(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Hi Yuen Yuen,

U find the longan red date drink too heaty? Same like my cousin-in-law. Her blood pressure will go up every time she takes it. I love the drink and so far, don't have any reaction to it. I drink abt 5 normal glasses of it every weekend.

Hi Sing Yee,

Don't intend to take any thing herbal. I only cook more nourishing soup. Add more wolfberries (little red looking seeds) in the soup. Good for baby too. Anyway, the bird nest that I drink is once a month. Some pple have said their babies come out with good skin while some have sensitive skin. So I think it really depends on the individual baby.

Hi Krissie,

So far, have not heard that the dessert is cooling. If it is, then take in moderation.

Think it's important that everything is taken in moderation. Then there's a good balance.

mashy: I have not tried any of these cloth diapers cos I was using the old-type nappy that my relative passed to me. I think they are economical compared to disposable and of course environmentally friendly.

anyone's mum helping you with the confinement? I'm thinking of asking my mum to help but she worries my MIL will take offence. so, juz wondering if u ladies have your mums helping out?

hihi ladies, does anyone of u have contacts for good confinement lady? have been trying to find one but haven't been successful. coz alot of them don't want to work during CNY.

Bao bao,
hee i also wanted boy for first child but hubby wants girl. dunno lah. hope can see on my next visit. my fren knew at 12 weeks. so fast!

pup_pup
I am moving to my mum place for confinement and my MIL will help to bring my older girl back from K1 to my mum place. I got my husband to talk to my MIL as I am not very close with her.

sysa,
i try to remind myself to eat everything in moderation. hee sometimes got craving for hot dog but i read in a book dun eat too much cos these are pre cook and not very good.

wenyl,
i also intend to take bird nest 2 times each trimester also. key is to take in moderation.

hee..want to try the longan red date drink this weekend. i cook it at home sometimes but nowadays too lazy.

Hi Pup,

My mum is helping out for my confinement. I prefer her to as it is easier for mothers and daughter to discuss things.

If you are thinking of asking your mum, then sound your MIL out early.

sing yee, heard tat if it's a boy, the gynae can usually tell at 3 mths. but of coz, it depends on the position of the BB during the scan. Me like u, hoping for a boy but hubby wans a gal.

pup_pup
my fren had a girl but she knew at 3 months! that was really fast. when will you know yours?

initially my hubby wanted to ask my MIL. but i kept emphasizing that i need to be comfortable etc and i find it hard to ask MIL to do things. then he finally gave in to getting a CL. do u think u need to get hubby support on this? getting him to say no to MIL easier than ourselves to do it...

r u ladies tired easily? i get tired fr evening when i was <12 weeks. now, i'm in my week 13 but i seem more tired and keeps yawning after lunch. also, do u take chrysanthemum tea? thinking of boiling 1 big pot and store in the fridge, sometimes, juz wana drink cold drinks, but am afraid it'll be too cooling.

i'm going to see my gynae next week, hopefully we'll know lor, me quite anxious to know too.

hubby shd be the one telling MIL, i feel she'll better understand then. if we open our mouths, MIl may take it the wrong way.

pup pup
my mum will help me with confinement. MIL is working.

sysa
the longan red date drink sounds nice. I'll ask my mum to make for me soon.

hee hee.. last night I went to 9mois and bought another 2 pants. One white capris and one long black pants. They have a offer in a mag, 10% for purchases >$80. the salesgirl was very nice to give me the card. So, after disc was $151. Wow... spent $200 on 3 pants yest. But, I loved the cutting of the white capris and couldn't resist.

chrysanthemum tea is on the cooling side.. 1 pot seems a bit too much.. I think 1 glass shld be ok lah.

pup pup
me too. today i feel like taking 1/2 day to rest, keeps yawning even in the morning. chrysanthemum tea is cooling, i feel worse if it is cold. better to avoid.

my MIL wanted me to stay with her &amp; employ a CL. Says there's some superstition that mom cannot take care of daughter (anyway, mine's stepmom) Full of crap. Decided to stay put since my stepmom's staying with me. Will let my stepmom take care of me. Haven't told my MIL of our decision yet though.

so many things to avoid and wat's more, the appetite already not so gd. i reali envy those MTB who have no such appetite loss.. ehhee.. envy

pup pup

My granny took care of all my aunts during their confinement. No problem at all. So don't worry. Many moms take care of their daughters during confinement nowadays. My MIL just wanna spend time with their grandchild lah. Coz everything else will be handled by CL &amp; she's working.

pup pup, when is your EDD? i m also in my 13th week. mine is on 27th Jan. i also feel tired quite easily. nowsadys i can't stop yawning after lunch! lucky got this forum or i sure fall asleep. in the mornings, i find it sooo hard to wake up.

krissie,
is 9mois ex? i went in once and saw their jeans at >100..was a bit shocked as it's something i will only wear for a few months. feel like getting some casual wear as i only have 1 capris now and seem to be wearing that all the time during weekends.

yuenyuen, can drink lime juice or not? sometimes i do drink it but dunno whether it's considered cooling or not.
i stopped drinking all the chrysanthemum etc since preggie. kind of miss it once in a while.

i also envy those who have no MS at all. my colleague who is 3 months ahead of me got NO symptoms at all...so lucky right?

my EDD is on 20th Jan leh.. hopefully will delay, wana have a doggy BB.

i bought 1 skirt and 1 capri pants and it's already $100 at marton-bell.. so exp! but i reali too tired to walk anymore to shop ard for more offers.. no choice lor

pup pup,
do u work ard somerset area? cos i also shop there when i too tired to walk far...

mashy brianz,
yah, looking at those who have no symptoms, u really envy them. i still have my cramps and MS. hope it will go away soon. and also get pimples too!!

chua
I think lime juice is OK, i myself drank some but not excessively. I have MS, this morning puke out my breakfast although I was trying hard to keep it in. I am on my second tri already and why is MS still around, i thought it is suppose to stop after first tri.

pup pup - me too, too tired to walk around so also end up buy maternity clothes from the nearest shop from my office although I think it is a bit ex. what to do...

pup_pup,
my mum is also doing my confinement. Initially she did ask me whether MIL will be offended if she does it, but i reassured her that it's ok. my MIL's sister did for her daughter, so think she should be fine with it. Yah, get your hubby to tell her, don't be the bad guy.

Sing Yee/pup_pup,
i also got mild MS in 1st trimester, and always hungry, though no appetite to eat at all.

But now 14th week, MS seems to be subsiding (touch wood!), and more or less back to normal, but still need to work up appetite to eat sometimes.

Sing Yee

According to my gynae, no good to have cramps. U might wanna check with your gynae. I was on progesterone for a long while becoz of that.

yuen
not everyone's MS stops at the end of 1st tri. Some went on to 4-6mths. Some have it till they deliver. Hope you're not one of the unlucky ones.

You gals are very lucky to have mum or MIL to do confinement for you.

Poor me got to suffer alone...haiz.....

My husband will cook and do housework for me while i take care of the baby. Also dunno I can cope myself or not??

juliann

why don't u consider getting a CL? Coz' it'll be very tough. If not, order confinement food from caterer, at least your hb don't need to cook. Just do housework &amp; take care of bb. I think it's diff to take care of bb by yourself esp during the 1st mth. U should just rest. Unless you're breastfeeding. I heard that after delivery, you'll be super tired. Can't do anything. So it's good to get some help.

a centre :

- nearer to my home
- enviroment is clean and quiet
- The ratio is 1 teacher : 3 babies
- maximum intake of babies in the centre is 10
- cost about $700 per month after govt susidies
- babies sleep in air conditioned rooms
- the staff appear to be very friendly and helpful

b centre :

- a bit further away from my home
- the centre is located directly in front of the noisy expressway
- centre has too many children and this added to the noise from the expressway.
- maximum intake of babies is 20
- price is $400 after govt susidies
- ratio is 1 teached to 4 babies
- babies sleep in room with ceiling fans

Which one will you choose??

juliann

really depends on your budget too. I think if u can afford, then go for the more ex one lor. Teacher baby ratio is important, coz that will reflect how much attention your bb will get. Also, the less children in the centre, the better, less chances of infection.

But bb sleep in room with ceiling fans are better (remember SARS? Germs don't spread so much), except for the amt of dust your bb will have to breathe since it's near the expressway.

Hi mashy brainz,

A CL is out of my budget.

Will consider about the confinement food caterer, anyone has any contacts???

This type of arrangement really is out of no choice cos there is really no one for us to depend on.

Sometimes it seems that neither my mum nor my MIL show interest in my pregnancy.

I think both of them appear rather bo chup and this makes me feel very sad.

When I told both of them abt the news, they oso dun show any excitment or happiness, their answer in only "orh".

juliann

Don't be sad. Maybe they're happier than they show it. Do they already have many other grandchildren?

My father also didn't show alot of interest. He just congratulated me, like as if 'thankfully, you can get preg'. But later, i know that he asked my stepmom to cook some bu for me during 2nd tri. So maybe some elders just don't know how to show it lor.

mashy, puppup: fyi, my mum took care of me during my first confinement.

juliann: ur mum not willing to do confiement for u har? my mum oso just say orh when I told her.

Hi MH,

My mum is self employed and she will be very busy during the CNY period as that's the peak period for businesses.

My MIL is working and she stays quite far away from me and she oso has her own family to take care of.

I've talked to her, she says it's difficult for her to apply for leave during CNY period cos most of the Malaysians wants to go back hometown.

clarawee,
I browse thru the webby. The clothes are really nice and trendy. But in actual, are there such pieces they carry in the store? What is the price range like? Those that we can buy, are they recycle from rental items? Thanks.

berlin

i think this clara wee is a fake one. She says she's 3 mths preg here, 2 days ago, she says she's 5mths preg at another thread she created. Also same thing, to promote that shop.

Hi mashy brainz,

Now suddenly I am so worried about my finances.

Having a baby is really no cheap in Singapore.

Have to worry about hospital and delivering charges, confinement catering,baby's necessities,infant care etc etc......

Looks like me and hubby got to start saving from now on and I should not spend $$ on maternity clothing anymore.

yuenyuen,
i also have been puking out my breakfast. think cos of my gastric juice. hee my trick is that if i puke when i wake up before eating anything, i dun puke my breakfast.

some say it will only get better at about 14 weeks...

juliann

me too. I'm not working now. Depending on my hb only.

Hospital/Delivery charges still ok if bb is healthy. can just be a few hundred dollars, just go for 4 bedded lor. After all, just stay 1-2 nights only. I heard TMC got only 1 4-bedded room, so, i'm going to try my luck and see whether i can get a free upgrade. :p

Yah, try to save on maternity clothing. Bb's stuff can buy some second hand since they outgrow so fast. Or ask friends/relatives to see whether they can pass some of their bb's stuff to u. Can save quite a bit.

Later it'll get more ex. Diapers, disposable, vaccinations, infant care. It all adds up. So better to save now than regret later.

Juliann,
i know it's easier said than done but try not to worry so much. yesterday a colleague came by and i told her some concerns of mine. she said if it's about money, try not to let it get to me now cos it will really affect the baby. she kept very positive and happy during her pregnancy and she got a very happy baby.

sometimes i think i worry about things too much cos i just keep thinking and thinking and it gets worse. if your baby turns out to be easy to care for, it will not be too hard for u. my colleague's sis also have no confinement lady during her 1st month. she only got her mum to cook for her. if you get confinement caterer, that will help you somewhat.

must really try to remain positive.

as for parents' reaction, when i first told my mum, she din sound too excited as well. she just asked me why so fast (cos i ROM last year and only had my customary this year). but subsequently, i can see in small ways that she cares.