(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

kk,
ya, those days, we were more innocent and blur...but sometimes, knowing less is good coz happier mah..nowaday, kids are under a lot of pressure, not healthy loh....also, kids these days dun enjoy their childhood as much as we did...parents start training kids from young unlike olden days when we just play with neighbours all the times.....

re: AHA/ DHA
these days, even the milk powder comprises of all these component... no wonder some schools produce maj of students with 3As for A levels ... aiyo... donno if this headstart will make any difference in their IQ or not. Hubby insist i must take DHA ... i hate fish smell now so i'm taking one type wh is odourless (cant remember the name though... see, doesnt make any diff to my memory).

kk, you'r going to have a tough time with smarter kids next time ...hahaha LOL!

tinklebell,
agree with u...with smarter kids, means tougher time for us parents...*LOL*...my friends always blame the DHA/AA in the milk powder for making their kids so smart at being naughty and getting their ways around....

Re: Supplements
Me not taking additional suppliements except the vitamins given by gynae and the occasional Anmum and HL milk that i drink. Cos i also donno if these fish oil thingy is really gd or not...cos i think if possible its still best to take from fresh sources

Like Omega-3, i read that eggs contain omega-3 also, and i kinda like eggs although sometimes forgo the egg yolk cos its higher in cholestrol

Fish, i only like codfish and white pomfret....hopeless hor...very picky bout fish so dont eat frequently also.

okasan,
Haha...ya lor..those milk powder with the word "Gold" contains a lot of these kind of DHA/AA thingy rite? Donno next time they will come up with "diamond" one anot or "Platinum"....*lol*

tinklebell,
Actually i sometimes feel that the kid's IQ is more or less determined irregardless of whether the mtb takes a lot of supplements boh...cos u see a lot of those aunties w/o bothering much bout all these nutrients also have smart kids

Juz like i hear a lot of ppl saying babies born in the earlier part of the yr is normally smarter than those yr-end babies which i dont think is true....cos my own brother is a yr-end bb but he is smarter than me...*lol*
But I do agree that prob the first few yrs of the early-half babies will have a better headstart cos they have more time to learn n develop...but prob when they reach kindergarten or pri schs it will balance out

Hi Celeste Blur,

I love eggs too! But not as health conscious as u, i eat up the yolk as well. Yummy! Haha!

Yup, i agree with u on the part on yr end bb and those born first half of year.

Hi Okasan and Tinklebell,

I told my hubby i like my kids to be smart of course. But we feel that the most important is their character and manners. Ever since i am pregnant, whenever i see students notorious or bad-mannered, i will start to pity their mums. This is the feeling i never had before my pregnancy hahaa... i guess mum's nature ya? Imagine we spend so much time carrying them in our tummy followed by nurturing them, yet they turn out to be nasty fellows, it is really a waste.

Tinklebell, Not to worry. I wonder whether i will still be in the education line when our kids reach their teenage years. Haha!

i was out of action, as i was in Bali, just came back to office today, lotsa work to clear!

strongly recommend holiday to bali and stay at Nikko Bali! nice rooms (wth cable) and ocean view, and pool, and spa...

was on MC yesterday. Want to share that perhaps we should eat fish in moderation. As i was staying in Nikko Bali, which is japanese owned, they have a very good Jap restaurant. And my package entitled me to free breakfast and dinner bento sets, and everyday i eat one slice cod fish for 2 days... on the last day, i felt constipated but when i go to the toilet, only came out LUMINOUS orange colour oil substance. Freaked me out! Saw doc yesterday, and confirm that since i'm already on DHA (fish oil) and still eating loads of oil may not be a good idea... so don have indigestion like me gals...

Coconut: can anyone confirm where to buy the coconuts - ntuc/hawker/fruit store? very confused, i also want to buy during 8th month too. But take note that each individual's body take it differently, some pp can take everyday for last 2 weeks b4 delivery but some can only tahan once a week...

gina:
if really want to put perfume, wil spray on my clothes instead of body bcos of e chemical. yes i do put on light makeup but lipstick is out. yes i take neurogain since 2nd or 3rd mth as provided by my gynac.

celesteblur:
allerhand bags like not worth the price, heard e zip not very good. But it got alot of compartments esp for this n that stuffs n thus very organised. somemore when u buy the bag, it got freebies inside too. anyway me dun intend to buy a diaper bag unless can get a cheap n reasonable one. hehe
386593.gif

kk:
same here, we dun intend to put bb to slp with us on the bed else next time too sticky n no privacy for us. hehe will train my bb to slp on her own on her playpen or bed. Gynac got suscribe iron n calcium n neurogain for me. Hmm i heard tuna high in mercury? so far i dun dare take tuna, only sardines n other fish. Me too i love Mac fish burger, i hv that for breakfast at times
i heard cant take Sheng Yu those sheng yu mee, cos abit poison (DU2) one as i read fr 1 mag n my mum also advised me not to eat, told me the same thing as e mag n even b4 i read that mag. then every fri, wil go back my parent's place n mum wil steam fish for me too. wkend wil try eat sardines.

Amy:
how much u bot ur diaper bag? ex? sorry wat is moses basket?

k ong:
yes e avent milk bag is called disposable liners.

okasan:
the receiving blankets TMC provides is those plain n white color one? cos i bought a pink color winnie the pooh receiving blanket for my bb.
386594.gif

coconut:
those from ntuc ones can? wow so many theory on how many times to drink? hmm ....

Anmum milk:
i threw away my Anmum after i realised consume within 2mths, so ridiculous cos i bot in dec n i took a few times during mar n end up got stomachache. now i bot a new tin of maxwell, not bad but hv to consume within 1 mth but at least i feel fine after drinking it.
386595.gif

me woke up liao now marking compo in the middle of the night. slept at 10 cos so tired and now totally awake. think my bb sleeping cos no movement from him now... i tend to think he's sleeping when i dun feel his kicks hehe...
today's check-up makes me realise that even tho i can't feel bb kicking, the scan shows that he is indeed still moving constantly inside the womb. my gynae points out his genitals but then i already know bb is a boy from the detailed scan last month. maybe she wants to double confirm... she also indicated bb's heartbeat and says bb's size is just right, not too big or small. i am so contented that everything is fine that i forgot to ask her to print bb's scan photo for me haizzzz there goes my month by month collection of my bb's pre birth album...
asked abt neurogain, doc says if i take fish then not necessary to take neurogain, but she still prescribed a bottle for me when i say i wanna try. cost $31. asked for more vit c to get rid of scars caused by scratching the itch on my legs and arms but doc says scars will be there for at least 6 months, but will disappear after birth so no need to worry. oh also checked about inverted nipple, doc says i can try Avent nipplet but she doesn't seem v concerned, say can pump milk out even if i have difficulty latching on after birth. hmm... i think breastfeeding IS about latching on and feeding bb directly from the breast, expressing is a bo bian alternative. i think KKH is not very supportive of bf, i will have to persist my own way, all the way.
next month i will have to do glucose tolerance test, need to fast overnight, anyone done that b4? how is it like? heard have to drink some sickly sweet stuff and wait 2 hrs to test reaction.

kk,
yeah those blur2 stupid2 days when we were kids were quite fun and carefree, but if our bbs turn out blur2 stupid2, then it's not too fun for us liao...lol

kite,
sheng yu got poison meh???!!! dun scare me... cos i always order fish soup and fish porridge when i eat out. usually the fish used is sheng yu lor... i love cod fish but only when my MIL cooks then i have the chance to eat. Mcdonald's fish fillet got tartar sauce, and it's made of raw egg... so i dun eat that. now seems like left with sardines to eat only... sigh.

btw moses baskt is a basket with soft fluffy beddings for newborn bbs. can find in mothercare and 1st few years, betw $100-$200. v v sweet but not really worth it or necessary unless u want to splurge on s'thg that can only be used in the 1st month after bb is born.

re:anmum
kite i think u mistaken. saw from my tin expiry date in 2 years, not 2 months. i am a milk drinker so anmum suits my taste. have tried friso mum and enfa mama, but those taste artificial, some more got vanilla/choc flavour, strange...
can't take cold fresh milk as i have a persistent cough. soya milk i love but only fresh and warm from hawker stalls, as i dun go to hawker ctr everyday, can't take it on a daily basis. so far bb is healthy so i guess anmum is good for him
i also dun put on too much weight, now 55 kg, weighs 2.6kg more since last check up, not too fat lah.

saw branded diaper bags in 1st few years at KKH, cost more than $100 and looks just like an ordinary bag. not many compartments inside also, so conclusion is, any suitable bag will do, no need to waste $ on that.

ok gals, back to my compo, gd morning and bye for now
kao_byebye.gif

Good Morning Gina!
Wow u are definitely very early.
well regarding sheng yu, i hv stopped eating since mum n magazine said so. its not said very poison but mild poison, abit DU2. So i just avoid. Usually when i go bk mum's place, she wil steam salmon, sardines n etc.
Oh Mac fish burger the tartar sauce made of raw egg! Aiya i just ate for breakfast this morning! i didnt know tartar sauce made of raw egg wor. think now better avoid.

Is moses basket neccesary? dun think so rite? ya me too thinking just buy normal bags to use as a diaper bag.

Me put on 7kg from 43kg to 50kg. gynac said another 5kg more to go. total 12kg which means til 55kg hv to stop cos me petite size.
386715.gif

hi Gina

There is a small print on the Anmum which stated that it is best to consume the milk within 2 months once open. I bought one again which comes in a new packaging and haven't checked if the small print is there
Agreed that so far, anmum taste betta than other brands.

I did my glucose tolerance test. Remember to keep ya urine in the morning as you are suppose to produce the urine sample for the first round. Then they will draw blood. The glucose drink is immensely sweet but it doesn't taste horrible. It takes one hour for each cycle so I went shopping before going for the 2nd n third round.

You can try getting Neurogain at Far East Plaza as they sell Neurogain for $25 from the clinic. Most clinics selling about $30.

Hi kk
Wow, your clinic charge pretty high for the Neurogain

Kite,

U mean those sheng yu as in raw fish? I dun take that at all. The only raw fish i love to eat is salmon heee.. but i have to miss that for so many months

Those coconuts i see from ntuc are not green ones i think. So i dunno can drink or not. Must knock ourselves rite? Very difficult to knock leh, like wat Tinklebell says heeee... i heard my mil say bugis and chinatown got a lot of stalls sell coconut... if happen to go there, can buy and drink

Funny leh.. how come my anmum can last till 2007?? Read about expiry of anmum milk here so my hubby checked the tin after that.But it was stated 2007 leh.

Hi Gina,

So far no glucose test for me... i heard it is more for those with family history of diabetes.

I tend to wake up early nowadays too. Run for toilet 2-3 days a nite (same as 1st trimester) SIGH! My bb automatically kicks me around 5 am in the morning so i can't sleep well after that liao. But i dun want myself to wake up so early on normal days leh, else go to school sure sleepy wan.

Hi Kite,

Yup yup... tartar sauce made of raw egg.. i dun eat that in earlier stage.. but now i dun care liao.. i just eat... because burgers without tartar sauce is really terrible!! Especially when i dine at mos burger, i cannot do without that heeee.... i think it is ok lah, once in a while.. especially now bb is more or less developed.. not as fragile as 1st trimester.

Hi Kite,

I gained a lot of weight in my 7th mth. Now i am around 59 kg
I hope my weight will more or less stabilised from now onwards .

Oh by the way ladies, pampers is on offer at NTUC this week. So i intend to stock up this weekend liao. Intend to get the premium series... newborn plus small size.

morning ladies

kk,
try to restrict urself to a max. of 2-3 egg yolks a week
thats y sometimes i will juz eat the egg white and sometimes will eat both egg white and egg yolk

tartar sauce is made of raw egg? Geezz but i like tartar sauce especially when eating fish n chips i cannot do w/o it!
I also love the Mos Burger fish burger, i prefer it over Mcdonald's Filet

Josephine_tan,
glad to hear that u enjoyed ur Bali trips...sounds very relaxing n fun
But I didnt know if take too much fish + supplements in the same time will lead to indigestion
. But I noe its better not to take cod fish too frequently cos i think its high in donno cholestrol or wat...dont exactly remember.

kite,
wow...the allerhand bags zip no gd.....hehe, me prob will try to buy those outside bags with a few compartments also....then use it as a diaper bag...more worth it

gina,
u wake up so early to mark ur compo....btw the glucose tolerance test is a compulsory thingy? Cos I neber hear my gynae mention it at all.

Re: Anmum milk
Yes....i also realised the fine print stated on the tin that need to consume within 2 mths after opening. My previous tin i also threw away after taking only 1/3 of it. Even though i didnt get tummy upset or anything but juz to be safe. So now I make it a point to drink 1 glass a day to finish the tin within 2 mths...

kk,
pampers on offer this week? Juz saw the fairprice website...its $21.50 for S size (U.P $22.50).
Btw at Kiddy Palace if we have the 10% discount..izzit applicable for the Pampers also? Cos I have the Kiddy Palace card, so thinking if i shld buy Pampers from NTUC or KiddyPalace.

diaperbags,
I used to search for proper diaper bags, incl. looking at branded designer ones (Loewe etc). But end of the day, weight and washability very impt. Lesportsac or Muji (Muji material is lightwt, strong, CHEAPER but plain colours instead of colourful Lesportsac) gets my vote- for "compartments", just organise everything into ziplock bags. Easier for u to switch bags too. Changing mat not neccessary- I started with 1, now omit cos u can either wetwipe nappy changing tray before use, or change in the pram (needs some skill to avoid soiling, but u'd pick up quick!).
My PILs bring my girl out w/o me sometimes, they use my Muji diaper bag, so nothing too fancy for them- simple canvas slingbag. BTW slingbags instead of haversack, are easier for those using baby slings.

COUGH-
check with u ladies, anyone experience tummy PAIN when coughing? I've been coughing a few days, on the mend already, but I think past few days coughing fits affected my tummy. Left tummy hurts when I cough very slightly. I think the spasms onto the womb/ foetal area... not much space? Baby kicks very angrily after each cough, I'm abit worried.

Medusa: yah, i had some tummy pain when i cough to clear my throat, felt worried but after a while, it went away.
think i cough too hard ??

Also, where do you all buy your nappies from ??
All sld be the same type/quality right ?
100% cotton ?
and how many sld you buy to prepare for the baby ?

kk:
no, not raw fish. its cooked sheng yu pian w mian xian or rice. NTUC coconut got sell both types, open n close ones, those no need knock ones cost more. so must really bring those green big ones?
Yes my anmum also expired 2007, however once u open, u hv to finish within 2mths as stated on e tin (read carefully). I bot mine in dec 05, now i threw away e big tin last wk cos i have stomachache, guess can oni last for 2mths.

I went to ntuc website but didnt see the word stating pamper premium, instead its state pamper for newborns. issit in green color packaging? this one? http://www.fairprice.com.sg/ProductDetails.aspx?productID=0000010858684

kk/celesteblur:
so its alrite to eat tartar sauce once in awhile ah. me at times will eat roti prata with egg, yummy. but i try not to eat eggs daily, alternate days only, high cholestrol.

Medusa,
where u bot Muji bag? i like muji stuffs. very stylo.

k_ong:
u gg to get cloth nappy to replace diapers? cos me wil be getting cloth nappy for bb to place under her head or as blankets. my fren said pigeon brand not bad but so far hvnt seen them.

Nappy liners:
paiseh nappy and nappy liners totally different thing rite. wat is nappy liners for?

Swaddling blankets:
swaddling blanket is e same as normal blankets? i can use nappy to replace blanket right?
386794.gif

pampers buy from TMC only $19.90 for S-L
for newborn ones it's also either $19.90 or $20.90 for 58pc! ongoing anniversay sale!

can call them @6350-8810 or 6250 2222 ext 1071 and ask whether still have stock

Kite: yah, i intent to use nappies instead of diapers for first mth. more troublesome, but i think i prefer natural products compared to diapers la ...

liners - u need to line the nappies so that the liners are dirtied instead of the nappies - i think ! correct me if i'm wrong ...

re: pampers premium
how much is it on sale now at NTUC? I saw it at $19.90 at TMC....NTUC cheaper?

kite,
liner is only required if u using cloth nappy...it's to "catch" the poo so u dun need to wash too much of the cloth nappies when baby poo....

swaddling blankets not neccessary...can just get any cotton blanket to wrap baby...more impt is the technique of swaddling your baby...nappy cloth may not be good enough to swaddle baby when older coz baby get stronger and can wriggle out

re: diaper bag
agree with Medusa on the diaper bag thingy...my friend bought one proper diaper bag for her first kid...but now, she dun use it anymore for her 2nd kid...when u get more and more experienced with handling your kid, u need to bring lesser things out

beside, although diaper bags has many compartments...many a times, we are actually being restricted by the compartments....

celeste,
if u wanna use the discount card at kiddy palace, u got to check the price tag of the things u buying...things on discount and things with the price tag "Net price" dun 10% discount leh.....

medusa,
muji stuffs can get from bishan junction 8 rite? They have a big counter there?
Maybe if i drop by there someday will take a look

K_ong,
I am thinking if i shld buy cloth nappies...BIL passed us some new ones unused but cos kept for a few yrs it has those yellowish stains...wondering if can bleach and then use bb detergent to wash once.
My fren told me better to get 30 pcs of nappies

kite,
roti prata! Yummy...but i only take the fish curry one....cos was told not to take mutton

Josephine and okasan,
Pampers at TMC only $19.90? For the S size cotton care 58pcs?
NTUC selling at $21.50. If TMC is cheaper i will get it this Sat when i go for antenatal class

celeste,
if u have helper with u, then can consider cloth nappies...coz it's gonna be a lot of effort...need to wash and hang out to dry....most mummies give up using cloth nappies in a few days time....

I'll try to use it during the first 3 mth when I'm on maternity leave...our's is in june, so weather hot, not much rain, so abt 30-40 cloth nappies is enough.....for my case, I only intend to use cloth nappies during the day..night time will use disposable diapers, so baby can sleep longer

TMC is selling for S/M/L size..not sure how many pcs though..but it's on sale at $19.90....maybe u can check out on sat loh

okasan,
will be using cloth nappies...but was told first few days better use disposable ones...cos their poo is those black and sticky types if kenna stain the cloth nappy very difficult to wash. So might stick to disposable diapers for first few days then after that use cloth nappies for thr whole of 3 mths ML
Then nite time might consider using disposable diapers also

okies...will check out the pampers this sat at TMC

Pamper premium:
hmm may i know u all getting how many packs of pampers for NB and size S?
seems like most of u getting size S instead of NB?

if for newborn ones selling for $19.90 or $20.90 for 58pc at TMC, then very worth it cos NTUC selling $14.50 for 36pcs. This sat wil check out at TMC since starting e antenatal classes.

386876.gif

Last time I checked, TMC selling the NB Pampers Premium for $15. During the TMC sale it was $12.50 for 36pcs. So NTUC is slightly cheaper.

re: nappies
my advise is that whether eventually u will use the cloth nappies or not, it is better to get some bec i find the cloth nappies useful. Can be used as a towl/ blanket to cover bb too.

if u r using nappies, have to put a nappy liner to prevent it from staining.

Last time my CL quite lazy... insisted we use diapers so that she doesnt have to wash mah
better tell your CL that u will be using nappies instead of diapers if u are insisting on using nappies.

Helo mummies,

Just wondering, anyone encountered what I'm encountering recently?

Recently if I walk for like more than 15 mins non stop, I will start to have pain in my lower tummy, right side. Then will hv to stop/rest before I can cont walking, else the pain will get worse. The pain is something like you encountered after running long distances.

tinklebell:
i wil be using diapers cos dun want to tired out my mum who wil be doing confinement for me.

May i know which brand of nappy is recommended?
cos some said if nappy put into washing machine instead handwash, some quality bcome so bad.

kite,
Me not planning to get any newborn size, cos hospital will provide one pack of 36pcs newborn size pampers one. I will get the S size one instead
If its $20.90 for S size at TMC for 58pcs then i will get at NTUC...cos NTUC is $21.50 for S size 58pcs and i got the ntuc member will get a further 5% rebate so more worth it

hidora,
Me sometimes might feel tummy a bit pain at the lower part also...but it does not last....and if i slow down my pace it will be okies liowz.

Lomg time no post. 3rd tri now and my twins are putitng on too much weight so I have to be on a DIET. Both are about 900gs each at 23 WEEKS' scan. *SIGH* can only eat 3 small meals a day cause don't want to run out of space and have a premature delivery. trying to keep them as long as possible till june.

wAAHH.. My Gyne sells Neurogain at $28 per bottle.

Yeah. We order a whole carton of Pampers premium (8 pkts) from TMC cuase it was cheap. Thought the sale is over liao?

think bought everything liao., Getting heavy now. Walking makes me out of breath. Guess carrying two babies is really tiring. Tummy is huge! 3 more months to go...

hidora,
if i walk or am on my feet for too long, maybe like a few hrs i will feel pain in either side of belly too. cough and sneezing also cause pain. so if u get the cue just make sure you sit down and rest. thatz what i do when i feel pain. guess it's bb telling us we have over strained and need to sit down. every mummy is different, so maybe yours in 15 min walk, me coz i teach i need to stand a lot, so threshold a bit more than yours.

been reading up on glucose tolerance test. mine is a 2 hr test, not the traditional 3 hr one. doc ordered it cos my dad is diabetic. colleague has gestational diabetes but her bb turns out fine and is the cutest, happiest and most handsome bb i have ever seen. so i guess shud be ok as long as i do what is necessary for bb's well being regardless of results.

so TMC got discount on pampers? hmm, will go for a look, may get some newborn or S size ones. actually me not v gan jiong abt diapers... will buy closer to EDD. coz may use cloth nappies if advantages outweigh disadvantages. really cuts cost wif cloth nappies, just that have to wash loads of it, which i hope my CL will help hehe.

celeste, gina,

Thanks, I thought I'm the only one experiencing pain. I think I just gotta keep monitoring. Cos the pain will usually go off if I rest. Scared that it's signs related to preterm labour.

Hi lilfeets,

Long time no see. And your twins are huge! My bb was 741g at wk 24 and gynae already say big, but yours are at 900g each! Really gotta watch your diet. Hehe.

Kite, i paid $95 for my diaper bag after 20% discount. Moses basket - http://www.thenewparentsguide.com/baby-moses-baskets-1.htm

Josephine, glad to hear you enjoyed Bali. Must be very relaxing huh? maybe next week will book Conrad for the weekend. Need some relaxing by the poolside...

Re: Anmum milk, i think i better start drinking. opened my tin and drank only once last mth. maybe bring to office and drink during tea time.

Celeste, I got 30 pcs of nappies. for those yellowish ones, just wash with one round of bleach, that will do the work!

celesteblur:
i was thinking whether the newborn diapers hospital provide wld be enuff anot, else i wil need to stock up at least 1 pack of pampers (NB).
Pamper size S indeed hv to buy soon or later, might as well get now when there is discount.

Kite, me too, only bought one NB diapers, the rest, intend to buy S. But no hurry for me, cos using nappies. if NTUC is having a sale, will get from NTUC.

Re: Robinsons sale, the next member night sale is on 21st Mar, next Tues. This time round, might get the Braun thermometer.
Any feedback on this?

Hi Gina,

I am going to do the glucose test tomorrow. Need to fast from midnight tonight. And my appt is at 8.30am tomorrow...... I think also need to take blood test.. I dread that.... After going thru it, I can share with you my experience. According to the nurse at KKH, I will only know my results when I come and see my doc the next visit.

Poohmum

Hi, Hope all of u have a hearty lunch!

3 sleepless nites, yesterday, I was a total zombie ... Thk God I slept better last nite. Can't imagine when tummy & bb grows bigger.

Lilfeets: You are gd, 900g ea! I'm just carrying a 1 kg bb @ wk 26, I'm already sore all-over. My soles are all painful and red by the evening. Tried to minimise walking, ask colleagues to tabao for me.
387011.gif

Neurogain/Folic Acid:
I'm getting both at Unity Pharmacy. Btw, do we continue on Folic Acid after delivery?

Mutton:
Hi kite/celeste, I eat mutton every 2 weeks leh, my mother says it's fine & gd for bb, though my MIL firmly discouraged it. But, my hubby very cute, he deliberately ordered mutton curry in front of his mum ...

Diapers:
Will buy more only after wk34 (if too heavy to move, ask hubby to buy) cos then will know bb is closed to what size, if he is above 3kg bb, I was told S is fine ...

But in the first 1-mth bb put on very fast, my friend's bb put on from 2kg at birth to 4.5kg in 2mths leh!

lilfeets,
same comment as everyone- wow! Yeah, 2 babies load, I certainly can't imagine cos I'm already feeling the strain.

Lilfeets,
Wow...i really pei-fu ppl carrying twins...even with one baby now i feel kinda "heavy" at times liowz....but u having twins and both are at 900grams at 23 weeks...wow....this is big....i can understand how tiring it is to carry the 2 babies in the tummy n walk around...*faint*...u better dont eat too much liowz...keep to 3 meals per day bah

Amy,
okies...i shall wash with bleach and hope the stains all go off...then hang it out to sun during weekends...then when closer to EDD wash it with the bb detergent...hope that will do the job then i wont have to buy any cloth nappies

kite,
For me first few days i will use disposable diapers....cos their poo is black n sticky....even with nappy liner i tink will stain cloth nappy if not careful then very difficult to wash off. I tink 36pcs provided by hospital not really enuff. Cos the 2 days in the hospital u fully on the disposable diapers, i believe can easily use up at least 12-18 pieces? Then when bb comes home for me i will continue to use for another 2-3 more days before i switch to cloth nappies
So i will buy 1 more pack of S size pampers to stock up although i already have 1 pack of S size Drypers too.
Anyway the S size disposable diapers mostly can last up to 6kg. So i tink buying 2 packs is okies.....as i will use disposable diapers if i bring bb out after full-mth

Hi Poohmum / Gina,

I've taken my glucose test (oso called GD Test) 1 mth back @ TMC.

Mine was the 3-hr test, so 3 tubes of blood will be drawn, when I reached thr, they draw 1st tube, asked to drink glucose juice (ultra sweet & gasy) on the spot - return aft 1hr to draw 2nd tube - finally last 1hr to draw 3rd tube.

But @ TMC, we get the result within 1hr, the gynae clinic rings me up to inform me that I'm FINE! ;)

When to celebrate with a good dinner that night ... heh heh!

Oh, btw, becos of the blood drawing, I was super-shagged / sleepy after that, so may be you should consider heading home to rest ...

Hi ladies... been busy these days .... we just realised that we have to look for a place to stay and preferably at least 1km from the school of choice for my son. Hiaz.... he's only 3 but bec he is a Dec kid, he starts school in 2009. By middle 2008, i have to register him for school and we parents have to register our name to an address with 1km of the school 1 yr before the registration (wh means middle 2007!!). All the buying and selling process takes quite a while and that means i have to start looking for a house now!!! Aiyo, havent settle the bb stuff now must worry abt my son's schooling and changing location etc. Have been looking around the past few days but no action yet. Lots of good schools ard and a lot of them are located in the prime estate
we more or less settled for one school which we can also qualify under phase 2B bec of church association. Any primary sch teachers here? hope we are not being too ks. Hiaz, i think as parents, we just want to do all the things wh we think are beneficial for our children.

Jo, glad u enjoyed your Bali trip... i havent been there for almost close to 9 years!

kite, i dont really have any brand of nappies in particular to recommend. I have tried pigeon and anaku. basically i feel that they are more or less the same. Yes, if u machine wash, the nappies will go out of shape easily. we hand wash ours... so my no2 will still be ising the hand me downs which still look pretty clean.

Lilfeets, long time never hear fr u... jia you... another 3 more mths to go

hidora, i guess your body is adjusting to your additional weight. that is why you are feeling so tired.
i feel i am still ok. probably it's because everyday i spend a lot of time and energy doing housework and chasing after my son.... maybe that builds up the energy level? **hee**
i just keep my fingers crossed that my tiredness doesnt come til much later.

re: diapers
u ladies are quick... i havent gotten any diapers yet.

Re : Gluclose test
Is this a compulsory thingy? When do we normally take this test?

tinklebell,
wow...another "wei-da" parent....now i understand the chinese saying "meng mu ban qian"...shifting house becos of the kid