(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

i still havent decide to take 1 bedded or 2 bedded.. my hubby wants me to take 1 bedded but i m afraid that he is busy with project@site at that time, he wont be with me..
however, i noe that mt a is quite x for 1 bedded compare 2 2 bedded..
i noe that there will charge higher if u have c-section with ep or ga... charges differently.. my aunty paid for $20k for her son.. becos she was coma at that time..
any good suggestion on how many beds to choose?

annie,

i think dun spend so much on the hosp bill if poss cause only stay a few nights, no pt paying so much. of course the 1 bedder and 2 bedder seems like a few hundreds diff but *touch wood* i was worried if got anything, they will calculate based on 1 bedder than die liao. rather spend the money go for a short trip or spend on baby better.

Mostly probably I will be taking the 1 bedder coz we are expecting alot of visitors during the stay in hospital ...and our recent encounter when we visit our freind (who was being upgraded FOC to 2 bedder) in hospital after delivery ... the whole room is pack with friends and relative and its kinda annoying for her neighbour and we felt quite pai say ... so hubby suggest that we go for the 1 bedder so that wont disturb other ppl ....8)

Hi Taurus,

I agree w u on the visitors . Since only 2-3 days stay hopefully, we decide to tell friends not to visit us there except close family lor

Milo66,
Yap, i am oso afraid anything happend, then the charges will be v v high..
i duno do u notice abt this or not, i alway accidentally saw the nipple of my gfs.. hence, i m afraid that i might end up the same incident like my gfs..
i doubt i would tell all my friends at that point of time. i found that after delivery, gals look v restless n tired and not in top shape .. hhehe..
Anyway, i m content if my hubby is beside me with my 2 childhood gfs.. thats enough..
All other friends will have to wait till bb full mth celebration.. hhehe.. i can dress myself up that day..

mayb can share my bills for TMC for single room charges during my first pregnancy.

i had elective c-sec and stay in single room wif hubby and our bill is $7K.we paid cash abt $3.5K (inclusive of my bb's bill). as wat i understand, single bedded room doesnt come wif package.i choose single bed coz i heard from friends who stay in 2 bedded that the neighours had alot of visitors and also snore when sleeping and she cannt rest well...so its reali up to individual...

as for me, i will be staying in single room again this time coz my hubby will bring my gal and maid to visit me everyday so got more privacy and wont disturb others also.

as wat i know, comparing mt A and TMC for single room, TMC is slighter cheaper..

hope that helps

fates,

still unknown yet. dr say will know in 5th mth wor
cant wait liao. update us when u back from ur visit tomorrow k

milo,

i think your doc is the same as my doc. He say dun need to know so soon. Anyway, the normal tummy scan cannot see easily. Unless i wan to do a v-scan....so i also agree with him to wait till 5th month. Dun want to do v-scan unnecessary.
So you have me to wait together with you! Hee...

Hello...I have been experiencing some chestpain from last nite. Is it heart burn?Anybody experience before? What is heartburn like?

i was discussing with my hubby too. in the end, we think we might be taking a 1-bedder for privacy sake. Also, i would want my hubby to accompany me thru' out. hehehhe. for 2 bedder, hubby cannot stay with me...it can get quite scary if you do not hv a neighbour in a 2 bedder room...

i doubt becos of c-section.Single bed is v costy.. some hosp even charge additional bed and 2 paxs meals even c-section where u cant even eat anything.. like mt A oso d. (unless there isnt vancy on single bed) then move u to double bed (will be cheaper). Those jabs inject to your body during c-section oso charge..
like for my colleague case, she opt for fully sleep so cheaper to my male colleague's wife. She opt for ep jab n they chose the same hosp same bedded .. end up my male colleague's wife has to pay extra...
natural labour oso involve whether got complication or not, use of vacuum or not, all diff charge.

ivy,

haha i have u to wait with me tog. now feeling so excited abt it. my detailed scan is scheduled on 30 dec, sort of a new year gift for me and hubby. when is ur next appt?

pooh,

ya lor $7k a lot leh... for my first pregnancy, it was march this year.. so there was a fee hike in TMC. I stayed in a single bedder too with my hubby for 3d2n. And total bill was $2-3k (nearing $3k)... and after medisave deduction etc, it was $1k+ in cash. I had natural delivery without epidural or assistance(forcep etc..) and I was in the delivery suite for less than 5 hours..

i will choose TMC single bedder again... wanted my bb son to stay with us in the room with bb.. so that the whole family will be together rite from start... but dunno whether they allow leh... any idea...

milo,
wah! your detailed scan is on 30 dec.. is it at TMC? My will be on 22 dec.. kind of close to xmas, oso feel scare and anxious over it..
hopefully, nothing goes wrong..

i guess my fee was expensive coz i have GA jab (fully asleep; u have to pay for the GA's doc fee also) and for single bedded for 3 days stay is abt $2.2k (without acompanion charges yet) and another thing is also the deduction for CPF was lower compared to now (mine bill is based in Oct 2003). if bb have jundice and need to do test, photolight, etc...then there will be charges also.. my bb need to photolight for two days.

my friend who gave birth in TMC, natural no epid and bb no jaundice (dont have to go photolight so cheaper) and she stayed in single bedded (this yr april) and she paid cash $600 only wif her acompanion charges of $60 per day.

poohy,
Wah! quite cheap! but u r lucky gal. stay inside the room less than 5hrs. my gf had her natural delivery at mt A. Stayed 2 bedded.. Her labour time drag abt 11 hours.. paid $4k for all.. after mediasave still have 2 pay $2k plus..

for those who has ask me for the massage lady, here u are.

Freda Tel: 68990178
Siti Tel: 94562100

Apparently these two aunties are the common ones that my collegues used. Freda is abit expensive but one of my collegue has her stomach flatten after 3 rd session. However she belong to the very petite type.

So sorry, I do not hv their charges but if you are interested , you may check with the ladies directly.

Hi fates..

thnks for the update
will cont reading the forum kekekeke....will post when topics is relevant..

Hi twinkle-starry..

How are you doing?? Long time no see I've tried ur receipe.. Mee goreng and char kway teow.... taste good.. kekeke.. but w/o yummy yummy chilli...
My uncle brot me sweet sauce... so finally can cook liao.

Thanks twinkle-starry,
I have save the contacts on my mobile phone..
Like to check with you gals, anyone experience mensa pain cramp? I have this exact feeling cramp rite last nite .. still have it now.. really disturb my sleep..
is it normal?

milo,

my next appt will be 14th Dec. Have not booked the detailed scan date. Is it easy to book as in always got date available?

Hi little Nana,

I am in a workshop for the last 2 week and report sick for 4 days ago. hahaha. Hips pain lah.
Glad you enjoy the local food. Now i guess yr cooking skills is now able to help you curb your cravings.

Ivy,
i think mt a and tmc have the detailed scan, but according my gynea, he prefer TMC cos he stated the machine is v detail compare to others..
Not easy to book apptment for TMC cos office hour only 9 to 5pm and saturday up to 1pm.
I have made the apptment on 29 Nov, the lady told me all saturday for dec are fully book till after mid jan..
if you want 2 the apptment, have to fall in the week 20-22 (to be exact), the letter that my gynea did state week 18-22.. but according to him, week 20-22 is more exact.. if u call the department, u can ask the gal.. i told her abt what my gynea said, she calculate the week for me and squeeze me on 22.12.05.
So, ivy, now, which week are u in?

annie,

i am taking TMC. Weekdays are no problem for me, can take mc to go for the detailed scan.
I am into 17th week now.

ivy,
if i m not wrong, should be fetic unit (duno spell correct or not).
For me, i will take time off. doubt they will give mc.. awaiting time is 45 mins before scanning. 30 mins for the scanning..

i forget the contact no.. y not u email your contact no. i sms u 2 9 the contact no. u can call them tomorrow to put apptment first, then on 14 dec which is your week 19. Must ask your gynea to give u the letter. Otherwise, might overshot the exact week (20-22)..
my email add: [email protected]

Hi Annie,

its okie, i think my gynae will be able to book for me in time for scanning. In fact, maybe he have already done so cos he told me that he will tell me the date for the scanning when i next visit him. The good thing abt his clinic is that they do everything for you. Dun have to worry or do anything on my end. =)

You can try to ask your gynae for an mc lah. Like my hb always say, pregnant ladies got privileges mah! haha

Ivy,
heheh.. great that your gynae help u to do everything. My gynea clinic will book the hosp n call in when the date to admit.. only the detailed scan need to call myself..
no! my boss dun like pp to take mc... i have book my check up all in the evening time.. else duno how he will reacts ...
luckily, my office is near to tmc. just take a bus from balestier road and i think will reach there 15 mins time..hehhe..

Ydnic,
i duno how to describle heartburn.. should be close to feeling "bored' around chest around or something like that.. u feel uncomfortable around your upper body..
i only noe that i feel better when i drink the american ginseng cory. essence .. i told my chinese physican.. n he stated common for pregant woman... even my gynes stated its common.. usually only occur when your tummy become bigger (later stage)... for me, i have v weak qi thats y.. ..up till now, i still dun have the "xi pulse" like other pregant woman..

hi Annie,
i think u shld be into yr 18 wks right? "Xi mai" can be determined already even the qi is weak. I did mine just early this week and can detect liao.

aiyo my ms came back again.. feel so terrible
tot finally over but it decides to visit me again

Hi twinkle,
i m in week 17+, shd be week 18 next week..

no. .. i went to chinese physican last weekend, she cant detect, then i had to tell her.. cos i caught a cold.. she said my qi v v weak..
yap, normally, other pregant woman can detect, my younger sis can detect hers in around 3 mths time..

milo66,
Whats is ms by the way? how to determine. i came across this word in the pregancy book that i brought, couldnt figure out why?

Hi Annie,

my qi also very weak and i went few days ago. he can detect mine liao. i am also 17 + wk.

maybe u tried again this week ,

Annie and Twinkle Starry
what is "Xi mai"?

Little Nana
U "Muack" my baby Zach hah? Hee hee...I better change my nick to Zach's mum then!

Amie
We encourage each other for BF this time. I didn't succeed last time round too. What pump do you use? I have Avent manual, but thinking whether I should invest in Medela PIS.

Looks like pretty soon all of us will know the gender of baby, so exciting! I think my detail scan should be around 8 Jan. Keeping fingers crossed!!

haha...ms is morning sickness.

anyway, poohy....so cool to hear that you delivered so smoothly...without epidural and assistance and only 5 hours...any tips to share?? Or you just lucky...hee..i am really hoping not to do epidural. sigh.

milo,

i tink ms is a on off thing. Mine is very funny. It stopped for a week, then last fri my visit to the gynae, he asked me still got or not. I said nope, then the next sat start again!! and continue for a couple more days...Damn sian. But i now try to look at it this way: must be BB dun like the food so telling muumy to get rid of it by donating it to the toilet bowl.haha...

ivy,

i tot ms shld be totally over by week 16. last week i was so happy that ms finally gone, didnt have such a good appetite for ages so keep stuffing myself with food and put on 2 kg but this week, it came back to haunt me again.. totally dampen my mood

was consoling myself that baby helping mummy to lose some weight...haha

Hi SS1,

"Xi mai' is the pregnancy pulse that can be detect when the chinese physican feel at yr wrist.
like in the movie

Yap yap,
those chinese old movie or those empire movie got this congulation on the ladies who has xi mai..

oic.. ms = morning sickness.. hmm..
milo66,
i think its the qi inside your body.. cos once you expecting, the chinese physical stated there is another body that will mess your qi.. since there is an object inside the body. qi has to flow around the water bag instead of straight through like last time..
I think you can try 13 tai bao, v good .. shd b taken after week 16, to stabile the baby qi and oso ease your ms problem.
i dun have ms problem if no migraine attrack, however i have to avoid noodles that is yellow in colour.. due to pregancy, gastic function slower to promote to absorp all nutrient to the baby.. so yellow colour noodle has the effect of bloating your tummy..
Same goes to soya bean drink n fried bean thing.. try to drink soya bean drink warm and avoid fried bean thing...
take care

milo,

ms no confirm say bye bye after trimester 1. Just that it supposed to get better. Just continue to eat whatever you wat, and if do merlion then take a rest and eat again later.

Last night my mum brew cordy with black chicken and wolf berries for me, have a very sound sleep after that. It was yummy too cos the wolf berries made the soup very sweet. Maybe you can try it too cos my mum say it will make BB and yourself stronger.

SS1, i bought the Avent pump last time, i think this time i'll still get the avent pump since some mummies say in other threads that its quite good, n i find its cheaper too. Hv given away mine liao. Me going for blood test next monday... hope can confirm baby's gender, then i can start tidying up my son's old clothes

hey mothers...i was searching through the previous threads for the ante-natal classes info...remember someone putting up a link for both mt a and tmc's classes? Will someone help??? or remind me where?? hee..thanks.

went for my check-up and blood test today...not painful at all..the nurse who draw my blood is reali skillful till i dont feel anything at all !!

my scan today show that the bb is 15 weeks' old and is 9.2cm...as for the gender, gynae say most likely is a princess !!! me so happy..

this shows that the birth chart is nt accurate too coz it shows that i should have a boy.hehe

hi all!

wow i had a field time reading ALL the discussions in this thread! Really learnt quite a bit from you ladies.

Lemme try to recall what has been discussed.. ok regarding the diapers topic, my frens advise me NOT to buy alot of diapers at one shot..cos 1stly, the hosp will provide sample packs..2nd, we never know which brand our babies will be allergic to. However, as baby's skin is the most 'vulnerable' during the 1st few mths, best bet is on Mammy Poko, as its the most gentle on the skin. Quite ex though.

Alamak somehow only manage to recall the diapers' topic..hahah.. being pregnant leads me to have ultra short-term memory ;p

Oh yah ladies, do you all intend to sign up the antenatal classes already? I'm thinking of signing up with Mt A.. not sure abt the availability of classes in Jan.. if there are slots, shall we sign up tog (for MTBs int. in Mt A classes la..hee)

I'e been feeling alot of my little one's movements..esp at night. It feels like.. little taps in my stomach..cant describe the feeling exactly..but the movements always make me smile..
Have you all experience the movements already?

Hi sponge, very long never see your post already ya :p How many weeks you at now? So good.....can feel your baby alredy!

My gynae appointment went well

Three tubes of blood was collected, and gee I was so scared till almost teared! Luckily hubby was holding on to my hands...heh heh..