(2006/04) April 2006 MTB

Rach

You really dont look like you have gained 10 kg! I have gained 15+ kg in total and 14 kg went to me instead of bb..

The curtains are of the same design and colour.. and I have daylight curtain as well.. ok.. dont tell me the price you got it at.. cos mine costs about $2.5k for the whole house!

Re: Natural or Cesarian

i checked out this matter with 4 of my female cousins. 2 opted for natural w/epidural (1st born for each of them). The other 2 opted for natural without epidural. (3rd kid and 4th kid respectively) My cousins that went without the epidural said the pain was bearable. moreover, epidural's no good for us if we have history of back problems. so they only use the laughing gas and an injection.

But if we opt for Cesarian, it will still be done under epidural, which means we actually get to see our bb 1st thing when it comes out unless you opt for full anesthetic.

Maraquan

Good thing that you are firm from the beginning.. don't want my hb to be stuck in between.. so guess I will have to do my MIL's bidding.. at least for them its not so bad.. cos they don't have a particular religion.. just praying to the ancestors.. so no drinking of holy water or visiting the temple..

Hi Hunniepot,

sama sama here..only 1kg goes to bb and the rest on me leh..very jia liat!! thinking of ways to diet after birth everyday!! haha!!
367142.gif

ok, dun tell u how much i've paid but for my entire house curtains, cost less then 50% of wat u've paid..
367143.gif

Rach

Gee.. that hurts! No choice.. by the time the contractor handed over the house to me.. I only had 2 weeks left to my tea ceremony.. so had to get the curtains done chop chop.. no time to look around also.. thats why kena axed like crazy..

Morning ladies.. How is your rest?

I am starting to have problems sleeping at my rite side... tummy seems to be too big to sleep at rite side.. sigh.. so ve to sleep on my back /w head and legs tited slightly rite.. then can Zzzzz..

Anything to share. I was reading up "What to Expect - When you're Expecting" and there is this topic on fetal hiccups happening in the seventh month pregnancy. Seems like whatever I experienced yesterday seem to match its description of regular little spasms in my abdomen.

Hi Evon

I have difficulties sleeping on my right too.. guess bb doesn't like it cos she tends to move / kick my right side non-stop whenever I does that.. maybe cos her head is at the right side (as shown thru ultrasound during the last 2 scans)

I cant seem to sleep on my back for too long as I tend to get breathless...

Have been feeling her having hiccups for some time already
seems like regular knocking actions on my tummy..

How is everyone? Tomorrow will be seeing my gynae for 3D scan, very excited. Wonder how my bb looks like ;P

Re: Natural or Cesarian
I think natural is still better. My colleague who had 4 kids went through 3 natural and 1 c-section. She said that natural is definitely better.

Re: Sleeping position
Sleeping on the left is the best.
http://www.babyconnection.com/pregnancy/pregnancysleep/7608

Re: Hiccups
I also seems to feel fetal hiccups on wednesday after lunch. There is 3 regular little spasms .. so farnie..

i also have not been sleeping well these 2 days. Having back problems. tried to put pillow under my tummy, turn to left, to right all cannot. quite jialat! Anyway, smurfy, thanks for sharing the article, will see how to enhance sleeping position 2nite. hee!

smurfy, it is a good idea to sleep in the left position but after a while too hot... so got to toss to other side. So bo bian. =(

Looks like I m the only who didn't noe that bb can hiccups in our tummies.. =p

Hunniepot, me too.. so ve been having bad sleep last two days.

Daphne, Me... Wish me luck okay.

Oh dear.... I am now seeing stars again.... luckily no cold sweat yet... but lots of black stars..

Daphne,

Will definitely go for epidural cos i have a low threshold for pain. Even my friend who is a doctor herself oso opted for epidural.

Evon,
I also feel very hot after sleeping on my left. Whole night will be tossing around with my blanket. So I always ended on my back when I woke up
. ALso having weird dreams nowadays. Otherwise, I don't face any problem sleeping, probably becos i am too tired.

Evon, I talk to my bb every night. I believes she understands what I said heeee..
Sometimes I even asked her questions and she responds with kicks and movements.

Take good care of yourself. Make sure you sit down if you feel faint.

Hunniepot, thank for the link and your effort to post the photos for us

Daphne, I'm planning to go for natural birth without epidural. But dunno if I can make it or not. heeee.. Just a plan. I thought of just using laughing gas will do. However, my hubby don't feel confident for me leh. He thinks I can't make it haaaa...

Hi Daphne

I'm hoping to go thru natural w/o epidural *cross fingers*.. hopefully I can manage.. yourself?

Jasminetea

You are welcome!

Re: Sleepless nights

It is only these few days that I end up having sleepless nights.. was wide awake for more than 2 hours last night b4 I fell asleep.. the physiotherapist at my antenatal class actually recommended that we sleep on alternate sides (can't remember the reasons why) left side is good as it helps in blood circulation.. and it is ok to sleep on the back provided we prop ourselves up with pillows (ao that our bbs will not press against our major nerves and blood vessels)

smurfy, good 4 u. If only i was in my x coy... guarantee tat i sleep like a dead log. =p

Jasminetea, U at home or at work?? Tot u going 2 see her 2day? If u pm me.. me can only read @ home.... 2nite probably b not reading as b going mil's place 4 dinner then bathing my chins when back home.

Think we are ard the same period n so i've similar prob as urs... only can doze off after 2h.. yet, find that if i happened 2 sleep b4 2230h, i could sleep.. but after 2330h, i'd b staring at the walls or hearing my hb snooze b4 i'd sleep.

Thanks for the concern.. think i feeling better ... dunno which was the trigger pt.. but'd tell gynae 2morrow.

Sigh.. 2morrow another busy day.. got to go hse visits.

Hi Evon,

I'm in office. Came back to office after my appointment with gynae
Yup, I did send you an email just now. Anyway to cut it short, my appointment today is about 6 mins. She said everything is fine and I should be able to go natural birth.

I'm fine now. Thks for all ur concerns.

Re: Birthing methods
I definitely wanna experience natural delivery w/o epi if possible. However, its not up to me to decide coz my gynae has mentioned dat due to my size ( I m short fyi), may hv 2 opt 4 C-sect if bb weighs 3kgs or more. Can consider for natural oni if my gal weighs ard 2.5 - 2.6kgs.

Hunniepot,
Hv sent u my fotos.

wah, only 2 gungho mums. koalarie, u leh? i'm most probably going for natural w/out epidural. Got back problems lah. SO everyday i talk to my son telling him to give me a smooth delivery.

I think I will go for natural without epidural if possible. So far, my stomach got only two stretchmarks, still look good. I scare if I go for C-sect, there will be an ugly mark accross my tummy.

ME back home early.. got the same stupid symptoms again... tried to take a cab but everywhere waiting.. tried to call cab n couldn't get thru' n seeing lots more ppl calling as well... sadly dragged myself to RP MRT station to take MRT home. Empty train came, everybody rushed in n I started to show symptoms of cold sweat.. but nobody gave me seat... sigh... luckily only two MRT station stops.. so got out at DBG n go take NEL.
The lady in front of me rushed her way to one of the two empty seats. A nice auntie who was to take the other, gave me her seat though she was carrying lots of barangbarang. Then at SK I/C LRT Station, ppl rushed in yet again n i had to close closely at the pole standing juz beside the exit door.

Luckily didn't faint... except for headpains and giddiness /w cold sweat.

Hb wanted me at LRT station downstairs as he just happened to alight from the bus stop nearby n walked me home.. Phew..

What a day.

Re: Natural Delivery /w or w/o Epidural
Daphne, me .. same le.. choose 4 natural delivery w/o epidural. I oso opt 4 laughing gas n intend to compile some songs to listen... songs like "Bumble Bee" by that pianist, Bonds some fast songs.. so that i can keep my momentum going.... dunno can work or not... =p

Just hope that bb not too big then jia luck... my cousin did initially try Natural /w Epidural but becoz bb still not coming out after several hours, her gynae pushed her into the operating thearte to do C section.. n she was telling me becoz she took Epidural during earlier hours.. gynae didn't give her GA... but her Epiduaral was fading n so she felt the pain throughout the C section.... gross isn't it???

Hunniepot,
Thanks for the link. All the MTBs look great! Including their bumps, mine is ugly like anything..

Re: MTB's going for Natural w/out Epidural

Koalarie; Hunniepot; Maraquan Draik; bblim; Irene; Jasminetea; Daphne
Jia1 You2!!!!! Jia1 You2!!!!!

Hope i did not miss out any1.

Hi Hunniepot
Have sent u my photos.

Hi Evon
Very fast, house visiting would be over lah...Hope that you get thr it smoothly...

Re: Delivery Plan
I also hope to go thr natural w/out epidural.

Hi terrier

Received your fotos already.. have uploaded it.. for those on my mailing list.. you've got mail!

Evon

Re: disposable maternity panties

I just bought those from kiddy palace.. 5 pieces for $4.90.. tried it on and find that it is pretty good.. doesn't tear easily (unlike those normal disposable panties).. and feels very comfortable (quite surprising.. considering that I have such a big butt!).. the brand is maxcool.. so guess I wont be bringing my normal maternity panties to the hospital liao

Hunnipot, I bought the same as you frm kiddy palace but later realise Watson's having the same kind at 1.95 for 7pcs....the polka dots ones are similar..

Hi Juzmaine

Is it the same brand? Maxcool? Waist size: 28" to 42".. I got the cottony kind.. think the polka dots one is the fibre material... tried alot of disposable panties in the past and all dont fit me leh and tore easily..

Hi Maraquan

Uploaded liao.. you can go back and view the same link again

You definately do not look aunty at all.. so guess your worries are unfounded afterall!

I oso want to give birth w/o epidural. Hope I can tahan the pain well.

When I went for my checkup yesterday, my gynae said I can go for natural since my bb has faced down. Hopefully, he will continue to face down when in 2 months time. But I have to watch my diet from now onwards (I failed my glucose test). A bit on the high side of getting diabetes :-(

Hunniepot, m gg to send you my photos. My email add is [email protected]

Gals, have you started washing your baby clothes? Do you handwash or machine wash? I gg to start washing my bb clothes. Wat type of detergent do you gals recommend? Liquid or powder? My colleague suggest poweder is better than liquid. Will have to go and source and look around.

Hi des,

You've got mail!

Re: washing of bb clothes

I won't be washing bb clothes so fast... earliest end of this month.. roughly 1 mth b4 EDD.. intend to machine wash (think it wont be clean enough if I hand wash cos scared might not rinse all the suds away..)

I'm going to use kodomo liquid detergent and softener..

Tks hunniepot.

I oso tot of machine wash but my SIL and colleagues said tat bb's skin is very delicate and sensitive. Handwash is better. But if I handwash, I cant wash all at one go. Got to wash a few pcs at a time plus I have to work late nowadays and oso now having difficulty in bending and squating for too long.. Sigh, c wat my hubby said if he dun mind machine wash, i will machine wash.

Good morning Ladies,

Hunniepot, sent u another photo for uploading heee..

Terrier, wow so envy you of the 3D scan. Can see your baby's face!

Des, are you attend the Jan 06's antenatal classes, Sat session at Mt Alvernia?

I will be washing my baby's clothes in early March 06. Will be using machine wash this round because really difficult for me to do handwashing now.

In future, the CL and my bb's nanny will be using handwash 'cos bb's clothes worn out very fast, more advisable to use handwash.

Re: Washing bb clothes
I bought 1 box of pigeon washing powder for washing machine. I oso won't be washing so fast, same as hunniepot, will do it 1 month b4 EDD.

then besides bb clothes, we still need to wash all those cloth nappies, bedsheets, quilt etc whatever bb is going to use rite?

Jasminetea, heee....from my bb's photo, my beautician immediately says that bb's nose is like mine, but face resembles my hubby
Dunno how close the face would be when he's born...

Hi all!!!

Wow, was busy the whole of yesterday coz lots of frens came to my house for CNY visiting. Cooked curry chicken, fried bee hoon and peach cheesecake for abt 15 guests!! Though it was my maiden attempt at cooking all the food, received alot of compliments for my cooking! So pleased with myself...haahaaa...

Maraquan,
U certainly don't look auntie from your photo!! Please lah, have more confidence in yourself, yah?

Re: Washing of bb clothes
Will start washing at the end of this mth. My bbb's head has already turned too and from my frens who had given birth, they told me that once bb head turn, possible that bb will come out earlier than EDD. I didn't use any bb washing powder, just used the normal washing powder but of coz small quantity only.

jasminetea

Uploaded already.. you can go view the previous link which I sent you.. gosh.. where did you have that foto taken? Its very nice! Studio picture?? How much did you pay for it and for how many shots?

preciousbabe

Wah.. you still can cook so much at this stage.. I get very tired easily these days.. from standing or walking too much.. think my tummy is getting alot bigger as well.. just loosened my maternity shorts a few days ago and wore it again just now and it is tight again.. can't wait for bb to come out.. at least I will know how she looks like...

Do you gals find that alot of pple tend to stare at our tummies nowadays.. it seems like everywhere I go.. pple just stare and stare at my tummy non-stop..

Terrier, heee.. must be very excited! At least, now you got an image of your baby. I cannot even figure out how my bb looks like.

Preciousbabe, wow you cooked so many food! Haaa.. when will we also have a chance to taste your cooking leh?

Hunniepot, no lah the photo is taken by my hubby at my home. He got a bit of photography background and he did use spot light etc to enhance the photograph. Heee.. I will tell him you said look like studio photograph later. He sure will be very happy!

On people staring at my tummy, I agreed! At first, feel a bit weird, now used to it already!