(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

v gd morning gals,
spoonge,
How many weeks already? can feel the move? Hows the feeling. .. I do have minor stretch kind of pain, sometime on my right n sometime on my left.. is it same s u? especially at nites.. i can wake up becos of the stretch kind of pain.. already 18mths already shouldnt have the contraction pain rite?

morn all!

anyone with info regarding tmc's classes? heard those conducted by mrs wong are very informative and good. was actually intending to start my classes with mt a this week but they kept changing their dates until i pek chey liao

Contraction pains
Perhaps if you feel a pain dont kid around but call your obs. I felt a pain called my obs and he said that I have contraction as I am still carrying my no 1 so affecting no 2. Was told to not carry my heavy weight champion.

My friend ignored her pain and lost her baby. So do TAKE CARE AND FIND OUT!!!

Movement of baby
I feel my baby move in me when I rest very still. It feels like a butterfly in my tummy!! Its so wonderful!

gabby_mummy,

wow.. how heavy is your boy ?? Mine is abt 8.3kg now ... me too still carrying him...

hey i also feel some flutter in my tummy last week... 3-4 times... I was just wondering whether this is the bb's movement cos i know 2nd time mummy can feel it earlier

poohy

My boy is 13 months and weighs 10.8kg. Sigh. Now am barred from carrying. In fact my obs already told me not to carry him. When you get heavy dont carry yours too much too I suppose. We have to take care of both no 1 and 2 and ourselves.

Hi fates & Annie!

I'm currently in my 18th week. Actually i can feel my baby's movements as early as in my 16th week! But of cos the movements then were very minimal..and can almost miss it that type. hehee~ Only up til recently i can feel stronger movements. Dun worry la, as we progress further into our pregnancy we will start to feel more and more of our baby's movements.

Annie,
The movements are literally like kicks and punches hahaha.. sometimes bb likes to kick me hard..sometimes very mild.. also feels abit like someone is poking you lor. I dun really feel like its a strectching kinda pain.. the stretching pain cld be due to ur uterus being enlarged to accomodate the bb more comfortably.

Hi sponge,

Did you managed to see the gender of BB yet? 8) ... i also felt the punches and kicking recently ... and seems like got certain timing ... mostly feel the movement ard noon time and evening time ... but whenever hubby puts his hand on my tummy to feel the movement ... BB will stop ...hahha ...

I start to feel the butterfly fluttering movement as early as wk 13- wk 14 .... and starts to feel the kicks n punches ard wk 16 ..

Gabby,
is it so.. hmm.. i did complain to my gynea, he keep highlight that its normal, part n puzzle for pregancy..
so how, i am already week 18, yet the stretching pain..

hi milo,
i have signed up for the prenatal classes at tmc. they will send the course details after payment is received. so i am not sure who will be conducting the classes.

Hi sponge,
Thanks for your advices... i feel so relief..so logical... bb length increase quite a lot, from 5.5cm (2mths) to 13 cm (3 mths).. guess thats explain y...
hmm..so envy you, can feel the kick already.. maybe i can sense it but dun noe its the kick or the stretching..

good day !!

annie, ur bb 3 mths 13 cm is veri tall leh...my visit on sat was told that my bb is 9.3cm and i'm in week 15th... wonder ur gynae measure from bb's head to toes or ??? coz my gynae measured from head to the end of bb's body. i also start to feel the 'butterfly' feeling liao...feel so wonderful...

hi ivy,
i chose the saturday class that starts on 21 jan. it will end in early march because there is a 2 week break due to CNY.

have you booked yours?

hi anastasia,

i have book mine too but i be starting quite late, at my week 30. hubby will be away from my 24 - 30th week and he insisted wanting to join me so i can only wait lor. hope i wont pop too early.

anastasia,

i cant start so early cos i have a offsite meeting toward end of Jan.
How much is the course, you have any idea when is the next one starting after yours?

milo,

you quite relax...I dun dare to start so late cos i worry i will be too big and clumsy toward week 30 onwards. And also scare dunno if will pop early.

ivy,

that my concern too actually. wanted to take the jan classes but i would end up going alone throughout the 6 weeks.. seems meaningless also cause they have a few lessons to teach hubby to massage the wife. when u starting ur classes?

Hi Taurus,

I still dunno the gender yet. Hopefully when i do my detail scan next week then can tell. You are expecting a prince right? Congrats! ;) Can start to buy bb's necessities and think of names already. Thought of any yet?

Annie,
Wow ur baby's length quite long.. I cant really rem how long my bb is, i can only rem the diameter of my baby's tummy is 6cm.. weighing at 163g at week 16. At 1st i was worried that baby is not absorbing nutrients from me (as i didnt gain much weight).. however Doc says all is fine.. he even said its better if my baby doesnt weigh too much upon delivery, as it cld be difficult for me to push. Average weight of baby is ard 2.8kg like that.

Hi Annie,

Wow, i also find ur bb growing at a very fast rate!

Rule of thumb is to add 6.5 to the length to get number of weeks. Pooh's measurement is 9.3 cm which means 15.8 week which means 15th week.

My last appt was in 15.4 week - the bb's length was 8.9 cm.

If ur bb's length is 13 cm, weren't u supposed to be in ur 19th week when measurement was taken?

sponge,
hehe.. duno leh.. but i see all my friend's nb bb all at 51cm, so hopefully, this bb can be long... i oso didnt put on weight. just had my weight measurement this am, still lost 1kg. initially thought a gain of 3kg on 28 nov check up. now back to the same.. think that time, just had my dinner..

milo 66,
i oso didnt sign up for the class, cos my hubby works at site,,, if there is project on going, he has to work regardless of after work or even on the weekend...

all i can do, read from the book. From those experience mum, said that no point attending the class, cos by the time, the nurse will ask u to listen to her instruction.. once you are in pain, you forget whatever you learn.. i oso duno..

sponge,
my gynea nvb stated the rule of the thumb, i oni noe this from this forum.
from my last period, 1st of August, i should be in week 18 now.. i had the measurement on 28.11 which was week 16+ nearly to 17. (according to the rule, then 6.5+17 = 23.5cm)my bb is only 13cm.. quite short.(wednesday will be 17)...
duno how accurate it should b.. my gynea oso didnt state a thing..

like should i take calcium, fish oil, i oso duno.. my sis had as her gynea gave her..

i oni have the multi vit. that the gynea gave but i didnt take becos v heaty..
end up, i oni take the milk power, calcium pill each day. ..
my colleague wife as a nurse, mother of two stated that bb oni absorb 70% when u reach 7th mth. no point eating so much cos still too small to absorp.

Hi Sponge,

Yah, scan at wk 17 shows that I am expecting a Prince, but gyane say the detail scan at wk 20 will confirm the results ... so keeping my finger cross that the scan is correct ... 8).. have not start my BB shopping yet as hubby been rather busy recently ... have not decided on the names yet ... now only call BB ...hahah

My gynae also advise that its better not to have a big size BB coz I quite petite ...so according to my size ... BB will be easier to deliver between -2.5 to 2.8 kg ...

So far gynae did not measure the length or weight of the BB as she says only need to start monitoring during 3rd trimester ... now so long as BB is growing ...is good enough ...me going for detail scan next week also ... and doing the hospital tour at the same time before deciding whether to sign up the class at Mt A or TMC...

Taurus,
u and i are the same case, cross our finger...wait till the detail scan.. i too hoping for a prince.. my colleague's wife jus deliver her 2nd son, 3.8kg on friday.. usually, good to have heavier bb.. easier to bring next time... dun worry.. when time comes, sure got a way..

kk,
op! i make a mistake.. i c.. so 13 + 6.5= should be 19 weeks.. hmm.. i oso suspect should b july 26 my hubby's bday.. hee..heeh..

then how? jus had the triple blood test last week (ie week 17 or 18 to be correct). then the blood test will not be accurate right?

Hi Annie,

Shouldn't be any problem with the blood test lah. Now i am pretty confused over the blood test. Seems like my gynae used very different measure from other gynaes. So dun be misled by me :p

July 26??

kk,
:p i record my s... paiseh.. yap, if i got conceive on july 26..then bb shd be week 19.. correct.. according to the thumb rule..
heard from others, detail scan oso able to find out whether got ds or not, cos if the spine bone is too thick oso lead to ds... n sames goes to the heart got hole...

Hi Annie,

There is also another way to count the number of weeks bb is in. We can take the conceive day as the 2nd week. Subsequently one week after the conceive date, it is 3rd week. And add one week for every week after that.

hi ivy,
saturday course is at $160 and weekday is $140. these are rates for those delivering at tmc. i am not sure about the commencement of the next course. do note that there are 3 sessions for saturdays. 2-4pm, 4.30-6.30pm and 7-9pm. i chose the 4.30pm class.

actually, i am also not sure if hubby is free to attend every class with me. just hope i will not feel left out if everyone turns up with their hubbies.

kk,
Wah! quite confusing... hmm ie, if i predict i got conceived on 26.7.05 -then 1.08.05 should be 2nd week, so by now, i should be week 20.

anastasia,
Thanks for your infor for the course fee. Hmm.. my gfs did share their experience, stated that normally 1st few courses are quite boring, end up, their hubbys didnt turn up on the last few; which are most important. Only last few lessons want the hubby to help to massage.. learn how to help around.. but cant help if your hubby got work to do..

Yo gals,

Wondering anyone take photo of yourself nude with tummy growing bigger n bigger? wonder is there any rules that not allow to?
My hubby wants to take... but i just have doubt on..

anastasia,

you went down to sign up or call them?
I tink i will make sure my hubby is free at all times, else i will feel odd if i go alone.
In any case, the class is not so much for me, its more for my hubby...haha...cos he is super clueless.

annie

wah u are so game!
Do u mean naked as you with the breast shown also? or just belly naked? :p

If belly naked its ok i thk.

EvE,
heheh.. i m shy lar.. but if oni my hubby take the shot from digital camera then save under own pc.. ok ..
We watched this taiwan show, those actress said that they took such pic when they are expecting that time..
My hubby said good to keep for sovernor.. from small tummy to big.. but we dun have a digital camera.. might have to borrow my brother..

Hi Annie,

Initially i count like u do, when my gynae mentioned about conceive date, because it seems logically to us to add one week by one week. But then the actual way of counting should be conceive day considered week 2. i also dunno how this magical number comes about. There must be some reason behind it.

Wow, film maked? I only know of some preggies who go shoot album at shops, in their maternity wear. Just like taking wedding photos

hi annie,
i got the brochure from my gynae and the 1st 3 lessons include prenatal exercises, so that is when hubby is needed to help. maybe the lesson structure is different in other hospitals.

ivy, i called them and the person asked for some of my personal particulars, edd and gynae's name. the registration is confirmed over the phone and payment can be made at the hospital or through cheque.

hmm...i consider taking pictures too. belly only but not sure if my tummy will look nice as it expands. i know some preggie women's tummies have visible veins.

Hi kk,
Hmm.. taking shoot, i doubt i would go for that, save $$ for the baby... will take nude, so that can indicate the details change in the body... inc.. nipple colour.. i heard from those experienced mum..

Hi anatstasia,
hmm.. ic.. i wonder whether to take the class or not? cos no point attending the class myself.. drop the hint to my hubby but he didnt react leh..
Actually, i have the book with photos indicate v clear n detail, hows to massage, hows to prepare the milk, hows to wash the baby.. i m the one whose read, my hubby dun even touch..
seems like guy still have no idea of pregancy is about...
hmm... visible veins.. depend,my skin is thick still dun see the veins.. but already appear on my right leg ..

anybody planning whether we can bathe after we give birth?Found on the internet that there are some kind of ginger shampoo/shower foam that we can use. Is it safe?Any advice from experienced mothers?

ydnic,
according to my mum, she said strictly no shower, oni use a cloth to dry our body. ( cloth cannot make it too wet n must be hot) not even using the chinese herbal type to boil and use to bath.
However, my mother in law insists to take shower.. my hubby said that i better listen to my mother. Cos my mother in law got this illness, bone rethy. (all the chinese physican stated that she got it bcos she shower during confinement period). duno who to listen..
Cant imagine, may is v v hot season

ydnic,

its reallly up to you. If you want to shower, you can get some herbs from the chinese medicinal shops. Otherwise, endure for 12 days ( dunno why this magical no), then shower.
In any case, it will also depend on your confinement caregiver. If its your mum or mil, better follow their advise to avoid unhappiness and nagging...hee...

Hi ydnic/ivy,

it depends on individually. My mum said the same like Ivy mentioned, 12 days can liao. after that it is up to u , whether u want to shower daily or alternate days

ydnic,
i agreed with ivy too.. really up to you.. i have friens as nurses, some follow the old rules, if you read from newspaper, actress like zoe tay even strictly follow till brushing teeth oso have to use herbal tea..
i oso have friends as nurse, dun follow the rule, even bring the newborn outdoor in the evening for stroll..
However, personally, i witnessed my neighbour, how she got this reh.. after her confinement.. she didnt follow the rule.. so i think i will have to buy those dry cleaning powder to use on that particular mth.. hopefully, i wont go mad.. few gfs advise to tie the hair tied so that u dun even scratch it..

Hi Taurus,

When's your detailed scan? I'm doing mine on 15 Dec at TMC.. sekali same date then we can meet! hahaha~

Wow.. i really cannot imagine if i dun bathe after giving birth.. somemore i intend to breastfeed.. think hygiene is very very important during that period. Luckily both my mother and MIL support my decision to bathe... hehehe

By the way, do u all intend to engage massage ladies? I was thinking, since the good ones are all so hard to book, we might as well book them now. (heard from my fren who is giving birth in Feb06 that most of the good massage ladies are all booked!)Talk abt efficiency.. hahah..

sponge,
i just called to book, the massage lady stated that the actual day can only confirmed once you are inside hospital for delivery..
i think you have to wipe your breast before feeding your baby no matter what.. most pp encounter broken nipple that has to apply cream. Has to use warm water to clean thoroughout...

ivy,
the charge is around $420 to $600. depend the daily charge... some charge $420 for 7 days, my sis got this massage lady, charge $500 for 10 days... my colleague got $600 for 10 days... all depend which one you would prefer ..

hi annie,
i bought 'What to Expect When You Are Expecting'. what i did was leave the book lying on my coffee table. i know my hubby flips through it when he is bored. your hubby may just do the same.

ydnic, i seriously cannot imagine no shower for 30 days. my mum warned me that i must follow the rule. i think i will purposely complain, nag and scratch at my hair and body when the time comes. i have oily scalp and eczema so i hope she will give way by then.

sponge, i do intend to get a massage lady. now depending on my mum to ask around.

ivy, my friend who is due in feb booked 1 malay lady who charges about $40 for each session. that comes with the jamu wrap.