(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

annie,

u have book the massage lady? they accepted ur booking? i also very ks but scare later she say too early now.

hi there

Any of you in the 16th week of pregnancy like me rite now? Have your tummy "started" to 'show' very obviously already? How about other parts like thigh, hip? For me, tummy already out, but not very obvious... but thigh & hip still about the same. Colleagues tend to compare me with other preggie colleagues (who are 'showing' very much more obviously even tho they are about 3 or 4 mths only).. Anyone can share? Thks

Hi Matched gal,

Me too.. tummy showing real slow... so my colleague kept guessing that i should get a boy cos hers show very fast and hers is a girl.

Today into my 19th week. Recently when i sleep on my back, then i notice the bulge in tummy. Previously, it was still quite flat. When i lie on my sides, i can see one lump moving here and there. But now, it become more "solid" and hard.

Thigh and hip still pretty much the same. Arms and other parts too. Changes are slow for me..

milo66,
Yes, i called just now, after sponge stated might be hard to get.. i called this lady, recommended by my colleague, she had her this may.She slimmed a lot, thats why.. but her charge is high. $60 per session. My sis engages this lady $500 for 10 days. She will start her massage end of this mth (2 weeks after delivery).

Anatasia,
Wah! at least your hubby does so.. mine confirmed no. i even throw questions on him and he cant answer one of them.. he has time on his computer game..

Exactly! same as you, my hair oso oily scrap. worst, i feel itchy if i dun wash alternate days.. however, i think i have to bear with it, else next time suffer like my mother in law.. no way, her fingers starts 2 bend or even curve.. docs stated there isnt any cure for her case.. chinese physican stated that she took shower during her confinement..
even my hubby oso wants me to follow, dun take shower.. i witness pp with such cases.. no choice..
1 thing for sure, i will clean my wounds few times a days..if natural.. if c-section, have to clean the wound with the medicine or cleanse given..

Hi, regarding massage ladies...I remember paying $350 for 7 days. She is ok. The 1 good thing is that aft the massge, my breasts became so engorged and had very good supply of BF.

My baby's movements are becoming more obvious. Can now feel from the outside too. HB is delighted.

I also have some tightening feeling which always shift abt. Sometimes on the right just below the rib cage and sometimes on the left. Sometimes near my bladder. Funny hor.

I went to OG Orchard last week, bought 2 tops ard $70. Quite trendy and will be using them for christmas parties.

Next visit to gynae only 28 Dec. Need to wait so long to see baby. Yesterday, my son was super cute. He took my HB's camera phone and clicked on the camera. The image he saw was similar to the images of our baby scan and he became so excited. He was so proudly showing us 'See baby'. Very cute!

matched gal,

me currently in 16 weeks and 2 days liao. can see a little bulge at the tummy area. i have some colleagues commenting my tummy big then some comment small. diff ppl saying diff things till i dunno who to believe.

yesterday while bathing notice that the veins at my breast becomes more prominent. nipple starts to crack also. any1 like that?

hi kk,

you mean show slower will mean boy?
Hehe, i'm going for my scan next wk, duno if can tell a not... Do you know if your bb is a boy or girl already? Some say if the mommy is vain, may be girl. If the mommy look very run-down, may be boy. Duno how true...

Actually, when i lie flat, tummy also doesn't show much. But it's 'bigger' lump, compared to last month though.

My meals are still small meals (actually depending whether i got appetite on that particular day(!) ;p ) But feel hungrie every 3 or 4 hrs... and very tired also, hehe

hi matched gal & kk,
i read this information from somewhere, personally, i dont think so.. stated that only those whose is real first time pregant will have small size compare to those whose already pregant before or miscarriage or abortion before.
I have small tummy, still can wear my usual clothes and skirts, only few need to unwind the button or zip a bit..
I also found that my tummy getting harder this time... i still go for massage...

Hi Yasmin,

Me has tighting feeling too. Sometimes left, sometimes right.

Hi Milo,

Yes, Veins become more prominent for me over the past 2 weeks. I didn't notice until my hubby told me. In fact not just the breast area, but also the whole patch above.

Nipples started to crack long time ago. This is the only fast change i noticed.

hi milo,

Yah, veins inside breasts also more obvious liaoz... Actually i'd to up my bra-"length", but cup size haven't changed leh. Any no longer can wear wired bras, very uncomfy...

Haven't seen any "cracks" yet leh... Izit bcos of skin too dry? My gynae recommended me to use those body wash which are pH-balanced (eg Simple, Cetaphil, Dove) cos my skin is rather sensitive...

Hi Matched gal,

Like Annie, i also dun believe what my colleague commented haha..

I think it may also be due to a person's build. For us who are petite in size, changes may be slower. One of my colleague told me her tummy only showed at 6th mth when she had her no. 1!

I have only just started to wear my maternity tops. I still wear normal track pants which can stretch, from OG.

I have never been vain leh. Now also no haha.. i look run down everyday instead
I dunno how to look vain due to my work nature haha..

I am going for my detailed scan this friday. Actually i am supposed to know the sex of bb during my last appt which was 15.4 week. But the bb doesn't cooperate so too bad then :p

I can take heavy meals, but still end up hungry, sometimes 1 hr later :p I wonder where my food all goes to???

Hi Annie,

My tummy is real obvious even i m 1st time pregnant. Compared to my collegue who is due anytime , my tummy is half the size of hers liao. Depend on individual i think, even not putting on weight my tummy is showing obvious.

kk & matched gal,

the cracked nipple looks alittle disgusting hor. i saw some milky discharge ard the nipple and tried to clean it with a cotton bud, ended up whole piece of black skin came out. tried applying the nipple cream and felt abit painful. think crack till very serious.

Milo,

Yoo, not only cracked, but dark red/brown in colour. Real disgusting!

I dun see any milky discharge from nipples, but i am able to peel some flaky stuff off them, and the flakes are white in colour. Dunno whether it is discharge dried up already.

Now also cannot touch my nipples. Feel painful leh.

hi annie,

wah, u still can fit into your normal clothes ah? Mine can only zip halfway... so wearing my "old" clothes rite now (the ones which i wore when i was much heavier, like 4 or 5 yrs ago). But getting tired of my clothes, cos i only have a few pieces to wear now. Tinking of buying new ones, but duno if shd buy maternity rite now, i look weird in them, though...

yasmin,
r u the one whose has the same gynea with me? sorry, tend to b forgetful nowsaday.. my gynea at tpy DR koh C H. my apptment oso on 28 this mth.. evening time
maybe can meet..
Hi milo,
Shouldnt be painful. I had mine few weeks ago.. i oso found few new like pores around the nipple, become big n pop up..
Same as you, i only increase my bra size from B75 to B85, still the same "B". Why not you buy the breast cream from phy. for pregant woman.. cos some may experience itchy or painful nipple in later stage.. the cream help.. (1 of my gf used so).
Anyone with obvious veins on the leg?

Matched gal,

Like Annie, i can also fit in my normal clothes. Just find my skirts tight and my dresses becoming slightly tighter.

I only started wearing my maternity tops and dresses recently. There are lots of room for movement haha..

U can try to get those babydoll tops which are bigger at the tummy area. They look sweet and make us look young too

Maternity pants still look very big on me, so i haven't got any yet. I find maternity tops more suitable for my size now. Maternity dresses still on the big side.

Hi milo,
I asked the nurse at my gynae's clinic abt the nipples. She said its normal and wanted me to clean them regularly. But it did not cos me too much of pain. And mine too had darkend skin that came out from both sides of nipples but on different occassions.

Hi kk, I too experience the veins on my chest area. This is something I did not experience for my 1st baby.

My tummy is quite obvious. I have put on abt 2 kg already. Its no longer flat when I lie down. I remember that for my 1st baby gynae advised me not to sleep lying on my back as it will hinder the blood flow. I try to sleep on my sides but somehow will go back to lying on my back.

Annie,

No obvious veins on legs at the moment. I heard from mum that brown rice grains help. So i am eating brown rice grains for my dinner every nite.

Okok...so heng ah...after 12 days can bathe leow?
My god. Ask me not to bathe i can tahan...but ask me not to wash hair i will die...
hehe
Hey girls...shall we compile/share the therapist infos like name,price,contact num and when should we start to book them?

hi kk & twinklestar,

Hmmm, maybe really depends on the individual's build... Actually, i've rather big hips (38"), but top is not really big-sized. Tummy used to be flat, but now already bulge out... But still smaller than my colleague's whoz in her 4th mth leh... hmmm... Sometimes i really hope people's comparisons can go in one ear & go out my other ear(!) ;)

hi milo,

Did you gynae say why nipples are changing (maybe due to hormones)? Maybe i can ask for you when i go visit my gynae next wk...

Hi Yasmin,

I try to sleep on my sides too. But middle of the nite as i turn, i find that my breasts painful when i press on them. So end up sometimes may sleep on my back.

Slowly over time, i find that sleep like this also cannot, sleep like tat also cannot. Dunno how to sleep properly :p

hi yasmin,

I did feel my baby move few times within last 2 months.Very slow and few tabs. i have not feel any kicks or feel baby move last few weeks leh. did you hv any interval whereby u did not feel any move at all?

Hi Annie, I'm seeing Dr Douglas Ong. Sorry not the same gynae.

Wow, can still fit into your normal cloths. envy envy...

Matched gal,

Just ignore pple's comments. Sometimes they commented too much until we become too worried. Dunno bb growing fine or not. So just one ear in one ear out lor :p

Matched gals,

The girls here mentioned a few nice shops before. I can't remember which ones liao heeee...

My favourite hangout now has always been kiddy palace at compasspoint. Near my place and when i happen to go shopping on weekends, will take a look there. I happened to get one babydoll dress from there, without a string behind. That one can wear even after giving birth.

Hi kk, ya lor. Agree with you, cant find a good position to sleep. Its gonna get tougher as we get nearer to EDD.

Hi twinkle-starry. Yup, there were intervals. Sometime I get myself very worried. And always complain to HB that today no movement or its been a few days since I felt movements. Its like that I guess. Only when we are in the 3 trimester we will be asked to monitor the movements more regularly. Some gynaes want us to chart the movements as well. I read somewhere at least 10 movements per day. And need to jot down what time was the no. 10th felt.

Wah, great to hear that we have something happen on our breast in common
Milo, i think you peeled too hard and hurt yourself.. ya, v painful, i can understand.. have you try baby oil? johnson n johnson, apply some on it. moisture it.. will be better in days to come..

My colleagues still didnt noe i m pregant, only those experienced mummies.

Shouldnt feel upset about pp comment your tummy, ok! my sis whose is delivering her bb on this coming 13, she didn't wear a single maternity dress.. her tummy is so small that she just wear her normal wears ... how envy her.. she only put on weight 10kg, plus 1kg loss this months, her bb weight abt 2.3kg.(still inside her tummy)...
so long, baby is growing and heart still working at these moments before come out to the world, thats enough.. so much worry when we know we are pregant.. so worry for this baby..
Never Ever sleep flat, should sleep right or left side..else your back, sprain and your buttock bone(duno the name).

kk,

okie, will go kiddy palace to take a luk... Thanks!!

Actually have an upcoming wedding next month to attend... duno wat to wear liaoz... maybe will shop ard nearer to the date... duno how 'big' i will luk then... hehe

matched gal,

I have attended 3 wedding dinners so far. Luckily i have a dress that is quite flare and able to hide tummy with comfort as well. BUT during the very last wedding dinner i went to around 2 weeks ago, it became tight liao!!

Now i wonder what should i wear for my close friend's wedding end of the month.

kk,

I too went to a wedding about a month back. ;) That time, used my work-jacket to hide my tummy and zip my skirt halfway, and can still fit. Now skirt feels uncomfy... hehe... Have to wear dresses/pants liaoz...

I bot a "large" size dress & pants, now still feel comfy, but bottom look abit loose & baggy, hehe... Wonder how long more can last me...

hi matched gal,
not true lah. i looked run-down and mine is a gal...hehehhe...

i do have some flakiness at my nipple but don't usu bother about it. My most immediate concern is body rashes and pimples...gonna see gynae later...hope it's nothing serious.... ;-(

hi annie,
did u buy maternity bra or normal bra? mine also increase a lot...my bras all getting tight...so uncomfortable. being pregnant really means spending a lot of $$. gotta buy maternity wear and new bras....

hi twinkle starry,
envy you lei...can feel bb's movement...how do you noe it is the bb's movement? what's it like? i felt something that resembles a few heartbeats...dunnoe whether that's considered movement? a bit early to feel it rite?

kk,
you live near sengkang? i live at compassvale link, oso love to go kiddy place compasspoint.
i got myself one dolldress when i first known i am pregant (week 6).. hehe.. v ks..
However, one and oni one..my mil got me one full dress type but the colour pink is like SGH... i hate it.. appreciate she brought for me, my own mum didnt even buy one for me..

One of my male friend's wife lent me some, i have tried and found v weird to wear them.. wait till the day..
i saw some pregant woman still wearing thight pant with black top on n the tummy expose out... kind of trendy.. but dangerous, easily to catch cold..
I oso barely can sleep at nites, my tummy tend to have this stretching pain.. i still havent experience the kick.. through i am already weeks 18. like others here, i oso worry whether is the baby alive or not, worst, i cant feel the pulse ..

ino,

haha, so all these are "old wives' tales"! ;)

Actually i tink we all luk run-down cos too tired lah... and no time to put lipstick/make-up on... ;p

hi ino,
oh! yes, pregant mean has to spend lots of money. i buy normal bras, of cos, bigger size so that can last for a short period of time (depend)..
Dun need to buy those maternity bras, a waste and v expensive. i learnt from those experienced mum... you can use those normal size after delivery...till it get back to smaller size.. heheh

Annie,

Yah, i live in Sengkang.. rivervale crescent
There are not many hangouts in sengkang, and going to town is ok, but needs travelling time. So lazy me prefer to shop at compasspoint more often than not

Haha, i bought one maternity dress which is blue in colour. I thought it looked sweet that time, so i bought it. But the more i look at it, the more it resembles hospital uniform. So far have not worn it yet.

My sis in law passed me some maternity dresses but dunno why they looked so huge. And i dun like the designs, find them more ah soh haha... so i dun think i will wear them.

Haha, i dun think i will be that sexy, exposing tummy. I prefer to dress more decently.

Now most of the time i sleep with my legs tucked in. Dunno leh, i think i am a bit paranoid. Whenever i sleep with my legs stretched out, i imagined that i am limiting space for the bb's movement. So it makes me feel better if i sleep with my legs curled up haha..

i also haven't felt any movement yet. Was hoping real HARD to sense movement soon. Want to experience how it feels like

Sometimes i sense the heartbeat. But i dunno it is because i am thinking too much, or it is really true.

Matched gal,

I think i never put lipstick in my whole life hahaa... only very rarely then i put on some makeup. So i look rather pale most of the time :p

Hi Ino,

I am still wearing normal bras. And those cheap ones sold at CK Chinatown. One only cost $2.90 to $3.90. I dun wanna spend so much on bras as i am never ever crazy on them hee... I just buy bigger sized ones, and what i like is that they are not underwired. So very comfy

kk & yasmin,

can peel the flaky thing from the nipples? now i look at the mirror, my breast look so swollen, almost dun recognise its mine...keke

matched gal,

i forgotten to ask my gynae abt it. everytime see him, my mine like blank.

annie,

i am currently applying the medela purelan cream. quite good but think its quite sticky so diff to apply esp the area very sore liao

Milo,

Yah, now so swollen and sore. Yoo, then that time my hubby accidentally knocked into my breasts and i scolded him hahahahaa... because so sore ouch!

Hi Ino & Kk,
oh! i buy cheap bras at those john little sales.. hehe.. dun need to buy expensive.. only for few mths.. but my bras all got wired.. good for support. $10 each.. as for pantry, i didnt buy any.. but found that the panty cant cover my tummy like b4.. heheh..

I oso dun put lipstick only lip gross to moisture my lip, alway crack n bleed without knowing.. i oso didnt put make up.

Gals have to avoid make up, lipstick and paint your nails - all not good for your bb inside. lipstick will cos bb to have yellow teeth.. duno what chemical cos it. all i rememeber that having all these on your face, nails cover the holes, oxygen level drop..

if you have normal thights (unlike like me, giant thights). wear pants with those doll dress top.. look nice.. cheap to buy.. can still wear after delivery..

milo,
dun worry, u arent the 1st or only one to do so, i oso peel when i see it.. my breast oso painful.. but according to my massage therapist, he said i should massage my breast when i lay on the bed.. i found it works..
He explained that our breasts now "working" inside to open the veins bigger than before and increase new as we keep on drinking those milk powder to generate milk.. however, milk wont be ready once you delivery.. you still have to eat those bu thing especially to create milk. for eg.. green papaya with fish soup..
so your breast tend to get block espeically your qi isnt that good.

you massage your breast by pressing your finger on it and rotate the flesh clockwise, not your nipple, all your size of your breast..

Annie,

My panties also cannot cover my tummy already. Find them going under tummy these 2 weeks. My mum bought some bigger ones for me already
Guess will need to wear them soon.

Yah, my undergarments have always been cheap. I dun believe in getting expensive ones. Some girls do have love for undergarments, buy those with nice embroidery, shape, etc. It is just not necessary for me. Buy cheap, spoil and throw. Got reasons to buy new ones hahaha..

hi annie,
i believe there are many other contributing factors to rheumatism. my mum does a lot of housework since her teens. her hands and feet are always soaked in water. now some of her fingers are also bent and painful. let's see how long we can endure without a bath during our confinement.

matched_gal, my tummy is more obvious only when i wear maternity pants and normal dresses. with the longer tops covering my tummy, nobody can tell i am pregnant. nobody gives up seat for me on the train.

Hi Ino,

In my feel, it is like someone tapping inside the tummy . At times it is like water current in my tummy moving here and there. these are very short and brief ones. No real hard moves or kick yet.

anastasia,

i c... maybe i always wear long tops/long dresses & shawls to cover my tummy dat's y everybody says it's small... hmmm...

but like dey say, maybe really based on individual build... hehe...

yah, talking about giving up seats, nowadays very few people give up seats for preggies on train & bus. Some pretend to sleep, & others pretend not to see, even for those really pregnant moms in the late (7th or 8th month) stage. Really disappointing to see dat...

BTW John little sales on in expo from now till next weekend. I heard there are some baby stuff and my collegues has been shopping since yesterday. Too sad i dun hv a chance to dropby during lunch time

Hi twinkle-starry, yes. Thats what I feel too! Sometimes the tapping is more intense, thats when I know its either a kick or a punch.

I went to John little at Orchard but did not buy anything. I liked their kids clothings. I saw 2 white dresses for NB gals. Very pretty. Hopefully if its a gal, can buy.

kk,
i dun wear fancy panty... my hubby dun appreciate to look at them.. heheh..

Ya, buy cheap especially john little sales, then can throw away once spoilt.. brought 2 panties for big tummy... but still ways to go before wearing them..

Hi anatasia,
i agreed so.. but in singapore, 97% of humidity, tend to get rheumatism easier than other western countries..
how i wish i have money and fly to usa to do my confinement there... well, only in my dream..
i intend to buy the herbal from chinese medical hall.. then keep in fridge.. until one day i cant tahan and take out to boil and wipe my body.. however, i doubt i can..cos my mother wont allow so..