(2006/04) April 2006 MTB

1sttimemum,
Heard of Beauteous Es'thnet? It's located in Shaw Towers. My sis brought me there. Two beauticians only. Can't remember how much.. but definitely not below 50 bucks.

hunniepot,
no worries on bb clothes in hospital stay.. they all wear similar clothes when I saw.. but funny thing's they would not be given these clothes during discharge! Faint right?

Lemontree,
Me only got two packs. One is Kotex one .. think only 10~20 pieces. Then the other one from Giant, which is sold in Kiddy Palace as well.

Unbelievable.. Me still in office.. okay ladies.. got to go.. my bb hungry. Go look 4 dinner 2 eat. =p

Evon

Aiyah.. what to do.. gynae is situated at GlenE.. otherwise I wont even consider GlenE at all.. Mt A and TMC is so much closer to home for me...

RE: PJ with front opening

What do you gals think of PJs with front openings but comes with pants? Or is it better for us to get the one piece type?

hunniepot,

Never heard of but okay lah coz me also dunno which one to go and i think they are almost the same.....
By the way, i only have a packet of maternity pad and i think the brand from Pureen Madame w/o wings.... so think better go buy one more coz i know hubby will not help me buy coz he pai sei.....

RE: PJ with front opening
I bought 2 PJ dress from metro coz got voucher and 1 from market which is top and pants but material is quite gd and cooling.... metro ones after dis $15.00 than market ones $11.90..

RE: Baby Bath
Which brands are you gals buying for bb huh?? I just when to Kiddy Palace and spend $ again.... Went to buy Sebamed Baby Bubble wash and cost me $48.90 for 1000ml.... and this is offer price. Very ex but my sis say its a good investment coz bb skin very delicate. My niece was using JJ, Tollyjoy, Pigeon but end up her skin is so dry that it crack and doc ask to switch to Sebamed.

RE: BB detergent
I buy H-A-D from Pureen which costs $7.90/800g. I used it last week to wash bb clothing and find that its very soft and the smell is great. I find it cheap compare to bb detergent. Recommend by my friends. Just to share with you gals.....

Hi Hi.

RE: Cord Blood Banking
Seems that Apr mummies not very keen on this.
Yah.....the blood is only 100% suitable for the baby himself, a relatively good chance for siblings and 50% for the mother. Father has the least benefit. We feel that it's like an endless commitment lor....dunno when will get to use it, (touch wood - better not need it at all) so it's a hefty storage fee considering you can store it indefinitely.....for the first kid and later more kids to come....

RE: Nappy Liners
I have Annaku and Pureen ones. My gf says that Tollyjoy's thicker than Annaku's. Evon, you are not wrong....the liners are supposed to be thrown away after each use. Sure, can save quite a bit of $$ on liners if re-use. But even if you use one time and throw, it's def. cheaper than using disposable diapers.

RE; PJ with front opening
Hunnie, it's ok if you use 2 piece pyjamas. Front opening is to allow easy BF. Dress PJ is just more convenient to go toilet / change pads but if C-section, think better to wear dress 'cos you wounldn't want an elastic band around your tummy stitches right?

Oh yaya, foget to ask hor, how many packets of Baby Wipes did you gals buy huh and Disposable Breast Pad??? I dunno isn't kaisu but i buy 2 three packets and 1 in box from Pigeon than hubby say i like giving birth to 6 childred..
than i told him used very fast wan lor!! Than breastpad, i only but 2 boxes that comes with 36+6 not sure can if enough for confinement anot?
Sorry about it, i very lo soh!!!

BTW, for baby's toiletries, I'll be using Pureen. I grew up with Pureen (so do my sis and my cousins). In fact, I'm using Pureen baby wash mix with a little of dettol body wash every day when I bathe.
My teenage cousin still uses the Pureen baby shampoo, but it's not suitable for my hair.

In fact Pureen is a very established brand (from the US) and is very popular in M'sia. They don't do marketing here, so it's not well known or readily available lor. They have a wide range of baby care products and even maternity products.

You may consider these:
a) cloth nappy - quality is good, I have a few old pieces given by auntie.
b) nappy liners - not opened, so no comments.
c) disposable diapers - cheap, ok for frequent change at home (save $), not recommended for night use cos some mummies complain about leaking.
d) Madame maternity pads
e) Nappy rash cream - cheap and satisfactory feedback, it's rather mild.

chenoa,
thanks for sharing.... maybe after using sebamed, i will switch to Pureen. I will save alot compare to buying Sebamed which is so ex but lucky on offer if not got to pay $60+..... me also using Pureen nappy liner but only bought 1 box coz sis have so dun have to buy liao!!! I think i dun have to buy nappy cream until bb is 1 yr old coz i have 2 tube of 2oz Destini, 2 tube Pureen Nappy Rash Cream and 1 4oz Destini Creamy...haha, abit siao liao. Buy and buy than come back saw that i already got liao!!!

Mummies... below r the item i bought for myself to b brought to the hospital...

1) Eternity Nursing Bra @ metro $9.90 each
2) Button front sleep dress @ Chinatown $7 each
3) Sofy Pad 35cm 8pcs $2.80
4) Disposable 100% cotton panty 5pcs @ watson $3.90

As for bb stuff don hv to bring cos TMC provide new set of clothes, receving blanket, etc...

Re: BB Bath n BB Detergent
Hv bought Kodomo for both item. BB Bath $7.50 @ Kiddy Palcae which come wif free 200ml. BB detergent $16.80 @ NTUC.

Re: Nappy Wipes
Hmmmm... wanted to buy Pigeon in the 1st place. But SIL say its a bit dry she ask me to try Johnson n Johnson (pink color pkg)as she is using n not bad. Bought 3packs for $10.90 @ watson. Only saw tis offer at Paya Lebar watson.

hunniepot, somebody suggested that we get the front opening all the way dress type.

Reason she gives, is that the mother during labour would be wearing that... n what happened, is that if they may hook those equipment stuff for us to pass urine or something like that..

If got pants, then a bit mafun... assuming in between contractions u want 2 get down from bed n walk walk ard....

That was what she said.

chenoa, my hb dun c tix way.

He explained 2 me, got to wash, got to use electricity n water... n plus the effort required to wait 4 the cloth nappies 2 dry... n even if got a dryer, again it's electricity... tat's what one of his colleague who has a 2yr old girl, shared /w him la.. kind of logicial.. N plus my cousin did share /w me both her bbs each use at least 10~12 cloth nappies a day. Tat's y she was telling me two dozen not enough n gave me a brand new pigeon ones for me as well.

Re: Nursing bras
How come u all can find so cheap nursing bras?? I dun c those tat can open ones leh in Giant.. when I went to Turf City recently.

Very sleepy liao but my mind just dun want to shut down leh..... Kept telling bb i want to sleep but doesn't really help....haiz!! Tomorrow sure overslept again!!!!

saw the previous postings on cot bumpers.. ya, aussino got very very nice ones. Bought the pinky set for my girl.

Is there a high possibility of doctors making mistakes? I dunno, cos the scan shows a girl (my gynae said so) and pple around me trying to convince me that I look like as if i'm carrying a boy. You know, how old pple say they can tell by the belly shape lah, this and that...
Gosh, i bought a lot of things in pink liao.. even baby stroller is purple. getting fed-up with their "i still think it's a boy" comments day in day out. Especially now, when EDD is drawing near..

Jade,
Don't worry..heehee..I also have people commenting that the shape of my tummy looks like I'm having a girl. But the sonographer was very sure that I'm having a boy coz saw the chick.

At this point of time, if cannot see the chick then confirm it's a girl u r carrying liao lor.

Jade,
I oso encountered same prob as u. Many ppl, even office colleagues, i dun really noe oso said i got a boy.. when my gynae cfm sometime back tat i got a bb gal. =p

So, like what preciousbabe said lor... don't worry lor.

I got lots of pink colour stuff.. =p

1sttimemum,
hope u manage 2 sleep.. i oso been tossing ard the bed. Ended up sleeping the opposite side from hb then managed 2 fall asleep.. then in the middle of nite, suddenly hb's leg seems 2come so near me tat almost hit my face.. luckily got pillow. =p

Preciousbabe,
u slept really late last nite. =p

Evon

Hmm.. makes alot of sense.. think the one piece dress will be more comvenient.. but I am just scared that it will go all the way up to my waist when I sleep.. and very pai seh if there are visitors and they catch me in the 'act'?

Jade & Evon

On the contrary.. most pple can tell that I am having a girl.. haha cos my tummy is round round.. thats what they say lar.. but that is the old wives saying.. most impt is what doctor can see from the ultrasound mah..

I also got loads of pink stuffs.. till my family members say it is way too much.. so in the end I bought the blue colour aussino cot bumper set.. (like it cos there are many different animals pictures) instead of the pink one for a change... I almost bought a pink stroller! But hb dont allow me to buy so I got a blue one instead..

Went for my detail scan and the gynae told me its a boy and just to double check, XY is refering to boy right coz i bought alot of things already in blue colour.... my tummy also round round de, but my operators all told me its a boy leh. Funny coz some old wife tales say round is boy but some say gal so dun know which one is right which one is wrong..... and can scanning goes wrong??? Maybe this time round go and ask gynae again is boy or gal coz after she told me its confirm boy when i am at 20wks than after that never say liao!!!! Haha!!!

Wow! So many posts since last Friday. Did not managed to come in over the weekend and yesterday cos was busy working.

Mine's a boy and like 1sttimemum after doc scanned at 20 weeks he never comment about it after that. I keep asking hubby to confirm with doc. Haha... but I always refer to my baby as a he and doc never correct me, so I think ok.
The ladies at my office also like to comment about the shape of my tummy. And they always talk with such conviction but they're wrong so I just ignore them.

But on the other hand, I didn't buy too many blue stuff either. Want to be able to re-use them for the next one in case is girl. Try to safe money. Hahaha...

RE: Shape of Tummy to determine gender
Hello mummies, i think all these round and sharp tummies are old wives tales. Some claim to be experience, maybe because out of 10 times, they guess correctly 9 times. The best thing would be from the doctor's scan. Anyway, boy or gal still our darling bb

Ya, daphne is very right. Whether boy or girl, they're still our darlings. The husband might wanna my gynae to scan for the sex again during the coming check-up though.

And if baby is indeed a girl then she is a strong little lady. Her kicks & punches can be quite painful lor. And on occasions when I see one of her limbs protruding from within, i'll tap on it gently and she will 'poke' elsewhere. Mischievous.. & we continue playing till either one of us gets tired. Hehe!

ya....ppl also said my tummy looks sharp...so supposed to be a boy...but mine is a girl leh....

Looks like many of you are very well prepared liao.....the number of things to buy really can cause headache.....I bought only 2 packs of maternity pads....which I think may not be enough after what hunniepot has said... think may buy somemore....cannot imagine my blur hubby buying maternity pads for me during confinement.....

Jade...your bb so cute.....can play with you already.....Mine is greedy....will kick and kick when she is hungry.....or when I feel hungry...Maybe when I feel hungry, she feels hungry too....haha

1sttimemum

XX means girl
XY means boy

X & Y are sex chromosomes, our husbands' sperms have both X and Y chromosomes whereas our eggs are all X chromosomes. So during intercourse, depending on whether the X or Y sperm 'attacks' the egg first.. if Y is first, then your bb will be XY (male)or X is first then bb is XX (female)

1sttimemum,
X and Y are our chromosomes. If XY is means boy. If XX means girl. Cos females only have X chromosomes in the bodies whereas males have X and Y. That's why whether our baby is boy or girl depends on our hubby.

yup..agreed totally with Daphne..whether it's round or sharp...it's still your own bb mah...also guess also got to do with your genes.
Also...just wondering whether there is any truth that your body tend not to expand a lot if it's your 1st birth? Where do the remaining fats tend to accumulate after birth?

Shylyn,
Not expand if it's 1st birth? hahah.. You should see me. One sales colleague actually come up to me periodically to tell me he cannot recognise me. I expanded everywhere. My nose is super swollen and red. I swear I look like Rudolf.

hmmm... as for me, those ppl ard me would only ask isit a boy or girl... none of them insist either wan...

Hi jilian, me too tink like u...
try to buy more white stuff cos next bb can use again...haha...

Hi hunniepot, me too almost bought a Lucky Bb pink pram... it's so sweet... really can't resist... but hubby keep reminding tat wat if next bb is a boy? So we bought dark color combi pram instead.

RE: Bumper Set
I bought my bumper set fm kiddy palace which hv thick bumper tat surround the cot. Really hard to find nice, tink n spongy bumper tat surround the cot. Those tat i always saw r so thin. My SIL girl who is 1 yr old likes to hit her head against the cot or jus fall freely backwards when playing. So she suggest me to buy thicker bumbper...

Evon,
your hubby is in finance management or costing? So precise ah.....include labour charges as well..... hahahaha.....of course, it's troublesome to wash the nappies but as long no poo on it, not difficult to wash. Water and electricity wise, I'm sure it will not add up to that much. The cheapest diapers cost about 15c per piece leh, and Pampers Prenium about 40c per piece.

chenoa,
haahaaa... he finance mgmt?? Costing? He's in IT security/risk mgmt. =p
What u were saying's true... think 4 1st mth confinement'd let CL to show us or help us.. but after tat.. dun think I so hardworking.. =p (See how la... )

have you gals started washing bb clothing??? Last week, i have started doing my washing for those pass down clothing and guess what..... i have washed a total of 5 bamboo stick clothing!!! My hubby had a shock coz its just too much for 1 bb liao but cannot give away coz sis say have to pass down to her next child. I still have alot of things to wash.... bumper cot set, towel, botties & mittens...... and alot more, just dunno when than can finish!!! Haiz.
Oh where are you gals going to put your milk bottle huh? I mean after sterilise, do you leave it in the steriliser or have to put in a container?? If put in container, where can i buy that??

Shylyn,
I heard of that saying before. When I was between 20 to 24 weeks, my belly was even smaller than some who are only 16 weeks pregnant. They told me that's prob because it's first bb. And till now, still din put on a lot of weight. The only growing part of my body is the tummy.

Jilian
Then I wonder whether has it got to do with the gender of your bb then. Seems like pple say tt those with boys tend to look e same from e back..erhh..i guess the sharp & round tummies come to play here.

RE: Bumper Set
Yet to take out mine though bought it over the weekend, was thinking to take it out only when the bb is here..else collect dust at home. Bought the whole set from Boon Lay. Slightly cheaper i guess

Have not washed anything yet. Only got time to wash over the weekend, then weekend have to wash my own clothes. Staying with PIL and when they also do washing on Sat and Sun, me can only wash in the afternoon, and no sun todry. sigh.

1sttimemum,
Whoa relax. You're stressing me out! I haven't washed anything except my 2 bumwear diapers + 2 inserts + 1 swim diaper cos the bumwear have to wash 4 times and this is only my first time.
I see you all so hardworking I think I better buck-up!

Wah you have a lot of things hor? If you want to put your milk bottles in container, can be any container that can be boiled. Maybe you can try tupperware. Cos you have to keep the bottles in a sterlized container right? You can also keep the bottles in the fridge after sterilising. Or as some mommies suggested, just seal the bottle after sterlisation and leave it until need to use.

Jade
I'm like u..can u imagine, i went 2 c my gynae yest & at 35wks, my bb is only 1.8kg!! So small, my hubby was worried tt he will b small sized like him. Hmm..trying 2 eat more but i cannot eat a lot else feel really uncomfortable. Anyone got suggestions to increase bb's weight?

RE: Washing of BB's stuffs
Haven't managed to wash any of the stuffs ..hee..waiting for my hubby to do so cos my hands will get itchy when in contact w detergent or water for long. Yet to try the baby detergent though.

Shylyn,
Dun worry dear. Baby is healthy as long as you eat right and doesn't mean small is not good. yours and bb's health matters most. My friends always say, it's ok for baby girl to be smaller in size afterall, girls like to be petite. Hehe!

at first my gynae's worried about my weight gain cos it's only like average 500g-700g gained each time I visit him (and part of weight gained is by bb lor) Imagine both of us share 700g of weight gained.. duhz~
Now my gynae always assure me that bb's small but normal and active so i'm pretty glad.

Dun force yourself to over-eat just to gain that weight, not good. just eat right as and when u hungry and feel like eating loh. All will be fine.

RE: Using of Nappy Cloth
For me, using of nappy cloth is more for the comfort of my girl... cos wearing diapers for the whole day can b very warm... only intend to let my girl wear diapers in the nite...

Jade,
prob is it's a he loh...so of cos prefer him to b bigger sized..hee..i was joking w my hubby tt mabbe his metabolism is high, tt's why used up all e energy..& my hubby was saying tt it's becos of my regular exercise, tt's why bb didn't gain much..well..anyway, he's indeed active, always moving and sqiuming around in my tummy.

Yukie,
Yup..heard abt eating durians..but i'm particular abt durians leh..must be bitter & good ones..hee..beside, nowadays no chance to eat durians also..cos no body buys..i also dunno how to choose..hee

Anybody noe where 2 buy tea bags? Those empty ones to put tea leaves?

I got the pot but found tat everytime got to make at least 2.5 cups as the pot is broad.

Re: Durians
Shylyn, you can get nice durians from Giant. Can bargain. They pre-packed into box for you so that you do not need "strong hands" to lug the durians home and open them up.

Jilian,
Heehee, i already very relax liao but when see so many things haven't done hor just dun feel rite.... coz hubby dun know how to do all this and he is working sat and sun so i better do it lor. I am getting more and more kan cheong liao though i still long way to go lah but scare like some ppl say, bb want to see the world earlier than i would not have prepared liao. BB cupboard haven't buy coz old ppl say dun anyhow move your bedroom furniture or add in new things so i have to wait until i am at least 36 or 37wks before getting the cupboard to arrange all the things.... and now, after washing, still have to put back into the plastic bag....

Shylyn,
Don't worry about baby being small. By the way, durian is high in sugar. So that might affect the mother in other ways. As long as you and the baby are healthy. Think about it this way, small baby easier to come out. Then you just need to breastfeed and fatten him/her out.

I can't eat all I want because my baby at 31 weeks was 1.7kg and doctor already warned me. Sigh, not preggie also have to watch weight, preggie also have to watch weight. So can count yourself lucky.

Koalarie,
What about those metal mesh teaballs? I've seen in the tea section at Taka before.

Shylyn

My dietician told me not to eat too much durians.. at the most 2 to 3 times a week and about 3 seeds max each time. Cos my parents wanted me to eat durians everyday since I got preggie and my dietician almost fainted when she heard that..

Re: Washing of bb things

I have almost finished washing my bb things.. took me almost 7 full load machine washes to finish washing everything! And none of my stuffs are hands-me-down.. surprised at the no of things I bought for bb

I've heard about drinking coconut juice or something when nearing EDD.. Any idea what's it for?

And one more thing i thought would like to share with you all. If suffring bad leg cramps then consume more calcium. Used to experience occasional cramps during my 2nd trimester but since my gynae gave me calcium tabs and i took them daily. No more leg cramps since.

Evon,

think u might wan to try to Bodum, they might have the bags u're looking for..

shylyn,

i was concern about my bb's weight oo. n i've asked my gynae be..she told me to rest more..she says rest can help to beef up bb..maybe you can try lor..i've been taking naps to try to pump up bb's weight since my last visit to gynae..shall monitor and see how's the progress..going for gynae visit next mon..

hunniepot,

you sure bought many things ur your lil gal hor..very fortunate gal leh..

Good afternoon ladies

Evon, you can find tea bags at Cold Storage Centrepoint. I tried to look for it at Compasspoint, don't have leh. Finally found it at Cold Storage Centrepoint last week. It is at the tea section.

I had started washing my bb's stuff on Sunday. I then realised I got so many hands-me-down. heeee...

RE:Durians
Yup..my gynea also advised me not to take too many durians during the last trimester for fear tt e bb will b too big but i guess what u ladies said is correct..hopefully really easily birth ^_^ honestly, hard to predict..hee..if the head is big then i will still hv a hard delivery right..hopefully need not perform epitosomy..

Rach
Hmm..i hv yet to try sleeping more..was afriad that i cant sleep at nights..but always don't feel like waking up for work these days..hee

Jade
Heard coconut juice is supposed to cool u down as well as to cleanse e baby so that he/she will come out with nice complexion. hee..but i feel it's mainly to cool your body temp given tt we r all v 'hot' during the last trimester.
Hmm..as for calcium to aid with leg cramps, not true for me cos i hv been taking calcium tablets ever since 1st trimester but i still suffer from leg cramps at nights..luckily still bearable.

Re: Leg cramps
Sometimes caused by the temperature. If room temperature too cold, our muscle can also go into spasm. That's what I learnt in my antenatal class.
Just make sure every day stretch your feet with toes pointing up first and towards you, then slowly forward. Don't suddenly point forward cos that's when the cramp will hit you. Or at least that's what will happen to me if I stretch with my toes pointing forward.