(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

wenyl
haha... E is so cute!

re: baby package
so happy for those mummies who are due this year and can enjoy the 4 mth ML.

there's another petition going on trying to get the package extended to the rest of the mummies who deliver the kid in year 2008.

sunny

ai yoh, this is neverending. Next they'll want it to be extended to the kids born in 2007. Maybe we should also sign a petition for it to be extended to babies born in 2006. 'A baby is a baby' after all (quote from ST forum). Hahhaa

mashy
Boys really do things diff from gal.. hahah if one fine day my boys come and give me a hug... i'll sure touch their forehead to check ("Did they hv any fever or not feeling well")?? hahaha... ;P

Today c complimented my food for the very first time.
He said 'nice porridge' and ate up 2 big plates of it.
So happy. Makes all the cooking worth it.

Wenyl - Haha...they are so innocent they take the words as they are. I told C when we are out that can only wee when we find a toilet. He controlled one day when we were parking the car and held on to the front of his pants & clung on tightly to HB until we reached home then he let go.

Mashy - Wow...nice to hear that from yr son huh. For me, C wld go "Delicious" but then he's super ez with food so everything is delicious.

Mamachan - So sweet of D. U read from C's blog right? He wld tell pple to close their eyes when he see theirs open during prayer time.

Yuki - Megan has "xin ge"...haha...no one will bully her.

Aileen - Congrats! Ed has gone green!

sysac

for me, it's rare that C will eat let alone compliment it.

My hb kept getting upset feeding him and will keep lamenting that C hates it, doesn't wanna eat etc without even trying sometimes. Like yesterday, my hb said, oh C doesn't like the meat & cabbage. But i told him just try and feed him ok? Well, C finished every bit of it and topped it up with 2 bowls of soup. My hb just had the mindset that C doesn't wanna eat this and that and doesn't have to patience to try. So end up now my boy eats more during lunch (when i feed him) than dinner. sigh.

today i asked jh's teacher abt him and another gal. he keeps talking abt her and saying he likes her. really funny. his teacher said that jh really likes her a lot and always follow her abt in school. and the gal is quite bossy and he will listen to her. sometimes he will also boss ard but he doesn't ever boss her. so funny right. and he always tries to get her attention.

the funny thing is keenan likes the same gal too!

re bb bonus
a bit sad that won't be getting but they can't keep backdating i guess.

mashy
your boy so cute. actually compliment the food

i think jh really attention seeking. he likes to be punished. at night he always ask to drink milk after brushing teeth. i told him he has to be punished if he does that. u know whathe said? he said ok and ask me to spank him. funny right

SY
perhaps JH is just trying to be cheeky with you? But abit harsh to punish him for wanting milk after brushing teeth? Or it's because he had milk before he brushed teeth?? But I guess he's being cheeky and perhaps wanting your attention.

Really Monkey See Monkey DO!!
Aiyoh, my boy ah....really got bitten by the Olympics fever. We just happened to watch the rhythmic gymnastic segment last night where the lovely gymnasts were doing their floor routine with hula-hoop/baton or ribbon...my boy was transfixed!! We allowed him to watch a little longer after his bath and changed him into his pyjamas, he then tried to follow the rhythmic segment!!! Dancing, prancing, holding his plastic bowling pin and pretending to throw as though it was a baton...my hb and I was soooo amused! My hb went, "eh son.....this one is for girls leh" but my boy was sooo happy just following and "dancing".

Hi Mamachan,

D is so cute. And he can really find something suitable as a substitute for the baton huh!

I was spraying bygons into the dustbin to prevent ants coming and when Megan saw that, she said "Thank you mummy for killing the mosquitoes for me.".... Haha

Had been borrowing books from the library on schools to read to Megan. There's one titled "We follow the rules".... so for the past few days, she will go "excuse me, mummy" before she interupted.
Ashley's sentence is longer " Sorry mummy, for interrupting. But can i ask you a question?"

??HFMD??
Moms whose toddlers had HFMD before, does it normally occur with mouth ulcers 1st before blisters on the feet and hand? I suspect my boy may be having the dreaded HFMD...he started being slightly feverish on Sat noon, then we noticed the outer corner of his lip has got an ulcer which we thought perhaps it's due to that he had bitten himself accidentally. This morning, we checked his tongue and there was one small ulcer at the tip of his tongue....his fever didn't go beyond 38.5 degrees.... now tonight, we saw another 3-4 new ulcers on the inside of his lower lip.... he complains, "Mouth pain pain" and lost his appetite and is drooling....really am worried. I did bring him to the doctor this morning...now just have to monitor to see if anymore new spots appearing... sigh. Doesn't help that the weather is so cold! Makes him feel as though he is burning!

mamachan
oh dear, poor D.. pray tt he'll get better soon. I also heard tt yogurt and ice cream helps. think try to gv him more water.

MamaChan
I heard that HFMD usually occur on mouth first then follows by hand and feet.. give him more water and continue sponge him.. hope that he will get well soon..

HFMD
Does fever persists throughout the time they have blisters/ulcers? Or only during the 1st 3-4 days? My boys's fever subsided or rather he sweated it out. Right now are the ulcers on his inner lower lips and we saw a blister-like lesion near his knee-cap!! Such a strange place to be occuring!

Somthing funny to share:

Last nite, Hb scolded C for being rude to him. Then C left the room and went to my mum's room. I was bathing & so heard him cry and tell my mum "Mama, help me..." My mum was puzzled and so opened her bedrm door for him. When I came out, I went to my mum's room and saw him watching TV in her room.

I asked ' Do u want to go back to the room w me?" He said "No...I want to watch Blue's Clues..." When his show ended, I went over and asked if he wanted to come back. He kissed my mum good nite and went back into our room. I left to make milk for him. When I returned, HB asked me if I said anything to C. I said no and why? Hb told me C told him " Daddy, I am not angry with you.", plonked himself down & hugged him!

mamachan

oh no. Hope D gets well soon! U take care too! I think the fever only for the 1st few days. Then it's just the blisters. The blisters need to be totally clear before he can be declared well again. So poor thing. Since he doesn't go childcare, u know how he caught it?

Sysac
Wow... C so cute.. he knows how to thinking wat happened just now for being rude to his dad".. Daddy must be very happy smiling all the way... ;p

Fion - Yep, he said it like an adult. I thot he was throwing a tantrum when he went to my mum's room to watch TV some more. He just wanted a dose of Blue's Clues.

mamachan,
hope D will get well soon. this is going to be a trying period. make sure to take care of personal hygiene. Adults can get it too. I did and it's terrible. we all started with fever for a few days then comes the ulcer and blisters.

cookie - surprised to see you at Kidzloft last sat. u surely made many purchases. as for me, i won a $200 voucher and made my spree too. haha..bought a wooden musical for C, a mini one for J and some purchases for SIL who is expecting her bb soon. to think of that $200 is not enough. haha...the shop seems to be small as compared to those hyper store in Kakit bukit. but with the 50% for the bd mth, its really worth it.

mamachan - oh no..did doc says its HFMD? take care as i guess D will be especially cranky during this period of time. pray that he gets well soon. did you check if he got it from his school? so when are u gg BBK? for hotel, i highly recommend Novotel which is walking distance to the siam paragon (also where the underwater world is). with kid around and the amt of pollution, its better to stay somewhere convenient and near to the malls.

yuki- tats cute of Megan. i also do borrow bks for C often and there was this book on the parrot being a troublemaker. and one day, C suddenly pointed his finger at his didi and shouted...YOuuuu! Troublemaker! haahaa....hoepfully he won't use this in school or else he sure risk kena bashed up.

aileen - when are u planning to travel? hk is in bad weather condition now. korea is winter in dec. i am also planning a trip in the second wk of sept...just me and my mother. no kids allowed. ahaa..hb is given the task to take leave and care for them. Planning to bring her to sdyney as she has been dreaming to go there for the longest time. so thot i shld be the filial daughter and bring her around. but flight also not cheap. 1.2k pax. and with qantas being in the bad shape lately...it's definitely out of my option for airline.

Just got back from the doctor...it's confirmed that D has got HFMD. His entire mouth pallate (not too sure if I spelled correctly) has got ulcers leading right to the back of his throat. So gotta keep him home for these few days until the ulcers are gone and the blisters dries up.

Mashy
D is attending 1/2 day playgroup at a childcare. Likely he might have gotten it from there.

Aileen
Yah, the weekend was burnt for us. D is totally daddy's boy! He clinged to my hb as like a koala bear, only coming to me when my hb has to go out and run errands or need to go toilet/eat. Now he totally doesn't want to even drink water! He asks and craves for milk but the moment he takes the 1st suck from his bottle, he winces in pain!! Had to give him slowly via straw... Tried giving him his favourite cold yoghurt...he was so looking forward to taking it....BUT, after the 1st mouthful, he complains ,"mouth pain pain"....won't even want to try another spoon...

Mamachan
Oh dear... poor D.. it's very painful, can understand why he dun want to hv another spoon of yoghurt or another sip of drink.. Did u call the centre to tell them? These few days/weeks must be hard on u and D. Do take care of yourself too.. Hope D get well soon.

Hi Mamachan

the situation sounds like my #1 when he got it ... try to let him sleep as much as possible. D would be really tired and sleeping would make him forget the pain. someone told me to give the porridge water but it didn't work for him. ya, it's be almost zero food or even liquid intake for the 2 days ... try to give anything cold when he wakes up immediately, but ya, it'll be just 2 mouthfuls before he can't take anymore. take care!

.ky.

mamachan - oh no...feeding time seems challenging. buy more yoghurts...he may prefer that to normal food. hope he recovers soon.

ssf,
i was planning to go at the last week of sept. i remember some mummies went earlier this year can share the package pricing? wow, ur hb is going to handle 2 boys all by himself? peifu!!

mamachan,
oh dear... sounds really bad. it's really uncomfortable so no choice if darren doesn't want to swallow any food....

aileen - i went to hk in may but it was F&E so no package price. you bringing ur 2 kids along? if so, why don't u try F&E? my hb has my maid to help out. so shld be ok. well its pay back time. he used to travel alot alot when i am struggling with the 2 back then. haha..

mamachan

oh gosh, that's bad when he can't take water too. Have to keep him hydrated else will need to be hospitalised. Watch him closely for dehydration. Check into a hospital if he still can't take water.

aileen ... sort of shopping for HK f&e during NATAS fair... typically $600+ to stay at Nathan Rd area with 4D3N in a 4-star hotel pax. not very keen to travel now since the $$ goes to fuel surcharge so didn't have the details. HK's very easy to do and I personnel like to go trekking on the islands if go ... Jetstar have promo once a while but if u add up on the surcharges, it's roughly the same as the normal airlines ...

ssf, does Kidzloft sell Leapfrog stuff. remember hubby mentioned before when he went a while back ...

CL, B's in CGM now, behind palm gardens

.ky.

ky - mashy is right. i didn;t see any leapfrog stuffs in kidzloft. i was surprise to see that the price for bumbo has dropped drastically. its now selling at $49.90. i remembered comtemplating to buy for C some 2 yrs back and it was 80+ for BP.

aileen - oh F&E har. ok let me recall...i paid slightly more than $300 per night to stay at disneyland hotel (the other one ..not hollywood hotel). that is the place where breakfast with the characters is available. must book in advance as its very hot! $30 pax. inform counter when you check in. FOC for kids 3 yrs and below. same applies for disneyland admission. so better go before ur kid turns 3. hee... in the city i stayed at South pacific hotel in causeway bay. one road across times sq. i stayed in a suite with a living hall and 1 bed room. its abt 300+ per night too. as for flight....there was a promo back then with SQ...and i also redeem mileage pts.

Hi Aileen,

I went HK in Sep last year but was staying over at a cousin's place. The tickets itself is $380 for adults and $320 for ashley. For megan, she was below 2 and we paid $300. It was over look on my part cos if i top up $20 more, megan can get a seat herself. The infant and child fare is not much of a difference.

If you are going F&E, can try to book Disney hotel on line.... not sure if they still have the promotion of a 2 day pass for the price of one.........

Btw, In my opinion, HK is not too child friend in the sense there are many steps and stairs....so i dun know if a pram is practical if you intend to bring Ty.

aileen - but their suite is very very small. we hardly have space to lay our luggages. yuki is right...there is this promotion of having 2days entry to the park for the price of one if you book a hotel from disneyland. however, disneyland is quite small as compared to the US version. so seriously 1 day is more than enough. their fireworks are also not very spectacular. do note that they closes at 8pm which is a far cry from the US which closes at midnight. but in a way, i never regretted bringing them as C still remember HK disneyland ...always say want to go HK when he sees mickey mouse or fireworks. haha..and recently he keeps singing..its a small world after all...its a small world after all. there is apparently this ride in HK disneyland which is new and i must say very nice deco inside.

Hi Aileen,

I book a standard room but was upgrade to the Kingdom club cos it was ashley's birthday. But i notice even for standard rooms, they have two queen size bed..... I have upload my HK pics in facebook showing the rooms. you may want to take a look at the room size.

Any reason why you want a suite?

Alternatively you can email to enquire. They are quite fast in their response.

I choose to stay Disney hotel not Hollywood. Disney hotel is the lower storey, more romatic type whereas Holloywood is more cutish type.

ssf,
ic... ya this trip is solely for edgar. i know he will remember it for time to come coz he remembers alot of things that happens eversince he turns 2. so i tot it's a nice time to bring him to disneyland, somewhere near not too far,coz bringing ty as well.

yuki,
no particular reason why i wanted a suite. purely because ssf said she stayed in a suite for $300+ which i tot is cheap loh. hehe... any reason why you didn't stay in disney hollywood? the packages with tour agents are all with hollywood.

mamachan
hope your boy get well soon. poor boy...

re: ergo baby carrier
anyone use this before? any comments?
if you use bb bjorn and ergo before, which one do you prefer?

sigh....i just woke up together with D from his nap.... so frustrating that he doesn't wanna drink. He keeps sitting in one corner of the daybed and go "No want, No want, mouth pain pain"....even during his nap, he would go "mouth pain pain" or "No want" in his sleep!

Mashy
I'm very tempted that if he still doesn't want to take water, I'll have him hospitalized to be placed on drip. We've bought his favourite apple juice from Mac's..... and chocolate flavoured fresh milk (my mom intro that to him 2 weeks ago and he loved it then)... he sips every now and then...but rejects water!!! Even drinking his favourite juice and choco milk takes a great deal of coaxing!

I've tried to talk to him nicely, explained that by drinking water, it helps to make the pain better/go away.... sometimes I'm on the verge to use the cane to get him to drink but have not done that yet (coz I know it's not the way)

aileen - originally i chose hollywood but hb rejected it as he find disneyland hotel nicer and the buffet restaurant is sited there. true enough, we actually went to both hotel and i must say disneyland hotel looks more classy. not sure abt their pool, but disneyland hotel has 2 pools..indoor and outdoor and all are at room temperature. they also do have a float for infants. they have a slide and jacuzzi too. they also gave bedroom slippers for our toddlers which has a mickey mouse logo. very nice!

Hi Aileen,

Haha... the reason i choose Disney hotel instead of hollywood cos i thot hollywood looks like a flat.... Disney Hotel looks nicer from the exterior. haha... purely for vainity reason. haha. If you look at the rooms of the two hotels - quite similar.

I heard from people in HK that disney hotel are more romatic and less crowded cos there are lesser rooms. In a way cleaner cos not too many people within the hotel at the same time.

My name in FB is Evelyn.

Mamachan
It is very xiong for him mah painful woh. Bring his favourite cup and straw ?

SSF
Me and Cheng Stayed at Hollywood hotel last year. Not too bad lah. Provided bed rail or Charmaine, got a baby cot for Aden. It is still quite nice.

Sunny
I own one. I never regret buying. Thanks to SL for loaning me during my HKG trip and my hb swear by this carrier too. Everytime he will ask me if I want to use it.

Esther and some other frens are convinced too after they tried out mine.

Cookie oso bought hers. My next trip I can do without stroller but will bring the carrier