(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

have not been signing in for an awful long time... busy with job searching... so now's the waiting period... sigh...

how do u all calculate 4 mths? By the date? or by the number of weeks. My bb is 16 weeks old... and she is onli drinking 130ml to 160ml of bf every feed - 5 feeds... my pd saes that her wight is below average - 5.65kg, but its okie, cos she is growing taller 62 cm (at 12 weeks), so i hope everything's fine....

Weaning:

Think i intend to wean bb off only at 6 mths (as advised by pd) cos she got eczema... i remember when i was young, i was super underweight, and i ate brown rice (all meals) until primary 3...

Shaving hair:

hehehe, i just shaved nat's hair last sunday at Suntec Junior League... was there at 11am, and there were alreadi quite alot of pple! hhehehehe, and she look so wierd now... we have been calling her botak! but can now see more clearly the scrath marks on her scalp, as she has been scratching her head furiously until it bleeds! So now we have to make her wear mittens... We have cut her nails... but somehow or rather she still manages to scratch!

Yvonne/KK/Annie,

i also brought bb to shave his hair on last sunday. Anyone find that after shaving, bb head is warmer? i m not sure is he getting heaty or w/o hair is like tat.

hi twinkle

yup yup, after shaving, head is warmer, maybe is some natural reflex that warms up the head, now that it has less protection... but my mil told me tat after shaving, until quite a bit of hair grows on the head, the best is to have bb wear a cap when he/she goes out... as head is the first part of the body that loses heat...

hi Yvonne,

ya now he wear cap but at home his head also warm leh. how huh? somemore he is very afraid of hot n get warm easily.

hi Fi,
i think you have to explain to the caregiver that BM is the best for baby. she can thaw the required bottles of frozen BM in one day in the lower fridge compartment in the early morning. this way, it will take a shorter time to warm the BM when it is feeding time.

another suggestion is to warm the BM in advance. i am sure the caregiver can judge when it is feeding time. so she can warm up the BM before baby gets frustrated.

if you do not provide formula at the cargiver's house, she has no choice but to give your BM.

hi Yvonne,
i calculate baby's age by week but my GP does it by date when she writes down the appointments for my boy's jabs.

i heard from my cousin who is trained in infant care that babies on TBF tend to be on the smaller side. dun worry too much as long as your baby is happy, active and moving bowels regularly.

hi twinkle

does ur biy feel uncomfortable after he shaved his head? if not, then i think it's okie. My gal is also afraid of heat, and sweats easily... guess she is used to sleeping air-con at night. In the dae, i switch on all the fans in the living room, and make her wear sleeveless... so far so good!

Hi anastasia

Thanx thanx. btw, my gal's name is Natasia. Cos my husband likes natalie, and i like anastasia, and so we combine! hehehe

Hi Yvonne,

he seem fine after shaving and he never struggling during the processm. So guai hor and i so worried they will injuired him :p

maybe he kena m germs liao as i hv been sick last week. Oh no better not leh.

Natasia is a nice name... sound so sweet.

hi twinkle

hmmmmm, my gal not so guai... cry halfway thru the shave, right till the end! But the stylist tested the shaved on my hand, not painful leh...

btw, have you all heard about this website - www.surfsg.com... they advertise in the classified almost everidae... wonder if they are credible anot... there is a fee to sign up... wanna look for something to do, before i get a proper job (i hope soon!)

twinkle starry & yvonne,
I read from article that baby despatch their body heat through head, so it's warmer than other parts of his body.
My keane oso botak, still sweat when he cries or hot weather..I nvb let him wear a hat cos hard to find his size and i presume he won't like it since will be more stuffy..

I think your gal cry becos of the sound from the electronic shaver..

hi Yvonne,
anastasia is my nickname here. Natasia is not a common name. that is my priority too when i was thinking of a name for my boy.

hi sponge,

my baby has a bath every morning. in the evenings, we use a small basin of warm water and a handkerchief to clean him. my mum washes his backside with lukewarm tap water a few times daily. he enjoys it as it is a relief from being wrapped in diapers.

sponge,
i do the same as what anastasia do. My mum will bathe him in the morning or around 1pm. In the evening time, i used wet warm cloth to wipe his whole body n his head, put a lot of powder to let him feel cooler..

Hi anastasia & Annie,

yah thats what I do too.. just wondering if its ok to bathe them, as in those bath tub type of baths, twice a day? Will it be too 'cooling' for them? Considering that they are only 3-4 mths old..so considered still quite fragile mah..

Wah Annie! U really shave Keane well..cos he looks like he had a skin cut..with no stubs of hair at all!

twinkle,

I find her temperature ok after shaving. Nothing peculiar. Hmmm, maybe now we are feeling the scalp part liao, that's why feel warmer :p

Sponge,

For my ger, we only bathe her once a day in the morning. Evening just wipe her body.

Yvonne/kk/Annie,

Tks. my boy temperature is normal liao. I htink he is heaty lor and now he is ok after i give him barley drink all day today.

Hi SS

I stay at CCK. Where do u stay? I can pass the whole bottle to u in the evenings coz I dun use it now. It's in liquid form...

Btw, ur bb not small in size la, mine also about that weight when he was 13weeks....u check the chart given in the health book. so long as she is within the range, should be okie

Hi CP,

Hee! ur bb got an adult knowing type of look
so cute.

Hi Annie,
U shave well. Keane's really look botak! I brought mine to suntec last sunday but still can see the stubs of hair....

CP
Don't worry about baby's preference of using left or right hand now as it'll change. My Zach also showed lots of signs of being left-hander when he was few months old. But he slowly progressed to using more of his right hands and now I'd say he's most likely a right-hander even though he's not really learning to write yet.

Babe99
I think there're some threads about this type of car seat. Brands like Britax, Maxi Cosi should have. You can do a search and probably can find some discussions about this.

Sponge
We bathe Isabel twice a day, otherwise her hair will be very stinky with sweat. she got lots of hair!! In fact, she seems to enjoy bathing as she likes to kick in the water, just like swimming.

Annie
A job well done in shaving Keane's hair. U can do part time lor...
BTW, when did you start putting Keane on the exersaucer? He likes it?

lh_jyc
I stay in Clementi, near central. Can we meet at Clementi or CCK MRT station? Isabel is due for 3rd month jab tomorrow. Will see what the nurse say about her growth.

yo mummies,

haven't logged in for a few days, busy busy with job-hunting too!

next week i'm starting work oredi... so fast. feeling a bit 'bu she de' cos once i start working, may not have much time for my boy as my job may require me to work late...

Isabel & Zach mum,
Not a exersaucer, its call bouncer, later stage can convert to play mat.

ly_jyc,
i think the trick is that my hb shaver isnt electron type, so no fussy sound when shaving. thats make my keane guai guai sit there, starring himself in front of the mirror and sucking his fist.

twinkle-starry,
If i m not wrong, you have Enfa A+ formula milk for your son right? Many people comment its v heaty, so barely water is good for him.

hi Annie,

in fact Enfa A+ is mild liao. when he took Similac it is worst, he has pimples pop out everywhere and poo real hard
Since we change to Enfalac A+ it is much better and he poo everyday.

hi lh_jyc ,

u went to Junior League in Suntec?? i went to Junior League in PP and they ask me whether i want to see stubs of hair or real botak so i tld her botak lor

i'm really saku...actually what's the reason to shave baby to bodak? is it a chinese traditional to follow or ???

Annie,
Your boy looks adorable, he can sit well without support ler...

Hi Annie,

the one Keane sit in look like it is the safety 1st exersaucer. it is called exersaucer not bouncer leh. I remember saw it in the safety 1st webbie.

Does keane tends to fall in front when he is in it? or Keane can sit steadily liao?

hi Race,

Ya, some is tradition lor and for me since he dun hv much hair must well shave to enhance more hair growth. Hopefully lah

hi Race_C,

according to my mum, baby's new hair will be more fine and smooth. it is also a tradition to shave. some trim a bit of baby's hair on full month as a symbolic gesture.

twinkle-starry,
Yap, the brand is 1st safety. I am confused the name for it, cos the salesgal said its a bouncer not exersaucer, can convert to play mat in later stage. The box itself stated bouncer. Just now Sponge told him that its should be exersaucer.

Race C,
Oh! its up to you lar. My niece shaved her hair when she is 6mths old, becos her hairs all standing up.
If your boy has many hair and thick, its really up to you whether you want to shave or not. Newborn bb hair is v fine and thin so will tend to drop a lot.
Its amazing hows fast the hair growth after shave. hee hee..

Race C & twinkle starry,
Not lar, keane isnt that smart lar..heee.. will bounce backward or forward lor, but he seems used to it compare to the 1st time we put him in. He wants to stand n not sitting position, so will push his leg.. hee hee

hi sponge,

i plan to let my baby take evening baths when he can hold his head steadily on his own. that is probably the time he can play with bath toys.

trying really hard to strike a balance with and baby. lack of sleep.

anyone bought the jumbo seat or bumbo seat already? anyone uses carrier instead of sling already?

hi bookworm,

i am using carrier liao but not very often since we always go out w hubby. I bought the simple combi carrier which can face in and out only.

Bumbo seat
let him try liao but decided not to get it as he will out grow it very fast.

Hi gummie,

Woah so fast got a job waiting for you already huh! Lucky girl

Sponge,

For Jarrett, he only bathe in the morning...and MIL wipe him in the evening only...baby too small better don't bathe too many times.

Annie,

Your Keane sooooo cute! I feel like pinching his face!

CP,

Wow your son got so much hair! Better don't shave him!

Yvonne,

hee.. my bb's thigh is oozing out lor and i need to 'pull' out his leg when removing him. i tried at Cheng Choon :p

gummie,

congrats 4 d new job..
so fast u start to work...

i'll start work beginning of next mth...me too 'bu she de' BB, always tell(jus joking)my HB tht I can take my son along "to work"....

bathing babies twice

Err... I bathed my girl twice a day since she turned 1 month... why? she's on tbf so a lot of poo and she perspire a lot a lot... she likes water... so why not??? I shower her the second time before 6pm though

Hi SS1,

I can only meet on weekends as I'm still working n get back really late...U wanna wait one more week coz my npl will be starting then?

Hi Starry,
Yup went to suntec outlet, the lady neber ask so we just let her shave lor...aniwae my hubby said so expensive jus to trim so he went n buy a shaver, said next time he will do the shaving...

Hi Annie,
the bouncer looks nice, where did u purchase it from and how much? me seow, always on a lookout for toys for my boy

Need to check. any of u bought things at the bb kingdom? is it really cheap? me thinking of going there to buy car seat....

leejen & yvonne,
i found the information for the 1 that keane is using. hopefully might help you. Yvonne, did you receive my sms just now? I shot the whole pic of the exercsaucer keane is sitting on.
The brand is Safety 1st. I saw fisher price & Evenflo brands but i dun like it.

EXERSAUCER ULTRA 2-in-1?COMBINES ACTIVITY CENTER AND PLAYMAT TO EXERCISE BABY'S BODY AND MIND

VANDALIA, OH (November 10, 2005) - The new ExerSaucer Ultra 2-in-1?activity center offers the combined benefits of an active learning center together with an infant playmat, providing for extended usage as the child grows. Not only does the new ExerSaucer activity center help baby achieve important developmental milestones, but it also folds 50 percent smaller than similar products and includes a built-in carry handle, making travel and storage easier than ever.

Exercise baby's body and mind with 10 age-appropriate toys designed to facilitate a variety of developmental functions and keep baby's interest. Twelve songs, sounds and phrases provide musical development and visual stimulation for baby, while the landscaped tray brings toys within her reach.

The ExerSaucer Ultra 2-in-1 TM activity center features the best seat spin compared to similar activity centers, allowing baby to easily reach and play with surrounding toys. The three-position height adjustment grows with the child to provide maximum usage and value. The new tropical color and theme was specially developed for babies newborn to walking age.

Couldn't sleep, need your advice...
we have a dog (2 yrs ++), you know lar owning a dog in HDB really troublesome, u hav 2 feed them,bring them down for poo + pee,the most important thing is cleanliness in house...

Actually i strongly disagree tht time when my HB suggested to raise a dog,he just didn't care & bought the dog back...

now i have to take care of my son besides keep the house clean....my son having "eczema" on face,dun know whether it's caused by animal fur..i have to sweep+ mop the floor twice a day to make sure fur can not stick anywhere...really dun have much energy left....

i hope to give away the dog but dun know if anyone is interested..is there any other way/solution?

hi annie, thanks for the information, really good. i probably would like to get this for my gal, since she like to sit upright rather than lying down, where can i buy this from?

hi race,u can post in forum to check if anyone want to adopt the dog, plus pic.

HI MUMMIES,Yvonne, leejen, lh_jyc

Finally, I find the exact information for the Bouncing Baby play place from Safety 1st that i brought. Attached the following information and website (shows the pic) for yr info. paiseh, the earlier information is that i extact the other brand information.

45616 Bouncin' Baby Play Place
Introducing a play center that is overflowing with fun! The new Bouncin Baby Play Place features 10 interactive toys, songs and playful sounds designed to keep baby busy and amused.

10 interactive toys featuring 3 fun sounds and 6 songs
Bounces with babys movements
Seat spins 360 so baby can reach all 10 toys
Adjusts to three heights to grow with baby
Machine-washable padded seat
Converts to a floor playset as baby grows
Clicking car unlocks to roll around the playset
Accommodates baby up to four years of age

http://www.safety1st.com/product.asp?productID=75

is all ur babies neck strong enough? realise kaeden's one still abit wobbly. turn him on his tummy but he cant lift his head till very high yet.

race,

me same as u. i got two dogs at hm. super tiring taking care of them. wanted to give one away but hubby keep saying bu she de, ended up everyday, i gotta clean up after them. damn shag!

hi race C

I have 2 dogs at home... i had them before Natasia came along... i love them alot! And we used to be super close... and was afraid that i neglect them when nat comes home... well, until now, i still tell my hubby tat the dogs take the same priority as bb...

I encounter the same prob... my bb has eczema, everywhere, body and face, it improved after the doc's presription... i believe her eczema is heriditary, as my grandpa, my mum and I have it... At the same time, i have 101 pple nagging at my ears, telling me that it's not good to have dogs living with babies, especially when they have allergies... well, fair enough, i know that bb's skin is sensitive and are vulnerable at this stage, but at the same time, i still want her to be exposed to animals when she is young, and i see how my dogs sit around her, accompanying her, or get real panicky when she cries, and somtimes lick her toes, when they merely walk past...

I conclude tat to a certain extent their fur may cause some form of irritation to bb (we can never be sure abt eczema, it can be anything), but i cannot bear the tot of staying away from them or giving them away, cos they have been with me for close to 4 years... so wat i do is to bathe the dogs reali clean, de-worm them occasionally, and try as much as possible to keep bb from them... if you can toilet train your dog, am sure you can train them not to go too near bb. Or you can have an open room, where you put bb in there (not her bedroom), and tell your dog that that is a restricted area...

perhaps as your hubby was the one who brought the dog home, you can try explaining to him, and have him help out in the cleaning chores, or bring the dog down for a pee or a poo...

My 2 cents worth!