to emergency dept. so asked hubby to buy prune juice n give it the last try, n thankfully it works despite having to give some almighty pushes.. was v worried abt the bb when pushing though

hi all, am exploring the issue of confinement nanny again !
cuz my dad just said my mum is under a lot of stress, and my sis (who just recently gave birth) suggested i look for nanny so that my mum doesn't need to help so much.
the original plan was to have my mum and MIL (from KL) come and help me. I will stay at mum's house.
but now ... looks like may have to make other plans.
i think food wise, if i can get good catering, i'm ok wif it, not a fussy eater.
however, wondering how "difficult" it is to look after baby on my own. My Mum-in-law has never looked after her children (ie, hubby was looked after by his granny) but she did say she can cook for me.
2nd time mummies: is it very tiring to look after baby, ie, day time plus night feeds ?
i dont think it;'s that difficult right ?
cuz if wanna get a confinement nanny now, i think quite difficult. ...

sigh...

lyn,

my gynae changed to dr Tracey Lim liao
thanx

kk,

maybe its inherited.. my mum gave birth to me her first child in 1 hour.. and my brother.. within minutes of arriving at hospital (he is breech some more)...

plus i think during the labour i tried not to tense up my muscle cos i know if my muscle is tensed due to the pain, the dilation will be slower... so i just tahan and at the same time make sure my lower body is very relaxed (as much as can be helped).... but its really quite painful lah... i remember i was literally shaking with each contractions towards the last part grabbing hold of the bed rail hehee

i really hope my coming one also can be natural ... but she still breech position so sad
though still early but as long as she dun turn, there will be a possibility of c-sect liao

Morning Ladies!

Poohy,

When is the head of ur first bb engaged? Mine also still turning here and there leh. 6 weeks ago head up, 4 weeks ago head down, last week head up again... i can somehow feel she is not engaged yet, because she moves all around my tummy haha!

Which week are u in now? Too early for bb to head down and engaged rite?

Morning mummies !!

Lyn,
Likley I will be choosing Mt A instead on GlenE. Most friends of mine having the same gynae as me delivered at Mt A. Morever Mt A is in between my home &amp; office....Erhmm just in case !! Keeping my finger X !! Hahaha...

how u all feeling today? had disagreement with hubby yesterday and just now and felt upset. told bb dun be affected by mummy... always feel v bad when i get upset cuz i know bb will be upset too... bb is so connected to us he/she feels what we feel. but much as i tried, i can't help feeling upset at times. always tell bb sorry mummy can't help it, will be alright so bb dun worry.

Hi Gina,

What happened?? Hope u and ur hubby are fine now
Dun quarrel liao lah, let bygones be bygones

Last time i argued with hubby sometimes.. but ever since i joined teaching, no time to quarrel with him hahaha... which is quite a blessing :p

I felt depressed sometimes recently too.. wonder whether it is pre natal blues. It gets real serious at times.. keep worrying about this and that.. i notice that when i get upset, the bb moves less... so i try to be happy everyday, bb will respond more

hi poohmum
thanks for sharing your glucose test procedures. mine will be in 3 weeks' time. did u go to work after that? wonder if i have to take leave. as i teach in the afternoon session, i think i will go back to school after the test which is 2 hrs right? arms pain or not after 3 jabs? wonder if i can still write on board and mark for the rest of the day. hey it's good that u get good docs as you din state doc preference at KKH. the subsidsed rate wud be really really worthwhile if all the while u are well taken care of by a random medical team. sometimes i wish i can be so relaxed as to let any doc check on me. actually now i sort of understand, if choosing KKH, might as well go for all their subsidies. if want personalised attention, i rather opt for TMC. KKH v clinical, TMC more cosy. but in terms of standard of care and professionalism, i am generally satisfied with KKH. din expect too much, even from pte suite. after all it's a govt hospital. used to be much worse over there.

kk,
hiya! dun worry abt my class deco, will do what i can, what i can't i will just leave it.bb is TOP priority now
yeah if u can go on leave earlier, shud do just that. me no choice have to work till end of 2nd term cos i want to take the whole stretch of 3 months when school reopens in term 3. after which i may take no pay till end of year as i want to learn the ropes of taking care of bb since am a 1st time totally inxperienced and blur2 mummy. mu mum is taking care of my dad who is a stroke patient so wun be able to help me, as for MIL, i rather she dun interfere cos if i allow her to get involved, she will dominate the whole picture. so i try to maintain a "xiang1 jing4 ru2 bin1" r'ship wif her... respectful but distanced...
hmm... i will get a cot cos heard playpen quite warm leh. u better rest more as u are so advanced in your pregnancy liao. my friend popped 3 weeks b4 her due date... hope our bbs can stay put till full term then come out in a matter of minutes when due... hehehe... that wud be perfect.
what kind of lobang u looking for??? right now quite upset with hubby so maybe we talk abt him some other time ok

kk
yeah same for me, when i am upset i wun be able to feel bb moving. bb maybe scared and goes into hiding? my hubby got the cheek to make that guess, haha. but when i tell my bb i am alright, he happily moves again... so funny. abt feeling depressed, i do have this feeling at times and i gotta tell myself to curb the feeling otherwise wun be good for bb. my colleagues say will get depressed feelings more when bb is out, so much psycho those ard us to be supportive and cheer us up when we feel the blues. just told my hubby that cos he is the only person who can make me feel upset/angry/mad/sick.

Hi Gina,

Wow, which means u will give urself a break till the end of the year? Does ur boss know about ur intention?

A lot of colleagues asked me whether i am taking extended leave after that. For me, i dun think so lor, as it will affect bonus and next year performance rite? But i already know i will be marked down next year. That is the dilemma faced by female teachers. We enjoy maternity leave, but yet get marked down on the other hand

My colleague who just ended her confinement this week said she is returning to school tomorrow for a short while. She need to vet our mid year papers as she is the level head. But i think she spoil market leh. Wait my HOD also think i am as fit as her then expect me to deal with all issues during my leave! Then i won't enjoy peace and quiet liao.

So who will be with u during confinement period? Ur MIL? My mil will be with me during confinement period. That is another worry too. First time staying under one roof with her, somemore 1 mth!! And i think for the subsequent two months, she will pop by very often too, perhaps everyday. I really hope we can get along well. We are on good relationship now, but who knows rite? Chinese always say, xiang jian hao, tong zhu nan. SIGH! i just hope i get my hubby's support, that's all.

Playpen warm ah? Dunno leh. Anyway eventually i will transfer bb to sleep in a bouncer. I see how things go. Aiyoh, yesterday after setting up the playpen, it already looks like a giant. If i buy a cot somemore, dunno where to put liao.

Yah, hope my bb dun come out early. My intention is to teach till end apr. My school mid year exam starts 3 may. So it is just nice if i stop teaching end april. After that i can avoid invigilation heeee... see how things go...

Yup, i also heard that stress can lead to premature babies. So scary!

Aiyoh, dun feel upset anymore. Cheer up!

Hi Gina,
It's really very difficult not to feel upset sometimes
I am one of the culprit of that too :p.
Hope you and hubby will patch up soon
. Baby is very sensitive if we quarrel with hubby... Last time, I argued with my hubby and baby keep kicking me till we patch up...

Hi kk,
Have you got everything ready for baby's arrival? Try to stay relax

Hi K Ong,
Regarding confinement nanny... If you think you can cope, then dun get one
. If not, it's still not too late to find one
Lots of people are telling me that I gonna be very tired after giving birth... I am prepared to take lots of supplements to keep my energy high

For confinement food, I might eat simple dishes or just order from outside. For laundry, call those home service laundry if cannot cope with the laundry. And use disposable diapers. I think that should not be too much left to cope with
. Baby only need to bath once a day in the morning only.

Hi Lyn,

Haha, ur bb so smart! Dun wanna daddy and mummy to quarrel

Hmmm, for me, kind of prepared liao. I just bought a few of each kind of items required. During confinement, if really not enough then ask hubby go and buy :p Kiddy palace just nearby, so no worry

But i haven't got an electric pump yet. My colleague say medela really very good. But i am only going to BF for 3 mths.. dunno want to buy or not.

I heard from my mum that first week of confinement is pretty tough, cos we are in the process of recovery. After that will be a breeze liao. But u know lah, older folks can take hardships better. So i dunno when it's our turn, can cope or not

U dun have confinement lady?

hey kk,
thanks for cheering me up
appreciate...
hubby just called and sms apology... din pick up but saw his sms, softened and called him back. he doesn't apologise easily so when he does, i usually will soften a bit and forgive. the whole issue is abt him not concerned abt bb and me, always think abt work and spending 99.9% of his time at work. yest antenatal class also late. actually he arrived on the dot but when we entered the class, we were late. his reason is the robot he is working on got problems but then we already planned that he wud go back to work once class is over so he shud not use that as an excuse to be late. work is work and since we can never finish our work, gotta put down when it comes to family business. his attitude also v bad, like being forced to attend class. so fed up with him. but after venting my frustrations on him this morning, he seems apologetic. hope he realises that bb not just wife's business but also his, and he has to support me by learning how to care for bb too, even if work is the whole world to him.

just now went to cook oats for brunch, havan makan the whole morning so thot of cooking s'thg healthy for bb. btw read somewhere that it is advisable to take DHA capsules eg Neurogain with protein rich food like milk, eggs, soya milk, tofu, fish etc to aid absorption of DHA, otherwise if body not able to absorb, all the expensive DHA supplements will come out from our bowels instead of going straight to bb.

as for leave, yeah sure will affect bonus and yr end AWS and ranking next year. this year i din even sign up for any external courses. work review or EPMS`will have nothing much to write abt...actually 3 months is fit for us to come back to work, but i dun want to coz i want to give full attention to bb, plus havan found anyone to take care of him yet. i havan informed school yet and may apply for no pay nearer to the time when i have had taken 2 months of my maternity leave cos may change my mind... dun think i can do w/o a regular paycheck. dun want to rely on hubby...dun think he is v dependable, haha. so if my reserves are low, and by that time, can find someone to take good care of bb, i may consider going back to work after maternity leave ends.

kk,
same here, after much discussion, my MIL will also be coming over to stay with us during confinement and also likely to stay with us from then onwards to take care of baby....coz can't find anyone to look after baby after I go back to work since infant care centre too out of way and maid is not an option we want to consider....my relationship with mil also good now, like u...but am also worry if the relationship can stay good if stay under the same roof or not.....afterall, there bound to be conflicts esp when it comes to taking care of baby....

sometimes, I wish my mum can come over to help...afterall, mum will not bear grudges with her daughter in the event of disagreements on taking care of baby loh.....well, for now, I can only be positive abt mil staying with us

kk,
since u only intend to pump for 3 mth, no point buying the electric pump...anyway, mrs wong also advise mummies not to buy breast pump now coz she said it's better to buy only after u deliver so u know whether u have milk or not and which pump suit u better.....

gina,
I thought for teacher, once u apply no pay leave, u will be taken out of the school and will be re-transfer to another school when u come back from no-pay leave? that's what happen to my friend who's a teacher....coz the school cannot keep the vacancy so long with reserve teacher...

hi lyn
your bb havan born but already a born peace maker huh
good for u! my bb sensitive like me, so will be scared if mummy and daddy quarrel haha...

oh talking abt confinement, i have booked a CL from malaysia, recommended by my colleague, but havan met up with her cos she is busy with taking care of other mummies till now. will meet up sometime next month for discussion. thinking of DIY confinement too, but scared can't cope wait get post natal depression will be worse... maybe next round when we know what to expect then DIY... i know gotta fork up $2000 at least, v heart pain, but no choice. my MIL din mention she wanna do confinement for me so i reckon she not interested. tho i know if i ask she will say ok... but i think i wun dare to ask her do this do that when i need help, so getting a CL wud be best. any one getting a malay massage lady to do post natal binding of tummy? i may get one cos dun want to go out of shape even for bb's sake

hey okasan
thanks, so kiddy palace always sells Pigeon sterisliser at $87? will get it soon.

gina,
ya, from the day I look at steriliser, kiddy palace is selling it at $87 with the standard freebies...but kiddy palace card don't entitled further 10% discount coz the price tag is tagged at discounted price liao.....

hi okasan
yeah i also heard wat u heard..
kao_smile2.gif
it depends on the school lah. my school sure got vacancy co it's aBIG school and always in need of teachers (at least for my dept) so far this is the situation here, but if really no vacancy also nevermind, me not too worried abt this at the moment. they have already got a relief teacher to fill me up till end of year when i go on leave (cos i inform the school admin mostly likely i wun be ard till end of year) already so when i come back, it's just nice loh.

gina,
if transferring out to another school is not a prob to u, then ok lah

anyway, they will still post u to the schools in the area of your choice

Hi Okasan,

After 3 mths i am going back to work, so whatever it is, hope i won't get into big conflicts with my mil haha.. my hubby even suggested before to let mil come over EVERYDAY and stay here (although no overnight) to take care of bb so that less trouble for us to fetch bb back and forth. Although i dun really support the idea, but since my hubby like it, it is ok with me. Luckily mil dun agree hahaha.. she still prefer her "gou wo". That's precisely why we bought a car to make it more convenient to take bb to her place early morning and fetch her back in the evening after dinner
We stay very near each other lah, but then can still be a hassle if it is a everyday thingy.

Yup, that's why i delay buying the pump. ANd it is not cheap leh.. $179 for medela electric pump? And i also read that TMC got sell and can deduct from medisave?? So wait and see lor..

Hi Gina and Okasan,

For my school, i have colleagues who were on no pay leave after maternity leave. They came back after that. So i didn't hear anything about transfering out cases. i guess my school lacks manpower which is always the case so we are pretty safe.

Gina, u are lucky that ur school found a relief to cover u. Me and my colleague got to look for relief ourselves! I dunno why?!! My colleague found an A level grad to cover her and this relief leaving for her uni studies once my colleague is back. For my case, i tell my relief teacher to come beginning may. He is kind of jobless ever since he grad from uni in 2004 and now just a freelance IT trainer. He told me he will be going for interviews on and off. And if he find a suitable job, he will go for it and will not be able to cover me in july liao. So i kind of worried about my students. My HOD expects them to do independent study, worse come to worse. But i dun think my students will be that cooperative to study on their own.

Hi Gina,

Yah, Okasan was right about the pigeon steriliser. Correction.. i bought my pigeon steriliser from BB Kingdom at $87 (took close look at invoice yesterday) with 2 free wide necked bottles and one liquid detergent. Taka fair sells that with freebies (those okasan mentioned).

Hi Gina,

Haha, seems like i work like ur hubby.. we are both workaholic type.. when i start work, i can't stop. My hubby always angry with me about this. I just dunno when to stop and will sit there and work and work. Very unhealthy hor?

Luckily my hubby dun work like ur hubby.. else chiam liao.. because if i am like tat, my hubby can't be like tat.. we have to strike a balance between both of us heee...

Yah, like u too.. when we quarreled, my hubby will call and apologise but i won't pick up the phone because talking to him will be a torture heeee... he will sms after that and i will definitely soften!

Hmmm, me taking soya milk everyday in pretty great amount.. so think my neurogain is not going to waste then

I have already clocked 30 hours of training so far. And i even attended one stupid course on thursday just to clock up the 100 hours. Wasted my one day holiday. I try to perform more in my presence in school. Dun want to be marked down until very jia lat.

I am still taking up more and more student projects.. there will be a competition in april.. another one in july (got to monitor students progress in writing the report during maternity leave for sure) and one more (3 projects at one go) in august. I think i am very siao sometimes, putting so much pressure on myself when going on leave soon. Dunno school will appreciate or not.

Hohoho.. talking about reserves.. ours sure low.. have to support new car, buy milk powder, buy diapers hahahaa.. definitely have to go back to school after 3 mths