(2006/04) April 2006 MTB

Winnie

Wah lao.. your boss is like a total a**hole.. you better double check.. if you were to leave b4 you go on maternity.. would you still be entitled to ML entitlement?

Firstly, CONGRATS to Jumbo and welcome Nixon.

Wah Winnie, my heart goes out to you. Yeah better check properly the law so that you can protect yourself. Your boss obviously wants to drive you off so he don't have to pay you. Even if difficult must try not to be too stresed for baby's sake ok? Can always come here and vent your frustrations.

Winnie,

I hated this kind of boss and i know how you feel now coz i myself encounter before but not the same like yours.... In my case, i really cannot tahan and tender my resign but for your case, i really dunno how to comment coz he should pay you your ML if not than you will be lose out liao!! Anyway, please dun be angry, its not good for your health.... sorry for being so KPO!!

winnie,

( i am from the may thread.)

according to the labour law, as long as you are over 6 months of pregnancy, the company will have to pay you ML if they going to fire you. So fight for it, dun resign!
Even if your boss want to shut down the co, he will still be liable for your pay and ML.But its better for you to settle everything before you go on leave. Else imagine, he closed down while you on ML and you come back to an empty office!

This is my first message here and really glad to read e gd news that one of our April mums has given birth to a sweet baby boy ^_^

Would like to add myself to the list. I'm a first time mum too so everything blur blur

EDD: 11/4/06
Gynae: Dr Kee (anyone else has e same gynae?)
Hospital: TMC

thanks for the welcome, winnie.

so sad to hear about yr troubles with yr boss. i think u should call up MOM and ask their help / recommendation on what you should do. also start writing down his treatment of you in black and white, so that if he tries to play any dirty tricks, you have documentation to back up your case

Welcome, Ivis.

Winnie,
I sympathize /w ur situation. Haiz. I'm too facing a dilema now as I juz happened 2 noe tat my boss has intentions NOT TO GIVE me my 13th mth completion bonus since I'll b going on maternity leave on my 10th contractual mth. He claimed tat I've not completed 12th mth of work! Worse still, he oso has no intentions to give me the govt maternity leave, using the same claims as well!

A little distressed.. yet, I think, if bo bian, then dun contract renew lor. Look 4 other jobs. Juz cross my fingers that God will provide the next better one 4 me 2 buy my milk powder 4 bb.

=(

So, Winnie,
I will oso put u in my prayers. B strong. Dun think 2 much. Ok?

Sigh....and all the encouragement from the Govn to companies to be family friendly. Seldom u find companies that are so.

1sttimemum, i'm also interested to go for the 2pm and 2.30pm talks (but prob bring hubby leh). i also got the mag, so i will hv the reg form also. u want to go together?

everyone, about bra sizes, last nite i went home to measure using the instructions on the webpage Jilian kindly sent. WAH! according to the measurement, i'm now 42D leh! did i measure wrongly? I used to be 34B only! and if hv to buy 1 size up for nursing bra, what size should i buy? 44E????

<font size="+1">April 2006 MTB</font>

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital </TD></TR><TR><TD>Loving</TD><TD>30/03/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>Johor Specialist Hospital</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bbtree</TD><TD>30/03/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr A.L. Lim</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kokopooh</TD><TD>30/03/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr LC Foong</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jumbo</TD><TD>02/04/2006</TD><TD> <font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Tan Lay Kok</TD><TD>SGH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Joan(Babe)</TD><TD>05/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kyla</TD><TD>06/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr H K Ho</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Daphne</TD><TD>06/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr See Tho KY</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little Fish</TD><TD>07/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Goh Shen Li</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hunniepot</TD><TD>08/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Christopher Chong</TD><TD> Gleneagles</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mochie</TD><TD>09/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Jeanette Chen</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Preciousbabe</TD><TD>10/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Goh Sheng Li</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wishbear</TD><TD>10/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr H K Ho</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lemontree</TD><TD>10/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Phyllis Liawu</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ivis</TD><TD>10/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Kee</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jolie</TD><TD>12/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Lai </TD></TR><TR><TD>Des</TD><TD>12/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Don Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jasminetea</TD><TD>15/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kim Tan</TD><TD>15/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Y W Lim</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chenoa</TD><TD>15/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Vincent Lee</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rach</TD><TD>16/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tracy</TD><TD>16/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jo</TD><TD>17/04/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr H K Ho</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ice</TD><TD>17/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Chua</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>SGgal</TD><TD>17/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mrs Ho</TD><TD>18/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr SW Seng</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Irene</TD><TD>19/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cutecute</TD><TD>20/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Terrier</TD><TD>20/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Leereiner</TD><TD>20/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Gordon Lim</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Maraquan</TD><TD>21/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Zhaocaimao</TD><TD>21/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr C W Fong</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Winne</TD><TD>22/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>DR KK Ho</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>BBLim</TD><TD>23/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Evonlimsy</TD><TD>25/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mandy</TD><TD>25/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr T C Chang</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jilian </TD><TD>25/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr T C Chang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Telly</TD><TD>26/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Adelina Wong</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Smurfy</TD><TD>26/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>1sttimemum</TD><TD>26/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Heng Tun Lan</TD><TD>ESH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Emon</TD><TD>27/04/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nana</TD><TD>27/04/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sunshine Tay</TD><TD>28/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yukie</TD><TD>28/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr S H Kee </TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Snowy</TD><TD>28/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Taurus</TD><TD>03/05/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sponge</TD><TD>03/05/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gebbera</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Juzmaine</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Adelene</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shanti</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Sureh Nair </TD><TD>Mt E </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bubbles</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </td></tr></table>

<font color="0000ff">Total No of Boys : 21</font>
<font color="ff0000">Total No of Girls : 23</font>

<font size="+1">We Are Born!</font>

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>DOB</TD><TD></TD><TD>Baby's Name</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jumbo</TD><TD>02/04/2006</TD><TD> <font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>23 Feb 2006, 11.19pm</TD><TD></TD><TD>Nixon </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </td></tr></table>

Congrats to Jumbo on the arrival of bb Nixon!! Felt so happy and excited for her

Winnie,
Stay strong and fight against that idoitic boss of yours. Don't quit on impulse no matter wat happen, coz u got to get your ML!! But do try to calm yourself in order not to upset your bb. Jia
yo!!

Re: Tea Session tdy
Ladies who r going for the tea session, apologies to u all coz I'm not going. Hb felt that I should rest at home instead of walking about. So u girls have fun meeting up!!

Re; Little Nixon and Jumbo
My heartiest congratulations to Jumbo &amp; her birth of Joy - Nixon!

Re: Winnie
Your boss is obviously trying to make you leave quietly without having him to pay you a single cent. What an asshole! My suggestion is to go and post a complaint with MOM and see what they sugguest.

Btw, i juz went for my gynae appointment yesterday. at 34 weeks, my baby weighs 2.3kg. Gynae expects the baby to put on 1kg more up till my EDD which is about 1 month's time. Best thing, i put on 2 kg since my last visit at 32 weeks and my bb only took 0.5kg, which means 1.5kg went into my body mass. *errrrkkkks* all thanks to the new year goodies.

Hey daphne

See you at the tea session later on.. not too sure if you have any of our mobile nos.. can PM me your mobile no.. so we can cotnact each other if needed later on?

preciousbabe

No problem! You rest well at home..

Evon,
Just received a sms from my fren. She told me that there is a place at Pacific Tower that do bikini wax that is relatively painless. But the problem is she didn't tell me wats the name of the outlet. Let u know next time when she shows me the article

Dun think MOM can do anything. Rather think can seek some lawyers' consultation? Or go to meet the MP for advice?

Hi to all (my 1st msg here)

Congrats to umbo &amp; her baby boy!

I'm a first-time-mom soI'm kinda very nervous and at the same time a bit scared.. Hope it's normal to feel this way. Hehe...

EDD: 18/04/2006
Sex: Baby girl
Hospital: KKH
Doctor: Dr HY Wee

Was wondering about how you are considering expressing and storing your breastmilk when you go back to work? Wanna share ideas? I'm still looking for the most convenient and hassle free way to do it.

I'm thinking of getting the advent manual pump. But advent don't make anymore milk storage bags. Anybody know which other brand of bags is compatible with the advent breast pump?

Hi Jilian,
I just met a new fren yesterday and she has just given birth. Anyway, she showed me how she stored her breastmilk coz she has just returned to work after her ML. She has this igloo and she put 2 ice packs inside. According to her, 2 ice packs should be enough so there's no need to put the breastmilk in the fridge in the office. She expresses 3 times per day, once before she goes to work, once in the afternoon and once in the evening. Oh, btw her son is on total breastfeeding and the milk she expresses is enough to last her son for the next day. She stored her milk in glass milk bottles, similar to those used in hospital. So I think u can get from the hospital.

I bought the avent manual pump and the storage cups. Intend to use the cups to store the milk.

Winnie,
Maybe you want to consider recording all your future conversation with your boss in your handphone so that you can use them against him if anything happen?

Jumbo,
Congratulation! I cannot imagine you have to go through so many hours of labour.

sggal,

I think if no one is going, than i got to go there by myself liao coz hubby need to work... but mostly will go coz seem to be rather interesting and i believe it is going to help.

Jilian,

I am also thinking to continue expressing my milk when i'm back to work so i have already bought Freezer Ice Bricks, this Coleman Brite Ice 20oz would be able to keep my expressed milk cold in the insulated bag for up to 12 hours! Coz my office fridge is not cold enough.
I have also told my HR manager that i would like to continue BF and thus need some time to pump out the milk and she fully supported me. So for my case, i will pump out the milk and store in avent milk bottles and put them in my insulated bag.

Hi mummies... some feedback fm 2 of my SIL n some frends regarding manual pump. They say tat it can b quite tired n discouraging to use a manual pump...especially if the mummy don hv much milk... wat they say is the pump will not b as strong as the electric wan. I've not bought any breast pump yet... will c whether got milk b4 i invest on 1... unless like wat my SIL (who jus gave birth at TMC) say, can pay through medisave to get the electric pump than i'll get it...

Talking about pumping at work. My workplace don't even have a private room for mothers who want to express milk in the office. And it's a huge mnc. Cannot imagine where I'm going to find a place to express. Quite miserable to express in toilet. Meeting rooms usually used up and some more got glass so can see inside. I heard that some mothers on other forums just pump at their desk but use a cloth to cover everything. But I think paiseh lah cos my office environment 90% men.

Preciousbabe,
wow, your friend must be able to epxress a lot of milk then. ONly need to pump 3times for baby. I don't even know how much babies take in 1 day. So I'm wondering how often have to pump.

Yukie,
Maybe during the stay in hospital, u borrow from the hospital and try out the manual pump first? Coz during my stay there the last 2 days, saw a few mothers actually borrowed pumps from KKH and express out theor milk. Don't worry about not hygienic to borrow, coz I believe hospitals will sterilize all the milk pumps after every loan.

Jilian,
Haahaa....I saw alot of milk bottles in the igloo yesterday, more than 10, i think. But all very small bottles one, about 100ml per bottle. Anyway, for new born, every feed should be about 25ml-40ml, depending if your bb is a big eater. For my case, just express watever I have lor and hope it's enough.

Info from my antenatal class:
Express your milk while at work so that it may be given to your bb the next day. Continue to bf directly when u r with him. After abt 4 weeks of exclusive bf, start giving your bb 1 bottle of expressed bm a day. Gradually increased the number of bottles per day as the days come closer for u to return to work. At the same time, learn to express your milk ie. expressing 1x during lunch or 2x, during lunch and b4 leaving your work place.

Preciousbabe,
Yup. I don't really want to be too stressed out over the emb thing. I would want to bf exclusively for 6 months if possible. But I suppose if cannot, then cannot be helped. I will just do my best.

What about sterilization? Even if steamed or boiled method, the equipment/bottles will have water condensation right? It's ok to mix some of that with milk? I mean if wait for it to air-dry or dry it with cloth, then no longer sterile? So confusing. Or after sterilizing, put in fridge to 'dry' it?

Jilian,
Wow, u have stumped me with that question abt water vapour coz it never come across my mind leh. Erm...this question I have to ask my frens liao. Heehee...will get back to u when I have the answer

Talk about breastfeeding, my breast size didn't increase very much, say only about 2 sizes' difference from b4.
I read that our body produces milk on a demand &amp; supply basis but I'm still worried that i might not have much to spare for my baby. Paranoid? Maybe..

Koalarie,

I bought it on line from MIM... you can get them and buy your insulated bag if you haven't got one!!!

Jilian,
My office also dun have any room for pumping my milk so i guess i will do it in the meeting room but my back facing the door/glass panel or else got to do in toilet which i dun want to. My office is in JTC Factory so even executive toilet also not that clean so better to do so in office meeting room.... heehee!!

Jade,
Mine also about 2 sizes difference, but I think that's quite a big diff already right? Anyway don't have to worry. Our body will make enough. Maybe if not so big, just means not that much 'reservoir' space.
But supply will still come. I also get paranoid but I try not to think about it so much.

1sttimemum,
I know what you mean, my office used to be in JTC building also. Now we move to own building. Wonder if I should approach HR and get them to set aside a room for mothers to express milk. I mean companies should be more pro-family since that's what gov wants. More babies, but make things so difficult for working mothers.

my office also doesn't hv nursing room and all our meeting rooms hv glass panels next to the door. i just sent email to HR to ask (cos HR also has a few month old baby)

jilian, my office also used to be in jtc, now moved to own building... we're not in the same company right? ahahaha...

1sttimemum,

Wow.. talking abt expressing bm, same here @ my working place. All meeting rooms've a piece of glass panels 2 look into. Mayb I will juz squat underneath my table n express it since my table is right behind? Dunno how oso.. =(

Jilian, Preciousbabe,
Its alrite to hv little water condensation inside the milk bottles after sterilizing according 2 my antenatal class. No need to air dry d bottles coz it defeats d purpose of sterilizing. Juz need to screw back the teat n replace the cap. This way it can stay sterilized for up to 24hrs. N mayb u can shake off the excess water b4 using the bottles.

preciousbabe,

interesting article. Thanks.

My male chin seems 2b getting a little jealous nowadays n doesn't like me to touch n hold 4 long. While the female chin's still k n likes to sit on top of my tummy. Probably she's telling my bb that bb got 2 listen 2 her... heehee.= p

sggal,
Hahah wat a coincidence. I cannot pm you to check. You pm me?. I work around Kallang area. I think got one or 2 companies just moved from JTC to their own buildings.
If we same company then can together put pressure on HR.
Already I see if I'm the first one to ask for more welfare, dunno can get black-marked or not.

jilian, how to set up so ppl can pm me?

think we're in different co la. but i'm not too far away at airport road.
i just emailed my HR, she also said got no place so in the end she gave up expressing when she came back to work. other new mum in my company express in the toilet...eeeeeee. our company even tho MNC, quite cheena one. no such thing as family friendly facilities
looks like i hv to go into the storeroom liao

sggal,
Go to your profile page and can select from there. I wonder what the new moms in my office do. So far, got one of the lady boss in my dept just gave birth 2 days ago. But she has her own office, so she got privacy. Guess I will have to email my HR also soon. Worst comes to worst I will express in the handicap toilet. Luckily it's clean and big. Sigh.

hey gals, u know after delivery, can we use moisturisers such as those of natural source bodywhip which has some fragrance if we are breastfeeding? Will bb reject the smell?

thanks jilian. set up liao.

i'm getting broadband at home this weekend (finally) so see if i can come on to chat. if not see u gals next week

Good morning.......

Welcome Ivis...

Tks for all the encouraging words, for the sake of Bb i'll stay strong &amp; fight for my rights Evon u too ok!I see wat sort of dirty tricks he wanna play! Jus feel like writing in to the Staits Times Forum to bring attention to the Govt bodies!

Oh ya, btw i jus went for chk-up last nite my BB is now currently 32 weeks weighing @ 1.5kg luckly my weight only increase by 0.5kg! 200g goes to bb &amp; 300g of the weight goes to me! Gynae said very well controlled! He oso mentioned dat my BB's head is not down yet!

just wanna check if there is anyone going for this talk?? I think i am going alone so would like to see if any April's mum going so at least so one to pei me..... than i won't be so lonely liao!!
They are holding a workshop:
Sat, 11 March
11am Understanding your skin with CitiSpa

2pm Key to Successful Brestfeeding by Sister Kang Phaik Gaik, Senior Parentcraft Consultant from MAH

2:30pm More about bb Massage

4:30pm End mealtime Battles w Creative Cereal Cooking

5pm Early Childhood Edu. by specialists from
Grolier S'pore