(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

durianlover
Re: SAHM to FTWM
Haha. I'm like the opp here. I was SAHM then decided to go back to work and now am at work! Some of the mummies who listed the pros and cons quite true. For me, I think I would be able to give back to Daren when I come back to work, in terms of my energy and monetary means. I started to feel really drain at home and no energy and all I did was to just make sure his needs are met like fed, sleep well, play to enhance motor skills. There were times where I got so tired, I nearly snapped lor, would get angry with bb even though it's not his fault to want 110% attention from me and I still have to manage my housework and stuff. But I do miss the times spent with bb, his chuckles.

Sandra
Agree with you too that there's no need to stress our children. In fact, the best way to learn is true nature and play. Even my hb mentioned that when my boy old enough, would bring him to catch spiders lah, fishing la, etc. I'm not for computer games and even warned my hb when Daren is old enough, not to play X-box so frequently in front of him. Haha!

sysac - haha.. ok, at least i know theres some hope for cheap shoo shoos now.. going to call robinsons now

Queen - i thot being young will render us more energy to play and take care of bb but end up, i stil feel totali flat at times! think i slept too much in the past :p

Re: Stressful childhood

I think even if you want a normal carefree childhood for your child, it will be impossible to do so in Singapore. Coz if you don't teach them now, they will have problems later in school. And it'll cause you even more headaches. I understand from my MIL and SIL who are both teachers that it's expected that the children will know their ABCs by the time they go kindergarten and know how to read well when they are in Pri 1. So, if you allow your children to play and play and don't teach them like all KS parents do, they will suffer. With a class so huge, the teachers don't have time to give special attention to each of them.

We cannot do things like what we used to have. Coz the standards are so different now. I was looking through some of my SIL's test papers (Pri Sch) and my gosh, they are what I studied in Sec Sch!

Unless of course, you want to migrate.

Tracy, as the old adage goes - small family got small probs n big family got big probs. I rather my parents stopped at 3. And I think they kinda regreted too. Anyways, guess all mummies want the best for their babies. So if u feel happier working or not working for ur kids, just make ur choice n do it. U'll find support whichever choice u make. =)

Queen, I'm a 79 baby too. =)

God's child, yea, I also thot that being young will give us the extra oomph to care for bb but we now know it's all about relativity. Any mummy will become tired if baby decides to be naughty and keep us awake for days or even weeks. U're so funny.

Stressful Childhood

i totally agree with mashy..too ks in singapore so dun have much of a choice! my bil is in pri 3 now and i, too, have seen his school work..not like before anymore..

that's why i think i'll let renee go to int'l school instead..tats the one thing i'm grateful for staying in vietnam.

Pregnancy

any mummies going to try for 2nd bb soon? btw, the pregnancy test kits in viet is dirt cheap..only $1 each but of coz its their own brand..but it works!

Mashy brainz, I also taught before (kindergarten and primary). I do not think it is expected for kids to know their abcs by k1. But of cos, it makes the teachers'lives alot easier if they get to teach a class of geniuses - I mean, what's there to teach if the kids already know all that's needed to know for the semester?! I'm not saying that I will let my kids run loose without an inkling of what structure studying is like - but I won't press them. Sumtimes the best way to study is to let them figure out themselves thru curiosity and questioning etc. That's partly how my hb's nephew is so smart. He even knows stock market terminologies just by observing my FIL investing etc. He asks and we'll always find ways to explain to him. It's better to remember things thru playing than force-feeding the kid syllabus after syllabus.

RE: Gathering

Where: Waterplace Condo BBQ pit
177 Tanjong Rhu Road
Tower D
What: Heated Whirlpool
Date: 8 July, Saturday
Time: 1-5pm
Food: Cater ( catering at 2pm)

1. Denmy + HB + BB + elder son (CONFIRM) PAID $20 + $10 booking of bbq pit = $30
2. Wenyl + HB + BB (CONFIRM)
3. tracy + HB + BB (CONFIRM) PAID $40 - $10 dollars will be return to you
4. REna + BB + HB (CONFIRM)
5. rachel + BB + HB (CONFIRM)
6. Cookie + BB+ HB (CONFIRM)
7. sleepingdeer +BB + Hb (CONFIRM)
8. god's child + HB + BB (CONFRIM)
9. Mashy+ Hb+ BB (CONFIRM)
10. Mongs + HB +BB (CONFIRM) (no buffet)
11. sept03bride + BB (CONFIRM)
12. valerie + HB + BB (CONFIRM)
13. sl+ HB +BB (CONFIRM)
14. Cindy + BB (CONFIRM)
15. Tabby + Hb+ bb (CONFIRMED)
16. Sandra (sunraye)( Confirm)

Sharing of Bath tubs & bathing lotion:
1) Denmy (Tub & changing mat) + God's child + Valerie
2) sleepingdeer (Tub) + Rena + Wenyl
3) sandra( sunraye) (tub) +
4) Cookie (Tub & changing mat) + Mashy

PRICE: $15 per person / $30 per couple those who paid extra, the amount will be return during the gathering

Rena's acc no.: 148-11345-9 (POSB)

esther ,

hee hee is it can ship over since quite a few mums are trying.. as long as cheap and good ... i dun really bother about the brand.. how about the ovulation kit there .. is it cheap too?

hi rena,

no need to ship..i can bring it back on my next trip..actually i think its good coz it works!

hmm...ovulation kit...i wonder if they so advance here..i can check it out..

any mummies want a preg kit?? i can buy then bring it back for u guys

esther,
haha u're so funny! Can't imagine u coming back to S'pore with a whole load of pregnancy test kits!

mamachan,
yeah i think i'd go bonkers staying at home with baby all day too. i'm the kind who likes to go out...oh well, shall see how!

Re: 2nd baby
actually i'd love to have 2nd baby soon, but not possible since my menses not back yet - am i right?? Or is it still possible?

durianlover,

anyway i always go back to singapore with an empty luggage. and its not packed in box its packed in a ziplog bag so its really quite convenient .. oh no.. i sound like i'm selling the kits!!

maybe i should take a photo of it and show the mummies..i'm just amazed tat it's so cheap here

2nd baby

i think its still possible you know.. i think i read somewhere.. i would like to try also but i had a caesarian so have to wait till 6 mths from it..which is soon..

esther,
i also had caesarian. Some people even say must wait till 1 year later then try!

Re: C-sect scar
Mummies who had c-sect,
Is ur caesarian wound a little red? Mine's dark reddish and seems to protrude a little. As in, if u move ur hand down can feel the bump at the scarline. Not sure if it means not fully healed yet?

durianlover,

i asked my gynae and she told me at least 6 mths

Re: C-sect scar
Mine too!!! so sad right. its dark red and protruding. my mil says it's grown flesh! i think its healed but it just didnt heal well!

my mil says she had fibroids removed, the same area was cut as us and her scar healed so well that if u dun search for it, u wont even find a clue on the op!! for mine...even if u stand across the room, u can see clearly i was cut

Hello ladies;

re Baby #2/Pregnancy

Not sure if you can recall..a couple of months back, i mentioned about my 2nd pregnancy here in the forum. Discovered i was pregnant with baby #2 at the end of april. My boy(1st born)who was delivered in Jan 06' was barely 4 months then. I remember I was shaking with happiness and excitement when i saw the thin blue strip appearing on the pregnancy kit, but was also quite overwhelmed at the thought of looking after a little bub and being pregnant because we're relocating to london soon.

Anyway, to cut to the chase..during my 10th-week checkup at my gynae's, she found out very much to my dismay that my baby had stopped growing at 6 weeks and had no more heart beat - it's a missed miscarriage. I was really anticipating to see my baby (who should already have tiny little hands and legs formed) on ultrasound because he/she was only a little grain at the time of the prior scan. Before my gynae spoke, i instinctively knew something was wrong because (1)she was taking a long time with the scan and (2) she also wanted to do a virginal scan; both of which had not happened before when i was pregnant with Rory. She was also gravely silent before she broke the news.

I don't remember ever feeling so sad. I was so down for awhile, but kept telling myself to count the blessings in my life. Other than my husband i find it hard to talk openly and candidly to anyone about it. Truth be told, typing it out and posting it feels very theraputic.

Have finally come to terms with my miscarriage. I thank God for blessing us Rory because I cannot even bring myself to start to imagine if it were to happen to my first pregnancy.

To mothers who've experienced miscarriages, my heart goes out to you and my prayers to your babies.

re vegetarianism

on a lighter note, are there any vegetarian mothers here? how do u intend to feed your baby (vegetarian or?) now that it is time to introduce solids?

esther,durianlover;
I think its possible because it doesn't mean you're not ovulating even though menses is not back.

I think if you're in good health, its okay to try for baby #2 (assuming you delivered your 1st born naturally). My gynae did not have a problem with me being pregant 3 months after delivering Rory because 1st pregnancy was smooth and I'm in good health and relatively young (27 years old).

CassCL,
I had a forced abortion some years back as fetus had no heartbeat too. It turned out to be a molar pregnancy and even had to test the aborted fetus for cancerous cells. Thankfully it's non-cancerous and did not affect my fertility.

dear mummies,

i just found out one of the mummies who was due to give birth anytime, her bb died in her womb

i joined in her disney cutter spree..i feel so sad for her and can feel her pain

esther,
That's sad news... my good fren just delivered yesterday, there was a nervous moment as the cord was around bb's neck so heartbeat kept going down with each contraction. Luckily, gynae managed to vacuum out bb in time when she finally got fully dilated.

Cindy;
it must have been a heart wrenching & terrifying experience. i'm glad you're okay. what's a molar pregnancy?

esther;
is the mummy from this forum?

esther
I wan the preggie kit ley...can buy some for me

Very expensive to buy in spore. I used to buy from US and ship back still cheaper.

cindy,

lucky yr friend's gynae also is calm and did a good job.

cass,
ya the mummy's from this forum

cookie,
sure can get for you..maybe i will take a picture to show the mummies here..then i take orders ok? wa really so ex ah? how much does a clear blue cost?

wow so much posting to catch,..got to read slowly..

Has a glimps...
Sandy >> I do agree too not to push bb too much but more like go with the flow with her.
Although personally I think learning to play an instrument is beneficial but I would let her have a choice if she like it after all.
Myself and 3 other siblings were given a chance to learn piano my mum give us a choice and never push, in the end only my youngest brother excel in the piano, as playing piano is his interest, can tell he really enjoy it and also relax when he play it.
hahaha we used to team up and I be the singer while he is pianist.

CassCL,
More terrifying than sad as we weren't trying for bb and were not mentally ready. It was ironic that when I tested positive all I could think was got to quickly hold the chinese wedding ceremony as we just ROM, but then 4 weeks later realised it was not a proper pregnancy and was so sad. While many people already hear of ectopic pregnancy, molar pregnancy is less published. I was only 26yrs old then, it was a partial mole.

What is a molar pregnancy?
In a molar pregnancy, the early placenta develops into a mass of cysts (called a hydatidiform mole) that resemble a bunch of white grapes. The embryo either does not form at all or is malformed and cannot survive. About one in 1,000 pregnancies is molar. Women who are over age 40 or who have had two or more miscarriages are at increased risk of molar pregnancy.

There actually are two types of molar pregnancy, complete and partial. With a complete mole, there is no embryo and no normal placental tissue. With a partial mole, there may be some normal placenta and the embryo, which is abnormal, begins to develop.

Both types of molar pregnancy arise from an abnormal fertilized egg. In a complete mole, all of the fertilized eggs chromosomes (tiny thread-like structures in cells that carry our genes) come from the father. Normally, half come from the father, and half from the mother. Shortly after fertilization, the chromosomes from the mothers egg are lost or inactivated, and those from the father are duplicated. In most cases of partial mole, the mothers 23 chromosomes remain, but there are two sets of chromosomes from the father (so the embryo has 69 chromosomes instead of the normal 46). One way this happens is fertilization of an egg by two sperm cells.

Molar pregnancy poses a threat to the pregnant woman when the mole penetrates deep into the uterine wall, which can result in heavy bleeding. Occasionally, a mole can turn into a choriocarcinoma, a rare pregnancy-related form of cancer.

CassCL

My prayers are with you. When I read what you typed, my heart ached for you. Do take care.

Cindy,
It must have been quite frightening for you!

CassCL,
My heart goes out to you too... please take care of yourself and of course baby Rory. Do come chat with us here more often... we are a bunch of friendly mummies here!!

If I'm not wrong, Sunny is vegetarian.

Cindy,
My 1st time to hear about Molar Pregnancy too...

confusedgal,
No worries!
Join us next time okie!

sysac,
Wow! Cephas has a BIG appetite ley! Can still drink so much after his meal. I just started Ethan on 2 cereal meals/day recently. Each feed is 2 Similac scoops + carrot/potato(lunch only). After that, I will feed him either EBM (sometimes 60ml, sometimes 120ml. Depends on how much I managed to express out the nite b4. Haha!) or 4Oz FM (if BM not avail). I was tinkg of replacing 1 meal with porridge. Maybe for dinner.

Can I ask how ur mum prepares the porridge in the slow cooker? My fren uses the steaming method but I prefer slow cooker cos I always forget to watch the fire! Does ur mum put everything (brown rice, fish, vege, wolberry) into the slow cooker? Or does she separately cook the fish & vege, then add into the porridge b4 feeding? How long does it take to cook the brown rice?
Sorry to post so many qns.... cos I m totally clueless when it comes to cooking.

Durianlover,
My C-sect scar is also similar to urs. Reddish with slight protrusion. Sometimes it gets a little itchy.

CassCL,
Sorry to hear abt ur loss! Made me teared. Glad that u have come to terms with it. Do enjoy ur moments with Rory & experience all his "Firsts". It is indeed a blessing to be able to witness our babies grow up each day. Did ur gynae say what was the cause? Could it be due to the close gap between ur 1st delivery & ur 2nd pregnancy??

Want to to have a recipe list like I suggested earlier on? Can PM me your porridge/ puree recipes, I'll compile and email/ post on this website.

LEAPPAD UPDATES

I just got a reply from the lady supplier yesterday. So far she only managed to get 15 blue sets & a few books only. She is still trying to consolidate 30 sets for us. She says she can't meet our orders for the books thou.
So .... do u all want to wait till there is 30 sets? Or collect the 15 sets first? Cos she will deliver to Bishan only when there is 30 sets ready.

If we wanna collect first, we can either do it this way.....someone collect for the 1st 15 orders or those 12pax collecting in Woodlands, can collect 1st. The rest will have to wait till she delivers to Bishan. Which arrangements do u gals prefer?

1st 15 orders:
Wenyl (1)
Tabbiesus (1)
Tracy (1)
Denmy (1)
Cookie (1)
Lingbel (1)
Cindy (1)
Sandra (1)
Krissie (2)
Clare (2)
Flo (3) + (1 - next batch)

Wat do u gals suggest huh???

P/S: Although this lady supplier claims that she is consolidating her stocks for us, but I think she may have sold some of her sets to other individual buyers since she has upped her price to $65. Cos I read it in another thread that someone recently bought from her at $65. So we may have to wait a while longer for her to consolidate all our BP orders lor.

sleepingdeer, tracy, durianlover
I checked the Mt A book again, at 6mths, if bb is abt 7kg, is at 25 percentile. Am I right in reading the chart?

denmy
re apple juice.
wah.. didnt know that i hv to use a juicer. so, this fresh apple juice can keep for how long ah?

tabb
haha.. my gf says her biy hates peas too. I bought the Gerber pea puree, thinking that Ger wont like it too. My mum says he doesnt like his spinach yest.

cindy
the car sounds so fun.. am thinking of getting it too. but hb is not that keen.

celine
how heavy is your bb and the length? Gerald can slp qt well in his infant car seat. But, am not sure how long more he can sit in it. Looks just nice now.

mashy
your boy is so poor thing.. poo till cry. I can understand. coz now seems to hv piles after delivery. Pooing will be super painful if its constipated. So, gripe water doesnt help huh? or gv him more fruits ang water? wht abt prune juice? I saw that Gerber has the bottled version.

wendyl
did she say how long it will take? hmm.. i think she'll take pretty long to consolidate the rest for us. Where's her office? is there any way that we can collect from her office individually, or she must deliver all the 15sets at one go?

durianlover - i had c sect too and my wound is also reddish and itchy at times. super sianz! anyone knows if second baby will also be cutting at the same line? the thought of c sect still makes me shiver! hiaz.

CassCL - sorry to hear abt your miscarriage. You are a stong mummy indeed and may GOD shower you & your family with overflowing blessings. Continue to trust and have faith in the LORD. Take care and feel free to "talk" to us through this thread

Gee I can't wait for the receipe. I also blur blur still..up to date only gave my boy cereal and carrot puree.

Hi Wenyl,

Yes! Big appetite right? Fortunately, he's not fat cos he's super active! He's just very solidly compact (as described by many people).

My mum will put all the ingredients in the slow cooker at 6am. Water is at half way mark of the pot & turn to high heat. By 10am, white rice is in purree state while the rest is very soft. She will dish out the fish/carrot/wolfberry/vege and mash them up. Pour back in to mix until Cephas is ready to eat at abt 11am. Turn to low heat after the lunch portion is dished out. This is to maintain the condition of the purreed food. He'll have his dinner at abt 6pm.

She left a portion for me to try yesterday. She put in a few pcs of the dried scallop for added flavour. It was not sweet but just tastier than Mon's porridge.

casscl & cindy,
so sorry to hear about ur losses. but i really salute u both as being brave mummies

krissie,
edgar is 7.3kg and 64.5cm long. i juz bot the infant car seat on monday. think it shld be able to last him for another 4-5mths at least.

i agreed. we need not buy expensive toys for our children.

My hubby discover those donkey playcards that we used to play when we were young. Now cost $1 per pack of cards. We used it to play matching with my gal when she was 18 months old and it can keep her entertained for a long time. This game also helps her in her eye and hand coordination, concentration too.

Cheap and good!

cindy;
my first time reading/hearing about molar pregnancy too - thanks for sharing your experience. Glad it's all behind you now. Like what Wenyl has said, let's just enjoy our babies now and their precious 'Firsts'

wenyl;
My gynae assured me it has nothing to do with the close gap. she thinks its very likely that baby is not developing normally and just nature's way of 'rejecting' abnormal foetus.

Thanks tabb, denmy, SSF and sysac

Re Weaning/Solids
This is a pretty good webbie for weaning/baby food recipes: http://www.annabelkarmel.com/

i'm a sucker when it comes to nice photos in recipe books. love the pics of the food on the website, just like her book..looks yum.

CassCL,
Sorry to hear about that. Must have been really tough for you. Meanwhile, do take care and enjoy Rory!

esther,
My heart goes out to that poor mummy whose baby died. It's such a heartache especially when she's due to deliver soon.

Cindy,
First time i hear of molar pregnancy too. Thanks for sharing.

krissie,
i think u're reading the right chart. But do you think it's accurate huh? Coz my gal only 6.8kg at 5.5months, meaning she's probably at 25 percentile or lower! But everyone who sees her still says she's big for her age. This really puzzles me!

SSF,
Yes i think if we have a 2nd C-sect gynae will cut at the same line. My MIL had 4 C-sects (amazing huh!) and all cut at the same line!
My line is reddish and slightly protruding but not itchy. Just ugly! heh. i really hope to try for normal delivery for my 2nd one!

Casscl & Cindy,
both of you are brave women! I admire your courage...

Krissie,
yeah, the Mt. alvernia book is a little tough to read, 7kg is above 25 percentile...

CassCl,
Am so sorry to hear about your loss. Can understand how u feel. I also had 2 previous miscarriages; 1st had no heart beat, 2nd just didn't grow; both ard 10th week too. When I finally conceived again the 3rd time I was bit scared cos was so afraid that something was wrong with me. But I really Thank GOD that I managed to carry Ashley till full term and she is such a wonderful blessing to me & HB now... it is only when I become a mother myself that I can fully understand the kind of unconditional love a mother has for her own child. Am sure you will give all your love to Rory and GOD will surely bless again in His time. My heart sank when i read about the other mummy-to-be's loss. May GOD Bless and confort her too.

CassCL,
Remember reading with interest and awe that you got preggy so soon after your BB was born. And about your worries of relocating to London. You seemed to have stopped posting after news of your relocation to London... was wondering how you are getting along with all the exciting things that are happening in your life. Very very sorry to hear about your loss. Clad to hear that you are being strong despite your loss. Have you relocated to London?

Cindy,
Sorry to hear about your molar pregnancy. I have a close friend who had the same miscarriage as well. She had all the pregnancy symptoms and hormones and can detect the placenta, but didn't see the embryo. Sad to hear that cos she and her HB was trying hard to conceive. But good news is that, she's now pregnant again, and just passed the 1st trimester.

Esther,
I want the preggy test kits as well!
Intend TTC end of this year or early next year.

CassCL - Sorry for your loss. I too had 2 miscarriages 1 at 7 weeks and other at 8 week.. well be strong god knows that you are not ready and has bigger plans for you..

wenyl,

i can wait...

for porridge.. it is better to steam coz all the goodness are lock in.. bascially chop all the ingredents finely then put them in to steam..

RE: Gathering

Where: Waterplace Condo BBQ pit
177 Tanjong Rhu Road
Tower D
What: Heated Whirlpool
Date: 8 July, Saturday
Time: 1-5pm
Food: Cater ( catering at 2pm)

1. Denmy + HB + BB + elder son (CONFIRM) PAID $20 + $10 booking of bbq pit = $30
2. Wenyl + HB + BB (CONFIRM)
3. tracy + HB + BB (CONFIRM) PAID $40 - $10 dollars will be return to you
4. REna + BB + HB (CONFIRM)
5. rachel + BB + HB (CONFIRM)
6. Cookie + BB+ HB (CONFIRM)
7. sleepingdeer +BB + Hb (CONFIRM)
8. god's child + HB + BB (CONFRIM)
9. Mashy+ Hb+ BB (CONFIRM)
10. Mongs + HB +BB (CONFIRM) (no buffet)
11. sept03bride + BB (CONFIRM)
12. valerie + HB + BB (CONFIRM)
13. sl+ HB +BB (CONFIRM)
14. Cindy + BB (CONFIRM)
15. Tabby + Hb+ bb (CONFIRMED)
16. Sandra (sunraye)( Confirm)

Sharing of Bath tubs & bathing lotion:
1) Denmy (Tub & changing mat) + God's child + Valerie
2) sleepingdeer (Tub) + Rena + Wenyl
3) sandra( sunraye) (tub) +
4) Cookie (Tub & changing mat) + Mashy

PRICE: $15 per person / $30 per couple those who paid extra, the amount will be return during the gathering

Rena's acc no.: 148-11345-9 (POSB)

Cass,
So sorry to hear about your loss. Stay strong and our prayers are with you.

Cindy, Clare,
Mummies are the strongest. Brought tears to my eyes reading all your experiences. God works in mysterious ways doesnt't He? I'm sure your experiences have made you a stronger person.

Durianlover, Krissie,
I guess not to worry too much about our babies' weight. As long as eating, sleeping, playing well and PD confirm all is well, its okie

Wenyl,
my mum told me can put the porridge in the slow cooker on low overnight. come morning, it'll be all soft, then when about to feed, can add in the fish for awhile. she recommended using 'double boil' method, ie put porridge into pot then put into slow cooker like preparing chinese med. sounds convenient to me..

oh Queen, dont say 'awe'... use that on someone inspiring! Yah, had to stopped posting because after that we went on a recce trp to london, and had to start packing the stuff in the house and all. We're leaving at the end of this month - so looking forward to it.

i remember a mummy here who had delivered her baby in England... who is it? cos might need some tips on living in london