(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Hi CL,..

DOnt worry about the overweight..
Right now my SIL very slim

Think as long as our child is growing healthy....overweight should be alright//

RE: Goat Milk
Ya.. CL, I saw delivery of goat milk on the back of the bus where they have advertisement.

CL,
Charmaine looks tall for her age from the Bday bash. I tot she is already Primary 1! Now after u disclosed her age then I realised that! Really can pose well too. I like the Jap Kimono pic.

CL - the pics are very well taken! Charmaine looks so pretty in the jap costume and the Singapore Girl uniform
also agree that Aden and Charmaine looks the same size!

milk
CL, Charmaine is very pretty in the photos, esp the last one! She's really alittle slim for her age ya? Goat's milk should be good for her. She eats very little?

mashy
I thought its good for kids to drink milk? Why do u want to reduce the milk intake? U're afraid he's taking in too much milk and not enough of solid food?

CL ,
if you want the goat's milk contact i can get from my mil.. coz last time my thai sil only take goat's milk so they special order for her.. and sil say very fresh..

May,SH, Mamapanda,God's child
Thanks for your compliments too. Hee Hee her daddy will be so happy because she resembles him. It is daddy in long hair. Ha ha. He will be so proud. Everytime someone commented Charmaine pretty, he will give me that kind of look.She is tall because she takes after daddy's bamboo genes too

About their size, hmm, I better do something before everyone acuse me for doting Aden more , giving him all the food and nothing to Charmaine. Charmaine is like her daddy when young, takes super long to finish food. Actually if you add up the things she eat, she eats a lot though.

Thanks Rena,
Please pass me the contact. Otherwise the delivery man has to be my hb, actually from my house to lim chu kang not very far though.

CL,
Charmaine and Aden looks so cute!!!

Poor baby Saby...to be honest, I didnt dare to read the thread....i always feel so heavy hearted when I hear such things abt babies....

Drinking too much milk
Actually, the thot has crossed my mind whether there is such a thing as too much milk. Ryan can drink 1 litre every day and even though I am quite happy, nowadays he has no appetite for proper meals. He eats just half a bowl for lunch and dinner is a huge coaxing affair. He enjoys his milk so much, he can take 300 ml just before sleeping. I worry that taking too much milk is inhibiting his appetite...

Soya sauce in food. Can I take a poll and see which mummy has added soya sauce to babies' food?
Today I found out my maid added soya sauce to Ryan's lunch. I was soooo mad cos i told her no salt no sugar. She claims she only started this week but i will never know...

ak
Hmmmm, I heard from some friends and my aunt saying that they add 2-3 drops of soya sauce to marinate the bb's food i.e. minced pork for porridge, I've tried it for Daren's food, was the taste was quite negligible, as though nothing added. I've already started adding a little of bovril into Daren's porridge too. less than 1/3 of a teaspoon.

ak

re: Too Much milk
Hmmmm, by right, our young toddlers are to be drinking lesser milk i.e 3 - 4 times a day. Milk is meant to be a supplement to their 3 main meals of solids a day now. maybe you would like to consult your PD about your worries?

Ak
I have not. Only occasionally when Aden refuse his porridge, I add marmite. But just a little bit.

For 2 days, it has been quite difficult feeding aden porridge. But this evening, I give him rice soaked in lots of soup, he finish all very fast. I feel they could be teething now so they need something to chew. Aden is also drinking 1l of milk a day.

soy sauce
Mamachan, if u say the taste is negligible if u add few drops of soy sauce, then y add? Isn't it better without it? They contain preservatives which is bad.

RE : "Cursed" week
Horrible week. I've been to KK x2 (A&E once, eye specialist once) PD x2, plus GP once for me last night. Was rubbing eye and within mins, the entire eye swelled. Went to GP and cos already past 12, paid twice for consultation. Really burned a big hole....Must go pray liao....

RE : Baby Saby
Yah...so sad to hear it. It always sadden us when we hear of such story....hopefully Saby gets well soon

RE : Sick Child
When ever my child is sick, I'll get super pissed wif hub. He shows no improvement and back to square 1. Still let Xav roam to dangerous spot. Just now let him go balcony with the big bicycle there will he stands away from him blocked by the drying rack. If Xav were to pull the bike, hub wldnt hv enough time to rescue. hi...haiz...man

RE : Soy Sauce
Heehee...I'm one of those very against salt. Mum complained I too freak and others too. Said shld intro salt into their diet. But I serious dont see the need.

Ak,
My MIL says she has been adding 1 or 2 drop of soy sauce into JW's porridge. She says no taste. Currently, I myself have refrained from putting anything in since he is still eating his porridge without soy sauce added.

chickenlittle
you have such a pretty girl!! in photo and in person also so sweet and pretty. =)

haha im abit shock to see the first photo! Aden sure is bigger in terms of 'thickness' than charmaine =p

ak
nope, till now no salt no sugar for dylan. even the butter i used to cook his pasta is unsalted.

chillies
aiyo! how your boy knocked himself *pain pain*

haha welcome aboard to the scarpbooking club! we are now more into a regular basis scrapping session. do join us!!

RE : Baby Saby
cried when i was in the mids of reading through the thread. finally couldnt take it when i saw her photo... will pray hard for her.

chickenlittle/mamachan
couldnt join in the wednesday cck playgroup *sob* i nearly forgot dylan has to go for his Hernia operation followup appointment... lucky i recieved their sms reminder.

MamaPanda
Only tried twice for the minced meat in Daren's porridge so far when I didn't have soup stock to cook his porridge in. =) No worries. I wouldn't do that often anyways. As mentioned previously before, there's no MSG content in the bottle of Bovril I have (even making doubly sure by going online and typing in the ingredients on google search).

chillies
Oh dear, seems like Xav's accidents look really bad wor. It's really a wondewr how your hb still can't nonchalent about his well-being.

rachel/chicken little/SAHMS
I'll still meet up with Chicken Little still on wednesday =) Or would you prefer to go outdoors? I think the SAHMs would like a day out at Botanic Gardens again?

18 Apr.Outing or Playgroup
I am ok with either. But if my "da yi ma" come then I will prefer to be at home.

Chillies
Poor Xavier leh. Ha ha , design it into a danger sign and paste on dangerous zones to remind Xav daddy. You will pay for it if this happens again. Ha ha

Ak, Rachel
Charmaine got a bit of looks but I got upset when pple says resembles daddy so the beauty dun come from me lor. Ha ha. Hope next time her suitors not blinded by her looks, because she is so difficult to please being perfectionist lor

soya sauce:
my mum was bugging me to ask my pd abt adding soy sauce to caleb's porridge. So we asked. Initially i was so confident that my pd would say, no salt no sugar like all us are preaching now.He gave me a surprise when he said after checking his age "can lar a little bit is okie"
So now, on wkdays my mum would add a tiny bit of soy sauce or bovril to his porridge. I tasted the porridge, not salty at all.

Sept Bride,

Yes, adding a little soy sauce is alrite, but must make sure we get those premium quality soy sauce, i got one which is abt $3.50 per bottle, n it's the first layer of soy sauce from the whole process.(i tink...)

yes esh mum,
my mum got the premimum 1. She mentioned it cost abt $4+..

CL,
my pd say can let them try anything wor. My hb asked specially if can try peanuts, prawns and my PD said YES.
I only asked about soy sauce, and he also said yes.

Chickenlittle
Charmaine is such a charmer. I think your hb will be busy screening phone calls and waiting at the door next time...haha

Ak
For me, no salt/sugar and still using unsalted butter for Mel.

Chillies
Oh poor X, luckily didn't hurt his eyes badly.

Rachel
Re: Scrapping
Oh I'm so bad, haven't been scrapping after attending the workshop. Must really find time to do it!

Rachel/Mamachan/SAHMS
Let me know if you gals going out on Thur as I'll be on leave

Soy sauce
First of all, ask yourselves, what's the purpose in adding the soy sauce? Maybe you want to consider the following points :

1. A baby's taste buds are many times more sensitive than ours. What we taste that's bland may not be what's bland to them since they've been eating non-salted foods. So, how can u be sure its really not salty? Its just your perception, not the true taste, right?

2. Assuming its really no taste, then it serves no purpose other than adding preservatives into their food if you're adding it for the taste. Doesn't make sense right?

3. Healthy purposes? I don't think that 1 or 2 drops is going to be any more healtier than not having it at all.

4. Alittle is of course ok. Its not possible to 100% avoid salt and sugars once they're on solid food as they are already found naturally in foods. The only thing we can do is to reduce their sodium intake by limiting or avoiding the use of sauces and condiments as they contain preservatives and sodium.

Cityhall Lunch - 17 Apr
Meeting SY for lunch, anyone wants to join ? Me anytime.
1) SY, you want to decide the time
2) Chicken little

chillies
how's xavier? hope his blue black go off soon.
last wk was also hellish for me. my gal got running nose and cough with phelgm. super cranky 'cos the she couldnt sleep well. any small little things which doesn't suit her preference will make her cry very easily... so tired and yet got to be very patient to her. 'cos if i raise my voice to her, she would cry again! and the tear is such a big big drop...

salt/soya sauce
till now, i haven't given my gal any. not sure about my mil though i know she's very tempted to give.

Sept03Bride
Re: peanuts
I think to try is ok but better not to give too often as our little darlings' intestine are still quite underdeveloped.

CL,

Charmaine looks so pretty! Hope that my charmaine would grow up just as charming...: )

Btw, today's charmaine's first official day at delcare. : )

re: little saby
So sad! Will keep her in our prayers. I think the parents are really very strong pple.

Chillies,
Sigh, men!

re: soy sauce
So far, my mum hasn't added salt or soy sauce. Not sure about the infantcare though. Must ask them later. I think previously when I asked PD, she say something like if we add salt or sugar to the food that babies eat when they are young, then they won't eat the bland food anymore. So I guess now that they are older, a little bit of salt and sugar won't cause much harm? For me, I think it's relatively okay cos my gal's a greedy gal. She eats everything and anything. : (

Speaking of which, CL, any more lobangs to get the japanese biscuits? My greedy gal has finished all 3 packets already.

Cityhall Lunch - 17 Apr
2) Chicken little
3) Flo

I can make it for Cityhall lunch! We can go for free ben cones too! : )

Cityhall Lunch - 17 Apr
2) Chicken little
3) SL

Oops, I think SL and me posted at the same time

Cityhall Lunch - 17 Apr
2) Chicken little
3) SL
4) Flo

chicken_little - Wee wittt!! Charmaine looks so pretty in her SQ uniform.
quick enrol her in some modelling

re: soya sauce
so far i didnt add any in Caleb's porridge. Frankly i find 'ngor he' itself is quite sweet and sometimes by adding potatoes and carrot...the sweetness is already there. on top of that i will always put my MIL's ikan bilis powder so the porridge is normally very tasty. i am quite relunctant to let him try all those MSG stuffs.
in fact over the weekend, i was horrified to witness a bb's mum and granny feeding the baby (i think abt 4 mths old) bak chor mee soup. and my sis didnt finished her bowl saying the soup is damn salty! i was really horrified and hb witness that too and gave me the same look when he saw that. also once i saw a malay lady feeding bandung drink via straw to a 4-5 mths old baby. super super horrified mann! is it just the paranoid me or some mummies are just so naive!

re: bb sabbie
really keeping her in my prayers and hoping for a miracle. Ak, like you i am also very afraid to read all the postings as i will normally tear. so pls keep me updated on her status ya.

Soya Sauce:

Personally, I think it's fine to put in their food. We can't avoid giving it to them. While we may be able to delay giving it to them, schools or caregivers will prob give them w/o our knowledge. I rather be the 1st (as a parent) to introduce the "bad" stuff than let someone beat me to it.

Yesterday, I steamed a piece of fish with pumpkin cubes, wolfberries & scallop to go along with Cephas'rice. Wow, it was delicious! He loved it & so did I!

mamapanda,
to each their own i guess.
Everyone has their own way of bringing up their kiddos.
And well since we received go ahead from the PD(by right, they should know best!!!), i think it should be ok.
Like what Sysac said, I rather be the 1 to intro 'bad' stuff.
Well, we only share what we know or found out :p

chillies,
Xavier's bruises look quite bad! The bruises have turned yellow? Or is it the camera lighting? My Isaac has a big bruise on his cheek from tripping over his own toes and it's also turning yellow... maybe the bruises are healing.

Re. introducing salt & sugar
Both my MIL and I have not been adding any salt, sugar or soya sauce or marmite into Isaac's main solid meals yet. But he is exposed to added salt and sugar when we give him a few bites of our dinner and cake (mainly to keep him busy so that HB and I can eat peacefully) and sometimes a few licks of chocolate and ice cream or a few sips of soya milk, sometimes even a taste of coke. The fact is our babies are no longer babies, they are toddlers already, growing plenty of teeth and growing more curious and smarter. It is inevitable that they would want to have a taste of adult food. Because adult food looks more colourful, looks more interesting and they will eventually wonder why they cannot have the same food. I think it's ok to give them in small amounts now and then as eventually, they will have to eat the same food as what adults are eating. Not advocating putting in salt and soya sauce into our babies' meals now, but really, I don't think small amounts of will do a lot of damage.

Re. Peanuts
Read somewhere that it peanuts is allergenic and should only be introduced after 1 year IF the baby has not displayed any sign of all allergy to other foods (if have, then wait till 2 years old). Has let Isaac try peanut butter recently, not a lot, just dip a few small pieces of bread into the peanut butter. He's ok with it. No allergic reaction.

Cityhall Lunch - 17 Apr
2) Chicken little
3) SL
4) Flo
5) queen (can only make it at 12.45pm, ok?)

mamapanda - i also tink its ok to intro a bit to the bb for the soy sauce, not as if we are feeding a whole lot of it rite? and according to older folks, it does have tat little bit of health benefit... im sure our parents aren't tat stringent as us when they fed us soy sauce when we were young.. so if we grew up ok wf them,im sure our kids will grow up very okay wf just tat little
and PD was saying tat our bb are aldy quite big liao, shld b no prob to intro soy sauce.. in fact,he looked at me as if i was too ' protective' of my gal's diet heehee

CL - Dried scallop. End product was "nua nua" so I just mash it up & fed tog with his rice. Nowadays, Cephas will want his dish separate from his rice. He used to be alright if I mix everything tog. Now must put the dish in front of his bowl of rice. Add dish to the rice then feed cannot everything in onw bowl. He will say "no no" if he sees me mixing all up.

U & I have telepathy
I command you to fax over now. Haha...I am abt to fax over too. Can you pls remind SYChua too. Thanks.

Cityhall Lunch - 17 Apr 12.45 pm
1) SY
2) Chicken little - I am fine with 12.45
3) SL
4) Flo
5) queen (can only make it at 12.45pm, ok?)

The rest ok ?
Queen can walk to seah street ? Maybe since got 5 of us , we can take fish head curry. Hee Hee

Japanese biscuits
SL, I checking with my fren for the stock. But we have to share 1 carton for each flavour. I will post the pics and take order again later in the day. Need to rush a budget first

RE: Salt and Soy Sauce
Ya.. agree. Think it is up to individual. I have cousins that are banned to eat tibits since young. Now when ever they touch that, they get sick. Whereas for my bro and me, we can eat tons of chocolates and tibits and are still healthy.

Jamie has been eating mixture of home and outdoor food since 6mths. She is quite ok with it. I will taste the food before giving to her. A few drops in porridge should be ok. But if we are using fish or others that has their own salty contents, then it is alright not to add in salt and soy sauce. It is time to let them explore some other taste to improve their tastebuds. Eating too bland can be boring and they might not have appetite to eat much.

Just my opinion though.. hehe..

re: cityhall lunch
feel like joining, but can't 'cos of the timing and can't share the fish head curry with you gals. if next time you gals going to food court which got vegetarian food, then i will join you, ok? :D

Sunny
Wat is your lunch time usually ? Next time we organise to meet you then I bring you to vegetarian food. Hawker near Allson hotel serve good vegetarian food in Zhu Chai style. Yummy

Soya Sauce and Abit of Adults Food
I've called up KKH's Dept of Nutrition and Dietician this morning and they were very prompt to get their nutrionist to call me back. I informed her that my boy is 15 months of age and asked if it's alright to add a little soya sauce to their porridge and meals. She said yes, since they are above one year if age and it's more for the "taste". I asked about the supposed health benefits that our parents claim that it's good to have, well soya sauce do contain some ions that helps in regulating the body but it's not a main source of it. She added that in fact, our toddlers can join in at our dinner table, so long our dishes are not overly saltish.

The No salt and Sugar rule is more applied for infants at the weaning stage to solids at 6 months (the usual weaning stage). Reason being, their kidneys are unable to handle the additional sodium intake at that point of time.

I asked about the presence of preservatives in soya sauce. The dietician mentioned that the amount of preservatives present in the few drops (2-3) of soya sauce is very minimal and it's ok.

My own note: Having found out the facts from the local hospital and laying it here, I don't expect every mum to just go out and start adding salt/soya sauce, etc. Like what Sept03Bride mentioned, to each their own comfort zone of what you feel is right for your own child. Key-thing at the end of the day is MODERATION, everything has to be given in moderation for a balanced diet.

SSF
As far as I'm concerned when eating out, I would bring and prepare Daren's meal no matter what or where we go for our meals. Most outside food are doused with MSG. I would be horrified too to see a baby less than a year being given outside food where at times even I find saltish.

Japanese Biscuits
I would like to place order too if you are ordering in bulk again.

Sunny
Wat is your lunch time usually ? Next time we organise to meet you then I bring you to vegetarian food. Hawker near Allson hotel serve good vegetarian food in Zhu Chai style. Yummy