(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

I find Cloud9's designs are quite comparable to Sping; young and trendy but the price quite ex.

Thyme is more on office wear, price is quite ex oso.

So far I alreadly invested about $500 on my maternity wardrobe; very sim tia; got to cut down on my spending alreadly.

For those who have missed out the Spring Sale at Arcade, Spring at Suntec is having another sale on next Friday 22/07/2005.

Hi juliann
yeah then i will drop by liaoz....tomorrow got sale or not hee hee :p if have i want to see se liaoz. hee hee

Berlin
Thanks. Will try to check out tannlines.

MH
Thanks for the details of the various tests. Very useful. Ill most prob not be doing the Triple test. I called the clinic and the nurse said that approx 20-30% of the patients get a positive result. Then they will be advised to do the amniocentesis (which I dun wanna do). And of those who did the amnio, only very few really have positive results. Ive discussed with hb. Since, results of N/T scan (80% accurate) are good and the triple test has such high false positive rates, I dont want to put myself through such tests and worry if indeed its a false positive. Will tell my gynae during my next consult and unless he advises otherwise, I wont do it. BTW, hows your N/T scan?

Juliann
Thanks. Must pop Spring by next Fri. I urgently need to get mat bottoms.

Just to update that I bought some padded (no under wire) Felency bras yest from John Little. So cheap, $15 for 2. I calculated that even if I change bra size again during 3 tri, it's still cheaper than buying maternity bras. Then, since has slight padding and no underwire, fit the criteria of maternity bra.

Hi Etelle,

Spring sale will start on 22/07/05 next Friday

Though I promise not to spend anymore but very tempted to go and see see look look.

But my eyes very naughty one, see alreadly sure buy one...haiz........

<center><font size="+2">January 2006 Babies!!!</font></center>

<center><table border=1><tr><td><center>S/N</center></TD><TD><center>Mummy's Name</center></TD><TD><center>Mummy's Age</center></TD><TD><center>EDD</center></TD><TD><center>Weeks into</center></TD><TD><center>Hospital</center></TD><TD><center>Gynae</center> </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>prettycloud</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>01-Jan-06</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr Jen </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Sysa</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>01-Jan-06</TD><TD>15.7</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>Prof PC Wong </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>edd2jan</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>02-Jan-06</TD><TD>15.9</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Clare</TD><TD><center>27</center></TD><TD>03-Jan-06</TD><TD>17.1</TD><TD>Mt A / TMC</TD><TD>Dr Dolly Wee </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Bao Bao</TD><TD><center>27</center></TD><TD>05-Jan-06</TD><TD>15.3</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Adrain B. Woodworth </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>krissie</TD><TD><center>28</center></TD><TD>06-Jan-06</TD><TD>15.6</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr HK Ho </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>queen</TD><TD><center>25</center></TD><TD>06-Jan-06</TD><TD>14.9</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>taka</TD><TD><center>30</center></TD><TD>08-Jan-06</TD><TD>14.4</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>Dr Kowa </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>Pochacco</TD><TD><center>23</center></TD><TD>09-Jan-06</TD><TD>15.1</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>el2004</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>11-Jan-06</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>yuen yuen</TD><TD><center>34</center></TD><TD>11-Jan-06</TD><TD>14.9</TD><TD>KKH / RH</TD><TD>Dr FM Lai </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>babylon</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>12-Jan-06</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>GHL</TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>celine77</TD><TD><center>28</center></TD><TD>14-Jan-06</TD><TD>14.0</TD><TD>GHL</TD><TD>Dr Chan Kon Hon </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Missy</TD><TD><center>27</center></TD><TD>15-Jan-06</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>Mt A / TMC</TD><TD>Dr Poon </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>confused</TD><TD><center>30</center></TD><TD>17-Jan-06</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>Dr SC Chew </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>sunny</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>18-Jan-06</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>wenyl</TD><TD><center>29</center></TD><TD>18-Jan-06</TD><TD>13.9</TD><TD>Mt A / TMC</TD><TD>Dr CH Koh </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>juliann</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>20-Jan-06</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>pup pup</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>20-Jan-06</TD><TD>13.3</TD><TD>GHL</TD><TD>Dr Tan Hang Yang </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>Min Hui</TD><TD><center>29</center></TD><TD>27-Jan-06</TD><TD>11.9</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>Dr Adrain </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>cookie</TD><TD><center>32</center></TD><TD>29-Jan-06</TD><TD>12.3</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr HK Ho </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>Curly</TD><TD><center>32</center></TD><TD>29-Jan-06</TD><TD>12.1</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>Dr SC Chew </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>Celine</TD><TD><center>29</center></TD><TD>30-Jan-06</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>Mt A / TMC</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>tulips</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>30-Jan-06</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD>mashy brainz</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>01-Feb-06</TD><TD>12.0</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>gingerale</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>02-Feb-06</TD><TD>11.4</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD>Ivory</TD><TD><center>28</center></TD><TD>02-Feb-06</TD><TD>12.3</TD><TD>GHL</TD><TD>Dr KW Lee </TD></TR><TR><TD>28</TD><TD>Cawaii</TD><TD><center>26</center></TD><TD>03-Feb-06</TD><TD>11.3</TD><TD>GHL</TD><TD>Dr Chan Kon Hon </TD></TR><TR><TD>29</TD><TD>Jappooh</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>05-Feb-06</TD><TD>11.1</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr John Tee </TD></TR><TR><TD>30</TD><TD>Etelle</TD><TD><center>28</center></TD><TD>11-Feb-06</TD><TD>11.6</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr HK Ho </TD></TR><TR><TD>31</TD><TD>Muah</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>32</TD><TD>Yvonne</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table></center>

confused, it seems that Dr Chew doesnt offer any package.... I spoke with Aileen (the girl with specs) and she said dont have so it's based on per visit. And sorry, I forgot to ask if he delivers at Mt A.

Agree that Dr Chew is very patient, explaining everything he was doing. He used our previous video tape to catpure the scans and also gave us a vcd with all the scan pics. All the scans show that the bb is doing well. He said the bb is on the fat side though...

Also went to TMC to do the OSCAR test. Will be seeing him again in 4 weeks' time

Hi Krissie
Then i better check out John LIttle for the good offer...only $15 for 2 somemore cheap hor hee hee...got strapless one?? and what colours available. I want to buy one black and one nude one hee hee :p

hello n morning gals

curly - aiyo! no package ah! its ok i'll ask them during my next visit.

wow! your so nice leh. got vcd. how come i dont have? You mean Dr chew scan in all the pics n download every pic to the vcd? btw, u did the triple test liao mah? y do have have to go for the Oscar test?

MH,
Thanks for the info on the tests. It certainly makes things much clearer! Shd be going for my NT scan soon and the blood test soon

Juliann and Krissie,
thanks for the sale info! will make time to go check it out again.... i have spent quite a bit on clothes too but still can't stop buying :p. my hubby says i have to stop once i start buying baby's clothes so i better buy what i wan now....

Dont know leh confused? Maybe you can ask him on your next visit? The vcd he gave me got 9 pics of scans and graphics. Dont know if it cost more? The scan charge was $125 and consultation was $75. I didnt do the triple test, it was the NT scan. Then that day Dr Chew did the NT scan (1.3mm) and explained abt triple test and Oscar. He said triple test together with NT scan the result is only 86% accurate but for Oscar, it's 90% accurate. I wanted to go for triple test but hubby wanted Oscar!

Curly
So cute your bb is on the fat side.

Etelle
Yup, they have strapless, also for $, but it has underwire. The person says that all strapless needs underwire for suppport.

Me going to see my doc 2mr. Maybe will ask Dr Adrian to check my baby gender for me. Hopefully can check something.

baobao - wow! hopefully u can see bb gender tomoro. me too very anxious to know bb gender. Still got to wait for 3 more weeks then can c bb.

curly - if i not wrong no extra charge leh cos my N/T scan is oso $125 leh. oic. Dr chew did ask me whether i want to do the test at TMC(i didnt know its oscar test)n i told him no just do triple test will do. Yo! will ask him on my next visit liao. (but i dont know how to ask him abt the vcd leh)

gals - can check whether u gals having difficulty
sleeping at night? I was told that 2nd tri will be better but its still the same to me leh. I'm having very serious blocked nose n abdominal feeling uncomfortable at night.

Hi Confused,
i find that i keep waking up at night to go toilet. and sometimes i have difficult falling asleep. i read in books that u must sleep on the side. sleeping on the back will cause the blood flow to the baby to be blocked.

Baobao,
how many weeks are you? I also hope i can see the baby's gender at my next visit but i will only be about 14 weeks so dun think can see...

Sing Yee - Me too leh keep going to toilet at night n after that cant sleep liao. I was wondering that is it bb active during nite time n sleep during the day time. But i cant always sleep on the side leh. i find it very comfortable sleeping on my back. thanks for informing me, i try to sleep on the side. (really hope time fly faster so that i wont be so xin1 ku3)

Dear ladies...

I haven't been coming in for 2 -3 weeks now... hope you all have not forgotten me :p
I saw some new name... welcome all mummies.

I went to gynae last week and bb is fine!! at 12 weeks, he/she is 5.33cm and my gynae measured the thickness of the neck and it is normal... what a relief. My next visit in 3 weeks time and will be doing blood test.
Heard from gynae, the neck measurment and blood test conbime will give 80% accuracy to detect DS...so now praying things will be alright!...

SO happy my MIL will doing my confinement... so I suppose I can save 2500 buck? but my friend told me should still get one, cos at nite take care my oursleve will be very tiring... but I think for me... tiring is ok, can save 2500 buck is good plus if I get another person maybe my MIL will be unhappy thought that I find her incompete that's why get another lady hor...

Any impt things you gals wanna update me of?? I think missed out lotsa of the thread when I MIA pass 3 week.....

krissie: NT scan result a bit on the high side but not high enough to warrant a amniocentesis. So I will leave it at that. The felancy bra quite cheap and good although I find it that they lose their stretchability sometime. Another brand is Beauty which OG sells too but they have only 32, 34, 36, 38 etc. I got most of my bras from OG.

cookie: I took care of my girl at night also last time. Tiring? I dun think so lar cos I sleep in the afternoon with her too. During confinement, I just eat, sleep and bathe and see some TV and read newspaper only.

curly
I also did my NT scan last visit... the measurement was at 0.9mm. my Gynae never give me options, next appt I will do blood test I suppose that is the triple test we talking abt..
I better ask him next visit..

MH
ya I was thinking of that too.. I dun mind taking care of my BB in the nite. I couldn't expect my MIL to even take care of my BB in the day and nite that will be too tiring to the old folks and besides I may feel sad not been a good mother.
So I have decide to just get my MIL help and not another CL.
Probably I will get external help in cleaning to come in weekly to do house cleaning and deep cleaning etc. It will be easier that way.

cookie: blood test may be triple test or maybe not. All pregnant women are required to go for a blood test for check in red blood cell, white blood cell etc and test for Hep B and rubella. Now I think they include HIV too.

hi everyone!

When can we do tai jiao?
My gynae tried to scan for the sex of the bb, but altho bb's legs open, gynae can't make out. Think maybe got chance to be boy!
Coz' gal/boy will have little penis in the earlier stage. If no little penis, sure gal.

Cookie,
Is your MIL going to be staying with you during this period of time? my MIL did offer to come everyday but i still feel more comfortable with my own mother but she stays too far. but getting a CL in Jan is really ex cos of CNY. So keeping my options open. I guess what MH say is right. u get to sleep in the day so waking up at night with baby won't be so tiring. and i read that if u intend to bf, u need to get up at night to ensure your supply is good.

Mashy brainz,
hee i try to read to baby sometimes though i think it may be too early as they say babies' hearing only fully formed at 24 weeks. but i think can practice reading to baby earlier cos it's really quite funny to be reading out loud with no one beside u. my colleagues ask me to play mozart music to baby. suppose to be good for their development.

like to join this thread too...

Have been following this forum since the start, but I have never posted...was having bleeding on and off, and was really worried initially.

So far so good, and now am in my 14th week!

Ivory, can help to update my details?

age-30, EDD-12 Jan 06, Hospital-Mt. A, Gynae-Dr. HK Ho.

sleeping deer

krissie, my gynae did a measurement on the bb's body and it's above the average American size! Hopefully he wont grow too fat!! haha..

confused, the Oscar test can only be done at TMC or NUH. For Oscar, you can get the result on the same day but for triple test, think it takes a wk. And also Dr Chew said for Oscar, the earlier it's done, the more accurate the result. So immediately, his assistant, Muriel booked it for us at TMC! She was super, even though TMC was already full for the Oscar but she still managed to squeeze us in and we didnt wait very long for the scan. Think you can ask him directly lah. He also never mentioned abt the taping but we asked if he could do it. As for the vcd, he auto gave it to us leh.

Sing Yee/confused, I also have the same problem! Always find it difficult to fall asleep after waking up! Or sometimes, I'll feel hungry in the middle of the night! And also I was told to sleep on my left side.

cookie/MH, could be the triple test I think. The other blood test (which include Hep B, rubella, toxoplasma, HIV, VD, blood count, etc), mine was done before wk 8.

Welcome sleeping deer!!

Thanx Curly!

Hi Babylon,
yep! same age and edd, too bad we aren't in same hospital, can probably hear each other shouting when the time comes, and give support!

MH
Good to hear that the N/T scan is within range. So, you're not going for the triple test also, right? My gynae only told me my bb's measurements for the N/T scan, but i don't know it is 1:xxx risk.

Cookie
I think when Dr Ho says blood test, he means both the usual blood screening (HIV, hep, B, etc) and also the triple test.

Sleeping deer
Welcome.
My Ho is my gynae too. Have you done the N/T scan and triple test?

MH
For confinement, do you think it is necessary for my mum to stay over at night? I told her that maybe the 1st week might need her to stay over. I'm worried that bb cry and I don't know what to do, will be very stressed. Once I get used to it, I think no need her to stay over.

krissie

r u breastfeeding? Personally i feel that if breastfeeding, there's nothing others can really help. might as well let her rest well at night, then in the day, when there's more activities (changing diapers/bathing), your mom can help.

hi curly,
my fren told me i will be waking up more often towards the later stage! hope not cos already feel tired when i have to wake up for work...

one of my fren's wife suggest that i take some warm milk before sleeping. helps to relieve the hunger also. sometimes i get so hungry in the night but i too tired to go and eat. waking up to go toilet is already tiring enough.

Babylon and Sleepingdeer,
are you looking for CL since it is over CNY?

Hi Krissie,
yes, Dr. Ho is my gynae too. Find him pretty experienced, just that sometimes the clinic is really crowded... did my NT scan at 11th week, and am seeing Dr. Ho again this Friday. He did mention he will be taking blood for blood test this Friday, but I also blur whether it is for triple test or the normal complusory blood test...

My NT results were pretty ok, and after hearing about all the false positives in the triple tests, I am also wondering whether I should take it...

krissie: it depends on you...my mum left at ard 8pm after cleaning up, my husband would be ard then. I am scared that my mum would tire out after a whole day of cooking, bathing baby, changing her diaper etc so I din ask her to stay-in.

MH
did you BF previously. I find it quite tiring as I need to wake up every 2.5 hours. also have you thought about how to take care of the second bb together with the first kid ? Currently not sure how to arrange it, I will be having my confinement in my mother house and I intend to bring my first kid along but not sure how they will cope with the bb crying at night.

Bao Bao,
Hope you can see the gender soon! Today my fren asked me whether i want to just keep the gender a surprise cos 2 of her frens are choosing not to know....i think it's quite fun but then will be hard to buy things for baby. shopping for baby is also part of the fun.

SSF,
are you referring to antenatal class or those yoga class? i checked with a colleague and she say can go from about 5th month onwards.

YuenYuen, I fully breastfed my girl and I am still breastfeeding her once during the weekdays when I reached home. Guess that it has become a routine for her.

It is tiring to breastfeed but it is rewarding and gratifying despite the cracked and sore nipples. I have to feed her almost every 2 hrs in the begining.

For my girl, I have thought of putting her into a playgroup/childcare to occupy her for half a day before the arrival of the new baby. I have not decided yet. I will be having my confinement in my own house. In my next 2 months, I will stay at my mum's place in the afternoon for lunch and dinner and have some rest too. I may even consider a maid if my mum cannot cope.

I think ur daughter is much older than mine? Think she will be more 'tong shi'

Sing Yee,
I will be moving back to my mum's place for confinement, so probably will not engage a CL. Heard it's more ex during CNY, and anyway, my mum is quite a good cook (yum yum), so think it's quite ok not to hire. Also, will try my best to BF if possible...

I only worry about my hubby bonding with baby since he won't see baby 24/7 during the confinement period, and he'll miss out on the first month of his/her life. Ha ha, think he will freak out and have a hard time adjusting once baby comes home to stay.

How about you, are you engaging CL?

MH,
So during your maternity leave, you will go to your mum's house to stay? Or you will just go during the day? Isn't it inconvenient? I would like to do that but i stay quite far and dunno what my hubby will think abt it.

sleepingdear,
i dun think my hubby will wan me to move back to my mum's place during confinement though i have tot about that option. so the next best option is to get a CL. i m on the lookout now but it is really quite ex. how did u convince your hubby to let you move back to your mum's place?
if not, we may consider hiring a maid and my MIL has offered to come over. But i m not too keen on that option as i think i will still be more comfortable with my own mum.
Since i m the one having the more difficult time during confinement i shd get more say right?

Sing Yee,
yep, you are the mummy wat, and mummies cannot stress during confinment, right? Use that tactic on your hubby?

I feel the same, not comfortable with MIL doing confinement for me, though she stays with us. She is a nice MIL, but can't imagine asking her to wash baby diapers for me leh...

My hubby luckily feels the same way as me, so he was the one who encouraged me to go home to do confinement if I want. Hmm, maybe he just waiting for a chance to be single bachelor and have his overnight mahjong games again.

How about asking your mum to come stay with you during confinement? WIll that work?

Now that my CL is more or less settled, I am now having headache about who should take care of baby when he/she comes... both sides in-laws just waiting for a chance to take care of first grandchild... chiam ah...

celine, how's Dr Chan' charges like? Do u have to go thru all sort of test? I seen him the first time last week. Paid $168 for consultation and scan.

MH
my girl is starting K1 next year which is four hours, guess I will be missing her school open. I am worry about night time whether the new bb will make too much noise and wake her.

Oh, in fact i forgotten about my husband, guess he can can visit us after work. i haven't discuss with him and assume he will be agreeable. must check with him later.

Anyone bought bird nest already ? lunch time, i went to eu yan sang and the price for normal bird nest (about 5/6 pieces) is 180, blood bird nest is 290 and premium blood bird nest is 499 !!!! so ex. anyone know of places with cheaper prices, kind of afraid to go into those places.

Chua Sing Yee,

my mum will be helping with my confinment. She will help me to cook, boil herbal water for me / my baby to bath..and help me to look after the bb during day time. Hubby is going to save his leave to help up.

I don't expect much help from my hubby..coz i determine to BF my bb this time unlike the first one. So nite time will be a bit tough for me.

Since my confinement is across CNY, i dun expect too much help from my mum coz she also need to prepare for CNY.