(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

yasmin,

my mum gave us s26 as well when we were young. But she say that its very heaty and ask me not to use s26 this time round. Wat other choice are there? i think i try to bf, if too cannot make it then bobian loh.
As long as you go bf, it does not matter how long it is, can be a month, can be 3 years, BB will still benefit! So lets try our best.

Yasmin,
hmm.. quite expensive to have a baby.. hmm. we all pray hard to have a healthy bb so can bring home together when we discharge..

i duno abt others, i noe that my case is special. i cant drink even milk powder.. have constipation.. then end up drank the red cross cont. milk.. (i m cheap bb)

i think every bb is v individual.. u have to c whether this baby can take or not. my colleague her 2nd bb cant take what her 1st bb take.. got constipation. n the gyne has to try every brand of milk powder on her 2nd bb until noe which is the correct one..

i oso heard from my mil that her 3 sons, the big one can oni drink dou powder ( made of bean, even expensive than milk powder). 2nd son - my hubby drink normal milk powder, 3rd one - only can only drink soya bean drink n not other milks.. strange rite.. hmm..

i told my mil that i intend to go jb to buy milk powder back n she told me her sons' case.. hmm.. difficult to bring up a baby...

Ivy, I've heard that S26 is heaty. I checked with my son's ped and he said that there is no such thing as heaty and cold scientifically. To me, since my son was ok with S26 I gave him that. Actually S26 was started when he was in NICU, the nurses asked me what FM i wanted to give my son I said S26 Gold. Gold is abit more ex than the normal. But so far the babies who have been on S26 put on quite abit of weight. I gave my son this for the same reason. True enough when he went for his checkup after discharge from hospital, he was 2 times his discharge weight. His ped said, "Aiyoh, like this must go on diet." He was just joking.

Annie, ya lor its ex having a baby but its worth all of it and much more.

I hope that this baby will be able to take S26. I really comfortable with it.

Forgot to mention, during yesterday's scan think baby was sleeping. And my HB and I think, we saw the baby suckling the thumb. Hahahahaha.....the big bro sucks the thumb when he was out, this one has started to suck while still inside.

oh gals,
anyone heard of mutton cannot eat?
suddenly have the curl to eat the malay store curry mutton. Check with my colleague, stated that goat meat is bad for bb.. will get flea (duno spelling correct or not)or wat? Anyone heard of it?

Annie, my mum cooked mutton curry last sat leh n i ate some too. I don't think my baby will get flea lah, all the flea will be dead after cooking rite? I think if really in doubt, its best to call and ask your gynae/nurse rather than listen to funny funny advices leh.

Annie, its perfectly ok to eat mutton. Its only after birth that we shld not eat it as it contains alot of fats. Go ahead and eat that malay store mutton curry.

Thanks gals,

yappee... i m going to buy the curry mutton.. n sotong.. (which my mil forbidden me to eat prawn, crab n sotong n clam)...

my salvira almost dripping...

I m back.. great lunch, had curry mutton n the "big head"... my colleague shake their head on me..
Told me if anything happen, i will regret...
hmm.. feel guilty...
think i will have to control for the rest of the mth..

by the way, forgot whose are the one whose mentioned that the milk powder v hard to dissolve. have to add cold water 1st instead of warm / hot water, stir till dissolve, (quite fast) then add a bit of hot water...

hehhehe... my hubby is the one who told me the secret.. hah.. he makes for me every morning.. tats y.. cheers

Annie r u referring to milk powder for pregnant women? I have tried Anmum and i use cold water to dissolve the milk, n i drink it cold too, taste nicer leh

amie,
hmm.. i duno the brand name.. think start with En..
i think i will have to change brand.. cos required 3 spoons per 200ml, so thick... but ok with the taste.. vanilla.. i tried few times.. now can take without puke out.
according to my sis, have to drink until labour..so help to produce milk for breastfeeding..

by the way,
Anyone loves to drink coffee or tea? heard that can only take one cup of coffee a day. (my gyne stated one cup).
Anyone follows? i didn't for the 1st three mths but recently, i take lipton tea and cuppicino or mocha ...
Wonder is it ok for the baby.. noe that the caffine inside is harmful for weaken bone. isnt this period, bb is trying to form more strong bones around the body?

today, i m free cos having stock take. Tomorrow will be busy like hell, beginning of the mth..

like to chat abt this topic, i understand that diff gyne gives diff. pills for us to take.
For my sis, she has folic acid and fish oil for 7 mths.. my gyne only gives folic acid b4 3th mth. Currently, giving me multi vitamin that consist of vit. A.
Did check with the gyne that Vit A is not good for the bb. but according to Dr koh, Vit A can take modersately...
However, i only 1s a week instead of having it daily.. cos too heaty.. (my sis dun have mult vit.like me).She herself buy calcium and take her own..
Anyone here, gyne giving diff thing?

Annie, my gynae gave calcium and multi vits which contains folic too. I buy fish oil from her clinic coz fish oil not in the package. I am taking the multi vits, calcium n fish oil once every day, coz scared baby cannot absorb enough nutrients from the food i take. Its heaty but I make sure I drink alot of water and eat more fruits, n cut down on other snacks like chips or biscuits.

Hi Annie,
My gynae is giving me folic acid from the start and said that shld be taking thruout preggie. Starting from 12 wks have been given multi-vits and calcium tablets. I religiously take the supplements as I hate drinking milk and think that my diet is not nutritious enough for baby. Hope that baby absorbs all of the supps. Also heard from a colleague that calcium pills taken together with fruit juice will be better/easier absorbed by body.

amie,
wah! u r v v brave. i dun dare to cos mult.vit. v v heaty.. my body oso heaty type. i take folic acid n calcium alternate days..
Hmm.. accordg to my colleague, mult vit is mainly for us to have strong healthy body. ..
I eat steam fish every day. I oso try to eat fish or fishball noodle during day time. As for beef, i try to eat 1s a week .. s for pig organ, i oso eat but not often. These are the cheap way to bu bb..
Same for soya bean drink and red bean paste to give baby rosy chin...
According to the baby length from 1.1cm (2mths), 5.5cm (3 mths), till now 13 cm (4mths).. shows that bb grow quite ok.. compare to my sis bb, i think my bb grow quite a lot..
i believe its the food that i eat.. instead of those pills.. heheh...
As for fruit, no orange, watermelon, banana and have to cut down pineapple, papaya... end up, i have no much choices on fruits...

I also heard calcium should be taken with vit c or fruits rich in vit c. Cannot drink coffee or tea or even soft drinks after taking calcium pills or else it will defeat the purpose. Also I was told iron and calcium pills shld not be taken at the same time together too cos both will not b absorbed by the body if taken together.

ee... u sure, amie? i had calcium pill together with e milk 4 pregant woman @6.45am. However, when i reach office, i have a habit to make lipton tea @ 8.30am... u mean the calcium all gone?
my back bone already so painful.. gyne said its common.. my hubby instead me to take calcium.. hopeful can ease the problem..
oh! yes, i also have this teeth bleeding whenever i brush my teeth.. think lack of iron.. or wat

Annie, not that i'm brave lah, i'm just too scared my baby cannot get enough nutrients, in case nutrients in the food i eat are lost by some cooking methods. oh, i still eat oranges leh, in fact its my favourite. I took alot of cold oranges during my 1st pregnancy too, every nite after dinner. Some pple told me its ok, some say too liang for baby, but baby turns out ok. Cold fruits makes me feel better leh. Other than oranges, i also eat apples too.

During my 1st pregnancy i even take birds nest every weekend, coz MIL and my mum took turns to cook for me every alternate week, so i get to drink every week. My MIL brew hot one with red dates n herbs, but i prefer my mum's one which is plain with just some rock sugar, i can put in fridge n drink it cold
Now for this pregnancy, i cannot stand the smell of chinese herbs, so my MIL hv not cook anything for me yet. So far only tasted 2 times of birds nest from my mum.

gum bleeding, could it be lack of calcium? or vit c? I dunno leh, u better check with your doctor. I guess 1hr should be enough for your body to absorb the calcium ba? Last pregnancy gynae gave me iron pills... n i take it 1hr after i take calcium pills.

amie,
yr gyne so good, i already complaint to him.. he said v common.. dun worry.. sigh...
Wah! so early to take iron, maybe your urine indicate lack of it.. i noe that have to take urine test with the strip, if protein too much, will give you medicine to wash out extra protein..
My sis only have her iron pill later stage (8mths).. maybe i eat a lot of fish.. heheh
You try to eat fish...good for bb brain.. n health..

amie,
u r one lucky gal. yr mil so adore u. my mil n my mum didnt brew anything for me... sigh... : (
i oso love orange but i feel v terrible when i had it first 3mth.. now still dun dare to eat... sigh.. same for the fruit juice..

i oni take the american ginseng cory essence (bottle) my hubby will make hot for me.. heheh..

think i will start to eat the xue yu (snow fish) quite expensive after the 8mths... so that bb can absorp fully.. heheh
good for brain..

Annie, no lah, i mean i took iron pills during my 1st pregnancy, not for this one. I had low blood count last time so gynae gave me iron pills. ya lor, trying to eat more fish, but scared some fish contains mercury n afraid i eat without knowing.. thats y i buy fish oil from gynae.

Actually i feel its not necessary to take any chinese herbs leh, just make sure u eat well can liao. r u sure we can take ginseng during pregnancy? I dare not take leh, n not sure what is the difference between pao sheng and ren sheng? I read somewhere its not advisable to take ginseng during pregnancy. When my son was born, I don't allow my MIL to feed him ginseng or any chinese herbs just to b on the safe side, coz i think most r not tested, n what if bought the fake ones since we don't know how to differentiate.

hmm..amie,
u can take ginseng but not all types, only the american ginseng (pao sheng) is suitable for pregancy woman to eat. the main purpose is to bu qi.. especially require late stage..
pao sheng oso warm type, not like other ginseng eg.. korean is v.v heaty.. cannot take..
pao sheng oso v good for rosy chin baby. my mil had it daily for her 1st son, so my hubby's eldest brother got the pink rosy chin even he is already 33 years old..
What i noe, u can take pao sheng drink b4 delivery to give you qi to push the baby. My sis is having coconut drink once a week nowsaday, since her EDD is on 13.12.05. Stated that to clean the baby.. but coconut drink is v v cooling n han.. i noe that those media corp actress had it b4 the day of delivery.. but not chicken esesence, else bleeding non stop.
my gf as a nurse had a bar of chocolate to create energy so that can last her long hour of contraction..
Since you have experience on yr 1st bb.. shdnt have problem..
yes, i heard abt the mercury inside the fish.. thats y impt to buy fresh one..

hi annie, yasmin & amie,

about mutton, i heard it is advisable to avoid totally. it it another old wives' tale...the baby may get fits ('yang dian feng') in future.

oh! dear, anastasia,
i heard abt similar thing.. die lar, i just had for my lunch. 1 medium pc. hopefully, wont be true.. :~(

Annie, don't scare yourself. I think its an old wives tale lah, bcos of the word "Yang". Epilepsy is actually a disorder of the brain nerve cells, not caused by eating mutton. Maybe u can surf the net for more info, or best to check with your doctor.

annie,

i agree wtih amie. dun worry about what you had taken. i also believe it does not cause baby to get fits. some also claim that grass jelly will have same effect on baby.

honestly, if we obey all these, there is really nothing much we can eat.

amie and anastasia,

i totally agree with you. I am following the rule of moderation and eat whatever i wat, since BB will make mummy puke out if does not like it.

hi girls

jus woke up... kekeke.. by the time i wake up is already 1800SG time.. so dun get to return msg immediately.. Sorry!! would love to meet up when i'm back in SG.

Hi Zach..

YOu are reali sweet MUACK!!!*hugs* *hug* kekeke.. will look forward

Hi Amie and fates..

I'm follow the thread almost everyday.... Nice to hear some advise from you girls..
I'm sure there are many MTB like me, not staying in SG but would like to join in the forum and chit chat with MTB... btw fates, my EDD is 7th May, Gynae is patrick o'brien, hospital is Portland hospitand.I'll be gng for my detail scan next wk, 9th Dec and soon will be able to update the gender.

Hi Annie...

My sis has two kids and she attends all sort of ceremony like wedding, funeral, hospital, eat seafood, mutton, blah blah blah... nothing happens to her and kid leh... btw XUE YU(COD FISH) is not snow fish leh... :p cod fish does hve mercury as it is a deep sea fish.. anyway.. eat moderately lor.. dun overeat ok..
like Ivy said she's following the rule of moderation, eat watever she wants.. tt's the point.. if worry too much hor will go crazy leh. Wouldn't wanna deprive myself too much becos of pregnancy. But certainly some food tt we hv to avoid like sashimi, raw eggs, etc... JUs relax...if keep hearing "hearsay" will make u crazy lor.. Jus think of logic
Hope you dun mind me being so Loh soh lor.. jus my personal tots

Gd am gals,
Wah! whats a reliess to hear from all your words..
Ya, i m going to be mad, if i keep follow those old rules... i oso love sashimi and raw egg.. just have to avoid cos raw.. same for salad..
Hi little nana,
Wah! you are in uk.. must be v cool rite now.. i love snowing in winter especially xmas just round the corner..
My hubby n i just decorate our 1st ever xmas tree.. heheh.. i m so happy. i think if i m not pregancy, my hubby wont follow my word to buy a xmas tree... he is those "stone man"
Gals, i have a big problem, after expecting, i have been sleepless nites.. i cant really sleep well, i duno why..
Read from a book that if the baby dun sleep, will affect you from sleepless..
i noe my baby v active,saw this monster moving active on monday from the scanning..
Anyway, to help my problem?

morn to all!

fates kaki,

surprisingly, the triple blood test really not painful leh. i was so nervous that i was chewing my own thumb then realise the chewing part more painful than the needle. hubby was mocking me all the way say i so fierce yet scare of needle wor.

hey ask u all something. my friend jus gave birth in TMC. stayed for 3 days, 4-bedded. baby stayed an extra 2-3 days cause jaundice. ended up hosp bill abt 7k + before medisave. she said package only include 5 hr in the delivery suite, she spend 13 hrs there so its per hr charge. is it like that?

milo,

what package was that? My gynae din tell me that there is time limit on the use of the delivery. Did your fren use c-section? LA? epidural?
How come so expensive?

2nd/3rd time mummies who delivered in TMC, can share your expenses?

ivy,

i didnt really ask her wat package is that but sound like the hosp's charges or something. better to check it out.

hers was a natural delivery with epidural.

sounds very ex to me lor.

2nd / 3rd time mummies,

have u all heard of avent breastmilk storage bag? is it good? someone taking order, 100 pre-sterilised bag for $17

Morning all!

Yo milo! So how many tubes of blood did the nurse took from ya? It's just one time injection right? Now you say not painful, I'll be brave tomorrow

Huh? TMC is per hour charge? Tsk tsk tsk..........

Hi Little_Nana, Okie will update soon!

Hi milo,

Yah ... I heard from my colleague tt the delivery suite is charge by per day or dunnoe how many hours.... coz she took 2 days to deliver and was wheel in the delivery suite twice .... and she was charge twice the rate

I thought mothers will be in observation room first and later to be in delivery suite when we are abt to deliver? I m surprise the delivery itself can take up so many hours.

Wonder what the procedure is like?

Updates!

<table border=1><tr><td><font color="119911">MAY 2006 MTBs</font></TD><TD><font color="119911">EDD</font></TD><TD><font color="119911">Hospital</font></TD><TD><font color="119911">Gynae</font></TD><TD><font color="119911">Baby's Gender</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>kk</TD><TD>25-Apr-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Lim T C</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>angelzwynd</TD><TD>2-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Taurus</TD><TD>3-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr C Y Chen</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>sponge</TD><TD>3-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Juzmaine</TD><TD>6-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>twinkle-starry</TD><TD>7-May-2006</TD><TD>-tba-</TD><TD>Dr C W Lee</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little_Nana</TD><TD>7-May-2006</TD><TD>Portland Hospital , UK</TD><TD>Dr Patrick O'brien</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Annie Quah</TD><TD>8-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Koh C H</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Catherine</TD><TD>10-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>paradox</TD><TD>12-May-2006</TD><TD>Raffles Hospital</TD><TD>Dr Thong PW</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>lee</TD><TD>12-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Chan K H</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>ydnic</TD><TD>14-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>anastasia</TD><TD>17-May-2006</TD><TD>-tba-</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cindy</TD><TD>17-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount E</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>amie</TD><TD>17-May-2006</TD><TD>East Shore Hospital</TD><TD>Dr Heng Tung Lan</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>milo66</TD><TD>18-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr H K Ho</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Eve Lim</TD><TD>18-May-2006</TD><TD>-tba-</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>pooh</TD><TD>18-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ivy Yeo</TD><TD>18-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr C W Lee</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>yasmin</TD><TD>19-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>QooSan</TD><TD>19-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr LC Foong</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>ino</TD><TD>21-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>may2006baby</TD><TD>21-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>chris</TD><TD>23-May-2006</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>fates</TD><TD>24-May-2006</TD><TD>East Shore Hospital</TD><TD>Dr Heng Tung Lan</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>SS1</TD><TD>25-May-2006</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>-tba-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>bijin</TD><TD>26-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Joceyline Wong</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>gabby's mum</TD><TD>26-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount E</TD><TD>Dr Chiew</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Margaret Heng</TD><TD>29-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Y C Goh</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

fates.. the nurse took 3 big tubes from me man! almost fainted when i see the tubes. me still asking why hubby only 2 ...keke

the nurse quite skillful so i didnt feel much pain but i very malu, told the nurse ahead that my threshold very low one so at least she aware mah.

no scare tomorrow. i give u courage!!!

taurus,

really ah? heard mt a charges 190 per night. wonder wat is the rates of tmc.

hi fates,

I m still consider betw MtA and TMC , but i think TMC chances is very high leh.

Maybe after the MtA hosp tour lor which is next week.

hi twinkle,
i think its the package that your clinic offer. For me, my gyne charge $1k for C-section, $500 for natural. Mt A - i have the charge.. u give me your email address. i scan it tomorrow and email to u..
Tmc is quite expensive.. cos my sis is delivering her bb at tmc this mth.. said that $800 apart for diff room type.

twinkle,

how much is the TMC charges? How high? I already told Dr Lee to book TMC for me liao. 4 bedder.Wanted 1 bedder so that hubby can stay, but he will be charge $60 per day, quite waste of money cos he may not be able to sleep well in the hospital.
2 bedder, i scare later no one to stay with me, then it will be too quiet and scary!
so in the end choose 4 bedders, at least got campanionship.

I do have the rates for both Mt A and TMC at home ... I rememebr TMC is only slightly highly then mt A .... not too much diff .... will bring the rates and let u noes tmr....

My gyane charges S$1200 for delivery ... either natural or c-sect .... the only prices difference will be the hospitial bills ...

Taurus,

your gynae no diff for the delivery charges? So good...Ya, i think TMC and Mt A prices are very close so it more depend on which place you like better.

Hi Ivy,

Yah but her charges is slightly on the high side coz most of my friends only pay ard S$500 - S$700 for natural delivery.

But well, so far I still very comfy with my gyane ...so no choice lor....

My friend's pkg lagi good ... S$1200 including unlimited consultation, scanning plus inclusive of delivery charges .... the cheapest I heard so far