(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

bbloh,

u heard news last nite...US got court case on MMR causing autism. The family is very very confident of winning the case...

<font color="0000ff">Here's MOH's reply to the post regarding the Vaccinations submitted to Waste Cut Panel</font>

Date: Jun 25, 2007 11:42 AM
Subject: Fw: Regarding your cutwaste suggestion - Vaccincations
To: [email protected]
Cc: Lee Fong FOO <[email protected]>

Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for writing to the Cut Waste Panel. The agency's reply to your suggestion is appended. Please contact us or the officer below if we can be of further help to you.

Yours sincerely,

Alvin Goh
Cut Waste Panel Secretariat
http://www.cutwaste.gov.sg
======================================================

We refer to the feedback and we wish to comment the following:

1. Two vaccinations are compulsory: measles and diptheria. The rest are highly recommended.

2. Measles and diptheria can cause severe complications and even death. The risk of these complications far outweigh any risk from unproven side-effects like autism.

3. Vaccines are added to the National Childhood Immunisation Programme only if
(a) there is a significant disease burden or risk of an outbreak without vaccination
(b) there is a safe and effective vaccine and
(c) inclusion of the vaccine in the programme is cost-effective,

4. There are large studies which have shown that there is no link between measles vaccinations and autism e.g. there was a large study done on this in Denmark.

5. The HSA carefully evaluates the safety of vaccines before allowing them to be registered for use in Singapore. Vaccines which can cause major side-effects, will not be allowed to be registered unless such side effects are very rare e.g. exceeding 1 in 1 million.

6. We are not aware of a test to find a "hidden hole in their immune make-up that makes them susceptible to bad immune reactions from vaccinations". Such a test is not done before vaccinations anywhere in the world.

Hope this clarifies. Thank you.

Yours sincerely,
Desmond Yeo
for Quality Service Manager
Ministry of Health, Singapore

hi bbloh

pneumcooccal is life threatening..

My lil niece kana early stage of pneumonia and have slight lungs infection. Pneumonia is contagious. The poor gal stayed in hospital for abt one week and after that thou discharge still coughing, need to do weekly check ups, etc, etc

so heartpain to see the lil ones suffer..

Hi fates,

My girl goes to Little Gym.. I try Gymboree but didnt like it as it's quite disorganised during free play. At Little Gym, during free play, the teacher will have activities like somersaults, bar walking. You can either allow your child to roam abt or join in those activities...
Probably can go for a trial first to get a feel.

hi there,
can't rem who took the pneumococcal jab. but those bbs who took hor, any side effects?

my gal developed rashes after the jab...

Hi mums

it's been a while (AGAIN)! Work has been killing me! Had no time to catch up on this forum...

Walking

Nat is almost running, and it's real scary, cos given her "height", it's too easy to miss her in the crowd! Very stubborn too... wanna go there means there, no where else, otherwise she'll sit on the floor!

Speech
hmmmm... she only knows how to say 'mama', the rest's gibberish! She'll respond to us by pointing everywhere, nodding or shaking her head furiously, frowning or rolling her eyes.

Favourite activities: ransacking bags, feeding the dogs, 'you pass to me, i pass to you' game

Shoes: i think Clark shoes and sandals are really good - comfy and quite pretty

me too..extremely busy, baby is sick again last week.so stressful.

besides porridge and milk, any mummies giving cereals or oats? my gal's appetite has been really bad, maybe she is sick of the food.

Firefly,
yes, now they know how to choose food...no more plain porridge with ikan bilis powder..Must have meat, fish, veg etc.
Oats, i gave for breakfast..
You can try to think of new ideas, color ( i mean carrots, pumpkin color etc) to entice baby to eat.

Ino,
Really huh? i haven taken the p-jab. Sigh..so many side effects.

pneumococcal jab

Na adverse reactions so far. My nephew came down with pneumonia, so scary that I gave my kids as soon as the doc said yes....

Ino, Ivy,

No side effects for pneumocoocoal jabs at all..

JWT Kids? Good or not? How much is the trial class?

Amber didn't suffer any side effects, apart from slight fever...which I am not sure if it resulted from teething or the jab.

Fates, as for the JWT Kids trial, it's free for 6th July..under those time slots stated in the ad.

<font color="0000ff">fates,
Happen to read from another forum that you're going to stop Eping. It's not an easy decision right? What pump have you been using?</font>

<font color="0000ff">My boy has been rather demanding lately. He'll cry when we refuse to give him or take away things that he wants or is interested in. He will scream and sob really hard. His table manners are also not too good. He wants our food and when we serve him food in a bowl, he'll want to grab it. He also likes to dip his fingers into the cup when we serve him water and sprinkle or spill the water everywhere! If we stop him, he'll cry ...</font>

bbloh

i think ur boy is better than my gal..my gal SCREAM whenever she wans it her way ! bcoz of her, we seldom dine in restaurant.

<font color="0000ff">hahaha ... I can't even shop or do marketing when my boy's around. He'll want to grab everything and people are looking at me wryly when he whines or screams. Aiyoh! Headache man! <font face="wingdings">K</font></font>

yes yes...
aiyo...teach me how to bring up a well manner kid leh..
my son is also quite screamer and whiner when he dun get what he wants...

my gal also screams alot...sometimes i feel realli paiseh...aiya..but then since all bbs scream like that, i always tell my gal "shhh...so noisy"...then i cover her mouth and walk away liao...wat to do? can't possibly dig a hole and bury myself...haiz..

i wonder whether this phenomenon is unique to May babies only...keke

my boy frightened a sleeping baby with a loud cry. we were waiting for the train and he just went 'ah...' loudly and pointed at her. i can tell the mother was not too happy but how do i educate a 13mth old that he cannot make noise when babies are sleeping?

at home, my sister calls him a tyrant. he cries and scream when he does not get his way.

Isabel&Zach's Mum, you are most welcome. I just came back from the 11.30-1pm session. Err...most of the babies seem to be 12mths or under for this group. I personally feel that 1.5hr is too long.

Been intending to order some items from drugstore but dun wan to join spree cos ordering quite a lot of items myself. however, when making payment, notice that the billing info must be in the USA. So how do I input the billing address so that they can accept my order? I'm using Vpost as the shipping method. anyone pls help, so lost!!

regd screaming babies, my gal oso does that wen we dun give her wat she wants. so I firstly explained to her why we cannot give it to her. sometimes she sort of understands & phew, relief for us. however, if she still insists & make a big fuss out of it, we distract her attention & she immediately forget abt it.

had emphasised quite a lot of times to her that the consequences of some actions can cause her pain. whenever she wants to open the cupboard, etc, we just tell her "pain pain" & sometimes, she'll start crying even before she open the cupboard. faint! but wen we just tell her that she haf not feel pain yet, she'll just stop crying. haha

Hi bbloh,

Yes going to stop Eping.......gonna stop sooner or later so might as well stop now. Me just back from business trip, and I didn't express for four days! What an achievement

SS1, shawny

How is JWT trial? Too bad it's on a weekday...

Fates & Shawny,
I brought Zach for the trial, not Isabel. I think for Zach's level, they're not bad. I like the story telling part coz I could see that the kids were really attracted by the "story teller" and were paying attention. Maybe it's a trial, sometimes I felt it was a bit "luan" with parents not sure what to do or where to go... Anyway, maybe just me la.

I didn't sign him up coz the classes are for weekdays and it's quite far for me.

fates...
everyone busy with life loh...haha..

so let's organise another gathering leh..

SS1,
Wan volunteer your nice nice house? keke..

Ivy
My house nice nice meh?! Anyway, owe you guys this long delayed gathering. This weekend I'm not in town, 21 or 22 July ok?

Let's do it on the 21st July then!

Gathering:
Place: SS1 house ( Thomson area)
Time: Lunch
Mode: Potluck?
People:
1) SS1
2) Ivy

Finally, an outing I'm able to make..the last 2 outings happened to have something on. Will love to finally meetup with you ladies. I can taupow Katong Laksa over. Anyone keen?

================================

Gathering:
People:
1) SS1
2) Ivy
3) Shawny17

SS1... u back from EU tour liao! Woah travel again!Shiok Manz!

Gathering:
People:
1) SS1
2) Ivy
3)Little_nana

ops... shawny17 left u out probably we were posting at the same time

SS1... u back from EU tour liao! Woah travel again!Shiok Manz!

Gathering:
People:
1) SS1
2) Ivy
3)Shawny17
4)little_nana

SS1 & fates, regarding the JWT Gym trial...1stly 1.5hours is too long for a 13-14mth old baby. At this age, I would prefer the class to be more physical/motor skills inclined. Ashley (dd1) used to attend The Little Gym @ Forum Galleria, I find it more suitable for babies this age.

The JWT Trial class I attended seems to be very much alike to the Julia Gabriel Playgroup Class which dd1 attended...it's much too advance for Amber.

katong laksa...wow..yum yum!
let me think wat i can bring...........

Gathering:
Date: 21st July (Sat)
Mode: Potluck.
People:
1) SS1
2) Ivy ( Dessert)
3) Little_nana
4) shawny17 ( katong laksa)

Hey peeps count me in! I want to see Mark Lee's finger-paintings!..hahahha

Gathering:
People:
1) SS1
2) Ivy ( Dessert)
3) Little_nana
5) sponge (have a craving for pizza hut's drumlets, so drumlets it shall be!)

wow, finally got gathering again, yipee. i'm oso interested.

btw, any mummies knows if SS1's house is quite accessible? cos i'm bringing a ball now (preggie again, faintz) and worried that if i need to eg. walk upslope & carry gal, will faint halfway(hehe).

angelzwynd,

congrats! haha...i was thinking that May mummies seems to be very quiet abt having the 2nd one..how many mths now?

SS1 house shld be quite okie..got carpark downstairs and take lift kind. No slope lah!
haha...

Durians season!! so gathering must hve durians!!! LOLX

Gathering:
People:
1) SS1
2) Ivy ( Dessert)
3) Little_nana (727 durian puffs and crepes)
5) sponge (have a craving for pizza hut's drumlets, so drumlets it shall be!)

angelzwynd,
Congrats! Ya, how many weeks now? U said a ball, so must be quite BIG?!?! Are you driving or taking bus or MRT? My place is opposite Thomson Plaza @ Upper Thomson. Got a bit of uphill walk if you're coming from Upper Thomson direction, but you can also access via Sin Ming Ave if you're taking bus no 410 (white), 52 or 162.

Sponge,
Wah...not bad, u still remember the finger painting!! Ya, it's still there!

Ivy,
U can bring your famous muffin and cookies la! Yeah!

Little Nana,
Aiya, not another trip la, just crossing the causeway only. Ooohhh, can smell durian already...

Shawny,
Looking forward to the laksa! Thx! BTW, Daniel from JWT called me. Told him that I enjoyed the program and like the place, but timing and distance is a bit of problem now. Did he call u? Anyway, maybe we can share more when we meet.

Fates,
U coming?

angelzwynd,
congrats!! wow must be exciting to go thru the pregnancy cycle again yah~!

Ivy,
hahaha yeah man its our fav! Must see the headcount 1st then can order leh.. aiyah my fat ant got 1-day reservist on the 21st leh.. sian! No private taxi for me liao..

ss1,
Of cos i rem the infamous finger painting hahah~! Hey thot u stayed in the west previously? shifted hse ar? ;)

ah peng!
I lurveeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee durians!