(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

thks for all your concern. abt 7 mths preggie liao (so tat's y can see the ball already) & it's a accident cos never take contraceptive measure for 1 time nia. till now, still very worried abt how i'm going to handle when no 2 is out since their age gap is so close.

SS1, I think there's direct bus service from my home to Thomson Plaza. btw mummies, any special requests on what u feel like eating so that I can bring (& dun need to think) for the gathering?

SS1, don't tell me you were on 'Bai3 Jia1 Le1'...I viewed the series off and on. Really admire Bryan Wong's natural flair for designing. (Btw, I assume you will PM me your address)

Yes Daniel did contact me for feedback. Told him my thoughts. Amber's progressing well motorskills-wise so I may just skip this gym part and consider JG when she's 18mths old.

Angelzwynd, congratz on the 2nd baby. Just checking where you are staying maybe can hitch a ride from one of the mummies. I'm staying near Marine Parade area, will be able to give you a lift if you are staying nearby or along the way.

Shawny,
Hee hee...paiseh, u r rite, but we got mark, not bryan. so u can see the finger painting that mark did. i rec mixed comments about that.

angelwynd
i think u no need to bring food la, just bring yourself and the "ball" + your gal.

Congrats angelwynd!! Boy or girl?? EDD?

SS1 ~ Your house leh! Of course going

Gathering:
Date: 21st July (Sat)
Place: SS1 house ( Thomson area)
Time: Lunch
Mode: Potluck.
People:
1) SS1
2) Ivy ( Dessert)
3) Little_nana (727 durian puffs and crepes)
4) shawny17 ( katong laksa)
5) sponge (have a craving for pizza hut's drumlets, so drumlets it shall be!)
6) Fates ( dunno what to bring!!? )

ladies, wat time the gathering starts?? my elder gal's class end at 1.30pm. if i can make it, will rush over since its pretty near. i can get some snacks from old chang kee or polar.

angellwynd, congrats 2 u ! Any particular food you craves for? hehe

Gathering:
People:
1) SS1
2) Ivy ( Dessert)
7)Pooh (snacks from old chang kee)

pooh,
since its lunch, we shld meet at 12pm? then dilly dally here and there abit, we shld be staying till past 3pm! haha..( wink wink, habitural late comers)
Join us then...

fates,

it's again a girl for me, bit disappointed but never mind lah( can save $ cos dun need to buy clothes again)

wow, all mummies so nice to me, *blush* wants to send me home & dun need to bring food. thks for your kindness but I still wish to contribute to the food if possible. eh, is the gathering just for mummies & our little ones or hubbies also included?

Gathering:
People:
1) SS1
2) Ivy ( Dessert)
8)Angelzwynd (also dunno wat to bring!!brainstorming)

hmm...love to join in the gathering..especially now my kiddo gets very excited whenever she sees gor gor, jie jie, di di or mei mei...
Check with hubby and get back later..

Ivy, are you toking about me??? haha.... coz I think I never early for gatherings ley... always late .... *blush* I will try my very best to be early ok.... hahah

Gathering:
People:
1) SS1
2) Ivy ( Dessert)
9)Taurus (still thinking wat to bring)

<font color="0000ff">I'd like to join the gathering too but may not be able to meet the timimg as it's my boy's nap time. By the time I come out, it'll be 2+ pm already, unless he wakes up earlier.

Since it's lunch, maybe we can "dial for food", e.g from Oishi or Rite pizza, sashimi from Fassler Gourmet, Dial-A-Curry ...? This will save the hassle of buying as well. Just my thoughts.</font>

bbloh,
dial for food quite troublesome and there is always a min order amt..Better to be potluck, easier and more fun!

Taurus, haha..i am not thinking of you when i wrote that, just a general comment. Sometimes i am late also, its always the kiddo that we cannot help but to be late!

SS1,
your house is very popular leh, so many ppl on the list already. I am sure Z&I will be happy to see so many frens again.

anna,
i dun think so...we tried twice at different places, he dun like means dun like. And its very very rare to see it. So far he is open to all food, including veg. So i conclude, he realli dun like DURIANS! If Kaelyn eats it, i think he wun want to kiss her this round! hahahahhahaha

So fast talking about kissing already huh?! Alamak

Come lar bbloh! That timing is most babies' nap time I think?! At least it is for mine

Ivy ah...
Very stressed already!! A friend of mine once told me that they want to come see the "award winning" house, whoa! damn stress ah... It looked quite nice during the filming, but hor, now very very messy already with kids stuff everywhere. Anyway, I'll try and do some cleaning and tidying up. Don't expect too much ok...

BBloh,
Can come lah... Let your boy nap here also can, then u can chat!

My mum said she'll cook something for the gathering, I'll post here later and see what are the popular request ok. Also, can u please indicate how many people are coming so that I can do some logistic preparation? TQ! Look forward to seeing all of you and the kids!

fates,
12pm is nap? wah...its eating time! haha..

kissing huh?/ not i teach one..he one day just auto went to peck K himself...

Hi Sheri,

Wah finally a gathering at your place after u starting inviting pple mths ago. I dun mind coming since yr place is so near mine

Hmm will see what food i wanna bring. Maybe go and buy some roti prata fr the roti prata house there. Heh...

wow...looks like it'll be a great turnout. I'll be bringing along my 5yr old dd & Amber, plus the helper along.

Gathering:
People:
1) SS1
2) Ivy ( Dessert)
4) shawny17 ( katong laksa) (Myself/2 dds/helper)

Gathering:
Time: 12pm
People:
1) SS1
2) Ivy (Dessert) (myself/son/hb)

hello mummies, sorry to interrupt ---wonder if any of u would like to sell the bumbo seat tt your tod has outgrown? I'm on tight budget so thinking of getting a 2nd hand one, while lilac colour is preferred, other colour also can
pls pm me if u have, thanks

just wondering, do your little darlings still wake up at night for milk?
mine still does. not sure why but nowadays become worse. can be up to 4 times
and each time can finish 140ml.
want to train her to sleep through the nite but afraid not enough milk for her, coz during the day she only drinks abt 3 times of 140ml.
how much do ur kids drink?
oh ya, i'm now 19wks pregnant again
another girl on the way....

my_dodo77,

My gal also had the same problem of waking up to drink previously. However, after training her, she had stopped now & can sleep without waking for milk now. What we did is to give her the last feed before she sleeps, abt 9+. We gave her 8oz of milk adding cereal into it also & it can last her till morning. In the beginning, she wakes up demanding for milk, but we gave her water or just let her cry. After less than a week, she had stopped taking milk liao but still can't sleep thruout the nite, sigh.

Hi my_dodo77

Angelzwnd..hehe.. i am here. btw... i am apr06 mommy.
My boy also has been waking for nite feed. Its like 3-4hourly. so shack!

He was able to sleep thru the nite from 3rd mth to 8th mth only. After 8th mth till now 15th mth, he's been demanding for nite feed. His last nite feed b4 sleep is 10pm. I also added cereal to his 180ml (6oz) milk, he only managed to sleep thru for 2 nites only, thereafter, no effect anymore. Haiz.. how arh? i tried giving water in middle, he throw the bottle of water away and continue to cry. He even throw tantrum like slaming both his legs up and down. He just cry, no choice, just have to give in milk to him. Anyone has any advice?

SS1,

What is your address???

Hey Tiff! Glad to see you here

My boy's same as yours! Still HAVE NOT sleep through. I only gave him water once when he's 9mths old, maybe I should try again? Or maybe SM kids are like that....LOLx..

angelzwynd....hmmm so your girl can sleep through?

Hihi annie :p

SS1

can PM me yr address also??? thks

seems like afew of our bao bei wakes up at nites hor..i miss my undisturbed sleep

Hi tiff, so your son still wakes up to feed ah? I thought u had solved the problem liao

Hi fates, my girl dun wakes up to feed anymore but still cannot sleep thru. will wake up now & then in the nites, we just put her down, pat her for some time & she'll contd sleepin. how i wish she can sleep thru the nite w/o waking up at all. sigh, her mummy & daddy had never sleep thruout the nite undisturbed for more than 1 yr liao. wonder when the day will come when our kids can sleep thruout the nite. & now with no. 2 coming, i think my nites to come will be even worse

tiffany & angelzwynd,

My personal sharing, i mix cereal with milk for the last feeding before k goes to sleep. He can sleep through till 5-5.30am.180ml of water (mix with 2 scoops of gain iq n 1 scoop of cereal). Practiced this since k was 9mths+.

angelzwynd,
Gong Xi, gong xi, no. 2 on e way.

Hi Fates
The SM 5mins suggestion dun work on my boy lei. Everynite tell him to finish up his milk and pls sleep thru ok.... blah blah blah... haiz.. still the same old pattern. Will cry for milk between 1-3am. Give him milk and he will quiet liao. I tried giving water, he throw the bottle away until he gets milk.

Angela..
Yalor, it did work for 2days only upon Sharon's suggestion, thereafter, back to lao yangzi. Shack siar... have to wake up to pee 2-3times a nite and also 1-2 times to make milk for boy. Think he is training me for #2 3hourly feed!

Annie,
Thanks for your sharing. Upon a fren's suggestion, I give him 180ml of water + 3 scoops of GainIQ + 3 scoops of cereal lei.. thats very thick and filling. Still the same lei....He will still want milk again between 1-3am. I conclude my boy is nei gian! Everyday, trying to think of ways how to solve this problem.

Last nite, he cried for milk at 1.45am, gave him the leftover fm 10pm, but added abit of hot water.. wow... he throw the bottle away and continue crying.. next, i gave warm water, he also throw away. So angry, off the lights and ignore him. He cry non-stop for 5mins, i find him so chiam, wonder isit he hungry lei.... finally made him new bottle of milk then he quiet down... haiz... lost the battle again. Pick up his bottle.. idiot, only drank abt 50ml... not nei gian then wat???

tiffany

u been trying SM 5 mins suggestion for how long?? according to the SM sensei, at least mst do for one week leh..and somemore the sensei tell me cannt 'request' too much at one go..kekeke.

it does work for my elder gal after 3rd day of trying that 5 mins suggestions method.

pooh....yalor....i miss my undisturbed sleep too! Come to think of it, business trips now are a luxury as I can sleep through....just that will miss my boy soooooooo much.

tiff,

can understand what u r going thru. in the beginning, my gal oso cry & throw the bottle when it's water & not milk. then we buay tahan liao & decided the followin nite that we are goin to let her cry (since on aircon & close all windows, wun wake everyone up). in the end, she cry for 40 mins. i oso same as u, sim tia but hubi stands firm. after tat, she's too tired from crying & we just rock her to sleep. the following nite, she oni cries for abt half an hour or so & after 3 days, no more crying for milk liao. i think we suceed cos we stand firm & let her cry (although heartache to see her cry like that), giving her the message that we r not giving her milk in the nite no matter what happen. so in the end, she gives up liao, haha

pooh
I been telling the same old "story" finsh your milk and sleep thru.. repeat 2-3times.. nothing else.

Angela,
So, it does work arh? hmm.. think i must try one day when i am ready. Seemed very cruel to do it... haiz.. duno i can make it or not.

Tiffany,
Waa! understand how u really go through, thats v jialat. At the meantime, really have to take care of yourself. Waking up @ night really can harm our health oso.

Hmm.. personal sharing,have you try chinese sinseh? sometime toddlers cant sleep through the night becos of "Xin (heart) heatiness", bb massage do help; some due to gastric.

Err, I tried this when k was younger (now dun need), he slept @ 10pm, so i set timing to wake up @ 12.50am then made the milk with the white rice cereal n waited for k to wake up around 1-1.10am and fed him. From there, he can sleep till late 8am. Currently, i mix brown rice cereal together with gain iq before he goes to sleep. Brown rice tends to take longer time to digest (since k is older, i presume safe for k to take).

Err,i did Angelzywnd's method before,its work for k; err..u have to be v firm and depend when the baby wants to give up. Maybe give a try? I tried for a wk.

Tiff,

Same!! The 5mins suggestion don't work!!!! Actualli I always finish saying it within 1min....5min abit long leh!?! Or should i stretch my speech to 5mins long?

You are not alone friend! My boy....if I give him water, he cry non-stop too. Thus I gave him milk in order to make him stop crying and have more sleep. Anyways is your hubby helping you for night feed? Please take care hor, since your tummy is quite big now.

pooh,
How long is your speech huh? What did you request of your elder gal?

Tiffany

mayb u can try to give more milk for ur bb last feed of the day?

my gal also wake up pretty often lately..she also cry and scream for milk. i wanna use the cruel method (ignore her), but my hubby is the one who wakes up and make milk for her and somemore sweet talk to her..buay tahan..

i dnt dare to use the SM 5 mins suggestion method on my no2 coz she is a veri light sleeper..sure wake up if i 'talk' to her..haiz..hope this is jst a passing phase

Angela,

Both you and hubby are so firm. I can't bear to let him cry non-stop for so long. So poor thing..

fates,

my speech abt 5 mins or longer lor. alwys repeat the same thing..hahhaaha...

i started by telling her : mummy loves her, daddy loves her.... den tell her to be good gal and cannot cry when daddy go to work..coz there is one period of time, whenever hubby go to work, she cry and scream like mad..wan to follow him to work !! hold on daddy's pant and biz shirt so tight and dnt wanna let go !

I agree that leaving them to cry is a cruel method, but it works most of the time. Actually I think it is more cruel on our ears, than on them. I left my baby to cry-it-out when he was about 4 months old, but with each day, the crying got progressively shorter, and he finally slept through on the 4th day.
Though I must say that this method is not for every parent.Some just dun have the heart to do it. But each time he cries, we tell ourselves that we are not doing him any long-term harm, but helping him to acquire a skill of good sleeping habits (yes, it has to be acquired)and he does wake up a happier baby becos of a good nite's rest.

so many babies not slpg through yet?
I suppose we have to try and try our methods till some work one day.
Xavier only take 1 nap a day now, and he will be in bed by 8.30 cos muumy say babies must slp early. So i will set the routine of reach home, brush teeth , drink milk then slp. I think he is exhausted with the day playing, so he is slpg thru. But of cos, his waking up time is 6.30am. So its early sleeper, early riser.

I am not too sure abt adding cereal to milk for the last feed. Some babies cannot slp if they are too full. For X, if he take solids after 7pm, then its harder for him to fall alsp.

Gathering:
Time: 12pm
People:
1) SS1 (Fried Mee Siam, Yam kuih, drinks)
2) Ivy (Dessert) (myself/son/hb)

Hi everyone! I think I have PM all of you, but if I've missed out anyone, please PM me instead. Thx! Hee...look forward to the meetup!

Annie,
Come lah, add yourself on to the list!

<font color="0077aa">Hihi all May mommies!
Long time no come in here! Wow! Got gathering... can't join in this time, coz my boy is not well, still recovering from his recent cough/cold. Me too, still coughing a little. Dowan to pass the germs around.
You gals and babies have good fun ya!

angelzwynd, congrats on your on-the-way 2nd baby! :D</font>

about leaving the child to cry, i also don't have the heart to do it. tried once/twice when she was 6 or 8 mths old, but gave up. coz she cried very loud and couldn't stop, until she choked with her own tears and saliva.
worse still, she sleeps with me and very very very difficult to settle herself. used to carry and rock her to sleep (my biggest regret). nowadays just accompany her on the bed and she would move around like crazy until tired and falls asleep, but will take at least 30 mins (unless very very tired, then within minutes can fall asleep).

sigh.... perhaps the only way to do it is to put her in a cot and let her cry. hm.... must do it coz no. 2 is on the way.