(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

pochacco
how many weeks are you?
hmm.. i heard around week 16 bah...

hi celine
i am asking around for contacts. haha... your EDD when?

Hi Sunny, I am also planning to get CL. Planning to start looking this weekend.

Hi Pochacco, i heard from pple that if it's a boy, u can know as early as 3 months! But it always depends on the position of your baby.

where to find non under wired one? i am wearing wired one now and it's uncomfortable leh.....cham...triump have or not but i want those plain ones leh hee ehe dun like lacy lacy ones hee hee :p if say now i wear 34B then i should buy 34C or buy 36C??

sunny, this sun will be wk 15, next wk 16 will visit gynae, hopefully can see gender as wish to buy some bb clothing so sweet...

Sing Yee, i think boy easier to identify tat why as early as 3mths can know already. week 12 i go to gynae, my bb stretch the body for us to see but never hear the gynae commenting if it is boy or girl... next week go and ask him if he can tell...

what are the "BU" you gals are taking now???

hi pochacco
hope you can see the gender in your next visit.

bu? hmmm.... i haven't taken any leh. you leh?

my colleague took pao sheng from day 1 to deliver leh...

sunny

think it's std fees lor. but u might wanna call them and check. With FBI, u get additional 5% off.

Still bleeding on & off. But used to it liao lah. Think it's just the polyps. So long as don't have alot of blood/cramps can lor.

sunny - me have not started, but it seem quite late to start so cannot waste too much time... this weekend will cook some bird nest to drink and buy "Dong Chong Cao"(very expensive, heard $200 to cook 3 times) to bu...

CL veri expensive hor... and that excludes the tonic and foods cost..

mashi, what's polyps?

pochacco, ya loh, it's ex..... what other herbs we can take to bu? i plan to see sinsei. hehe...

Hi Sunny,
my EDD is 27th Jan. CNY eve. so definitely will clash and will be very ex!! So better start looking. I just heard that my neighbour's daughter got one for about 1.7K and also near CNY. so may still be possible to get one below 2K. normally if u don't ask them to stay during CNY it will be cheaper.

Hi Pochacco, hope you can tell the gender the next visit! I also hope can see soon so can start buying some baby stuff. they look so cute...

not sure abt what bu to take. some books say dun take in the first trimester as it will affect the development of the baby. best is still to go for balanced diet.

Etelle,
I read the latest motherhood. They never really specify what kind of bu. they just say dun take tonics...dunno whether that covers bird nest. i take a bit of bird nest only. like once every few weeks. my colleague told me not to take too much cos she say some baby's skin becomes sensitive when the mother takes too much bird's nest. that one dunno true or not. the rest of the bu like ginseng etc (anything heaty) i dun take now.

hee...seems like many of us will be spending CNY at home in confinement..... we can keep ourselves occupied by coming back to surf the net

getting a CL over CNY reali beri exp, usually >$2.2k. wat's more, they dun work for 4 days - 2 days before and after CNY. i've given up looking for one, will ask my mum for help.

yuen yuen/babylon
How u second-time mums doing?

etelle
Not advisable to take herbs or such...
I stop taking tuna for my first pregnancy and now... gynae advised me against it... Also for other big fishes like stingray due to possible mercury content in the fishes... but I suppose if one really takes a big amount then it's dangerous right... so everything in moderation.

Recently my mum made black chicken soup for me but without all the herbs....

chua
Your EDD is the same as mine but I figure mine may be early... my boi came out a week earlier...he was already rather big...
I read somewhere that bird's nest nutritional content is so-so only and according to my mum and aunt, it causes phlegm in NBs... I dun know how true, I only took twice in my first trimester and stopped after that. I take well-balanced diet is more important hehe!!!!

I dun think you'll be so free to be surfing the net during confinement.. cos u will still have to look after bb (even with CL's help) and if u intend to b/feed, then you are almost on call for 24 hours..haha! Trust me, and u need to rest and recuperate too. But it's still a joy to hold the bb in our arms............

sunny
CL v expensive during CNY period. Yah, it could be up to $2400 and not many of them wanna do cos many are malaysians and wanna go back to hometown for the CNY. FYI.

berlin
I got a lot my pants from Thyme... like their cut. I like their maternity panties too...v comfy!!!! They just had a good sale! Wonder when will be their next one??? Do u work around OUB area??

krissie
What sort of maternity pants are u looking for? Have u checked Thyme Maternity? U may want to take a look, prices around $89 per pair before discount. They also have jeans. They have under belly, belly wrap or the adjustable straps. But being canadian sizing, their lengths may stimes be a bit long unless one is tall. Worth investing in a good pair. I have looked around but I still prefer their pants cos they are of good material and can last all the way till delivery. I even lent some to my gfs.....

Any kick in tummy yet? Hehe...

hihi i juz came back from thyme maternity. bot a pencil skirt. $89. i tried on their pants but don't suit me at all maybe coz my legs are very slim so the pants seems very baggy. i suppose coz it's angmoh size. dat's y.

wenyl, IMO, maternity bras has more rooms to stretch than normal bras even if you have bra extenders. I went spring this afternoon, bought myself a capri. Saw another preggie trying on a pants, looks so comfy, $15 only but last piece liao. Think she will grab it, told her it's very nice and comfy and most of all, CHEAP.

Krissie, those I bought are without padding. They have in both with and without wire.

Celine, I ask the gals at thyme if they sell maternity strapless bras. They say no, usually they are with strap for good support.

stylobb, I haven't tried any of their pants yet. Their panties are really comfy. Those cheap cheap granny panties that I bought cannot make it leh. Guess I have to junk them aside for my confinement use. Thought they are still carrying on their sale for some items? I'm working at tanjong pagar area. How about you?

now that we are on the topic of shopping, only maternity shops sell maternity bra and panties? can't find them in normal shopping centres?

stylobb, thanks for the advice. most books that i read also say go for well balanced diet so shall just try my best to do that

i m quite small size but my tummy is already showing so i can't fit into most of my clothes. i find it quite difficult to buy maternity wear as they are usually quite big. any recommendations where their sizes are usually smaller? so far i have bought from spring, swell and bellysima.

To 2nd time mums, did most of you get CL for your first baby? I am thinking between getting a maid or getting CL as CL is really quite ex. But i would think getting CL is better right?

styloBB,

i realised that my boy become more mischievous after i pregnant. Some old folks said this is very common.
Wonder how the rest of 2x MTB coping?
Did you child behave unusal after you pregnant.
Can he/she accept their new bb sis/bro.
my son still cannot accept the fact.

berlin
Heeheee...me too....same area as u.....
Granny panties...haha...I ever bot XL but after a while, they really dun make the cut..thot I would use them during confinement but looked so or-bit and loose...hehe... I like the ribbed ones at Thyme...actually thot after my first one, won't need them so soon, scully.......hehe... beta too, after this, close shop....
I also bot a few tops from Thyme last time but becos a lot of their tops are long sleeves, I find them not so practical in our hot weather.....recently I bot two pairs of capris and a pair of shorts...
Any suggestion where to get nice tops??? I am recycling those from my first pregnancy..thankfully they are still in good condition ..

chua
You average height? Me also looking for some nice tops... but no avail... so recycle so far...haha...
I am quite fussy when it comes to tops cos I dun look good in those too feminine or flowery stuff...

CL - cost is one issue... v exp during CNY period. Availability is another.
Actually me/hb dislike having a stranger in our flat so we got someone who came to bathe bb and cook for us, she did not stay over. We also had a part-time cleaner to clean our flat. As I was also b/feeding, I did not see the need for a CL since I was feeding bb myself at nite. Depends on what u want. But believe me, it was not easy, tiring but we managed somehow. Hb's support and help is also v important.
Think it's good that u ask around and get recommendations. Some CLs are not pro-b/feeding so they will discourage the mummies which I dun like. Some will insist on doing things their way. I was already up to my neck with major adjustment with a bb and did not need another person to harp on things. Must say my mum and mil also helped us quite a bit..thanks to them. I have a few friends who could not take their CLs and asked them to leave......hehe...

babylong
He is v sticky, is it? Think u mentioned he is 2.5 years, did I remember correctly?
FYI I miscarried in Mar, that time my boi v sticky, but this time round, he is ok, still wants me stimes but not so bad, I try to hug him as much as I can since I can't carry him and walk around. I think he just wants attention. Also not fair to expect them to know or accept...think it takes time. My boi too young to realise leh....
Btw, who are the other 2nd time mums besides yuen yuen?

Stylobb, i m about 1.54m. quite small size. i often flip magazines and get ideas on where to shop. so far still digging out the bigger size clothes to wear but not many left.

when u mention u got someone to bathe bb and cook for u, is she a part-timer or your mother or mil? I think this is quite a good idea.

I have been getting contacts for CL. so will start asking soon...

chua
Did u try 9mois then? I hear they do have some stuff... but their designs are not to my liking so far.
Hehe...then u flip and find anything nice, tell us hor.. me no time to look nowadays, only have time to read after my boi sleeps.

The person is a actually a friend of my mil. She happened to be available that time to help, she wasn't that good (my mil and mum didn't like, but hey, doubt anyone will meet their standards!) but we were ok lah. Actually mothers make a big deal out of confinement, of course they say beta adhere to the rules so that when we are old, we dun get aches and pains.. but me also not sure if really so effective....
Your mum or mil on standby to help u??

babylon: my girl is quite cranky in the beginning but now she is getting better. I dun think she know the meaning of sibling yet.

For me I still like my minis. Those panties that cover my stomach makes me really uncomfortable.

styloBB
ya, checked out thyme. There cutting for bottoms dun suit me. I saw one quite nice pair at 9mois. But, it is slightly above the ankle. I thot of getting a full length pair, so can wear to work. Will try to pop over to see again. I find the tops at Spring and 9mois quite nice. From the website, Mothers En Vogue seems quite nice, but I've not been to the shop.

No kick in tummy yet.. I think not so soon for me. maybe 3-4 weeks later?

Sing Yee
Try 9mois.

Berlin
Hee hee, I prefer slight padding. Maybe go see the Triumph counter tomorrow. Wah, need to buy a lot of things, bra, swimming costume, pants.

Stylobb, we are so near! Maybe we could meet up for lunch. I don't suit floral tops, makes me look aunty-ish. I get floral skirts instead to top it off with a plain top. I got my plain tops from topshop and dorothy perkins maternity, cheap and suit me. I don't really buy maternity wear, I got some pieces from M)phosis. Like their doll dresses, can recycle after birth.

Krissie, today is my shopping day after work. going to hunt for more tops. I bought my swimwear online and waiting for it to arrive, hopefully next week. I check with Tannlines wisma, they may carry maternity swimwear in Aug.
Check it out.

stylobb: My gal is 25 months old, I dun feel the need to buy maternity panties cos they are more expensive and my normal ones fit me well.

Hi Berlin/Stylobb
I work at Tanjong Pagar area too. I brought materity wear from Perfect Mums as it is near my office and I am also very tired so only shop around the office.

I sometimes need to work late too and so don't have much opportunities to shop around yet.

Does any of the MTB work late ? and how late do you work ? Recently I was assigned a big project and have been very stress out trying to meet all the deadline.

have you gals tried marton bell? i went there yesterday and find some of their clothes cutting quite small and they do alteration for you as well. initially i tot it was some ang moh brand but turned out to be local. they having 15% off now.

will go try 9mois. i went in once but was in a hurry and din try anything. but the price tags doesn't look cheap.

Berlin, does topshop and dorothy perkins sell maternity wear? must check it out then

Yuenyuen, nowadays i dun work late anymore. can't even keep awake and feel so tired the next day.

anyone know where is a good place to get maternity bra and swimwear? i checked out mothercare and marks and spencer yesterday. M&S is as usual not cheap.

Yuenyuen, are you the same building as me? IP? I don't shop at perfect mum, their price not cheap, even when sales (5% only, 2pc 10%).

Singyee, where is marton bell? Tot it was at untied Sq but I couldn't find it. Their price quite ex also rite?
Topshop maternity is only at wisma, DP at bugis and marina sq. I suggest you go thyme (OUB centre still having maternity bra sale $19, swimwear 20% off, tag price: $109) not sure if other outlets also carry the same sale.

Stylobb,
my mil did offer to come over but i think i wd be more comfortable with my own mum but she stays too far. so we haven decided on the arrangement. what my boss did when his wife gave birth to their first kid was to get both CL and maid and the CL trained the maid and then for the next kid, the maid knows how to do everything. tot that is a good but expensive idea.

Berlin,
Marton bell is at novena and centrepoint. the one at centrepoint seems bigger and more clothes to choose from and the 2 aunties there very nice. she waived the alteration charges (not much but nice gesture). OUB centre has this shop called Cloud9 as well is it? I saw in mag but haven been there yet.

must make time to thyme soon before the sale ends....

berlin/yuen yuen
Ok, looks like we found a common place.... we shud arrange for lunch one of these days! Scully you all work next door!!! Hiak...hiak...hiak...
Um...I look terrible in dresses... so I am usually in pants or my trusty black Thyme skirt....

yuen yuen
I dun need to work late but stimes my work is stressful due to deadlines and all... try not to stress yourself... not worth it. I feel my fatigue more this time...

MH
It's true, the m.panties are not cheap but I bot them last time... when the tummy grows, really appreciate the stretchability......

berlin
Were u the one who ordered online?? I used to buy my tops from Motherhood.... I saw some that I want to get but haven't gotten down to doing it.. used to have my gf send to me from canada but she is no longer living there....
The thing is I have a lot of basic stuff like black pants, brown pants, blue pants, denims, just thot of spucing up the outfit sometimes..

What is that shop at Plaza Singapura called?? Quite near to 9mois.

krissie
I have heard of Mother en Vogue but have not seen their stuff, think I ever went to their website.... as I am wearing my prev maternity stuff, I hope I won't spend unnecessarily this time...

singyee
I dun like the stuff at Marton Bell.
How is cloud9??? berlin, u have any idea?

Sounds expensive indeed.... I dun think I can take in so many strangers at my place...too stressful!!!

Berlin
Thanks. Where is tannlines?

Yuen yuen
I've been working that late too, since preggie, usually leave ard 7 or 7+pm.

i bought 4 pieces (2 tops, i skirt and 1 pants) for about 211.

i saw in mag the cloud9 clothes look not bad but i haven been there. think will check it out one day.

Singyee, it's my first attempt buying online. Package still flying somewhere. The last time, I ride on an online spree at other forums.

Cloud9, I only browse thru once. Hmmm.. something like thyme, not bad. Price wise, I still find it on high side. I'm a cheapo looking for nice and good buys.

Krissie,
Tannlines wisma is along the same level as Esprit. The price might not be cheap though.

i also trying to find cheap buys. been spending too much shopping. so now asking frens for tips on how to make my wardrobe more interesting. will share when i have useful stuff.

anyone going for prenatal massage?

Berlin - my office not in IP but opp. at Capital Tower.

Anyone know where to buy strapless materity bra ? When to Robinson and MS today, didn't see any. I also hear that should get those without underwire as it will affect the milk glands.

babylon
My girl is quite ok with the new bb. I brought her together to the gynae once and she saw the bb moving and heartbeat and was really excited. She also talk to the bb at night.

I think she reacted this way because she is already 4.5yrs old and understand that she have to help me take care of the new bb.

But some pp are telling me it will be different when she actually see the bb after delivery and behaviour might change.

To 2nd time mums,

i was reading some threads of those giving birth earlier and i am a bit confused of the tests (blood test, scans etc) that we are supposed to take. which are optional and which are complusory and when will they be taken?

yuenyuen: think it will be quite hard to hard a wireless strapless bra.

sin yee: these are the following tests
NT scan (11-14 weeks)- encouraged, usually gynae will do
Triple Test(same as above) - Optional
Amniocentesis/CVS (12-16 weeks) - not done usually unlesss NT scan result/Triple Test is unfavourable
Antenal Blood Test (depends on gynae) - compulsory
Detailed Ultrasound Scan (20 weeks)- encouraged, usually gynae will do