(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

bookworm,

pimples?? or milk/heat rash? My bb used to have.. but after i put lotsss of hazeline, seems to work on her

i never freeze EBM before, so dun have problem of thawing it..

My bb still ok with day/nite pattern. She started it around week 5-6, except that she can still sleep pretty late. As late as 1 am at times. But if she sleep that late, she will wake after 8 am, sometimes until 9++ am.

My bb also throw out milk almost after every feed, when she dun sleep after that. She stretches herself, kick here kick there then spit milk. Yes, in tow huay form sometimes i notice. Other times will be more liquid form.

My bb seldom choke, unless she suck too fast from bottle.

milo,

you can try to give bb some water to remove the whitish stuff. Else got to use a soft cloth to clean. I find giving water easier.

bookworm,
my aunt apply the destin nappy cream on the heat rash ard the neck and face. It helps! haha...

angelzwynd,

thanks. i think i will go and get the duo one cos i am gog back to office so soon and i dun wan to give up bm so fast...

anyone compare the prices for the jabs at polyclinic and PD?

bookworm,
my gal will sometimes choke when i bf her. I realised that it happens if she suck too fast at the start which caused the milk to keep dripping. So when she slows down her sucking later on, she gets choked.
My gal also got lot of pimples... the milk rash has subsided after i religiously cleanse her face after every feed. But now, it's those red ones. Dun know if it's heat rash. I just bought hazeline cream just now, will try if it works on her.

milo,
mine also poops almost after every feed, sometimes in the middle of it and she will show me the "gek sai" face and stop sucking. So on avg it's like 7 times a day. I wonder if it's normal...

tks missk for the welcome..

bookworm, u thaw ur BM in the freezer?? i juz put it on the lower shelf.. so very fast to thaw.. abt 5mins.. but i do agree that it's very stressful to wait for the milk to be warmed while ur bb is crying with his lungs out.. i think u put ur BM in the freezer only if u plan to store it for mths..

twinkle starry, i din play much with my bb cos i am so busy pumping.. but i try to sing to him n play some mozart cd while i have no time for him..

btw, how often do u gals pump per day? how long per pump? do u wake up in the wee am to pump? cos i find it so tiring to do it even though i dun need to do nite feeds

Hi bookworm

I dunno abt your bb's pimples, but for my bb, those which i tot were pimples turn out to be eczema which started on the cheeks of my baby... eczema is likely heriditary... (i have it)... Since many mums have tried the hazeline and nappy rash cream and it works, think you can try that out first.

Hi Peng

I try to pump every 3 hours... but if i have to go out, i will pump with intervals not more than 6 hours... hehehhe, yes, super tiring...

yvonne,

you pump every 3 hrs and still have enuff to store! How to increase supply? I pump every 3 hrs also not enuff for bb to drink..

Hi everyone.
Its been so long since I last logged in...been so busy with my gal.

My gal caught a cold, passed on to her by her brother last wk, when she was only 2 wks old. Rushed her to the PD's clinic and got some nasal drops to help clear her blocked nose. My elder one is down with asthma. Can imagine this mummy...so busy and so tired.

I'm taking care of my gal by myself at night and its defintely taxing.

She is 3 wks exactly today and its easier to take care of her. If she feeds ard midnight then her next feed will be ard 3.30 - 4. Then 3 hrs frm there. During daytime she feeds like every 2 hrs. Quite alright to take care of her.

I'm down with sore throat and cant give her BM. So its formula, S26 Gold, for now.

Hear her crying. Better go and see. Chat with you gals again soon.

BTW, I manage to lose only 10kg still have 7kg more to go. Any advise on this?

Hi Ivy

Currently i pump every 3 hours, and get between 80ml to 140ml... My gal who is coming 6 weeks old is drinking onli 100ml max now... Sometimes she drinks onli 80ml... that's why i was talking about the wasted breast milk... with her taking less than what i pump, i get to store... Also, I feed her formula for mid-night feed, so i also have extra to store.

But this is worrying when i get back to work... Cos am going back in 1 month's time, dun think got time to pump, and even so veri leh chey... sigh... milk supply sure drop...

Actualli pumping frequently helps to increase, if not at least maintain supply...

How old is your baby?

yvonne,
if din feel engorge also can pump every 3hrs ar? now at most i only pump 2 times .. sometimes once only leh .. as din feel engorgement though.. siao liao lah like tht no milk for bb..

Hazel,

Heee sama sama.. yesterday i also pumped once at nite because felt badly engorged suddenly. Then managed to get 60 ml. Was quite surprised because recently i dun get that much MS anymore. And mixed with another 90 ml of FM.. BB didn't finish!!! So wasted my BM

Yvonne,

My colleague whose bb in her 3rd mth said bb drinking less. How come the amount they drink can drop? So she has to store her BM and she has lotss of supply. Her bedsheet can be wet the next morning and had to change bedsheet everyday!

Ya, agree.. pumping frequently helps to increase MS.. demand and supply mah.. best is to let bb latch on to increase MS.. alternative will be to pump lor.

Cindy,

Ya, should try the hazeline. It works wonders on my bb. And now without religiously cleaning her face after feeds, also no more rashes liao
But i do apply hazeline on her face around 3-4 times a day

Talking abt dry peeling patches on eyebrows, i think my bb getting better. This morning dun see any peeling skin. Let's see later when i bathe her. My SIL suggested applying olive oil before bathe. Then remove the peeling skin during bathe. Perhaps should try too

Mums who played music to bbs, does it really work? Will BB really listen and calm down? i think we are going to CD RAMA to get one set of bb music for her.

Try applying white rice wine on the rashes and pimples.It seems to work well for my bb.

me too pump once or twice a day.My MS getting more and more pathetic these days...

kk,
i think u can give it a try... when we play music for our boy, he will quieten down, as if observing something, and his eyes will start roving left n right...n i think he's really listening

bookworm,
My BB sleeping hours is still very irregular. She slept at around 12 plus (milk intake at 11pm) yesterday and woke up crying at 2am and she was not asking for milk. Had to put her on our bed to sleep with us. She woke up at 5am again for milk. I think I really envy KK.

My BB also had pimples and white spots on her face. Don't dare to use hazeline on her as my mum told me her friend's bb got this dark patch on her face (looks like those which will grow hair type) after applying hazeline for long term.

yvonne,

your bb is a small eater! My bb is 3 weeks old now. He is already drinking 80-100ml every 2 hrs! That's why my supply cannot meet his demand...

gummie,
I've tried playing bb music for my BB, she doesn't seems to appreciate it. But she does stop what's she is doing and as if listening hard when my hubby's HP rings (Jay Zhou's song).

Eversince she can hold her head upright, she loves watching TV programs. Always want us to carry her in sitting position so she can watch the show also.

gummie,

Maybe u got "tai jiao"? heee.. my bb.. always let her listen to 933 when she was in my tummy.. now i let her listen to 933 no effect HAHA!

piglet,

The bb slept with us last nite.. she just refused to stay long in her playpen. Now she is really the QUEEN! Anything she wants, we just give her :p When she grow up, then punish her haha!

So u did not apply anything on ur bb? Sometimes very scared.. bb's skin super sensitive.

Haha, perhaps u should let ur bb listen to Jay Zhou's songs ya? :p

How old is ur bb now?? My bb still cannot hold her head upright. Actually she can do it, but sometimes she just go soft like tat.

My girl also likes to be in upright position now. Dun like to be laid horizontal and carried around. Sometimes we have to walk her in an upright position so that she can see around her.

piglet,
i think babies may 'listen' but dunno if they'll 'appreciate' kekeke... anyway if yr gal listens hard it means she's responding in some way

i also noticed my boy likes to turn his head to the face the TV leh... not sure if he's responding to the sound/music or image though.

gummie,
baby responds to the image.

hazel,
think yr milk supply decrease like mine. Thinking to get my hubby to buy chicken feets to boil soup with pork. My gf told me that she did that and get a lot of milk after drinking the soup. You might give a try..

gummie,

my bb too.. love to watch tv and also computer screen haha.. i believe it is image that is changing that interest them.

kk & gummie,
Abt 1 mth bb can see oni one colour ie red. By 3rd mth, he or she can see 3 colours. Maybe you can buy the toy or small fan that has light indicator to let yr baby practice looking at it.

gummie and kk,
haha.. I think our BB's eyes are getting clearer. Now my BB even knows how does a milk bottle looks like. She'll get excited when we bring the bottle near her.

kk,
My bb is 38 days old. Oh, sometimes her head will also turn soft lah. Got notice bb now also trying to stand? Sometimes, I've hold her with her feet on my lap (standing) when she don't want to lie and sit. Now she also got another bad habit leh. She "Lai Chuan". I just saw her eyes open, but she went back to sleep again. She opened her eyes again when she hear me talking to my mum, but closes again

kk,
I didn't apply anything on her face, worried she might have sensitive skin. I just use water to wipe her face only

annie,

Hmmm, i have one fan which comes with colours, can attach to stroller.. maybe i take that and play with her first haha.

Piglet,

yah lor. i am waiting for her head to really be hard and stay straight. My mum said if reach that stage, then after feed no need to burp liao
Anyway, i realised nowadays my bb burp easily too

Hmmm, my bb in her 7th week.

Ya rite! When i burp her, i need her to sit upright, so she sit on my laps with her legs kind of standing on the bed
So cute

My bb.. if she want to sleep.. she will really sleep no matter what u do to her.. this morning she slept from 715 am right till 1030 am still dun want to wake up. i got to wake her up to bathe her, feed her.. and she just poo poo and happy liao

Oh ya, dunno why my bb loves to sit in the car seat hahaha.. she is even sitting in car seat at home. When put in rocker, effect not as good as car seat. Found another way to tame her liao :p

kk,
Once her neck is able to support the head, don't need to burp already? I've been asking my mum when, she tell me according to feeling. Wah.. finally I got an exact answer for this question.

So cute, sitting in car seat!

My bb also just wake up to poo and her milk, went back to sleep again

piglet,

Haha, i do agree with ur mum.. sometimes certain things really need to depend on our feelings :p

Aiyoh, i removed her from car seat because she dozed off and yet she unhappy leh. Now still slightly awake on the bed heee.. car seat so warm, dunno why she love so much. My hubby say the bb feel secure in car seat, with the cushioning :p

Wah.. very FED UP. I just lose temper at my mum. I told her no more egg, but now she cooked the half-boiled egg again and ask me to finish up. Doc also said 3 eggs / week is the max and now i'm eating at least 14 eggs / week. Like that sooner or later i'm going to get heart attack, high blood pressure. All along I don't take much egg, maybe 1 or 2 eggs in a month or none at all. HAIZZZZ... 3 more days!!!!

piglet,

I finish up the eggs for u!!! Hahaha. Now i miss the eggs because nobody do it for me and i lazy to do it myself :p Funny hor, dun have something and u'll miss it. Had it everyday but sick of it heee...

Wow, u definitely not egg eater.. me and hubby love eggs! But not to the extent of eating so many every week. i try to keep to not more than 5 per week. During confinement, i am so worried hubby get health problem!

Ya, perhaps u all should try too haha! I realise i dun have to carry her at all recently because she is placed in car seat :p

piglet,

haha...i will swear off eggs after this too...Heng, i only need to do 30 days of confinement...else i will die of egg poisoning too!

haha.. piglet, i noe what u mean.. my CL MIL always ask me to eat 2 eggs a day.. i told them NO... it's nuts.. doing confinement is all abt tonics, not eggs... crazy.. juz tell them no lor..

btw, can we eat half boiled eggs??? i thot with BF, we can't eat half boiled eggs or sashimi??

peng,

me ate half boiled eggs during confinement. Ya, for 3rd week after delivery, it was like 2 eggs per day - 14 eggs a week. Until i complained, then my mil stopped :p

The elders said eating half boiled eggs very 'bu' leh.

Sashimi... i already ate with hubby after confinement haha.. guess should be ok?

i only know i eat lots of lean pork meat... 'mei rou'. seems like every meal got .. veg wif meat, mee sau or bee hoon wif meat n liver, or steam egg wif mince meat too..

help!!!!!!! i'm also sick of confinement food... and i've got 2 more weeks to go... how to survive???
jus finish breast feeding... took me an hour, v tired liao, going to take a nap..

and every night drink 'ba zhen' if not 'dang gui', 'pow sheng', or brew wine wif meat .. oh my god ... drink till think my tongue sooner or later no taste liao ... every time hot drink, hot soup .. aiyooo i want coooolllddd drink .. i dun wan red date drink liao ... so sick of it liao

Peng,

but then if put in fridge, i thought can only last for 48 hours. I got some extra so store in freezer for future use.

Not sure if my bb suffering from colic, crying the whole night and very loud. from 9-12midnight wor.. so stressful, BF her , she drank and choke and cry , maybe stomach uncomfortable. Finally gave her dummy she doesn't one. At my wits end.

Now with the CL gone, feel so stress. Nearly teared when the CL left just now....wish i can strike toto and can employ her for another 2 months

hazel,

Yooo, u mean u ladies really so obedient.. drink everything hot hot? I wait for tonic to cool down to COLD then drink haha! And soup also drink until cold :p

bookworm,

Got apply ru yi oil? Got one nite my bb really SCREAM!! We thought wat.. i thought she want nipple so give her, but she continue SCREAMING.. then my hubby suggested ru yi oil and she immediately stopped crying. I didn't know wind can be so painful for her until that day. So i apply that on her after every meal.

kk,
the tonic taste not that nice leh so sometimes one sip one sip ..till become cold liao haha or i drink till 2/3 n throw the other 1/3 when my CL not ard haha ..

i think my teeth become yellowish liao ... as one month is like every day drink black/brown color drink (red date tea, tonic, black bean soup, wine)

hazel,

I dun mind my mil used my mum's ginseng wine to make tonic. Got once she used DOM leh! Aiyoh, i buey tahan.. i took one sip already sensed something wrong. Hubby also took one sip found it awful too :p

Gals, anyone know when menses will resume. My lochia was brown and finally cleared last week. then yday, i have red discharge something like 3rd day menses and stain every piece of clothes. Now still having leh. How to differentiate btw menses and lochia?

twinkle,

i tot as long as you bf, the menses will not be back till 3-4 mths later? Maybe want to call Dr lee to ask?

Ivy,

i m thinking if it is menses, it will last 7 days max. i will still till this wkend lor. anyway seeing him 2 weeks later. I am going siao liao w taking care cranky Kevan and heavy flow. got toilet also no time.

gals,

these 2 days my son will sleep 1 hr in the afternoon and wake uo wailing until very ke lian. i pat him to sleep again and 30 mins he wailed again . think nightmare?