(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

denmy,
congratulations! i also had my annual health checkup done and was quite scared when they made me sign forms that say I know the risk of x-ray to fetus etc. No that i am preggers lah but thought that there was once this mth that could result in 'accident'. I was hesitant and the x-ray person gave me a thick metal padding to wear around the lower abdomen. She kept asking me when was my last menses etc. I think if calculate correct it should be safe lor.

Any of your babies display weird 'twitches'? I started noticing Lucas will quiver and shiver a little every now and then. Initially thought it was something about peeing (either just after very shiok or something OR perhaps before), being too cold/any draft etc. But turns out none of the above leh. He just shivers for no reason. He doesn't seem to get too bothered by it but I really wonder it is something that's affecting his nervous system or what... it spontanously happens like 3-4 times each day. I am getting quite bothered by it but I know if I were to ask PD she may not be able to do anything too...

Re Baby's 1st Lantern
HB had always wanted to buy Ashley a lantern and the other day while having dinner with my family at a coffe shop near my mum place, he saw Ashley's "Aunty Deborah" (3 days younger than her) got a really nice rubber Barney lantern. However, the music was "Shi(4) Shang(4) Zhi(2) You(3) Ma(1) Ma(1) Hao(3)" and i was laughing n telling my aunt so funny. HB was neverthe less so excited abt the lantern and decided to buy one for Ashley too. So off he went with Ashley and came back beaming shortly with "BJ". But guess what... when the lights was turned on and the music went off I almost fell off my chair... it was "Wo(3) Chong(2) Shan(1) Zhong(1) Lai(1)" by Liu Wen Zheng!!! My gosh... SOOO OBIANG!!!

Tupperware Party 2 @ MamaChan's place @ Redhill, either 28th or 29th Oct. TBC by end of the week. (Limited to 10 families due to space constraint)

Features:
Cooking Demo of simple steam sponge cake or peanut cake.

1) Rachel + hb + bb
2) Sept03Bride + hb + bb
3) Chicken Little + hb + bb
4) Rena + hb + bb (TBC)
5) Tracy + hb + bb
6) celine77 + HB + bb
7)God's child + hb + bb
8) Wenyl + hb + bb (TBC)

Clare,

It was really funny. : )

Cindy,
My gal would shiver when peeing. But nowadays, she would also make funny faces at us. Esp when we laugh at her then she would repeat the same funny face.

Queen,
I think Charmaine and Issac can shake hands and be good frens. Charmaine has also tasted a lot of stuff by now. Ice cream, strawberry, watermelon, curry. She is, however, healthy. My churchmate who has 3 sons once told me that with his first son, they are very cautious with what they fed him. With each addition, they relaxed a bit more till the last son when they simply don't care and just fed anything. Ended up the youngest son is the healthiest while the eldest keeps falling sick.

Cindy,
JW has those shivers. We realised that it's sort of a notice that he wants to pee. ;p & if we rush him to his potty in time, he will pee. If not, it's on the diaper liao.

Still didn't managed to catch his poo expression though. So recently wasted more diapers on his big biz than small biz man. Such a waste....coz diaper always still so light.

Yuki,

The Gerber star fruit puffs are quite safe. They really melt in the mouth. Got my mum and hubby to try before giving it to Charmaine. Am using it to train her to feed herself. I will put a few on the table of her high chair and encourage her to pick it up and eat. Sometimes she succeeded. Can buy and try now esp. since they are on sale at NTUC

Dear all ,

how about changing it to 21 oct..?
Please let me know..

Crab Dinner
Date : OCT 7
Place : at Toh Tuck plc( place at Celine77 edgar mummy)
Time : 6pm Dinner time of course

1) rena + hb + bb (confirm) (Either crab shack or the mapherson one)
2) angie + hb + bbs
3) celine + hb + bb
4) sept03bride+hb+bb
5) sanraye1330+hb+bb (to cfm nearer the date)

Re. episiotomy & BD
Hmmm...how come I seems to be the only one who don't feel pain? My gynae nv stitch properly ah? :-(

Btw, does any mummy has the problem of poor bladder control after giving birth? Sometimes sneeze also will leak...beginning to wonder if it's my problem or is it normal....

So many posts over the weekend. I was speed reading thru all the posts. Phew! We were away in Genting over the weekend with Ethan.

Denmy,
I was so happy for u
when I read that u are preggy. Was still wondering wat's "3rd time lucky" in ur msn abt? heehee!
CONGRATULATIONS....pretty mummy!

Clare,
U soo funny! Was laughing when I read abt the lantern music.

Breastfeeding
Anyone here still on total direct breastfeeding? How do u tell if ur bb is getting enuf milk intake huh?

SH,
Me also no pain, but I'm really happy with it! I think poorer control is quite common. Especially so when I am too busy taking care of Lucas and bladder is fuller. So, I always put pantyliner

Re: Shivers
I also thought it may be a pee expression but he doesn;t pee right away leh.. maybe I should do the wee wee sound and see if it helps or not.

Re: Gerber star treats
Lucas loves it. He can pick them up from the bowl and pop into his mouth. Very handy when in the car to occupy him.

Re: PD check ups
With all the jabs more or less done by 6 mths, any of you go back to PD just to check on weight and physical milestone progress? Lucas certainly didn't gain much (if any) weight since then, but he is pretty happy and active so I didn't think it's necessary...

Clare
You and your hb were soo funny...
Kaelyn has 2 lanterns too...heehee luckily none with chin-chong songs.
Same here... Oct weekend, I'm also pack with 1 wedding, aquak ducks, kindermusic and 1 more 1yr old bb birthday..phew...

I'm in the list of scrape book... I'm ok with Nov date.
I'm very poor with Arts.... so need to a lot of pointers from books and the rest of mummy..

Yuki
My gal loves Gerber fruit puffs too. It melts quite easily in the mouth and she's still bo gay. She'll say "mum mum" each time she sees me opening the container and can really grab a handful when I put on her feeding tray.

Clare
I'm always envious of Ashley's appetite
For Ashley single feed, I'll need to give Mel in 2 to 3 "instalments"

RE: Lanterns
Heehee I also bought 3 - one barney, one baby bop and one ultraman from Hong Lin 2 weeks ago. Actually I tried the music before paying, the baby bop one was a classical music while the barney and ultraman was some cheena music which I can't even recognise. But the lady was very tau when I ask her can choose the music, give me the kind of want to buy buy sort of attitude. Was deciding whether I should keep the cheena music barney or the classical music baby bop for Mel. In the end I decided to keep barney cos hb said mooncake festival should be chinese music rite...haha

Re: Scrapebook
Am fine with Nov too. Amy, same same I hated art since I was a kid...will fake cry then my elder bro will draw for me

Hi Wenyl
Welcome back home! Hope your family had an awesome time in Genting. With regards to bb getting enough I guess the rule of the thumb is that Ethan is adequately hydrated via the number of wet diapers per day, about 8 wet diapers?

Clare
Your description of the lanterns for Ashley is so funny! Can't help but laugh while reading. I wanted to get a lantern too, but the song really cheena one lor. Scrapbooking wise, I'm good with November. I'll dig out the lastest list through the archives later and repost on here.

SY
It would be nice if you could join us. Must cho-cho your hb abit I guess. Does X-box tempt him enough? heeee...I know it did grab Rachel's hb when he heard the hbs can play x-box...but ended up all attention was on bbs having fun while we wives learn to cook haha.

Chillies,
Hope Xavier is feeling better. I didn't know cough caused by haze has to be treated with antibiotics. I thot is dust particles rather than virus?

Tupperware Party 2 @ MamaChan's place @ Redhill, either 28th or 29th Oct. TBC by end of the week. (Limited to 10 families due to space constraint)

Features:

1) Rachel + hb + bb
2) Sept03Bride + hb + bb
4) Rena + hb + bb (TBC)
5) Tracy + hb + bb
6) celine77 + HB + bb
7)God's child + hb + bb
8) Wenyl + hb + bb (TBC)
9) Tabbiesus +bb+Hb (TBC)

clare,
clariss had a hello kitty lantern that has the "shi wu de yue liang" song, my SIL says the music very suitable since it's about the moon but I find it very cheena. she likes the lantern a lot. she hold on to it very tightly whenever I gave her to carry.

re: hi-five
clariss can also hi-five. she can also wave bye bye but she don't want to clap.

re: gerber stars
been giving clariss the stars since 1 month ago when she started crawling. ya, the stars melts in the mouth so it's alright. I put them in the munckin suction bowl to train her self-feeding skills but she pick it up and play with it. when I place the star between her fingers and guide it to her mouth, she will put it in and take it out. think she don't know how to release it into her mouth.

super glue
My girl also quite superglue these days and cant leave her alone for even 1 min. Think its the beginning of seperation anxiety. Sometimes at night she'll wake up and if she don't see me around she'll cry until very ke lian and keep calling Ma Ma. The moment she see me, she'll lean towards me and want me to carry. The moment I carry her, she'll stop crying and start laughing

Yday my maid told me Ariene crawled to the door and waited for me to come home. When I came home, she crawled all the way from her play yard to the door all smiles and raised her hands to be carried. When I want to go upstairs to change, she kept crying with big tears. Then, when I sat on the dining table to eat, she crawled to me and stood up beside me holding on to my legs. Makes my heart melt like ice cream..

Ashley
For my case, a fruit or just egg yolk is not enough for my girl. She can take a whole banana plus 2 tablespoons cereal plus 150ml EBM for breakfast.

Clare,
so funny abt the lantern music. never notice wat's my gal's lantern music, just know that it is extremely LOUD!

Re: Diarrhea + Vomit
hm...my SIL, BIL and 2 nephews are down with diarrhea and vomiting. started with the younger one on Saturday, followed by the rest on Sunday. Younger one got better on sunday then suddenly started again. BUT the maid is perfectly fine. Sounds like some virus to me..doc said its food poisoning which i personally dun tink so, cos the younger one recovered then got sick again. unless he ate back the same bad food, which was unlikely cos they only had porridge.

but my MIL insists it is some 'dirty' stuff in the house. so they are all on MC ystdy n today.

Re:Hair
oh, my MIL snip abit off meg's fringe as instructed by my silly hb. now its one straight line and she looks like ah tut!

SH,
I remembered my pre-natal yoga teacher kept stressing on kegel exercises (hold your vagina muscles) during pregnancy and after birth. it will help prevent weak bladder control.maybe u can try doing kegel exercises.

Hi Clare,

That's so funny. Ya indeed most of the lanterns comes with cheena music. I have long given up. Ha Ha.......

Hi SL and Florence,

Thanks. Wil try to getthe Gerber star fruit from NTUC asap. i reckon it is less sweet than the Pigeon xiao man tuo thati have bought.

Megan is very greedy. BUt other people's food is always more appealing than her own food. My mum was feeding her and ashley dinner at the same time last night. Everytime she tasted her own cereal, she make the 'want to vomit' face.... but when my mum gave her two grains of plain rice, she's happy to chew on it.

Hi SL,

True. I am more relax with megan's diet...... I was more uptied with my elder gal ashley. Megan has also tasted ice cream, eat some cakes, tasted even jackfruit and durain (both just a lick)........ Her expression of eating ice cream with a crumped face is very funny

Re: Tricks

So far Megan can do a hi-5, clap hands, wave good bye, turn her head left and right when we say don't want, and twist her hands when we say no more. Very funny to watch her in actions.

My mum is doing a great job in teaching her things. Whenever we pass by the staircase and my mum will teach her to watch out for numbers. So when we ask her "where's no. 2/3" etc, she will turn to watch the signboard.

Hi Tracy,

Sounds like virus to me too. Don't let megan go near them till they have recover...... It's not a small thing if a baby got the virus. Take care!

Wenyl,
I'm still doing total breast feed and I'll just latch Ariene until she pulls out then I offer the other side. If she's full, she'll reject latching the other side. If she fell asleep, I'll unlatch her, wake her then offer the other side. Only once she protested wildly not enough milk because I latched her after I expressed out everything. Guess if baby's not had enough, they'll protest.

Gerber fruit puff
I bought the strawberry ones for Ariene and she loves them. I use it to encourage her to self feed.

overfeeding & shaking head to say NO
I doubt I'll overfeed my girl. When she'll full, she'll shake her head to tell us she don't want anymore. If I nod my head at her and say yes, she'll still shake her head in determinance to make herself clear. Very funny.. Sunday when I went to my cousin's boy's first month celebration, my uncle wanted to carry her so he said "Uncle carry ok?" and stretched out his hands to her. My girl shook her head and clinged on to my dad's neck. Hahaha.. so funny..

Tracy,
Yeah, I also did alot of pelvic floor exercises and I also stand and walk alot dur to my job when I was preggy. Maybe that's why my labour is super short (1hr) and fast and I don't have bladder problems now.

Tracy,
Hahaha i laugh out when I read the part about Megan looking like Ah Tut.... Hahaha

Re Bladder Control
Me too have this problem leh... always feel like its never empty... very bad... must really do more pelvic exercise. =(

Tracy,

thanks for your air filter.. so sorry that i wasn't home..

RE: bye bye

Elijah can do bye bye but he is super lazy .. he will not do bye bye unless you hold his hands up..then he will move is hands and fingers..

I think i have a super lazy boy.. These days he is getting cranky i think it is due to teething... oh man i am so tired... seems like all comes in one go..

Flo,

haze does carry some virus that is why elijah was so sick the other time plus sensitive airways make things worse.. see PD until mummy go broke..haha... this round his bill is about 400 plus.. siong

Rena,
Have you considered switching to a reliable GP? Nowadays, a lot of GPs have higher qualification or some sort of specialization in family/child medicine. I think if Elijah is prone to respiratory problems, but mild enough to consult a GP, you might want to bring him there first. GP will probably advice you whether there is a need to go to a PD.

Re. girls vs boys development
I may be wrong, but noticed that baby girls here seemed more advanced in terms of speech and motor skills development in general... Like Arience, Mel, Megan etc.

Re. bladder control
no leaking problems for me... and didn't do pelvic exercises during preggy either. But I do walk a lot and climb stairs at work. My labour is about 5 hours, not as short as MamaPanda's 1 hr!

mamachan & mamapanda,
Thanks for the tips! Sometimes I feel that I dun hv enuf milk for Ethan when I read that most bbs here drinking 7-8oz each time. Ethan is tat type who wun ask for more. He is easily contented once his little stomach is filled. But I feel tat he can & shld be taking more lor. Cos my granny keep presurising me that I shld replace 1 milk feed with FM. She sees his tummy not fat fat lor. sigh!

RE: Lantern
So happy! I bought a mickey mouse lantern this morning at the market for only $2! And it comes with music somemore. At least it is not the "wo cong san zong lai" music. Haahaa! Mai hiam buay pai lah!

Queen
Re. girls vs boys development
According to the book "Raising Girls" by Gisela Preuschoff, bb girls generally tend to develop faster in both speech and motor skill than bb boys but the gap will narrow by the time they hit 3-4 years old. Actually the original version is "Raising Boys" by Steve Biddulph. Is an interesting and easy to read book and give you a good perspective why boys are so different from girls

RE: Gerber stars
Tats Ethan's fav biscuits too! He likes to grab hold of the star & pass it to the other hand before eating it. Looks like he is admiring the biscuit before finishing it off. heehee!

I find the pigeon xiao man tou much sweeter than the gerber star & also more ex!

RE: Gerber stars

Good idea to use the stars to let him train self feeding. Never thought about it before :)

Flo,
Can actually give bb one handful? I think i must be super kiasi then. First time I gave JW, I hold in my hand & make him bite. Then the next time I put whole thing in his mouth...he play around with it in his mouth for a while suddenly gave me a choking look while trying to swallow....got me so scared. Hb chilled me for giving him the whole thing.

But after a few more pieces, JW refused to let me hold it while he bite it...I think he probably thinks it's too small piece. He will fuss till i put the whole piece in his mouth. He seems fine with taking it whole now...but is it safe to actually let him grab a handful himself to eat? Is Mel ok with putting a handful in her mouth?

Features:

1) Rachel + hb + bb
2) Sept03Bride + hb + bb
4) Rena + hb + bb (TBC)
5) Tracy + hb + bb
6) celine77 + HB + bb
7)God's child + hb + bb
8) Wenyl + hb + bb (TBC)
9) Tabbiesus +bb+Hb (TBC)
10) SH + bb+ HB

re gerber stars
is it that nice? must go and buy it then

mamachan
i also hope to go but my hb really doesn't like to go out on sun one...and no..he's not tempted by X box..

re bladder control
i had UTI after giving birth cos my pushing was too long. i think now it does affect bladdar control. but think doing kegels will help

JH very funny last night. i was putting him to bed and i let him latch. after having enough, he sat up, took his pacifier, put into his mouth, lie back and went to bed! so funny sight....

but his night sleeping still no improvement. still get up 3 times a night...

Clare
no la, Ashley is not over fed. its good to see that baby can really eat =)

hahaha should have tasted the lanten before buy it, i oso nearly fall off my seat when i read your post.

SY
so sad, hmmm... why not get your hb to join us for 1 time. he sure will enjoy seeing so many babies together and witness the way they interact. my hb saw for himself how much dylan had enjoy himself from the last gathering at Tabbie's place and he finds it good to let him meet up with his peers more =)

re: bladder control
Kegel exercises are good in improving our bladder control. did quite alot during my pregency days. after my delivery discover that i tends to leak abit when i sneezed. so i went back to do kegel exercise and glad to say that no more of this problem anymore.

with natural delivery, our pelvic muscle tend to losen up with all the pushing. so better to do some kegel exercise.

re: episiotomy & BD
1st few times sure hurts for me. kind of tense and worried about having the wound tear when BD. now is better le, just that when at certain angle my wound still hurts abit. think its due to the pressure putting on it. is it normal?

tracy
like what you suspected, dont think its just food poisoning. better keep megan far far away from them. oh yes, oso clean up all the toys the boys had touched.

SY
re: Gerber Stars
I think it's not bad. I gave Daren the sweet potato one flavour he likes it. I myself like it too. Not very sweet. Haven't really explore giving him those xiao mun tou type.

Biscuits
Actually, I'm not very fond of giving biscuits as snacks...though I know these little tidbits helps in their pincer grasp motor skills. I normally give after he has finished porridge and while my hb and I eat our dinner when Daren finishes his dinner. So at least he knows these are treats when he finishes his main meal. Coz one of my gf's 11 month old daughter, totally gone off solids and only wants to eat biscuits for meals which my gf gives in to her coz it's the only thing she eats.

Tracy
aiyoh...I can't imagine Megan being ah tut leh. Got picture of her on her blog? Hehehe.

Wenyl
Don't feel so stressed. As of now, Ethan's main meals should come from the semi-solids you give him, milk still a must but acts as a supplement more than the main sources. I think Ethan is a good size. So long he falls within the average weight, think should be alright bah?

Yuki, Rachel,
thanks. my MIL has changed all her covers including sofa covers. thankfully it affected them on saturday when they were not at MILs at all.

Clare, Mamachan,
yup i find megan looks tut now. gotta take a pic and blog it. sigh...no time to upload my pics on the blog..

Rena,
thanks for the cream! no probs with the air filter lah, hopes it helped tho. hehe, i caught a peep of Elijah's playyard. so nice...

Re:self-feeding
megan still doesnt know how to feed herself. she will pick up the food and just play in her hands. i tried guiding her hand to the mouth but she will push my hands away. she doesnt wanna be disturbed.

oh, she loves killing ants in the house. she will look around for specks on the floor and go pick them up. if its an ant, she will follow and try to press it. even in her pram, she will keep checking out the floor.

she knows how to play 'chase' now. if someone chases after her, she will squeal and crawl faster then fall. if someone is carrying her, she will also start kicking her legs like trying to run away if someone chases her. very playful..

had a little adventure with dylan this morning =p

oso, for the very first time i catch him in time with the poopoo expression. so quickly i strip him off his diaper and kept telling him to hold his poopoo first. bought a potty seat that could place directly onto the toilet bowl from the taka fair but never got to use it in time. so quickly i placed him on it and kept him occupied with a toy. Finally, he gave a "hmm" sound and i heard a few splash of water. haha, i laughed with joy and he looked at me like "what happen".

ok ok been abit long winded now. about the small adventure this morning... hb left for work very early at 615am. thus i got to settle dylan and transport him to my mum place on my own. after the poopoo event, we finally set off. sling him onto me and took a 5 mins walk out to the main road hoping to catch a cab. but theres no cab in sight and ALOT of people waiting. so bo pian, took another 5mins walk to the nearest LRT station. dylan all this time been very busy watching cars dashing pass him =p

this was the first time he took a lrt train and he was amazed with what he saw. was quiet for most of the journey but started to talk loudly with his E E AH AH and recieved so much attention from the aunties and uncles on board... me so pai seh. lucky reached my stop and quickly alighted. of all things, it started to rain. with umberlla in one hand, another hand holding onto my big bag, took a 8mins walk all the way to my mum place! HA, i made it and was proud of myself heehee. and dylan was behaving himslef too. =D

Flo
U are not alone lor... when I read abt the rest of bb eating very well with porridge...
I wish Kaelyn enjoy her porridge more.
Now even my MIL complain abt her appetite for Porridge.. she simply zip her mouth when MIl try to feed her porridge..
And when I feed her during porridge.. she will open her mouth but she will be crying also.
feeding should be a happy event... so I will give in and feed cereal instead.

I read that Yuki's dotters are also refusing porridge...I think Kaelyn just join the group.
I'm still trying to find out what exactly Kaelyn hate abt porridge...

Re: Arts
Still remember during school time... no matter how hard I put in effort in my Arts.. paper cutting, so metal hammering stuff... come back still fail...
I recognised thats not my forte!

Re:gerber star
I bought the banana flavour for kaelyn.. she knows how to pick them up with fingers but still dunno or not interested to put them in her mouth.
How ever when I feed her... she will eat and willing to open her mouth.

I realise Kaelyn probably follow my HB style... not the "food" person.. cos she dun really seems to be very keen with food

But Thankfully... she is very keen with cereal, no matter what I add into cereal she will finish them up...
Told MIL if kaelyn not keen with porridge, then dun just feed milk.. give cereal instead and add in other ingredient. But seems like MIL not keen to feed both meals with cereal.

Advice needed:
Re: Yu Ren Sheng Chor bi with Si Shen...
I know some mummies here are feeding or had fed baby wth this.
Can I know... how to prepare these Chorbi with Si Shen?... cook in plain water or must cook in milk??

Anyone know yu ren shen website.. I wanna find their location. DUn seems to be able to find their website...hmmm

Wenyl
dont worry too much. like what mamachan said, your milk acts more of a supplement now since Ethan been taking soilds. as long as Ethan is of good weight and healthy, nothing matters. =)

tracy
talking about megan tut tut, dylan now has the army crew cut! brought him to trim his hair on sunday. haha let us know after you load the photo in megan's blog.

oh yes, dylan start to crawl alittle now. he better make it fast if not how is he going to chase after megan wor! wahahahah

Tracy
Hi same here with kaelyn... I was wondering if she is just not interested in biscuit or what ..
She will also just explore with the biscuit and gerber star I gave her.
same as you.. I guide it to her mouth but she resist my guiding.. I even demo for her to see.. eating her biscuit.

But I do have a suprise last sunday nite, I was seating her in my lap and gave her a pack of unopen biscuit to play with. She was putting the unopen wrapper into her mouth and I just tear open and gave her the biscuit...
She has successfully eat the biscuit!!!... just 15mins ago MIL was tell me... she doesn't like biscuit ask me dun buy.
And there she was eating most of the biscuit. When I wanna remove from she, she refuse somemore.

So far.. she still fail to feed herself the Gerber star though... I view last sunday a great improvement already.

cookie
U feeding her chor bi or normal rice porridge? Have u tried feeding her beef porridge mixed with pureed spinach before? Mask the taste of porridge with something else, maybe she'll accept?

rachel,
i also wan to go but quite hard lor. anyway, we are having the aquaducks on 29th. 28th is definitely out for me. IL will make a lot of noise if we don go back...

your little adventure so funny...

slinky
so far I'm feeding normal rice porridge. Have never fed chor bi before.
I have not tried beef porridge before on kaelyn, hope to try soon.
But it seems to be it's not the taste that she dun like...
I'm still trying to find out what is it.
Suspect could be the texture, I will also try blending the porridge to see if she like it better.
She like cereal very much...

Rachel
Well done Mommy and baby...!!

Busy morning for me. Took half day morning time off from work coz not much ingredients left for Daren's porridge. Was took sick and weak over the weekend to go marketing. Bought one week worth of ingredients just for him...haha, non for hb and myself.

Rachel
Must be an enjoyable little adventure for you and Dylan, more so for Dylan? All the sights and sounds on the LRT. Hope the rain wasn't heavy enough to make you all wet.

cookie
Don't be discourgaed. Just got to work with what works best for Kaelyn, but yet don't give up experimenting how Kaelyn might like her porridge to be. Like what Mamapanda suggested, maybe got to mask the porridge with lots of other yummy ingredients? Kaelyn also started her solids exactly six months? If so, it'll take some time to warm up to eating porridge.

In the past, it took Daren about a few weeks to get used to eating porridge, in the 1st few attempts where my MIL cooked for him, he totally rejected, must really coax him to open his mouth and the whole feeding was like a battle field (i.e tissue paper with grains from the porridge, grains on the floor, even my hair!!!) Takes time for acquired taste bah. Now, Daren always looks forward to feeding time.

Maybe you want to try other alternatives like mee swa? Just got to cook until very nua nua. Does Kaelyn like soupy more watery type foods? Or like Tracy's Megan, who likes very thick, gao-gao type porridge?