(2006/04) April 2006 MTB

Hi Evon,

i guess my case could be the same as yours. Saw Mrs Wong before i discharge and she say look like i m 'special' among the common.

Anyone can tell me how do I know when to change pamper to S zize? currently he is using new born , the thigh area look like going to be tight soon but the tummy area still very loose .

hunniepot,
I still stick to changing Jayden's diaper every 3h leh, same for night time. Y?

irene,
Heee...I find nepia ok, at least better than Drypers. Hmm...hunniepot also stays ard Toa Payoh, mayb u can check with her if she can pass u some samples to try?

Preciousbabe,
4 packs in 3 weeks....so fast! That's average of 10 pcs per day leh....you always change at regular interval issit? I only change on demand (i.e. when saturated / poo) and use about half your qty. To order Nepia, just call 6226 2650?

cheona,
Ya, I always change after his feed. Don't want him to get nappy rash

preciousbabe

Yeah lor.. I asked cos 4 packs in 3 weeks like alot leh! But it is a good habit.. during night time.. can dont change diaper for even up to 6 hours? Terrible mummy I am right? Cos I always end up sleeping while feeding Amanda..

Irene

As preciousbabe suggested.. I can pass you some samples to try
But I only have S size.. no NB size.. ok with you?

Hi twinkle-starry,

I share the same milk supply problem. Mrs Wong said jokingly that i belong to the dairy farm species. So i have been supplementing with fm.

As for diapers, as a general guide, Pampers NB is for babies up to 5kg. If it's still loose around tummy, should still be fine.

hunniepot,
6 hours then change diaper?! Wow, Amanda didn't complain ah? Jayden wouldn't be able to sleep soundly if his diaper is wet, he'll fidget and make funny noise like horse neighing like dat. So no choice got to change every 3 hourly for a better night rest

preciousbabe

The problem is she didnt complain leh.. unless it is very soaked thru.. and we keep thinking that she must be hungry whenever she cries.. so we always feed her first b4 changing her diapers.. think shld be the other way round

stress...dunno izzit my ms not enough...baby keep cranking in afternoon..after feeding on n off as she falls asleep, the moment i put her on bed she woke up 5 min.i gave her 60ml ebm n latch 5 min she fell asleep after whinning 2 h...help...i think bf stressing me at times n i still can't seem to read wat she wants at 4wks+..breast dun feel full with her feeding like only with 30min or 1h after last feed. normal?

babe

Perhaps it might be due to stress on your part? Stress can affect milk ss too.. why dont you take a break.. give her FM for 1 or 2 feeds so you can rest longer.. with more rest.. im sure your milk ss will increase

That was what happened to me yesterday.. was so tired.. and my breasts didnt feel full even after 4 hours.. so fed my bb FM for 1 feed.. had adequate rest and ss came back

babe,
Could Keziah be suffering from colic? Did you check with your pd?

hunniepot,
heeehee...I also didn't change the diapers before feed. I change halfway during the feed as I know Jayden likes to poo when he's drinking his milk. Dirty fellow!!

Hi mad bride,

Mrs Wong real funni at times hor. are you still bf now? i bet yr shld be better than mine lah, me each express is abt 20-30ml only.

Hi Chenoe,

I delivered at TMC. Oh no no, i am not YC bride heee...

Babe,

U did not supplement with FM? Like tat pretty stressful on ur part and tire u out easily.

Hunniepot,

My girl prefers diapers. When she is on cloth nappies, once it wets, she cries. If use pampers, no problem. She will only complain later. If no poo poo, i will feed her first, then change diapers. Else will change diapers first, if not she dun want to take her milk :p

smurfy,
so good at least ur hb was with u last week and u manage to get ur CL for another week. My CL has gone home and I m left with bb alone at home. She sleeps with so many noises that I felt gan cheong at times... dunno if she is feeling uncomfortable or what. =p

Thank goodness, juz next week, I'd've my SIL coming over in afternoon to help me up.

Hopefully during these 3 days (Vesaek day holidays), hb n I can recognize her sleeping pattern @ night and work out some form of schedule.

U got lexin huh? I m still looking out since next week can get my SIL to buy back for me from Changi Village.

Think the health review can b done on 2nd month becoz when I was there yesterday and the lady explained to me on these jabs n told me if giving bb 6-in-1 then come back for measurements etc on 2nd month onwards.

hunni and precious,

she likes to poo during feed too. if diapers full, I still feed first then change after feed. hmmm...my gal also never complain her diapers wet wet....if no poo, her diaper can last the whole night (more than 6 hrs)...I experience a few times using Pampers and MamyPoko....will be very heavy, but her butt still dry dry. last night, she poo poo in her diaper at dunno when...never make noise at all...until I check, aye...some some sai leh....somemore a bit dry and stick to her butt. Aiyo...dirty girl.

Babe,
I think I'm in a similar milk supply situation as you. Breast now never feel full. I heard that like baby's growth spurt, we will also undergo a milk spurt. But dunno when the spurt will come.

I fed her 60ml FM yesterday after latch her on every hour for 3 times and she quai quai sleep for 5 hours after that. Suspect BM not enough lor.....when she din wake up after 3 hours, I pump out ... can only get 60ml from both breasts.
I think is low leh.... Lucky when she wake up, think she still q full, so I latch her she only suckle 5min and continue to sleep but the night wake up every 2 hr for feed. Today also....every 2 hr feeding. Somehow, is a good day today 'cos she din enk too much. hopefully tonight she can sleep 'cos been sleeping q a lot today.

pee & poo:
my gal oso not complaining when she poo or pee (what a dirty bb!!!)...
chenoa,
better clean bb poo a.s.a.p to avoid rash...dont keep it too long....so we got to check when we smell something smelly....

Hi twinkle-starry
don't be too stressed out, you only gave birth about 2 weeks ago. your milk supply will increase. i was doing about the same as you at that time. cannot be too hard on ourselves, or will go crazy.

hi mad bride,
tks for yr advise , i m now 'kan kai'liao. little better than nothing

now just hope confinment fast fast over
weather too warm liao and i m dying for a can of Coke

preciousbabe,
U taking care of him alone? Tot read tat u going back giving tuition?

XT makes so much noise that I tot she going to cry and I dun dare to close my eyes to rest.

Re: How long you took to feed ur bb using FM?
how long do you feed ur gal?

My gal drinking abt 100ml now and she took an hour to finish her milk.

Re: Poo and Pee Behaviours
My gal dun like her nappy or diaper to b wet and if diaper too wet for her, she will cry loud.

My gal poo now every day once. But yesterday no poo at all.. so worried then juz now b4 CL left, she got a bit of poo.. then after CL left, she poo during her feed.. So much poo that stained her butts. Her poo is very mushy mushy one.

CL told me XT likes to poo at night during her feed and so CL taught me to give her some milk to drink 1st b4 cleaning her butts. And then continue later.

Re: Nepia Diapers
I noticed Nepia diapers has same indications as Pamper Premiums. So when the colour changes from yellowish-green to blue, means fully wet, right?

Noticed that when all blue, my gal will wail; so I guess it means it is full?

evon,
I take care of Jayden during the day till about evening then I'll go for tuition. I also takes abt an hour to feed Jayden. Yup, when the indicator turns blue, it means it's wet. But can still hold urine lor.

hi jilian,

So far her level has gone down too, but doc and nurses said may go up again since she is premature and on breastmilk. If goes up, then got to stop TBF, switch to FM for 3 days.

My BB takes abt 15-20 mins to finish 120ml FB. Usually when he doesn't suck the milk, i will gently pull out the teats, then he will continue to suck.

ya loh..i full tbf n finding it super tiring. Esp so when mil keeps saying bm not filling should mix fm. Hiaz...feel so no support sometimes. Guess also I have been in the house eversince confinement. think i going mad at home!!! Now I ebm 100ml for her to drink in morn n she sleeps quite well 2-3h though muz catch her in time to pat when she stirs abit during her sleep.

Chenoa, u also sama. What to do and when will that spurt come? Keep seeing gals with fountain supply. Wonder when my supply will fountain.

Think also coz my gal keeps sleeping when latch on so guess she might not get enough. How to keep her awake? Tried tickling her cheek and neck, move her hands n legs but she simply suck awhile and slows down again.

babe,
I think we should be doing ok. I had a sudden increase in milk last night....hoping it's not temporary...maybe it's the fish and papaya soup? Or maybe the body finally recognise need to supply more.

But if really cannot, feed FM lor....matter of time they start on FM. My aunt also says better to start off early (maybe the night feed) so they will not reject the taste later.

koalarie,
I haven called lexin for tingkat yet.

my bb also sleeps with alot of noises.. yst brought him to see PD becos he hasn't poo for 3 days and is becoming very grouchy. He cannot sleep well at night and fart alot. After coming home from PD, he pooed immediately before we administer the medication.

At the same time, PD did a general health check, said everything is ok. His weight is 4.2kg now.

Based on the instructions on the milk tin, babies of this weight should be drinking 4 hourly. My mom also said that he should be drinking 4 hourly, not 3 hourly but my bb get hungry every 3 hourly ley. Is it that his feed not enough?

My BB also takes abt 15-20 mins to finish 120ml of ebm/fm. If he doesn't suck the milk halfway thru, i will burp him first before continuing. Sometimes he has too much air in him, he feel too full to continue, so its good to burp.

chenoa,

I had increased it from 90ml to 120ml for FM. I had also increase BM from 120ml to 130ml, cannot increase too much wait cannot finish wasteful.. bo bian, MS too little to be wasted :p

chenoa, u fully bf or mix fm? how u know got sudden increase in milk? my gal now i think 4 kg as of last week, I gave her 100ml ebm, too much? today I gave her ebm in morning and when she woke up 4 hr later...and she keeps sleeping. So now wonder izzit she not sucking properly

babe,
I'm on TBF but supplemented with FM once (was it yesterday or 2 days ago? cannot remember liao)

A mother experience the milk spurt but she says it does not coincide with baby's growth spurt. That's all I know.

When she sleeps, it means she's full and you can stop worrying.
If you suspect she's not latching on correctly then consult a lact consultant.

Jia You!

hi ladies, am from the may thread... my baby was born on 27 April...

Babe, just went to my PD, he told mi tat i should be feeding my baby 90 to 100ml each feed, try not to exceed 120ml. Was quite shocked, cos my baby is only 2 weeks old... hmmmm, but he is a big drinker... the PD told mi that this is especially so for breastfed babies, cos it breast milk is more dilute...

by the way,

Am not so sure about the formalities of tradition, but when i throw a baby shower with catered buffet, do i need to give out goodies to the guests? Plus we are celebrating 1 week in advance, cos my mil is going back to Penang :S, do we need a bdae cake for the baby? cos it is so wierd... not even 1 month yet...

How's everybody? jus to chk how u gals heat up the EBM?

Evon
BB takes abt 15 - 20 mins to finish 100ml of milk!

Chenoa
When u celebrating YY's full mth? Who will look after YY after ur ML? Do u still wrap YY like hw she's being wrap in hospital?

Hi Winnie
Do you mean heating up EBM that was stored in fridge or freezer?

If store in fridge, what I did is to first put the bottle in a pool of tap water followed by a cup of hot water. Then pour away the hot water and refill with fresh hot water again. The process will take abt 5-10mins.

tracy..mine was an angel last night. slept thru the night for 7 hrs. Not sure coz I fed more yesterday coz was trying out ebm to chk my supply not low as my bb is v wakeful in afternoon. Gave abt 100ml each time. She feeds v often in the day like 2hrly n sometimes 1.5hrly from noon to abt 8pm. The rest of time she sleeps now. Wat a relief after a traumatic 1st mth. She is now 5 wk old

babe,

I was still wondering whether I should wake her up for feeding. Same as u, I gave my girl 90ml of ebm but I think not enough for her. She will ask for more in 1-2 hrs time. If I latch her on then she can sleep thru 3-4 hrs. In the night, she will feed once at 11 plus and once at 12 plus. Then she sleep thru the night till 5-6am.

Hi Yvonne

No, I didn't give any goodies for guest to bring home, b'coz already got the buffet meh...

I didn't have a cake, and I also don't see other ppl have cakes during their full month celebration unless is meant for giving

Winnie,
I never wrap my baby since discharge from hospital. She likes to kick and stretch, so let her be and not restrict her movement.

she drinks 100ml now ah? how many hourly?

Babe,
so happy for you! So you now feeding EBM and not latch on?

Maraquan,
i also wonder how much YY should be consuming now....She's 3 weeks now. These few days, I din feed EBM, so dunno how much she suckle every 2 hr.

Hi Evon/Smufy

Have you settled with your tingkat meals already?

I found this caterer website, can specify our preferences. Evon, this will be good since we cannot take seafood for our c-sec wound and can specify no prawns.

http://www.jessie.com.sg/

chenoa, I still latch but try to free myself sometimes with ebm. I juz found back my life. Juz did hair cut n facial this weekend. Feel so good after inhouse for so long.

Tracy when I latch or feed ebm same..bb will ask for milk 1.5-2hrly (i.e. counting from start of feed to next start of feed). Now I juz give her coz I think she tanking up for the night. Will c how she does the next few nights. If everyday like that she can sleep thru night I really dun mind

hunniepot,
I saw frm the market place that u had organised Carters BP before. Can I ask u why some of the lables r snipped off? Heehee...my fren is keen to join next time if there is a BP thus she wants to know. Pls advise

Hi preciousbabe

Hmm.. why ah? I really dont know leh.. most of the carters stuffs I got from here have their labels snipped off as well.. just like you buy stuffs from factory outlet.. labels are snipped off
Those carters stuffs I saw at Toa Payoh hub push cart (now no more liao) also have labels snipped off...

terrier,
Thanks for the info on this tingkat.. i haven't booked any yet. Will start tingkat lunch probably on 22 May.

How are you coping after CL left?

Hi Smurfy

My CL still around till next Sat. So I also start tingkat on 22 May too...I'm thinking need to cater lunch or only dinner...

I started to handle bb during the nights liao...hiaz...yesterday night he got so cranky and kept crying for 2 hours...I tried all means to pacify, feed him, change diapers in vain...The moment I give up and pass him to CL, he immediately stop crying...

Do you manage to find time to express milk when coping alone? I find this is going to be a big problem liao leh...