(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Aileen

Oh, lucky you!!!!!

My boy just went 'poo poo' just now, when he actually meant that he just peed in his diapers. Gosh, he's still got a long way to go.

Hi Clare,

Ha, Ashley is so cute. Daddy must be very touch yeah?

Hi Mamachan....

Just spoke to my mum and Megan has a new pattern today. Don;t even want to bath! The usual routine is have breakfast, bath, change to be ready for school..... last time still bath but refuse to change to proper clothes and want to wear home clothes instead. This morning - dun even want to bath..... hai........

She has a counter attack for everything.... today ask my mum not to carry her at all cos sometimes my mum just carry and chuck her up to the school bus. Today new pattern, ask my mum not to carry her cos she dun want to be chuck to the school bus..........

Yuki
U really got hard time to deal with Megan if she continue to behave this way... Could it be she dun want to wake up so early or too early to bath b4 go to sch, that's y she made a fuss when go to sch??

Clare
Ashley so cute and innocent..

Yuki

Hahha, Megan is so smart for her age. Maybe u should just let her stay at home for 1 week. During that week, do all the things that she doesn't like to do and have a plain boring week. Hehehe. Dunno lah, just throwing ideas off my head since your gal is such a hard nut to crack. From what you said, she probably detest school becoz she's been labelled the noti gal and been sent to the principal's room so many times. I think if we were kids, we would have felt demoralised & humiliated as well and won't want to go school. Why not change school for her to make a fresh start, make new friends and have teachers who don't label her as a noti gal?

Talk abt embarrassment. That day i was relating to my hb about my boy refusing to go and bathe, then refusing to come out from the bath. My boy sat in his car seat and gave an embarrassed smile. Then he proceeded to cover his face like so paiseh like that.

mashy
my boy can shake hands with yours le. My boy will keep touching his groin area and go "poo" when he had already peed in the diaper when outside. He's now Big Business trained...he really tells us when he wants to poo. The pee-ing part still have some time to go. I will notice that the moment he starts touching his groin area while in his underwear, usually it would mean he wanna pee.

Clare
Wow! Ashley also very good now! Can initiate and want to do it all by herself for toilet training. Well done!

mamachan,
actually to me it wasn't exactly exciting lah. i'm just happy i didn't have to train him at all. hehe...i'm plain lazy. and that he can finally wear the underwear i bought him earlier on when i THOUGHT of training him.

mashy,
don't worry lah, just let him take his time. no hurry

yuki,
sorry can't help you much here. my son also doens't like going to school but he is not so smart to come up with such smart excuses yet. hehe...

Any recommendations for affordable and comfortable hotel stay in BKK?
Help! Travel-savvy moms. It's my 1st time to BKK and my hb has confirmed moving on to another company so his current work trip to BKK, well he need not attend anymore....so we would go on our own as a family. Any hotels within the popular shopping area to stay in? Is $100/night too ex or I could go for something even cheaper (my boy will be going also lah) Can advise? I hope to settle the hotel booking soon. So many choices online until I blur!!!

Mamachan

Don't go too cheap lah. Esp in Thailand. Coz the water might not be that clean leh. Better to get a better rated hotel.

I stayed at Siam City hotel before. Nice place & convenient but need to climb stairs to get to the skytrain. Think many Singaporeans like to stay at Pathuwam Princess & Novotel.

My mum will have a major headache if i let her stay at home! She will find things to make noise one.... insist on cutting papers into small pieces, throw all over the floor. I use soft method to get her to pick up, to no avail. Threaten her with cane, no more snipping with scissors etc also no use....

mashy - life with megan will never be boring.
Even do nothing with her, she can also insist you follow her where ever she wants to go, even to take a piece of paper to draw or maybe the other way round, she follow you where ever you go including toilet all the time. Tried shutting her out once, for the full 10 mins she was crying and banging the door all at the same time.

I don;t think she is being labelled as noti cos she was not put to noti chair in the office. More of to let her calm down without distraction and disturbance to others.

Hi Fion,

She has no problem waking up.... the routine is the same as before she start school... except last time she follow my mum to market or stay at home during that hour..........

Yuki
Did u watch "Super Nanny" before? She's very good in dealing with these kind of kids... but too bad, Singapore TV only shows once. I saw her books in our National Library b4, perhaps u can try to find out from the librarian..

Mamachan
Yup these 2 hotels that Mashy mentioned are very accessible

Yuki
ha ha Kids got full of imagination, it is quite fun to just sit down and see how they react or how they can find games out of anything

Aileen
ha ha missed this post. Congrats to a New Edgar being toilet trained

Hi Fion,

Yes i watch and i think the kids are terror! But i find it's because the parents don;t really discipline them? Noti corner dun apply to megan cos she will just walk off or just sit there and cry?

Hi Cl,

Yes, my hubby and i are constantly amazed by the new tricks megan can come up with. Whereas for ashley, we are amazed by her thinking skills. She can relate matters and ask chim questions that we don;t expect. haha

Yuki
hahah... really hard on u!!! Megan really a tough lady... dun give up and continue to discipline her, one of these days she will become good and well-behave and it's takes time...

Mamachan

Heard of Baiyoke Sky. It's a bit out of the way. No skytrains. So have to travel by taxi everywhere u go. Not as convenient as Pathuwam Princess and Novotel. Went there once in the evening. All the shops downstairs were closed, so felt a bit 'threatened'. Scared might be mugged. Hehehe.

Want to check.. had anyone taken AN TAI jab before? What is the side effect after that jab?

I had brown spotting again this afternoon. Went to see Doc in the evening and was given a jab. After the jab, while walking to the car, I find that my leg is abit painful. After abt 1hr, noticed there are more white clear discharge. Is this normal?

Something cute to share
My hb was putting the boy to bed tonight. So prayed together with him. After finished praying, my dear boy went back into his prayer position again (hands clasped and head into the pillow while the backside up in the air) and went," Dear Jesus, bless mommy, bless daddy, bless nana, bless mahmah, Amen!" So heartwarming!

Congrats Queen!

On Sat, HB walked out of the room while C was poo-ing in the bathroom. As he was wlking back, he heard C shout to him: "Daddy, I finished. I pour the poo poo away." When HB rushed back to the bathroom, C was waving the potty at him as he had just poured his poo into the toilet bowl.
His fav qn nowadays to us is "What's the matter?" in an ang moh accent!

Sysac
your C is realli a big brother in this thread. He is so clever.

Mamachan
That is so sweet of Daren. You must be proud of him.

May
Call dr and check.

Yesterday my boy dropped his bowl of cut orange on the floor. I was at the toilet then and he went 'Dear!' then changed to 'Mummy! Spill! All Wet'

His language skill is finally seeing some improvement.

And so funny, when I asked him "how old r u?", he replied "2 ...old" (Too old) hahahaha.

Sysac
Wow! C is really so "dong shi". Can help clear the potty? Amazing! Like what CL said, he's the big brother of the thread!! Speaks well and so clever!

CL
Hahaha, when my hb told me, I was glowing and so proud of him and also at the same thinking to myself, "Hmmmm, maybe the boy thinks why daddy's prayer so short one, never include bless mummy, daddy, nana, ma-ma one" Happy he initiated to continue and add them in.

Baby Bonus benefits revised
Moms who are due to give birth #2 or #3, I heard from my hb who was reading channel news asia online last night saying that the baby bonus (some of the policies) will be effected (backdated) to Aug 17 instead of with effect from 1 Jan 2009.
Cookie, I think likely you can get 4 months ML le!!

check it out:
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/370462/1/.html

Mashy
C is really cute! Happy with you to know his speech is getting more and you are enjoying the moments of having a conversation with him. Soon, he'll be talking non-stop!!

CL
Hahaha, we are newsanchor this morning =P spreader of good news!

cookie

ya gal, congrats that u're getting the 4mths leave.

Those gals are really go-getters. Go and appeal to MPs somemore. Hahha. But I think the govt had intended to start from Aug 17 in the first place lah. But coz of the lesson learnt from the 2004, they've learnt to be smarter this time round. That time they announced the policy change with immediate effect. End up new mummies unhappy and had to backdate to 1 Aug. Now they announce start 2009, then just backdate to announcement date as intended. Can save the 1-16 Aug bb bonus & leave. Very clever of them coz no matter what date u start, sure will have pp unhappy.

Mamachan,

i stayed at grand diamond suite hotel. Just beside the platimun mall. So convenience that i shop in the mall..go back to the hotel to unload and continued with my shoppping again.

May

I was given the jab before. Can only remember the pain. hahaha. DOn't worry lah ok? You're stressing yourselves up!

Mamachan
I'm waiting patiently for the day that C can pray like D.
D is such a sweet boy!

Mashy
Ha ha that is a good one. But I feel need time to implement lah. So must take into consideration for companies too. Because some have to get temp for their preggy staff, so must think for the company too.

Ha ha my fren was one of those who wrote in, there is even a online petition man

Belinda
That one I am not sure but sure hope it is pro rate this year.

CL

In 2004, when the ML extended to 3mths, it was supposed to be with immediate effect. So i don't think that's a problem. And usually S'pore govt don't really care how u implement so long as u get it done. That's how the govt works and how it helped Singapore all this while coz of this attitude.

mashy
I'm very sure that C will soon start to pray with you! D started off by repeating after me word for word. I kept it simple for him as much as possible. I guess he must have memorized the bless so-and-so part. kekekeke.

Belinda
Okiez, I will check it out also. Thanks for sharing!

Hi Fion,

I sure wish the day comes soon! Haha... Was reading the "Discipline without shouting and spanking" book and it says must teach your child responsibility..Eg. If they scribble on the wall, must make them be responsible for their actions, asking them to clean the walls.

I was thinking - yeah but how to make them clean the wall in the first place? For Megan, if use soft approach, she said "Later, mummy." If threaten with cane, she cried and shout and throw tantrum.... so how?? What should i do.....

Hi MamaChan,

You must have feel so blessed! So sweet! Ashley and Megan's favourite part of the prayers is shouting AMEN at the end of it. I always ask for good health for the family in our prayers and they pick up some words "Father God, I pray good health, AMEN!".... haha

Hi Sysac,

Megan's favourite is "What happen?"......

Yuki

Oh, i do that all the time. If he makes a mess, I make him clean it himself. When he's unwilling, i'll shove the rag in his hands, move him to the place, hold his hand and clean the mess. I don't allow such thing as 'later'. Cane no use lah. I think your gal is the kind cannot take hard way type.

Yuki
When comes to discipline we hv to be firm to what we said. As i agreed with mashy, if she dun wants to follow your instruction u hv to show her wat do u mean. I believe if u firm on ur decision ur gal will follows and not dare to disobey..

for example, my #1 accidentally stained some motion on his pantis, he asked me to wash for him. I'm very firm to tell him, "this is your pantis and u hv to responsible it and wash it right now". He do cried when i asked him to do so and he hv no choice so he do it by himself..

If children hv choices to choose they will take for granted.. Perhaps Megan's thinking is, if i dun do someone's will help me to do or clean up the messy...

If Megan throw tantrum let her be till she cool down and let her approach u. I think if children left at a corner or "alone-with no toys" for hrs they will definitely comes to u. From there u slowly explain her attitude is wrong.. try to tell her wat do u think if she's in ur position? I always do that to my #1, and he do listen when he cool down...

Yuki,
I tink she is those "Eat soft dun eat Hard" type, like my E. Have u tried taking away a fav toy from her if she do wrong things? Or reward her when she does something correctly? It works for my E. If he is up to some mischief (which happens everyday :D), like scribbling on the table or wall, I will threaten to take away his fav trains...one by one. And make him repeat after me that he will not do it again. Or if that doesnt work n he kicks a big fuss, sometimes I bopian will use reward system. Usually the reward is vitamins gummy bears. :D Then he will guai guai do watever I tell him to....like clean up his mess n pack his toys etc. Then when he calms down, I will slowly explain to him what he did wrong n why mummy scold him. But his memory is so short....after a while, he forgets n does it again. Then I got to reinforce again n again. Sometimes I feel so naggy nowadays. Really like huang lian po.

Wat my close fren does is make her boy stand at naughty corner n let him fuss n cry for all he wants. Even if he cries n whines for half an hour or more, she will not give in. Only then, her boy knows who is the Alpha at home. Now her kid is abt 4+ yrs old. He is more ting hua. So I guess it boils down to the character of each child n wat is the suitable approach to use. Its really not easy being parents.

RE: Toilet train
E is already off diapers in the day. Even for afternn naps, I dun put on for him already. Only wears it to sleep at night now.
But a few weeks back....E kept having misses and pooed in his pants. And I kept reminding him "Want to poo poo, must hold until u reach the toilet ok". Then I realised whenever he pooed in the pants, he will practically use 2 hands and hold his poo tightly and ran to the toilet. He did this a few times n I was puzzled. Cos before that he could run to the toilet in time. Put on his potty seat n pull down his pants n seat to poo.

Then I realised silly me told him must "HOLD" until he reach the toilet. He tot I told him its ok to poo in the pants n HOLD the poo until he reach the toilet! FAINTZ!

So now, I say must CONTROL until he seats on his potty or toilet seat, then can poo. And u can see his face all cringed up trying to hold his poo. Sometimes he will clenched his fist n tell me "mummy I controlling" Haha! Sometimes really feel like bursting out laughing. Really must be very careful with our selection of words cos they take it word for word now.

Wenyl
hahahah! E's encounter is so funny!!!!!! He's so cute!!! Congrats that he's off diapers in the day and for his nap even!!! I'm still waiting for D to be ready and insists of wearing underwear and not diapers. He sees pull-up pants as "going out"....*faintz*

Mamachan,
E hates the mamy poko pull up pants cos the cutting is not as comfy as the tape ones. And i din bother to let him try other brands. So he is left with only 1 choice which is underwear. And to encourage him further, we got him his fav Thomas & Friends undies. The next day, he told his daddy tat he told his fren who is a gal in school tat he wears Thomas underwear. And that gal told him tat she wears Dora panties. OMG! Dunno to get worried cos they are talking abt such private stuffs at such a young age. My hb can still laugh abt it. At least for now.

Yes mummies!! indeed I'm very happy. I was smiling when I read the ST headline today.

Now is up to my boss.. whether he allow me to take all 1 shot or must come back after 3 mths and balance 1 mth in block.
I hope to take 1 shot tho...

mashy>>what u said is right
I do think G intended to started in Aug too... but now by doing this way, alot of pple will be very happy

In any case I'm very happy

Re:toilet training
Mummies, do you think it will be more effective to train using a potty as compared to the really toilet bowl?
I wanted to try the potty cos.. I am thinking the potty is "more accessable" to small kid as in they can pull their pants and sit down on their own..
as compare to real toilet must wait for adult to carry them up..
But my hb think it's gross to use potty cos - need to clear away the waste..

Wendyl
E is so funny....HOLD his poo..kekekkee...

Re: no patience
These days I'm losing my patience more, I wish I can do it better. Dunno if it is due to pregnancy or being tired. I get angry with kae rather often

I hope I can imprpve myself...haizzz really need a lot of self control.

Hi mashy, Fion and Wenyl,

You know, the thing is i have to battle with each every step....... carry her to the position to make her pick up while she is struggling to get away.... Then even if make it to the position, have to force open her hand to make her pick up the paper etc...... I must admit sometimes in my tiredness, i just pick up the paper myself than to have such confrontation again and again......

The reward system works sometimes only.... not all the time. Sometimes she rather not eat the sweet etc then to give in. My mum once lock her outside the door and she just stand there and play with the shoes......

Hi Wenyl,

My friend also share with me her struggle with her gal. Now that she is 5, more ting hua too..... She said with this type of kids, you need to keep reinforcing and tell them after they cool down what they did wrong etc......

I take comfort that they will be better as they grow up....

Just that it is tiring having to battle every step but it's our job as parent to start discipline them when young rather than letting them get their way everytime. SO, i just have to perserve!!!!! Cos i firmly believe if we lack discipline at young age, we will lose control of them when they grow bigger and that's worse!

Btw, E is so funny!

Yuki
Can understand how u feel, sometimes i also do feel tired keeps repeating the same old things...

In this case, the only way is to keep reinforcing and discipline them ... At this stage, she is testing ur patience and tolerance ... perhaps when she reachs 3-4yo is diff liao.. become obedient leh.. whose knows? ;p

Hi Fion,

Keeping my fingers cross.

Having said all these, Megan is still a joy lah. She can be very funny sometimes and when she is sweet, she's really an angel. haha.

Sometimes i pretend to cry, she will go pad me on my back and ask "What happen Mummy? It's ok Mummy"...in her sweet little voice and give me a hug.

Yuki
Wow... so sweet that she give u hug.. ;p

My sons never do this do me leh... like u cry nobody business...
sometimes boys are more diff to discipline than gal.. Sigh...

Yuki

My boy is sama sama too. I've also gotta drag him to the spot, make him do it. But i find it gets easier after a few times. I think u need to reinforce that no matter how tired u are. Sometimes i feel so frustrated that i wanna break down and cry. But just had to keep our cool.

He can be sweet too when he wants to. When we lie down on his bed to sleep, he'll cover me with the blanket. Even if i join him later on the bed, he'll make sure that i get my share of the blanket.

Fion
Same lah. Boys do things a little differently. He's not the type to hug and comfort you but will show their love in other ways.