(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Just managed to get the photos from my husband. Here's some historic moments for Ariene :
387651.jpg
387652.jpg

387653.jpg
387654.jpg

387655.jpg

Time really flies. Ariene looks quite different now that she's more puffed up. Was long and slender at birth with sharp features. Now look like hamburger @ 4.5kg, 57cm, 2 weeks ago.

My Brandon so big maybe that's why he come out early cos got no more place to grow. I only 1.52m tall.

SSF, my boy wakes up every 2 hours when he takes EBM as he does not drink a lot. I know EBM better but I'm used to my schedule of waking up once with formula. Don't think can tahan if revert back to EBM at night.

SY, my MS was also around 500ml a few weeks back but when I pumped 1 more time during the early morning feed (around 3 to 4am), I realised can add 100+ml more.

Rena, your baby very cute and chubby. 7.2 kg is very big, should be in the higher percentiles. Brandon was only 5.2kg at 8 weeks.

My boy very fussy in the evenings. Difficult to feed and want to be carried all the time. Anyone has this problem?

wendy,
these pics are so well taken, took my laptop to share with my mom too hee

sunny,
i think your girl may be ready to try avent #2. She may be choking cos she is sucking too hard and fast yet the flow is still slow.. could be her own saliva rather than the milk choking her as i notice bb in 2nd mth salivate more. Hmmm, a nurse told me before to try suckling at the teats too. That way you;ll know how hard/easy the milk flows and what bb is experiencing. Of course wash and sterilize properly thereafter. I tried on #1 and my jaw was so tired just trying to finish off 10ml, that's when I gave #2 when my boy was 4 weeks old.

If milk flow is too slow for bb, it can also cause wind as they need to suck very hard n fast.

The teats also go soft after weeks of use which will affect the flow.

Rena,
You bb is super cute!! So smiley and happy too!

Serene,
I am also on EBM and Nan HA, but my EBM is only about 100ml a day (so pathetic). Think you should make use of your good milk supply and make sure it keeps up with more latch-ons?
I think putting you bb on Nan HA might have helped as the formula is one of the worst tasting one (quite bitter), so in comparison our BM is sweeter and bb still likes it. Dunno, heard that bb develops a sweet tooth from very young age.

serene - don;t you need to pump out your milk? for me, i cannot don;t pump for too long else it be rock bun. just this morning, i overslept..suppose to wake up at 3a.m but woke up at 5a.m after hubby woke me up for feed. then i realise i accidentally off the alarm and thank GOD, i manage to pump out those milk despite it being hard. so scary... so for me, i need to wake up at least 4 hrs so i will heat up and feed him the EBM.

SSF - did your gynae tell u hw long will it last ? lochia not supposed to end after 1 mth??? oh my... are we gona hav this discharge on n off til we stop bf and our menses come???

SY - celeste is so talkative now and if no one talks to her, she will make a BIG fuss...

Re : baby lifting head
anyone's baby can lift up the head aldy? Celeste is so lazy, always lick the mattress only...

Welcome Serene
I started working 3 weeks ago and now pump only 4 times a day (6 hourly)i.e. at 12am, 6am, 12pm, 6pm. Can get 130ml per session so about 500ml aday. At night supplement with Similac. But pumping in the office was not as easy as I thought especially if there are work to do might delay for up to 1hr and then breast become so pain, most of the time get collegue to help buy lunch as insufficient time to eat out and pump within 1 hour break.

In fact so tired, that I am thinking of stopping pump recently.

Rena
Your bb so cubby and cute and heavy too. my boy is about the same age as yours and he is only 6.4kg now and he is already on the heavier side as commented by paed.

Changing of teat size
I am also not sure whether to change the size, tried once and it was ok so I thought can upgrade already but for the next feed, he keeps choking and so change back to the small size again. Will try again next week.

SY/Cindy
My bb also feeding less now not sure why, used to be about 900ml aday, these two weeks only drinks about 700-750ml. Not sure normal or not, but since there is increase in weight think it should be ok. Will be going to Paed on 1 Apr for his jab, will check whether that is normal.

If calculate using Wendy's formula, look like bb not drinking enough. When I tried to force him to drink more, he will vomit, sometime so heart pain have to throw away the EBM as I normally put 110ml in a bottle and he drink only 80ml. Tried drink the balance and don't think I will do that again.

Cindy,
Yup I heard abt the terrible tasting Nan HA. It was the first thing he tasted so I guess everything else tastes good in contrast. He was a premmie so doc advised to give formula first. Tried full latch on in the 1st month but gave up because baby very demanding. Also preferred right side more than left. Sometimes also cannot latch on properly. That's why went on EBM and now only latch on to maintain MS. My MS was only 30ml each session in the first month but managed to increase gradually over the weeks with this formula...MS = pump + latch-on + papaya soup + Anmum2 + lots of fish!

SSF,
Could not pump in the wee hours initially, very sleepy lah, also lazy to pump. But definitely have to pump first thing in the morning when I wake up. It's much better now that I pump in the wee hours, less rock bun and more milk.

Yuen Yuen,
This was what I was worried abt. Scared cannot pump, then must bear with the unconfortable rock buns for 6 hours! But you must persevere for your baby, at least until he is 6 mths.

I also have same problem with the excess EBM. Feel very heart pain throwing away. Try mixing with MILO, it tastes better a bit

Haven't been online for some time and so many postings to catch up on!

Krissie,
i'm trying to do the PDF thing too but a bit confused. My gal can sleep more than 4hr stretch in daytime. Does that mean i'm supposed to wake her up? Also, what's the definition of "sleep through the night"?? 5.5hr-stretch is considered sleep thru the night?? Babywise says supposed to be able to sleep 8hr stretch by 8weeks or so, but i think i'll hv a long way more to go!

Serene,
welcome! Ur baby sure doesn't look like a premmie. How heavy was he at birth? I'm also 1.52m tall! But my gal was huge. heh.

Wendy,
wow those are really classic pictures. So good that you can take them! Like Rena, i also had C-sect so didn't manage to capture those moments.

Re: teat size
Can someone enlighten me - if we direct latch on most of the time, why do we need to change teat size huh? Coz milk flow from breast remains more or less the same right...if we change teat size then the flow will be faster than that of the breast - won't baby get frustrated then?

My gal also looks like boy!
387744.jpg

glaSS bottles for storing EBM
I've managed to build back my frozen EBM supply after throwing away everything. So heart pain, 30+ bottles all down the drain and HB so indifferent to it. Anyway, guess its better that way than to risk Ariene having another diahrrea again from contaminated EBM. Now, I need more bottles to store as I've finished using all my 35 glass bottles. Anyone has spare to pass to me? Any bottle will do, similac, Nan, Dumex, S26 all take!

Amt per feed
The fomula was given to me by PD as a guide. Ultimately, if ur baby is putting on weight and well hydrated, its ok.

RE: lifting head

my bb is already lifting his head .. soon he can hold his head on his own..

RE: avent teats..

I have jsut change the teats to #2 but using #1 for water feeding as I am worried coz water texture is different..

god's child,
janelle could lift her head very early on...when she was like only 2weeks or so could do so (but not very high). She amazed us all! Everyone says she's got strong neck. This is a pic taken of her lifting her head at 7weeks. Not sure if this is what you mean by 'lifting head'.
387754.jpg

Durianlover
Your girl really have strong neck. My boy 11 weeks already and still can't lift his neck. Not sure whether he is lazy or head too heavy.

god's child - yeah i think until we have completed our breastfeeding. it will be on and off. so a pantyliner is a must. i also realise i had more flow today. yeah my boy can raise his head already. very steady. even when we carry him, we carry by his arm pits. my mum was saying he is very strong judging at 2 mths only. my boy also very talkative. yak alot ..hee..

yuen yuen - so envy you can tahan so long before the next pump. i think my max now is 5hrs. very scare tat i will have engorgement lor so i dun dare to test my limit. in the past when my MS is low, i can drag till 7 hrs..but now after 4 hrs, my breast will be very hard liao.

re: teats

my boy switched to avent teats 2 when he is 3 weeks old and he is still using the same size.

serene - yeah i am also very sleepy waking up in the wee hrs. many times wanna give up but still perservere. so you must hang on too. lets do this together!
wow u guys really can drink ur EBM. i tried smelling it after heating it and i don;t find it tempting lei so till today haven't tried a sip at all. only use for washing face once. hee..

Serene
Will try but worry as will need to go to oversea to work in late April and June and there are only short break (10 mins) in between the meetings. In the evening, have to continue with dinner which is why am thinking of weaning off otherwise will be super uncomfortable.

SSF
No choice but to tahan, once I was so upset with my auditors as they kept asking questions and I have not pump for the past 7hours. So in the end told them that it is lunch time will entertain after lunch.

re: excess ebm

i find that if fresh the ebm is v sweet like diluted condensed milk.. if frozen and defrosted got fishy smell but taste is still sweet. i asked lc re:fishy smell and she said is like that and does not mean that the milk is spoilt...

durianlover - WOW! your girl reali stylo, so fast can lift her head and so high some more... must get Celeste to practise more!!! haha

celeste is sleeping thru the nite now. from 10pm-7am... it was when she reached 2mths.she occasionally wake up for one bf session (oni 20min) and she head straight to bed again...

SSF - haha, is it supposed to be the timing to have more flow today? remember.. we gave birth on the same day..somehow our body system also almost the same..?? do u feel a little cramp at times when the discharge comes on?my flow today gota put thin pad, cos liner too small... but thank God the last i saw no more liao *fingers crossed*

Re : baby's milk intake
now tat bb is sleeping thru the nite, she oni has bout 6-7feeds a day and each time is 110ml, wf water feeds in btw...is it enough???

yuen yuen,

can try running to loo for 10min and hand expressing a bit to relieve ur pain... just grab a small sterile bottle so u can save the milk.. i tried this and it helps oso dun have to waste the milk

wendy,
have u tried storing ur milk in storage bags? i think i oso have extra bottles as i am converting to storage bags (no space in fridge)...i check how many i can pass to u n pm u okie?

Tabbiesus
It is painful to hand express and what to do with milk ? Thinking of doing that during my oversea trip to keep the supply. Spoke to gynae during my pap smear yesterday on this subject and he said that the supply might decrease due to this but since my supply is not great might be able to build back the supply.

Not sure whether want to build back the supply as by then maybe have to travel again.

Re : POSB bb saving account
i read that some of u open saving account for bb. how to open? must br bb there to thumb or foot print =p ? wat doc to br other than original birth cert? just put bb's name or must add mummy or daddy's name as well? if open liao, then wanna withdraw money fr his account, how to huh?

wendy,
i have 9 Nan bottles without caps.

tabbiesus,
din know that fishy (the chow chor taste)is ok... threw away a few times already, was thinking whether it's cos my fridge not cold enough.

god's child,
more and more of us seem to be facing the same question on decreased milk intake. Am going for 6in1 jab next Wed, will ask the PD.

yuen yuen

it shouldn't be painful to hand express leh... i store the milk for bb cos me MS low supply oso...
but if overseas then have to be wasted...

god child - yeah maybe we have the same body system. hee.. but no i don;t have any cramps at all.

queen - thks for showin us those pics. ur bb seems so happy in the sarong. so u went only paris? how long did you go har? i also want a holiday before i head to work but my hb schedule does not seem to fit into one. he got lotsa of biz travel upcoming and 3 weeks reservist. urgh...

Sunny,
Sorry wrong no... i thought your ger's name is Ariene. It's actually Wendy's... what's your sexy girl's name then?

Queen,
welcome home... looks like you had a great time in Paris. And the Queen of England came home with you?

rena
maybe your bb got big bones.... he must be the biggest in our thread!

serene
my boy became fussy in the evening abt a week ago. refused to sleep n needs to be carried till ard 11+pm. then suddenly last night he went to sleep by himself at 10+ after i put him down to go bathe.....amazing. the change all the time...

sunny
i agree with cindy. when my boy found teat number 1 too slow he would also choked cos he sucked too hard. i started to let him use number 2 with a few feeds on number 1 in case the change is too fast n found that he drinks better with number 2 though initially he got choke a bit

yuenyuen
i also have 2nd tots abt pumping in the office so decided to take my full ML. yah better dun force them to drink more. they end up throwing up the milk.

my boy still throws up milk despite burping n keeping him upright for longer time n he seems happy! is that normal?

queen
envious! your whole family looks like having fun. really a blessing that isaac can travel so well.

SSF,
I was in Swindon, a smaller town/city about an hour's drive from London for 5 days cos my Hb need to attend a course and conference there. then we were at Paris for another 4 days. Actually if you are thinking of going to Europe, I wouldn't recommend Paris mainly cos Paris is not stroller friendly and neither are the people there. I've been to Italy, Germany and Holland, and England before this trip. And Italy remains my favourite, especially Rome and Venice. Next stop, hope to go to Spain!

Your HB just went to Melbourne right? Can go there too... Australia is really nice, beautiful place and nice people too.

Denmy,
Heehee, today just found out that the Queen is coming to Singapore!

Re. pacifier
My boy has recently started sucking on his fingers and would want pacifier most of the time, especially when he wants to sleep. Anyone of your BB is the same? And I'm trying not to give it to him so often but he is having crying fits when I refuse to give him the pacifier. He'll suck on his fingers for a while and then start bawlking cos fingers don't satisfy him like pacifier does... How?

Re. Sleep Sense book
Anyone of you tried the method from the book I emailed to some of you? Does it work?

Yuen yuen,
With your tight schedule overseas, I think it is difficult to hand express enough milk to keep up the MS. It probably will help ease engorgement only. Suggest you bring a manual pump. Should be able extract more in shorter amount of time. How long and how far is your trip overseas? If it's more than 2 or 3 days, I think just pump and throw lah. Not practical to bring your milk home. But if you are staying in a hotel room with fridge, still possible to keep your milk. If your flight journey is say 5 hours or less, can store your milk in cooler bag with plenty of ice packs and bring it up to the plane.

Re. travelling with BB
Actually, it seems easier to travel with infants below 6 months compared to babies above 6 months to 1 year. When we landed at UK, realised that a lot of passengers were quite worried that my boy will create a din and disturb them cos some of them actually came up to us and commented that Isaac was really well-behaved! Didn't cry at all (except when plane is descending cos of the ear pressure). And on the flight back to Singapore, there were 2 other familes with older babies (think got at least 6 months). The babies were quite restless, making noise and crying non-stop! My Isaac just sleep eat sleep till we landed.

Hi Jan Moms! Can I join this thread too?

Kirsten is my dd's name and she was born on 3 Jan 06 in TMC. Here's a photo of her at 6 weeks...
387870.jpg

I've read that the engorgement is happening to many of you, me too... what a dread... I had to tahan 3 hours of non-stop massaging the first time I got it, couldn't stop crying. Now, still got it on and off...

Kirsten's appetite seems to have decreased now after 2 months. I'm wondering if your babies have decreased appetites too? When she doesn't feed much and I don't pump, I'm worried the MS will drop.

Queen
Going to Hong Kong in April and Korea in June, for about 4-5 days each. I have the avent pump but don't seem to be able to get the let down with it even after pumping for 5 mins. Will try to pump out as much as possible during the break and throw. Also concern where bb will be too use to FM during these period and start to reject EBM when I am back.

Welcoms Valerie
Think a few of our bb have decreased appetite too including mine. Not sure what is the cause and it that normal.

Hi Valerie,
Welcome!
Do you direct latch all the time? Has the no. of feedings a day decrease? Else could be that Kirsten has become more skillful in suckling and extracting milk as she grows, hence takes less time to finish per feed.

Yuen Yuen,
I use the Avent manual as well. Usually pump only when my breasts are really full like after 4 to 5 hours at work, so letdown is almost instantaneous. Else if I pump after direct latch at home, sometimes also need damn long to achieve letdown. Can be more than 5 mins. Massaging breasts helps.

SSF
I cry after reading the news... it's really a tragic..

Re: Cradle cap problem
may I know what it is like in cradle cap problem. How do I identify that it is cradle cap problem?
what are the signs I should be looking out?

God's child
your bb look so sweet in the sleep suit, I can;t get my baby to wear sleep suit.. she cry until jialat jialat the last time I tried to get her wear

Serene
excess EBM... heehee maybe U can use to bathe your bb or wash your face

Bulma
just bring birth cert ( dunno copy can or not.. I brought original) can already. Mummy will be the trustee. although account in bb name, if withdrawal require, mummy or daddy can do it. for me, the bank recognised my signature and the bank even link it up the internet banking as one of my account.

durianlover
yup, if you wanna follow PDF, the hv to wake bb up to feed. I can rem the definition of sleeping thru. I think ard 8hrs. For eg, my boy's bedtime is 10pm. He usually wakes up for his feed at 4+ or 5+am. Occasionally, can tahan till 6+am. To me, I'll consider it as sleeping thru if he wakes up after 6am.
That's my goal. I'm so looking forward to that day.

Wendy
why dun u buy the avent milk bags? freezing glass bottles might cause them to crack.

cel cel
wah, so good, 10pm till 7am. I'll be v glad if my boy wakes up at 6am.

SY,
My boy is also crankiest after his evening feed. Between 7pm to 10pm is also the time when his feeds get all messed up as he is not easily pacified and I often succumb to giving him milk before the hour thinking that he wants to 'tank up'.

Maybe cos that's the time my hb comes home, somehow he seems to know and is struggling between wanting to play and sleep... then get over tired and hard to pacify. Worse is whenever my in-laws come, always at night and refuse to let him sleep argh!

durianlover,
My boy was 2.59kg and 46cm at birth. Not bad for a 34+ week baby. Doc even thought there was a miscalculation in the EDD.
Your girl's neck indeed very strong. My boy can only lift 45 degrees now, most of the time also licking the bed..hee

God's Child,
You very lucky your Celeste can sleep so long hours. Wondering when can my Brandon do that. Starting work soon, dunno if can cope with waking up in the wee hours everyday.

SSF, Yuen Yuen,
Must motivate each other to pump. Especially after start work.

SY, Cindy,
My boy is very fussy and cranky also from 7pm up to 10pm. He seems to be very restless and distracted and will cry unless we carry him. So we try to make him sleep. He's ok after that critical period.

Cookie,
My boy got mild cradle cap. Looks like dandruff flakes. I itchy fingers go and scratch, kena my MIL scold. She says will leave scar.

Queen,
My boy also loves the pacifier. It is very addictive. I try to latch him on to replace the pacifier sometimes. Can try the lying down position.

Durianlover,
wa..so good ur girl can lift head liao..mine can only hold for awhile. But now realised she dun like cradle carry, must carry her and let her sit upright.

God's Child,
My girl can only sleep after her last feed from 12pm till 7am. Then she will start to move about in her sarong, I will feed her. She will go back sleep till 11am.

RE: Cradle Cap
My girl also have this prob. How to get rid of it huh? My mum say until 4th mth when her skull is harder, then we shave her..by then we can scratch it off.

RE: Pacifier
Is it true that pacifier will caused teeth to grow untidy next time? My girl needs it to fall asleep, but once she get "drunk" after sucking for too long, she will spit out and fall deep in sleep.

Welcome Valerie,
My gal also same same.. looks like boy..hehe..

Queen,
very nice pic taken. Your boy looks more like ur hubby now. Last time that family photo, he looks more like u.

SSF,
U mean u c-sect in TMC, hb can go in? Mine is an emergency c-sect and was put to sleep and my hb has to stay outside. He only took these pic when bb is being brought out for measurement while I am removing placenta and having stitches inside.

388030.jpg

388031.jpg

388032.jpg

Hi all.....my new helper is FINALLY here.....phew...so now...my house has been restored to neat order once again!

Re: Baby Sleeping
My boy now sleeps at 10pm and wakes up at abt 5.30am for his feed...if I don't wake him...he can prob slp till abt 6-7am....
So now I wake up every morning with rock hard breasts...I have been delaying my pumps till 7.30am daily so that my schedule follows that of the school...so at 7.30am daily...I can yield 400ml of milk....the rock hard side can normally yield abt 260ml of milk...very painful but when the milk is out...comfortable and happiness...

Re: Baby SID...
SSF...We were at the Expo fair and hubby saw the baby...he told me that a baby had nosebled and a security guard came to lead the couple and baby away...hubby commented that the baby was limp and pale...so poor thing right? I didn't see it myself cos I was preoccupied with my own boy...

Cookie...err...sorry...I bought the avent packs to store milk and dun require the bottles anymore...paiseh leh...thanks a lot...I think can pass to Wendy instead...so sorry but thanks lots...
Hope your ducts are feeling beta...

Queen...welcome back...your boy looks very well bundled and cosy...hehe...he must have enjoyed the nice weather there...

I'm now counting down to the days that I'll be going back to work...damn sian...sigh....

ohh....although James is on TBF...he poos an average of 3-4 times a day only...is that normal? he will accumulate to abt 2-3 feeds before he poos...then it will be alot...haha....sometimes can even leak out from the diapers....

Wendy...my boy also have diarrhoea like symptoms...but I figured it was due to the chinese medication we give him for the lump on his buttock...guess what...his lump has recovered and no more pus anymore....thank God we didn't bring him for surgery and seeked the medical attention of the sinseh instead....nw we feed him his medication through BM...(",)

okie...my eyelids are drooping and I need to go and orr orr liao...tok to u gals again! tata

RE: sucking of thumb

help.. my boy now love to suck his thumb.. thanks to me!! coz he hates pacifier and refuse plus he was crying so hard that I hve no choice but to put his hand in the mouth.. to my suprise he stopped.. but from then on it became a norm..

Rena...my boy also puts his thumb into his mouth...and I didn't have to teach him...somedays...he puts his whole fist in...haha...
I just take it out and tell him that it is a nono...

Serene,Rena, SSF,
My Keenan also was delivered at TMC on 30 Dec 2005. Natural delivery and we also had a video cam in the labour ward. SSF, we had a hard time caoxing Sister Ma (labour ward sister)to let us have a camera in there. She said it was against house rules. Did you have to beg too?

God's child, SSF,
Keenan can hold his head up for about 1 min. And he loves chatting to us too. Realise he always gets hiccups half-way thru his baby talk. My lochia has stopped long time ago but I still on BF though.

I had developed constipation few weeks back. Don't think it's my diet. Any mummy experiencing the same thing?

durianlover
I also direct latch BB most of the time, so dunno if he will reject the breast if we change to a faster-flow teat. Anyway, he is drinking less the past week. He was taking 180-200ml FM/EBM, now he takes 100ml, sometimes 130ml.... any tips on how we can tell when BB will want more or less each feed?