(2006/04) April 2006 MTB

I am back. Guess what?! I really have blues again. I was tearing every now and then on Thursday night when CL left till Friday afternoon when my mom left after she came over to take care my bb over Thursday night.

After discussion with hb and help from both parents, I'll b putting up at my pil's place in daytime till my hb is back from work to pick both XT and I home.

My bb now weighs 4.7kg n measuring at 58cm and PD that time said she's rather huge for a month old bb.

Like smurfy, I've same prob. My bb now taking 100~110ml but she still demands her feed every 3 hours; only at times 4h.

My mom oso commented that of all bbs she saw or took care, never see a bb drink milk for more than 45 minutes! So. Winnie, you see our frustration?! BB eats at every 3h and 1h is taken up for feeding her and left with only 2h or less to sleep. =(

She has been behaving strangely for her milk too. Sometimes during her feed. she struggled so much that it's impossible to give her milk at all till we have to burp her and calm her down. My mom said she saw a white like thing in the teeth gum (something like ulcer).

To add on, my bb has not been pooing often. She missed at least a day of poo and for today and yesterday, she not poo.

Dunno if I should bring bb to see GP 2morrow???

Terrier,
thx for the info on the JEssie Catering. Will c how my staying put @ MIL's place first.

Evon

Wah.. Xuan Ting is very long! Amanda is 3 weeks older than her and she is 60 cm.. thought that she is long liao.. XT will be a tall girl next time!

Same case as my baby now.. she demands for milk once every 3 hours.. and the tiring thing is that I direct latch her on most of the time.. and she can feed up to 30 to 45 mins on each side.. she used to feed for almost 1 hour last time.. so dont worry.. their feeding time will shorten as they get older

Evon and Hunni,
hmm your babies can latch on so long? YY will finish her feed in 10 min or so. But now, she feeds very 2 hr. Very tiring to wake up at night hor? I thought if YY suckle longer, she will sleep longer...but no leh, she still v punctual, will wakie wakie or make a lot of noise (like sleep talk) after 2 hours.

Evon

Regarding baby's poo, you just have to take note of the colour and consistency of baby's poo. So long as the poo is soft, it's fine even tho she does not poo everyday. Babies tend to settle down to a pooing pattern after a while. Mine used to poo a few times a day but now he is passing motion every alternate day.

I was very stressed when my CL left too. In the end, I got foreign domestic help. So now better.

Can anyone tell me how pieces are there in a pack of Nepia diapers? What is the weight range for NB and S size. I m thinking of order but min 4pack for delivery so trying to see what size shld i get. tks

I think my hunchback is getting worst from bfing, anybody got this problem?

Another problem is that my bb wants to be carry all the time. I am using the sling and typing with one hand now. I am on my own now and bb cannot be carry like that all the time. Any solution to this?

Evon
It's good that you have reached a decision on settling down at your PIL place in the day. At least, there are other ppl available if you in need of help.

terrier,
i also had problem with expressing if i am alone, thats why i ask my mom to come over in the afternoon cos she is working halfday.

my bb also getting cranky at night. Yst night he didn't sleep from 2-5am. Its only when my CL put him on the rocker then he sleeps. Everybody around me said i should put him in sarong but i really don't wish to. Sarong will create another problem next time. He will need sarong wherever he go, i hope i could train him to sleep without rocking.

For those who feed their bb totally on FM, what brand did you use? Did you bb poo regularly? My bb is on Similac when my BM not enough, recently he had problem pooing, yst his poo is so hard tat he cannot squeeze it out and keep crying, we had no choice but to insert the liquid medicine into his anus and finally he poo but with some bleeding. I nearly cried, he look so pitiful.

Evon,
Its actually quite normal for bb not to poo for days if they are on total BM. Does your bb look uncomfortable? Mine certainly does.. he seems to be squeezing his poo day and night cos they are so hard. If your bb like mine, i think its better to go see dr.

Maraquan

I oso got this problem as you last week. Then my CL suggested that we get a bouncer, those traditional kind where there are 2 coils at one end that acts as the spring for bouncing bb...

Think it does help to solve my bb's carrying problem, though we still need to carry him if he cries. Then put him down when he quiets down...

Smurfy
My CL was just telling me this morning that if next time my BM not enough and going to switch more to FM, should monitor bb's poo. If very hard and can cause bleeding, that means the FM not suitable for bb...

Other means are did you try dilute the FM abit or feed him with water?

hunni, if my gal like urs good already. Mine like 1.5-2h starts to get hungry. so if i feed 1h left with another hr to put to sleep. afternnon difficult to put to sleep. this morning from 3-6 she was practically feeding the whole time n dun wan slleep

terrier,
my CL gave him some water, i guess its not enough. I try to feed him with water every time he wake up today.

ya, i going to change his milk powder. Probably trying NAN HA.

Evon,
U must keep cool take things easy!Ya it not easy handling bb alone! Me oso handling bb alone w/o confinement lady! sometimes her cries really drives me crazy! Jus like yesterday i realy cannot tahan den left her in MIL care den my hubby drove me out to take a break (for abt 2 hours) But when outside w/o bb kinda miss her. Haiz..... So told hubby to go home!

Terrier,
I think is for all babies lah cos i'm feeding my gal wif NAN 1HA!

cheona

Oops.. typo.. I meant that my darling will feed max up to 45 mins each feed.. not each side... Used to be an hour feeding duration.. now much better

Marauqan

Same here! My baby fussed the whole day today from 7 am till 2 pm. Fed her.. still cry.. so kept feeding till she had too much and vomitted out.. put her on the rocker.. no use.. carry her also cannot.. must carry and walk all over the place.. then she will close her eyes and look as if shes sleeping.. she will wake up immediately and cry her lungs out once I put her down..

Oh yes.. John Little is having 20% sale right now.. (fisher price items are on sale finally!) and robinsons wil be holding the great singapore sale this coming weekend
Went to shop like crazy just now.. (kinda feel like a prisoner at home sometimes) with the vouchers we got from Amanda'a first month celebration.. would have bought more if not for my c-section wound.. cant carry heavy things..

Think I'm picking up some trends ...
1) YY always need feeding after pooing
2) YY always has difficulty to sleep after drinking EBM.

Just now, she was awken by her pooing and after I cleaned her, she wants feeding despite a feeding an hour ago. As I've not anticipated this, I had pumped out the other side, so feed her EBM. Her eyes big big, and so alert although she yawn a few times. Tried to make her sleep, she simply cannot. Put her back to breast to suckle, she also cannot fall asleep. Ding Dong 2 hours plus liao! Now, FIL still carrying her so induce her to slumberland. But at least, she doesn't make noise (she quite mang zang when I carry and rock her).

hunniepot
U know what Robinsons is offering for GSS?

I also wish to go out and shop for bb's stuff but don't dare to bring bb out...U went out without bb ah?

Babe,
the suckling gets weaker and slower (with more rests in btn)...nipple gets pushed out while she dozes off and when you tease nipple at her lips, she will not response.

terrier

They say for most regular priced items.. think if you want to avoid the crowd and need the stuffs urgently.. can try going to John Little during the weekdays..

I went out without baby... fed her right b4 I went out and have a bottle of ebm on standby.. my mum helped me look after her.. got home within 2 hours.. cant shop for long.. afraid that my mum cant cope as she needs to cook for us..

milo66

Im not very sure leh.. cos didnt go take a look at those specified items.. guess shld have bah.. if the prices are not already discounted

I have an unopen pack of PetPet 'S' size selling @ $7. Bought at $8.90. My son can't wear liao..

Also have an unopen can of Friso Gold (Infant) ,900g, selling @ $17. Exp: Oct06.

Anyone interested? If collection point @ Sengkang, I can deliver to you. Else, can be discuss again. Pls sms me @ 98738741 if interested.

tks!

Evon

Your baby and my baby same problem. DIfficult to feed. She also wriggle here and there, shaking her head from right to left when the teat is in her mouth, or she will 'shut' her gum or put her mouth to an 'O' shape, refusing to suck. Takes 1 hour to feed, worse still, my baby's appetite has been very poor for the past week. I have changed the milk bottle and teat, as well as another brand of FM to see what's the problem, but she still is under-eating. She is only eating a total of around or below 600 ml a day and she is 6 wks at 4.8kg. When she is supposed to be drinking about 720ml a day for her weight. Very worried...What should I do???

Evon, regarding your blues problem, I fully understand what u are going through. You shd be careful not to let it develop to PND. Discuss your feelings with your hubby and what u are going thru. Could be cos we are worried about our baby, and at the same time, unable to cope with our 'new' life. I was also like that. I felt easily depressed, tearful, did not know why I was feeling that way, dunno what I want, terribly insecure and suspicous. Tears really can roll out anytime. Maybe was due to lack of sleep. Once, I cried so hard that I developed a fever the next day. After talking to a colleague, I felt so much better.

Evon, it is important to let your feelings out. We must take good care of our mental and physical health so tht we can take good care of our little one. Go shopping or anywhere where u can feel more relaxed. Try calling your friends and go out with them at least once a week, or ask hubby to bring you out to enjoy a meal together. Babies can detect their caregivers mood, so it is important to feel good. Anything, if u wish to find support or wat, u can pm me.

hi, for those who are going back to work? r u going to continue pumping.. me still trying to decide.. my work actually dun allow me to do tt.. but feel a bit sad tt after so long when e ss finally stabilise, i've to wean off..

if i decide not to give her BM when working.. i'm going to start off tomorrow by giving her EBM, so tt can drag e hrs of pumping/ latching on.. and in turn supplement w formula.. feel a bit bad to bb..

anyone got any suggestion? but everytime i give her EBM, she didn't finished, i'll feel so heart pain.. and dun dare to reduce e qty cuz based on her weight, tt should be how much she drinking..

alas, so "FAN"

Hi kyla,

I have the same situation as u are. In the dilemma now. Not sure to continue BF or not. My work place does not have room for me to express so I might go to the nearby shopping mall to do it.

My girl also didn't finish everytime I give her ebm. Then I realise she want the ebm to be warm. After drinking for a while, the ebm turn cold then she dun want. So what I do is have some hot water nearby. Everytime when she stop, I will put the bottle into the hot water to warm it up a bit and she finish it after that.

Not sure whether this is the reason for you. But you may want to try whether it works for your bb.

I need to check with those of you with bb on FM. The FM u are using is recommended by PD or u just decide yourself what to use?

Which is actually better? Enfalac or Similac?

Hunni and precious,
Both of you using nepia right? when is it time to upsize from NBV to S? NB size showing elastic band marks at YY's thighs but waist still got a lot of room. Should use S now?

Tracy,

I never ask my PD. My colleagues who are mummies recommended Similac.

Chenoa,

I also using Nepia. I started 'S' when there were elastic band marks on my bb's thighs. Waist area was at about '2' for Pampers cotton care for NB. She was 5 wks then.

Any updates?

<font size="+1">This is our homea place where we belong</font>
<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">Name</font></TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">Home</font></TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">IL Home</font></TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">Maternal Home</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pebbles</TD><TD>Woodlands</TD><TD>Bt Panjang</TD><TD>Woodlands </TD></TR><TR><TD>Daphne</TD><TD>Woodlands</TD><TD>Woodlands</TD><TD>Potong Pasir </TD></TR><TR><TD>Des</TD><TD>Woodlands</TD><TD>Yishun</TD><TD>AMK </TD></TR><TR><TD>bblim</TD><TD>Woodlands</TD><TD>AMK</TD><TD>Woodlands </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jolie</TD><TD>Woodlands</TD><TD></TD><TD>Yishun </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mrs Ho</TD><TD>Sembawang</TD><TD>Mal (M'sia)</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Juzmaine</TD><TD>Yishun</TD><TD>AMK</TD><TD>AMK </TD></TR><TR><TD>Winnie</TD><TD>AMK</TD><TD>(with in laws)</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chenoa</TD><TD>Bishan</TD><TD>(with in laws)</TD><TD>Pasir Ris </TD></TR><TR><TD>Irene06</TD><TD>Toa Payoh</TD><TD>Yishun</TD><TD>Toa Payoh </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hunnipot</TD><TD>Toa Payoh</TD><TD>Toa Payoh</TD><TD>Jurong East </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jasminetea</TD><TD>Hougang</TD><TD>Toa Payoh</TD><TD>Bt Merah </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jumbo</TD><TD>Upp Bt Timah</TD><TD>(with in laws)</TD><TD>Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>Preciousbabe</TD><TD>Dover</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shylyn</TD><TD>J. West</TD><TD>C'wealth</TD><TD>J. West </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lemontree</TD><TD>Tanah Merah</TD><TD>Tg Pagar</TD><TD>Bedok </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jilian</TD><TD>Marine Parade</TD><TD>Bt Timah</TD><TD>Penang (M'sia) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sggal</TD><TD>Katong</TD><TD>Ipoh (M'sia)</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tracy</TD><TD>Eunos</TD><TD>Dover</TD><TD>Eunos </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rach</TD><TD>Pasir Ris</TD><TD>Tampines</TD><TD>Bt Batok </TD></TR><TR><TD>Koalarie</TD><TD>Seng Kang</TD><TD>Ubi</TD><TD>Teban Gardens </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>
kao_welcome2.gif
<font color="ff0000">update: 28-04-06, 18:00</font>

Lemontree &amp; Precious,
thanks, but what if too loose at the thighs, will kenna leakage? PampersP NB not yet showing marks at the thighs and MamyPoko's NB cutting is also bigger than PampersP.

What size are your babies wearing now for Nepia?

cheona,
Jayden is wearing S for MamyPoko, Pampers, Nepia and Huggies. So far, most of the diapers r loose at the waist, then thighs just nice leh. YY's loose at the thighs for Nepia S?

cheona

I changed from NB to S when the NB diaper no longer fits Amanda.. too tight around the waist.. my bb has got skinny legs initially so no marks ard her thighs.. now she is much chubbier!

Hi tracy and kyla
i am also considering whether to continue bf after going back to work. one of my bosses loves to keep tabs on employees who are bf. one of my colleagues kena the last time, got asked when she will stop and how many times she pump and when. definitely not bf-friendly. also, my milk supply still quite low. how to step down or wean off while preventing engorgement?

I'm also considering whether to continue or not, cos it's kinda trouble to pump in one of the room and then carry the pump and milk to the pantry which is at the other end to wash the pump and keep the milk in the fridge.
But then again, BM is good for our babies and can save money on FM also... and my mom was telling me to continue...

Do you give pacifier to your baby? My boy keep wanting to put his hand into his mouth. People also say pacifer can also help baby to sleep better...

Wonder should I give him pacifer.

Mad Bride

Our darlings born on same day, mine's a gal. =)

Chenoa

My gal wearing S for Nepia and Pampers cotton care.

Terrier

My gal will fall asleep while sucking her pacifier. So I normally only give it to her at nite when I am very sleepy already but she is not.

terrier

I only give pacifier to my girl when I cant stop her from fussing.. but I take it away from her once she falls asleep.. dont want her to be too dependent on it.. my girl also likes to suck her fingers initially.. but she stopped as we put on mittens on her all the time

hello, wonder ur babies sleep on their own or need rocking, patting? Mine like have to pat nonstop n dun go into deep sleep esp in the day. advice? Getting super tired n emotional already. think i breaking down....esp when tbf..bb only 5weeks..when will she behave?

hi babe, trust me, need to pat only quite good already.. mine need to be CARRY ALL E TIME.. sarong also cannot, and must have special position, and cannot support her neck (she only 6 weeks, no good neck support but if u touch her neck when carrying her, she'll wail) think carry her is training up my hand and leg muscle..

me and my MIL take turns to carry her from 6 am to 11 pm.. by 11 pm, i already going to call SOS.. call my hubby back, tell him, me and MIL surrender.. e moment put her down, she cry, carry till she sleeps, put her down, she cries..
feed till she sleeps, put her down only, ya.. she cries..

so in e end, after 11 pm feed, she sleep w me, and i pat her whole nite..

and i agree w u.. my ger only 6 weeks, will things get better?? me living by e hours, just tell myself tomorrow will be better, later she'll sleep.. but sometimes e nerve so thin, i just want to put her in e cot, close e door and let her cry.. alas, but dun have e heart to do tt.. so have to torture me and my MIL by taking turns to carry her.. my MIL last time help pp look after bb, says mine super difficult to take care, need a lot of attention.. last time, bb put down only sleeps.. mine alas..