(2006/04) April 2006 MTB

Re: Cooked Food with Alcholic content
I guess a little bit should be fine, but for me, i would try to go for total abstinence.

Hi Evon

If you feel really uncomfortable.. why don't you try going to KKH's 24 hrs women's clinic? I attend the antenatal class at KKH and they did mention that it is open to everyone.. think it beats going to see a GP..

Babe

Think a little bit of wine in the food is alright.. but I try not to indulge in it at all throughout pregnancy.. which is quite a feat as I am a sucker for alcoholic cocktail....

Hi hunniepot, really?? But how re those doctors there??? I mean, I scared that they just learners... I was thinking of going to my area there Punggol.. heard that got other lady gynae who is quite good...

So tot of seeing her to advice..

Yet tix Sat, I seeing Dr Chin leh.

Hmmm... Jasminetea, she didn't tell me.. but she was "rushing" through on phone /w me... so sad n hurt... suddenly it is like a dash of hope being crashed down from the skies... ve been thinking that she's busy so it's like tat.. but now not feeling well, she like tat.. i felt really sad..

Or am I again emotional...

Really scary that my baby can send me dreams that are going to happen.. How I wish my baby can send me 4d or toto number instead to win some money for her savings..

Evon

Im not too sure abt the calibre of the doctors stationed at the clinic but somehow I personally think that those MO (medical officers) or junior doctors tend to be more careful and detailed than the experienced ones (who tend to think that they know it all and often hurry thru the consultation).. no harm going there to give it a try..

Re: Dreams of falling down

I also have dreams of falling down.. which is quite scary.. considering that I have already fallen down twice throughout this pregnancy.. so if I am going anywhere.. I try to take cab if I am feeling tired.. so as to minimise too much walking around..

Hi koalarie

you really muz try and learn to relax. for the office work, let your other colleagues help the new guy. problem come anyway will be resolved with or without us ard. the company functions as a team not on individual.

Whenever u start thinking of negative things, like to breathe in and out a few times and keep your mind busy on other things. It really helps.

Sorry for bothering u ladies /w my tots.. especially at this season.

I tried not 2b -ve.. been trying 2 go online 2 chat /w friends or to read up on some things.

like u said, team would still go on /w or w/o me... but i won't like the idea if i resting n they call me.. so, then again if i can get things done, i would try to hack care.

Afternoon

Evon,
Do take care and don't get too upset over your gynae's not giving u enough attention. If u really feel unwell, do go to KKH 24h clinic and I mean the main hospital, not the one at Hougang/Sengkang. I'm a patient there and though the waiting time is abit long but u will be given given priority to see the gynae if your condition is serious.

Re: Alcoholic content in food
As long as the wine is put into the food and cooked for a few minutes, it's ok to consume the food coz by then the alcohol content have vaporized. Learnt during antenatal class.

Getting more and more excited as the big day is getting nearer.. from next month onwards.. we will have to be on high alert.. as some of our babies might pop early! Im hoping that mine will be an end march baby.. so I can hold her first month celebration with my brother (his birthday end april) so we can split the cost!

Hi Evon,
Are u feeling better now? Is the light-headed feeling serious only today? I do get dat but only when I walked too long or too crowded. Did you hv enough slp yst. nite? Try to stop & rest hopefully with pple ard to avoid passing out esp at isolated areas, can be quite dangerous.. You drink bird nest? Can try buy those with pao(4) shen(1) as it can help fight fatigue. Take care!!

Yo ladies, need to ask if any of you gals started to hv armpits darken and have 2 xtra mini breast near armpit areas? Me used to wearing sleeveless but irritated by the sight of the xtras..

I'm counting down to the day I can deliver, prob hope BB can tahan till 28th April ie 1 week bfore my EDD w/o giving me contraction cos gynae says I can deliver by 38 week but me tot of waiting loh but on the other hand worry may kana the natural delivery symptoms...

yo ladies.. thanks for concern. asked my colleague if he can cancel half day leave so that i may take go c doc n take half day mc. so went 2 c gp. So apparently my blood pressure was mirginally low. Thus, ve cold sweat, panting n fainting spells. Told me to take the nausea/giddy pills n then drink lots of fluids.
Juzmaine, my sleeps for past nites ve not been too good but still reasonable. Nowadays got difficulty "flapping from left to rite n vice versa".. got pain at the lower pelvic area n upper tighs when doing so.. but else reasonable sleep.

BTW, my armpits only've few strains of hair n didn't see that they darken.. but funny is i did notice that i m starting to grow some freckles like or pigmentation on some part of my body. Not sure if any of you have.

366455.gif

My armpit got a few dark lines too. I hope they dun get too obvious because I prefer sleeveless top now. I dun have that "mini beast".

Yesterday, I kicked my leg pillow away after I got cramp on my feet. I think I sleep better without the pillow in between my legs. I also feel more comfortable when facing the ceiling but I dun dare to lay in this position for long. Very funny.

me at Malaysia, still on leave now....only back to work on Mon.

Re: armpit
me too...armpit getting darken, and oso some frekles around neck..... seems like me getting ugly now....

Me back to work today but still in holiday mood ;p
Looking at the calendar, the next holiday will only be in April...duh...but the week after is Valentine's Day!!! At least something to look forward to & can go shop with a reason (after preg, no mood to shop esp for clothes for a shopaholic)
Have been giving hubby watches, shirts, briefs ;p ....any suggestions wat else can we buy for a guy?
366778.gif

The doggy is so cute.... Looks so real.. =p

Hmmm.. Juzmaine, my hb doesn't like me to give him surprises.. He said gifts bought through surprises a lot of time are not presents that the receivier likes.. so every year, whether ValDay, XmasDay or Birthday, I've to bring him to buy his present or let him choose what he wants n buys for him.
So far, 've bought him a watch, some blouses, a pair of jeans, mp3 player and a namecard holder (which he lost it later on.. so heartpain.).

Harlow Evon!
How r u feeling today? At work?
Great, thnx! I should bring him to buy his prezzie then..kekeke
U-zap is in my Vday wishlist, hope to be able to use after confinement & must fully utilise it..hahahaha
Have you decided whether to name your princess Elsy? The spelling is unique, so wat's her Chinese name? Did u get pple to count the strokes?

Re: Valentine's Day

I haven't bought any V-day gift for my hubby b4.. and vice versa.. quite sad considering that we are a pretty new couple.. this will only be our 3rd V-day together since we got to know each other!

Hi Hunniepot,
Dun feel sad, for me, I dun give hubby Xmas prezzie since we got married the 2nd yr cos I dun want him to spend for the sake of spending and we used to buy each other prezzies but I find it meaningless liao...maybe I no longer attend church loh....for Vday it's bcos I'm preg + have sthg in mind liao..kekeke so wanna get the 2nd time father a prezzie too ;p
Think as long as we luv our hubby & know that they luv us too, lil gifts on any day is great, not commercialize too ;p
366821.gif

<font color="blue">Mrs Ho: </font> Hope you are enjoying your stay in Malaysia. How's the weather there? Going back to Singapore on when?

<font color="blue">Juzmaine: </font> Much better now.. thanks. I guess it must be I have not enough sweetie stuff so got low blood pressure.. Yes, I am back to work. Don't dare to take too many leave/MC... too many things to catch up. Baby won't name "Elsy" though hb n i re already getting used to calling this name. Sigh.. So now got to change calling her "Bao Bei" (same name as my female chinchilla)..
or "Baby".

Her chinese name will be chosen after she is born. We will be looking for Chen Ju Rong to help in the selection.

<font color="blue">Photos </font>
Hunniepot, the only foto i just realized is the foto with my hb taken. It is currently still in my hp. So.. may need 2 take another one later these days.. n then forward to you.. but dun laugh ladies... i really find my tummy huge... a lot of relatives all think that i m due anytime leh..
kao_dizzy.gif

<font color="blue">Presents </font>
Hunniepot, dun worry abt present. Me didn't buy for him tix year too as baby will be the best present to him... =p

For Xmas day present, I lump it together with his birthday present since his birthday is the last day of the year... so got him the mp3 player..

Juzmaine, u used to go church? I dun go either too since married and as well as hb is a non Christian. But to me, Xmas is still a meaningful event, juz love the feeling of giving ... a pity no snow in SGP right outside our homes.. else can build snowman with our babies to play...

366837.gif

<font color="blue"> Bloated feet </font>
Me have very bloated feet. Even toes too.. my hb's grandmother said women /w bloated feet'd 've bb girl.. dunno how she observed oso..

The other relatives told me lots of things. E.g. try not to stand too long but muz walk and exercise. Drink lots of water in the daytime but dun drink too much before sleep... the prob is becoz of water rentation.

I b going for leg massages oso to bring down the swollen too... my toes used to look so slim.. now so plump.....
kao_sad2.gif

Worse still, was I didn't realize it till hb's grandmother saw them..
kao_sad2.gif

<font color="blue"> Contractions or bb's strong movements</font>
These few days ve been really scary.. dunno contractions or bb moving.. but it is like a little heart popping out at one area and quite constantly for 10~15s before it stopped and then started again. Any similar feeling???

Like just now, I had it again.. need to talk to baby as practically can see the tummy "jumping" when I am sitting down.. and by the way, my desk is along the corridor so ppl can my tummy one...

Preciousbabe, I was thinking of ask you that.. but it is k.. think it is nice to ve that name.. at least we can explain to our girl next time why there is Elsy.

If she chooses to have it despite of the "LC" pronounication, let her choose.

U noe what i mean.

So, it was fine after that thought.

Hi Koalarie

Me also feeling the bb's movement very strong. like yesterday during my department's meeting, everytime my female colleague speak, my bb will move, jerk until can see my tummy moving. when my male colleague speaks, my bb's very quiet. hee hee! told my hb. he said bb muz dun like the voice.

Btw, my hb and I have finally decided on our bb's english name. Matthias Tok - It's hebrew and means Gift of God. Any comments!

Hi Daphne,
I tot it was that the bb finds the female voice very sexy n reacts to it...

N for the man too soft..

kao_smile2.gif

I just sms my hb on tix as well.. n he said can start reading to her books as she can anticipate to the story as I read if she likes the stories or characters... so think i b trying that.. Going 2b interesting exploration... (Anyway, oso going to dagan my hb... he too must read 2 bb so that when bb is born, bb recognize father's voice... )

've I shared??

My male boss shared one.. his wife made him read stories to the two bb girls when they were still in his wife's tummy... then when each of them was born and were crying, mysteriously stopped when he carried them n talked to them... so he told me he believed strongly in tai jiao as well.

Evon,
Ok, so u will stick to the name for the pillow. Actually I feel that u shldn't bother if next time your princess's name is going to be make fun of or not. Seriously speaking, kids nowadays can make fun of anything, not just the name. Anyway, it's only a passing phase, when your princess grows up, as adults who will bother about making fun of names? So if u really like, just stick with the name lor.

Daphne,
heehee...that's quite an unique name for your prince. Sounds nice too

Juzmaine,
I went to se my gynae yesterday and she told me that C-section birth is super painful and will have contractions after the op leh. So now I'm in a dilema whether to have C-sect or not. How?

Yesterday did a growth scan and Jayden is only weighing 1.3-1.4kg @ 30 weeks. Think he's going to be a small bb. Since the last check-up in Dec, I've gained abt 2kg. So now my total weight gain has hit 9kg!! Really must cut down on what I'm eating, otherwise don't know how much I will gain in the remaining 10 weeks!

hi Preciousbabe, are u encouuraged to go for natural delivery? Or is there a reason Y you opt for C-sect? Not painful from my 1st experence, really. My BB is getting bigger &amp; my gynae dun encourage me to go natural liao so C-sect again, my wish ;p
Touchwood but no contraction last time round, did u ask gynae why contraction after birth? or is it the healing process? contraction of womb I've heard of, is when breastfeed, it'll help make the womb get back to normal size but shldn't be painful leh..?????

Hi Evon, so are u r nt going to name BB an eng name? think someone in the thread suggested "L-say" which sounds nice &amp; unique

Juzmaine &amp; Evon

Heh... am just worried that me &amp; hb will go into the "lao(3) fu(1) lao(3) qi(1)' phase prematurely.. never got to celebrate my birthday with him b4.. cos the 1st time falls on our ROM date and the 2nd time was just days after his sister passed away.. Think got to put in extra efforts in future to plan special occasions together..

I also agree with preciousbabe that you shld stick to the name Elsy if you like it.. name teasing from friends are endless.. you might give her a name which you personally find there's no loopholes.. but others might find a loophole in it and thus make fun of it.. and does it mean that youve got to change the name again?

Re: church

Me too.. stopped going to church after I got married.. as my hb is a free thinker..

Daphne
Matthias Tok sounds like a nice name

Re: Diet during third trimester

Are you gals taking special diets now? Read from babycentre.co.uk now it is a good time to eat more sardines / salmons (abt twice a week) as it helps in baby's brain development.. and I try to eat more leafy vegetables now.. though I personally dislike veges and I dont really like eating fish too

preciousbabe

Gaining 2 kg per month at this stage is perfectly normal.. not bad leh.. considering you did the scan right after CNY.. with all those goodies and stuffs.. I really got to cut down like mad.. think I will hit 20 kg weight gain in total at least

preciousbabe, Evon, Daphne, Juzmaine &amp; Maraquan

Have forwarded the email invitation to view the updated pics liao.. go take a look

Thnx Hunniepot for the pix!
I went thru persecution frm family and finally got my mom's approval &amp; got baptised and even brought my hubby to church where he accepted christ but his mother (my now mil) hated me for dat but after dat, I backslided esp when my hubby (bf then) went to study oversea. Come to tink of it, I also dunno wat went wrong wif me, fight so hard yet let go so easily...duh.....
As for weight gain, 1st birth I gained 15.8 tot can easily shed off immed after op but realise only 5kg or so went away, the rest stayed wif me for at least 6mths!!!! Dat's Y now trying to control weight gain but easier said than done ;p

Good afternoon Ladies

Preciousbabe, 9kg at 30 weeks is okay lah. Ur gynae didn't say you need to watch your diet right? So your gynae encouraged you to go natural delivery? Have you discussed with your hubby the options?

Hunniepot, will forward to you my photos which I took during CNY tonight heeee..
For my diet, since week 25, I increased my intake of oily fish for DHA reasons(though I never like fish) and fruits/fruit juice (scared of consipation).

Evon, my bb's movement has been very great since last week. Like you, I can see my tummy moves up and down. And my girl moves a lot! Sometimes I wonder why she never get tired haaaa.. But this also means our bb is very active and getting bigger which is a good sign

Juzmaine,
I just want to have C-sect to avoid labour pain and the epidural needle lor, no particular reason. But after hearing wat my gynae says, I'm beginning to have doubts coz she told me that even if I go for C-sect, it will be a half body anaesthesia, so die die also must use epidural.

hunniepot,
Gaining abt 2kg per mth for me is not ok coz I'm overweight before pregnancy. I can only gain 11kg throughout the whole process leh..And I really avoid eating all the CNY goodies the last few days coz I'm really worried abt my weight gain

Juzmaine

Guess it is not too late to start going back to church again? For me.. I bought christianity books for my hubby as he loves to read.. hoping that it will touch his heart one day.. but it takes alot more than that.. so I am just waiting for the right moment to come by.. I understand what you mean by your MIL disliking it when ur hb accepted christ.. my hb is her only son.. and their family only pray to the ancesters.. so to please her.. I relented.. allowed my hb to bring the ancestral tablet to my place.. and I really feel very uncomfortable esp when my MIL wanted us to pray to the ancesters during our tea ceremony.. and she also mentioned that we got to let our bb girl pray to the ancesters during her full month..

Evon

I also feel my bb moving alot these days.. and sometimes I feel my tummy tightening.. not sure if it is BH contractions or just bb giving me a punch or a kick inside..

Jasminetea

I have been eating so much fish (other than those oily fish) that I feel that I am getting smarter with each passing day haha.. psycological thinking!

preciousbabe

You seem to look slimmer in the 30th week picture than the last time I saw you at bugis.. so dont worry too much lar.. putting on weight is inevitable.. just exercise regularly and watch our diet after delivery.. there is a layer of dust gathering on my gym membership liao.. havent utilised it for a year or so.. think I better put it to good use after delivery..

hunniepot,
haahaa...I looked slimmer?? Must be the camera effect coz the 30 weeks photo was taken using my hp so need to take from a further distance to catch the whole body. Mayb that's y I looked slimmer coz it's taken further away??

<font color="blue"> Baby names </font>
Thanks, ladies. You all give me lots of encouragement. Yet, the decision will be hb.. as he has to nod too to ve the name into the birth cert lor.. so most likely we will still call her "Elsy" if we can't change the name now.. but won't place the name into her birth cert.

Pray that one day she noe of her parents' yong4 xin1 liang2 kou1 n may still choose 2ve the name later in life.
kao_smile2.gif

Daphne, that is a very powerful name. One of the directors was using that name. His surname is Lim. He was a very very nice guy and smart too.

<font color="blue"> C-section/Induced/ Normal</font>
Wow... preciousbabe, why choose C-section? Your gynae has very strange comments leh.. My gf were joking that MountE gynaes love to do C-section on pregnant moms leh.. (Luckily she was not.. except for having to be assisted).

Juzmaine.. care to share more?? When can we start asking if we can go natural delivery or not?? I dun want C-section too.. but my gynae was saying I am huge.. does it mean tat I may go C section??? Then if C section, means muz do bikini wax, rite?? Else those nurses anyhow shave our bottom??

Wow... you all dun seem very heavy leh.... looks like i really am overweight.....

<font color="blue"> BB movement / Contractions</font>
My bb super active leh.. went out lunch n she practically started moving front towards my tummy... it was HARD.. think my bb wants to listen to the noise surrounding her so she moves 4ward.. Very curious little girl... heehee...

Jasminetea, Hunniepot, do you all talk to baby when he/she moves? Do you think he/she really responses to us???

Just now, she was jumping or moving ard so much that I asked her "Baby. What are you doing?" and she stopped.. heeheee.. so funny....

<font color="blue">Religion</font>
Hmmm.. hunniepot, you are really daring. My mil (at those days when my hb n i were started dating and she happened 2 noe my surname oso "Lim" and a Xmas tree) cried in front of my hb to ask her to break out with me leh... I was like kind of given in becoz dun want hb to b in difficult situation n furthermore we juz started out as couple then.... but hb persistance won my heart. .... eventually his mom was convinced that i m not the pushy type of person n so gave in n welcomed me home too.. Guess overall, was really thankful to God's grace that his mom didn't push me to ve ancestors table in our home as well. Funny thing but my mil chose to believe in some belief n ppl told her i would bring good luck n fortune 2 my hb... so she had since been ever nicer to me... hmmmmm.....
My hb has very strong belief in Buddhism teaching but we do discuss at times on religion. Other thing is one day I pray that God would eventually open his heart and touch him on how he has touched me in my life.

<font color="blue">Yahoo fotos</font>
Hunniepot, thanks for your effort. Thank you very much.

Evon

Re: Talking to bb

I do talk to my bb when she moves.. even sing those nursery rhymes to her
Think she seems to like "baa baa black sheep" as she tends to calm down whenever I sing that to her.. she also tends to response more to my hb's voice..

Re: Religion

What to do? I kind of regretted giving in too much to my ILs at the beginning.. shifted to Toa Payoh just cos his unmarried sister made alot of noise and wanted us to live close to her and his mum.. and now I am facing the headache of how to transport my bb to my mum's place everyday in Jurong (my mum will be looking after my bb) once I go back to work... shld have taken that into consideration when choosing a flat.. and shld have chosen a place in the west area..

Thank god my MIL was not as unreasonable as yours at the beginning.. guess part of the reason is cos my hb is 6 yrs older than me so she readily accepted me into their family hehe.. cant wait for him to get married and give her nei sun..

No worries about the fotos..

Hi Evon! My gynae first suggested C-sect was when my BB gal was in breech position, she said likely to turn head down but due to the size of BB back then, she said C-sect more advisable as my pelvic nt big enough, now this BB's position not breech but oredi 1035gm at week 26th, so she says not advisable to go natural too

Last time round the nurse shave a bit for me before the op, not all shaved, juz the part near the incision..hahaha, they anyhow shave we oso bo-pian cos cannot eat for so many hrs, no strength to instruct her the style to shave...kekekeke;p

Epidural, cos I wanna see BB the moment she's out, this time too. Was told epidural hubby can go in but cannot take video when op is gg on. The last time he was prepared to go in but due to the outbreak of SARS, hospital forbade loh...my sis opted for GA and by the time she came around, the side effect was that both her legs were numb for quite sometime..

hunniepot,
can send me the fotos links again at [email protected] I did not receive the first time round.

Religion,
I told my hubby that I will remain a free thinker even I married to him (he is a buddhist). He knows from the start that I dun like to visit the temple and drink holy water. My MIL has asked us to do that several times but I think she has give up on me. I told my husband that I allow a alter table in my house but I am not going to do anything with it. If he cross the line, then I will go to church every Sunday. So far so good, no quarrel on religion.

Haha Rach.. got it already
pls lar.. what fatty bom bom picture? Far from it! Another pretty mummy
And we have exactly the same curtains at home..

Anyway.. Rach &amp; Maraquan

You've got mail!

hunniepot,

thnx!! i've gained 10kg liao leh!!
great minds think alike, that's y we have same curtains..keke
fyi, my house curtain is frm batam,think quite cheap only..haha Hope u didn't gana axe on your curtains..