(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

chicken little
your bb is a big boy! mine only born at 2.85kg...

JH is still on similac stage 1 but recently he has been rejecting his FM. he usually takes 2 bottles of EBM and the rest is FM but my maid told me he refuse to take so from 3pm onwards he was without milk.

val,
yah i heard that it is called butternut pumpkin as well but haven seen in the ntuc near my place.

ok, will try mee swa...

SY,
my boy oso on Similac now on milk strike too. Unless serve with cereal, he wldnt drink on its own. Tried mixing wif Wyett and gave Dumex Nite before, all not successful. I wonder is it bcos he sick, teething or seriously doesnt like the taste. But he wld drink at my aunt who looks after him. If at my MIL, he wldnt drink AT ALL!!!

RE : Temper
Agree, yesterday, switched off TV while he was watching to bring him to bed. He CRIED the moment the screen went blank. Confirmed : TV ADDICT!

SY
cold storage sells butternut pumpkin.

can you share your experience on bringing bb to a very cold country, pls. My hb has a business trip to Beijing in Nov. It will be quite cold (ard 0 - 10 deg) during the period we will be there. Earlier, we wanted to bring Gerald. But, after knowing it's so cold, we're having second thoughts about bringing him though we wld love to have him with us, but we're worried that it will be too cold for him and that he'll fall sick. Off-hand, I can only rem Queen bringing Issac to Paris (but dunno whether that's v cold)?

Hi Chillies,

Guess what? My megan is opposite! We find it funny and amusing but if megan refused to sleep, hubby and i will threaten to bring her outside to watch TV! There, she will rub her eyes, twist and turn and cry so that we will bring her back to the bedroom.

But her purpose is not to sleep but to crawl all about cos our mattress are all on the floor, without bedframe. She can crawl all over our Queen size bed, drop down to her own mattress on the left ot the Jie Jie's mattress on the right.... She's the happiest in the bedroom! Ha Ha.

Megan start to call out Dad dad dad.... sounds like calling her daddy. Otherwise will be jie jie jie.... previously ma ma ma... but recently no more leh.

Krissie,
It was cold in UK and Paris in Feb when we were ther. 0 to 5 deg in the day, if lucky can hit max 10 deg. At night it's sub-zero. So we do not go out at night, just stay in the hotel room. At that time, cannot find winter clothings for 2 to 3 months old baby in Singapore, only managed to find a fleece lined jacket for Isaac and fleece blanket from Mothercare. Immediately after we touched down in UK, we rented a car, turn up the heater and drove to a Mothercare and bought Isaac a hooded fleece bodysuit. Whenever we go outdoors we'll let Isaac wear inner layer of normal cotton bodysuit, outer layer of fleece bodysuit and cover with fleece blanket when he's in the stroller. Also wool booties over woolen socks and 2 layers of mittens.

But our babies are now 9 to 10 months, much more active, so think it's better to get winter jackets and pants. Also can wear shoes now, so not so bad. Babies tend to lose heat fastest through the head, so it's very important to let him wear caps. Hands and feet also must be well-protected.

Krissie,
Here's a pic of Isaac all warm and snug when he was in Paris.
533509.jpg

At that time, Isaac was in hibernating mode whenever we are outdoors. He's always sound asleep in the stroller. Was only wide awake when we are back in the hotel. But during that time, our babies are basically just eating and sleeping...

Val,
Wow Kristen's molar out already?? Ashley is one of the older babies here but she still boh gey leh... sigh...

Queen,
Looking at Issac's photo just reminds me again how much our babies have grown and how far we've all come along together... =)

SY,
Besides same birthday, our sons also have the same birth weight!

val,
Lucas also seems to be thinner now, not as bar bar as before. Dunno if should be feeding him more. Btw, he was a Nan HA baby until Stage 2 where we dropped the HA variant. He was 8.8kg at 6mths but now 8.5mths and only about 9kg. So sad, only 100g each mth. I like Nan HA but due to its bitter taste, many babies reject it. I have 2 tins of 400g and one is even unopened. Do you want to try? It's Stage 2.

Wenyl,
aiyo, think I bought the same mickey mouse lantern. With loud music right? You really got a good price for it! I bought it for about $5 in NTUC.

Re: Butternut Squash
Can't remember who asked, but it's not nai bai. You can also cut them into chunky sticks boil/steam them and let bb self-feed. It is of softer texture than carrots.

Re: Brown rice
My mom bought this brand of organic brown rice, can't remember what brand but it cooks very well. The texture is as soft as normal rice. Maybe it's a good alternative to powdered chor bi?

SH
RE: Gerber fruit Puffs
What I meant is Mel will grab a handful and put a few pieces at one go in her mouth. I think is fine cos the puff melts quite easily. Actually, is a good food to start bb with self-feeding. But do expect some mess initially. Easily more than half landed on the floor and the high chair seat when Mel first started self-feeding and some stuck in between her fingers. But now she's able to pick up one by one and put inside her mouth. You may wanna let JW try. Is a good way to keep bb occupied when u want to have a peaceful meal

Flo,
Thanks for the tips. Will try that...Hope he will learn to eat it by himself. Usually he likes to take things in his hands and fling them away. If he starts throwing the geber stars i will faint.

Morning Mummies!!
Settled the paperworks for our new (1st) car yesterday evening which means we can expect to get the car as early as next week! So excited... yet at the same time abit scared cos both HB & I new license holder also... sigh... 1st thing that came to my mind after that was to increase our insurance coverage... at least anything happen to us Ashley would be well provided for. Can I ask where is a good place to shop for a car seat?? Is it safe to put Ashley front-facing now that she's 9mths+ or is it better to put her rear-facing (which i heard is safer)?

Clare,
Heehee... can tell you are very excited about the latest addition to the family, albeit is a money sucking motor device. I think no need to go to the extend of increasing insurance coverage just because you got a new car lah... Just practise road safety whever your drive. Rear-facing car seats are only suitable for BBs below 1 year old. Since Ashley is going 10 months, not practical loh. Just get a good front facing one will do. Can get decent car seat in Robinsons (good deal is there is 20% discount), BB hypermart (though I heard can be expensive), even John Little Specialist have a few. Mothercare sells Britax but expensive loh. My car seat is a Maxi Cosi one which I bought at JL when there is a speciall offer. Cost me $249.

queen,
I'm also using the maxi cosi bought from JL sale. Is yours also the SPS one? When I bought, only got multicolour(red+yellow) left. What colour is yours?

Wendy (slinky),
We... what is SPS? Yah, it's the one with multi-colour, think it's blue backing with red and was it yellow? Can't remember liao. But sounds like the same one as yours. Not bad lah, the car seat.

Congrats Clare,

What car u getting ?

Valerie,

I sent email to Tiger for the instruction on how to use the Tiger Food Jar to make porridge. reply as follows in case any mummies who has got the food jar too
=======================
Take a hand full of raw rice and fill it with boiling hot water, close it and.in 30 minutes the rice should be done! Depending on the beans, it might take a little longer maybe 15minutes more.

Note: I actually left for 45 minutes; the rice was too mushy for my porridge taste. And if you leave it too long without opening the rice might turn gooey.

Try not to add no more than half of rice cup on the MCW as it might expand.

The key thing is that this product can keep hot for at least 6 hours and after that the temperature will slowly gradually goes down. By the heat retention of this product Id say basically you can cook anything that involves hot soup or water. Caution: when using any hot boiling water even after 1 hour it should be still like boiling hot. So be careful as it might scald/ burn.

queen/wendy,
That's a good deal you've got. I just bought one from babyhyperstore for $359. As usual my miserly hb was not too pleased. But I really like the fabric!

Val - *envy* Italy wor!!! must go!!! can take time to roam all round this most romantic place on planet earth...
can spend ur weekend taking the train to pisa and the little towns... very nice, but can forget bout the gondola at venice la, very yucky drain-like smelling ( wonder why pple say its vy romatic to take it along the river ) can take cereal there to cook and add in purees lor, meanwhile can boost up kirsten's milk intake... awwww...so envy...

Belinda - dun worry,once teething over damien will drink again. my gal's weight also dropped during teething wf milk intake less then 500ml,and she will oni willingly take porrige... at least they wana take sometin than nth rite???

Re : Baby's temper
agree wf val, celeste's temper also super cranky! u take her thing away, she wail big time.. MIL say she can tell tat this gal's temper no good one! sturborn gal i got ,she says... sigh...

Re : Crab feast
Sorry rena, me having exam on 23exam...need alot of time to brush up!!!

Hi Clare
Wow! Wow! Must be exciting getting a new car yah? As for car seats, I got one that is infant/toddler seat convertible. As my driving sometimes can be terrible, or so my hb tells me, i.e. abit jerky ride (happens when I've not been driving for awhile), so I prefer to still let the car seat be rear facing whenever I happen to drive with Daren alone (when my mum out of town and I use her van. When Daren is of the recommended weight, then I think I'll change it to front-facing.
Like what queen mentioned, just practice road safety think should be quite alright driving in Singapore, though the drivers can be really heong on the road. Haha, have to put the P-plate and a huge sign behind saying "Baby Onboard!!!"

Clare,

WoW you muct be very happy.. Wenyl bought a car seat for ethan at 100 + and it is cheap and good.. better than the one i have.. i forgot where she bought it...

Valerie,
I brought along my slow cooker (small one) with the rice to cook his lunch & dinner. I use a cooler box (filled with ice) to transport the frozen vege, fish & pork. The journey is abt 5-6 hrs so was quite alright. I tink u can do tat for ur bintan trip cos the ferry is only abt 1 hr. Do bring along some jar food to standby in case u got no time to cook. Breakfast is cereal for Ethan.

Re: Chor Bi
I have been giving the organic Brown rice to Ethan since 6 mths. Sometimes I mix with organic jasmine rice. I will soak the brown rice over nite & air dry it before grinding into smaller grains.

Re: Carseat

I bought it from a distributor in Tagore lane. The brand is Nania. Made in France. Cost only $100+. Cheap & good! Cos he can sleep soundly while I drive. Heehee!

Chicken Little
Hmm...u mean you actually used the Tiger Jar to cook porridge before & it works? Sounds amazing. How much you paid for it?

SY
You can get butternut squash @ Carrefour too. My PD did give a recipe for macaroni, let me go home and dig it out.

RE: First teeth toothpaste
Finally got mine thru the BP. The first time when I tried (on Mon) to brush Mel's gum (she got no teeth...hahaha) she resisted like mad. But after she got a taste of it, she opened her mouth wide to let me clean. Yesterday, the moment she saw me taking out the brush and toothpaste after milk, she immediately opened her mouth wide...so funny

Linda
My gal has been taking brown rice porridge also. Her weight gain is quite slow but not sure is it due to brown rice, cos her milk intake has dropped drastically since shes 5mth plus.

Flo,
How do u rinse her mouth after brushing? cos babies still dunno how to spit. I also ordered the toohtpaste thru a recent BP.

Valerie
Is really a challenge to make my gala drink milk too. Shes very easily distracted, can at most drink 2oz (around 60ml) at one go. So what I did was to reduce the amount per feed but increase the frequency. Her feeding schedule is something like that

5.30am Milk 110ml
8.30am Milk 90ml
11am Cereal + Milk 60ml + fruit/veg puree
2pm Milk 110ml
4pm Milk 90ml
6pm Porridge
8.00pm Milk 90ml
9.30pm Milk 110ml

So maybe u can try doing to same to increase Kristens milk intake. Ive been trying to introduce one feed of formula milk per day now. I started off with NAN HA2, she doesnt like it (accordingly to my PD, said the taste is yucky). Have tried Mamil Gold and Enfapro as well but shes also not receptive. Recently tried Similac, she seems to take it better. I guess you may need to trial and error to see what your gal like best.

Re: First Molar out
Kristens teeth really grow fast. For Mel, a bit of her bottom left incisor is out, I think the right one is coming out soon too.

Re : Rinsing aft brushing
I wld think its okay for baby to not rinse..but i got celeste to do it anyway.. i will demo a rinse cum spit to show her and she follows suit most times..if not,at most she swallow down.. aft brushing, i get her to drink some water to make sure her mouth is clean ( very scared of fungal infection which she had recently )

thanks mamachan
Will try out the pearl rice then...

Clare
my HB is more incline to rear-facing car seat cos he feel that bb neck are not firm yet.. in case of E_brake the impact on bb neck jerking in front can be bad.
So we bought a rear facing car seat - Britax or Safe N Sound.
This car seat can be use rear facing and front facing. Think up till 4yr or 18KG or not..

thanks for the butternut squash. will try to look for it. so far i haven seen it yet.

chillies,
so your boy dun wan other formula? i dunno whether to let him try others.

re crab feast
think i can only pop by. won't be eating though....

wenyl,
u brought a cooler box to put all the food? i m going to sydney. think i shd be able to buy the stuff there right?

passport for baby
Can I ask how did mummies here apply for passport for their baby? Did u have to make a seperate passport for your baby?

mamapanda
now our babies can have their very own passport. you can apply through internet whih will be cheaper. can check out the website for more details =) i did dylan's passport when he was before 1 months old and he now look so different from his passport photo haha

oh yah, is there any upcoming gathering for Bukit Panjang/CCK mummies?

mamapanda,
forgot to add, follow instructions on the photo to be submitted. wat most of us did was drape a white cloth in front of us and carry baby OR let baby sit in front of a white background.

Clare
I suppose you bought a auto gear car??
Since new driver.. just some pointers to avoid what I have been thru.
anyway I drive a manuel gear car from the start...so more troublesome.
When you go to multi storey car park like the one at Takashimaya...
REMEMBER... always try to park on upper storey and NOT the basement car park.
Cos I have experienced parking at B2 or B3 and when need to leave the car park, the road leading to main road was JAM! and so many cars stuck on the whirling car park and I'm on up slope... all the half clutch and hand brake and make sure the car dun die or roll back make me go crazy. Very stress then!
In case if u park on Upper storey... coming down tho Jam only need to control by stepping brake.

Oh just be prepared to be horn by other drivers esp taxi drivers. Dun be demoralise by them ok. Very soon driving will be second nature

ya lor just like the rest say... drive safely and follow traffic rules but stay alert lor cos sometimes even if we follow rule.. others blur also can be dangerous.
hmmm.. no need to buy extra insurance ba...
Oh and try not to speed

Oh.. always check blind spot.. cos I find some silly driver or motorbiker sometimes just like to travel around the blind spot area of other cars, if never check and exit might hit them lor.

Happy driving!!!

RE: "Creative" Daddy
We have been trying means and ways to coax Mel to drink her milk. Was shock when I see her daddy doing this last evening. Hope he won't end up spoiling her

534150.jpg

rachel,
I had thought of a few possible venues/activities for gathering.

1. Pizza lunch gathering at greenridge pizza hut cuz its quieter there n less crowd so we can have whole pizza hut to ourselves. INitially was thinking of doing it on a weekday but most mummies are working so gotta find a weekend where I'm free.

2. Rotate gathering at each mummy's house monthly and have a pot-luck lunch or order 1-for-1 canadian pizza and we share the costs.

I just thought it'll be good for our babies to meet often, esp when we're staying so near each other, to help increase their social skills.

Anyone Interested?

Hi Flo,.

My bb intake right now is 150ml after 2hrs from solid food. She will cried nonstop for milk even 1 or 2 hrs after food. So sometime I will make it 1.5 scoop with 130ml water. But also it depend on the time too.

So far her milk intake is 150ml with 2.5 scoop due too she take solid food that why till now she never take more than 150ml.

Her Schedule for Food and milk is
- Breakfast is cereal almost full bowl,
- Milk
- lunch is 1 bowl brown rice porridge with vege, xue yu or sometime chicken or pork,
- Milk at 14;30pm and 16:30pm
- Dinner is the same as what she has in lunch time.
- 7:00pm is milk time, after that 9:00pm - 9:30pm milk for her for the last feed and straight go to sleep..til next morning

I also use small ikan billis in white color,... that is better for bb. I cook it with brown rice and vege. Singapore selling this small ikan billis quite expensive...so normally I will buy in Indonesia when each time visit my mum.
I can get 1 kg with the best quality is SGD 10.50 0r 11.00

mamapanda
think the rotating venue at each mummy's place will be good =) since we can hv toys and mat for our babies to play and interact. of coz at pizza hut will be great too!

just let me know the possible weekends for you and we plan accordingly. of coz, other mummies are most welcome to join in too yah. =)

MamaPanda/Rachel
Wah. I didn't know Bt. Panjang now turned into such a vibrant place. Green ridge got pizza hut? Didn't know there's one. I used to stay in Bt. Panjang till we moved out in 1996. Before the LRT came up. Hmmm, maybe should join in the fun of the CCK/Bt. Panjang gathering? Hehehe, K-poh the new neighbourhood too.