(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

RE: Baby SID
I read it in the papers too. Was so sad for the mummy. Heard the mummy is breastfeeding the baby at that time.

Queen,

My boy has been sucking his fingers abt 3 weeks back. I don't give him a pacifier.

Re: Sleep Sense Book
I only read the intro... haven't really got time for the rest of the book. If only I can print it out and read when I latch BB on but too many pages to print... haizzz

For all BFing Mummies, Mothers of Creation,
we salute ourselves for giving the best to our BBs
388159.jpg

Mummies that are interested in the SID article. Here's it is:

<font size="+2">Faulty gantry impedes babys hospital dash</font>
<font size="+1">Infant pronounced dead on arrival at CGH</font>

LIN YANQIN

IT is every parents nightmare: Trying to rush a baby to hospital and finding that the car park barrier would not open. In this case, the nightmare will last a lifetime as Ignatius, who was to turn one month old on Tuesday, died before he could be taken to hospital.

The babys mother, Mrs Pauline Lim, a 26-year-old student nurse, had taken him to a babycare festival at Singapore Expo over the weekend when he suddenly stopped
breathing in her arms. Passers-by lent a hand by performing cardiopulmonary resuscitation on the infant before on-site paramedics arrived to take Ignatius to a stand-by ambulance. Confusion followed. The car park barrier would not lift. The paramedics shouted into the intercom for security to release the barrier manually.

According to Mr Christopher Lim, 32, the babys father, more than 10 minutes were spent in trying to raise the gantry. Eventually, Ignatius had to be passed over the barrier to a second
ambulance that someone had called. He was taken to Changi General Hospital but was pronounced dead on arrival.

Mr Lim, a radio network engineer who was in Nigeria for work when the tragedy occurred, is livid. Im angry and shocked that there was no one at the security desk to assist the ambulance while my son hung on for his life. He might have had a slim chance of
survival, but the delay reduced that.

The infants death has been attributed to cardio-respiratory failure, the cause of which is still unknown. The family is waiting for autopsy results. The childs doctors and his godfather, Dr Gerald Koh, speculate that Sudden Infant Death Syndrome which affects apparently healthy infants may have claimed Ignatiuss life. But even if nothing could have been done to save the baby, it could have been someone else in a life-or death situation, said Dr Koh. In an emergency, there cannot be any errors.

When contacted, Singex Venues which manages Singapore Expo said it had yet to complete its investigations. Said Singex general manager Matthew Meredith: Its still unclear
what happened, so its not appropriate for us to comment at the moment.

The family is devastated. My wife is not doing well. Shes still trying to grasp the reality of what happened, said Mr Lim. I can only talk to her, thats all I can do. You cant mend a broken heart like that. He said he was considering legal action against Singapore Expo.

I'll be well devastated if it happenned to me... BB not even 1 mth old yet.

Didn't know SID can happen just like that. Thought only when they sleep...

may
re cradle cap
PD says to put olive oil on the scalp half hour before bath time and wash off during his shower.

re pacifier
my gf says that the medical authorities here and overseas did say that there's a link to dental prob.

valarie
welcome

cel cel
just wondering, are you on TBF? coz i feed my boy FM for the last feed.

renmy
my gal's name is ying xin.

joanna
everytime read about your MS, i really hope i could have so much supply!

SY
after u change the teat size, does your bb have problem in latching? my friend changed the teat to #2, her bb doesn't wanna latch on anymore. this makes me pondering if i should change the size....

may
i heard that pacifier will cause teeth grow uneven. but don't know how true it is. but i seldom give pacifier to my gal nowadays unless she's very cranky middle of the night or when i bring her out 'cos wanna avoid her from making too much noise and disturb others. :p

queen
so envy you!!! and your bb is so guai throughout the journey!!!
so you brought lots of diapers there?

so sad after reading the story.... that bb was so small. i hope the mummy could recover emotionally soon.
just now when to rebond my hair... finally my hair is not messy like ah soh. haha... but got to endure the fullness of the breast throughout 'cos it took about 4 hrs + to rebond the hair. :p

welcome valerie

thanks mummies for your advice on cradle cap!

Queen
your boy look soo happy in your pictures!
I haven't read the sleep sense too.. trying to and like one of the mummy hopr to print out to read but my printer at home is spoil..

Re: finger/hand sucking
my girl is also doing this...

Re: Good hair stylist?
Hi mummies any recommendation on good hair stylist? I need to have a hair cut before I go for my co AD&amp;D. Hair is in a mess...

Joanna
It's ook abt the bottles

Wendy
Do you want the glass bottles? I have 14 glass bottles - tall and slim kind and a few similac kind too
Let me know how to pass to you bo I will throw away liao.

RE: SID

After reading the story.. I felt so sad.. it must be a diffcult time for that mummy .. does any one know by what age we will not need to worry about SID?

harlow mummies....

Sunny...dun like that lah...I didn't have lots when I had my first baby too...so this round...I wasn't actually very hopeful....thought that if my supply not good...then likely I will partial formula feed and feed whatever BM I have...this round...I think my BM Supply is good becos my boy is a co-operative suckler....he can really suckle well...and when I am engorged...he can suckle till my breast is almost totally empty....also he is not a sleepy suckler...he doesn't fall asleep halfway through his suckling....so don't be too hard on yourself...k?

The baby so poor thing...my hubby didn't ask me to look cos he knows that I will not be able to take it and I will be very very upset thereafter....
....so poor thing hor....so young....and whatsmore...hubby wasn't with her then....can imagine....

Rena....after reading the forum last nite...I kept waking up to check on my boy who sleeps next to me throughout the night....so scared leh...

Cookie...my sis intro a good hairstylist to me....it's at vive salon at Paragon....I dun know how much his colouring/highlights costs...but according to sis....that svc is expensive...we normally just cut our hair there and then go elsewhere to colour...his haircut costs $68....if u want...u can sms me and I can sms u the details...

Today is GROCERY SHOPPING DAY...haha...no more shopping for clothes or shoes but GROCERIES....haha....what a change after marriage and kids....hehe...in the past...Sat and Sun were days when hubby and I woke up to ..."what show should we watch....where shall we eat???"...those were the days!

cookie
if wendy doesn't want it, can give me?
are you the one who's selling bb gal's hair band?
i have a nice stylist at orchard, a bit pricey. let me know if you are interested to get the contact.

SY/Cookies
txs for infor on open account. so i can tell them link to my internet banking also lor.. good good... txs

queen,
my hubby is now in new york. my PIL were worried that baby will cry and fuss in the plane and also new york is quite cold now so me and my baby didn't go. we were quite convinced that it will be easier to bring a smaller baby but we have no support from the family. sigh!

pacifier,
my baby don't want the pacifier, she wants my breast as the pacifier. a big headache. wonder how my MIL is going to cope when I go back to work next week. she has not find her fingers yet coz I still let her wear mittens.
my niece bite her lower lip as a pacifier, think it's better than chewing the fingers but all these 'habits' are their instinct so it's kind of difficult to correct.

Pacifier
Gave my bb pacifier as one of my aunt showed me her girl teeth, all crooked as her used her own fingers as pacifier and can't get rid of using biting her finger till she is five (can't throw away fingers but can throw away pacifier).

My girl used the pacifier previously and her teeth is ok. She is now five, so I give my boy the pacifier if he wants.

my boy also licks his left hand. i didn;t stop him as i read that it's a way babies learn to soothe themselves. I am quite worried about the germs though...

using pacifier every now and then but doesn;t seem to work well. latching on is usually my 'cheating method' to soothe him, but my mom kept saying should stop as i'll be going back to work in another 3 weeks.

asked PD abt pacifier last mth and she said there is no harm and won;t cause teeth to be untidy. It will however distort our bite (such that when biting down there is a gap between the top and bottom row of teeth) if babies don;t wean off the pacifier by 1 yr old. Infact, the longer you use it, the longer it takes to correct it. The bite naturally corrects itself though. Eg. 1 yr old takes 1 mth, if using for 2 yrs take longer etc.
Main thing to look out for is actually oral thrush as hygiene is often not very good when pacifiers are used (eg. drop and pop back, surrounding of mouth wet with saliva etc)

I bought the avent latex ones for new born, keeps popping out so we have to hold the pacifier for him. Read from another thread that tommy tippee brand is good but hard to find.

cookie,

can try my hairstylist. He was formerly trained at Shunji Katsuo and now has his own shop. Always got helpful suggestions if you not sure what u want. And VERY patient too. Edmund 9431 8140. Tell him Denmy recommend one and ask him for discount.

queen,
Wow looks like u had fun travelling! Isaac's such a good baby!
can u email me the Sleep Sense book? [email protected]

Re: pacifier
i just give my gal the pacifier. It comforts her a lot esp when she wants to sleep. Then when she falls asleep she'll spit out the pacifier. i think it's ok to give pacifier lah...it really works wonders for her!

god's child &amp; krissie &amp; joanna,
wow how do u all get ur babies to sleep thru the night? my gal can only sleep thru a 5.5hr stretch at the most. Then she'll wake up ard 4-5am for feed. Are u all on TBF? Am in a dilemma - on one hand i'd like my gal to sleep thru the nite, on the other hand i know i'll get bad engorgement if she does so!

Joanna,
i TBF and my gal also poos 3-4times a day.

Re: 1st picture of baby
i'm amazed that all your babies look so good when they first come out of the womb! My gal looked terrible! All covered with vernix and she was all swollen-looking.

hello queen or mummies who have the sleep sense book, can email to me as well. [email protected]
my baby can't sleep thru the night. always wake up for 2 feeds. if she sleep at 10pm or 11pm, she will wake up at 2am and then 5.30am. going back to work next week so quite worried about the lack sleep. now still can nap for a short while, next week no such luxury. sian.

Hi Mongs
my bb have the same sleeping pattern as yours. sleeps at 10pm and wake up twice at 2am and 5am to feed. My mum is helping me with the 2am feed, so I normally make FM for her and then pop back to sleep.

When back to work three weeks ago already and still adjusting to this arrangement. If you are waking for the 2am feed, then will be very tired. Normally by 3pm, will feel very tired and the last week cheated and drank some coffee to stay awake.

Not sure whether my bb can sleep through or not as my girl only sleep through when she reach 3years old. She wake up for two feeds a night till she till one and then continue with the 3am feed till she was 3. Which is why I waited so long for the second one as didn't sleep well for 3 years lei.

yuen yuen,
u don't scare me lei. I better start training her to wake up once first then sleep thru the night. I read somewhere that it's better to let the babies sleep thru after they turn 3 months after which they will be able to last longer.
I actually tried to feed her more at her last feed but she always refuse. sometimes, when we manage to make her take more, she will wake up at 3am and then 6am, which is very good. ok, I am going to try harder to make her take more at her last feed.

May,
Thanks for the article on SID, it was so saddening and my heart goes all out to the mum. wonder what happen to the gantry and why it does not open!!!

RE. sucking of hand,
my boi also sucks his hand like 'sweet' in fact i think now he prefers his hands to the pacifier and sometimes i even need to force the pacificer to his mouth. if not, he will spit out the pacifier and sucks his hands again with the loud 'tsk tsk' sound. like one of u mentioned, sometimes, he will even try to put his whole hand in and i always need to pull them out and kept telling him 'no no'. BTW, sucking of hand/thumb is better or pacifier. in my case now, i m really worried he will prefer his hands and this will create another prob cos in future if u wan to stop this action, you will hav a hard time cos he will always have access to his own hand/thumb.

Queen,
i really envy you and Issac. So young and he can go to Europe liao.. are u paying full price for him or free? I must say he looks so cute in his winter wear.. nice and cosy.. and u look great and pretty too!

Mongs
I also tried to made him drink more during the last feed at 10pm but he also stop after drinking 90ml-100ml. Never last him till 3am yet.

About my girl, not scaring you. She was not the worst as I know of a friend whose bb boy stopped night feed only at 4 or 5 years old. I think she is greedy but if don't give milk, she refused to sleep. I even took leave and tried to give water for a week but it don't work so in the end give milk, she sleeps immediate after that. But because she drinks very fast and go to sleep immediate it was not too bad (can finish 180ml in 5 mins). Hoping that my boy will not be the same. Same people said that because during my pregancy, I always eat in the mid of the night so the bb also want to drink as he is trained in the stomache already.

mongs - ethan has similar sleeping pattern. he only drinks 5-10 mins on one breast and falls asleep. i have to pump the other breast. seriously dunno i can survive when i go back to work.....

RE: gathering..

Shall we arrange a gathering a some one's place? we can do pot luck...me so eager to meet up and have a group photo.. hee hee...

Denmy,

Can I try your hairstylist? I am also looking 4 someone to salvage my hair which I cut short prior to delivery... so regret... where is your hairstylist based?

BTW, love ur BF picture.. so cool! Looks artsy...

Re: finger sucking...
My ger just discovered her right hand and has taken to sucking it sometimes, we previously offered her a pacifier but she kept rejecting it.. now got to think of way to not let her suck fingers....

Queen,

did u feed ur baby as the flight was taking off/ landing? No problems with the ears popping? I am bringing my ger to HK in April during the easter hols... hope my ger can be as good as yer boy..

Can I ask u how u bathe ur boy overseas? did u have a bath tub at your hotel? I just realise that if there isn't a tub.. where to bathe the baby!?!

Hi all...

long time din post here... how's everyone...

and welcome to all the new mummies who join in the thread...

serene
i also delivered my gal Clarisse in TMC on 7 Jan.

rena/ queen
i think ur bb looks very much like you.

all the babies photos are so cute... keep posting the photos ok...

durianlover
My boy's pattern is not considered sleeping thru. cel cel's one is. I find the PDF and being on a routine helps. Also, feeding more in the day. If he drinks lesser, will wake up earlier. Or if he sleeps before his bedtime at 10+pm. Like yest, we went out, he was v tire and slept at 9pm, plus he drank lesser, so he just woke up at 1.50am. Shld be waking at 5+am later.
I usually feed FM for te last feed at 9+pm. EBM in the day.

mongs
try feeding slightly more in the day. I find that it helps. last feed is not enough for them to last thru the nite.

krissie,
do you have problem with your gal scratching her face? my girl's nails are still very scratchy although I cut and file for her. her daddy wants her to cont to wear mittens but I was thinking that it's not so good her development. she must learn how to grab things.

mongs
I stop wearing mittens for my bb since he was 2 weeks, sometimes he scratch himself but it recover very fast. Think should let them expose things with their fingers.

re: mitten and bootie
I stop kaelyn from wear when she is abt 5 weeks. when she sleep in air con at nite will wear sock.
She also scratch herself esp when she want to sleep, she start rolling her hands against her eyes and face
Usually scartches recover pretty fast..

mongs
yup, sometimes he'll scratch himself. But, I read somewhere that says mittens impede their devt after 1st mth. so, we took off loh. But hv to trim his nails v often, once in a few days.

sunny
my boy doesn't really latch well so it makes no difference for me when i change his teat. but he can still suckle once in a while.

mongs,
my baby used to wake up twice for night feeds. have managed to change that to once at abt 4-5am. my gynae told me to wake him up for a last feed before i go to sleep at abt 11pm-12. then he will sleep longer and wake up ard 4am. it works. now i dun even do the last feed and he will wake up ard 4am for his night feed. and recently it has become 5am-6am. today was 6.30am so i m quite happy with it.

valerie,
welcome. your dd looks very cute!

queen
my hb going to HK on biz trip and i really feel like bringing bb along but no family support.

re baby scratching
my boy must be the worst cos he scratched until bleed. but like what yuen yuen say, recover really fast.

how come dun wear bootie and wear socks instead?

tabbiesus,
U can try bathing bb in the sink

krissie,
always wonder how do you actually feed more during the day if bb does not demand nor want to feed? Do we give less in the middle of night feeds and naturally they will demand more in the day? Or will the overall milk intake just decrease? (my boy tends to fall asleep too but to make him finish, I just drag the feed up to an hour even!!)?

SY,
my fren who went to HK with her baby and hubby said HK is a super baby-unfriendly place. So if no family support may not be good to go alone!

anyone on TBF and babies sleeping thru the nite? Pls share how do u all manage to do it! Thanks
My gal not too bad - just 1 feed at abt 4am or 5am. But wondering if it's possible for her to stretch till 6 or 7am would be good. Coz after her feed at 4 or 5am she's usually very awake and i've no idea why!! Will have to spend another half an hour coaxing her back to sleep.

Durianlover
is it? tot HK quite tourist friendly so shd be ok...my hb never used to travel for work. only after i pregnant then he got biz trip and i can't go..sian!

All,
thanks for all the compliments on the photos.

Photos of your BBs also very cute and nice! More to come pls and include yourself in the photos!

sunny,
I hand carried 1 full pack of 58 Pampers onto the plane and was down to last 3 diapers on the flight back home! Just nice...

edd2jan,
Infant airfare is 10% of adult's fare cos they provide a bassinet for infant to sleep in if you want. No airport tax on infant I think.

mongs / SY,
Do you mean no support from family as in parents and in-laws forbid or thinking of asking them to go as well? Me and HB quite naughty, we went ahead and booked the airfare and accommodation before telling our parents. My MIL was ok initially, but after that made some noise. My mum also made noise but we told them too late cos book everything liao, cannot cancel (which is not true). Haha... bluff them a bit. Though I'm also apprehensive about bringing such a small baby overseas, but I really don't want to stay a week or so with my in-laws without HB. And the thought of being able to tour Europe on maternity leave is damn tempting loh! HB also want me to go cos he say's lonely for him to be overseas alone. A bit selfish of us, come to think of it. But we made sure to bring BB to a doctor for checkup and get necessary medicine for emergencies and made sure he is prepared for the cold weather. Turned out ok, thank goodness.

SY,
Paris is also super stroller unfriendly. The underground Metro stations are really not catered for strollers and disabled people. So many stairs to climb and have to change trains often. But luckily we bought a super light and mobile Combi stroller before the trip. My HB just carried the stroller while I strap BB in the sling while travelling on the train. Once out on the streets can put BB in the stroller. Can managed lah... In UK, those angmohs are very helpful when they see BB in strollers. They will always open door for me ,some even helped to carry the strollers up &amp; down steps voluntarily. So nice of them. But Paris, forget it man! Those Parisian are super dao.

tabbiesus,
Best is to nurse or feed BB during takeoff (starting when plan accelerates on runway) and landing (when you feel ear pressure when plane starts to descend). Else can also feed water. BB needs to drink and swallow to clear the ears. But for my Isaac, on both flights, didn't managed to time the nursing to coincide with landing timing. End up just give him the pacifier and make sure he suck on it cos he will swallow his own saliva. No problems during takeoff, and when landing, pressure is greater and is a bit uncomfortable for Isaac. He made some noise and cried a bit. But not too bad...
As for bathing BB, I brought a big square plastic container (like those you get from taking away curry fish head) and put the baby wash in a small bottle. So just fill up the container with water and some baby wash. didn't actually bathe BB, just do a thorough wipe everyday. Didn't want to bathe BB in sink cos thought it may be dirty with me &amp; Hb wasing our face and hands etc.

May
jamie is soo cute.. she can even hug the piglet..
My baby bo chap soft toy :p

Re: update
today I brought baby Kaelyn to PD for her 6in1 jab ( I think I'm the last in this thread to take the jab..heehee..).
To my surpise kaelyn weigh 5.25kg and 60cm tall at 6 weeks.
Always thought she should be 4+++kg.
heres latest pic of kaelyn

388836.jpg

SY,

Apparently HK is super baby unfriendly.. no nursing rooms.. if lucky u got change table in the toilets of the up-market malls, but if u go to the roadside places... no toilets or if got super smelly and usu. got queue.. so if u think of using the toilet to express oso cannot cos the people will scold for holding up toilet so long... I know cos my hubby is from HK and i used to fly down very often to visit him... Oso dunno how HK ppl feel toward BF in public... so far I have hardly seen anyone BF in public leh... may get lots of stares...

For me, my hubby and my family are in HK so will be staying at home and got MIL to help take care of bb if I want to go shopping..

When is ur hubby's business trip.. if after april easter holiday... I can tell u my experience and then u can decide if u want to go.

My mom is actually super against me going... but I dun care... heh heh.. just go first lor...
I really love HK and miss the food there..

Queen,
thanks for the advice... will get a bottle of EBM ready...

Cindy
thot abt that but was thinking will it be dirty???