(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Cindy

RE: How much water to give

According to Dumex's Fine weaning booklet, it is recommended to give fluids (water, juices and soup) as follow:

First 10 Kg - 100ml per kg of body weight
Each Kg above 10 Kg 50 ml per Kg of body weight

CassCL,

I lived in many places during my 7 years there...from glamourous Kings Road, hip Islington, trendy Camden to dodgey Oval when I was a student... must try out and see different aspects of English culture mah...

side track a bit:
sysac,
I was there at the same time as you leh... from 1995 to 2002... maybe we rubbed shoulders b4 in the tube...heehee

anyway, after I married hb, we lived mainly at Maida Vale which was a tiny little flat and very near Portabello Antiques Market and then Southgate in North London, a detached house, man.... was the extended kitchen massive or what?!!? my boy and his 2 cousins would run or ride their cars round and round the kitchen table without banging onto the walls/ cupboards. So you can imagine...we spent lovely summers in the garden doing bbqs and paddling in inflatable pools and cool autumn Guy Fawkes nights watching and playing fireworks...very memorable. So I am sure you will definitely love it in England...

Try to go to the strawberry/vegetable farms. We used to frequent them to pick our own berries and vegetables... the children would pick strawberries and eat them on the spot...so cute.

B4 bb came, hb (then boyfren) and I did narrow-boating on the River Thames from Oxford down The River Avon and Stratford on Avon Canal for 'Shakespeare Country' for a few days. It was a very wet and cold spring, we had to take turns standing in the rain to steer the boat during the day so that we can find a dock somewhere b4 nightfalls (which was quite early). Then there were the locks along the river to open and shut....very siong but extremely fun. http://www.visitthames.co.uk/

Cos I didn't have relatives there and my frens were actually college mates and were all very young, so when I was pregnant and had bb, all my info came from books and internet lor... luckily i didn't have to work, i was very hands-on and had lots of one-to-one time with bb...until he was just b4 2yo, we came back to Singapore. During that time, no such thing as forum, so couldn't really chat/ ask for advice from other mummies... so once relocated there, u can still come round to chat with us... hope you have a very lovely time there, which I'm sure you will. If you need anymore info, can always ask me or Sysac...Will try to tell you with what little I already know...

Flo,

His nappy rash went away and then come back again 2 days back, but this time not as bad... i am still continueing to use the A+D and have ordered more from a drugstore spree in this forum. If you need any later, can ask me... i ordered 3 tubes and 3 jars... kiasu hor?

re: how much water to give
so if Keenan is 10 kg now he would be taking 1000ml of fluids? Does this include milk feeds as well? Otherwise it's quite a lot, isn't it? His daily total milk intake is 750- 950ml only...

Flo,
wawawa... Mel really can stand leh... big girl liao... Keenan can only roll over from back to tummy and doesn't even realise he can also roll back on his back...

re thawing frozen puree
I'll warm them in the bottle warmers.

queen
Isaac looks SO happy in the pool. Is the pool in Yishun SAFRA v cold?

sleeping deer, mashy
ya, i totally agree that it's v tiring to be a SAHM. During my confinement, I was so tired looking after Gerald and bf. Sometimes, whole day dun even get to nap. Coz i pump when he naps.. plus no mc / leave. So tired and pple dun really understand. Thinks it's "shake legs" at home. So really admire all SAHM, incldg Rena (can cook somemore - take my hat off to her).

celine
I agree, me also on lookout for Devt toys.. pls share if there are good ones, hor.

re waking up at night
cant agree more. Gerald started waking up since Mon nite.. am so stoned man. I miss my slp. and he screams.

re similac
mummies, we can collect the receipts and exchange for a free tin. Think it's 1 free tin for 9 tins purchased. But hv to register as a member first. go to the abott website to register.

cass
just saw your post. so sorry to hear your miscarriage.. PLs take care..*hugs hugs*.. yes, pls join us here.. we can share much on bb matters.

Denmy

Sounds like you really have a great time in UK. Have only been to London for four days for my honeymoon which was almost 7 years back. Would love to visit UK again but with the current exchange rate it's getting more and more ex

RE: A+D cream
Forgot to tell you, is better to get the tube than jar cos the weather in Spore is too hot, so it tend to dry up and crack after a while.

RE: How much fluid to give
I guess this should include milk. I can't imagine a bb drinking 1L of water a day!!!! Cos we adults only need 2L/day.

RE: Standing
I realised that bb dev very fast once they pass their 6 mth mark so before you realised Keenan will start crawling all over. On one hand, am glad that Mel has good moto skills but on the flip side really need to watch her all the time. Can't even leave her for a sec. Thanks to Clare for introducing me to the playyard and organising the BP for bumpermat, that's the only place I can safely leave her for a while when I need to do some housework

RE: Waking up at nite

I think this could be a passing phase, cos I had the same problem with Mel too. She was able to sleep through the nite since she was 2 months old, until she turned 4m+ to 5m+, she kept staying awake at nite. Now she's able to sleep through the nite again. So mummies, just bear with it a while more

Work is crazy for the past week, dun think can catch up all the posting.
Pls PM me if u need my attention on anything or any good lobang hor..

flo,
how old is mel? so clever ar, can stand already!
agree that it's going to be even more tiring when bbies learn how to crawl around.

was juz sharing with my hb that soon enuff, we will need to sleep on the floor liao as it will not be safe to sleep on the bed once bb learns to crawl. then i realised that the cot is such a useless piece of furniture. rarely do we put our bb in the cot. wat a waste of $$! when bb is young, bb sleep w us coz it's more convenient to breastfeed at nite. then when they are older, we are afraid they will stand up and topple over the cot or afraid that their hands/legs will get caught in b/w the rails... next time my advice to mtbs is NEVER buy a cot unless u don't intend to breastfeed or u know that bb can sleep thru the nite... keke

haha, on halfday leave so can join the gathering!! but i may be slightly late cos knock off at 12.30pm, will reach MIL's at abt 1plus.

SAHM gathering again on the coming Monday..10th of july...2pm
Venue : either united square or bugis..

1) rena + bb
2) sleepingdeer + bb (meet at 3pm)
3) tracy + bb (2plus)

celine
opposite from you. i have made good use of the cot that i bought. hehe......
since day 1, i let her zzz in the cot. when she woke and cried for milk, then i will go to her room and bf her. we bought the cot that we can adjust the height of the bed.

sunny,
dat's good for u! i'm a super lazy mum. esp in the middle of the nite. can't imagine having to drag myself out of the bed! worst still, edgar whines when he can't find his pacifier. and that can happen a few times in the nite. so if i were to walk over to the cot every time dat happens, i don't think i will still have the energy to type this post!! :p

Celine

I'm same as Sunny.

Made full use of the cot. It's used for changing him and of course sleeping. Since day 1, we've put him on the cot to sleep. When he wakes up at night, I used to bring him to my bed to bf. But now that he doesn't need to feed at night, I'll keep him in his cot whole night through.

cereals,
mummies, wat brands do u all buy? and which kind. brown rice or juz rice cereal? going to start edgar in 2 weeks time. so excited! =D

mashybrainz,
u r so lucky! edgar hasn't learnt to sleep thru yet. he's still hungry for milk at nite. sigh.... he only naps in the cot.

Celine

He still doesn't sleep through the night. But when he wakes up at night, I give him his pacifier and he goes back to sleep. So I suppose he doesn't need to feed at night. He'll sleep from abt 11pm till 7.30am (wakes up 0-3x), feed, continue to sleep till abt 9.30am.

Anyway, I read that babies at this age doesn't need to drink milk at night anymore. So you will need to wean them off the night feed. I stopped feeding him at night since he was 3mths old.

celine,
megan also sleeps in her cot since birth. she sleeps thru the nite from 11pm till 6am/7am. but recently she started waking up at 2plus and 5plus..hope she gets over this soon.

we kept telling her 2plus and 5plus is wrong...should be 3plus or 4plus cos thats when the matches start!!

Think my boy is really teething this time. He was screaming like mad last night and I felt something sharp at his gums.

Ooo, not giving him my breasts liao.

hi mums,
i'm trying to wean off the night feed. So i'm slowly reducing the amt of milk from 180ml to 120ml. Hope to reduce to 60ml to 0ml by end Jul.
But caleb is unable to fall into deep sleep after drinking 120ml. Is this bad habit or he really not full?

mashy brainz & tracy,
so good ya. can enjoy 8 hrs of uninterrupted sleep. edgar sleep from about 9/10pm - 8/9am. but he wakes up either for pacifier or milk about 3-4x. i wonder issit becoz he doesn't drink much during the day dat's y he gotta wake up for nite feed. during the day, he feeds every 5 hrly, 3x 180ml. and latch on for his last feed at 9pm. so effectively he only drinks around 700ml/day.

hi sept,
i'm the opposite of u, i'm trying to intro 1 nite feed (via bottle) to edgar so that he doesn't wake up 5-6x per nite! seems like i'm always doing the opposite. *weird me*! :p i suspect he's hungry dat's y he wakes up so many times in the middle of the nite. and he doesn't want the pacifier, he will only fall back to sleep after i latch him on. yet each time, he only latch on for less than 5 min. i cannot take it waking up to feed him 5-6x a nite. i'll go crazy ar!!! so i'm hoping by introducing a FULL nite feed of 6-7oz will make him sleep better and hopefully sleep thru! :p

hi celine,
i think what u analyse is correct. Edgar should be hungry.
hmm.. we are reducing/cutting the night feed cos we think it is the cause of him putting on so much weight. So we wanna put Caleb on a diet. Duno whether he can tahan anot though, cos this has become a habit for him to hv his night feed.

hi celine,

we are in the same boat.
Damien wake up around 12pm - 1am - 5oz of milk,
then again around 4-5 am for another 4 oz of milk. my sleep being inturrupt at least 3-4 times every nite.

celine,
have u tried increasing his milk vol or the no. of feeds? 3x180ml seems little. megan drinks 5x180ml per day. the last feed at 10pm is not requested by her, we simply prepare for her n she will drink.

Re : Similac rewards redemption
thanks krissie for highlighting on the redemption. i went online to check. they have got online purchase at $27.30 a tin. and each 900g tin = 100pts. every 1000pts entitles us to a free 400g tin. well, better sometin than nothing rite!

RE: Gathering

Where: Waterplace Condo BBQ pit 2
177 Tanjong Rhu Road
Tower D
Singapore 436931
What: Heated Whirlpool
Date: 8 July, Saturday
Time: 1-5pm
Food: Cater ( catering at 2pm)

1. Denmy + HB + BB + elder son (CONFIRM) PAID $20 + $10 booking of bbq pit = $30
2. Wenyl + HB + BB (CONFIRM)
3. tracy + HB + BB (CONFIRM) PAID $40 - $10 dollars will be return to you
4. REna + BB + HB (CONFIRM)
5. rachel + BB + HB (CONFIRM) PAID $30
6. Cookie + BB+ HB (CONFIRM)
7. sleepingdeer +BB + Hb (CONFIRM)
8. god's child + HB + BB (CONFRIM)
9. Mashy+ Hb+ BB (CONFIRM)
10. Mongs + HB +BB (CONFIRM) (no buffet)
11. sept03bride + BB (CONFIRM)
12. valerie + HB + BB (CONFIRM)
13. sl+ HB +BB (CONFIRM) PAID $30
14. Cindy + BB (CONFIRM)
15. Tabby + Hb+ bb (CONFIRMED)
16. Sandra (sunraye)( Confirm)

Sharing of Bath tubs & bathing lotion:
1) Denmy (Tub & changing mat) + God's child + Valerie
2) sleepingdeer (Tub) + Rena + Wenyl
3) sandra( sunraye) (tub) +
4) Cookie (Tub & changing mat) + Mashy

PRICE: $15 per person / $30 per couple those who paid extra, the amount will be return during the gathering

Rena's acc no.: 148-11345-9 (POSB)

celine
dylan will sleep through from 9pm to 630am, so is 9 and a half hours of beauty sleep for him =) but not for me! not bcoz he wakes up, thank god he sleep like a pig =p its bcoz by the time i finish my last pump of the day and finish all the washing and boiling of bottles and pump and took my shower, it will be 11plus le... but im not complaining, as long as dylan sleep through.

he drinks 4x a day.
7am 220ml
12noon 240ml
430pm 200ml
830pm 200ml
so total will be 860ml a day

maybe you can try increasing edgar daytime intake? take cue from him like as in do he still continue to suckle when you put the teat in after his milk?

Flo,

good to know that walkers are ok to use. coz my pd also says its ok..she says the americans are just too very careful.

renee also fell from her cot when she was 4 mths old.. coz the cot provided by the apt was not very sturdy and the whole plank supporting the mattress fell when we put her on the bed! she kept crying and crying.. i felt like such a super lousy mother.

denmy,

sounds like so much fun..your stay in england! so envious. i can't describe anything like tat here in hanoi...

krissie,

i think its such a good idea to thaw the puree in the warmer. i'm going to try tat today! thanks for sharing

RE: poo

very chiam leh.. my elijah very jia liat.. his poo poo is very hard until can throw ppl..I tried to give him water and prune juice but still can't... i also give him banana

celine,
i also have made full use of the cot! My gal has slept in it since birth and she naps in it sometimes too. WHen she's awake, i'll also place her in the cot coz she loves to look at her musical mobile. Plus it'll prevent her from falling (at least for now) coz she turns and rolls all the time.

rachel,
wow impressed by dylan's intake of milk! So good, can feed him just 4 times and he can drink so much? i need to feed my gal at least 5 times a day. But also ok lah, i'm not complaining!

rena,
oh no poor elijah. Will gripe water help? But i think prune juice should do the trick leh...wait n see, who knows he may poo easily after the prune juice!

Just gotten this pic from a friend who jus had her wedding and Celeste was one of the guests
her dress was just nice or rather very tight fitting... almost bursting. think this the last and only time she is wearing this... precious and high depreciation dress!
456814.jpg

Denmy! U bad bad gal! Describe so much until I am reminiscing again! :p With this morning's weather, It feels like UK all over again!

I as free as a bird when I was in UK. Single and so kept travelleing with my cousin. Want to go anywhere, just go. Want to buy anything, just buy! U know I bought lots of fridge magnets & timbles cos they were nice & affordable souvenirs. My magnets cover one entire side of the fridge at my parents' place and the other souvenirs are kept in a display cabinet. Didn't bring them over when I got my own place. If my parents sell the hse next time, Dun know where to put all the stuff!

Rena - Wow, Sumo is manufacturing bullets at home :p Cephas'poo is still in kaya state.

Celine - My cot is fully utilised too! Cephas rollsin it every nite when sleeping. Will find him in a different position every morning!

rena
poor sumo. first time having this problem? after tired water and prune juice for how long liao?

durian
his intake ok la. but his last feed is always more challenging bcoz he will tends to play with us, use his hands to push away the bottle and blow bubbles, will keep shaking his head too.... >=/

i just try his limit lo, bcoz will notice he will contiune to suckle even after he has finish his milk, slowly from 150 to 180 to 200 to 220 and finally 240ml. my mum was worried at first when i told her i had prepare 240ml of EBM, but after seeing dyaln finish everything she is happy too =)

god's child
ohhh... sweet sweet! Celeste so cute =)

Rena,
I have xsfered $30 to u for the gathering. Pls check. Tks!

CONSTIPATION
Someone mentioned can give gripe water.

God's Child,
Celeste is so cubby...feel like pinching her cheeks..hee hee. She's so coordinated. Can see mummy spend a lot of efforts dressing her up
Yes agree is so wasteful, they outgrow their clothes so fast. These days I am trying to control myself not to buy too many new clothes for Mel so she is wearing a lot of hand me downs. Have u look at the shoo shoo BP? Anything interesting? Is the shoe good? Can't resist leh, feel like buying for Mel.

Cookie & Celine
Mel is exactly 6 months 3 weeks old today. I think shes one of the oldest bb here and prob the oldest by EDD (born on 15 Dec, EDD 20 Dec). Shes quite advance for her age I guess and me & hb attributed it to the Ginseng power. I had slight spotting when I was in my 8th weeks of pregnancy and being KS I went to see a Chinese physician (would highly recommend her). She gave me some Chinese herbs such as Chinese Ginseng (those that look like human), cordecypt etc. I also took Korean ginseng and bird nest soup weekly. Well my girlfren didnt take any Chinese herb for her first pregnancy but took quite a bit for her 2nd and 3rd. According to her, unlike her eldest son, her 2nd and 3rd kid hardly fall sick and even if they do they recover quite fast. Well for mummies planning for second one maybe is worth trying (but need to be careful cos not all chinese herbs can be taken during pregnancy). Me is getting more and more a firm believer of TCM now.

RE: baby cot
Mel also didnt sleep on her cot now, sleeping on her sarong cradle, easier for us to put her back to sleep
Luckily the cot is a hand me down from a fren who told us not to waste $$$ cos bb will find cot too small and dun wanna sleep in it after 1yr+

Celine,
Actually we were afraid that Mels hand and legs will get caught in btw the rails but amazing she can get herself out, so I think dun have to worry lor

Mel is receptive to her solid again
She likes Gerber's bottled green beans and peas. Give her fresh carrot yesterday mix with oatmeal cereal and she finishes it too. Just got some organic veg delivered yesterday, shall make her more and hopefully she likes them.

Celine
I first started Mel with Heinz first rice cereal then Healthy Times Organic brown rice (can get from NTUC). Recently brought Earth Best Oatmeal Cereal, she seems to like it better than brown rice. If you are just starting Edgar, is recommended that you give single grain cereal first.

Florence/ sysa / rachel - xie xie! xie xie! haha
actuali she looks chubby but her weight not very 'chubby' leh... at 5.5mths, she is only 7.17kg... but im satisfied la... hee...

Flo - true! its a waste to spend so much $ on matching outfit wf hair accessories... but wat to do, mummy's heart always so soft..
i just dun spend on myself lor... wait for hubby to spend one me instead!
the shoo shoo not bad, but i wait til they reaching 36 orders... intend to get the sporty stripes one for Celeste. OOOOPPPPPPPS, waste $ again

sept,
hopefully my analysis is right! btw y do u want to put caleb on a diet? how old and heavy is he?

babylon,
hehe... wonder if any other mummies share our boat? then we'll have a boat of pandas! :p

tracy,
ok i will try to add one more feed. he didn't cry for milk so we presume he is fine. his day time feeding is very consistent. every 8am, 1pm and 6pm, he will whine for milk. then at nite, schedule go haywire loh coz i latch him on. always drink abit only... and drink thru'out the nite! *faint*

rachel,
according to my dad, he sometimes doesn't finish his 180ml of milk. so i presume it is enuff. i'm so envious of u and other mummies whose bbies sleep thru. i HOPE and PRAY that Edgar will sleep thru someday soon. i presume u don't have a maid. must be soooo tiring for u then! think if i don't have a maid, i will DIE ar! esp w Edgar interrupting my sleep.

flo,
thanks for the info on cereal. ok, need to start shopping for cereals liao! =D

re cot:
gee.. seems like i'm the only one who doesn't fully utilise the cot and i tot i wasn't the only one! :p

flo,

mel's motor skills are really goood! Can stand and crawl already. My lazy gal can still only flip to her tummy. hiaz

Celine
I do read that bb that who used to sleep through the nite will start to wake up more often for feed cos of growth spurt. Mel started doing that when she was 4m+ until lately. The book recommends letting bb drink more in the day. But I find it difficult with Mel cos shes still sticking to her 4oz per 3hr schedule. Try to give her more at each feed but end up always cant finish and got to throw away the milk **heartache**. Maybe you can try bottle feed Edgar for his last feed (at least u know how much he drinks). I normally dream feed Mel around 11+ and that can last her until 5/6+ the next morning. Mel also got the same problem, shell fall asleep after sucking for 5 min (maybe the breast is too comfy.haha), then keep waking up later. So with bottle feed, Ill let her take her time to finish drinking and sometimes it will take almost an hour **faintz** but tell myself thats better than having to wake up 2-3 times in the middle of the nite.

Sept,
Need to put Caleb on diet meh? I thot should let bb drink according to what they need? Anyway once they start to crawl/walk will not put on as much and fast.

LEAPPAD UPDATES

Hi gals!
I have arranged the lady to send me the first batch of leappads & some books on sat so that I can bring down to the swim gathering to pass to some of u.

1 Leappad set $60/ea
1 book $15/ea

To Collect @Swim gathering
Tabbiesus (1set + 3 books) $105
Tracy (1 set + 0 books) $60
Denmy (1 set + 5 books) $135
Cookie (1 set + 1 book) $75
Cindy (1 set + 0 books) $60
Sandra (1 set + 3 books) $105

Self Collect @ Woodlands (Pay Cash to supplier)
Clare (2 sets + 3 books) $165
Flo (3 sets + 3 books) $225

Krissie (2 sets + 0 books) $120
Do u want to collect from me at hougang? or self collect @woodlands? Kindly let me know soon cos I need to arrange with supplier by Fri.

Those of u collecting at the swim gathering, can u kindly transfer the money to me by latest Fri nite?
I will PM u gals my account no. The supplier wants Cash on Delivery.

mime_msexcel.gif

Leappad_Final Orders-06072006.xls (24.1 k)</td></tr></table></center>