(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Yah Etelle, that was what my hubby told me. So far, my 2 previous were captured on tape.

Confused, think I'll ask Dr Chew abt the dvd/cd this Sat. My hubby said it costs around $300!!

taka, I also dont know Dr Chew's package? I was charged $65 when I went to confirm my pregnancy. The scan fee is expensive though ($90). As for the waiting time, think it all depends on the patients before you. But the nurse said it's best to go before 9am!

Confused
Haven really decided yet leh.

Confused, first time visit was around $150 including supplements like calcuim, folic and iron. Second visit was $100, including supplements too.

Dr. Chew's consultation is each time $55? I thought usually second consultation fee onwards is always cheaper than the first time?

girsl: Dun u find it wierd that the gynaes are encouraging u to take triple tests even though it has high false positive? So why are are they so for it?

When I had my first baby at 27, my gynae leave it to me, never strongly encourage me to go for it.

taka - no fist time consultation fee is higher (so sorry i cant remember the charges liao) so far the following consultation is around $55.00 leh. But last fri consultation fee $75.00 (when for N/T scan) i usually waited for abt 15-30 minutes. Although the charges is a bit high but i find it worth it lor. (last mth i bleed n i Dr abt to go off liao, i called them n they wait for me)

Wow! your charge cheap leh. Do u have to pay for the normal scanning?

Curly - Can check liao n let me know. i very curious leh, if have next time i oso want leh. As a memory.

Confused,

The normal scanning is $50 and consultation is $35,i think. I did my NT scan last time and there was no extra charges on that.

But heard Dr. Chew is really good and very experience.

All,
Not sure if you remember my previous post on the DS test... My doc tells me that the triple test is only 60% accurate. He says that most woman below age 30 will not be of high risk. And he said so far, all of his patients who are placed on high risk after the first test went on to take the amniocentesis. And all those who had high risk results after the amnio have babies who turned out perfectly normal. In other words, none of his patients had DS kids even though they are tested high risk in all the tests.

I think different gynaes probably feel differently about these tests. My gynae was not encouraging or discouraging. He says the decision is strictly personal unless the mother's medical condition or history deem the test compulsory. The good thing is he just gave the actual facts and figures and ask me to think about it. He did mention that mothers below 30 should not be too worried about DS. He says despite the high false positives, 50% of his patients will still go for it while the other 50% won't.

For those who has taken the NT scan, the results will probably help you decide? Cos the NT scan results can give a rough indication of the chances of DS. My gynae uses some computer program to calculate the DS risk based on my age and the measurement of the baby's neck folds. Turns out to be only 1:7300. So I have decided not to take anymore tests for DS.

One more thing to add, I think if you will never abort the baby because of religion or personal belief, then no point doing the tests lah. Save the money. Unless you feel that test results will help you be more mentally and emotionally prepared, just in case.

For those whose gynae recommend taking the triple test, perhaps you can ask them why?

MH

went to see gynae today. Baby's grown well, now 4.15cm.
So happy to see him(or her).

Still have MS.
And bleeding.
Gynae says could be polyps as the womb looks good and there's no bleeding in the surrounding area.

Can't wait for 1st trimester to be over. That'll be another 2-3 weeks more.

How abt u?

does anyone encounter blood trace when you puke. Last night i puke 4x and there is blood trace when i puke the last time last night.

Today puke twice liao. Both time have blood trace. Abit lar not alot. Dunno whether is ok anot. My MS didnt get any better.

jappooh
Previously I have quite bad MS i.e. puke all dinner and anything that I take subsequently even water but there is no blood trace before.

I think you better check with doctor.

mashy: saw in another thread that u still got bleeding, must take care. I am 11 weeks today, so anothet 2 weeks before I step into second trimester.

Me oso got MS, appetite still not very good, eat too fast, a little bit more will have urge to puke.

Luckily, I think I got gain 1 kg.

Jappooh: monitor lor, if still there after today, go see gynae.

Girls
i also agree that unless you want to abort the baby then you do the DS test if not if you know the result then if it's positive and you're not going to abort, you're gonna face the pregnancy with a heavy heart.

For me hubby said he will ask me to abort if DS cuz he said DS baby bring them to earth will make them suffer cuz how long can you take care of them and how can they take care of themselves? their life will never be normal. I know God will give me a perfect, healthy normal child. So

Jappooh,
When I had MS before in the first trimester, twice I found blood traces, but it's really traces lah. After the 2 times, no more liao, so I just ignore it. Maybe it's over exertion when vomiting... but if you have blood everytime you MS, think better check with your gynae.

Mashy,
You take care. My friend who is trying to conceive also has polyps in her womb. But I think it's not dangerous... So not to worry. Just be careful in whatever you do.

thanks etelle

gynae says maybe polyps so now i'm not so worried liao. so long as no pain that comes with the bleeding, i should be fine.

Queen
Thanks for the advise. I was also shocked that the book says it's only 60% accurate for <30yrs old. I took the N/T scan already. Results are good, but I don't know it's 1:xxx?

Mashy
Great to hear bb is growing well. You rest well lah..

Jappooh
I have not had blood in my puke. But, had blood in my phelgm when my cough was real bad last time. Doc says could be that I cough too hard, then cause the small blood capillaries in the throat to burst. So, maybe you vomit too hard, that's why maybe got blood. If it persists, better go see doc.

HI girls
I ate subway tuna sandwich just now and after a while felt discomfort in the stomach. Feel like puking but nothing come out. Then the feeling came again like gushing up from your abdomen to chest but yet only keep puking saliva....cannot eat tuna ah? Cuz raw is it? uncooked?? Pls advise. Feeling uncomfortable right now.

Hi wenyl
Oooh yah maybe too fishy...
cannnot eat leh whole night in discomfort. Now better liao hee hee :p Thanks. Hubby was saying you crave for it then in the end you puke it out think baby don't like ha ha before pregnant i could eat it without any problem leh ha ha :p

Sigh! Me going to 2nd trim. now shld be in my 13 weeks but the nausea feeling isnt going away!!! Any of u also experiencing the same????
Instead I felt more terrible especially during dinner time. Sometimes got to stop eating for a while as the urge to puke is really strong. Really praying hard to have good appetite. Aint putting on weight only feel tummy bloated that's all.

Went down to Spring Arcade yesterday. Cldnt find anyting suitable. Saw many large sizes left. Totally agree that the salesgal at Perfect Mum is very pushy. I noticed that their prices are quite ex. Saw the label "Made in Australia" but upon asking the salesgal, they say their fabric from Japan. Clothes locally sewn. "Made in Australia" only refers to the washing labels!!! Huh...like dat also can!

Etelle,

During my first 12 weeks (if i remember correctly), i was so scare of fish and prawn smell, they made me wanted to puke. But now i am ok with fish but not prawn. So think you are sensitive to fish smell now. May be have to wait till you feel comfortable with the smell again.

Hi Wenyl,i'm oso in my 13th week and yes, i still experience MS in the evening. like urself, dinner time is an ordeal... think we same same, i oso haven't put on any weight. but can see a little pouch loh.

i was actually thinking of going down to spring arcarde but after hearing u said there are only large sizes left. then i think i shall not bother. i already bot some clothes from Perfect Mum yesterday. infact today, is the first time i put on maternity pants. boy it feels soooo comfy! but agree that it's quite exp. i spent a total of $550 there. bot 5 bottoms and 3 tops and one maternity cum nursing strapless bra

celine,

you EDD and mine is very closed. I can see that my ms subsided alot not so much liao.
I only feel that i am sensitive to sour thing. After eating, i feel like throwing out...i avoid that. Funny most preggie woman would like to take sour stuffs...but i can't simply take it.

hi babylon,

oh yes! our EDD very close. keke...
good for u. my MS still persist. infact last week i still had this terrible headache that wouldn't go away for 2 whole days. couldn't sleep nor eat due to eat. it was a total ordeal. took panadol but didn't work. finally eventually it decided to go away... phew!

i still like sour stuff. esp penang laksa and tomyam soup. sour and spicy. best! :p

Wendyl, Celine
I'm starting week 15 today. Still have mild m/s in the evening. But, it's much better than in the 1st tri. Officically, 1st tri is up to end of week 13, so maybe next week, you'll start feeling better. Good luck.

Anyone knows where has nice maternity pants? I thot of investing in a pair with nice cutting. I saw this preg woman this morning who looked gorgeous. So, I'm inspired to get a pair of nice mat pants.

Hi Taka
but when i smell the tuna i am alright with it leh. it is still tasy when i eat but onyl after it short while the puke urge is so strong leh. I felt discomfort. Want to puke nothing comes out. Then my hubby said it's like m/s lor...then ah now u kow how others are going through ha h...that one times is enough so now i know u girls when havingm/s the feelings is unbreable. Don't puke it out seems like stuck in the chest. Then sit cannto stand cannot lie down cannot....sigh...

hi krissie,
ic...can't wait to say byebye to MS! :p

i oso don't know where to get. the one i got from perfect mum is like trackpants material. quite aunty. but bo bian, i run out of pants to wear liao. at least the cutting fits me, not too baggy and long enuff. let me know if u found nice pants, i oso want to buy. thks!

babylon, ic... i'm not the only one. phew!

btw does anyone have a list of websites which sells maternity clothes online? i have seen some of u posted but it's everywhere in the forum, i can't remember liao :p

Just found out about this forum from a friend and found it to be really good! I went thru quite a few of these experiences and as a first time mum, it is quite a relief reading about all your experiences.

I surf the net quite often for online websites. Some of those that I found
www.bellysima.com.sg ( i went to this and bought 2 bottoms and 1 top for about 140)
www.newmaternity.com
www.motherswork.com.sg

some of them are on my PC at home so i shall go back and dig them out and share.

hi sing yee,
welcome to the forum! are u a jan 06 MTM too?

thks for sharing. will greatly appreciate if u can provide more links. thks heaps! :D

Hi Celine,

Yup, my EDD is on 27 Jan! CNY's eve. Kinda hoping it will be earlier so I don't have to spend CNY in hospital....

wenly, I didn't have time to drop by spring yesterday. Was at Thyme oub centre, bought 2 maternity bras ($19ea) and 3 thongs (3 for $19). Their sizes are still ok. I'm surprised that the size looks big but when you try on, it can fit. Maybe my boobs bigger liao (so happy).

Celine, you spent so much at perfect mum!! they must adore you... so averagely 1 pc cost almost $70. Not cheap...

Just can't wait for M/S to go away..... Today's appetite poor again. Ate Mac Filet-o-fish meal. Thou unhealthy but it's the only thing tat came to my mind during lunch. The thot of other food made my stomach churn.

Berlin,
I saw some nursing bras at Spring. Going ard $15-$25 but was hesitant to buy now. Seems a bit too early. Dunno how big my boobs will grow by then!! keke.

Btw, wat's the difference between maternity bra &amp; normal bra?

Berlin
Are the mat bras at Thyme padded / underwired? I saw some at mother's work, but no padding and super exp. abt $50+.

Hi Wenyl
I also eat those unhealthy food from time to time. Just eat moderately then should be fine

Krissie
What kind of bras should be start wearing now? Wired , unwired? padded or non padded???

Etelle / Sing Yee
My friend said that under wire bra may cause clogged milk ducts. I think that's the reason why they recommend that we wear non-under-wired bras.

Hi Gals, long time never logged in alreadi. My tummy alreadi showing and i really no longer can fit into all my previous clothing except for some which are bigger.

anyone know approximately when can we know the gender of the bb...