(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

cookie
you have been going out with bb only when hb is around?
if you use sling, you can go out anytime with bb without hb like me.
really think that it's lucky that i bought the sling.

hi sy,
how to have the songs in the blog?
I like ur moving header.. very interesting

Hi valerie,
i just read kirsten's blog.. very nice wor..
hw did u manage to add in the calender thingy?

Valarie,
your blog is sooo funny... espeically the part of the orang utan.... was laughing so hard...!

SY,
yours is so sweet! The doggie theme is really nice...! Now I super gian to start mine too...!

sept03bride, a bit hard to explain in words. you have to go to lilypie.com and create your calender, then copy the html text (is that what you call it?) and paste in the right location in the template. A bit trial and error for me too...

sleepingdeer, hahaa, my HB really imaginative wor...

valerie
how to include links? i also wan to include your blog.

the songs and moving header is gotten from another website. i copy their skin and paste onto mine...

i still trying to figure out how to add video.....

cookie,
the avent sterliser comes with a few packs of critic acid. jus follow the instructions on the pack. i descale once a mth. it's v simple. jus mix the critic acid in 200ml of water, pour into the sterilizer, switch on for about 1-2mins without the lid. then switch off at mains, let it stand for 30mins. pour away n rinse. then do an empty cycle. viola! clean clean.

Gathering at Rena's:
are u mummies all going on ur own? i am on leave too, but i dare not go on my own leh.. how long will u all be staying there?

Re: MIL
Hi Hi all, I was also very uptight once when mil always come over to snatch bb away, after I told her firmly and also refusing her to take over bb, she has got my "hint" loud and clear.
And somehow I thought I can get along with her better.

I will be starting next week, and currently my MIL is gng wet market everyday, of course with me around it's ok for her to do so.
I have been discussing with HB that I do not wish my mil to bring my bb to wet market since it is so dirty and there are lotsa raw meat and fishes around..my hb at first think it's difficult to tell her but later agree for bb sake will talk to her..
As time is running out and mil wil be away again until the every day before I start work then return I ask hb to talk to her.
first of all I was totally PISS with hb... I wan HB to talk to her without me around to avoid awkwardness... my stupid HB call her mum in after I told him and started confront her..I really wan to strangel him!
Then instead of telling his mum wet market is dirty... he told her, stroller cant use in market cos of the staircase ( there is actually a slope to access the wet market and my mil knew it).
My MIL in the conversation insist that she has to eat and want to go wet market with bb... every day I come back will bath her!! thats what she say! I can't resist it ( since I was there), told her wet market is dirty and ask if she can do marketing on weekly basis... my MIL just walk out of the room shaking her head.
My HB blew it !! I feel like crying..
I had a "silent" fight with HB.. telling him whats the point asking him to be middle man.. when he cannot even get the message across, didn;'t do it at the right time??( he just cannot understand, the problem exist between MIl and DIL, damn!).. I just told him I cannot even depend on him to do this thing.

ANyway I decide to put the message across without my HB anyway MIL will know that it's my idea now..
So after feedign bb.. I walk into her room ( she prepareing to go back to her place) and I sat at the edge of her bed to burp bb and talk to her in a very soft voice..
"Mum..I would like to discuss with you abt how you take care of bb after I start work.."
I dunno if it old folk dun like to do talking with dil or what.. she just tell me off saying.. you dun worry.. I can handle the "small one".
I decide to make it clear to her my point...
I told her I do not wish the bb to go to wet market since it is so dirty and lotsa bateria..
i told her bb like to suck on her hand and fist.. we cannot know if anything land on her hand while in market..
she walk around not listening.. I told her as mother of bb.. I'm worry and do not want her to go wet martket
I told her dun get me wrong, if she wan to go for her regular kopi and breaskfast at coffee shop I think no harm push bb in pram.. but not to wet market thats all.
She told me she will go to the "air con" market..damn...she JUST WANT to go market...
Seriously there is nothing I can do or know when I'm at work.. if she really bring bb to wet market..
I can't possibly call every morning to check on her.. I can't do that either..
The only thing I can do seems only to pray to God to look after my bb...
The most annoying thing is... she end the conversation saying.. I dun have breathe like yours...I dun wan to talk abt it..
Can I swear!!!... I'm trying to have a good chat with her but she sound as tho I'm starting a fight with her..and still after the 2nd converstaion, she still never agree not to bring bb to wet market.

Hi mummy.. AM I asking TOO MUCH?? to request her to do marketing once a week and not bring bb to wet market? I also told her, if she need anything call us anytime and I will get them from cold storage or NTUC on the way back from work.

Sorry for my long winded complaint.

Re: fed up again..
Last sunday.. we left our bb to PIL to take care and my Hb and I went to go some shopping and have couple time.
On monday.. my MIL has the cheek to tell me, on sunday it was raining outside, they has place bb near the window and they didn't even notice the rain are splashing in and onto my bb until they notice my bb is blinking her eye due to rain drop..
Can you believe it!!...
my MIL just told me.. she told FIL rain is splashing..say my FIL so blur etc ect... to me..really.. why not save the breathe and quickly remove my bb from the rain instead of finger pointing?

tracy
thanks my avent is a hand me down.. although it's brand new but I didn't see the citric acid thing..
can we buy it from departmental store?

cookie,
ur MIL is behaving like a typical old folk, refusing to listen. but like wat u said, if they do behind our backs, we wun know also until something happens then too late. so all we can do is pray hard that God will protect our kids. same for me, with the 2 nephews around, i also ve to pray that nothing happens to my bb.

i read on the pamphlet that can buy the critic acid from avent office itself. my fren said mothercare sells too, but i dun see it.

gathering at rena's:
okie, silly question here - so do we need to bring the following:
1)pram?
2)hot water to warm up EBM?

cookie,
ya, it says purchase from their office. u can call them at tel:63919191 to enquire. otherwise i can pass u a pack first if u going to rena's.

valerie/sunny
When I go out with bb usually there is someone with me somtimes mil, my sister or hb.. heehee.. feel more secure although eventually, I will be the one taking care of bb. but like valerie.. still scare scare
Sunny... I do sling my bb to buy lunch for a short while..but my sling skill isn't very good sometimes my bb will feel crany inside the sling dunno is it the positioning no good for her.
the last time.. I sling her she fall alseep inside the sling..but to me.. the position she sleep dun seems comfortable, like a dried prawn and my hb keep telling me.. no good for her back!?? cos she is a curve her back like "xia mi"..

valerie/SY
Your blog very nice ley.. after seeing them I tempted to do one for Kaelyn..keke..
but I very poor in all these one, my art are lousy and I'm bad with write up too...sigh..
but will try try see how..

RE: Sarong
My mum house and mine is using mobile sarong..not of a prob. I put small mattress under even though I am using mobile sarong. But I think my MIL should drill at the side of the bed and place the mattress on floor rather than in the middle of the Queen Size bed lor. Climbing up and down is very inconvenient.

Valerie,
I did trip once while climbing onto the bed. Luckily my gal landed on the matress instead of the wooden edge. She did not cry..was hoping that she cry so that MIL know she is "too smart" for drilling this.

SY/Valerie,
Nice blogs u have! I started my blog when I was preggie. But eversince BB arrives, I hv been tinking of emigrating to another blog just for him. Till now....still procrastinating......Ethan is turning 4mth tomorrow......and still no blog exclusively for him. Hiaz! My old habit never dies....procrastination!

Cookie,
Me too....still feel very insecure going out alone with bb. This evening was the 1st time I alone brot BB downstairs in the stroller for a short walk. So suaku hor! I still need a lot of practice on the sling. Tinking of getting a bb carrier so that HB also can use. But dunno wat brand to buy.

wenyl
ya go out with bb have to bring lotsa barang barang.. unless a quick one in between her feed.
I also need lotsa practice with sling.. when sling my bb to lunch.. come back both of us soak in sweat :p
I think bb carrier cannot last for long...
there is chicco one only from 3kg-9kg.. so I think very fast bb will out grown ba.. so I never buy.
my hb actually try using the sling ley.. if he is successful I think he will use..ask you hb to try too

I saw father sling bb in shopping centre before..

Mummies..
I have a close shave today...
My mum just told me something happened in the afternoon to my gal:

My mum left my gal in sarong with her bean sprout pillow in the bedroom. She went to kitchen to wash plates and drink water. When she is back, she heard my gal crying softly and struggling in the sarong. When she rushed over, she saw Jamie's face covered by the pillow. She quickly remove it and saw Jamie with tears. And Jamie's face is so pale, she is perspiring alot. Phew...lucky my mum arrive in time..else I cannot imagine what will happened to Jamie.
From now onwards, I will not give her pillow unless I am wide awake and looking at her while she is sleeping.

Mummies..please be careful with ur babies as well.

may
phew.. really close shave..
I read somewhere.. dun give bb under age of 1 pillow.. can be dangerous..
Must really scare your mum.

Things to bring.. pram if you want but hot water?? no need lah.. my house have..

RE:sterlizer

aiyoh should let me know.. today hubby when to avent office to ask about the sterilizer so they change one for me.. Then I can ask him to buy for you..

Rena,
Why they change your steriliser for you? Is it broken? You have a receipt? I bought an avent food warmer from mothercare last Dec and only found out it was leaking, from the underside where the wire is, in Feb after BB arrived. But becos I don't have a receipt I, they cannot do anything for me... then I bought another one from Kiddy Palace last month... sianz...any chance of taking the broken one back to Avent Office?

re: Bumbo Seat
Sleepingdeer, I heard your fren is a supplier. Any chance of getting from her?

re: sling
I know a lot of mummies actually missed the very brief sling demo.... i will demo again at Rena's.

Tracy,
Dr Soong assigned Dr Koey to my BB also, but I end up using Dr Ang Poon LIat cos when I went back TMC after an emergency false alarm, Dr Keoy wasn't there and we saw Dr Ang in the end. In the end we use him for my elder son also. So I thought, we might as well just see Dr Ang exclusively... but he not very patient leh... what about Dr Keoy? Is he nice? Maybe we should have stick to him in the 1st place.... btw, Dr Ang did not offer me a vaccine package.... and my next visit to Dr Soong's is in August.

Rena,
Why they change your steriliser for you? Is it broken? You have a receipt? I bought an avent food warmer from mothercare last Dec and only found out it was leaking, from the underside where the wire is, in Feb after BB arrived. But becos I don't have a receipt I, they cannot do anything for me... then I bought another one from Kiddy Palace last month... sianz...any chance of taking the broken one back to Avent Office?

re: Bumbo Seat
Sleepingdeer, I heard your fren is a supplier. Any chance of getting from her?

re: sling
I know a lot of mummies actually missed the very brief sling demo.... i will demo again at Rena's.

Tracy,
Dr Soong assigned Dr Koey to my BB also, but I end up using Dr Ang Poon LIat cos when I went back TMC after an emergency false alarm, Dr Keoy wasn't there and we saw Dr Ang in the end. In the end we use him for my elder son also. So I thought, we might as well just see Dr Ang exclusively... but he not very patient leh... what about Dr Keoy? Is he nice? Maybe we should have stick to him in the 1st place.... btw, Dr Ang did not offer me a vaccine package.... and my next visit to Dr Soong's is in August.

wah, really cannot keep up with the postings.

cindy
thanks for the CD. how much is the postage?

confused
hope that your mum will recover soon. can imagine how stressful it is for you.

re lengyang
my mum asked the medical hall person and he said too liang for bb. her friend who is a nurse at the Mt A's delivery suites also said the same and both recommended "ren sen". so, we gave him that instead before his jab.

Sleepy Baby
My bb seem to be very sleepy most of the time.
The most he stay awake is only for 1 hour after every feed during the day time, then he will get cranky, start yawning
I am abit worry about it.

Found that I actually did not spend enough time with him coz I reached home from work was 6pm..immediately I went to take a shower then followed to have my dinner..
Everything finished within 1 hour in order to spend time with him..but by 7.30pm he get cranky and wanna to sleep otherwise he will start crying.
Then by 8pm..he already slepttill the next morning 2-3 am for feeding.

May,
what a close shave.. my bb also sleeps with the bean sprout pillow in the sarong, must tell my mum to watch him closely.

Babylon,
my parents say, a baby must sleep very often so that they will grow. They complain that my son doesn't sleep that much.
Mabbe u can try to ask the PD whether it is ok if the BB is very sleepy always.

Cookie,
I really feel heart pain for you, coz I can understand how it feels when you are the mummy, and other people are making decisions for your baby which you dun approve of... that is the sad thing unfortunately for us when we have no choice but to leave bb with caregivers. They think that just becoz they are caring for our bb, they have the right to make their own decisons for baby without consulting us.... hhmmmmmhhhh!

Denmy,
no problem, it's my friend's friend actually, but I can ask, I think she is selling at $70+++, how much are they selling in the market huh? But I heard she only selling one colour, lime green... hee hee... if the mummies here want, I can definitely help...

May,
very close shave, reading your post made my heart pound for your bb also, thans goodness she is fine... the only pillow I use is the beansprout pillow, think perhaps sarong also restricts hand movements so your bb could not push the pillow away? Or was the pillow very heavy?

Sometimes the beansprout pillow does land on my gal's head, but she managed to push it off coz her hands are always all over the place... also the pillow is quite lightweight...

cookie
ya, to me, the position that i put bb seems not very comfortable, too. but since she's able to sleep, i am ok lah. haha.. sometimes, she will yell a bit when i 'release' her from the sling. when her spine is stronger, i will try other positions.

think your mil just prefers to have fresher food to cook. and it's a habitual thingy to go mkt often. i don't object my mil to bring my gal to mkt. 'cos i don't wanna let my mil to have a feeling that taking care of bb = no freedom. i had that kind of feeling when i took care of my gal solely during maternity leave.

i brought my gal out alone when she's abt 7 weeks. haha.... i kept telling her to be obedient, if not, both of us cannot go out... so, most of the time, she's behaving quite well unless it's reaching her feeding time. so, normally if i bring her out, it's straight after feed. so that she's contented and calm in the sling. nowadays, everytime i wear the sling, she will start smiling, 'cos she knows it's time to go out! :p

sleepingdeer
ya loh... i agree that we can have lots of no-no thingy for mil to take not, but we won't know if she really follows.... sigh... so, got to let go a bit or close one eye, if not, i can go crazy leh....

sunny,
I remember you mentioned that you visited Mrs Wong at TMC for your block duct. how much she charges? is she very good? does she see outside patients? does she see patients in the morning? I went to KKH to see Yen Ping on Tue but she is too busy, didn't unblock all the blocked ducts, said that I need to get my baby to unblock for me but my baby very bad at latching on the left side. now still partly block, so thinking of seeing another LC? this is my 2nd time in 1 month and have to take antibiotics because got infection from the cracked nipple. super demoralised!

mongs

If u go see Mrs Wong make sure she is the one who will attend to you and not Grace. I don't find her very effective and she keep on scolding me last time for not drinking milo or fish soup every 3 hours... (she insist this is the cause of my low MS.. DUHHhh???!!!). They charge around 40+ for the visit and I think they see other patients not from TMC.Only thing about TMC is that sometimes they will attend to a few mothers at the same time in the same room, so u have to sit half naked in front of strangers. I was very upset with them and not only did they not manage to unblock my duct, they made me super depressed about my milk supply... if I had gone back there, they would have prob told me to quit BF...i didn't like this that's why went back to Yen Ping, even tho she is super busy, but usually she can manage to squeeze me in (maybe cos I am staff). I talked to some other mothers and they told me that for LC, at kKh, Cynthia is very good. Also Doris Fok who is a private LC is supposed to be very good. You may want to try her. Apparently the way they unclog the ducts is less painful. Don't be demoralised! Jiao you, I had the same problem earlier on... so I understand.. hope it clears for you. I know how depressing and Painful it is.

mongs
i went to see her for bleb. the white spot on the nipple. she charged me about $40+. think for patients who did not use TMC svc before, she charge more expensive.
bring your bb there during the consultation.

a lady there told me to take panadol before going down to see her. 'cos it will be really painful during the clearing process. but i didn't lah... so got to endure with pain and tears. hehe...
cheer up!!! other the pump, you can use hand express which i find it more effective to clear the blocked duct. that time i cleared it myself.

rena,
thks, count me in for the gathering on monday! i'll PM u.

Denmy,
Dr. Keoy patiently answers my long list of questions. but be warned, he has this sleepy look ALL the time. when he talks to us, his eyes are half closed, he seldom makes eye-contact. but when he talks to the baby, his eyes open big..so strange. i like the way he handles my baby, but then again, i haven't tried other PD so can't compare. he's also stationed at Bishan Children's Clinic if u staying around thr. it's:

Blk 279, #01-50 Bishan St 24 S(570279) tel: 64533933.
Mon-Sat: 9am to 1pm
Sunday: 9am to 11am
Nights: 6.30pm-9pm (for Tue & Thurs only).

He's at TMC on Monday nights, 6.30pm-9pm and 2pm-5pm on Wed & Fri.

May,
my gal also used to kick the beansprout pillow on her face, so i only use it in the daytime when i'm around to watch. i keep the pillow away from her at night.

Tabbiesus,
do you have doris fok number? I think someone in the thread was using betty lee. think she charge $80 per hr. can't remember who? anyone find her good at unblocking ducts?

Can I know how many of you wash bb's tongue and how do you do it? Gently stick finger in or must rub hard? My bb doesn't like it but as he is on FM, tongue super dirty... wonder if it affects his appetite.

Hi Mongs,
I am using Betty Lee, but have no experience with her unblocking ducts so far (touch wood!)...
I like her as she is very motherly and kind, and very supportive and encouraging should you feel super low and need a healthy boost of morale to continue breastfeeding... always leave the session feeling buoyed and optimistic about BF...

I know Sunny used Betty before as well, so she can do a better comparison between Betty and Ms Wong's services for you, think she preferred Ms Wong better

Cindy,
we use a cloth to clean her tongue. she doesn't like it in the beginning but she has gotten used to it since it's already 3 months plus since we did that. I think feeding baby with some water after a feed will also help in cleaning her tongue.