(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Celeste, true allerhand diaper bag is more "fashionable" and they come in various colors. i kind of like the red ones but not sure if it is worth paying so much money for that.

was busy yesterday didnt manage to join in. this thread really moves fast

i went for my checkup on Monday, baby weighs abt 900g - 1kg at 25 week. Gynae measures according to the circumference of baby's stomach. So interesting! everything's fine... but Gynae said my placenta is abit low, hopefully it will move up later.

Hi Amy,
Dont think will get moses basket, baby outgrow them very fast.

I'm still looking out for cot and stroller. Headache...dont know what to get!

hmmm... seems like all your babies are bigger than mine?
mine was 811g at 26 weeks. thought she weighs normal until i hear that all yours are ard 900->1kg! cant eat much these days else i get heartburn or backache or braxton hicks contraction.

Celeste,
I'm thinking of getting a bottle warmer bag, a diaper mat for changing diaper outside, then I'll get one organiser that is big enough to put in diapers and clothes, and another organiser for the baby nappy cream, etc...so everything will be compartmentalise instead of just throwing everything inside the bag....

tinklebell,
dun worry as long as gynae dun say your baby too small..weight of baby also got to do with gene...when u had your son, was he a small baby?

hi tinklebell,
yeah like okasan said as long as gynae said it's alright then nothing to worry.

i'm a BIG gal... hence my baby might has my gene. i'm now 71kg!!!! total weight gain so far is abt 5.6kg.

hi tinklebell,

Dun worry, my gal is only 792g @ Week 26 day 6 and doc said it is ok
Also baby boys tend to be little bit heavier than baby gals.

okasan, on the contrary, my son was an above normal weight n length bb... even now, he's still abv 97th percentile in terms of wt and ht... trying to make him eat less these days so that he will not be too fat. haha... i am short and "bah bah"... hubby is tall and thin... donno which combination daughter will take. son took the "bahbah" and tall combi ****heee****

Hi Tinklebell,

I still dun understand what is meant by Braxton Hicks contraction after getting to read it for so many times in the forum. I dunno whether i have that or not heeee...

Dunno why my bb super active when i am back in school. Yesterday she was so quiet, sleeping whole day. Maybe quiet at home yesterday? *wondering* even makes me worry why she so quiet.

Hi MsPiggy,

Dun worry. Give some time for ur placenta to shift up. I had low placenta too, in the very initial stage. Soon it shifted up by itself
Probably it would be ok by ur next appt date
Try not to walk too often or carry heavy stuff. Carrying heavy stuff will cause placenta to drop low.

Hi Celeste Blur,

I think i get uptight too easily. So tend to come back to school more often to settle stuff which can actually wait. I get stressed easily, that's why very worried it will affect my bb :p I always tell myself to relax more lor.

Hmm, i realise June holiday is not holiday for me too. last year, i came back to school pretty often too. Only took a one week break for taiwan trip, that's all. Rushed back to work after that, before school reopened.

kk, do u feel that sometimes ur tummy just contracts or becomes very hard, making you feel v uncomfortable? That's how Braxton Hicks contractions feel like. During labour, u will feel the same thing but the spacing between the contractions are relatively closer together.

ms piggy
re: low placenta
my SIL had low placenta too and her gynae made her do complete rest in bed from her 30th week til delivery. i suppose it depends on how serious it is.

ms piggy, wow u gained only 5.6kg... i think u will have no prob getting back to your pre-pregnancy wt... i gained almost 9kg already (and bb not exactly very big)... so most of the wt has gone to me... so much fat insulation... no wonder i keep feeling so hot and grumpy these days!!

hi all !
wow, have been so busy the last few days

anyhows, re avent milk bag clips, you can get it in a set at the Taka Fiar - whichc sells a bottle holder for the milk bag too - $15.90. (comes with a bottle holder, some milk liners, the milk clips, some label stickers, and one feeding bottle)

Just to check, the milk bag is called disposable liners issit ?? Cuz i wasn't sure, but it was $13.20 so figured it must be the right one ...

Last night had a very sharp pain in my tummy, next to belly button. Cldn't move
But luckily it was ok after 1/2 hour ... suspect it may be due to tummy being stretched ... feel that my tummy is growing quite fast these days !!!

Ms piggy, your bb has a good weight. my bb boy 738g in week 24. tmr going for week 28 scan. will update here again. and your weight gain v good lei... me week 28 gained 8 kg lo... heard in final trimester, will gain more. faint...

k ong, yes, disposable liners are the milk bags. what a funny name hor?

last night, had mild tummy ache, later realised it's not tummy ache, but bb moving around, some discomfort. hee hee..

Hi tinklebell,
my gynae said it's not that low just have to let nature takes its course! my only concern is that i can't have normal delivery.

i'm big to start with hence i think that's why didnt pack much weight. so the chart.. slimmer MTBs will tend to gain more weight during pregnancy.

Amy: yah ! the salesgirl gave me the box and i was like questioning her if it was indeed the correct item !!!
haahaa, on tummy aches ... yes me too, i always mistake my tummy rumblings for hunger and recently realised it's bb playing ard inside ! so cute right ?

tinklebell,
ya...hehe, i like the red or blue ones with a mix of grey...quite nice
But exp....but i saw the compartments inside very well-organised...got slots for milk bottles, slots for diapers, comes with changing mat, bottle warmer etc
But having to pay $100+ for it i dont think i will bah

As for babies weight...mine also not big lah...so not only urs....but i think as long as ours are within the acceptable normal range can liowz
you can refer to this URL :
http://pregnancy.about.com/od/yourbaby/a/pregcalendar.htm
I checked that mine is normal range...cos at 25weeks bb shld be 709grams but mine at 25 weeks 2 days is 768 grams and Dr. Adrian also said its normal range

mspiggy,
wow...ur bb also quite big liowz...
...mine was only 768grams at 25weeks 2 days

okasan,
gd idea also.....think i might juz do tat
Probably use a backpack also...so if going out with bb alone its easier to handle

kk,
wow....i guess prob secondary schs have heavier workload? Cos my SIL and frens teaching in primary schools not so bad...i tink June holidays they can normally rest for 2 weeks...then Nov/DEc holidays they can rest for 3-4 weeks

Hi Tinklebell,

Hmm, then i dun have braxton hicks contraction then. I only feel pain sometimes when my bb girl kicks me real hard! Other than that, i dun think i feel any contraction.

I guess ur SIL's placenta remains low till 3rd trimester? That is why need complete bed rest till delivery.

I have gained 12.4 kg so far and my gynae commented too much liao
He only expects me to gain around 7 kg. Probably due to my build. But i go on eating whatever i like haha.. as long as i am happy and well at this stage

Hi K Ong,

Ya, suddenly find my tummy getting bigger. I remembered i still commented here that my tummy is small all the way till 5th mth still pretty unnoticeable. When i wore maternity clothes, the school office admin pple still ask me whether it is fashion *oh gosh*

Now my mum say my tummy is big enough to hold twins hahaa.. but i dun really think so leh. I notice it is big but not that big compared to my colleague's in her 8th mth.

Hi msPiggy,

Ya, if placenta low, have to go for c sec. That's what my gynae told me when he scanned and noticed my low placenta. Luckily it shifted up one mth later on the next appt
I was still so worried then. And worse still, there was this chinese program on tv and featured a couple whose pregnant wife had a low placenta. The program made it sound SO SERIOUS and i got worried. My hubby scolded me for being too paranoid haha! Just be careful and guess everything will be ok

Hi celeste Blur,

Wow, december rest for 3-4 weeks??? December last year i was rushing the scheme of work, CCA contracts, etc etc for around 2 weeks or so. And it seemed that i was trapped in work because i can't go overseas due to pregnancy. Only went for a short cruise.

kk, yes, my SIL's placenta still remained low during 3rd tri. In fact, she was on complete bed rest till delivery. She managed to have a natural birth though.

hee heee ... i'm eating all sorts of nonsense except proper meals.... i really hope i wont gain more than 15kg... it's really V TOUGH losing back the weight.

Hi Tinklebell,

Ya, i agree it is very tough to lose weight after that. We still need to work, and then take care of the child, manage housework etc. I just hope my running around in the school and skipping one lunch or two can help me to trim down after delivery heeee...

i am glad i am not in a total office environment, else really difficult to slim down. It is only after i resign my previous job and took on full time tuition then i lost a total of 12 kg. Just nice for my wedding haha.. Sigh, cannot imagine before long, i am going to grow fat again

kk,
i did ... during the 3rd trimester... heard that it will help in smooth delivery. actually i dont think there is any scientific evidence that it helps much lah .. just that i am greedy .... and coconut juice are so nice to drink...so i use that as an excuse to drink lor
BUT word of advise .... try not to buy the coconut unopened bec it is simply too difficult to cut open the coconut!!!

kk,

me too, gain abt 13kg...I also continue to eat as long as happy and healthy loh...dun wanna get myself too stress over weight gain...

I heard from friends that u can drink coconut once per month during 3rd tri...suppose to help cleanse the baby and also smooth delivery....

so u intend to try?

re: weight gain

think I'm the worst liao..gain a total of 13 kg since preggy....worst still, I gain weight after my wedding and then now gain weight during preggy...even my mum also worried I might not be able to slim back...she even commented that I look very veyr bloated now...*lol*

Hi Tinklebell and Okasan,

Yah rite! When my dad was still around, he was the one being tasked to break open coconuts and the whole family would have nice coconut juice to drink and flesh to eat heeee... it has been a long time since i had that.

I heard coconut juice help to "wash out" all "dirty stuff" from our body. So it is necessary for after-delivery. i dunno how true but since the old folks said it, i choose to believe lor. Even my mil who is not so well informed told me to drink hahaha... so maybe got some truth in it heee...

Oh yah by the way, i have sort of started packing my hospital bag, before i get too lazy to do it. may i know if i bring 5 maternity pads and 5 disposable breast pads, are they enough? i also packed 3 sets of pyjamas. What else would i need to pack for myself? What about for the bb? Need to bring Mittens, boots, receiving blanket, feeding bottles, etc? Need diapers? I will be delivering at TMC. Not sure what they provide.

later today is my 6th month check up. so far during all previous check-ups my gynae didn't mention abt bb's weight, so a bit blur when u gals discuss bb's weight issue... maybe i will ask abt that today. perhaps KKH doesn't give out that bit of info haha.
as for weight gain, so far I gained abt 4 kgs since pre pregnancy. dunno this round got increase or not, later during the check up will be able to know. as long as bb healthy, i dun care how much i gain as long as i eat normal... just hope dun balloon too much till birth. dieting is torture to me, anytime.

kk,
if u deliver at TMC, u dun need to bring anything for your baby coz TMC will provide the clothes, mittens, recieving blankets on the day u discharged. unless u want your baby to wear clothes that u buy

3 set of pyjamas should be enough...for 2 night stays....if not enough, can always get hubby to go back home to get...

as for maternity pads, dun know if enough or not....depend on the flow also...I'm thinking of bringing the whole pack instead...

gina,
u can ask your gynae abt your baby weight....but got to do ultrasound scan to measure baby's tummy to estimate the weight...if u at kkh, and no ultrasound scan during the visit, gynae also cannot tell the weight of the baby....

oh yeah, the coconuts u gals mention, is it the tiny ones (thai young coconut )or the normal ones available at hawker cenres? me also want to try later... more becos i like coconut juice than for the belief that it will cleanse... but a bit worried cos coconut supposed to be very cooling right?

Hi Gina,

I only get to know once about my bb girl's weight during the detailed scan in 19th week. After that the gynae never tell me liao
Past three checkups, he only conducted one scan and the other two just hear heartbeat.

Mine was a pretty light bb... 295 g at 19th week. i dunno how much she has gained since my tummy becoming so big now compared to that time. If she is heavy, i am happy but on the other hand, worried i will have a hard time delivering her haha!

Enjoy your visit to the gynae! Do update us when u are back

gina,
I also dun know which coconut to drink...I will want to drink coconut during the last tri as well...coz my mum and my MIL both also ask me to drink...no harm trying..hehe....

Okasan,

Oicc... i think maybe i bring more maternity pads then. Disposable breast pads no need so many lah hor? Heard first 2-3 days no milk also heeee..

Gina,

i think u hold on first... drink coconut juice in your 8th mth or so. I guess no need to drink too early. It is super cooling for some! I heard some get diarrhoea after that haha.. and dun drink too much.. what i heard is one coconut once per week.

hi okasan
oh i am seeing my gynae at KKH private suite, got scanning machine in doc's room and bb is scanned at every visit. think only pte suite has this privilege, heard normal clinics have to q-up at another room for scans or s'thg. just that doc only told me abt bb length so far, but she mentioned that bb length no longer relevant from 6 mth onwards, must check bb's dimensions. update u gals abt my bb's dimensions later today

Gina,

Yah i think thats true. During my last scan, the gynae only told us measurement of bb's head, and not the full length anymore.

oh, ok i will try the coconut only in my 8th month. tks for the tip kk.
my gynae says my bb slightly bigger than average during my 5th month check up. at that time i was quite pleased cos during the 1st trimester my bb v v tiny, always much below the legnth mentioned in books. was so worried. but now, i am worried bb too big i can't give birth naturally. i drink anmum twice everyday... hope this will not cause my bb to grow too big....

KK,
Re: hospital bag
Dun think 5 maternity pads is enuf. Maybe u shld bring more cos we might need to change more frequently during the first few days for hygience purpose.

This my list which i compiled fr other pple list

For MUMMY
1) 2 sets Pyjamas (For Normal Delivery. 3 sets for C-sect)
2) 2 pack of Disposable Panties
3) 2-3 nursing bra
4) 2-3 disposable bra pads (although not much milk supply on first 2 days)
5) 10 Maternity Pads (stick-on type - if u dun like the loop kind that TMC provide)
6) 1 pair of Socks (To keep warm)
7) Sweater
8) Marriage cert (to register for birth cert)
9) MP3 player :)p dun know wwill hav chance to use not)
10) noise cancelling ear piece (just incase my roomate got lot of visitors :p)
11) Towel (depend on whether u want to use the hospital provided one)
12) Face towel
13) Wet tissue
14) Tooth brush + Toothpaste
15) Comb
16) Facial Clenser
17) Moisturiser
18) Shawl (for Breast feeding purpose, to hide away :p)
19) 1 set of going home clothes
20) Breast pump (to stimulate milk supply) + nipple shield (to help sore nipples)

For Baby
1) Baby clothing
2) 2 set of mittens and booties
3) Receiving blanket

Others
1) Plastic bag (For soiled clothes)
2) Camera + Batteries
3) HP Charger
4) Magazine (if u are bored)
5) Sweets (Optional as when u are in the delivery ward, there will be no food allowed after enema. Only minimal of plain water.)
6) Chicken Essence (Optional for energy)
7) snacks for hubby

Hi Gina,

My mom told me we should drink coconut juice twice a week in the 3rd tri. And it must be those coconut that you see at the kopitiam, the big green one. Not those small thai one.

One uncle who I saw at ESH told me that coconut juice aids in delivery as it consists oil. So baby is suppose to slipped out earlier. And he said must drink lots of water too. He's a father of 8! =D

kk,
ya...in fact my SIL still managed to go for a trip to BKK as well as to Msia during the 3-4 weeks rest

okasan,
TMC provide those bb clothes, mittens etc for discharge? So we dont have to bring ours ah...i still tot we must bring

Re: Coconut Water
I was told by SIL that coconut water is to reduce the "heatiness" in the bb so that when they are born they wont be so red....haha

Re: Weight Gain
I am suddenly gaining weight like nobody business....when i was 20 weeks i only gained bout 2.5-3kg. But now at 26 weeks i have already gained 7kg now! Scary....i tink the past few weeks i've been eating too much, really shld cut down

Those who are taking Neurogain, someone on the thread recommended a gynae at Far East Plaza who sells only @ $25.
So maybe you guys can get stock there

Wow.. looks like plenty of reasons to drink coconut juice haha... so it is those kind of green coconut.. previously i was thinking wat kind of coconut, that's why until now still haven't bought any.

Gina,

i am not so keen on anmum recently. I drink as and when, but not that frequent liao, although i heard it is good. And i also read that if bb does not absorb, the fats go to us heee... i love soya bean milk a lot! So have been drinking plenty of that. And also fresh milk.

hi sugarbun
thanks for your tips too! looking forward to yummy coconut juice 2 months later
btw your list of what to bring is quite useful, will refer to it when the time comes. hmm... neurogain, anyone taking it? tho DHA is s'pposed to be good for bb's brain, i wonder if we must take it now... always wary of supplements cos i believe natural is still the best... maybe just eat sardines/ fish more often?

Hi Gina,

I have been taking neurogain since early stage. Together with Obimin and folic acid till now. No other calcium and iron supplement. I was pretty surprised because i read that most preggies here are taking these supplements. But anyway can take them through diet ya?

neurogain not cheap. I spend around $35 per mth on that because one bottle has 30 pills i think and every visit i have to buy a new bottle.

I am eating sardines and tuna Heard that they are rich in omega-3 too. But some preggies dun really like because they are canned food. For e.g. what i take is canned sardines and also canned tuna for sandwiches.

kk
me taking obimin daily and calcium on alternate days cos already drinking 2 mugs of Anmum everyday. neurogain recommended by your gynae? I knew abt it at a seminar in KKH, but my gynae din mention it to me. i have read in books that DHA make smart bbs but am still wary of supplements... maybe i will ask my gynae later if it's really beneficial.
i like sardines and tuna but i dun eat often cos got presevatives since these are canned food. heard tuna got mercury also... scared... i try to take fish porridge twice a week. used to dislike fish but now for bb's sake have actually got used to fish porridge and even liking it, haha.
nowadays kids seem brighter than in our days. wonder if it's those supplements or just that they are overloaded with info...

celeste,
yes, TMC will give baby a new set of clothings when discharge and even recieving blankets...together with the diaper bag of samples and leftover diapers....

so u dun need to bring anything for baby if deliver at TMC....u can double confirm this when u attend the antenatal class

Hi Gina,

Yup, neurogain is prescribed by my gynae
So i just eat lor heee... my gynae said nowadays pple believe in omega-3 and the kind of nutrients that make bb smart, so he prescribe neurogain. But i kind of sense from his tone that it may not really be that necessary afterall.

I dislike fish ever since young and i only love to eat certain types of fish. i try to intake fish from various means, like fish fillet and mac fillet o fish hahahaa... other than that will be waiting for my mum and my mil to steam for me liao :p i won't think of steaming fish myself :p

I personally think that kids nowadays are overloaded with info, so they are smarter than us. More things to see, hear and also well taken care of. Unlike us, blur blur stupid stupid when we were small heeeee...