(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

i_panda,
Wow... You have got so many milk bags...

kite,
Yalor... Use the milk to wash face... hahaha... I find it a bit unbelievable...
Gerber milk bags can stand and bigger than the Avent ones. For the Avent ones, I doubt that each bag can really hold 240ml and folded and clipped. Maybe 220ml only costhe 240ml marking is too close to the opening already.
I did not buy the milk bottle kits for the milk bags. I think I can just use any empty bottle and stuff the bags in and pump...

tinklebell,
Yes....it was mentioned in the show...standing up or squatting giving birth is actually easier and shortens the whole labour process....i guess its partly becos of the gravity? Yuppies, i dont think SG practises this rite? But i really admire the lady...imagine giving birth is so painful she can still manage to keep standing to deliver the bb....how come the legs still have the strength....really something to salute to.
And the process was like...the lady first pushes out the head of the bb...then the bb's head is outside liowz....body still inside the womb...the midwife asked the lady to take a few more deep breaths and push again and the bb is out! Actually the actual delivery process is only bout 5mins? For the bb to come out totally?

Re : Bringing video cam to delivery room
I think i will bring video cam becos i dont think i will be able to recall much of the process with all that huffing n panting n screaming...so i can watch the video after delivery...haha. But even if gynae allows us to film the part where bb is coming out i would not want to also...i cannot imagine looking at that scene...*lol*

celeste blur,
hahaha.. your hubby already well prepared... anyway, you will not get to see your baby coming out, it's your hubby who's gonna see.. hahaha... unless you use mirror...
I recorded the show... but I only watched the pregnancy part, havent watch the delivery part...

tinklebell,
Yes, when I was in the UK, I watched documentaries about child birth. Lots of different positions and techniques. All fours seems to be easier and can prevent the need for episiotomy. In Singapore, it seems like it's a standard medical procedure to lie on our back regardless of our comfort. TMC started to introduce water birth recently. I might get a gym ball and bring to delivery... dunno allowed or not... I imagine it's very comfy to hug the ball when in pain...

kite,
for the clips, if u intend to store milk in freezer, then u will need a lot of clips....the clips should match the no. of milk bags stored inside the freezer loh....make sense right?

as for the avent thermal bag, it's meant for hot and cold....thermal bag is to keep keep warm thing warm and cold thing cold.....don't be mistaken by the word "thermal"....hehe....

celeste,
saw that show long time ago...very nice loh....

Angeline,
I have been wearing those stretchable pants since the day I change to maternity wear....I got one that's like those yoga pant, very comfortable....I bought it at Mums & Baba @ plaza sing

tinklebell,
u mean can bring videocam in meh? my friend told me the hospital only allow him to bring in camera leh..so he used the video taking feature of his camera instead to secretly video the process....

lyn,
actually hor, it's quite disgusting to film when baby coming out...film liao also dun dare to let people see, so film also no use...will u let your kid see this part of the video when they are older?? hehe.....

kite,
thanks. i will go back & dismantle my pump too. Yest asked my HB to find, he also cannot find.
How about the serial no. for the avent steriliser? Did u buy? I forgot to send w/i 14 days...
385077.gif

lyn,
i told my hb he's not the one giving birth of cos say delivery doesnt seem that scary lor...*lol*...u shld try watching the delivery part soon...its really interesting

okasan,
u also seen that show before...never knew that show was filmed so long ago...haha

lyn, u bringing a gym ball in? so cute
i suppose if it provides u with the comfort during delivery, there is no reason why the hospital would not allow.

I am not sure why gynae disallowed the filming of the part when bb is coming out. He didnt say why but just specifically mentioned that. We didnt question him either. H/e, instead of filiming, my hubby was allowed to help pull my son out... i think he was overjoyed doing that. Occassionally, we would play the video for my son to watch and he enjoys watching it.

okasan, haha... if we do film the bb coming out, we will censor that part before we allow for public viewing ...LOL .... last time in NUH, they allowed me to bring the v-cam in... not sure abt TMC... prob next visit, i will ask gynae.

Hi Okasan, Kite, Gina and the rest of the Ladies,

Morning!!

Good Grief! I take a break and stay at home today. Not going back to school, no matter what. Heeee... Anyway will be going back tomorrow. Thursday on course. Despite staying at home today, got to prepare future lesson for Sec 4 class. SIGH!!

Want to lie in bed till later, but i notice BB wakes up as early as 5 am nowadays. Then i tell BB mummy no need to work today leh, why u wake up so early? heeeee... but she wakes up around 6+ am when daddy wakes up
I think she miss the national anthem and wants to go to school heeee..

I watched the show last nite over discovery channel. Aiyoh, so frightening to see the delivery part. Now i am having worries about the delivery part liao. Kind of pre natal blues, yet i still watch through that part. It makes things worse. I almost got nightmare last nite. Every time i wakes up for the toilet, i will imagine myself in the delivery suite with that scene so clear in my mind. I think i try to avoid such shows these few weeks. Dun wanna scare myself.

My hubby keep saying dun worry dun worry. Then i say of course he not worry cos he is not the one going through all this mah

Hmmmm, although i am going to take 3 mths maternity leave, i suspect i won't be able to enjoy the full three months. Got to run back to school pretty often to handle various issues. Else i won't have peace. i already know i need to go back one of the days in June to settle something whose deadline on 8 July.

okasan,
Yalor... Havent thought of whether will let my kid watch next time.. lol... Maybe for memories only...

tinklebell,
I went for yoga classes and tried hugging the gym ball. It's a very comfy feeling. So I will get one for home use
Later I am going to Gleneagles' hospital tour... Will ask them if I do remember :p Nowadays, getting very forgetful... lol...

Tinklebell, i also read from Medela website that they do not recommend 2nd hand pump. I heard from my colleague that the main reason why TMC insist they will buy back only when it is purchased from them is they will teach you the proper way to care for it. Anyway, if u are really interested, can check out with them. If they buy back from u, then it will net to abt $300+.

If we ship via vpostusa, are there shipping charges? I think so right? I am actually planning a training trip to Houston, so if go down this route, will request for it to be shipped to my US colleague and collect from her (no shipping charge within US).

All MTBs, just to share some comments on Pampers Premium. I am working in an Oil & Gas company who supplies petrochemicals to these diaper companies. According to the Sales Manager (who herself is a new Mum), Pampers only uses chemicals of specified quality and they expect nothing less. That's why their premium product is good (and hence, so ex). Some other companies are willing to accept off-spec product (in other words, contaminated chemicals) but not pampers. I am not proposing that everybody buys pampers, but in case u wonder why it's so ex, this could be part of the reason.

Lok,
re: Shipping charges via vpostusa
U can refer to this page for the shipping charges. https://www.vpost.com.sg/vpostusa05/index.html#
If the supplier states that land postage is free, u only need to pay for international shipping charges + insurance + GST. Sometimes, supplier does not bear land postage so, u need to check on that.
BTW, if u purchase straight fr USA, is the warranty valid locally? Wow, you'r going Housten... that's a long long plane ride.

kk, oh yes, it's school holidays now har? enjoy your one week of "rest".

Tinklebell, yup, it's a long long flight (abt 24 hrs). Thank goodness the international leg will be on biz class. As for me, I will probably be getting it from TMC.

celeste,
the show "In the womb" was shown many times liao..think on SCV channels...I watched it a few times...the last time I watched it was last year during 1st tri....

re: giving birth position
actually there's a lot of positions that actually ease the labour loh but in singapore, we only get to give birth lying down and lying down is one of the worst method of giving birth loh....too bad, can't have much say on how we want to give birth....

Good afternoon ladies! just came back from lunch. had beef noodles at amoy st market. yum...

re: bb's sleeping arrangement

i intend to let bb sleep in his own room from day one, but on the other hand, worried that it will be slightly inconvenient, esp during the nite feeds. any advice?

re: birthing positions

Is it really true we cannot give birth in other postions (all fours, kneeling, standing) in Singapore? i read in another site that some mummies have given in the above positions in Singapore, as recommended by their doula.

Anyway, will ask my gynae on Thurs. I would like to give birth on all fours or kneeling.... hope it's ok. Wanna be mobile during my birth.

Hi Celeste,
No issue! ;) But, luckily it's just 2 bucks diff ... phew ...

Tinklebell,
Wow, I salute you & hubby! Filming the process, were you on epidural?

Birth position:
I've also thot of trying to give birth standing, I really think it makes lots of diff with gravity help, but honestly, I think most gynae would discourage. Have any of you heard or read that TMC allows or encourages it?

In the womb:
Missed it ... arghhh ... does anyone know when it'll be showing again?

wow Amy, u are so adventurous!

Carebear, we thought it was a rare opportunity in a lifetime so just film it as rememberance. Yap, was on epidural then.

Hee hee... i havent heard any of my frens giving birth in other positions though.

celeste_blur

c how lah..i oso got bought 1 trackpants from there.mus go try liao

okasan,

hopefuli its not too ex from mums n babes..c if going there 2mor..

angeline,
I bought my like-yoga pants for abt $60++ before discounts (think that time got some promo so I save abt $50 for my total purchases)...quite ex..but it's worth it coz I wore it from the day I changed to maternity wear loh...

amy/carebear29,
not sure leh...maybe can ask during anenatal class whether other positions are possible in singapore or not loh...

amy,
if baby sleep in another room, will be inconvenient for night feeds esp latching on loh...unless u want to use bottle feed, then at least the CL can feed the baby at night in another room...

I intend to let baby sleep with me for the 1st 3 mth so I can latch baby on at night..when go back to work, will let baby sleep in nursery room instead.....

okasan, do you think it will be easy for bb to sleep alone, after bb has slept in your room? aiyo... my bb cot set up in the nursery, if i want to move the cot, gotta dismantle. Hmm...

also, CL will be sleeping with bb in the nursery. actually, intend for CL to bring bb to me for latch on every nite, at least, she can change his diapers and clean him up before handing over to me for feeding.

amy,
baby in their early stage doesn't really recognise the surrounding...it's only aroung 6mth onwards that they will start to look out for familar environment/people....so I think it's still ok to let baby sleep with us for the forst 3 mths, then sleep in own room after that...

u wanna let CL bring baby over to you for night feed...I find it quite intruding coz imagine when u asleep, then suddenly someone walked in to wake you up...hehe.....at least if baby sleep with u, u can even close your bedroom door...

Amy, okasan, what i did last time was for CL to feed expressed milk to my bb... at least it is not intruding. I will wake up occassionally to supervise as well as to pump. But it's up to u... some mummies prefer to have bb latch on.

hi okasan,
r u a 1st time mummy?
my apologies if i intrude this thread. i tot it was the july MTBs thread.

just 2 share my 2cents worth...bbs recognise their surroundings very fast and very early. i dun find it advisable 2 let ur bb sleep wif u for 3mths then move to cot when u r going back 2 work. ur bb will b sure 2 refuse cos ur bb'll b so used 2 ur warmth, smell & comfort of sleeping near u.

i have a 17mths old son and he started out sleeping in his own cot for 4mths. i moved him 2 my bed after tat cos i was breastfeeding him entirely. he never 1 2 sleep back in his cot anymore. just 2 share my experience wif you here.

Thanks for your advice, okasan, tinklebell, and kelly. i think i might try out having bb sleep in his own room with CL, even though i want to latch on direct. CL can then carry bb to me for direct BF.

mrs wong reminded us to latch on direct at least for the first month, and not to feed bb EBM via the bottle, in case of nipple confusion. so, gotta settle bb in the direct latch on routine first.

after one month, can slowly introduce bottle, but to be fed by someone else, not mummy, so bb know, mummy = breast + bonding...

luckily hubby is supportive, cos this will mean he will have less sleep as well, due to intrusion by CL for night feeds.

Amy - I think all babies are different. What my friend did was to let her baby sleep with her in a bassinet for the first few months and during the day she would put the baby in the nursery in her cot to nap. So in the end the baby was happy to sleep in either place.

Joy, true... all bbs are different. maybe will ask bb to be a good boy... and be flexible...
can try different options, see which one he prefers.

bb sleeping environment-
In my #1's case, we started sleeping in same room at my mum's place where I did confinement for 2mths.
Then moved home, HB and I camped in her nursery for 1mth so still same room.
Eventually, I moved back to our master bedrm, HB camped, then eventually HB also moved back to master bedrm.
She slept in her own rm alone after 4 mths or so.

Just take cues from ur bb I guess, each bb is different. And ur own comfort level- I don't cosleep well with bb, I toss and turn alot whereas #1 is a light sleeper.

kk,
you may be right that bb missed national anthem hehe... coz have a feeling my bb also enjoys that plus the school song. maybe when he cries next time we play the national anthem he will stop coz he is familiar with it already hahaha... read in books and also saw in the documentary"In the Womb" that bb stops crying when you play a song he is familiar with...

me just woke up from a long nap, throat feels dry. hmm... about co- sleeping, saw this bassinet at the expo last sat that sells at ard $200 that opens on one side so that mummy can reach bb easily when feeding at night. quite nice and tempted to buy cos i also want to put bb beside me rather than with confinement lady in the 1st month. will be quite disturbing if CL keep bringing bb to my room when he cries for milk... I have decided to settle for a cot and will put bb in the cot beside my bed. I guess I will miss bb if bb not sleeping beside me...

carebear29:
hmm u mean if EBM expressed that day at work, can be given at night, but my bb wil be taken at my mum's hse n i wont be going to my mum's hse every nite (only alternate days), which means the EBM expressed during e day wil be go wasted? yup if at nite expressed, i stil can keep it inside my freezer n then transfer to my mum's freezer on wkend w cooler bag.
Hmm Touchwood if bb has to stay longer at hospital, n mummy stays w the bb, the hospital fees sure go up alot one ah? but no choice if we want to BF from there. but if jaundice, cant BF at all for e 1st few days right?
how big is the antenatal classes?

Angeline:
eh sorry i cant remember how much i bought the maternity pant got embriodary one (like track pant) but not cheap, close to $50 if not wrong. the material is soft cotton n actually i wear this pant only for wkend.

Lyn:
me too thinking of using this method. Just stuffs the bags into empty bottle n pump. but personally hv u try it before? cos if this method cant work, i wil be gg to buy the bottle kit by this wkend b4 taka bb fair ends. lol u so cute, gg to bring gym ball during delivery.

Celesteblur:
thought videocam are not allowed? only digicams are allowed?

okasan:
actually i hvnt open the milk bags yet, hv u? n dun really know e size as well as clip size. u bot which size for e ikea clip?

i_panda:
so did u manage to find the serial no? eh i didnt bot the avent steriliser in e end, bot the pigeon one instead.

mummies:
do u all use perfumes? i hv stop using perfumes since pregnant cos scare got chemical. so i m using body lotion w nice scent from NZ. its manuka honey lotion
think body lotion shall be okie rite? cos i love myself to be nicely scented.

BB Car Seat:
hv u all bought bb carseat? i intend not to buy now, wil wait til bb turns 6mths old then buy a one. 0 to 6mths most likely will carry her cos stil fragile rite. then after 6mths, can actually let her try the bb seat n then buy. how abt u all?

Pram:
btw those mummies here using Graco pram, which kind of material is ur graco pram? i know different models got diff material.

Diaper Bag:
anyone bot this? neccessary to buy or can just use normal ones?

Nappy cloth:
which brand is good? intend use it for bb's head or as blanket.

385719.gif

hello kite
use perfume only on rare occasions. how abt make up? i put light make up to work everyday. if got breakout will apply some pimple cream (over the counter type with sulphur and resorcinol, not prescribed).
diaper bag i will get a nice, roomy cloth bag. dun think haf to buy one specially. as for car seat and strollers, i will get only after bb abt 3 months. prior to that will carry bb ard in a sarong sling.

kelly,
your case is different...u move your baby to sleep with u when he's 4mth old..that's when he start to recognise his environment...if u let baby sleep with u only during the first 3 mths, it's diff....

for my case, baby will sleep with me, but in his playpen...I don't mean sleeping with me on the same bad, but rather same room

I'm a first time mum...but I had babysit my cousins when they were babies coz my mum used to be a nanny hence I'm quite familar with taking care of infant

kite,
not need to open the milk bag to know what size to buy for the clip...coz the clip will shut the milk bag tight regardless....ikea one comes with 2 sizes in a packet...the smaller clips are the size of that provided in the avent milk bag bottle package....

Morning ladies

Re : Diaper Bag
I was looking at diaper bags recently too. Saw that Allerhand diaper bags looks gd with all the compartments and doesnt look "dowdy"? Hehe...but cons is its quite exp, even if u can get during sale its at least around $100 or $100+ bah. Hospital will normally give us a hospital bag when we deliver rite? That bag is also a diaper bag if i'm not wrong, but a bit more bulky probably....might consider juz using that...haha

Re : Baby sleeping environment
Our bb cot will be right beside my bed, so i will put down one side of the "fence" and when bb requires nite feed i juz have to sit up and carry bb and can feed direct
Only thing is it might disturb hb sleeping...so if no choice, hb will prob sleep in bb room bah...

Re : Car Seat
Looking around for one too. But might not get one so soon, probaby see if can get any hand-me-downs, otherwise will get one from bb hyperstore, cos saw one quite okies one can use from infant to 13kg selling at $139.

kite,
I think videocams are allowed juz that u cannot film the actual part when the bb comes out?

Celeste,
I know tmc will give a diaperbag...but not sure good or not...I dun intend to buy after looking for diaper bags for weeks.....coz finally decide that I'll just use normal bag and pack my own stuff in....less restrictive and can use for other purpose as well...

those good diaper bags are so ex

okasan,
I thought of using normal bags also...but one disadvantage is that when u throw all ur "gabrang" inside the bag, the things will turn topsy turvy inside the bag cos there are no "holders" to fix their position. But guess will juz try and see how bah

Yeah, gd diaper bags are exp...like not quite worth it.

Morning Ladies!

Hope all well and happy today

Came back to school to settle some things.. sigh, school holidays aren't really holidays for teachers

I will place the playpen in our room for easy feeding. Won't feel secure to place bb in another room yet. But i told hubby try not to put bb on our bed to sleep. Else bb get too used and continues to sleep with us. That's the advice given by another couple friend too
Now they are having problem getting their daughters to sleep in their own room already. One aged 6 and the other aged 4.

celeste,

re: diaper bags
Hmmm .... till now, i still cannot figure out what is so special abt diaper bags leh... i havent used them before. whenever i go out, i just carry a bag pack with all the barang barang and i feel that it is good enough.

Anyway, those diaper bags hospital give are quite "obiang" ... heee hee ... i dont intend to use them.

kk,
I guess teachers only get to enjoy more during the June and Nov/Dec holidays?
I got frens and a SIL working as teachers too
So far one-week holidays normally arent really holidays for them too.

tinklebell,
Hehe...the allerhand diaper bag is more "fashionable"....but when u throw everything into a bag wont the stuffs get messy inside and u have to dig thru this n tat to get the thing u want?

Haha, ya, i saw Mt.A and GlenE one...their diaper bags are quite obiang...i believe all hospital bags are obiang...*lol*

re: diaper bag, i have already gotten one that matches my pram. comes with nappy change mat and has few compartments for various items.

Any mummies getting a moses basket? my fren passing me one. maybe i can place in my room for bb to sleep in when needed.