(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

gummie,

pro-rate her salary and get her to leave. CL still use dispoable diapers in day time? Then employ her to do what?

bookworm,

Haha! When my girl is in one of her bad moods, she will want to suckle my nipple before she sleeps or stays quiet. I gave her pacifier last nite because buey tahan. Then she suck from 11++ to 12++ still dun want to sleep!! Feed her when time's up and she slept after that. So sleepy!

yest was a crazy dae... moving back to my in-laws place, pack all my stuff and baby's stuff, so tired... still i feel quite dis-organized... too used to handling baby at my own house...

Re: Expressing milk back at work

I am quite worried how i can pump at work... and dun seem to even have the time to take lunch, let alone pump... btw, looking for greener pastures in my field was part of my plan after giving birth... hmmmm seems quite diff.. have to tell the employer, do you have a room to spare me to pump? heheheh

Btw, yest i expressed milk into this glass bottle, and it was filled to the brim... it never occured to mi that under -4 degrees, liquid solidifies and expands! and *crank*, my glass bottle worth of 120ml of breast milk cracked! sob sob, gotta throw it away... so heart pain okie!

Re: Feeding intervals

my gal is coming 6 weeks old... she is still drinking 100ml... we feed her at intervals of 2 hours (by that time she will start fussing) ... she likes to drink only abt 20ml, and fall asleep, and no matter what we do, we can't wake her up! and she will prolly wake up 1 hour later to drink the remaining 80ml... any solution to make her drink one shot? Sigh... very tedious...

kk,
it is Pampers baby dry, the new type that can last 6 wettings. maybe my boy pee so much also , this so call 6 wettings also cannot tahan more than 3 hrs for him.

Fate,
NB ~ below 5kg
S ~ 4 -8kg
M ~ 6-12 kg

kk,

Any remedy for the dark vertical line? Luckily I don't have any stretch marks *phew*

Yvonne,

What glass bottle you used to store the BM? So wasted eh... At times, my little one is like your princess! Drink halfway... fell asleep despite ways to wake him up...and then waking up later to finish the rest. Very bad habit eh!!

twinkle,

kk,
i think is $11.50 something like tat, definately is less than $12. i bought fm NTUC. I remember per piece is abt the same as NEPIA.

Hi fates

My vertical dark line is realli ugly man...
I've got stretch marks on one butt cheek only... the other doesn't have... funni rite... My breast is full of stretch marks... think my nipple and aerola looks like a sun!

My baby had high level of jaundice and had to be admitted. Upon discharge, the nurses there gave me up to 10 glass bottles to store expressed breast milk... I also dunno where they get them from leh... each bottle is 120ml...

Yar lor, when my bb sleeps she reali concuss. NOthing can wake her up... but when she wakes up and want milk, she wants it IMMEDIATELY!

ladies, would like to seek your advice...

For those who express breast milk, you store in freezer, then when you want to thaw, you put it in the fridge, then you warm it up for bb to drink, BUT, if bb doesn't finish? And leaves quite a bit, do you all keep it to the next feed? If so, how? Or should we just throw it away? Sob Sob... heart pain okie? Throw away breast milk...

yvonne,

I thought leftover BM must throw away??? Last time when i was able to pump 100 ml, i had to throw the leftover away. Now.. heeeeee... dun even need to keep in fridge cos there is none

Check with u all something.. my girl's eyebrows got peeling skin leh.. i so worried it may be eczema.. but other than the peeling skin, everything is ok leh.. or is it due to dry skin?? dunno want to bring to PD or not... or continue putting mosturizer?

my gal is 2 and half weeks old. She is pooping like 7 times a day. Is it normal?

Yvonne,
u express directly into the glass bottle or u pour BM into the glass bottle after expressing out? I dun think the glass bottle can fit my pump leh...

Any of u feed EBM with the avent liner in the bottle? I find that the liner is causing BM to leak from the bottle so i have to pour the BM from the liner into the bottle.

fates,

you are lucky cos you pop early, so no stretch marks. Mine only came out at week 40! Even my gynae say so "ke lian", tot you escape liao..Sigh, i shld have induced earlier! haha

kk,

ya, got to pump in the office. But also hard leh cos i am out on the move most of the time. Maybe got to find a cooler box in the car and store the bm. Then maybe when i am out, find a nursing room to express and store.

Yvonne,

cannot re-store BM! Maybe you wan to use as facial for yourself? I tried to apply on my hands for the unfinish bm, make it quite smooth leh..haha.. But i have not try on face yet lah. Always tell my son that this is mummy's blood, you better finish all!

Yvonne,

The description of your breast so funny!

Really so bad meh??
The little ones are indeed demanding hor? When they want milk, they really want it immediately. LOL! Oh ya those glass bottles! I have lots of it too! But they are 90ml ones.

Actualli for the EBM, you can just put it in the fridge right? Why freeze it? Unless you got lots & lots of it? Those in fridge can store up to 48hours

And yes, EBM, if not finished, must throw it away.

kk,
Think can just put moisturizer..is she always sleeping in air-con room?

Ivy,
No leh....My tummy is soooo stretched by then...guess it's genes? My mum and sis (full term baby) don't have it :p
Ermm BM for facial??

Fates,

she is not sleeping in air con room during confinement. These 2 days then we started placing her with us in air con room, but last nite halfway i switched off air con because too cold.

I heard BM good for hair growth? Heeee another idea not to waste BM for those of u who have plenty :p

kk,

the peeling skin on ur bb's eyebrown is something like cradle cap...its normal lah..my gal also have...hehe

my confinement will be ending on wed but will still take my red dates drink mayb to 40 days ..anyway, it can help to increase MS.

after BM have been thawed and warmed, it cannt be kept back to the fridge..best to throw away liao

my bb will also drink her milk halfway and will doze off..no matter how she also wont want to wake up to finish it..so the remaining BM, my elder gal will drink it..hahaha. so wont waste it

Hi Ivy,

The Duo seems not bad...recommended by Mrs Wong of TMC...although it's expensive but the Parentcraft said that we can resell the pump after 6 mths since there's still warranty left & get back half the amt
the Duo is more silent than the Medela...the suction is also quite strong cos if i pump for more than 30 mins...my breast will be quite sore

Thanx thanx for your advice... looks like i have to throw the remaining away, cos my gal is fond of drinking halfway and fall asleep...Sob... Hmmmmm, i will trial and error, maybe breakdown the amount of milk into 2 bottles, hehehhe, at least wastage is less.... hehhehe, stingy (BM only okie!) mummy...

KK, the peeling of the eyebrow skin (ears also may have) just keep on putting moisturizer... will go...

Cindy, i pump straight into the bottles... am using medala electric pump... i dunno if we have the same bottles...

Ivy, facial! hehhee, i dun dare leh, though its like my milk... i read a book, it encourages mums to taste the BM before giving to the baby, so that you noe that the BM has no problem... yeeeeeeeeeeeeeee, my hubby forced mi to try.... hehhehehe, slightly saltish... (maybe its my sweat?!) i think.... cant realli describe...

Pooh... u are so lucky... ur BM wun go to waste tat way! hehehhe... so its wise to least have 2 kids (too early to discuss about that for mi!)

angelzwynd,

the set up and cleaning is also easy? I am using the UNO now. But got request by office to go back early ( starting work on the 28th) so i am thinking to get a DUO so that i can pump in the office and use lesser time...

Yvonne,
i tasted before as well, no taste one leh...

I noticed today my baby has skin peeling just under his groin/private area. Is it caused by the urine? I worry he may feel painful. Any remedy?

My fren suggest to put baby powder at areas-neck,bottom to make skin dry n cool. Is it good to use powder?

wana check if my son is drking 110ml n i m pumping 80ml, can i mix another 30ml of EBM 2gether wif the initial 80ml tat is oreadi in the fridge?? nw my son onli at week 3 n drking 110ml every 2-3 hrs mi reali siong man. mi alwiz express out n nv let him latch as i m afraid when i go bk wrk he not used to bottle...

hv tried the malay massage 2dae. do u ladies tink it reali wrks?? shd i go for 7 or 10 sessions??

understand tat u ladies r using nepia. reali tat gd?? tink of trying leh but i hv nv heard of tis brand b4.

twinkle, u mention tat S size is $14, hw many pcs is tat?? S size can wear till hw long??

fates,
wah... u v blessed leh... no stretch marks and back to pre-preggie size
kao_drool.gif

you should consider having more babies then, hehe...

kk,
i'm beginnin to wonder if sleeping thru' the night n not wakin up to breastfeed is the reason why i'm not losing more weight :p

bookworm,
i may have problem 'sacking' my CL for time being liao... my husband's leave like not approved... i dun think i can cope on my own. now tryin to look for a replacement, will be quite difficult. my hubby say he will tell her off if she talks back again.

gummie,

Still have some kgs to shed, but difficult at this moment haha.. they dun seem to go off haha.. got to wait till go back to work then see can shed or not :p

gina,

Ya, can mix both EBM together. I have done it before heee... nothing happen lah so i think ok lor :p Can also mix EBM with FM which i did sometimes now.

Race C,

Never put powder!! PD also say cannot put powder. Reason being the powder will go into bb's nose and into their lungs. No good!

Yvonne,

I tried BM too! I find it tasteless though heeee... dunno why bb loves drinking it :p

Ur bb experienced peeling skin at eyebrows too? Thanks for ur advice
Makes me feel more at ease now *phew* Everywhere else dun have, except the eyebrows.. make me wonder...

Pooh,

Cradle crap.. heard of it before but didn't know the effect and causes heheeee.. ok, so just put moisturizer and hope it goes off soon!

Ya, maybe the longan red date drink really boost MS. I didn't drink this after 30 days and my MS droppppppsssss drastically.

kk,
i'm just worried i have to spend money buyin new clothes to go to work... but looks like i cannot escape from it liao... i dare not even try on my clothes now, afraid to face the truth

btw how soon are we allowed to start exercising? after confinement?

gummie,

Haha.. i am already buying whenever i go shopping.. especially when it is GSS now
My tops can fit but tight at tummy. Bottoms.. all gone case liao

Now go shopping, got to try on L or XL sized clothings.. no more M sized for me *sob*

Urs is natural or c-sec? Mine c-sec and i cannot do strenuous exercise. I can only do brisk walking and swimming. No sit-ups even.

I think dun do exercise yet until ur gynae give u the green light at ur 6th week post natal checkup

Hi Ivy,

They are prompt in delivery.Very early too.But some cakes they forgot to put the plastic film...which is ok lah...maybe they might have forgotten.But the cake is still quite ok...for me i think its nice...maybe eating too much confinement food already,...so i think the cake taste quite nice.

So anybody advice ...me whether i shd get 3kg cakes for my colleagues to cut or to get sliced cakes(from sweet secrets) to distribute among them?
Hmm...still in a dilemma....

all mothers who are expressing your BM, i would like to know how do you judge when to pump. only started using medela pump in 3rd week.

i latch my baby directly every 1.5 - 2 hours during the day and supplement with formula at night. do i still have to pump after every feed?

so far, the maximum i express out is only a pathetic 20ml. that was when my breasts were quite engorged at night.

also, how long do you pump? for my case, when i see no flow for a few minutes, i will stop. however, i see milk squirting out after i squeezed my nipple. really wonder if i am doing this pumping correctly.

race,
my CL said better dun put baby powder .. she use drapolene cream (nappy cream) to put those area u mentioned as bb will easy get sweat .. later on the powder will become sticker.

fates, ivy
i also dun have stretchmarks.. my mum also dun have stretchmark.. i carried my bb till 39days n left 5days to my EDD.

gina,
u also tried Mdm Rokiah liao huh.. i only have 5 sessions.. how u find the massage? i dun think my wt drop after massage.. just that waist flatten lor ... and left a bit tummy .. that y need to work hard bind till end of the month or 2 month??
Think can mix to heat up together n let ur bb drink.. just dun mix n store together

kk,
Yah, my mum would make sure I ate at least 2 eggs a day. I think getting fat because of all those eggs...

Yesterday my BB slept at 11plus (last milk intake was 10pm), but she slept with us on our bed instead of her own playpen. She even forgot to wake up for her milk. I woke up at 3am to feed her myself.. haha..

I hope she'll be the same for tonight

fates,
I did get sore throat for a few days, then it went off and come back again. I heard from my mum I've finished 4 big bottles of seseme oil and is now going to finish my 5th bottle. Imagine so much oil in my body now.. Wonder how long i'm going to shed off those oil!

gummie,
So good, I got a pair of eyes to make sure i observe the rules.

Twinkle,
VERY VERY difficult to tong. On extreme hot day, I actually went to the fridge and drink some cold cold milo and packet drinks.. SECRETLY of course.. haha

Hazel,

guess i overstretched my tummy in the last few days before i pop..so sad...

anastasia/gina,

so envious of you both being abt to TBF. If i let my boy latch on, he dun seems to be satisfied at all, cos he will cry for milk in 1 hr interval. So i am expressing every 3 hrs and store in the fridge, and supplement with FM when it is used up. He is coming to 3 weeks now and drinking 100ml every 2 hrs already. I can only pump 80ml every 3 hrs, so not able to meet his demand.

yes, can mixed the ebm together to drink.

piglet,

i am also having 2 eggs a day and lots of kidney! I told my aunt and mum that buay tahan liao, if i see anymore kidney, i will protest and not eat! Phew, today got veg and fried chix! Yummy, the fried chix is so so so nice!
Seseme oil, i think i only using the 3rd bottle now. But the black chix tonic drink at night is causing me to have a sore throat, i think too "bu" for me liao..how i wish for an ice-cream now!

Ivy,
Same same, have been having kidney and liver for everyday till I've no appetite at all. Though I've veg everyday, my favourite is cabbage which I can't eat now. WOW!! Fried CHIX, my favourite.. OH, must be the tonic drink, I've sore throat everytime I drink the tonic drink brewed with dansheng. The tonic drink makes me feel like puking.

I guess after this confinement, I'm going to be scared of eating mee sua, drinking milo, eating liver and kidney, drinking longan/red dates tea, drinking herbal chicken soup and not to forget half-boiled eggs

Piglet,
These are the "pu" foods.. hahah.. mee sua helps to have more milk supply. 1/2 boiled eggs are v Pu essence to yr body..

No worry, you got few days to go..

piglet,

Heee my bb also enjoy sleeping on our bed, dun like her playpen. Luckily never invest in cot. She seems to enjoy company. Maybe still small hor, and she want more security?

Last nite she sleep at 1230 am and wake up at 430 am for her feed.. then she sleep again till 9 am :p

Heee i really abstain from cold drinks during confinement. I really have to praise myself for that :p Cold drinks have always been my love :p

Cabbage my favourite too!!! Didn't get to eat any during confinement
So happy mum's cooking cabbage soup tonite heee..

I took the tonic with wine every nite.. felt so heaty and it is like having headache everyday

Mee sua.. i sick of it really! My mil everyday cooked mee sua during confinement, with ginger. Yucks! Dun like ginger.

Ivy,

I hate kidney!! Ate that everyday until sick liao. Dun like the smell and taste of it. Didn't like it ever since young.

kk,
wah! yr bb so good, my boy wakes up every 3hrs for his feeding. so terrible. i feel so tired these days..
he wont want to go to sleep after the feeding, so playing himself n kena hiccup everytime and cry...

Ivy,
Your xavier has yr eye, i think combination of your hubby n yourself..

Unlike me, my boy dont look alike neither one of us.. duno he is out from where..

hi gals..

i have delivered my bb early, at 37wk on 28 may instead of june... hope u gals welcome me.

my bb is called ethan ng yi kai, tis is his photo.. http://pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/mrsnail74/album?.dir=bb81scd&.src=ph&store=&prodid=&.done=http%3a//photos.yahoo.com/ph/mrsnail74/my_photos

fates, i noe what u mean.. the dark line so ugly.. but my malay massage lady said that it will go away on its own after 6 mths.. so long..

Yvonne, i totally agree with u.. my bb always eats then sleeps half way, really feel heartpain to c my breastmilk gone to waste.. so wat i did is that i usually store the BM in different bottles, with each bottle abt the ave amt that he drinks.. so for e.g. he drinks 60ml on ave, i will gauge his level of hungriness. if really hungry, i take chance to give him 60ml straight.. if i noe not very hungry, i give him 40ml first.. then if he still wants, i slowly top up so that i dun need to waste the milk..

i store my bm in the fridge below.. think can store 4 days... but each time, take out have to put in hot water to warm it but i warm up little bit of BM by little..cos once warmed up, cant be reused..

kk, my bb oso got peeling skin.. yest i chk with PD.. he said it's normal.. dun need to apply anything.. it's juz a changing of skin.. but bb only 1 wk dold.. already peel skin.... is it too fast??

have u gals start thinking of 1st mth celebration?? where??

oso wonder what's ur arrangement in 2nd n 3rd mth? who to help out? cos my CL will go in 1st mth.. dun noe how to handle after that..

do u play w yr bb at this stage. At times he refuse to sleep after feed and not cranky. i just leave him to entertain himself. Anyone start any activites?

can check anyone manage to remove the whitish stuff from bb mouth? aiyo, my boy dun like me doing that and will clamp his gum tight

starry,

if ur boy can entertain himself w/o crying, think shld be ok. playing some music will be gd. for mine hor, he cannot be left alone or he will wail his lungs out
daytime he will stay in the living riim with me on his rocker.

Gina,
Nepia S size is 54 pcs. i normally check whether is his thigh too tight. if it is still ok then i dun upgrade to the next size.

Milo,
Mine at times also like tat. he has his mood lah. Sometime he want carry the whole afternoon. sigh!

starry,

haha was telling hubby, soon my biceps will be bigger than his liao with all the carrying.

ur boy poo how many times a day huh? mine like practically poo after every feed leh, wondering it is lau sai

Hi Ivy,

I guess the Duo is similar to the Uno wif the onli difference being there's 2 valves instead of 1 loh...
I'm also only allowed to take 2 mths ML as requested by my boss...thay's why i bought the Duo cos it saves time...moreover my girl dun latch on at all...so i need to express regularly to maintain the supply & relieve the breasts frm engorgement. Quite fortunate that able 2 meet her demand as yet with few days supply in fridge for storage. Guess the only way 2 maintain my supply is to pump as regularly as possible, even if it means getting up in the middle of the nite to express

twinkle

if u are tired to entertain ur bb, can play some music lor. i alwys get my elder gal to sing to her bb sis..haha. if i'm nt tired and bb is attentive, i do flashcards to her .. try those black, white and red color flashcards..

Peng,

Oh ok.. because the eyebrows look ugly haha.. destroy the whole nice look of the face :p

My bb start to have the peeling skin after 4 weeks. Around 5th week perhaps.

hi kk and piglet u are so lucky, my bb woke up at 3am and became cranky till 530am..gosh

by the way, does it take long top thaw the EBM from frige, my CL said my bb too impatient, cannot wait. so she is stress when giving my BM.

when does a bb develop sleeping pattern, think my bb cannot differentate day and night. die liao.

i think i swill soon have to give my bb the pacifier.

anyone having this problem? My bb seems to choke when drinking milk, i bf her. My CL says its wind, must burp her then carry on feeding. This few days, she also has been throwing up milk, wonder if it is normal. Sometimes like tow-huay, sometimes its milk? pls advice