(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Mashy
I wld like to breastfeed. But, dun know if can or not or if bb wants.

Curly / Sing Yee
Ya, u try the warm milk loh.. actually, waking up is part of the hormone changes which we cant control lah.. hope it goes off in your 2nd tri. It's now better for me.

Sleeping Deer
Why dun you check with him during your next visit. I'm seeing him next Mon & will discuss with him. Will also be asking him abt my detailed scan which I shld be due to do it next mth.

MH
Agree that my mum wld be tired too. Was thinking of asking my hb to help her in the day.. if he can, I'll most prob ask him to take 2 weeks leave. am just worried that I'll be helpless when bb cries at night & hb & I are alone & dun know what to do. ha ha... then, get post-natal blues.

Curly,
Any idea is the Oscar test a.k.a the detailed scan done at hospital??
Gynae say I will be doing blood test in 4th mth & Detailed scan at TMC 5th mth. I guess the blood test is the "triple test" & detailed scan the "Oscar"??? Mayb just to clear my confusion, I may hv to confirm with gynae on my next visit.

By the way, there's a "Aquafitness in Pregnancy" class organised by KKH. Anyone interested can call 63941268 (Patient Education Centre) or 62934044 (KK infolink) for further enquiries.
Venue: KKH hydropool.
Date: Starts 17 Sep 05 (Every Sat)
Time: 1pm to 1.45pm
Costs: $167.06 (6 sessions)

I am still considering whether to sign up for it. A bit ex thou! only 6 sessions but I tink it shld be rather good. Me still searching for aquaaerobics course near my hse in hougang.

Sing Yee, I will be staying in my home cos I live near my mother, just opposite block.

Sleepingdeer, baby's poo is quite messy and watery, dun think u want to use cloth diapers..very siong.

Yuenyuen: can try Hock Hua? Dunno whether it will be cheaper though?

krissie: I guess it is a learning process. Before I give birth, I also do not know how to take care of a baby. Dun worry too much, it will fall in place and then there's us to support each other.

wenyl

the detailed scan is not the OSCAR. Neither is it NT Scan.
It's a scan to check that all the body functions such as heart, liver, kidney of the bb is growing properly. I think should be able to check for cleft lips too.

Hi Sleepingdear,
settled the CL issue with my hubby last night. i did tell him that it would be hard for me to ask MIL to do things. not very nice also so not a good idea. initially he thinks i m just biased (maybe a bit) but in the end he gave in when i started crying. maybe cos it's our first kid so we have different expectations and worries. but i told him since it's the first kid, we shd get a CL and maybe for the 2nd kid then we consider other options.

haha...i m like u. have 2 major issues to settle. now CL is settle i need to start thinking abt babysitting options. but i think i will only start to think abt that after the detailed scan though i have a few options now - 1) get a maid and ask MIL to come and spot check 2) get a nanny. I decided agst bringing to MIL place cos i dun like baby to travel so far in the morning.

Yuenyuen, hock hua shd be cheaper than Eu Yan Seng.

Krissie, I try to drink warm milk before i sleep but i dunno whether it aggravates my gastric. since getting pregnant, i have quite bad gastric problems and sometimes in the middle of the night i wake up cos it's quite painful due to the gas in the stomach. any remedies?

Sing Yee/krissie, I already have this milk before bed habit for years, except it's not warm.... But I dont drink it straight from the fridge though. I read somewhere that milk has a substance which make your eyelids heavy.

Yuenyuen, my mum bought me some bird nest from the neighbourhood chinese medical hall and it was $120 for 6 pcs. The last time when I was at Hock Hua, it was $110 for yi liang, which is abt 5 to 6 pcs. But my mum said the one at this chinese medical hall is better quality?

Wenyl, the Oscar is similar to triple test. Gynae said Oscar is the UK method which is more advance and triple test is US method. Oscar can be done either at TMC ($300+) or NUH ($200+).

For me I dont think I'll engage a CL since MIL will be staying with us for maybe 3 mths? And my mum said she can come and cook for me everyday. Also want to breastfeed bb as much as possible.

Thanks mashybrainz! Will check out later....

Hi Curly, jus wanna to congrat u & wish u a smooth pregnancy!!
kao_kiss2.gif

Hi mashy brainz,
my colleague say some babies skin get very sensitive if mother eats too much birdnest. it happened to her sis's baby. the first one skin more sensitive than the second kid. so maybe take in moderation?

Krisse,
yep, will check with him this Friday before he jabs me, have you decided whether you going for the triple test? When I did the NT scan, Dr. Ho only told it was good, and the measurement, I don't know the ratio.

MH,
is it? yah, like that, cloth diaper will be quite siong. I read that you can use liners, and then watch the liners, but me too lazy also... do you know are diposable diapers very much more expensive than using cloth ones?

Sing Yee,
keke, woman's tears are our secret weapon, my hubby also cannot tahan when i start crying
Well, good that your hubby is understanding, now you have one less issue. I am having headache about baby sitting coz my MIL already stake claim say she wanna take care of Baby, but she cannot handle alone, and wants us to get a maid, whileas my parents are both capable of baby sitting without maid, will probably let hubby be bad guy and let him decide what to do...

Juliann,
may have to pay extra for NT and detailed scan depending on individual gynae. I'm thinking of going to M. A for antenatal classes since i'll be delivering there. Anyone else thinking of going to M. A for classes as well?

Sing yee -I am referring to antenatal classes. So now it's still early..must wait till 5 mths har.

mashy brainz - my MIL also make that for me..last every 2 weeks. i heard from frds that if the birdnest is not of a high quality, it will have those tiny strands of feather hair that will get into the baby's wind pipe. So its not encouragable to drink so much. i always drink half and my hubby drinks the rest

sing yee

went to check up today. My gynae say it might be a boy will give me a definate ans when i go another appointment.

will be doin the detailed scan on 27 august.`

sing yee
my MIl will probably be staying with us. Think perhaps my FIL will come along too so we got to do up 1 rrom fro them. My HB is the only son ( not only child) so finally when the folk is old we have to take care of them anyway... maybe this is a good time they move in.
My mother wun be doing confinement for me , she is working.

kriss
Thanks for clarifying.. ya think gng to draw once on blood and test on all tests.. heard from Dr Ho before.

Heard any comment on Mt Alvernia antenatal class?? is it good?

sleeping deer
welcome... we are gng to the same gynae

Kriss and sleeping deer
when I do my NT scan, Dr HO also never tell me the ratio... just said 0.9mm is normal and nothing indicate to him that I'm in high risk etc so the withdraw Yang2 Shui3 procedure should not be required.
my next appt is 3rd Aug... so looking fwd but also anxious abt bb.
Oh will u gals take up the package = $600?

Sleepingdeer,
sometimes must really let hubby be the bad guy. but your hubby will need you to hint to him or not? hee sometimes i find using reverse psychology helps. once i stop arguing and start crying he gives in. maybe next time when baby born it won't work anymore...

SSF,
that's according to my colleague. but think next appt i will also ask doc. dun wan to go too late also. she say the classes will show the labour video...wonder whether i dare to watch it...

Bao bao,
u hoping for boy or girl or both also can? i want a boy but hubby wants a girl. hope i can have some idea at my next visit.

cookie,
will your PIL eventually stay with you? my hubby is also the only son (but not only child) but i dun think we will be staying with PIL eventually.

my colleague told me KK antenatal class not bad.

MH
Thanks for the encouragement. I hope I can be a good mummy soon too.

Sing Yee
Milk shouldn't be aggrevating gastric. But, maybe can double check with gynae. I had gastric during my initial preg and the past week too. I noticed that it's when I'm a bit hungry and dun eat immediately, then gastric will kick in. The pharmacist once told me that when we're preg, some pple will secrete extra gastric juices due to hormone changes. I think no remedy. Only way, is to take meals regularly and when hungry.

Juliann
It depends on gynae. Mine charged the usual u/s rate $50 for my N/T scan. Detailed scan will be separate at $100.

Mashy
Heard that too much bird's nest will cause baby to have phelgm. I think it depends on your body. My body is quite liang, so I'm planning to eat once a month, instead of weekly.

Sleeping deer
I'll most likely not be doing the triple test, cause the nurse told me that 20-30% of the patients have a positive test, then, of those only very few are really positive. So, I find the false positive rate very high. But, I'll still discuss with Dr Ho during my next visit. If he has no compelling reason for me to do it, I'll skip. I dun wanna worry for nothing. Anyway, I have a few colleagues who also didn't do the tests.

Sleeping deer / cookie
I asked the nurse, she says he don't give those 1:xxx ratio, he only states the measurement, e.g. 0.13mm, etc.

cookie
Have not heard of the Mt A antenatal classes. Am still deciding whether to go for the one at TMC (which is so famous) or the one at Mt A, coz my colleague says the advantages of going to your hosp's classes are that you get to know the mid-wives and their common practises, etc. I'll most prob take the $600 package in my next visit (which will be week 16)
Was thinking that I can opt to get another gynae nearer to delivery when Dr Ho confirms who's covering him when he goes on leave.

Bao bao
So exciting. I hope that can see my bb's gender too.

I just bought a pair of black capris from Cloud 9. BTW, they are having 10% storewide disc. They have some items that are 25-50% disc, but I can't find anything suitable and some are too big.

Krissie,

Maybe i shd make it a point to eat like every 2 hours (read tat from a book) my gastric is really quite bad and sometimes i wakes me up at night. I m into my 13th week and still having it. How long did yours last?

Actually i heard of quite a few cases of false positive for the DS test. not sure whether they refer to the triple test. So usually NT scan sufficient?

MH,
on the topic of diapers, is it really better to use cloth? But it's much more troublesome right?

Hi cookie,
will most probably be taking up the package, have been with Dr. Ho since day 1, and was seeing him weekly when I was spotting, so think he know my case. Yep, exciting to go gynae visit, I can't wait for Friday to come too, so that can see bb again.

Sing Yee,
yep, me and my hubby take turns, if need to tell my parents, I am the bad guy, if his mum, he is the bad guy. He needs to be bad guy more often, coz my MIL live with us, I just keep quiet and act dumb
He quite 'zi dong', just have to whine a little then he gets the message hee hee.. very spoiled hoh? I also think when bb comes, maybe things will change. Now he is very gan siong, this cannot eat, that cannot eat, walk slowly, no high heels, take medicine, sleep early, after bb comes, who knows what will happen? :b

MH,
like that have to start saving more already...

Krissie,
hmm, think I will also ask him about the false positives. When I was spotting for about 4 weeks, Dr. Ho was very frank with us, and we spent those 4 weeks in agony, waiting for each day to pass, and good news to come. I think it will be torture going thru all the doubts again.

Dr. Ho going on leave? When? Wah, 16 weeks already, hope you can see bb gender on your next visit! I also wish can see fast, but probably will be next month.

Krissie/cookie,
I am also thinking about Mt. A for classes since I am delivering there. May be good to familarise ourselves with the people there...

hello gals

Sing Yee - me too leh, having gastric. (I have to eat b4 going to bed if not gastric attack liao.) Try to eat something/drink milk b4 going to bed. That helps
i bought cup noodles juz in case i hungry in the middle of the nite.

cookie - wow! so nice hor, your MIL doing confinement for u. Really envy u gals for having such a nice PIL. My MIL say she wants to be a modern MIL so dont want to interfer our affair. Till now she didnt even cook any bu3 pin3 for me (only cook for her daughter. U gals must cherish your MIL

celine, u start your $770 immediately after your 1st consultation? I might want to start it too if can start at early stage. Thanks

mashy brainz,
does the cloth diapers that u see work like disposable, except that u need to wash once it's dirty? what's the difference from normal cloth diapers?

sleepingdeer,
hubby of cos now will be more caring...hee just wonder how long it will last after birth. sometimes feel that i m taking advantage of the situation but hubby must also go thru the thick and thin with us right?

confused,
even though i drink milk before i sleep i still get the gastric attacks. can only hope it will go off since it's due to hormonal changes...

sing yee

yah, u wrap bb like disposable diapers, except i think have to have lining. Wash as per normal. With this, u don't need to fold the trad cloth diapers, no need to risk poking the bb with safety pin, easier to wear and take out and not so flimsy. Also, the outer layer i think it's waterproof, so won't leak as badly as the cloth diapers.

Sing Yee
Mine was the initial week before I knew I was preggie. I think appetite increased, but I didn't know I was preg, so sort of controlling my diet and didn't eat when I was hungry. Then, last week had gastric for 1 week too. Ya, u take small meals more often. I eat many times a day. breakfast at 9+am, then snack at 11+am, lunch at 12+-1pm, tea break at 4+,5pm and dinner ard 7+pm, sometimes will drink milk at night too if I'm hungry, before sleeping. Maybe you can try drinking milk before sleeping every night. See if it helps.

For N/T scan, I understand that it's 80% accurate. Triple test is 60% accurate. But the combined results will be abt 90% accurate. It's best to ask your gynae whether it is necc for triple test. It depends on individual age, risk level, etc.

My friend suggested that I use Pampers newborn. She says it's more exp, but won't get nappy rash. I'll most do that as I dun want my mum to be washing the nappies. She'll be so tired. Unless, bb still get rash lah. So far, my other colleague also say that Pampers brand won't get nappy rash. So, I'm keeping my fingers crossed.

Sleeping deer
Ya, I heard of pple doing amniocentecis and worrying for nothing. Anyway, none of the tests are 100% accurate. yup, I hope can tell bb's gender soon.
He's going on leave before Christmas, so you're not affected.

Hi gals and all newcomers,

I am officially 16 weeks today
Yeah! Going to see gynae this Friday
Yeah yeah!

My evening sickness is almost gone. Occasionally still get bloated. Can eat prawns during lunch but not dinner. Funny huh?! Love to eat bread for lunch and soup for dinner.

I am not taking any herbs but just bird's nest soup once a month. I drink the longan red date drink once a week and the cantonese dessert (soya skin with gingko nut & barley seeds)on alternate weeks. Friends who take the longan red date drink have rosy-cheeked babies and those who take the cantonese dessert, their babies have very nice complexion. So give it a try

krissie: still on buying spree?:p How are the prices there like?

singyee: cloth diaper is better in a sense that you will need to change it once baby pee. Nappy rash is caused by not changing diapers frequently, so urine chemicals get stuck to baby bottom. Cloth diapers more troublesome lar...but if baby got nappy rash, then no choice have to use cloth lor...

Krissie
Pampers newborn quite ex. you will need to change the bb at least 7/8 times a day and if you work on that basis, a pack of pampers have about 30? piece i.e the pact will last 4 days and the pack costs $20+.

MH is right, cloth diaper make better sense but it more messy than disposable.

sysa
I intend to take bird nest twice a month up till 7 mths as too much will cause skin sensitive in bb. I like longan red date drink too but it is quite heaty.

krissie,

i realise i also have the same problem. before i realised i was preggie, my appetitie increased quite a bit and was so prone to gastric. that prompted me to suspect and do the test even though it was only like 4 weeks since my LMP. anyway, the problem seem to have gotten worse so i try to drink milo once i m hungry. sometimes, the pain comes even after eating. dunno why like that. just hope it will go away soon. do u take antacids?

is Pampers newborn made of cotton? i had a fren who said she bought those like 50 cents a piece when the baby was very young. then as baby grew older, she bought cheaper ones. but really quite ex....

sysa,
can you take herbs in 2nd trimester? i only know that you can't take in 1st trimester but not sure about 2nd.... i like herbal stuff and kind of miss eating them. i shall try the longan red date drink. i like that very much. for the gingko barley, my fren also say very good for baby's skin... got to force myself to take it once in a while.

MH,
i wanted to use cloth diapers cos i heard it's better for baby but hubby thinks it's too much work. he doesn't mind the expenses for that. still haven reach a conclusion. i guess this one got to really wait till baby is born.if baby gets nappy rash, then no choice and will have to use cloth diapers. save all the arguments...

Sysa
wow, sounds good, will try. But, is the beancurd skin with barley cooling? I had the impression that it is.

MH
Not really on shopping spree.
But desperate to get bottoms.. dun have much bottoms to wear, so a bit of a crisis. My capri was $59.90 (b4 10% disc). Tops are ard $40+, I think. Long pants ard $69. Designs are quite nice. Some simple, some floral.

Yuenyuen
Ya, I know it's exp.. but no choice lah.. my mum's hand is painful sometimes, if she washes the nappy, am worried that it will make her hand worse.

I am not as lucky as you all.

Neither my mum nor MIL is doing confinement for me and I dun intend to get a CL as I think it's too expensive.

My husband will be taking leave for the first 2 weeks to help me and after that I'll have to handle everything on my own. me very pathetic hor??

No choice since my mum and MIL will be working and I also dun want to trouble them.

Just went to see 2 infant care centres and I only like 1 of them but the 1 I like is more ex than the other so dunno which one to choose.

For baby's comforts, I would choose a
For $$, then got to choose b

The price for a is 50% more than b.

What do you gals think??

Sing Yee
Last week, I still get gastric sometimes after I eat. It's coz the gastric juices are already in the stomach before you eat. No, I dun like the taste of antacids. I also notice, last week had gastric even though I was not very hungry. I think it's the hormones loh.. maybe u try eating more often, like me, 3 normal meals + 2 / 3 tea breaks in between.

hee hee.. dun know Pamper newborn is made of what. My friend recommended it to me.

krissie,

i also had this problem of nothing to wear so i keep shopping and shopping almost every week. just did a count and realise that i bought 1 capri, 5 skirts, 3 pants, 1 shorts and 5 tops. sounds a lot hor. i can still fit about 3 dresses so i rotate amg them. in all, i spent about 700+.

i used to carry crackers in my bag but i got so sick of them so i stop eating them. think i shd pick up the habit. if i keep puking, also no good for the baby.

juliann,
my colleague's sis also did confinement herself. will anyone be cooking for u? it really depends how easy the baby is to care for. her baby was quite easy so she din have much problems. so dun be too overwhelmed...

how much is infant care? i heard that the subsidy nowadays not too bad. got another colleague who puts her baby there. u got anything u want to know? i can help u ask her.

Juliann
What abt 1st 2 weeks hb take leave, then week 3, you mum and week 4, your MIL take leave? It's best to rest well during confinement and I agree CL is exp.

How much is it for a and b infant care?

MH,
thanks for the info, the modern cloth diapers looks super cool! Amazing that baby clothing has advanced so much, I never knew about this, quite sua ku huh?

Anyone used the modern cloth diaper before? Any comments?

Pretty keen to try it out...

Not sure if anyone had the same problem as me. I'm 3 mths pregnant and i had such a hard time finding nice maternity clothes!

Last week i chanced upon a store in Specialists' Centre called Maternity Exchange. The clothes there are fabulous!!! And they let you rent or buy clothes, so you can actually get many wonderful pieces at very cheap prices. The clothes are very pretty too, they're actually very modern, and don't look like the normal maternity wear you find. I was so happy with my finds!

Anyway if anyone is interested , their website is www.maternityexchange.sg

MH

This is exactly that ones I'm considering using. But price a bit steep hor? I'm looking at alternatives too. Do u know if there's other brands around?

Thanks, mushybrainz & curly! So many different tests...so confusing! I tink will double check with gynae wat tests he intend to conduct on me on my next visit.

Just to share with u gals, my sil took birdnest abt once a month during pregnancy and my nephew has sensitive skin till now...he is 3.5yrs old. Very prone to rashes & itchy skin on neck & back. So on the safe side, i tink take in moderation is safer. I intend to take maybe ard 2x in each trimester. I m a birdnest lover since young... so initially thot pregnant got good excuse to eat more BN but now have to tell hubby to buy more after delivering. To reward myself instead!

Regarding those cloth diapers... saw my nephew wearing it last time... sometimes too much bb poo & pee will cause leakage quite easily. Also, if not worn properly, it will also leak out. But worth trying cos if it works effectively on your bb, it will help save $$$!

hi apple,
no, i'm only starting it on my next appt when i'm week 16. Dr Chan only start the package from, i think, week 14 or week 16 onwards.