(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

thanks bin and anastasia (anastasia) for ur input. U gals are so resourceful.

Recently mu milk supply went super low and my gal is taking like 120ml. Think i am too stress at work. What shld i take to increase supply?

WHen i go back home, i feed her directly, so i am not sure if she takes enough milk from me. So worrying.

Matched gal,

Maybe you can play wf her or something(my boy likes to play musical play gym)tht need lots of energy while baby moving/kicking...they'll bcome tired easily & request milk feeding more frequent...my boy's body become stronger(especially his legs due to kicking)& playtime also good for their development...he now always smile & more sociable

hi race c,

hehe, my ger is v active ah, v sociable too! Dat's y duno whether i overworried a not... But still, if this continues, tink she sure slim down one... Yah, i tink i try ur method, try to 'tire' her out when she's not sleepy... hehe. Thanks!

bookworm,

you are welcomed. 120ml of BM you mean? To me/my boy, that's quite alot, mine is only taking 80-90ml each bottle-feed :p Anyhow, I did notice that my supply dwindles (to as little as 25ml) since I return to work. Am on Fenugreek supplements for 5 days now, bot from GNC. Seems to help a little by maintaining my 80-110ml each pumping session.

Read that baby tends to drink less direct from the breasts compared to bottle. So long as my boy seems satisfied after each latch-on, I supposed he had enuf liao

hi matched gal,
yes. it's a fighting session everytime. when she cries , we stop feeding. when she stops crying, we continue our feed. it can go on for 1 hr. so have to be patient lor. my parents are the patient ones. hehe

tat happens when she was also ard your gal's age.

Feeding babies solids

I will only start Si'en on solids at a later stage, as my no 1 started at only 6 months. Started with pureed sweet potatoe, potatoe, carrots then slowly progressed to other food.

Keane these days will cry like hell if he finds the person who close to him or about to carry him is unfamiliar.
Initially, he recognised people since mths ago but wont cry. Just didn't bother to look at the stranger faces if not familiar..

bookworm,
i just came back to work this week. First day my supply dipped a little to 80/90ml. 2nd day worst, morning at office could only pump 40ml. I asked my colleague and she said must drink soup. So these 2 days, i have been taking soup-based lunch and in the late afternoon i could pump abt 120ml.
I also try to drink milo in the morning and hopefully can increase my morning supply too.

Annie,

Maybe you can bring Keane out more often so that he can learn to socialize. You always coop him at home rite? Hee..

hi ino,

Yes, same storie. My parents are the patient ones too. I usually give up and 'chuck' her in the playpen after a few tries ending in frustration (which usually last ard 45 mins). Sighz... Hoope this phase will soon b over... It's been actually more than 1 week oreadi. "Mild" rejection of milk started like 3 wks ago... now hv gone "serious" ah... Can;t wait till 4th mth when i can start her on solids...

Fates,
I only bring him to KKH or PD clinic, apart from going to punggol plaza foodcourt, my parents n my sister houses.
These 2mths are lunar ghost festival, therefore, we didnt bring him to breach or swimming pools. hee..hee.
He is super smart in recognise people face. He would only look at you if he finds you are unfamiliar face. He would cry only if you carry him..heehee..
Wonder will he cry if my parents in law carry him this coming sunday when we go back. I learnt that baby can only have short term memory like about 1 wk. heehee..

so sad! my colleagues keep asking me to go on diet! Just now,my colleague asked me whether my hb asks me to go on diet or state i am fat.

i already reduce the intake of food for mths. Nothing helps.. After labour, i lost 8kg, then another 7kg at 2nd mth. Up till now, the weight dont go down even 1 gram.

How??

Annie,

When we met tht time, i've slready slim down, now even worse,my weight even less than b4 pregnant, dun know wat happen ler, i think maybe taking care of baby need energy lor...now i try to eat more to gain weight

yup...i also like to shop hour and hour (even aft having baby)This is my standard secret to slim down...maybe apply to individual...

Hi Annie,

I have came back to work for nearly a mth already, but no signs of slimming down. I skipped lunch totally, only have milk + cereals for breakfast every morning. I take dinner without rice at times too. Sigh!! I still need to shed 7 kg before i am back to my pre-pregnancy weight.

Matched_gal,
I did try to feed her as much as possible because is far too little, but I also believe baby knows if they are hungry or full. So i always try to feed till she completely never suck at all. Same same, she'll cry and keep pushing away the bottle. Like ino, i try to feed when she stops, and stops feeding when she cries.

It's part of the growth, alot of babies went through this. She rejected milk for 2 weeks and back to normal now and in fact drinking more than her normal. PD advised to start on cereal if babies continue to reject milk. I guess we have to endure through this 1 month and be mentally prepared baby will not be as chubby.

any advise on how to stop breastmilk without taking medicine? Also has anyone tried Frisco milk powder for their baby 0-6mths?

Hi kk,

Yoy!!! Yu Jun is so cute!!

Hi Littletot,

Heard that u can gradually decrease the no of feeds and the MS will stop gradually. but hor,why stop if u got milk? I'm fighting a losing battle re BFing but still trying. In fact, just applied for 3 mths of npl to stay at home so that can pump more frequently....

Brought Jin Heng to Tampines Mall yesterday, we shop'd for 3.5 hours.He looked energetic n kept on looking around...very enjoyed...

take a look at his sleep style, legs open wide wide..
492641.jpg

hi lh_jyc,
i know its a pity to stop bmilk. Am currently pumping 4 times a day n producing avarage 700ml n above daily. But HB wants a pig baby so got to stop

Anasatasia/missk,
He is 13 wks old now.
height= 61.5cm at wk12. i think is average height, right?

I'm short only 1.53cm,HB at average 7ft 3". Hope he won't follow my gene

Sorry,

Should be 5ft 7".(1.73cm)
wat happened to me ahhh?typpo error... too tired...jus back fr Taka,shopped for few hrs...

Greatest rewarding for today...bought a LV bag...spend 1.6k

Hi littletot,

So envious!!! I can only managed abt 300 ml w 6 pumps per day.

Wah! u planning for another one? veri siong to look after 2 babies...

Have u all bought car seat for ur bbies? I went to look for it 2 x...all so expensive. really dunno which type/brand to choose.

lh_jyc, slowly will increase 1. Did u try green papaya wi fish soup? It works for me.Heard GNC sell tablets that supposed to increase bmilk. 1 of the mummies recently organised a BP on goat's rue vegetarian capsules also served the same purpose.

Race c so envious!

Hi Milo,
Am interested in the massage. But the classes are for Jul. U going?

Ladies, my gal at 3mths weighs 6.43kg and is 61.5cm tall. Very average hor.

yasmin,

i have called them to check. the next class wil start on 27 aug. max 8 per class. was thinking if may mummies are interested, we can form a class on our own. shld be fun!

kk,

yj look so diff now. really is nu da shi ba bian

lh_jyc,

I'm oso pumping 6x a day with output of abt 1.1-1.2L. i dun take any supplement to increase the BM. I just make sure that i drink abt 3L of water a day & a glass of water immediately after each session. Moreover, during each pump, i ensure that i pump to the last drop or at least until my breasts are soft like jelly, then i stop. i usually pumps half an hour using the electric pump. hope that the above tips r helpful to you.

Any advise for me regarding my keane's following condition?
He will drip his saliva when he sees my hb n i having meals. His eyes wide open big n bright and with "can't tahan" look as if he wants to eat. He will start to suck his fist follow by putting one finger in his mouth and dig real deep inside till he kena choke and cough or make those vomitting sound.

Yesterday, he started to wig when my mother in law carried him to see us, when we were having lunch.
Hows to stop his behaviour? He shows tired of milk also.

kekekeke annie, my Isabel does the same thing as your keane. Hahahaha sooooooooooo hilarious, can dig into his mouth till he nearly chokes??? I think its pretty normal for babies to behave this way cos its only natural. In a way its good too, shows us that they have acquired a sense of smell and know what they are looking at.

Annie, take it positively ok. My HB, Son and I normally tell her that she is not ready yet to feed on these and wld defintely share with her when she is older.

do you all introduce milk formula even though breastmilk is currently enough for baby?

any brand to recommend?

hi Fi,

if you have enough breast milk, there is no need to supplement with formula. however, you may want to mix breast milk with formula before you stop breast feeding. let your baby slowly get used to the taste of formula.

as for which brand, there is no 'best' brand cos each baby reacts differently.

hi Annie & yasmin,

nowadays babies are so smart. my hubby and sister like to put food near to my son's nose and lips, enticing him to react. i always tell them off cos this may cause him to be greedy in in future.

hi Anastasia,

sad to say the reason for me to introduce formula is for the convenience of caregivers when i go back to work next month.even though i've enough frozen stock of breast milk,i was told chilled/frozen breast milk takes very long to be warmed(cause can only use lukewarm water to warm it, to maintain the properties inside the milk) and the baby could be crying out in panic hunger.

i'm a supporter of breastfeeding so will be glad for any suggestion. how do you all working mothers do it? can still total breastfeed, no formula at all?

I've actually went for the massage class prev, the steps are pretty simple...so think if u read a book on the massage for bb should be fine no need to waste $$...hee! me lazy. Only massage bb once in a while now

Hi Angel and littletots,
Sigh....my attempts to BF can be written into a book lol..after abt 3+ months of constant pumping still so little. think no hope liaoz. just want to see the doc today, he prescribed med for me...but will take when my NPL starts in Sept coz he say I cant be stressed up...this will be the last attempt if still no improvement, will give up

Fi
I agree w u. When I went back to work for about 1 month, realised my caretaker which is my mil does not like to give EBM to my boy coz it will take longer to heat up..somemore mine is not frozen...tat is also one of the reason for me taking npl. wanna ensure tat he gets at least 3 bottles per day ma...my hubby n colleagues all say I seow liao lor ;p

lh_jyc
Hi! We can co-write the book on our BF journey!
I'm also the same, struggling with low supply. At least you can take NPL, I'm opting to be SAHM. BTW, I've been latching on on demand as that's what the LC recommend. I'm also not supplementing, hence my girl is on a small size now. Very heart pain sometimes when she cries and I have no supply for her... That's when I'm on the verge of giving up, but then I persevere on...

Did you try the goat rue thing that was on BP lately? I haven't tried. In fact I'm not on any supplement for myself now coz getting disappointed when those don't work on me. Are you taking domperidone?

Anyway, all the best with BF! Will give you moral support!!

Hi ss1

I've supplemented w FM since birth.coz he refused to latch on until 2 mths old..
also cant bear to let him go hungry plus he really screams his voice hoarse at times..

I've tried goat rue but maybe becoz he used to my fernugreek smell. He refused to latch on when I'm on goat rue. In the end, when I resume taking fernugreek, he latched on. Do u want to try Goat rue? I can pass mine to u coz mine still a lot...

Ya, doc today prescribed domperidone, but not taking yet. waiting for my npl b4 I start. when to try one last ditch.

how old is ur girl?

joyce, your bb is really adorable!!! I have also taken npl to nurse till Dec. And I think it's the best move rite now cos I can really spend time with my son. Of cos, must be really thrifty lor!

Hi missk,

Adorable? U have not heard him SCREAM...deafening...

Btw, my NPL only last till end Nov. hee..maybe we can meet one day during our leave

lh_jyc

Rayne is cute!

What is goat rue actually? Don't mind trying if you have some and not using. Where to meet you? I tried domperidone before, not really sure if it works as I only took 10. What's the dosage that the doc recommended for you?

My girl is 13.5 weeks old and she weighs only 5.3kg. Light hoh?

missk
Wow...another mummy very "wei da" to sacrifice for the sake of baby!!

missk,
sure a good mummy hor, can forgo salary n work. Not for me, i don't want other pp to have a chance to grab my work..:p

Rayne is so cute..

Any of your babies showing signs of being left-handed or right-handed? My boy always uses his left hand to swipe at the animals when I put im under his play gym. My husband is concerned cos both of us are right-handed and it might be difficult to teach him to write in future if he is really left-handed.
494218.jpg

494219.jpg

dear mummies

hv ur bot car seat for ur bb? i am confused by so many brands and types, not sure which type to buy. Do u use infant car seat? I wan to buy those that my bb can use now (currently 3 mth+) and can convert to child seat when she older. Do u noe which brand is like this?

many tks for ur help.