(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

yasmin,
u like gal? i want a boy.. tats my wish.. hopefully can get it confirm on this coming 22 for the detail scanning.
john little, all the bb clothings are so expensive.. dun intend to buy new one.. looking for friends to give old one.. hhehe..
all babies grow up v fast.. no point to buy ...

by the way, gals,
any good suggestion to buy baby products, cheap and lots of variety? Able to give the location / address or contact no?
like to buy a wheelchair that is able to lay flat so that can buy the nb on it, easier to transport around taking bus or train..

actuali the size of ur tummy doesnt determine the size of ur bb. during my first pregnancy, my tummy sort of look small even when i going to deliver..but i never expect that my gal weigh 3.3kg !! and big tummy also doesnt mean that the bb will be big either.

as for the post-natal massage, if u had c-sec, pls dont massage until much later....coz if can cause 'tear' at ur internal wound ...happen to my friend..she had to go for an opt again to 'stitch' her internal wound....scary !!

as for nursing bra, its gd to buy better support bra coz our breast gets bigger and need more support..if nt will have sag breasts!! i was told that should nt buy underwired bra for nursing bra(get be veri uncomfortable esp for breastfeeding). shld get those like sports bra without underwired coz have more support .

Annie,

I have plenty of hands-me-down from my sis in law. So won't be getting any nb clothes (hope my hands won't get itchy when i go shopping!)

I am waiting for pple to give me those big items hahaa.. but seems like no hope. So probably still got to spend on those items like pram, playpen, etc.

I am even thinking who can pass me their milk bottles.. hmmmm...

pooh,
agreed with u, i had one sports bra... but can oni use for breast feeding.. currently, have to wear wired support cos your breast already getting heavy, will sag if u dun wear well..

actually, our breast will sag not matter what we wear.. the important part, u have to firm it... cos we lost one important chemical inside our breast after delivery..

kk,
same here, looking for friends to give me bb old clothes, colt... think still need to buy a lot of things.. most of my friends are having the 2nd baby..

Annie,

Initially my sis in law has the playpen.. then she and my brother passed the playpen to a colleague after their 3rd child. Then this colleague passed to another person. Now the playpen dunno where liao

Guess for big items, i won't get them so early as what i heard is that for playpen, the bb dun actually need it. They can sleep on simple mattresses first. For pram, they dun need it until they grow bigger. So i may delay the purchase of such items first.

Most crucial are the essentials, like milk bottles.

Hi kk,

for stroller, i noticed many not that suitable for NB. and those for NB seems not many choices.

U hv good tips on this?

hi twinkle starry,
actually there are strollers that are cater for newborns. You can check out this few brands: Graco and Combi. Mothercare has other brands which can convert from pram to stroller. Not sure whether this brand : Lucky Baby can do the same magic tho coz it's a relatively cheaper brand than those that i've mentioned.

Hi mummies, for those interested in antenatal class in TMC, the details are as follows:
Course duration: 6 wks

When to book: 20th wk of gestation

Weekeday classes - 7pm to 9pm

Weekend classes -
Sat: 2-4pm, 4.30pm to 6.30pm, 7-9pm,
Sun: 10.30am to 12.30pm, 1-3pm, 3.30pm to 5.30pm

Course fees
Weekday: $168 (TMC births)/$189 (non-TMC births)
Weekend: $189 (TMC births / $210 (non-TMC births)

I've signed up for the 21/1 course...sat, 2-4pm. Not sure whether u gals are gonna sign up for the same course. if yes, look forward to seeing you gals!

kk,
yap, thats true, but i wish to get a stroller and for the car seat belt for nb baby.. heard from my friends, 3 days after borned baby has to go back to hospital for injection. I dun think my hubby would be able to handle without the above 2 items.. i wont be able to go due to confinement..

ino,
Thanks for the information. but any idea where to find mothercare? is it v. expensive?

Hi Annie,

Be prepared to pay for those prams that comes with car seats...can cost more than $400-500. The car seat provided can only last for a few months (think there's some wt limit. usu it's 22 lbs. bb would be about 6-9 mths?) i would prefer to buy a car seat that can last from newborn to toddler.

I know there are mothercare outlets in centrepoint and plaza sing.

btw, you can check out this website for lucky baby strollers. I like one of the function that makes the handle reversible...ie u can see the baby while u push the stroller! hehehhe
http://www.taime.com.sg/index.php?option=content&task=blogcategory&id=29&Itemid=157

pooh,

wow(!). That's an assurance ;) Ur first baby was 3.3kg!
Could i ask if you went thru' normal delivery or c-section? I'm wondering if baby is too heavy (maybe more than 3kg), would it be harder to 'push' out, esp for first one?

can't wait for my scan... duno howz my baby doing... hmmm...

ino,

do you know how many couples will there be in your 21/1 class? I am asking if my hubby can fit into the same schedule, if yes, then i join you there!

Hi twinkle and Annie,

Ya i do find strollers still big for nb. I guess if my bb is still pretty light and i can handle, i will just buy those straps that are able to strung round the bb at my front. Also, save the trouble of pushing the stroller heee...

Hi Ino,

Unfontunately i am not able to join the class 2-4. we were thinking on 7-9 on sat. my husband got reservist during Feb and not sure what time can come back. therefore we were thinking of choosing the 'safe' schedule 7-9pm.

Hi ladies! Wow...so many postings yesterday!!!

Just wanna share some of my experience on:

Stroller/Pram:
Most of the strollers suitable for NB onwards are generally more exp than those for 3mths or 6mths onwards. I guess it's for the lie flat function or something. But anyway, we had a stroller that's suitable for NB, but we didn't use it until ard 3 mths coz it's generally easier to carry the baby than carrying the stroller when we're out. This is esp so when sometimes baby fuss and we ended up carrying baby + stroller!! More siong!! So maybe when u shop ard, suitability from NB is not a must then if you see other models that you like. NB can be carried using sling easily. Oh BTW, do check out yahoo auction coz sometimes can get good deals there.

Cot:
If u have a room nicely done up for the baby, can invest in a cot which is convertible to toddler bed. Or else, get a playpen first and see if the baby wanna sleep in one. Some have to rely on sarong which is not really good for bb's backbone. The playpen can be used for sleeping until when the baby can sit up (ard 4 mths?), the u can decide whether to invest in a cot or just let the baby sleep on mattress.

kk:
Don't get hand-me-down milk bottle, buy new ones. Bottles can scratch easily and not so hygenic.

Twinkle-starry:
Well described on the baby movement! That's exactly how I felt and was trying to explain to hb last time! Anyway, I felt the 1st baby moved ard 15 weeks, but this one now 16 weeks still dun feel it yet. Keeping fingers crossed that it's b'coz 1st one was a boy, more active!!

Annie:
I find that the normal sale for baby items are quite standard most of the time, i.e. 20% off, unless there's baby fair (depending on which dept store) / motherhood fair (in June) etc, then maybe got special deals on certain things.I also heard that the baby hyper store ard ubi/kaki bukit area are quite complete, can check it out.

Cracky nipple:
I also experience that leh!! Thought it's just me, didn't know it happens to quite a lot of preggies. Anyway, I didn't peel off during my 1st pregnancy, so at the delivery suite, I asked the nurse how come like that coz preparing to BF. Then the nurse said it's the discharge and she used cotton wool with water to help me rub off the peeling. It hurt like hell and I could see blood!! Anyway, I had this painful feeling when I BF later, and then 2 weeks later I discovered that I had mastitis (a type of infection) which led to breast abscess! I tell u, the pain was worse than labour!! Anyway, what I'm trying to say is that please be careful when u peel the skin, dun end up like me. This time I had the same cracky problem and I didn't do anything to it. But last week when I showered after I went swimming, the dried skin can be easily rubbed off when I bathe. Maybe u can try this method?

Sleeping position:
I read somewhere that it's advisible to sleep on the left side with a pillow between our knees. Ecourage blood flow or something. Lying on the back esp during 3rd trimester is a no no.

JL Sale @ EXPO:
Went there last week, didn't buy much. Got some baby items for sale, but not very cheap. Saw big items like cot, playpen, Mclaren strollers (quite good brand-can buy), car seat, Tolly Joy products (almost same price like normal sale), toiletries, baby clothes. I also saw nursing bra (with a flap for easy BF) for $8 at the lingerie dept. No harm trying for that price. Happy shopping!

Ino,

Thanks for your helpful information.. i think i will buy the two items seperately .. else v v expensive..

I have just send a email to ask them to quote for the price.. hopefully, they will reply..

KK,
I found that kiddy place got sell those milk bottle that can use up to difference stage..

Annie,

Yah, i saw the milk bottles. Have u taken at a look at metro at compasspoint too? I find the milk bottles there more variety than what kiddy palace offers.

any of u experience LOW blood pressure right now? I used my dad's blood pressure machine yesterday nite to check (tink he bot a omron one), and to my shock, my bp's lower than normal(!)... don't feel faint/dizzy though. Hope nothing's wrong... *sighz*...

Just called and chat with my sister, she stated that she went for last check up on monday, her gynea stated that her p. side already open up to 0.5cm.. she doesnt feel pain for the contaction..
gynea stated that anytime of this week.. my sis told me jesu bless her..

hi matched gal

i had a c-sec nt becoz my gal is too big , just that her head din 'sit' properly on my cervix and i dont feel the contraction at all !! luckily she arrive just two days earlier than the EDD..

Hi girls

Am excited as I will soon go for mt triple test and full detailed scan, I wonder if my obs will do a 3D scan then I can see my baby's face. I managed to see my no 1 when he was 20 weeks so wondering if I can see no 2 face...

Any of you going for deatiled scan yet? Want to share the experience?

Gabby,
Wah! got 3D! so envy..

1 of my gf told me she is under Mt E. package so can view 1 time 3D. However, her package is so expensive ... $1600 only for 10 visits..

Hi Pooh,

Did your gyane give your the date for the detail scan or did you choose yourself?? My understanding is to best do it at wk 20 ... coz I have a gf who did hers at wk 18th and at tt time her BB not fully developed yet ... so the detail scan showed that her BB got missing heart valves and caused her cry her eyes swollen for 2 full weeks until she go for the re-scan at wk 20 to determine that her BB is OK ....

TT day my hubby was vacuming the floor in the bedroom ...so noisy and can feel my BB kicking vigorously inside .... hahhahah...I tell hubby either the sound scare BB or he is complaining inside .... hahahah .... I have to keep smoothing my tunmmy n tell BB that daddy is vacuming ...no need to feel scare ... 8)

By the way, read that most of yous gals are experiencing sore breast which doesnt happen to me at all right from the beginning ...most of my gal friends also experience sore breast..so I am wondering if I am abnormal .... is there any one out there like me huh??

pooh,
i duno.. according to the tmc, the detail scanning is weeks 18-22.. however, my gynea wants me to scan only on week 20.. cos he stated that everything is fully developed by then..
i read from the book for pregancy.. week 18 - baby already have full nerves and muscle like adult.. oni havent connect to the brain.. hands and legs can move around and even formed fists (hand) but not control by the brain..
If you feel uncomfortable,call n change appointment..

hi ladies i'm new here

i looked thru' the threads and noted that most of you did not put on much weight...
i went for my gynae checkup this morning and guees what, i've already put on 5.5 kgs! this is getting a bit worrying for me, not sure if i'm really eating too much?

i'm 16 going on 17 weeks now, but have always had a good appetite even though i feel nauseaus too like everyone else in the first trimester. i don't think i'm eating more than what i used to, but somehow the weight just piled on...

i worry i will become very big and fat when i reach full term, and that is not healthy for myself or the baby. btw, my tummy is not very big according to most pple, so the weight gain has gone to my arms and legs... how sad

i try to eat now only when i feel hungry...

Twinkle-starry
You made my day ah!! I wish I have a girl this time, but detail scan will be some time in Jan. Keeping fingers crossed!! You scan already?

gummie,

For the weight gain, if you are pettie before preggie, then i think you can afford to put on more. Maybe you want to exercise by walking more so that you will not put on some much at a short time.

SS1,
not yet scan leh. my detail scan will be end Dec. currently bb gender not known as bb dun want to open leg big big leh.

hi matched girl,
my gynae says its normal for pregnant women to have lower blood pressures, dun worry. i was concerned too so i asked her this morning...

hi Ivy,
i am average-sized (maybe i look petite to some cos i am short), and tend to be on the bah bah side... i put on weight most easily around the arms and thighs... i think i have to prepare myself for a vigorous weight loss mission after next May...
btw how soon can one resume normal exercise (like jogging) after childbirth? 1 month?

gummie,
i think you might want to check with your gynae after birth to confirm when you can start to jog again. My frens some say must wait 4 months, whilst some start after 1st month.
I think it depends on each person's condition.

hi gummie,

Thanks for helping to answer
Was quite worried to see my blood pressure so low, and hv not seen my gynae for 3 wks oreadi, quite worried about baby's growth, so felt rather worried. Most of my galfrens said their blood pressure went up high after they started having good appetite & all though. Though i was the only odd one out ;)

Actually, tink according to TCM, it's got to do wif not having enuff 'qi', dat's y blood pressure low. Duno if i can start taking 'bu'. I'm exactly 16 wks, and starting on my 17th wk tomorrow, same as u

Hmm.. i still havent put on weight.. sigh.. wonder is it normal or not.. my tummy can be seen but still can wearing as usual..
Hmm.. i was advised by my gynea not to walk a lot but to swim a lot to help to control the weight gain and oso helps to smooth all those sores... backache, legs..

hi taurus,
i also dun experience sore breasts. they just feel more firm, like before period. is there a change in your bra size? i think i may be one of those whose breasts may not enlarge until bf.

Hi Matched Gal,

I think if your blood pressure is not very very low ...should be ok coz my gyane also commented that my blood pressure is a little low but she says its normal for pregnant women .... so unless urs is really really low...then its better to call your gyane to check ...

Hi Annie,

I also didnt gain much during my last check up at wk 17 ... I only gained ard 1.5 kg .... but my tummy is pretty obvious or rather very bloated .... and alot of ppl commented that my tummy looks bigger than usual preganant women ... very tempted to go swimming but scare looked like a puffy fish in water ....hahahah

hi anastasia,

I still wearing my current bra even though freinds commented that my breast does look bigger but I myself dun find much different ley.... tts why thinking if I abnormal ... keke .... and keep hearing ppl tok abt sore breast and larger or darker nipple which mine still looks the same ....

Hi Taurus,

alot also commented that my tummy is much bigger than normal . i just bought my swimsuit but i dun know do I hv the courage to swim with such a huge tummy leh. A bit paisay

Taurus
Swimming is good leh... dun worry about looking like puffy fish in water, dun think can tell unless it's 3rd trimester already. Worse come to the worse, like me, last week went swimming, felt like all eyes were on me when I "emerged" from the water. They must be thinking "Whoa! This is one fat lady ah!!" I was thinking, "who cares, it's good for preggie, just wait till my tummy is bigger then u all dun faint! Haha!"

Twinkle-starry
This is your first bb? so boy or girl also ok right? I'll pray for a girl.

SS1,

yeap first baby , either sex is ok lah. But if hv boy first then less pressure already. personal preference is girl lah. so never mind lah leave it to fate lor

Hehe mummies! Maybe next time we organise a swimming outing. Then they dunno which fat lady to look at!

Twinkle-starry
Ya, 1st baby either boy or girl also ok lah. Good if it's boy if your PIL are the traditional type lo. Anyway, just hope baby is healthy hoh? You'll be able to see a lot of "organs" during detail scan, though all black and white and sometimes we even thought how does the sonographer know what she's looking at? Well, I guess that's their profession! I have check up tomorrow, but dun think there'll be any scan coz only 16 weeks.

hi Taurus,

Okie, maybe i wait till next wk go checkup, ask my gynae c how. Or maybe i call tomorrow and ask. Actually b4 i was preggie, i was oreadi low bp. Now even lower (90/60)
Not feeling dizzy/faint though, so hope nothing wrong.

Envy all of u going swimming. I've been trying to learn swimming, but got preggie, so stopped learning liaoz. Bot a 2-pc swimsuit, but tink can't wear liaoz... haha...

twinkle -star,
Yes, i agreed.. but depend, nowsaday, the in laws might not be so old fashion.. my gynea stated 90% is a boy. cross finger ... cos detail scanning on 22 dec.

Zach,
Oh ! yes! we should... hahha.. then wont feel so obvious and feel embrasse...

matched gal,
Try to drink american ginseng cory. essence.. good for bu qi.. i have it almost every day.. warm - not heaty or cold..

matched gal,
u buy this from medical hall, those 6 packs cost abt $18 - $20. (pao shen chong cao jing). remember don't buy with the "chicken" in it. cos heaty with chicken. Without chicken, you can drink daily.
Not bad taste, u have to make hot by using hot water in a bowl then wait for about few mins..