(2006/04) April 2006 MTB

Juz came back from gynae's clinic, I've gaind a total of 2.3kg this mth
tho 800gm to BB but I've put on 16kg!!!! Gynae said she wldn't wanna drag my delivery date any further cos by looking at me she says so "xin ku" as I'm petite but with a huge tummy...
BB is 3.029kg at week 37.
Tues is my final visit with CTG at 10am, then I'll be admitted and wait for op at 2pm. No food after 8am, not even water...uurrgghh..tink will eat rice dumpling if not nasi lemak, more filling ;p was told no food only drink after op, wah, then I better sleep my way to the next day..
404150.gif

me a bit confused here, why is it that some website says refrigerate EBM can store for 8 days but our prenatal class and books says 48 hours?? who is correct??

hihi all

Can I join you guys here? I am actually from the June's thread but I have delivered on 13/4/06!

EDD = 4th June
Gender = girl
DOB = 13/4/06
Baby's name = Chanz
Weight = 1630g

Now doing confinement at home but baby has to be in icu for some time. Everything happened so fast, Nurse found out that I was 4 cm dilated and one hour later, I was already pushing. No joke to deliver naturally man. Only laughing gas and they kept asking me to breathe in the gas that I became so high.

Actually I was admitted to hospital the day before as my water bag ruptured and Doc said I got to confine on bed and drips to keep the baby to at least 35 weeks. It was a nightmare when I had to prepare to lie on bed 24 hours in hospital, could not even go toilet. Maybe baby knows that I was unhappy, so the next day she popped out.

Anyone here has to pump milk every 3 hours??? I feel like a moo moo cow now.

hi kyla

You can refer to this link http://www.medela.com/NEWFILES/faq/coll_store.html

Make sure ya refrigerator is cold if you going to refrigerate it. Frozen can be kept abt 3 mths. The nurses told me 48 hours too at Mount A but as mentioned make sure ya fridge is cold enough.

hi pebbles,

Don't worry too much about your bb ok. My colleague also give birth prematurely and her bb was 1.6kg but her bb now very big and chubby at 8 months now.

I am also pumping milk at 3-4 hrs. also feel like a cow, esp if i am using both pumps at the same time :p

Smurfy, Pebbles
I'm facing the same plight as the both of you..if i didn't pump for 4hrs, i'll suffer from engorgement. What did u ladies do for the night? Do u pump regularly thruout e night as well? If not, any mtds to prevent engorgement?

<font size="+1">April 2006 MTB</font>

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital </TD></TR><TR><TD>Loving</TD><TD>30/03/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>Johor Specialist Hospital</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bbtree</TD><TD>30/03/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr A.L. Lim</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kokopooh</TD><TD>30/03/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr LC Foong</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jumbo</TD><TD>02/04/2006</TD><TD> <font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Tan Lay Kok</TD><TD>SGH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Joan(Babe)</TD><TD>05/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kyla</TD><TD>06/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr H K Ho</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Daphne</TD><TD>06/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr See Tho KY</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little Fish</TD><TD>07/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Goh Shen Li</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hunniepot</TD><TD>08/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Christopher Chong</TD><TD> Gleneagles</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mochie</TD><TD>09/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Jeanette Chen</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Preciousbabe</TD><TD>10/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Goh Sheng Li</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wishbear</TD><TD>10/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr H K Ho</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lemontree</TD><TD>10/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Phyllis Liawu</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shylyn</TD><TD>11/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Kee</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jolie</TD><TD>12/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Lai </TD></TR><TR><TD>Des</TD><TD>12/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Don Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jasminetea</TD><TD>15/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kim Tan</TD><TD>15/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Y W Lim</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chenoa</TD><TD>15/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Vincent Lee</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rach</TD><TD>15/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tracy</TD><TD>16/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jo</TD><TD>17/04/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr H K Ho</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ice</TD><TD>17/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Chua</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>SGgal</TD><TD>17/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mrs Ho</TD><TD>18/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr SW Seng</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jade</TD><TD>18/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr HY Wee</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Juzmaine</TD><TD>18/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Irene</TD><TD>19/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cutecute</TD><TD>20/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Terrier</TD><TD>20/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Leereiner</TD><TD>20/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Gordon Lim</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Maraquan</TD><TD>21/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Zhaocaimao</TD><TD>21/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr C W Fong</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Winne</TD><TD>22/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>DR KK Ho</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>BBLim</TD><TD>23/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Evonlimsy</TD><TD>25/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mandy</TD><TD>25/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr T C Chang</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jilian </TD><TD>25/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr T C Chang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Telly</TD><TD>26/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Adelina Wong</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Smurfy</TD><TD>26/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>1sttimemum</TD><TD>26/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Heng Tun Lan</TD><TD>ESH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Emon</TD><TD>27/04/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nana</TD><TD>27/04/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sunshine Tay</TD><TD>28/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yukie</TD><TD>28/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr S H Kee </TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Snowy</TD><TD>28/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Taurus</TD><TD>03/05/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sponge</TD><TD>03/05/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gebbera</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Adelene</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shanti</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Sureh Nair </TD><TD>Mt E </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bubbles</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </td></tr></table>

<font color="0000ff">Total No of Boys : 21</font>
<font color="ff0000">Total No of Girls : 24</font>

<font size="+1">We Are Born!</font>

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>DOB</TD><TD>Baby's Name</TD><TD>Baby's Weight</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jumbo</TD><TD>02/04/2006</TD><TD> <font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>23 Feb 2006, 11.18pm</TD><TD>Nixon</TD><TD>3235g </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hunniepot</TD><TD>08/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>21 Mar 2006, 11.57pm</TD><TD>Amanda</TD><TD>3100g</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Preciousbabe</TD><TD>10/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>27 Mar 2006, 01.40pm</TD><TD>Jayden</TD><TD>2400g </TD></TR><TR><TD>BBtree</TD><TD>30/03/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>30 Mar 2006, 10.11pm</TD><TD>Ruth</TD><TD>2690g </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lemontree</TD><TD>10/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>31 Mar 2006, 03.22pm</TD><TD>Gladys</TD><TD>3405g </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rach</TD><TD>15/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>02 April 2006, 10.05am</TD><TD>Ryan</TD><TD>2760g </TD></TR><TR><TD>Des</TD><TD>12/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>02 April 2006, 10.52am</TD><TD>Owen</TD><TD>2800g </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tracy</TD><TD>16/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>03 April 2006, 10.29am</TD><TD>Enya</TD><TD>2390g </TD></TR><TR><TD>Smurfy</TD><TD>26/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>05 April 2006, 03.30pm </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kyla</TD><TD>06/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>06 April 2006</TD><TD>Jo</TD><TD>3000g </TD></TR><TR><TD>Maraquan</TD><TD>21/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>07 April 2006, 07:49am</TD><TD>Kai Jun</TD><TD>2900g </TD></TR><TR><TD>Babe (Joan)</TD><TD>05/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>07 April 2006 11:33am</TD><TD>Keziah</TD><TD>3240g </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ray</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>07 April 2006</TD><TD>Nicholas</TD><TD>2880g</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jasminetea</TD><TD>15/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>08 April 2006 12:32pm</TD><TD>Jaslynn</TD><TD>3140g </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jade</TD><TD>18/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>11 April 2006, 09.46am</TD><TD>Jamie</TD><TD>2790g </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shylyn</TD><TD>11/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>11 April 2006, 09.57am</TD><TD>Ivec</TD><TD>2470g </TD></TR><TR><TD>Evonlimsy</TD><TD>25/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>11 April 2006, 03.36pm</TD><TD></TD><TD>3660g </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mandy</TD><TD>25/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>11 April 2006, 06.21pm</TD><TD>Jamie</TD><TD>3430g </TD></TR><TR><TD>Irene</TD><TD>19/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>11 April 2006, 08.16pm</TD><TD>Xue En</TD><TD>3035g </TD></TR><TR><TD>1sttimemum</TD><TD>26/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>12 April 2006, 10am+</TD><TD></TD><TD>2900g </TD></TR><TR><TD>Daphne</TD><TD>06/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>13 April 2006, 02.30am </TD><TD>Matthias</TD><TD> 3920g </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bblim</TD><TD>23/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>13 April 2006, 08.00am</TD><TD>Renanne</TD><TD>2600g </TD></TR><TR><TD>Peddles</TD><TD>13/06/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>13 April 2006</TD><TD>Chanz</TD><TD>1630g</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </td></tr></table>

Hi Terrier,

I also shared a bit about the questions you asked Hunniepot 'cos mine is a bit different but I'm also induced and on epi.

When I'm induced at the maternity ward, still allowed to eat and go toilet etc. Gynae told me they will pushed me to labour ward once I'm about 3cm dilated. But my water bag burst instead. Given enema to clear bowel and pushed to labour ward immediately.

At labour ward before the epi administer, I still go toilet once. Once administer epi, got to lie down on the bed till you delivered.

Hope this additional information is useful

Cheers~

how much milk can you all express now???

seems like a lot of april 11th babies here...
TMC nurse told me at 6+pm that, there are abt 30 over babies borned on tat day.. and still got more to go...

Here's my birth story

10 Apr, 6pm - Visited gynae in the even for the check up to c whether my cervix has dilated but was told that it has only soften. Gynae offered us 2 opions to either wait for a max of 1 more wk for the contractions to take place naturally or induce the next day. Hub &amp; I decided to induce since if after waiting for a wk &amp; if bb still didn't want to come out, still need to b induced. Plus, we were worried tt stayingg too long migght not b gd for bb..so was told by gynae to admit into TMC the same night at 9pm.

10 Apr, 8pm - After taking dinner, head to TMC for admission

10 Apr, 10pm - Nurse inserted tablet into vagina &amp; was told to stay in bed for at least an hr.

Didn't manage to sleep thruout e night

11 Apr, 4am - Slight contractions similar to period pain but bearable

11 Apr, 6am - Admitted into labour ward &amp; put on CTG to check 4 contractions.

11 Apr, 7am - Wheeled into operation room &amp; put on drip as contractions mild. Contractions became stronger but still bearable

11 Apr, 7.30am - Gynae came &amp; broke my waterbag. Rather painful as didn't expected it.

11 Apr, 8am to 9am - Contractions became closer &amp; worse. Pain level increased &amp; became unbearable. Given laughing gas.

11 Apr, 9.15am - Buay tahan oredi, laughing gas like no use one &amp; asked for epidual instead

11 Apr, 9.30am - Was informed tt needed ano half hr more for the doc to arrive to inject the epidual. Felt like dying oredi.

11 Apr,9.45am - Couldn't tahan anymore, felt a strong urge to shit &amp; was worried abt e mess. Shouted to hub tt i wanted to shit &amp; he told e nurse abt e pool of blood which came out suddenly..nurse told him tt it would b too late to get e epidual injection as bb is coming out soon.

11 Apr, 9.57am- Gynae came &amp; told me to take a deep breathe &amp; at the next contraction to push as long as i could. Followed his instruction &amp; ggave a long hard push &amp; bb's head appeared. Withthe next push, bb Ivec is out. Was really happy.

11 Apr, 10am - Gynae stitched back my epitosomy wound and though can feel the stitching, i was more anxious to c my little bb. Asked nurse to place Ivec on my chest after they were done with e necessary stuffs. Fall in love immediately when i c him. Called out his name &amp; he seem to understand ^_^

11 Apr, 10.30am - Wheeled back to my room with Ivec in my arms. Really feel a sense of achievement.

Btw, here's a photo of my bb Ivec ..fresh from the 'oven' &amp; a photo of him taken a day after.
404291.jpg
404292.jpg

terrier

Oh yeah.. now I remember after reading what Jasminetea's post.. I was not allowed to go to the toilet as I was on penicilin drip after my gynae burst my waterbag as I have got strep B infection.. so it shld be the case whereby if you are on any drips or on epi.. wont be allowed to go toilet..

Re: clothing sizes

Hi gals.. just to find out.. what is the size of clothing that your babies are wearing right now? My girl can already fit into 3 - 6 mths clothings though she is only 3.5 weeks old.. luckily I got everything in bigger sizes.. didnt buy any NB clothes

Hi Hunniepot &amp; Jasminetea
Thanks for your replies. Now, I'm getting kancheong for tomorrow nite...
dunno what kind of delivery I would go through...

I am back in to post. But muz b chop chop.. =p

Any of u found ur bb delivery's weight differs? My bb lost some weight when she was out of hospital. Her face oso not so puffy now.. more natural look.

Bb was discovered 2ve slight jaundice on the day I was to discharge n PD said if blood test showed it high, she may ve to stay in hospital for a day and I broke down after then... so small has 2b in hospital alone. Haiz.

Thank goodness, her jaundice level wasn't high. So morning has to bring her to b exposed 2 sunlight btw 8~9am.

Ve been really busy settling down. Like Rach, if without confinement lady, I think I would b shou man jiao ru.

BB demand of milk really high. She very punctual. Before 3rd hour, she would start to wriggle and at 3rd hour, she would cry for milk. My breasts oso engorged.. so bb having hard time trying to latch on as her cheeks are tired chewing on the HARD aerola. Tried to massage but if bb really hungry, she does not want, means she does not want to... so no choice.. give her FM.. and try to latch her before the 3rd hour.

In the meanwhile, took lots of fotos of the little girl but she hardly opened her eyes.. like her daddy, very bochap. Only woke up for milk and poo. My girl farts a lot too... normal or not??

Re: Congrats to all mommies who have popped as well
For Daphne especially, wow... your bb is huge... I really pei fu ni. =)

Evon,
it's normal for bb to lose weight during the first week.

my girl is also very punctual... how many ml or oz is she drinking now?

Hunniepot,
Thanks for updating the foto.

I have to express my milk every 2hrs to 3hrs coz my nipple is kind of too big for my bb to suck so was advise to express instead... may i know how much do you gals get per time... i only ablt to pump out 60ml everytime, was quite sad so sometime got to supplement with FM if not enough!!

RE: PolyClinic
I am going to bring my boy to poly clinic for his check up coz got abit yellow.... may i know what are the things to bring there huh???

All the photo look so cute... kind of busy and only can come in once everynight... have a good days tomorrow

Gals I need help!!!! My baby reallly cranky at night. TBF n she would drink, cry n dink non stop sometimes for as long as 5 hrs. When will the 3h routine for bf be more established? Wil drinking chivken essence in the day keep bb up at night?

i'm fm Jan06 thread,jus kaypoh here awhile..

EBM
can keep in fridge for only 48hrs. thereafter pls freeze it. in normal freezer can keep till 2 mths. deep freezer, 6 mths. best is to smell n taste ur BM before feeding to baby.

at birth at the hospital, i BF my bb 15mins per breast, then followed by FM. altho no milk fm my breast initially, i still let her suckle for 15 mins each. the best way to relieve engorgement is to let ur bb suckle! i supplement with FM at night.

drink lots of Milo, water n soup (esp papaya/fish) soup to keep up the milk supply.

Jaundice:
my bb had v slight jaundice at birth, but her jaundice lasted 2mths plus due to my breast milk. ginger does affect the milk. once i stopped my ginger intake, her jaundice gradually went off. BTW, avoid spinach too, it causes wind. no chicken for c-section still 12-14days later hor. (i'm c-section).

i noe ginger is good for confinement, but for the sake of the bb...i stopped my ginger intake.

babe, my bb automatically have the 3hrs routine...
could it be your bb sleep too much during the day?

1sttimemum, i pump ard 60ml also currently... i think as times pass, we should be able to get more supply... i try to latch on my gal sometimes also... when my breasts are not so hard.. maybe you should try to latch on your bb also... i'm sure bb have their ways to suckle on the nipple...

hi irene,
during first few weeks, i pump only total of abt 60ml each time. keep up wif ur nursing n pumping. now my bb is 3mths, i pump out 600-700ml per day. n she's drinking less so i manage to store up more milk.

thanks for the info, tracy... I was wondering if I've pumped enuff... or my supply is low...

another question, how do you pump? alternating breasts or finished one side then begin the other side?

Congrats to all the new mummies who have popped !!

Re: Breast Milk supply
Can fill a bottle with hot water and rub against your breast to help increase supply.
Drink more fluid to increase supply
Pump as regular as possible instead of waiting for engorgement.

Few questions here:

1) After giving birth, is your lochia heavy? Mine is not. The massage lady said not normal. Now that I am in my 12th day, the discharge had become dark brown stain. is this normal? Massage lady said should be bright red and heavy for at least 2 weeks.

2) For EBM, do you feed your bb the freshly pumped EBM or those stored ones first?

2) What brand of formula milk did you give your child?

smurfy

re: lochia heavy?
mine is ok.. not very heavy...

re: EBM
I pump before the feed... so normally when the timing is close, i just leave it at room temp... if not feeding time yet, i will store at the fridge then reheat it.

re: FM
I'm giving the Dumex Mamil Gold for her... so far so good...

smurfy

My lochia is also not heavy at all.. only wore maternity pads for 1st few days then resumed to wearing normal pads after that

Re: EBM

Used to reheat the stored ones first.. now total latch on.. thus never pump

Re:FM

I use similac for infant.. only give to baby when I am too tired or when I am outside

RE: EBM
I managed to pump out around 200ml for every 3hrs and if i dun pump out by e 4th hr, i'll suffer from really bad engorgement. Wanted to encourage bb to directly bf but his suckingg mtd is wrong.

RE: bb's sucking mtd
Ladies, need ur advice on how to improve bb's sucking mtd..he will produce a suckingg noise whenever he suckle from the bottle. Tried to put him to my breast but he couldn't suckle hard enough as i feel no pressure &amp; also after desperate attempts, he will bite me real hard!

Smurfy
My lochia is currently manageable. Still wearing maternity pads as of my 5th day
I'll use e stored emb 1st..1st pumped 1st served basis
using Emfamil A+ on ad hoc basis for bb cos my fridge is overflowing w my emb..bb only take in 50ml at a go.

RE: BB's intake
May I know what's e current intake for ur bbs?? Mine is feeding at between 30 to 50ml for a period of 3-4hrs at 5 days old. Is that alright? Cos he passes motion &amp; urine rather often.

Irene/Hunniepot/Shylyn,

Is your lochia still bright red? or is it brownish? Its bright red for how many days?

Since each of us use different FM, how do we know if this brand is suitable?

For those still in confinement, do you confinement lady cook anything with wine? eg. Martell. Or anyone drink DOM. Will it affect our breast milk?

shylyn,
Envy you, can pump 200ml per time.. wats your secret?

My bb drink about 60ml at 5 days old. He can drink 60-70ml even though he is now 12 day old.

Been a long time since I post in the forum. Jayden is driving me crazy at night so I slept in the day thus seldom log in.

Re: BM
Wow, really envy all u mummies who can express so much milk. I can only express 50ml per time and my breasts are always so soft. Think my milk supply is running low liao.

Re: FM
I'm supplementing Jayden's feeds with Enfalac A+. This was used by KKH so I just continue feeding Jayden with it.

Re: Lochia
My flow was only heavy during the first 4 days. Now it's on and off and light red in colour and I'm using panty liners.

Re: Confinement food
Smurfy, my mum cooks some of the dishes with wine. It's ok to eat food cooked with wine as long as the wine is cooked for a while before u switch off the fire. The alcohol content will be evaporated liao and thus can BF right after our meals. But if u r drinking DOM, then cannot BF within 3h as the alcohol content will be passed to bb.

Re: Milk intake
Jayden drinks abt 70ml per 3h during the first week. The second week, he drinks 70ml per 3h during the day but at night he drinks abt 70ml per 2h. So I increased his intake to 90ml at night. Currently his day time intake is 90ml and night time intake is 100ml per 3h.

Hi mommies...
I'd like to ask those who went thru' virginal delivery, how long did it take for your wound(stitches) to recover?

I'm now into day 5 and still feel a little discomfort down there. In fact, I dun even dare to poo poo... hehe! Pls advise.. thankx!

Smurfy
My lochia is still red..though not exactly bright red..

My FM is recommended by my gynae leh..dunno why he thinks tt this brand is gd cos even my sil used this brand when her daughter is a bb.

My secret? Nah..didn't really do anything in particular but i like 2 eat fish &amp; hv been a regular fish consumer ever since i'm young..so mabbe tt's why? But honestly, prefer no engorgement cos my breast really swollen if i dun pump by e 4th hr. Can imagine even thru out e night hv to pump..i even hv to throw away 2 bottles of milk earlier cos not enuff bottles!

RE: Confinement Food
My mil also cooks dishes w wine &amp; i just drank it..thouggh try not to overdrink..cos worried pass to bb.

RE: Dom
So in this case, is it still advisable to drink dom cos i hv to express out every 3 hrs.

Jade
RE: recovery after natural delivery
Yeah..still painful esp when i sit on it..o than tt, walking speed is slowly returning though still awakard. But at least i managged to poo poo yest &amp; today..like u i also dun dare to poo at 1st but simply buay tahan cos drink coffee..tt's my secret to pooing ^_^

smurfy, mine is reddish in color...

as long as your bb dun have constipation or diarreoa, poo well, mean the formula is suitable for the bb.

shylyn, how you managed to get 200ml? peifu...
i got very bad engorgement on my 3rd day... the breasts are so hard that i use the cabbage to ease it and then use cold compression each time before expressing.. then the next day, the engorgement ease alot.. now can only express 60-70ml.. plus occasionally latch on..
hopefully the supply will be able to increase..

Jade, my stitches are healing fast. in fact, there's no pain at all the next day. my gynae was also commenting, i walk like i din go for delivery at all..
managed to poo today...

shylyn, you should have gotten the milk bags, so that you dun need to use bottles..

re: confinement food.
i read from somewhere, as long as the dishes with wine are cooked, the alcohol will actually evaporate.. so dun need to worry at all..

Read an article that says that breast feeding, have to avoid eggs, pig liver, plain water, ginger sesame oil and wine for the first 2 weeks. No further explanation why leh.

I heard ginger influences jaundice in baby. Sesame oil???? Wine in cooking, alcohol evaporate, so ok...but still got its effects? what effects huh?

Re: BM
Sigh.. I think I very poor "cow"... supply still not in yet except for some whitish liquid on my left nipple if i use bp.
Yet, my dear girl juz cant wait. She very impatient. At 3rd hour sharp, if she latched on n no milk, she cried very very hard and loud. I felt juz so heartpain n really felt like giving up.

Sometimes halfway latching, she juz slept off on my breast. Taking my nipple as pacifier. Haiz.

Is this what I suppose to expect?

Re: FM
See her like that, I got no choice but to give up and give her Similac. She has been drinking approx. avg 50ml every 3h.

It is getting 2b not as heavy as after operation. But the smell is juz like menses. N becoz of C section wound, I ve hard time trying to keep myself clean there as Dr wants me to keep the wound area dry. Ve to use a jug to rinse the bottom.. Is tix how mothers on C section doing it?

Re: Confinement food
I am not allowed to take chicken for the next 10 days. Ve been taking pork, fish and veggies.

Cheona, ur queries, my confinement nanny and my mothers all said should not be as they too still eat and have no problem with milk supplies given to their children. Yet, I happened to read a thread on ginger may affect bb to have jaundice.

irene,
i used to use the medela electric, so it was both breasts pumped at same time. but later i realise the avent manual pump works better for me, so ve been using dat since then. i alternate between 2 breasts.

I have been taking pig liver, ginger and sesame
oil during my confinement ley.. wonder what is the bad effects. CL said no chicken and eggs for first 12 days.

Another question: do you wake your bb if he/she sleep pass his/her feeding time?

hi can i check with u guys,

what shld u prepare for ur post natal massage ar? a mattress? or on bed? using towel to cover ur mattress? will ur mattress kena oil stain? as i heard that the oil is very smelly.

hazel,
need to check with your massage lady how she do it. Some do it on your bed. Mine did it on a mattress covered with a towel, so the towel will kena the oil.

Smell depends on indiv, mine tolerable. But oiliness yes, i always use baby wipes to wipe off tho she said to keep it on for 1 hour. Cannot tahan.

hi koalarie

You must remember to drink more fluids (soup, fruit juice, milk, red date tea, etc) to improve ya supply. Eat more fish too. I have been doing that and now on my 4th day, I am expressing about 150ml every 3 hours.

The nurse was very kind when I told her my hands were very very aching to express the tiny amount amount of milk on the second day. She brought in the hospital pump and told me to use it to stimulate, have or dun have milk never mind, but at least it helps to stimulate. I still take chicken.

Hi Jade

I was uncomfortable there too and thought it was my stitches. Then doc told me I had piles and it is pretty common as it is due to the pushing during labour. Try to drink prune juice if you are scared to poo, very very helpful as it makes ya stools softer. Me started to poo abt 12 hrs after I delievered, so scared at that time too.

If you want to keep the oil on but feel too oily, can try to put some baby powder to soak up the oil a bit, then later only remove.

Wow, really envy those that can pump out 150 &amp; 200ml. I am very happy when I can pump out 60ml lah, most of the time, it is only 40ml.

I have stopped expressing for the time being because my baby have change his time pattern. From 4 hour in between feed, yesterday I got to feed him every hour. Today, he wants it every 2 hours, so I stopped pumping.

Hi mommies!!

Got a question here.. hope someone can help. I'm already in my 2nd week of confinement and my EBM is only ard 20ml each time i pump.. my milk supply just cannot increase! In fact, i got feeling that it's running low.. sigh.. i really envy those who can pump above 150ml!! Spent half n hour and only get 20ml is so demoralising...

Mine also not heavy. Wearing panty liners in my 2nd week. Checked with gynae, she said is ok.

Re: Formula milk

I am feeding my gal Similac. She is drinking 60 ml if it is every 2 hours, and drinking 90 ml if it is every 3 hours.

Re: Vaginal delivery

I couldn't poo for the first 3 days. Till now, I have slight constipation. I've been drinking prune juice and eating bananas. I only poo once every 2 to 3 days. I have found wiping with baby wipes very soothing as compared to toilet paper.

Re: Massage

My massage lady said cannot massage on spring mattress. So I just used a thin mattress. A towel is also required. The oil is not smelly. Mine used lemongrass oil.... I thought it smelt quite nice.

Re: waking baby for feeding

I only wake her up when I see her fidgeting. My gal is very impatient. Once her eyes open, she demands to be fed immediately. Cannot wait one. Otherwise, she will cry for 10 minutes. So I rather feed her when she fidgets. But if she does not show signs of waking, I wun wake her.

Actually contrary to belief, banana promotes constipation, so you might want to try to avoid that for awhile. Drink lots of fluid. Maybe have slight constipation because the confinement food is heaty.

i have finally delivered on 13 April to baby boy, Dylan weighing 3.13kg. I am now at home doing confinement. Having problem breastfeeding. Now expressing milk using kaneson manual pump. About 40-50ml each time but it took very long coz my arms, neck and back are killing me. Only can do it twice a day, at the most 3 times. Dylan feeds only about every 4 hourly. I feel that the interval is abit too long but confinement lady said that let hime sleep. Anyway, I feel so tired and drained that I just let her do it. Really envy those who can express so much milk. Do you use an eletric pump? Thinking of buying the Ameda electric pump. Any advice?

Hi cheers3344

My baby also feeds at about every 4 hrsinterval.. so long as your boy is growing well; puts on weight and pees and poos regularly.. guess that shouldnt be a cause for alarm.

Another thing. My expressed milk is orange in colour. Isn't that weird? My relative thought I was feeding my boy orange juice when she saw it. Does anyone has milk of such weird clour? My hubby said that it could be all the papaya i ate. I usually eat about a quarter of papaya every morning. I'm just worried that my baby will get jaundice if he drinks my breast milk.