(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

wow god's child, you are real good with handicraft. i went back to look at the Celest's pic after reading your post and i really can't tell that the hairband is DIY!

god's child, mashy,
looking at ur cute babies' pics, i realise that my megan is not so fleshy on the arms leh..

krissie,
so compared to the other babies, maybe our babies abit on the eh...'slim' side ah..

sl - no la... wat i did was real simple... instead of always buying a new hairband to match her clothes, i bought only one! then from this one, i always detach and sew on the one tat best match her clothes... ( only on very special occassions such as weddings, not so free to tat kinda extent to do very often
) i will go to those hair accessories shop and look for cute hair rubberbands with little strawberries/cartoons. i intend to use 2 ways - now tat Celeste not much hair, use the cartoon to sew on hairband. when Celeste has more hair, i will sew it back on the rubberband and use it for tying her hair

Celine;
What a coincidence! We might have seen each other then, if u went for the breastfeeding classes during your stay in the hospital..

Rachel;
You should feed dylan on the 19th too! :D

mashy;
your boy is so advanced, he looks like he's sitting up very well.

Tracy;
Bus i've only tried with baby bjorn. and you're right, it's a challenge taking the cab with pram and baby.

god's child;
How do u do it? carry celeste when u fold the pram and load it into the cab's boot?

Rachel
U should see his passport photo. :p Bulma from feb thread said looks like potato head. U know the one that grows grass on the head and they paste eyes to look like a face?

Celine

Same same. He still can't do without his hands for support.

CassCL

Haha, no lah. He still needs his hands to support him.

Re: Outings

As u gals hor, how do u prepare solids for outings? I find that when I go out with him, I can only give him plain rice cereal or with milk if he didn't finish. Any suggestions?

mashy,
ur description of potato head so funny..hahaha..

CassCL,
so i'm going to practice tmr when going for the swim gathering. shall ask my hb not to help me while i load pram into car with megan in my arms.

cassCL,
ya we mite have seen each other. but at the time, i guess our eyes are only on our newborns! where got bother to look at other mummies!! haha! oh i didn't go to the breastfeeding class. got the lactation consultant to come to my ward and teach me instead! :p

Hi Rena,

Transfered $15 to you via ATM. Ref: 1332 Date: 7/7/06.

Hi Wenyl,

I thought I did order some books. It's ok if it didn't get picked up. Would you know where to buy the books at retail? I'll pay you the $60 tomorrow. Thanks.

cass, tracy, god's child,
I have taken cab with Keenan on my own before also. I'll normally sling him at home and push the empty pram out of the house to get a cab. When the cab arrives, I'll fold the pram myself but will ask the driver to help me carry it into the boot. When I reach my destination, I would also request he help me take the pram out. Then I would say THANK YOU! so that the driver will not feel so "cheated".. sometimes, i will ask him to keep the change, if he's really nice and helpful....

casscl
yah maybe i should feed him on 19 instead, since its my bday oso =p take leave lo. hahaha

sunny
babylon got 2 boy boy.

re: swimming tomorrow
now I am not sure if I will be going. sigh! may have to come back to work tomorrow.
rena, I will let you know. I may come for the buffet but can only confirm once I confirm if I can go. my hubby suggest late breakfast if we are going and then can go for the buffet.
so busy for the past few days. didn't catch much fo the postings.
BTW, I don't have swim diaper for clariss, is it ok? I think she will just dip for a while. need to go and buy the diaper to protect? anyone has disposable swim diaper to sell? she is wearing M size nepia now.

Cindy,
For this round, the supplier only has very few books for us. And I have to follow the list - FIFO. Sorry abt it.
The set comes with 1 book already. I forgot the title. If u want to get it outside, u can try Toy'r'us cos they were having sales for the books. Buy 2 get 1 free. $29.90 each. Not sure if promo still on.

mashy,

re: food to bring on outing
U can try adding banana or papaya to the rice cereal and milk. I always feed either one of these fruits with avocado when we are out in the weekends... very convenient. Just bring sterilised bowl, spoon and a fork (if you don't have a Mumchkin Food Grinder)...

Queen,
I just realised I allocated 1 leappad book from this 1st batch for u. Do u want to collect the book from me first? U need to wait for the 2nd batch for the leappad set. Or do u mind passing to Krissie instead? Cos she will be getting the Leappad sets from this 1st batch.
Sorry for the messy coordination cos I got to follow 2 lists of names..... 1 for the leappad set & 1 for the books.

here's something I read in another parent support group that i join, thought u might be interestd:

(http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/health/5128144.stm)

=====
Babies need 'tummy time' to develop
By Jane Elliott
BBC News health reporter

Each night little Isobel Nash is placed to sleep on her back.

Beverley, her mother, is well aware that placing Isobel on her tummy
to sleep could increase her risk of cot death.

But every day Isobel also gets "tummy time" - a period of the day set
aside specifically for her to lie on her stomach.

Physiotherapists are warning however, that more and more children are
missing out on this special time, and their development is being stunted.

Statistics show 19% of mothers with children under six months old
never put their babies on their fronts to play and only 22% regularly
give their babies "tummy time".

Peta Smith, vice chair of the Association of Paediatric Chartered
Physiotherapists (APCP), said that since the Back to Sleep campaign,
which urged parents to place their babies on their backs to sleep,
they had noticed fewer babies were getting protected "tummy time".

She said this had resulted in a delay in these babies reaching
important developmental milestones such as crawling and walking.

"Research shows babies placed on their backs to sleep who were then
placed on their front for extra time during the day were able to roll,
crawl, sit, pull to stand and eventually walk earlier than those who
were mainly placed on their backs," said Peta.

She added that although babies predominantly placed on their backs
eventually catch up in their development skills, that the first few
months of life are an important time for babies to start to become
aware of their bodies and begin to learn movement and balance.

"By spending time on their tummies babies learn to move from side to
side and this helps them learn to reach and crawl.

[...]

mongs,

sun worry i will be bringing the extra's diapers so can buy from me..

RE: food for bb during outing

usually i wikll cook porridge and put in the flask for him later on

queen, krissie, rena,

Preg Test Kits

this is how the kit looks like.. they have another one as well same price $1 made in USA.

if you want it, let me know..i'll help u guys to buy then when my cousin / hb goes back this mth, will ask them to mail out to u ok?

458110.jpg

Wow.. its been so long since I logged in. Ariene is now 5months4weeks and she can also sit for alittle while without support. She definitely enjoys rolling about but that posed abit of problems when changing her into pyjamas cuz she keep rolling herself away from me. She developed a bad case of rashes with bacteria infection on her chin and throat the moment I went back to work.. sigh.. she hates it when I apply the antibiotic cream on her chin so she always try to get away by pushing my hand away or rolling away.

Tried letting her try abit of rice cereal also but she's allergic to Heinz rice cereal! She cried and scratched the rashes until her chest bled! I tried Nestle rice cereal as well and stopped the moment I saw tiny rashes appearing. Sigh.. tink I'll just feed her plain rice porridge next time.

Anyway, I'll be going on part-time work with half my current pay so I can have more time at home to take care of Ariene. Going to be very tight financially but for the sake of Ariene, we felt its worth it, especially after so many things happened to her the moment I started going back to work.

Anyway, some photos I took of her 3 weeks ago.. too busy recently to take more photos..

458113.jpg
458114.jpg

denmy, re: sterilising baby bowls
My pd says no need to sterilise bowls and spoons as the base is wide and will not trap bacteria, unlike bottles. Just wash bowl with baby detergent (eg, tollyjoy or pigeon) and air dry.

`Tracy

RE: HK & BF
I breastfed but brought some EBM on airplane and also a opened tin of FM just in case. No problems. Nobody stopped to check. usually they don't check u esp. if u have a baby.. wait the baby start wailing. Oso, at immigration, one couple's baby in the other lane started wailing and they let them cut queue.. my girl unfortunately was sound asleep so didn't get to cut queue.. haha..

wendy,

sure! i will consolidate and see how many pple need ok then will buy and let u guys know when my hb going back.. actually my cousin going back few days time..but he's a guy.. dunno if he willing to bring it back for me..

Esther,

Thanks. Just send me a private message if I don't reply to postings as I may not have the time to read postings. I've already sent u a private message so if u need my hp number, just email me back

queen ,

ok sure..if this one no stock i buy the other one ok?? i not doing a spree..only for the mummies here..of coz if any other mummies want jus add on their names ok.. later on, if its ok..may need one of the mummies to collect from my place then distribute, can? my hb going back 14th..just confirmed..so quick order so i can pass to him.

btw.. i not earning $ here..jus sharing good lobang

Queenx5
Wendyx?

RE: Gathering

Where: Waterplace Condo BBQ pit 2
177 Tanjong Rhu Road
Tower D
Singapore 436931
What: Heated Whirlpool
Date: 8 July, Saturday
Time: 1-5pm
Food: Cater ( catering at 2pm)

1. Denmy + HB + BB + elder son (CONFIRM) PAID $20 + $10 booking of bbq pit = $30
2. Wenyl + HB + BB (CONFIRM) PAID $30
3. tracy + HB + BB (CONFIRM) PAID $40 - $10 dollars will be return to you
4. REna + BB + HB (CONFIRM)
5. rachel + BB + HB (CONFIRM) PAID $30
6. Cookie + BB+ HB (CONFIRM)
7. sleepingdeer +BB + Hb (CONFIRM) PAID $30
8. god's child + HB + BB (CONFRIM)
9. Mashy+ Hb+ BB (CONFIRM)
10. Mongs + HB +BB (CONFIRM) (no buffet)
11. sept03bride + BB (CONFIRM)
12. valerie + HB + BB (CONFIRM)
13. sl+ HB +BB (CONFIRM) PAID $30
14. Cindy + BB (CONFIRM) PAID $15
15. Tabby + Hb+ bb (CONFIRMED) PAID $30
16. Sandra (sunraye)( Confirm)

SL,

On the flip side, it's getting very tiring looking after Mel. Have to be very watchful. Also is taking longer to wipe and change her cos she keeps moving about...haiz. But I guess I should be thankful that she has fine motor skills.

Wendy,
re: sterilising
what about the other things we use to make bb food like blender, seive, ice-cube tray etc? BB's water bottle/ training cup?

esther,

Think you mentioned b4 they have cheap fertility/ovulation kit there too? If have I want that also... thanks!

ovulation kit
Denmy x3

pregnancy test kit
Queen x5
Wendy x?
Denmy x5

Rena,
My mom might be coming along this afternoon. If so, I'll pay you another $15 later.

Re: Milk or solids
Should we introduce a second meal of solids if my boy's daily milk intake is not really high enough (in my opinion). Now he is on 1 meal of solids for lunch and drinks only 500+ml of milk each day. If I introduce another, think he'll drink even less milk. How?

esther,

Think you mentioned b4 they have cheap fertility/ovulation kit there too? If have I want that also... thanks!

ovulation kit
Denmy x3
rena x 40
pregnancy test kit
Queen x5
Wendy x?
Denmy x5
rena x 15

i can collect from your hb

Enjoy yourselves at the swimming gathering :) Wished i could have been there but originally got India trip. Oh btw, my boss finally said I do not need to go India for biz trip (after I tried to persuade him so hard that it's pretty inconvenient for me since i am bf'g!) Yipee!

Re: baby pics
All the babies so cute n adorable!

Re: 19th Jan
My Janelle is also born on 19 Jan!
i've started her on Heinz rice cereal already - just a little bit. Hope to start on carrots next week!

Wendy,
Oh my, Ariene is allergic to rice cereal? that's a tough one...thought rice cereal is the least likely to cause any allergy. Perhaps own-cooked porridge may be better?

SH,
Good thing no need to go India. It would really have been inconvenient!

esther,
i would also like to order 1 kit of each. Thanks so much!

ovulation kit
Denmy x3
rena x 40
durianlover x 1
pregnancy test kit
Queen x5
Wendy x?
Denmy x5
rena x 15
durianlover x 1

dear mummies,
enjoy the swimming with your babies! Pity i can't make it as Janelle still not fully recovered yet.

esther,
Yes yes I want
Thanks. I add my order.
Just to check is the Ovulation kit same price as
pregnancy kit $1? cos OK need more I wonder how many should I buy..if cheaper than I can buy more

ovulation kit
Denmy x3
rena x 40
Cookie x 10

pregnancy test kit
Queen x5
Wendy x?
Denmy x5
rena x 15
Cookie X 5

Oppss.. durain lover we post at the same time.

here's the revise :

esther,
i would also like to order 1 kit of each. Thanks so much!

ovulation kit
Denmy x3
rena x 40
durianlover x 1
Cookie x 10

pregnancy test kit
Queen x5
Wendy x?
Denmy x5
rena x 15
durianlover x 1
Cookie x 5

does any mummy stay near mama chan at henderson? i need to pass her the grinder...please let me know so that i cam bring to the gathering.. thanks

esther, I would like to have both kits too

ovulation kit
Denmy x3
rena x 40
durianlover x 1
Cookie x 10
Mong Ai x 5

pregnancy test kit
Queen x5
Wendy x?
Denmy x5
rena x 15
durianlover x 1
Cookie x 5
Mong Ai x 5

re: gathering,
hooray, am going to the swimming later. rena, we will be having our meal there. pay you the $30 later.

damien just come back from his monthly check up and vacinacction...his hight, weight still in 75% percentile...

wendy,

i realised that there are some rashes around damien's tummy recently...tot that the cause come from RU YU OIL...but afriad was ceral allergy...

how do you know that Ariene is allergy to rice ceral?

later will be going out to check the cost of the ovulation kit ok then update you guys.

so rena will help come to my house to collect ok?

babylon,

wa 75% you not happy?? renee weight is only in the 25% percentile..but i'm ok as long as she's healthy

Re: healthy babies & ginseng

Krissie,
My gf bf all her 3 kids. Longest for the 1st (10 mths); 8 mths for 2nd and 5mth for the 3rd. But she didnt really take ginseng, she took cordecypt. Also, there are many different types of Ginseng some heaty some cooling. Does your cousin bf?

Durianlover,
If its gene shouldnt my frens 3 kids share the same genes?

For Mel, since birth till now she had cold twice. The first time not sure if it was partly due to mummy withdrawal symptoms cos she fell sick the day I went back to work and was very moody the whole day until Im home. I would say both her cold were quite mild, managed to recover within 2-3 days.

RE: Tummy Time

Humm Denmy, now u set me thinking. Maybe is the 'tummy time' power rather than 'Ginseng' power at work. Since we bot the mattress with side bumper and playyard, we have been leaving Mel inside to flip and play on her own at least an hour everyday. She's tummy down most of the time before she managed to crawl and stand.